(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

nope..i don't have it now but in my first trimester, i got it. i am not sure if its because of allergy but i avoid seafood during that time. Now i am fine.

Pochacco/SY,
I have a cocker spaniel at home too. Dun have the habit of carrying him but they tend to shed quite a bit of fur. Me trying to spend more time with him now b4 bb arrives.

As for strecthmark creams, I am alternating between J&J Baby Oil & the Palmers stretchmark cream. I kinda like the bb oil smell better. I remember someone bot the palmers cream in m'sia for half the price.

Mashy
I'm also using the Clarins oil. It's retailing at $79, I think. But, I always buy from the airport DFS. Much cheaper at $55 only.
I'm also using the Palmer's cream. hee hee.. but prefer the Clarins one, less sticky for me.

krissie - which clarins oil har? they have 2 type right? we juz apply or need to massage on our abdominal. I had m/c b4 so gynae told me not to massgae my abdominal.

SY - i oso have a poodle at home. Gynae did ask me not to go too near to the dog leh.

hahaha.... buay tahan
I was laughing so hard when I read about natalie and ryan and... issac lee...
my collegaues think I siao to laugh facing monitor....
I had a good laugh....

Hi SY,

I used a combination of cloth diapers and Pampers premiun for newborn. Used pampers usually in the night so need not change very frequent. But my girl was quite mischievous. Sometimes change diapers for her at 10pm, only to pass motion 10 mins later so gotta change again. Then 11pm pass motion again........ Very heart pain cos the diapers ain't cheap..... But have to change for hygiene reason. So even a bit of shit only i change......

Actually for those with maid or CL who can help to do housework, use cloth diapers is not a bad idea. Heard cloth diapers is more 'breadthable' than disposable diapers. It's the washing and scrubing that's tough work. If use cloth diapers, good to put the liner so the diapers don't get too dirty. The liner helps to soak some of the urine and hold the motion.

Besides Christian names, i had headache over the Chinese name for my first child. Was so stressed over the name during my confinement cos gotta register within one month of birth. So my advice is don't neglect chinese name as well.

Talking about joke, i used to have a school mate who's name is Fu Lai (luck come) but his surname is Wu ........

I have a friend who's surname is Chng and we used to joke that he should name his daughter Monica. (Mo Ni Car Chng - touch your backside).

Hi MAshy Brainz,

May i know what's a anti-inch moisturiser? Sounds interesting. Cos i have very dry skin and when it gets too dry, it itch. An anti-moisturiser sounds like a solution to me

I'm also using Clarins Oil - I like it too... but I'm lazy.. or always rushing... so never apply on daily basis.

I have a friend who works in Clarins... so fortunate for me.. I got it in staff price :p
But It's good that DFS selling so much cheaper.

Oh gals...
I also have 2 dogs at home... I also check with gynae and he say as long as dun sleep with them is ok and alwys wash hand after handling them.
I still play with my dogs and I walk them twice daily including clearing their poo thru plastic bag. As they are too big to be carried, I still hug them occassionally.

SO far I have been fine...even when my HB was down with throat virus infection and depsite I sleep in same room as him... God Bless ! I'm not affected.
I think as long as hygiene is maintained alwys wash hand regularly after handling them. Everything should be fine.

Alot of perception is Dogs are dirty etc... but wheather the dogs are dirty or not all depends on how to owner groom them. That's how I feel.
In fact I'm looking forward to my baby growing up with my dogs... tho my dog's life will be short....

cel cel,
i think TMC one is ok. The CL was going to charge me 2500 if i need her to be ard for CNY those 4 days. totally agree with u on the MIL thing. i rather spend extra than be stressed out. want to avoid potential conflicts.

Mashy

The CL oni looks aft baby and mother. no housework involved...

SY

*slap high 5* ya lor, i reali wana avoid getting the blues... somemore my confinement let my MIL do means i gota move in to her house... i rather hav it at my own comfort...my own toilet...

i think dogs are ok! in fact, it's cats that we have to be more wary about. Esp cat litter - it's advised not to clear cat litter or go near it coz it contains certain bacteria that may be harmful to unborn child.

Also, my colleague faithfully applied anti-stretchmark cream every day (prescribed by her gynae) but still got very bad stretchmarks. So she claims that creams don't really work but it's in the genes.

