(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Good Morning...

I'll also be using a cot (from my friend) at my place... will probably bring BB to my mum's place after my ML everymorning n bring her back everynight... then maybe will buy a play pen so mum easy to do other chores... Will not buy a sarong coz i heard BB may get so used to sleeping in sarong then future go out very mah fan coz BB may get grouchy without it... ??

All was well at the scan yesterday. Thank GOD.
Bb is fine, at 760gm. Quite big hor. I asked doc if he's too big. He said that there's no such thing as too big. So funny. He said bb's size was ok.

Mashy,
I also need to do glucose test next visit, coz my Dad has diabetes, so I am considered higher risk. Nothing to do with bb's wt.

Sleepingdeer
Can try Income's home cleaning. My gf says that there's warranty to change the cleaner if we're not satisfied.

Cookie
Yup, best to get hb to explain to her...to minimise your MIL's unhappiness.

Re playpen, it's really up to you. My gf also suggested that I used playpen. But, I find that the support (base) of the playpen not as good as the cot. Plus, playpen wld have to bend lower than cot (even the highest level of playpen). No good for my (and my mum's) back. Anyway, since the cot is only $200+, I'll be getting a cot. Unless it's like $500+, then, I'll consider substituting it with a playpen. Of course, one impt criteria to me when choosing cot is to find one which has a higher top ht, good base, good mattress for bb's back support, big enough to last a while. Then, to me a cot is worth it. Some cots are so small that can only use for up to 1yr, then not worth it loh. It's really individual preference lah.

hi krissie
i have the same point of view as you on cot vs playpen...
initially still thinking which one to get... after i go to the dpt store and compare both, decided to get cot for bb. but still haven't bot yet. haha...

tangs got sales. but unluckily, their children dpt is under reno untill nov.... sob sob, can't get chance to buy bb stuff.

Good morning mummies

Actually I quite enjoy seeing our own tummy to grow...
to me it is a very very unique experience... and I enjoy every moment now in pregnancy except the first trimester when I have very very bad MS... but the way my colleagues phrase the comment is like "oh... your stomach get too big in size liao... your leg also swollen twice the size..." (my own interpretation) cos all of them are very slim... haha... Then when they know I am expecting a girl... they like "oh... ur MIL will not happy anot?" (cos my hubby the eldest son) Seriously I prefer girl cos can dress her up... I think my PIL dun mind a girl also... but just that some relatives also will comment "ah... how come is girl?"

As for the cot... I got one hand me down cot by my sister... but I considering putting the playpen at my PIL house cos I only intend to put bb there in the day... however I find that the mattress in the cot normally very thin... my hubby's concern is worried bb's head still soft so the playpen too hard for bb's head... Then he said alto I said everyday I wan fetch bb back home... but sometimes we will lazy to do so one, so I also dunno whether should buy a proper cot to put at PIL place anot... still deciding
kao_confused.gif

i also hv same dilemma. Thinking of asking my mum to take care of bb when i go back to work. Means may need to get another cot or playpen. Actually, can newborn babies sleep in playpen? Thot they must be able to sit up to stay in playpen? Anyone can advise on this?

Also, my mum has got 2 cats. Anyone knows if it'll be unhealthy for bb to be in a house with 2 cats? Somemore the cats always anyhow jump ard...am afraid they'll jump into bb's cot/playpen to sleep or play with her! Hmmm...

Zhimin,
i also am happy that i'm expecting a girl coz i like girls! can dress them up and i think they're sweeter n more affectionate
Like you, my hubby is eldest son and i'm eldest daughter, but thank God my PIL did not comment on whether they prefer boy or girl! (though we suspect they'd prefer a boy) i guess as long as we are happy n proud of our baby, it doesn't really matter what others think!

hi queen,
my MIL is doing confinement for me but i'll be staying at my own place coz there's not enough room in her place for me to stay. Besides, she wouldn't want to stay over at my place coz i guess she's used to her own home n surroundings. Perhaps i'll hv to seriously reconsider how things are gonna work out...seems v tough for her to do confinement for me when we're in different homes!

hi ladies!
on one day leave and so much catching up to do!!

someone told me JL got sale this wed. so if you ard, can pop by.

i also agree that cot seems better. usually play pen's mattresses are very thin and you need to buy another mattress for it and it's not cheap if you buy a good mattress.

