(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi yuki,
thanks for sharing
it's not a bleak pic of being a SAHM...i guess that's the reality of it! Also depends very much on whether we're suited to be SAHM...i've some frenz who are SAHM and enjoy being so. But am really not sure if i'm the kind who can tahan doing all this or not?! Sometimes need to try out then only will know if it's possible! But i think 1 thing that will be missed is the interaction with adults. Can't imagine facing a baby all day long...i might go bonkers! hee

cookie,
think it's unlikely that i will be going for short trip.
but will probably plan for one after baby is born (keep fingers crossed!)

i also love my dog a lot and one reason why i want to spend more time is cos he's so old! but it gets a little inconvenient now cos my movements are not as agile as before and he's so small so usually i have to bend all the way just to play with him or sit on the floor. but i enjoyed my 2 days stay back at my parents when hubby was away cos can play with him more.

yuki,
i tot abt being a SAHM too but i also think i cannot tahan for too long so thinking abt taking no pay leave for a while. i know i will miss the adult interaction so i m very impressed with those who can tahan. besides, i dun stay near my parents so not like i can go back anytime i want to get some company and my neighbours are out the whole day cos all young couples.

Hope everyone enjoyed their weekend! Had not login for quite some time..... Had my detailed scan yesterday and everything is fine. Besides having his daddy's nose, bb has long legs, big head and fat body (weighs 414g)! Gynae said if his head measures 10 cm nearer delivery time, then I might have to consider c-section! Had also put on almost 3kg within 5 weeks which is a little too much! I suppose I have been too lazy doing nothing except eating and sleeping... The scans also captured lots of bb's actions (waving, sucking thumb and yawning).

You ladies are so funny with all the names. Reading your posts really made me laugh.

Like some of you, sometimes my tummy feels really tight. Do you find sleeping on your left side comfortable? For me I used to sleep on my left side (before pregnant) and now I feel more comfortable on my right or back! Always feels very heavy if I sleep on my left side.

hi yuki..sorry to hear that you are not happy being a SAHM. I believe there is always pro and con. To think on the positive side, you get to bond with your baby and breastfeed your baby for so many months. I was thinking once i started working after maternity leave, it be difficult for me to continue.

and also i will not be around my baby during his first 6 months of learning and goo goo gaa gaa. so there is always the good and bad side. so don;t fret too much. think on the positive side and you be a happier person. able to provide for your hubby and baby

so do you have any plans to go back to work after your baby is bigger or you plan to be SAHM forever? its a blessing your hubby allow you to be one as i know some hubby prefer their wife to work and have MIL looking after baby.

hi Curly,

good to hear your baby is healthy! so ya prepared for c-sect? for me, i will prefer normal delivery if its possible. i am praying hard for one

i am ok with sleeping on my left as i used to that already. but nowsaday i will prefer sleeping on my back until baby kicks..i move back to left.

Hi SY,
As a docent, we talk to visitors and handles specimens, dead and sometimes alive
Normally help to spread the importance of conservation and protecting our animal species

krissie,
I was looking at those contract maid agencies, they come as cheap as $10/hr, minimum 4 hours a week etc... and you dun have to worry about quality of work, if unhappy, just feedback and the company will change the maid..

Durianlover

We have 3 mths ML mah.. So, u can try considering the 2nd & 3rd month as being SAHM and see how you can tahan. For me, agree with Yuki that being at home doesn't mean that we're spending quality time with bb as we need to do housework, cook lunch, dinner, etc. And since on single income, cannot get maid, etc. And we have to do everything ourselves. For me, I plan to not put that much focus on my work and try to get home early after work to spend time with bb. Anyway, plus the time which bb sleeps (and assuming that you can leave work at 6pm daily), bb actually only miss us for a few hours during our working hours. I've also applied for home access, so I'll bring back my work to do later in the night if need be. That's my plan for now. I hope it'll work out well.
Plus, my hb prefers me to continue working.. so bo bian also.

Curly
Ya, long time nvr "see" you..

Sleepingdeer
Thanks.. which co are you looking at? Income? My friend says that theirs come with a warranty to change the cleaner if you're not satisfied.

krissie,
yah i was thinking of using the 3 months ML to consider if i can tahan being a SAHM. But then i feel if i really decide to quit my job in the end, also quite unfair to my company n to colleagues. Coz they're prepared for me to come back to work n hv already planned my work such that i can continue certain things when i return to work. It will affect a lot of things if i really decide to quit...that's why i'm considering more abt work n being SAHM right now, rather than during my ML. THx for sharing advice n on ur plan too!

hi curly,
how come sleeping on left is more uncomfortable? Actually i read that sleeping on left is better than right, though i'm not sure exactly why! For me it's abt the same, just tt i prefer sleeping on right or on my back!