SY,
i'm getting my MIL to be confinement lady coz she cooks well and knows how to cook confinement food. But heard fr others that getting MIL not so gd coz it'll only involve cooking n not cleaning house nor taking care of bb. So i think it's ok to spend that kind of money employing a CL!

queen,
i hvn't eaten durians in some time already. Though i love durians!! No craving for durians leh

yuki,
which brand of cloth diapers and nappy liners is good?

so many dog lovers ard!

cookie,
you really love your dogs! good to hear that it's ok to play with them etc. my dog is also getting old so i hope that he can live another 1 to 2 years so at least my bb can have a chance to play with him.

krissie, cookie,
i realise a lot of pple use Clarins. must be quite good but so ex!

mashy,
CL will take of you, your hubby and baby and do housework. the one that i ask say she will sweep everything and mop once every few days. will wash clothes as well and do marketing if required.

cel cel,
i told my hubby hard to ask MIL to do things. if i have to end up doing the things and not get enough rest, worse still. and besides this is our first baby so i think shd at least have a CL. if second baby dun want to get CL, i m ok abt it.

my CL say she will do housework leh. TMC one doesn't do? maybe she will do simple ones.

Hi SY,

I didn't buy new one. Got some hands down from cousin. She bought some from Bangkok too cos it's cheaper there. So i can't advice on the brand. Sorry. Nappy liners - i can't remember. Used those that comes with the gift hampers. Some Anaku and one tissue brand with a orchid on it.....

Hi Mashy Brainz,

Where can you get the dermaveen? Is it cream or lotion type?

yuki

bought from ntuc unity. but the latest bottle i bought from the national skin centre as i found that it's a little cheaper there.

it's a little sticky though, so u might wanna try a small bottle first. I used it mainly coz i itch easily and it helps me. but i think if put on tummy should be ok. Coz i put it all over my body including my calves and back. My hb says i practically 'bathe' in it.

Hi Cel_cel/SY,
hee hee, yah, I have zoo membership, but also coz I volunteer there as a docent, so I go at least once every month... sometimes when I get stress at work, a walk in the zoo will refresh me.

me not getting CL, my mum will be doing confinement, and engaging contract maid to come 3 times a week to clean the house...

Owl,
I had a few itchy spots here and there, dun think can classify as rashes... after a while it went away...

Confused
It's called Tonic Oil. This one is for preg women. The other one we cant use. It says on the box that it's for stretchmarks during preg. Can double check with the salesgal before you buy. Are you buying from DFS? Yup, just apply. No need to massage. But, for your case, better to check with gynae before using. I also asked my gynae before using. He said that it's ok to use.
http://sg.clarins.com/main.cfm?prodID=65

Durianlover
I think might not be able to prevent stretchmarks, but can minimise them. Like now, my stretchmarks (pink ones)
are on my bum, and so far, that's the only place that I didn't put. So silly, right. Coz I didnt think that my butt will expand so much. So, I neglected it.
I'll surely have stretchmarks (coz I already have some on my thighs and butt from sec school days), so have to minimise them. I'm hoping that even if I have them, it'll be the whitish ones, not the purple or red ones.
Plus, when I put on my tummy, it will not be so itchy. If not, I'll keep scratching my tummy.

SY
ha ha.. can only tell u the effect after I give birth to confirm if it's good. But, I like it qt a lot, coz of the smell and it's less sticky as compared to the Palmer's cream. I use that for my thighs, coz need to put more. I've been using Clarins oils & creams before preg (but to tone my fats lah) and it's qt effective, so I trust their body products loh.

sleepingdeer,
what's a docent?

yuki,
thanks. i will ask around.

mashy,
i am like u. i itch easily too even though i keep putting a lot of lotion. in the office, i have lotion on my table and i keep applying like every two hours on my tummy cos it's so itchy....

Sleeping deer
How much is it to engage the contract maid to clean the house? You mean those Indonesian maids type?

Hi Owl,

Like i mentioned before, I had very bad rashy during the last trimster of my first pregnancy. HAd to take meication for the itch and apply cream. Teh demertologist diagnosed as "PLUPPS" or something and she said it's common for woman first pregnancy and it usually appear in the last trimster. If the rashes and/or itch is very bad, you may want to check with your gynae. Or you can try calamine lotion. But as my skin is dry, calamine lotion is not suitable for me.

I recall reading in magazine that if very bad rashes appear, it may mean danger to the baby due to certain reason so i rush to my gynae when i had rashes. But i think the rashes and danger to baby thingy is very rare. My gynae didn't even bat her eyelid when she saw my rashes and assured me that it's nothing serious. Just need some cream to get rid of the itch.

