(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracie
YES! Yen Ping tortured me twice and still i have to thank her =p she did the C & U fast and chop chop, squeezing my nipples flat to unblock the ducts *Ouch*

SY: they always rely on us when we're around, one day i wana *poof* away for a few hours. LOL.

MAMACHAN: 加油!tkkare ..

Belinda/oily
Yupz, my mom will be teaching my maid how to cook confinement food for lunch and dinner for the next 2 weeks. So I still have to observe some of the confinement rules...good thing still can bathe but must keep warm.

Thanks everyone for your well wishes.

Re: milk bags
Anyone knows which ones are good? Any recommendations? Which ones are BPA free?

In urgent need of getting milk bags coz finishing up my Avent VIA cups already.

Mashy
I used to only use gerber brand milk bags and First Few Years brand of milk bags, use and then throw away...I didn't bother if they were BPA or not.

sunny
yah...now I have to drink the disgusting DOM or Yomeishu (really don't like the smell and taste). But bo bian...so now at home wearing long pants and wearing socks at home to keep warm lor.

mamachan
so sorry to hear abt what happen. i did suspect something when i saw your FB post but din wan to ask. am glad that you are feeling better. do take care and hope you will recover soon. meanwhile, dun give up!

mashy
do the UC and press really really hard. me also haveing clogged ducts on left side cos of jx biting. really terrible.

mashy,
I used to use Gerber. Now using Lansinoh milk bags. Quite expensive... will try Blue Egg when I finish the Lansinoh ones.

Priscilla,
Welcome! Were you in our thread when it first started during our preggers days?

Mamachan,
Hugzzz...

mashybrainz, i have used blue eggs milkbags. find them good. comparable to pigeon. better still its so much cheaper. highly recommend.

Re; blue eggs

now not as cheap already. It's abt the same price as the lansinoh now. Heard there's another Boots brand. Wonder if it's good. So far like only Blue Egg is BPA free?

mashy,
the cheapest I know is playtex but not sure if it's bpa free. are u using to store for next day's use or freeze? if for next day's use, i suppose playtex is good enough. for freezing, i'll go for better ones.

aileen

freezing.

now getting a little excessive. Dunno how i'm going to store them in my tiny fridge.
Hopefully my gal's intake can catch up quickly.

My hb said if too much then let C drink lor. Hahaha. He tried a drop of it from the funnel but he never asked for it again leh.

mashy,
ic... then maybe consider buy better ones. actually you can mix it into C's formula milk. that's what i did last time. instead of using water to make milk for edgar, i used 50%bm and 50%water and then add his usual dose of milk powder. he couldn't taste the diff.

aileen

which are better ones? coz #1 didn't have enough bm, so didn't get to use any bags to store.

Good idea, i'll prob add to his soy milk. hehe.

mashy,
i like the pigeon and blue egg. but of coz i go for the latter coz it's cheaper than pigeon. actually since u have the avent via cup, u can remove ur frozen milk from the cup and just store them in zip lock bags or tupperware, then u can reuse your via cup already right? or u can just store ur bm on any ice-cube tray or bottles for that matter. once it freezes, just remove it and store in containers of ziplock bags. save $$!!

mashy - i used to buy playtex. reliable and good!

mamachan - on a lighter note, where are u moving to and when? can start thinking of designing ur new home esp D's room. Are you going to have some artsy design in his room again? eh btw, your bathtub in ur current place...bringing over or passing on to the new owner? haha...i still cannot forget ur bath tub esp now when i do the evening bath on the 2 boys in a small tub and having them to coordinate their legs. gor gor legs outside, didi legs inside. haha..

mashy,
tried blue egg. quality's good but can't fill alot inside and the marking's not accurate. although the bag shows 180ml, i could only fill in 150ml the max. but quality is really good, very thick. comparable to medela's. Can buy that if you really need bags urgently. still cheaper than the other brands available locally.

I relied mostly on Lansinoh for #2 cos its cheap and has the ziplock function. Playtex cheaper but gotta use rubberbands and can't store flat. Lansinoh can store flat. But try not to be ambitious like me and store beyond the recommended amount cos the bag will split. Store flat.It saves ALOT of space. I also had big headache on BM storage and I hate to organize it cos get frostbite. I resorted to putting them flat into tupperwares like this tupperware is for the week of X to X. Then I tompang some at my mum's freezer and MIL's freezer and then SIL's freezer. Hahahaha.

SSF
Oh yes, we just got the letter of offer from the bank yesterday so that we can submit the OTP for the new place today! If everything transitions well, the official handover of the new place to us would be end of December. We're moving out of our current place by mid November, maybe earlier and will temporarily stay with my mom while we rent those storage warehouse for the rest of our furniture. We're moving within Redhill, to a 5-room flat and we got it 15k below valuation!!! That's really a blessing for us.

mashy
yah...it's as though the flat had been waiting for us or something. It's quite nicely furnished and done up, can't complain lah...so we are keeping most of the existing furnishings so we have minimal renovation to do. Just a fresh coat of paint and maybe install another system 2 air-con for the living and dining room (actually no need coz the place is really windy).