Also, i've got another qns...do u all know whether the estimated baby weight is accurate? i heard that it's a weight derived from a formula after calculating the size of bb's head (ie. just a gauge n not accurate). Not sure if it's true?!

krissie..i am currently employing a part time helper to come my house regularly to do household chores like mopping, sweeping, washing toilets, ironing. its min 3 hrs per day at $10 per hr.

personally i find her very good and thorough. you want i can pass you her contact.

Hi Durianlover and SY,

I guess gotta try it before a person can decide whether to be a SAHM or not.
Usually most of my friends can't stand the confinement month cos we weren't allowed to go out etc and that's the first taste of the 'inconvenience' that baby brings.
But one look at the baby, everything is just worth it.

Actually i feel that now that my girl is older, things are easier and i can start doing things together with her. Read to her, painting, colouring, play card games etc so it's much easier now. I was so envy of my cousin who's daughter is already 5 years old when i just gave birth. Told her that she can have it easy, bring her girl out for shopping etc, need not fuss about many things. But my cousin warn me that every stage comes with their own set of problems. Her daughter nows knows how to demand for things, keep asking why, how, why cannot etc.......
She said she missed the time when she's just a baby, a cuddle, a kiss, no questions. Ha Ha

Hi SSF,

I started working when my girl was 5 months old. I realised i am a happier person working and thus a happier mum.
I think it's important for myself to be happy in whatever i'm doing......... If i'm not happy, it might rub off on my girl and that is something i didn't want.

In addition, i have my mum to look after my girl so i don't have much worries when i returned to work. My mum took very good care of my girl. She's chubby, happy, active and smart. (I guess all parents will think their children are like that)
. Then again maybe it's those 5 months that i spent with my girl so we have a close bond now. A few of my friends had the problems of their child being very attached to their caretakers that sometimes the child doesn't want to follow their parents home....... Being a parents myself, i know the parent will feel hurt. Thank God i do not have that problem.

And also thank God that i have a wonderful husband who's supportive in whatever i do. In fact he was the first one to take the initiative to learn from the nurse at the hospital on nappy changing, bathing baby etc and insisted on doing ot himself at the hospital while the nurse observed. I was the lazy one who let the nurses do everything ;p And my hubby really did a great job! Even my mum was so impressed.
During my confinement, he helped alot by bathing, changing and feeding the baby so that i get my rest.

Hi krissie and durianlover,

Besides the 3 months maternity, you have to take into consideration - finances. Cos when you are on maternity, you still get your pay. If you choose to become a SAHM, no more income. This is another consideration which you have to discuss with hubby and work the sums out. My friend commented that it's not that hard being a SAHM after she went thru the maternity. But she had a maid to help and a car herself which i reminded her that she can't have those if she stopped work. Her views changed immediately. Without a car, she can't travel freely and without a maid, no one to look after her baby while she try on clothes. Ha Ha.

Dear gals..
now that u are talking abt talking care of baby...
Initially our plan is to let my MIL to take care baby...but last nite.. my MIL told me to do confinement at her place and next time baby also to out at her place... she stay in potong pasir and we stay in pasir ris.
Seriously this is not what I wanted... I dun wan to see my baby only during weekends neither do I wan to send and receive baby daily from my MIL place.
The reason my MIL say is at my place very inconvenenicne to do marketing and buy " stuff" she wants...
Before I get preggie, she came to stay at our place once and she claim that the market place at my estate sell very fresh food but now she claim the stuff selling at my market suck!
Then she come out with lotsa reason for us to put the baby at her place...like she cannot sleep la, she might not be able to cook the dishes she wans, inconveinence for her to do marketing..
sigh... I also dunno what to do... on one hand I really dun wann to put baby at her place... esp if I intend to BF, but then I also dun wan to make her difficult.

