(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

The whole of yesterday, the hotel did not call nor sms and seemed to have 'forgotten' the incident. No hamper or sign of apology. The dinner was the wedding of my other SIL's bro so we got him to tell the hotel that we are thinking of consulting legal. This morning jus rcvd their sms they are coming over at 3pm for a mtg. Only after they hear legal action!

Tracie
That's terrible! No sense of urgency one. I think that hotel's standard had dropped somewhat...I wasn't really entirely impressed by their staff's service when I helped out my gf's wedding there.

tracie
guess your SIL's bro must be feeling bad for what happen. how's your nephew? he recovering well? hope that the younger ones like his brother and meg has recover from the scare too.

hmm... y not mention the hotel name here. not that want to create anything, but more of bringing awareness to the others. anyway you are stating true facts, they cant do anything to you.

Jamie,
Wow! J2 is one chubby baby! My friend's daughter about 5 months old also weigh 7+ kg and she's on TBF. My M is only 5.3kg now at 16+ weeks. What's J2's milk intake? M is taking 120ml BM every 2.5 to 3 hourly when I'm at work. I thought that's sufficient liao. Still so small...

Tracie,
So sorry to hear about your nephew. How's he now? Should seek compensation from them...and yes, take legal action so that the law will ensure that your nephew getsenough compensation. Another way is to write a letter to the press but keep the letter factual in case the hotel turns back and accuse you SIL/BIL of libel.

queen,
Only the F&B manager turned up at SIL's home on Sat with a cheesecake and two transformer toys in hand. Agreed to bear all medical costs incurred and any no-pay leave and also agreed to let my nephew consult private hospital, TMC, cos its nearer. Hmmm, I would have asked for more. The time wasted, the petrol costs etc...

He's better now, but yesterday went hospital again cos the dressing dropped out. Alot of inconvenience.

tracie
that's terrible attitude from the hotel. hope your nephew gets well soon.

may
j2 is big! jx is abt 9kg now. does j2 sleep alot?

Tracie,
Wow.. what a close shave. Hope he is better now.

Queen,
J2 is drinking 120ml every 2.5 to 3 hrs too. But she is fully on FM. Maybe that's why?

SY,
Yes.. she is mini pig. Not sure if it is bcos she is born 37wks? She practically just wake up for milk then play for 45mins then sleep again. It repeat this cycle everyday. 9 plus is her last feed and she will sleep thru. But in order not to let her wake up at 3am for feed, I will dream feed her at 11 or 12 midnight. After which she will last till next morning abt 7am. Does sleeping alot caused weight gain? She is now 4.5mths old. Shouldn't be sleeping so much already right?

may
i feel that bb who sleep more can also gain weight better. jx sleeps very little. since april she has not been gaining much weight and i noticed it's als the time that she starts to sleep really little. she takes abt an hour nap in total in day and night time she can't sleep thru. her initial weight gain was very good but i feel if she can sleep more she will ahve gained more weight

Agree SY
I oso feel they need to sleep , nap a lot to gain till fat fat.

Tracie
I feel our service standard has dropped a lot. Or actually ha ha no service at all. In last sunday newspaper right, the blade from a ceiling fan dropped in a cafe of the hotel, spinned on the floor and even cut the leg of a customer. But no staff rush out to help leh. He has to explain to 3 staff who came only after 10 mins to get the manager who only arrives 20 mins later. But only offer 20% off the bill. aiyo check the wound first mah.

After he left , he still see the staff urshering customers to where the accident area is.

This is horrible

I too second what SY mentioned that when babies sleep/naps alot, they will gain more weight and grow taller too.

May
How long is J2's nap time each time? It's good that she can sleep well. When she's awake just stimulate her more during that 45 min bah.

Berries Class
Last Sat's class was interesting... my boy brought home a real life guppy!!! But I think the poor fish is near dead the way my boy man-handled the plastic holding the fish. haha.

So by Monday morning, the poor fish died, and this is what my boy told my hb

D: Oh no! The fish is dead. It's not moving.
Hb: Yes, it's ok, Daddy bring you to buy more fishes.
D: Daddy, must throw the fish away.
Hb: ok
D: Daddy, cannot fry the fish!

hahaha, both hb and myself just burst out laughing...we were picturing the fried ikan bilis that we have at home.

Now we have four more guppies costing less than $10 coz hb went to bring D out to the Chinatown area to the aquarium to choose more fishes.

Re: Nap & wt gain

Not true leh. My boy sleeps a lot, still so small size. Only 12kg....

Mamachan
My hb also just bought my boy a fighting fish leh. But i think it's more for himself coz he actually went on the internet to find out if the fish is a male or female! He said in case he wanna breed it next time, then he'll know what type he should get the next time.

