(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ha ha.. I was also thinking this am abt strapless maternity bras, coz most of my clothes are spag straps or tubes.
So, need those with good support and little padding.

Juliann
I think can continue with usual skincare, but dun use products with retinol / retinyl. Coz Retinol is animal form of Vit A which causes birth defects. Usually, they are found in repair / wrinkle cream, e.g. SK2 dewrinkle active. Maybe you can check with the skincare counter. Ask them for the ingredients list. I've checked Chanel too. All products are ok as they are natural plant ingredients.

Wendyl
Is the max range 2.1mm? I can't rem is it is 0.21 or 2.1. I rem that the front range is 0.13mm. My bb's measurement is 0.18. : ) I think both hosps are quite ok, but heard that Mt. A is very pro-breastfeeding.

Krissie,

Yap. Doc say max 2.1mm (=0.21cm). Anyting more got to watchout.

You confirmed Mt A? Most of my frens also delivered there. But heard TMC svc very pro too. Doc say their scanning machines are very advanced. Will be sending me there in my 5th mth for detailed scan. So he say I can go look look see see around when I m there for scan. Hopefully I can decide by then cos need to sign up for antenatal class.

Evryone's talking abt Spring at Arcade. Hmm... must find time to go down one of these days too.

Hi all MTBs,
Went to my gynae, Dr Ang, yesterday because experiencing pain at my right side. Dr says need to monitor as expecting moms don't normally get pain on the right side. Scared man...
Anyway, did the Nuchal scan to check the neck. Measures 1.5mm, meaning the chances of DS for my age is 1:7130. So I'll not be doing anymore DS tests. Baby measures 8.3cm, I'm in my 13th - 14th weeks. Quite big hor? Weighed myself at the doctor's, I actually lost 0.5kg from 3 weeks ago. Also, the gynae tried to scan for the genitals... heehee, still can't tell whether it's boy or girl. He said that if it's a boy, sometimes by 14th weeks can see liao. Any of you here already know your BB's sex?

Do you all know where to find nice maternity swimwear in Singapore?

Hi girls
wow you all measured the neck liaoz...me not yet...in which week is it done? Me only going into 9 weeks this saturday hee hee

Wendyl
As of now, my gynae is at Mt. A & I like Mt. A, coz it's a Catholic hosp. We're catholics. So, feel more assured there loh.. Unless I change gynae, then will consider other hosps loh.

Queen
Ya, your bb is bigger then mine. My bb was 6+cm during week 13.

So far, saw mat swimwear at Mother's Work and Thyme ard $110+. If you don't mind the price, can check out seafolly at Suntec. If you're figure is quite standard type, can order from the internet, the Maternity Mall website (which was posted earlier). It's the nicest design I've seen. I can't get it coz my breasts are small, so need padding type & dun know whether theirs got padding or not.

Babylon
My N/T scan was $50, same rate as the usual u/s scan. Some gynaes only charge the normal u/s scan, others charge more. Depends on the gynae loh.

Hello gals

Wow! so many gals here went for N/T scan liao. Hooray! tomoro i can see bb liao. I so gan cheong cos dont know got N/T scan boh.

i went to see my gynae yesterday about the brownish discharge. Baby is fine and very active when doing the scan. It really makes me feel better knowing baby is fine. I got a week mc to rest at home.

my next visit will be 3 weeks later if no further discharge. Today looks good

next visit, i will be taking blood test to do the necessary testing. Does anyone know if you will get the results of DS immediately? If not how long we have to wait?

also is anyone taking the HIV test? i unerstand it is optional but will be mandatory soon.

Hi SSF,
Am glad you visit your gynae and everything is fine. You can set your mind at ease now and do rest well during your 1 week mc.

SSF
So good to hear that bb is fine & active. Results of N/T scan are immediate. I thot that the HIV test is compulsory already? I did my blood test at polyclinic earlier, so had the tests done for HIV, Thalessemia, Hep B, VRDL, etc.

Hi Krissie, no the HIV test is not mandatory yet but some clinics may have also made it mandatory.
Most likely i will go for the test as the gynae said the test is more for the baby and if it is positive, there are pills to control for the baby. So baby still got survival chance. FYI for the rest.

pray that all MTB has a healthy and bouncy baby!

have not have the time to log on for very long... been really buzy lately man... hope everyone is fine! My last gynae visit was during my 13 weeks 1 day and bb is abt 7/8cm.. also did my NT scan but gynae din say the measurement.. just said i cleared that.. and nxt appt (nxt mth) i be doing my blood test... can see my bb moved alot and gyane said my bb v active... but my tummy din show alot... being telling more pple and they are all v surprised that im already 3mths plus preg...

ok hope to come in more often but my workload is increasing.. not easy!! take care gals!

thanks edd2jan for the updates! great to hear that your baby is fine. sorry may i ask what is NT scan? is it to test for DS? my gynae actually delay the test till 15 weeks to draw the blood all at one time and do all the necessary test. edd2jan, did you draw blood for the NT scan?

SSF - NT scan is just like normal scan only it is more detailed as the gynae need to measure the back of the neck of the bb. No need to draw blood. Some documents mentioned that the best time to do the test is 11-14 weeks and the bb must be more than 4.6cm to do it. But cann't wait too long as if the bb is too big, the reading will not be correct.

hi ladies, so long never join in this thread liao. hope all is well!

juz wanna check with u ladies, if anyone of u know where to get Anne Geddes' baby posters?

hi mashybrainz,

ic. but i want posters not jigsaw puzzles :p doesn't matter, i'll look around.
i went to their website liao, but only got 4 to choose from. and like i said, i want posters, those that i can stick on the wall. keke...