i also got the same reaction from pple when they ask whether boy or girl. u know how most pple think that u r very 'good' if you get boy the first time? my hubby keeps wanting a girl and he's so disappointed. but his parents are of cos very hubby and keep saying that at least we no need to try so hard for boy next time. feel so stressful hearing these kind of things!

sleepingdeer,
i m watching quidam tmr!!
so happy! dad got free tickets but he going overseas so he let me have it. how long did the show last?

durianlover,
are you able to take care of your BB and do the household chores yourself? Another way is to do confinement yourself, but it'll be tough. Cos you can always cater confinement food and have them delivered to your place. I've heard of such a service. If you stay close to your PIL, how about getting your HB to fetch you to your MIL every morning and fetch you home every evening? I know that during confinement not supposed to step out of the house but I think only travelling in a car should be ok lah. Actually, not sure how much help my MIL will give me in terms of taking care of the BB. But I guess staying with PIL, don't have to worry about cooking and doing the household chores and can concentrate on caring for BB. A CL will care for the BB full time except when it's time to feed and cook. Some will even help to do some light housework!

mashy,
yesterday went to motherswork and saw the leap pad system. my hubby was so impressed by it he said he will buy it for baby next time!

Zhimin

actuali i am in same situation as you..haha.. hw come we always same same
whens ur EDD? mine is 19 jan

ok, bout the cot/pen thing.. i also b placing bb at MIL hse during day and hopefully i can fetch bb home most evenings when HB is around ( cos he works shifts ). but at times when he b working and i b starting my SIM course in July, i think i b staying over at my MIL's place certain times... wont wana leave bb alone there leh...so HB and i think a cot is better since BB's most hours be at MIL's house. for our own hse, we b gettin a cot also.. cos we managed to find one at Carrefour for $158, matress another $35 which makes it $193. its $100 more exp than a pen but definitly can last longer... n sturdier...so we b getting 2 cots...

alot of pple, incld my MIL say waste of $ to buy 2. but i think its all worthwhile since i can pass down to my siblings or friends later on. and i also prefer bb to come home to a home sweet home bed...

can check with you something? yesterday i met my CL to place deposit and she says i need to get those milk warmer. is that the avent warmer that i see in departmental stores?

SY,
wat's a leap pad system?

cel_cel,
the mattress which u got for $35 was from carrefour? care to share wat type of mattress it is and how thick? 2-inch? 3-inch? Am looking for a mattress for my bb cot too.

queen,
i dun think i can do confinement myself...dun really know how to cook confinement food leh! And i also don't really know what classifies as confinement food. i think it'll be tough to take care of bb n do housework, but i'm kinda prepared for it. Hubby will help out, so hopefully it won't be too tough. My hubby doesn't drive (we dun own a car), so if i wanna go my MIL's place for meals, i'll prob take a cab. She stays pretty nearby (15-20mins drive). But still v troublesome to go to n fro everyday. i think it's better for u that u can stay at ur MIL's place! Can concentrate on resting n taking care of bb...no need to do housework

hi mashy,
i dun think i'll cater confinement food. My hubby says it'll be an insult to my MIL if i do so! My MIL is a good cook n relatives all know that - in fact, they all expect her to do confinement for me. That's why we decided to ask her to do confinement - and also to let her play her part and feel involved

durianlover,
i din really explore the one for babies but the one for older kids has this pen that you can run over the words and letters and they actually will sound the letters out to teach u. so i tot it's a good way to learn phonics and pick up english.

the babies one shd be quite similar. think it's quite fun.

regarding confinement food, there's actually quite a few restrictions on what you can it and what you can't. i just realised u can only eat kai lan and brocoli and beans and even fish, not all fish is suitable. so best to have someone who knows to cook for u. and need to drink a lot of red dates and longan water.

cel_cel

our situation seems alike
kao_smile2.gif

I really wan to make an effort to bring back the bb from PIL house after my ML over... but I think is hard cos my hubby work shift work... without him around dunno I alone can handle to bring the bb back hm by taking lrt? I not able to stay at my PIL house also cos the rooms are occupied by my younger bro-in-laws.

The cot from carrefour sounds attractive le... I frequent carrefour a lot but dunno they got sell cot... wonder is it still available? Do they offer free delivery of the cot?

I graduate from SIM also...

durianlover

its a 4 inch one. size is 132cm by 71cm. think it comes as addition purchase to the cot. not sure if you can buy it separately. you might wana check it out at Suntec Carrefour at the baby's dept.i bought one aldy, might go back soon to order 2nd cot. the one at my MIL house delivered and its reali not bad, big n wide, matress thick enuf... no complaints reali

Mashy,
will go check it out.