Mamachan ... at least you have guppies. I've got 2 goldfish in the fish tank eating up the plants. and the other fishes are hiding from them ... but we can't throw them out coz it's K's fishes. The kids ... they are just simply taking over our space.

.ky.

Tracie
as per the newspaper I think they oso offer complimentary for next visit. But hello shouldn't medical bills come first

Mamachan,
Her nap varies from 30mins to 2hrs.

RE: Lasik
Sorry, I lost the contact of the recommendation. Can someone PM again? I really hope can throw away my spects and lens sooon.

ky
ooohh, goldfish...they are not so hardy I think...then again, maybe I'm not good at keeping fishes. LOL

mashy
hahaha, our hb now can indulge in their secret childhood wishes via our sons... LOL... I think it's very common.

May
At this stage, J2 drinks well and sleeps well, which is good as it helps in her growth

Mamachan,
hahah D is really cute!

I was playing wii bowling with jw and he is so proud coz he beat me both time. Go round telling everyone he got a star when playing with mummy. And of course my hb was laughing his head off at how lousy I was...

SH
ooohhh, you have the Wii at home eh? We have a "Wii" - like version game, got it from Toys 'R' Us for about $100. However only 1 player but good enough to entertain D. But after a while, he got bored with the games (bowling, baseball, tennis, golf, american football). Haha, now it's a white elephant! He prefers us to bring him to the arcade to play the "real" bowling.

CL
i saw the article abt the blade spinning and hitting the guest too. really too much the hotel.

SH
my wii has been collecting dust....maybe shd let jh play.

mamachan
i also think jx sleeps too little that's why weight gain so stagnant....

snapfish having discount on their photobooks, so if you're interested can go to their website www.snapfish.com.sg with following codes, valid till 31 aug:

8"x8" NP : $62.90 without shipping
NOW: Only S$44 with shipping
Coupon code = Special44

8"x11" NP : $69.90 without shipping
NOW: Only S$49 with shipping
Coupon code = Special49

All other photobooks: 20% OFF,
Coupon code = 20offphotobooks

mamachan
dunno leh. i wanted to put her with daddy cos i feel that when she knows i m sleeping with her, she will wan to latch. but then daddy always so tired and cos need to work, he pass her back to me halfway!!

Last sat i brought damien for haircut and did not expect him to be upset over his new hairstyle. The hairdresser cut his hair too short..nearly botak.
Blur mummy, did not realise that he was sobbing while the hairdresser was cutting his hair .
After out from the saloon, he told me not to cut his hair too short next time...

BP
ha ha it is a challenge for me to bring Aden. He hates hair cut. The moment scissors go near him he would stare at the hairstylist and even complain. He will move and cry. So I always have to rely on his nanny to bring him

CL,
I have no problem to bring him for haircut. I can just sat down there and enjoyed my magazine since young. Only this time round, he was very upset with this new hairstyle.
He will wear his cap whenever we go out. Vain boy.

BP
hahaha, Damien is so cute! They are at the age where they decide what they want to do. Just reassure him that his hair will grow out in no time and can cut properly.

My boy would initiate when to cut his hair and most of the time, it's the right time for a haircut. Since end of last year, we were so impressed that he would initiate to go for hair cut and he willingly and quietly sits down on the chair and let the hairdresser do his work. We always look for the same hairdresser in Junior League, doesn't matter which branch he goes to, we will go and look for him.

CL

Same! My boy will scream his head off when it's time to cut hair. Only i can cut his hair without him crying.
SO for the last 2 times, i delegated the job to his 2 grandmas to bring him to cut his hair.

Feeling so sianz not able to spend more time with him coz of mei mei. Miss him a lot, but coz mei mei is constantly glued to me or i'm pumping that i don't have much time with him.
Now that he's in full day cc, only get to see him 2hrs a day.

mamachan,
i just brought him to the normal neighborhood saloon...hahaha sometimes my hb will bring them to those barber.
I can't be bother much..as long as he got clean cut.

Btw, this boy is vain by nature. Even his pet (pet society) in FB also needs to look good.

Mashy,
your gal already 1mth old? Saw it in FB..the celebration..So fast.

mashy
awww... Maybe when mei-mei is more settled into a routine you could bring him earlier than the stipulated 6pm? On the days that you are more "freed" up can bring him back earlier or bring him out.

Sometimes I do wonder when in time to come to have #2 again, would I opt of expressed TBF or direct TBF to avoid not spending as much time with #1 and to reduce sibling rivalry/jealousy. Heard from a gf that her #1 told her that daddy and mummy doesn't love her anymore because of mei-mei and coincidentally, she's successful in TBF for #2 as compared to when she had #1 where she didn't BF for long...