Initally we do not have a room prepared for my PIL and they say how come we dun have a bed for them. Now that we have buy a new bed... MIL change her mind and dun wanna come to our place...
I can't help but to be angry with her

hi cookie - i sympathise with you. i can understand how you felt and i also don;t want that to be an issue with me since my MIL will also be preparing my confinement food. my PIL stay in Choa Chu Kang..and i live in Tampines. we talk to her briefly and ask her to take a cab down and we pay for her. so far she is ok. another thing is because my mum and dad not working and they live in tampines. so they will come down more often. so far my MIL is ok.

as for your case, i will suggest you get a CL to help you in the first mth. so you can stay at hm and BF and cook for you confinement food. as for the subsequent mth, if you can handle then ask ur MIL to come over at her convenience. I also don;t want to be away from my baby so soon. talk to ur hubby and ask her to explain to your MIL.

mashy
wow maybe they are neighbour..heehe...
I also dun wan... my FIL say I can take their bed and he sleep on the floor in next room which was my HB room before we got married and also attached with toilet.
That would means... the room I using will be without toilet and with all the BF and stuff all will be very inconvenient.
then my MIL say things only stuff selling at potong pasir is good enough... seriously I dun think only potong pasir sell fresh food etc...
I got nothing again potong pasir infact I like the estate but nothing as good as my home of course...sigh...

Of course 1 main reason... why my MIL is so oppose to coming to my place... is I think my place has dogs and dogs are never her fav animal... in fact she dun like animals anyway.
I guess like all mothers...they dun like them around

Morning gers...

cookie, my phlight alittle same like you.. MIL say to do confinement at her hse and put baby there... cos easier to buy things.. haiz..wat to do if we wana let her take care.. little choice. but luckily we stay a good 25 min drive away so stil can see my baby aft work, or mayb stay over there sometimes since we got a room there.. we also got a room for them but guess everyone is juz comfy in their own's house..

last fri,i was walking wf my fren from orchard to dohby gaut and guess wat.. tat nite and the following nite, my back ached like nobody's biz... cant sleep well. the nxt morning aft strecthing was ok, but back to aching again at nite.. can't take it.. and i quickly prayed for god to take the pains away, and also the sharp sensations in my right breast, and they went away!!! sorry har, not preaching religion here.. but reali am glad cos it was horrible having restless night...

btw I went Aussino last weekend... and they have 50% off plain fitted sheet set and 40% off on whites... I dunno if still running now...

I think someone mentioned need to tong pang in my BD months to buy stuff from Aussino...
Can you pls PM me?...
I was told there is a cap to my single purchase, up till $500 but dun think i will biy that much anywya. and if the baby comforter set is nett price no further discount also.
Only for purchase of regular price items.

Thanks missy! I'm not in favour of c-section but if the bb is too big then I guess I have no choice....

Ya krissie, long time no "see"!

Durianlover, I have no idea.... I was very used to sleep on my left but recently, I always feel very heavy and loaded if I slept on my left. Sleeping on the left allows maximum blood and nutrients to the placenta and enhances efficient kidney function (better elimination of waste products) and fluides and less swelling of ankles , feet and hands. Not too sure abt the weight accurancy of the bb though.....

cookie, it's very important that mummies are comfortable during confinement. Maybe you can ask your hubby to talk to her? My mum is also an anti-animal person and I have 3 cats at home but she has agreed to help with the cooking. She said she not familar with the market here (Simei).... I asked her to buy from Hougang then come to my place. For her, she'll be doing a daily trip as she doesn't want to stay at my place bec my mil with be staying with us.....

thanks missy...
I already told my HB... and he say will speak to his mum...he was hoping his mum will change her mind later...
like celcel say... I got little choice.
If I find my own CL, I believe my MIL sure will be mad... she already told me NOT to get CL etc etc.
u are so fortunately your parents are near u and not working. my Mum is working so I have to fall on my MIL.

cel cel
the worse thing is there isnt a proper room for me at my MIL place that's why I also relectant to go there...

Of course...for me... sigh... MIL is not my fav person... heehee... she yell alot (her voice is loud) and I dun think i can stand her the whole day and when I'm at her place, my HB cannot be with us everyday too...cos he need to work and look after the dogs. I also dun want to be away from my HB....more stress for me to face my PIL whole day without my HB.

hope your pain will go away...
2 days ago I first expereince a mild leg cramp during sleep... so scare the cramp will worsen as time go by....
what can we do to prvent leg cramp har?

cookie

my ILs house there got a lot of neighbours got dogs leh... :p

Fresh meh? I stayed there for abt 2 yrs never go to market. :p But one thing i like abt potong pasir is that it's quieter and green green.