Durianlover,
will your MIL stay over at your place during your confinement? I wd think that it can be quite inconvenient for her to travel up and then esp when they are getting on in years. also wouldn't your hb think that it's tough on her to be travelling back and forth?

Zhimin

it was at Suntec tat i happen to chance upon tat cot. Luckybaby brand. yup, free delivery n installation. check it out when you can la... i might only b able to go down and order 2nd one next week...

zhimin,
are you intending to get a stroller? or just get a baby carrier? maybe if you have to bring baby back by yourself sometimes, make sure you get a lightweight stroller. think combi has some quite nice ones. since bb's stuff is already at your place and PIL's place, dun think u need to keep bringing the bb's stuff back and forth right? think a baby carrier is quite convenient also.

cel_cel,
thanks will go check it out! But the size of the mattress seems a bit big for my cot leh. My cot size is 50.5 inches by 27 inches...urs is slightly bigger (i calculated). Anyway if u happen to go back to get the 2nd cot, can u help me to ask if i can buy the mattress separately? That's if u remember lah
no pressure

4 inches is a good thickness! i see some that are 2 inches high only...thot it's a bit low, considering that the highest level of my cot is still quite low, so wld be better to get a thicker mattress.

SY,
no my MIL won't be staying over at my place during confinement. She prefers her own place
Yes i realised it's gonna be very troublesome, but when i asked my hubby abt it, he didn't seem to think it was a problem leh!! Hmmm...i think i'll talk to him tonite and help him see the clearer picture....then we'll see how again

Girls!! girls!!!

i called Suntec Carrefour and they still have that promo on!!! its while stocks last, think Taime is clearing stock... must pressure HB to go down soon to order. u know why, cos the same thing sells at $299 at some other baby stores i saw ( incdg bedding ). but if you take out the bedding price at $60, which makes the cot n matress $239, its stil $46 cheaper!!! oh no, i must ruch down soon, if not, i 'bai bai' waste tat $46 down the drain...

durianlover

i din ask jus now over phone, din c ur msg yet. i will ask for you when i go down n order k

hello gals

Wow! really envy u gals. Got MIL to look after bb.
i'm doing confinement at my parent's plc n after that me n bb will be staying there for at least 3-4mths. Hubby n i will be seperated for 3-4mths

zhimin - yes, last 2 weeks i went carefour n saw the bb cot n they stated got free delivery.

Confused

Your hubby can't stay togather with you at your parents' place?

SY

I also heard that Combi is a good brand... if we buy light weight one will the stroller topple easily?

When I at work I always cross my legs... will there be any side effect?

zhimin - he cant leh cos he say if he's not at home, they (PIL n SIL) will mess up the house. And i cant bring bb bring to his house cos i afraid if bb cry or anything happen in the mid night i really dont know wat to do (i no experience leh) so my mum suggest to leave bb at her hse n she will help me. So by 5th mth i should be able to handle bb liao.

confused...
dun envy too soon... kekeke... MIL helping can be a problem too... difficult to communicate...
it's good your parent can help ( my parent can't), tho your HB maynot be with u all the time at least u are with parent.
When my MIL suggest I do confiement at her place... I faint...kekeke..
Currently there isn't a proper room at my IL place already... so my HB might not be there with us (me and baby) all the time.
Imagine I be separate from him and MUST face my IL...hahaha... worst...
But dun worry, I'm sure things will straigthen out " when the boat reaches the bridge"

durianlover,
sometimes i think must explain to hubby. they dun see the pic at times. i also tell my hubby that he can't possibly make it so troublesome for his own mother right? think he never really think of the details!

confused,
isn't it better that your parents are helping u? less chance for conflict.
how come hubby cannot stay over? why are you staying there for 3-4 months?

Zhimin,
light weight ones shdn't topple easily. it just makes it easy to bring around. (At least that's my opinion). anyway i m sure we end up putting baby's stuff in the compartments and the whole thing becomes much heavier!

i also sit cross leg. dun think there's side effect. so far bb no complains

Hi Krissie,
congrats on your good checkup! bb at 760gms, wow! And Dr. Ho say ok? What if bb becomes too big leh? Do epistomy cut? (jialet, can't spell the word, hope you know what I mean)

How is your weight gain so far? I very chiam liao, i think I am gaining weight too fast, yesterday was telling my hubby I look like Humpty Dumpty now, no waist, like a egg...