Moms with #2 and #3, what are your views??

BP
hhahaha, we've not yet ventured to bringing D to the barber...maybe can try to bring him when my hb goes for his own haircut at the barber's. We go to Junior League because of the particular hairdresser who cut D's hair since when he was 1 years old and he's very good dealing with D.

Wow! Damien has got a pet in Pet Society on facebook? Cool!

Mamachan

I think it depends on the kid's character to feel the sibling rivalry ... for me, #1 was quite easy to handle but initially, he'll say that he hardly gets a chance to go out with me alone anymore, but now he'll say that he gets to do some stuff that #2 doesn't get to do and he does enjoy doing things as a threesome. And I do realize that I tend to buy stuff more for him than #2 coz #2 can use hand-me-downs including toys... n #2 tend to stick to daddy coz he carries him whereas I don't, and #1 tends to stick to me coz I tend to prefer to read and teach him things.

Ya, Mashy, I was thinking why do u pump? To maintain the supply? It's a lot of work to pump coz you got pump and bottles to clean. For #2, I think I pumped less than 5x though I had a maid to help then. But then one has to be prepared that the child will stick on to nursing longer ... a fren's kid I think still wants to do it at 6 yrs old.

We just brought #2 to his first haircut at the $3.80 salon last week coz #1 needed a haircut. He sat on me and his fine hair ended up on both our clothes ... think I'll continue to cut his hair for a while longer coz I'll strip him and cut his hair before his bath n I'll spend less time cleaning up.

.ky.

ky/mamachan

i'm pumping only 3 times a day. Once in the morn, once in afternoon and once at night. Coz she can't clear everything at one shot, so have to pump lor. Else will get very painful and lots more clogged ducts. I kept getting recurrent clogged ducts.
And now still in 1st month, so wanna continue pumping until my milk supply is established. Guess coz of the #1 experience of not enough milk, i wanna be sure i've enough for this one. Well, the test will be this Fri when i bring her to the PD for her 1mth check up.

BP

yah, so fast hor....

mamachan
it was my dad who said that mummy doesn't love C in front of C. Terrible right? Of course i love him, but it's just that now i just simply don't have as much time to spend with him. My boy is still sticky to my hb. But yesterday when we sang the chinese children's songs karaoke, he was very happy that i was there to sing with him and wanted me to brush his teeth. Unfortunately, i was nursing H then.
Could see his disappointed face.

mashy
Oh boy...the disappointed look is a killer for us parents. Mine will be disappointed first, then the look of trying to hold back his tears and then into a very loud cry!!!

Just happened yesterday at the zoo when I brought him to watch the Splash Safari at the zoo and after which, we queued to get a "kiss" and photo from the sea lion...when it was our turn, they had to turn us away as they had far exceeded their quota (up to 20 kisses/20 pax) and asked us to come back at 5pm....aiyoyh, my dear boy looked at me teary eyed with a disappointed face that he cried!!! I felt bad for him... the zoo kepers/host of the show were shocked and felt bad so they tried to coax the sea lion to come out of the water and he finally got a really wet kiss...wet from the dripping water from the sea lion!

BP
wow! His own facebook account eh? Hahaha, my boy will "help" me on Farmville - to harvest, to plow the land and to plant the seeds. He will choose what plants for me man! He will also try to click around on the Bejewelled Blitz too... jia lat..

Clare,
will try to mail out the ON items end of this week.

Rachel,
Do you want to go by mail as well?

Oh ya, mummies I highly recommend bringing your toddler to the move Up. Aden enjoyed himself so much and I finally curb that phobia of bringing him to cinema.

He will laugh at the funny part of the show. He will comment and says so many dogs, scary, oh no etc.

After the show I asked if his house can fly, he says can just put many many balloons

Re. Haircut
My Isaac also hates it as well. He needs to cut every 4 weeks or so and we bring him to a neighbourhood shop, $5 for a cut. He used to cry very badly but now much better, though he still gets a little bit but no outright crying anymore.

Mamachan,
I always advocate direct latching as far as possible for BF. Not only the bonding is great, I think it is just about the most convenient and least time consuming way to BF cos no need to wash / sterilise bottles or bring all the bottle barang when going out. And baby becomes quite good at latching after 2 months or so and can finish a full feed in about 15 to 20 mins. Besides, proper latching is the best way to ensure the breasts are emptied and to establish milk supply. I don't think we should view it as an obstacle in managing sibling rivalry...
Lucky for me, Isaac has no problem with me latching Matthew. In fact, whenever M cries, he will point to my boobs and ask whether M wants to drink milk! I don't think latching has taken my spending time away from I, but then, I is much closer to my HB now and he tends to look for him first. I'm a bit jealous cos of that.