curly
thanks.. ya I will get HB to talk to her... when she told last nite my HB was not around so I just told her will discuss with HB.
She told me... very inconvenient fro her to buy from her place and bring to my place etc etc...that's 1 of the reason.
I also told my Hb the same thing... I need good rest durin confienment and I dun think I will be comfy at her place... luncky HB is supportive,

I hope my PIL will see the beauty of my dogs one day... tho they are nosy... but they are very sweet most time

Guess I got to pray abt this alot too...hopefully things will smooth out.
meanwhile I will proceed to change my place to a more condusive place for them to come stay with us
hope they change their mind.

cookie - try to lift your legs by piling lots of pillow below your calf. this will cause the blood to flow upwards. also try to wear socks when sleeping and do some basic stretching exercise.

mashy
I also dunno if it extra Fresh.. but I guess all aunty like to bargain and potong pasir my MIL territory mah... at pasir ris she not familiar lor.

Yuki, i totally agree with you. Really peifu u as an SAHM. I have a 1 yr old gal, i am 5 mths pregnant too. My mum is helping to take care of my gal during weekdays. We bring her back to own home during weekend. When my BB is back, really got no time for other things, everything is BB come first. After morning feed (usually at 6am - 630am), i will rock her back to sleep. Then i will prepare myself (go toilet, eat breadfast, boil water, defreeze BB food for her lunch later, wash clothes) if lucky she havent wake up, i can grab some sleep.

When bb wake up, feed her again (boil egg or cheeze bread or milk), potty train on her, playtime then bath her.

Sometimes, I take lunch at 2pm. super hungry as I am carrying bb also.

In short, weekend is very hectic for me. sometimes we will go out, and need to prepare this and that...

My mum also very tried when reach friday and sun night hand over bb to her, she look much more 'fresher'...

Durianlover
oh i see... then, it's qt tough to decide now. Coz if you quit and cant get used to being a SAHM, have to look for a new job. Re sleeping, when we sleep on the left, it allows the nutrients to flow to bb. That's why books recommend that we sleep on the left.

SSF
Thanks.. I also have a cleaning auntie now. My cleaning aunt is quite full. I was planning on asking her to come twice a week during my ML, but am afraid that her slots are all full and cant come. Then, I'll get the contact from you if I need to try out yours.

Yuki
Yup.. agree that without $$, life is very much diff... of course, the best is to be tai tai.. with maid and car, then, u only need to play with bb. Too bad, my hb cant afford that for me.

cookie
Oh dear.. then, have to discuss with your hb liao.. You MIL seems to have some reasons for her change of mind of staying at your place. But, I dun know what it is lah. Why dun she let u engage CL leh? Can tell her nicely that you prefer to stay at home, so since it's inconvenient for her to come everyday (plus all the reasons she gave you), you'll engage CL so as not to trouble her. But, of course, say that she can pop over anytime she like lah. Does your hb drive? Can fetch her to Potong Pasir to buy food every weekend loh. Most impt is for you to be comfortable during confinement. I think our mood will be very bad due to bf & bb crying, etc.. so, if you're unhappy, etc, it'll make it worse.

I think can try doing so simple feet stretching/ rotation before sleeping to prevent leg cramps at night.

Hi Krissie,

That's right. If i have a maid to help out, it may be a different story. Besides, with a maid, you have at least some interaction

I guess in today's society, it's hard to have a maid with only one income.

Hi Cookie,

I agree with krissie. Somehow, after giving birth, our emotions are very unstable. My friends and i became very weepy and we weep at the slightest thing eg. over some scene we watch over the TV etc..., become very sensative over comments and remarks etc.

Cookie

like wat the rest say, its not reali 'wise' to hav confinement at MIL hse. cos the inconvenience of not having a toilet ( wf menses flowing like mad ) and facing MIL the whole day... relying on her to bathe n look aft ur kid...

tats y i now on my persuasion project *wink* gettin HB to agree to a CL so tat i can b at the comfort of my own home n toilet.. in fact he also think CL beta since they more professional. juz tat dunno hw to open mouth to tell his mum. my neighbour also said its best to be at own hse, as min adjustments as possible.. though she had hers at her mum's place. think they reali understand better aft true experience

Hi krissie,
I also have a contract maid who comes once a week, am thinking whether to ask her whether also do cleaning for my mum's house as well, as am doing confinement there... but she sometimes falls sick and doesn't come, so don't really feel reassured...