Durianlover,
think as long as the cats dun jump on the bb and scratch her, should be ok.
Just need to observe how they behave around the bb in the early stages, if they not interested in her, then likely they won't show much interest in her later on as well. I was planning to have my bb grow up with my cat for added interaction, since my cat was with my mum, but sadly she passed away b4 my bb came.

SY,
haha, so lucky, free tickets! Hope you enjoy Quidam then, especially the clowns' acts. The show started at 8pm sharp, and ended about 10:20pm, so it is about 2 hours with intermission of about 20min. Enjoy!

I heard something quite unbelievable, my hubby's frens just went though confinement of their first baby, and the wife did the whole confinement herself, w/o CL, w/o maid, and w/o parents help! And the hubby could even go back to work after 1 week leave, and play golf on Sundays! The wife really 'liao bu qi' hoh? Think I will freak out if I am left on my own!

COnfused,
I also doing confinement at my parents place, though my MIL stay with us. Reason being my MIL dunno how to do confinement, and I dun feel comortable asking MIL to do for me anyway.

AFter confinement over, I also have headache, coz I wanna stay at my parents place for the full 3 months period, by my mum say, cannot, your place is with your hubby, so must go back home and stay, day time, then bring bb over.

But I think my MIL will want me to stay at home, but I just not comfortable with her around... sigh!

sleepingdeer,
i also very excited to go and watch quidam! so it won't end too late. my stupid hubby say he wants to go home at 10. hope i won't be late!!

though i din put on much weight, yesterday i wore and dress and tot i look really horrid...no waist..

your hubby's frens quite good leh. i dun think i can tahan doing it myself with bb crying etc etc..maybe the hubby a very good help? and provided the wife not in too much pain.

Hi mashy, etelle, SY, ssf, sleepingdeer, krissie, queen, celine, confused, zhimin, sunny, durianlover, yuki, babylon, cel cel and anyone I may have missed out.
Haven't come in here for a while... no update from my side, gender of the twins still can't be determined....ahaha...wl have to wait till detailed scan but they are within normal weight range. Can't see much from gynae's scan cos looked so 'crowded' to me.. we told her we give up trying to figure out this or that.

Zhimin
U can measure the dimensions for the present mattress and go to any furniture and ask them to custom-make another one for u to put on top.

Combi stroller won't topple lah...

sunny/krissie
I still dun buy the idea of a playpen, cos the bottom is rather soft and u gotta bend down v low to put the bb...just my opinion.
For cot, u can put to highest level and later as bb grows, u can lower it.

durianlover
If ur mil do confinement, then perhaps u can hire part-time cleaner to take care of chores. If ur mil doesn't mind, she can go home in the evenings when ur hb returns from work. Not easy, but can be done.

confused
Not good to be 'separated' from ur hb leh..hehe..

Hi Stylobb,
Glad that your twins are doing well...haha, your bbies wanna play hide and seek for a few months more before revealing gender...

Hi SY,
no lah, still ok, won't end too late. But the show starts on time, so try to be there early to avoid the crowd... hmm, we were nearly late also, coz queuing for pop corn and drinks!

Yah lor, i really pei fu my hubby's frens, I told my hubby not to expect me to do the same hoh, hee hee

it has been really long since i contribute. Went for my routine chekup and saw my bb boy. He is weighing 715g (estimate based on measurement) and I'm exactly 25 weeks. Is this consider big?? well so far i gained 4kg.. but din know bb already taken ard 1kg.

re cot and playpen.. it has been the topic between my HB and myself recently.. still cannot decide which one to buy.. but most prob will but a cot but then again which brand to buy and where to find the cheapest bargain is another headache.. latest by when do u think we need to get the cot?

and i think besides this, we also need to start sourcing for baby bottles, clothes etc etc.. headache siah..

stylobb
think your scan pic will be really crowded cos got 2 inside!! wow your twins are within normal weight range? that's good to hear! i was a really underweight twin baby.

sleepingdeer,
hee, i will justp ass my hubby his ticket. if he late, i go in first!

edd2jan,
long time no see! i bought cot in the end cos i like them better. so far, only bought some bottles and the steriliser and some bb clothes. the rest not so soon lah. need to pack the room first

cookie n SY - i agree lor, staying with my parent is better than staying with my MIL. But i oso worried cos i afraid MIL will poison his son(my hubby) cos MIL always like to say backstab me n i'm sure hubby n my relationship will be affected. (hubby very filial n soft hearted sure listen to his mother) but no choice lor, i take thing one step at a time.