Mashy,
Do you still latch H before pumping? Is she latching well? For the first month, M is also not emptying my breasts, but like ky, I can't be bothered pumping at all during the 1st month. cos so tired already from having to latch M every 2 hours. Really don't want to spend the extra effort pumping and washing. My milk supply has regulated itself according to demand and I think my body produces just enough for M and I seldom feel engorged anymore. I only started pumping in the 2nd month to bottle train M and accumulate frozen stock. If H is latching well and is satisfied after every feed, I think you have enough supply and there is no need to pump. Somemore you are SAHM, can just latch whenever you can. For me, I'm working 3 days a week and most of the time, I can only afford to pump twice in office for about 15 to 20 mins. My MS will dip sometimes and I don't have enough EBM from pumping at work and have to make up the supply by tandem pumping during night feeds. But thankfully, my MS is still enough as I latch every 2.5 to 3 hourly still whenever I'm home with M to maintain the supply.

mamachan

my boy is very 'man' one. He won't cry, just hold back his tears. U know, 2 weeks ago my hb brought him to KKH to do some tests to see if his slow growth is normal, they took a lot of blood from him for tests. All he did was watch the nurse take syringe after syringe of blood. Didn't cry a single bit. And he was so happy to get his reward 'a plaster' after that. He refused to take out the plaster for days.

Your Darren is so cute. Will actually cry out to show his disappointment. hahaha. I think my boy won't even bother. In fact i doubt he will fancy a kiss from the sealion. He didn't even dare ride the pony.

queen

it depends, when i'm very tired, i'll get the CL to give her EBM while i pump out. Coz like last week, she was hanging onto my breast 4-5hrs continuously. So tired. Her latch is not consistent, sometimes can hear her swallow very loudly, sometimes couldn't hear anything. I've already kept quite a fair bit of frozen EBM in the fridge. Well, for me, coz i can still give C the EBM, so i don't pumping once or twice to give him some daily EBM which he missed as a baby.

How long does it take for the milk supply to be regulated? Till now i still feel engorged at times, clogged ducts etc.

Queen
Yup, I'm for the idea of direct latch on coz I've experienced its convenience until I had to go back to work after 6 months. I enjoyed that bonding time with baby and missed the BF days. It's just a thought and I wonder how mummies with #2 cope with direct latch on. But it helps that if they are sticky to our hbs as it would really prove to be a great help.

Anyway, I have long way to go to have #2... gynae told me to rest 2 months and then TTC again from November onwards.

Mashy
My boy loves animals and is game to volunteer/try out activities available. Once you ask him if he wants to do something and he agrees and say 'Yes', we must make sure that it's a done deal. He remembers that we have yet to go on an elephant ride when I brought him to the zoo the last time round because of the rain. So yesterday, he told me that he wants to sit on the elephant which we did. He was so thrilled by the experience. Not to mention that he was so keen to be kissed by the sealion after the Splash Safari!

mashy
Takes about 2 months for the supply to stabilize...but when I was latching D on in the past, I still have quite alot of excess that I had to pump them out to relieve the tension. It got better by 3rd month onwards for me, though I still had to express once or most twice a day.

CL,
I'm also trying to get my HB to bring I to watch UP. HB brought I to watch Transformer and he could sit through the whole movie.

SY,
When JX wakes up at night to nurse, is it really due to hunger or comfort nursing? If you may want to try the following method extracted from the book "The No-Cry Sleep Solution":

1. Shorten nursing time intervals
- As soon as baby slows pace in drinking to comfort suckling, gently remove nipple while patting baby and do the following:
> Once baby switch to comfort nursing mode, remove nipple gently.
> Baby roots for your nipple. Try holding her mouth close by apply gentle under or on her chin just under her lips. at the same time patting or rocking her.
> Baby still fusses. Put her back to breast and count 1000, 2000, 3000 to 10,000.
> Remove nipple gently and try apply gentle pressure on her chin.
> Baby roots and fusses. Put back to breast and count 1000 to 10,000 again.
> Remove nipple and hold chin gently.
> Baby roots and fusses. Put back to breast and count 1000 to 10,000.
> Remove nipple. Baby may move a little. Continue to hold her mouth close.
> Baby doesn't resist... she is nearly out.

The point is to train baby to not associate nipple to sleeping. So keep repeating the process every night and eventually baby will sleep without nursing.

mashy,
i think it takes about 8 weeks for MS to be established and stabilize. For me I think the engorgement ease at around that time too. But I also get clogged ducts sometimes but I think it's because I delay too long to pump at work (like almost 6 hours) or when I didn't empty my breasts enough during each pump. I never ever get clogged ducts from latching though.
Maybe H is experiencing a growth spurt last week? That's why she is nursing all the time?