I am also looking at a cleaning company called A-Team, seems ok, but still looking around..

http://www.a-team.com.sg/

just to add, this company also deals with CL, nannies as well as post-natal massage, dun know whether they are good though as never tried them before... anyone who has used them, please give comments

Talking about become sensitive over ppl's comments... do you all have colleagues like to observe you(tummy) everyday after you pregnant?

My colleagues are like that... sometimes they will comment "wah... you tummy getting bigger!" I think is normal for pregnant ladies' tummy to get bigger
I don't really like people observe my tummy too frequent and comment le.

Or they will pay extra attention to see what maternity apparel I wearing everyday... now my tummy quite obvious if I wear something light in colour, then they will as usual touch my tummy and comment "wah... very big liao..." then I reply cos I wearing light colour so more obvious, then they ask me "then why you wearing light colour?"

But now I am already 5-month plus... my tummy shown is very normal wat? I don't need to purposely wear darker colour to hide my tummy ma?

I don't know like that I am being over sensitive about ppl's comments or what? But overall I always in quite good mood except when come across remarks focus on my tummy

Zhimin

dun b so bothered wf 'flying' comments... its norm to show tummy and we shld b proud to show it!! anyway, im also used to my colleagues and even my MIL saying things like "wah, quite big hor" or "see, her face now all round aldy"...

to me,so long as bb doing fine, i couldn't care less bout these nosensical comments...

Hi Gals, have you experience swelling of the leg already... i have started and of course it seem too early to start...

Sat went to see bb, 24 wks and weight ar 640g...

Ya cel_cel you are right... but sometimes I also wonder is it really my tummy too big cos I dunno my tummy size is it normal... after all these comments

And sometimes I quite worried abt my weight gain also cos I am more to the plump side before pregnant... before pregnant already a lot of ppl said I look plump
... then now if dun control ah... cannot imagine... somemore my sisters all put on weight after give birth and can't go back to their original weight... maybe my family gene

But like what you said... as long as bb is healthy... that is our main concern

Talking abt colleagues. There are 2 pregnant ladies in my office. 2 of us are havng boys and one is having a girl. After my detailed scan, I came back and told everyone "It's a boy." cos everyone was placing a bet on the gender of our babies. As colleagues, everyone just said " oh, congrats." The one who is having a girl looked at me and said " So happy huh? It's boy." with the sour grapes look.

I buay tahan. To me, makes no difference because they are our own babies, boy or gal. I would prefer a happy and healthy child.

sysa

i also dun understand it when pple get bitter over getting daughters... arent they daughters themselves???
kao_angry.gif
like when i told some frens tat mine is a princess, they can even say:har, wont a boy b better.. as if we get to choose... anyway, HB n i are absolutely thankful for this baby ger. and at least god din put me through a miscarriage ealier on wf the bleeding n bedrest... Children are rewards from Heaven!!!
kao_babydust2.gif

Zhimin

dun worry bout the weight thing. im worse than you, put on 9kilos aldy.. but think it this way, rather we put on weight and try to lose them later, than to have a under-nourished *touchwood* child.. by then, too late for any regrets...

kriss and celine
Thanks for your input...
Regarding getting CL... aiya think my MIL hear stories before from some where and have impression that CL is not good etc etc.. basically that's her opinion...
My MIL is also someone that is self centre ( I think)... she always think only her way is the best way only she cook the best that kind one lor. Maybe that also contribute why she think CL no good.
My HB drive.. I also suggest to her that every weekend or when ever she need to come back, we can drive her back to get or buy the things she want.
basically.. seriously I just think she is croping up the so-call "reasons"... whatever I counter suggest she will say aiya it's inconvenience.
Therefore last nite I dun wanna talk so much ( since Hb not around), I will get my Hb to tell her. Son talk to her is always better than DIL tell her mah...

ya looks like I have to talk to my Hb tonight to tell his mum nicely and ask her to re-consider...
Besides CL matters... there is also the ongoing look after of the baby. After my ML... if she also want us to bring baby to and fro her place or over the weekdays... I relaly have to think what to do abt it

Yuki
I agree with you... even earlier on when my job becomes stressful and my HB was down with flue and I got so stress up, when my dogs s naughty I weep and cry... usually I will scold them ...hahaha... I cannot forsee when we 1st have baby with me... the last thing I want is to feel unhappy with my MIL etc etc...and stress myself up.