Krissie

It ok my baby is 7.1cm when i do my NT scan. ME even go to thomson Fetal scanning department to do. They say my baby size is ok, so no nid to worry.

Yuen yeun mesurement seem to be wrong for 4.6cm loh

Krissie,

Babylon,
My NT scan was part of the pkg. Pkg cost $525 (incld GST). The amt covers my future visits till delivery for consulation, normal scans, multi-vits. Pkg does not incld blood test which I will be doing in my 4th mth & detailed scan in 5th mth at TMC.

edd2jan,
Me too. when I tell pple I 3mths now, they also say they cannot tell that I m pregnant leh. They say look like normal pple with tummy thats all.

Queen,
My gynae tried to scan for genitals too. Saw something protruding betw the legs. Say maybe it's a boy but hor, as I only 12 weeks, he say most probably its the umbilical cord lah!

As for maternity swimwear, I tink I saw some in Tom& Stephanie at Tiong Bahru. Cost ard $50+ but ltd designs. I tink the maternity swimwear looks too big for me now so I end up buying a set of large Tankinis from Blush Tampines Mall at $18 only. I tink that one can "jiam see tong" for the moment. hee hee! Gynae advise me now cannot swim, only to start swimming 1-2 weeks later. Say better to hit 2nd trimester then go swim.

Wah, how come some of your NT scans are so expensive? I have yet to take up my gynae's pkg, but he did not charge extra for the NT scan cos it's the same price for any other scans that I've done before. Those scans are charged at $20.

Krissie,
Padding for swimwear can just buy and sew it on.
$100+ for swimswear very expensive leh...

Wenyl,
Those tankinis that you saw at Blush, is it padded and made with swimwear material?

Etelle,
Er... I always avoid smelling my undies, heehee.
But I guess as per normal loh. Maybe a bit dirtier as pregnant ladies will give out more discharge. Use panty liners might be a good idea.

Hi Queen
I also avoid smelling my panties but then sometimes ah feel it's like smellier than normal. So well yah we have discharge ah...Hmmmm but used panty liner also not good leh maybe i think one day have to change a few times panties liaoz...bring to work and change. Fresher.

Queen
Ya, so far those that I saw are all $100+, maybe we can check out Tom & Stephanie like what Wendyl says. I'm thinking of getting a normal swimwear (perhaps size L) to wear for 2nd tri & also after I just gave birth. Dun think I can go back to my size S so soon. My current swimsuit is too small liao.

To all second time mummies,
How does it feel when bb kicks us? esp at the inital stage? Also, when did you all feel the bb kicking? My colleague only felt it in 5mth. I thot I can feel some movement in my lower right abdomen. Not sure if it's bb kicking me. Thanks!

Queen,
Yes. Normal swimwear matl with thin paddings. I will replace with my own pushup paddings. Have yet to try swimming in it thou. The prob with Blush swimwear is tat the top is rather fitting for me but the bottom is a bit loose. But i tink can still wear. I find maternity swimwear too big for me now. So bo bian take the $18 one & try 1st.

Krisse

Me oso feel something like kicking don't noe whether is it baby kicking me. And sometimes feel something moving inside.

krissie / Baobao,

I feel that..it is not a very strong movement..but can still feel it.
Not sure that is bb movement or not.

Etelle, I also have discharge and it has the foul smell. I feel the need to change my panty liner every time I visit the loo. How can we get rid of the smell? Wash with carefree feminine?

Oh no.. Spring Maternity at the Aracde will be closed by next Friday. I must pop down next week to grab last min buys before they close down. Sob sob.. there goes my fav shop to buy cheap maternity stuff.

Bao bao / babylon
Yeh.. so maybe it's indeed bb kicking us.. let's monitor. Coz my colleague's kicking started in 5mth, so I thot not so soon. But, she says I'm slimmer, so might be earlier.. ha ha.. but 2mths earlier is a stretch, right? Hope MH and the rest can advise us soon.

Berlin
I recall reading somewhere that it's not advisable for us to use vaginal wash. I think you check with your gynae first before using, just to play safe.

Hi berlin
Mmmmm feminine wash well i read that it does help but i have never try one yet and scared that wait causes infection to private area then how? Mmmmm jialat leh. If ask gynae how to remvoe the smell wait he say u all girl don't know then how i guy know ha ha :p

Krissie
Movement can be felt from 5 months / 20 weeks onwards, the current movement can not due to stomach trying to expand.

Hi styloBB
U also 2nd-time mum. Have do you cope with the elder child, normally I feels so tired that I can entertain/play with her.

yuenyuen
Who are the second-time mums here? Me curious..hehe..

Krissie
Yuenyuen
Baobao??
Babylon??

How I cope ah? My hb is a v hands-on dad... he plays with him. My boy also plays by himself at times. How old is your girl?

styloBB
I'm 1st time mum. Am asking the 2nd time mums how to feel bb kick.

I think MH is also 2nd time mum, if I rem correctly. And Yuen yuen loh.

Yuen yuen
Aiya.. so disappointed that it's not bb kicking.
Wah have to wait for 2 more mths. Very long leh.

krissie
How many weeks are u now?
Last time it seemd my boy only kicked at 23-24 weeks... I was wondering how come no movement..maybe skin too thick...hehe...