Owl,
i read the same thing as what Yuki mentioned. if itch is bad, it can mean a certain condition which means that doc needs to monitor and baby may need to be delivered early. got to check my book again.

krissie,
guess it's nice to pamper oneself esp during pregnancy!

krissie,
yah i agree! must put some lotion to minimise stretchmarks! Must remember to apply everywhere - including butt n breasts coz will expand! Hmm i thought red or pinkish stretch marks are better than white ones? White ones stand out more against our skin - isn't it?

Hv u all planned for childcare after u give birth? Are u all going to continue working after maternity leave?

durianlover...

i gona b lettin my MIL look aft bb wf the help of a new maid. cos my SIL also giving birth next mth and wf 2 bb, MIL canot cope. so thinking of using 2nd mth ML to get and train new maid... so bb will stay wf MIL daytime wf maid, at least i more 'fang xin'.

go your get 'rib pains'? these 2 days i have a kinda gnawing sore/pain on my right rib below the bra...wonder if its bra gettin tighter.. or is it cos stomach too stretched... anyone experience this?

durianlover,
i haven't really started planning for childcare but current plan is to get a maid in before i give birth so can train the maid and let CL teach the maid how to care for bb. then when i go back to work, will get MIL to pop by every now and then. i stay too far from both sets of parents so not much choice.

cel cel,
i dun really get rib pain but always get groin pain. can it be due to your posture?

SY

i was thinking so... cos i sleep sideway.. and its normally on my right ( avoid my HB's snores on my left
kao_frustrated.gif
think my body weight now too heavy, so mayb kana strained the right rib. its relai exactly the side so when i walk now n sit, can feel alittle gnawing sore there..

and i realised i cant stretch my hands back like before! now the shoulder too 'ba-ba', so canot do full back stretch.. the fats all 'jam' tog.. *sob sob*

cel cel,
i also realise got one night when i lie on my right, it was quite painful. dunno whether it just happen that night the weight keep pressing on my right and quite painful. but the next day the pain gone liao. maybe u keep lying on the right. must alternate lor. i always turn on different sides after a while.

i also dun dare to stretch all the way now cos tummy feels tight!

how u do all those cute icons?

Celine

I also just called up TMC and booked the antenatal class... taking Friday night classes too... start from 14 October.

So excited now...

Oh Zhimin...

we gona b classmates!!! haha, good good... we can identify ourselves then when class starts

SY

u can flip side, i canot leh... my HB on my left, and i cant face his thunder snores...think now as tummy gets bigger, all the weird pain coming liao... beta start swimming this weekend ...

the icons? if you see below, theres a ark grey bar and under a tab it states Emoticons. y ou can get the cute icons there...

hee...i also din know abt the icons until now. thanks cel cel!

cel cel,
me and my hb very funny one. if he flips to face me, i will flip away. then if he flips to the other side, i will flip to face him. can ask your hb to flip to other side or he doesn't flip during sleeping at all?

must pray for good weather! every time i want to swim it starts raining.
kao_angry.gif

SY

my HB dun flip one.. he sleeps on his back or sometimes like Tarepanda... so no point.. tried so many times,pull his chin and turn his face, but end up i become more awake... haiz...

cel cel
maybe it's a guy thing. once my hb fall asleep, think earthquake also hard to wake him!! think he flips out of habit.

krissie - ok thanks for the info. i'll get it when metro having sales if not very ex now leh. yeah! i better check with my gynae b4 buying.

SY - hubby say i snore so when i face him he flip to other side. and when he face me, he snore n i'll flip oso

Durianlover
I already have the whitish ones, so i'm used to it, it is closer to skin colour, so not so obvious.. But, the pink / purple ones are very obvious. So, I find them v ugly. Ya, I forgot abt butt.
my gf says her breasts were the 1st place for stretchmarks, so I also put on my breasts as sometimes, they's very itchy,so, I know it's expanding.

Yup, I'm continuing to work, my mum has kindly offered to help me to look after my son.

cel cel
I dun have rib pain, but have pelvic pain sometimes, also due to sleeping posture.

Confused
It's much cheaper to buy from DFS at the airport. See if any of your friends / relatives are travelling and can ask them to get for you. Can save $$.

cel cel,
wow u very disciplined, still go swimming! i'm very lazy..hv not swam for a long time. In fact never go exercise at all. Just eat n sleep! hee

i haven't decided on childcare plans when bb is born. THat's a big headache....
any of u plan to be SAHM??