SY - i got to stay at my parent's plc cos i dont know how to look after bb leh. (i afrid something happen to bb or bb cry in the mid nite n i dont know wat to do) so my mum told me to leave bb at her hse n at the same time i can see how to take care of bb then i learn lor. By the 5th mth i should be able to know how to hamdle bb liao.

styloBB,
wow gd to hear ur twins are doing fine! i really pei fu pple who carry twins! think it's not easy! already with 1 baby i feel that my tummy's so stretched n all other side effects...think with 2 inside it'll be double the kicking and everything. Take gd care n hope ur twins come out strong n healthy!

my MIL wants to cook at her own house, not at my place. Coz she's more familiar with her kitchen, the utensils, etc etc. So that poses a bigger problem!

SY,
think you're right abt explaining in detail to hubby! i must talk to him again to let him see the whole picture. Meanwhile, enjoy your quidam show tonite!

i think my bb's in a weird position right now coz i feel her kicks that are facing inwards...not the usual outward kicks. Like kicking all my other organs inside! Any of u hv that kind of feeling?

hi styloBB - glad to hear that your twins are fine. yeah! During your detailed scan u can definitely see your bb gender

yeah! i know i not gd to separate fr hubby but no choice leh. i oso headache ah.

Gals - can i ask after we went through detailed scan n confirm bb gender, will the gender change again har? i was told some detail scan accurate n some not leh.

sleepingdeer,
do u know if bb will develop any allergies n stuff if there're cats ard? am kinda concerned abt that, yet i also believe that when babies grow up with animals, they'll come out stronger n more resistant to such stuff!

confused,
i personally wld like to hv my hubby ard esp during the first few months! can't imagine being separated from him for 3-4months...it's quite long. Actually i guess we all dun really know how to handle babies esp if we're first-time mums, but we'll somehow learn a bit here n there from nurses and get the hang of it as we take care of our babies, so perhaps u shdn't be too concerned!

Anyone started going for pre-natal massage? Any good recommendation?

Hi edd2jan,
Wow ur baby really big! Envy envy. Me going gynae's this sat. Hope bb would have grown by then. The last time was only 310g at week19. Now I m in week23.

Many commented my tummy small so kinda worried if baby has grown. So far my weight gain remain constant at 5kg. Didn't really feel that my appetite increase much.

wenyl,
i'm also wondering if pre-natal massage is any good? still considering....
my appetite also didn't increase much n i've gained abt 3kg at 21wks. My bb was only 300g at 20 wks, so actually urs is bigger
But it shd be ok as long as gynae says bb's growing fine, so don't worry

hi wenyl, i am also not gaining too much weight. like you 5kg only.tummy also not very big. no worries at all. size does not matter :D

wenyl,
your bb bigger than mine already! at week 20, mine is only at about 300g.

you having a boy is it? a lot of pple told me that having a boy tummy smaller. dunno whether got truth or not...

i want to go for pre natal massage. UOB has this special offer at 38 for 1st time trial. i may go try that.

confused,
if you can cut short the time u stay at your mum's place, then you and your hubby won't be separated for so long. think most impt is still the first month cos that's also when bb's routine are formed right? if bb not too difficult to take care of, then no need to stay so long.

durianlover,
good luck with you talk with hubby tonight!

Hello Wenyl and the rest of the mummies. Saw the conversation that was going on. Hope u gals don't mind me joining. I am 24 weeks now and yesterday one of my friends just commented that my tummy looks small. My tummy is indeed smaller compared to my colleague whose EDD is 2 weeks earlier than me so I was a bit worried earlier in my pregancy but my detailed scan at 21 weeks revealed that my girl is average in all the measurements and so I am very happy. Too small, u will be worried and too big u will also be worried.

Regarding the MIL and confinement issue, it's really a prob to some. My sis's MIL just informed her that she no longer wants to look after her 3 mth old son. Our mother is working and not too willing to quit and look after the boy. Dual income family have their own headache.

welcome mongs!!! my next gynae visit is next monday. till then will check on my baby wgt gain as well. last was like 318gm. and i am now in my 23 weeks.

also many ppl commented my tummy is quite low and also a good thing coz easy to deliver. but i worry my placenta is low too and need c-sect. anyone same as me??