Zhimin
I understand what you are saying... sometimes pple just talk " nonsense"... my colleague also will ask,... wow u wear maternity clothes already... isn't it obvious?? I'm 5mths pregnant.
wow tummy very big liao... hahaha... sometimes I think maybe they have nothing much to say except the obvious... just bear with them...
It's like a neighbour meet u in food court and ask you... Oh eating dinner ah...
I guess they just trying to say hello but dunno what else to say

sysa
my collegaue also place bet on my... but ALL bet I'm having a boy... hahaha but mine turn out to be a princess...
so far they are ok...infact most of them has Boy as 1st baby but they wan to have gal actually...
ANyway... so they have no much comment abt gals or boy...
basically I have no preference too... as long as they are heatlhy... but somehow.. I find my colleague hoping that I was disapoointed... they keep asking me... you like a Boy rite??
Then I always tell them... I have no preference, I like both

HI all...
I have just finished a whole box CHOCOLATE POCKY while reading through the posts... n now feeling bit guilty coz going home for dinner soon... sigh... no wonder me put on so much weight. = P

Yah some people really very kapo n contridicting one.... just ignore them. Guess i'm lucky my colleagues are all very nice... infact all of them bet i'm having Boy from the look of my tummy but when they found out i'm having a girl most of them very envious coz 3 out of 4 mommies in my office have ALL BOYS... = )

Hi all...

just now my colleague... mother of 3 kids told me... no need to buy baby cot. Just get a play pen will do wor...
new born just place on top level, when bigger then use the lower level...
Day time just let baby sleep in play pen etc..
changing of diaper also can be done on the play pen itself..

Anyone not intend to buy baby cot and just use play pen??
anyone has any comment on this?
I was planning to get a baby cot... probably a tom craft or daniel cot... etc...

Cookie

Firstly i oso think this way getting a playpen is enough. But i oso heard playpen is no good to bb backbone. Thatwise i brought a luckybaby cot

baobao
thanks for sharing your thoughts...
ok I will go ask around my other friends as well for opinion...
at first I think play pen a bit "shaky" as compare to cot.. more stable...

Hi Cookie,
was initally thinking of getting playpen only, but after hearing feedback about difficulty in lifting baby up after he/she starts sleeping at the bottom, decided to get a cot in the end.

I got a playpen for my mum's place, coz bb will be there in day time only, night time, will be back home, so buying cot for home, probably Tom Craft...

Hi God's Child,

I totally agree. As long as our babies are happy and healthy, we shd be thankful whether we have sons and daughters.

hi cookie,
i guess we'll all face some form of difficulties with our parents or in-laws now that we're moving on to a new stage of life! Dun let all this affect u too much yeah? Thank God u hv supportive husband n pray that things will work out fine! Meanwhile, must stay joyful for the sake of ur bb!

my MIL is doing my confinement for me, but also won't be staying at my place. i really wonder how this is gonna work out?! Considering the fact that she doesn't drive n intends to cook at her place then bring the food over. She prefers to cook at her place rather than my place. But i feel it's gonna be v tough to cook lunch, bring over, go home n cook dinner, and bring over again! Oh my. Can't imagine.

yes i agree that it really doesn't matter what others say about the size of our tummies or the gender of our babies! i think sometimes they make these comments simply coz they know not what else to say, or rather, it's the most natural thing to comment on our tummies n babies. Just be proud of the size of our tummies coz it's a privilege to be able to carry a baby inside us!

Same here. My MIL will be doing confinement for me as she can cook confinement food, she says hiring a CL is too expensive to be worth it. My colleagues have advised that confinement be done at our own homes so BB won't need to re-adjust after moving home. But how to if MIL is doing the confinement? Cannot expect to take a bus to my place just to bring food for me right? She also has to take care of her own household chores. So boh bian, had to stay with my PILs. Luckily, my husband has his own room but no atatched bathroom. After my ML, we plan to bring BB to my PIL every morning and fetch him back in the evenings. Hope everything works out, I'm a bit worried about differences in opinion while staying with my PIL during confinement and when they are taking care of my BB! Even though I get along quite well with them now.

Yah loh, when people find out that I'm having a boy, lots of them will say, "congrats, wah, must be quite happy right?" or "good loh" or "your MIL must be very happy"?. Then I always reply back, "so if it's a girl, not good is it?". Funny right, now still so "feng jian".

Seems like all of you are getting a cot. I think I won't. I'll get the 'sarong' thingy and maybe get a playpen. Still feel the traditional sarong thingy will help baby sleep better.