SY,
how many yrs do u hv left of ur bond?

i'm seriously considering wat to do when bb's born...coz my hb n i wld prefer that i take care of bb and not leave bb with parents or in-laws all the time. But if that's the case, i doubt i can cont working...or at least cannot work full-time. But then i dunno if i can tahan being a SAHM n being at home with bb most of the time!

i will be taking 3 mths ML. so, the 1st mth, CL will help and teach me how to take care of bb. then 2nd and 3rd i will take care bb my own... after going to work, will let MIL take care during day time and we will bring bb back home at night after work.

durianlover
i still have near 2 years left. by the time bb is born and finish with ML, i will have about 1 year and 3 months left. i dd think abt staying home to look after bb and take no pay leave but dunno whether my company is ok with that arrangement. if i can take care of bb up to 6 months, i think i will feel safer when i go back to work.

sunny,
does your MIL stay very near you? my MIL still works and doesn't stay very near so i dun want to put my bb there. and i think i have to leave house very early everyday if i choose that option.

Actually i was a SAHM for five months after my girl was born. I didn't enjoy being a SAHM .;p

Anyway it's weekend already. Wanna wish all mommies Happy Lantern festival. Next year this time, all of us will be busy choosing lantern for our princes and princesses

Actuall celebrating my girl's 2nd birthday this sunday. Gonna have BBQ by the pool, and since it's lantern festival, the kids will all carry and show off their lanterns while the adults gather to appreciate the moon!
So excited already!

SY
yeah... I love my dogs
they give uncondition love :p so far I played with them too... tho not as often as my HB cos they are big and strong I scare they push me by accident but they are Big motivation for me to do regular walking. In fact I walk with them everyday and take it as a regular exercise.

My dogs will turn 5 and 4 yrs old when bb is born, so I hope they can accompany us till bb go Pri sch.

For clarins oil, u can go to Clarins counter ask them to recommend to you the one suitable for pregnant. I find clarins consultant very friendly and good in their explanation even if u dun buy. the last time I went CK TAngs counter... the consultant even wanna show me her stretch mark becos last time she never use...

Are u gng for short trip? u can buy from DFS since it's much cheaper...

ok bye gals... off work!!... finally leave office earlier

hi yuki,
care to share why u didn't enjoy being a SAHM?

actually my MIL can also help to take care of bb. But any of you hv concerns that when others take care of ur bb instead of ur own self, they'll raise the bb in a different manner from what u'd like to, n teach diff things that are opposing to ur parenting techniques? That's my main concern (tho' it's not as if i feel i am the best parent!). That's why not very keen on MIL taking care of bb while i work. But then, am also not prepared to be SAHM. Gotta think hard abt it!

Anyway, hope u all hv a gd weekend!!

Hi Durian lover,

It's very inconvenient to bring a newborn out especially when you are alone. Need to juggle with pram, bag filled with hot flask, bottles etc. So was cope at home most of the time.

And I miss interection with adults. As most of my friends were busy working, none has much time to talk to me. In addition, whatever I do, have to coincide with baby's timing. Maybe my friend can chat during lunch hour etc, but maybe that's the time i have to feed baby etc..... Slowly my focus change and i realised i am becoming an aunty, looking out for discount in newspaper, NTUC having sale on this item etc..... I felt small. And i have nothing to contribute to hubby's conversation except from what i read in the news etc or worse, maybe start to gossip about the next door neighbour etc because thay are the one who surround you........

And with only one income, i have to be prudent in my spending. So besides the inconvenient of bringing baby out, i didn't really get to enjoy shopping.....

Thou friends advised that i can always take a break, go for high tea etc.......... but money is an issue and finding companionship is also a problem when all my frineds are working. A high tea can easily cost $50, not to mention the cab fare to and fro..... And being a mother, just like the others, i would rather spend the money getting new toys or clothes for baby

And with no help at home, besides baby, need to cope with housework. And with a baby, there are definitely more clothes to be wash and will have a higher expectation on the cleanliness of my house. And there's the cooking too! I can't cope with the housework and all and also become very frustrated for failing to meet the my own expectation. I felt like a 'yellow face wife'. Thou hubby never complain but it's really myself. Sometimes so busy with housework and baby, can only bath when my hubby is back........ Imagine whole day being sweaty and smelly........

People have the misconception that being a SAHM will have more time with baby but it's not always true. I spend most of my time on housework and took for granted that i am always physically with baby that at one point i realised i didn't actually spend quality time with her cos i was always thinking about what haven't been done etc.....

I can't even have my meal in peace cos baby needs comes first. Only when she sleep, i can start to cook for lunch and maybe by then she woke up so have to wait till she sleep then i can have my lunch etc........

But that's how i lose weight too lah in addition to BF. I managed to return to my pre pregnancy weight when my girl is 4 months old.

Hee, i painted a very bleak picture of being a SAHM right? Well, it really depends on a person's character. My sister is a SAHM and she enjoy's being one.