So overall, we should save on renovation. Plus we are recycling most of our existing furniture too

I heard from my representing agent who is my uncle that the place had been marketed for 6 months and the valuation back then was 620k or something. Then when they revaluated the place it was 610k.

Back then they had an offer for 580k from someone else but that offer was rejected. I think after so long, they must be "desperate" to be selling the place off so after much negotiation, we settled at 595k....and the flat is 6 years old only!!!

MamaChan ... just curious, why are u moving within Redhill? For a bigger place? Aren't u curious why such a nice place is not sold for so long? Not trying to spice things up, but did u talk to neighbours?

.ky.

bought my house! downgrading to a tiny 88sqm 4-room flat with no attached toilet to MBR. :S Wat to do, the flat is just across the road from MIL's and valuation is only in the mid of $200k-$300k. Cannot resist. And should any of us lose our job, no problem relying on one person to finance the loan. And we can clear out loan in less than 10 years. Hiak hiak hiak...

Need to pay cash abov val tho and definitely need major reno. It's in original condition. Now gotta visit Ikea for inspiration on how to utilise small spaces efficiently.

Tracie,
I tot most 4-rm flat got toilet attached to MBR.

RE: Widsom tooth extraction
Going for my second extraction on this sat..I just done the first one last week. Hope this one can recover fast.

Finally can post!

ky/SSF
Very simple. I'm currently staying in the old 4-S - which has no attached toilet to the MBR and no storeroom AND we left the flat in the original condition where one of the walls of the bedroom was knocked down to join to the living room so I only have 2 bedrooms.

KY
I seriously don't know why the flat was not sold for 6 months. I guess the market wasn't for bigger flats back then and seems like everyone else is downgrading and the bigger units in Redhill, some were still asking for COV which not many are willing to pay for. Besides, the owner had a request for the handover to be end December since he's getting married End November, so most buyers would not be willing to wait. I on the other hand, have some time to play around with.

If I were to stay somewhere further off say Clementi/Jurong/CCK, likelihood of getting a car is very high and it will add-on to our monthly overheads and like what SSF mentioned, staying in Redhill is really convenient for us to get to work and D's future primary school (he's got direct public bus to school). We are definitely moving even closer to the amenities compared to our current place (though it's also easily accessible) i.e. MRT, wet market, food centre, 24-hr minimart.

Tracie
hahaha, you are like "switching" flat types with me... I cannot stand having no toilet attached to MBR and morning have to queue up to use the toilet. sometimes when nature calls really must go...cannot wait

Mamachan,
ya, just the opposite hor. you upgrading I downgrading. Guess its a matter of getting used to. When i was staying at my mum's, I remember she dun allow anyone to use her toilet in the MBR. So ALL of us including my uncle who was staying with us, had to use the only toilet in the kitchen. We survived.

We can knock and connect the bathroom to the MBR, but hubby prefer not to. Anyway, only the 4 of us at home, no maid or other people. If nature really calls, we have MIL's and BIL's houses to go to just across the road! Hahaha!

BP,
Its a REALLY old old old flat. Think more than 30YO so no attached toilet.

Tracie
Where's the area you bought again? Bishan?? Who knows they might en-bloc your area of flats??? Mine current place is 39years old le... I think the buyers will be really likely if they get en-bloc within 5-7 years time... coz there was a CC was just still operating beginning of this year, now that plot of small land beside the ASPN Tanglin School is being vacated for SLA. And lots of condos are being built along that stretch behind Redhill MRT alongside Alexandra Road...

hi ladies!

So great can finally post again!

Gave my boy my BM and told him it's soy milk. hahaha. He drank it all up. So now trying to pump more to supply to 2 kids. :p

mamachan

haha, oh yes he loves it! :p Yah, doing much better this time round. Guess it could be less stress? Previously was pretty upset with my ILs plus dunno how to handle bb. This time more relaxed and with the help of the CL & my hb, everyday just eat, sleep, feed, pump.

mashy
yupz, stress does add to being not able to produce much milk
It's good that you're happier this time round. Also good that C can take your milk too.

Mamachan,
hmmm...thereabouts. Its walking distance to Thomson Plaza. If really enbloc then I gotta pay the resale levy, dunno if that's good or bad.

Tracie
Oh...I didn't that if enbloc need to pay resale levy...think can appeal right, special circumstances...I was told by the HDB officer that if I were to buy a brand new flat from HDB need to pay them back the resale levy or the grant that I took to buy my first home.

mamachan,
ya, if we are to buy a brand new flat from HDB after our this 2nd flat, we will need to pay back the resale levy. I chose not to pay levy now cos no plans to buy brand new flat from HDB in future. But if enbloc...aiya, maybe by then HDB change rules again. Come to that bridge then cross it. HDB often change their rules.

sysac
Thanks! I don't have to do much to the new home that I'm buying, Just need a fresh coat of paint and install a system-2 for the living and dining room and change the w/c in the toilets. But must inspect closely what other things might need to get done coz need to wait for the owner to hand-over end of Dec.