(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
wow then make sure it is a very powerful letter.

Mamachan
yes yes that place is realli old. My grandparents used to stay in same block. My mum got married from there. I used to stay over weekend and during holidays too.

mamachan

location good mah. hhaa. Everything is abt location location location when it comes to property. That's why when getting a new flat, make sure it's in a good location too. We decided to get my current flat also coz the location isn't too bad and in a mature estate. But they've been building tons of enbloc new flats near ours.
If i don't sell within the next 2 yrs, it'll affect my flat price once those new flats are out in the mkt too.

mamachan
congrats!!! :D

CL
wow, you are selling your flat, too. can pm the above valuation px, too? next time can't drop by your place to borrow things liao. haha...

Sunny
your place and my place though same in CCK is very different price one. Opposite my place 53X and then the other side of 56x is realli much much better than mine. will pm you. And I got a resident agent in CCK so he is realli quite good too. YOu selling too ?

may - agree with belinda...your J1 although lost wgt...still heavier than my C. hee...mine only turn 13kg recently and yesterday was down with high fever after last week's stay in KKH for bronchites. Haiz...u planning to do lasik...hee...good choice! it seems that alot of ppl ard me are planning to do so too. I did mine at NUH under Dr Leonard Thean. A senior doc...very friendly man!

mamachan - Great news! this is wat i call...laughing to the bank! LOL

CL - yeah i saw the pics of the pooh bear that esther did. so nice! really pei fu all the mummies who are so ON the ball for their kiddies' food

Wah...how come so many pple seems to be selling their houses?

I am thinking too coz now v siong, every day pasir ris to balestier (my MIL place) and then to town...faint from travelling.

wanted to check something....recently JW has been rejected the sat class that he attends so I am wondering if there is any recommendation of any other class that i can bring him to before I pull him out from the current class.

I did a collage recently and thought will share here.. update on the kids :
2519560.jpg

there's so much happenin here...I try to catch up soon.

<font size="+1"><font color="FF1493">CL...</font></font>
How u gng to EEC on 12th June? Wanna meet then go together? cos I'm not driving that day. Maybe can eat lunch at Bugis then go?

CL,
Still in cc. But just wanted to give him something to do over the weekend. Else he spends the day rotting in front of tv or just running around

SSF/Belinda

Aiyah, ur kids still can't beat mine. Still hovering at 11+kg. Hit 12kg once but after he fell ill from gastric flu, couldn't go back up.
So skinny. Been trying to fatten him up, but he just doesn't seem to put on weight nor grow any taller. Makes me wonder if i should bring him to see some specialist or not.

cookie
Your 3Ks are all so good looking!

SH
what class is he attending now ? Did you ask the teacher ? Did any friend "bully" him or the teacher said something he felt sensitive about ? My kids though young can be quite sensitive

CL
anything also can la..hehe...
let;s meet Bugis? but I dunno what bus or MRT goes to Mt A le..
or we can take a cab..from outside CBD area..just cross the road..

sy - I have emailed you my burt bees buys. have you received it?

belnda - yeah J just had his op not long ago. these days my life revolves around KKH. haiz.

cookie - wow...u really look like a happy and busy mum!
your kids are all so cute with those big round eyes. salute you mumTO3Ks! Love from MumTOCJ. hee...i think we shld all change our nicks now.

SSF,
Oh dear, must be very tough for you. Damien also just recovered from fever, cough, nearly bronchites.
We are going m'sia in Mid june, so scare that he fall sick again.

SH,
Damien is also rotting at home now...school holiday now...infront of the TV, Disney playhouse.

Mashy,
aiyo think our kids are those skinny type, will not put on weight.
My son can only grow taller. He is 106cm now.

mashy,
haha....hb lazy..plus i need time to clean up the house....

CL,
not too sure...he just suddenly din want to go for it. It is this class from ROS schoolhouse, recommended by my friend.

SSF and mashy
Thanks.. yes super busy.. with 3 really demanding esp mei mei always want me to carry when she see me and dun want anyone else.
In a way I'm happy she is so attached to me. but sometimes...

Belinda
if my K1 at home she will stick to Channel 34 the whole day I think.. rotting..
Now she will keep watching Cinderalla and Sleep beauty over and over again...

SH
what about the zoophonic class that SSF's C is attending ?

Mine oso. In the car wants to watch Winx club which is jie jie's disc but always says it is mariposa. Aiyo my son loves princess one too under Charmaine's influence.

Otherwise it is world world or animal mechanicals in channel 34. So just nice each home watch these 2 and will ask him to go to sleep

CL - aiyo abt the zoophonics holiday programme, just attended first lesson day yesterday and sick today. not sure if tmr can still go or not. haiz...my money!! boohoo...

SSF
got MC cannot change date ? My money spend more on Charmaine. Sign her up for holiday programme for 5 days and it cost me over $500. so xiong I better pray hard she is now down then too

Dear friends,

I came to know of this little girl Charmaine’s condition when my colleague points me to her blog (http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com/). Coincidentally my MIL who is a nurse in CGH also mentioned about this little girl being diagnose with cancer at such young age.

As a mother, I know how your child’s life is deemed more important than your own. Here is Charmaine’s mother - Cynthia sharing her life story.
http://ourfeistyprincess.com/about_charmaine_family.php

They are now doing fund raising to raise money for Charmaine to seek treatment in USA where her chances of survival increased from 20% to 50%. They need to raise at least S$500,000 just for deposit prior to treatment. To others, 50% survival may not seem worth fighting for especially when it is so expensive to ‘buy’ that 30% chance. But even if it is a 1% chance – no mother will give up that chance because it is her child that she is fighting for.

I do not know them personally but as a mother, I feel for Cynthia, Charmaine and Jase. Also, having lost a love one to cancer – I know how this dreaded disease changes the family’ lives so drastically. So I am helping them to spread the news – I leave it to you whether to donate or maybe just keep them in your prayers or send some encouraging notes. Just have to do something with it.

Be blessed.

Mashy/Belinda/SSF,
Not good to have a big size gal. She started her CC on Monday. The other parents keep asking me which year is she in. Cos some tot J1 skipped 1 yr sch and joined 2006 class. I got interviewed on what brand of milk powder I gave and what she eat. She cannot fit into her L size skirt and the clerk in CC need to special order XL from her. Now poor girl keep asking why her frens can wear sch skirt but she got to wear sch top but home bottoms.

First day of sch is fine for her. Today she started abit crying. But I think she is slowly trusting her new teachers. Hope I can settle her fast before I go back work on 1 Jul.

Mumto3Ks,
All your kids are so beautiful, even K2 is 'pretty' boy. You produce such beautiful kids shouldn't stop at 3. Hahahaha! I was at TMC PD's last week and the nurses were saying try for #3 cos looking at Duncan they 'predict' next one should be gal. Both hubby and I said 'NO' together. *grinz*

may

glad to know that Jamie is coping well in school. C also started his new sch on Monday. He's adapting very well. Didn't cry or anything. Guess he's used to changing schs. Hahah.

His current teacher also commented on his poor fine motor skills (cannot write/trace letters) and sugg putting him in pre-nursery. sigh. Another one. Well, i told her to give him more fine motor training skills whenever possible since he's doing well in other matters. He just needs more practice. Looks like I'll have to let him skip his bath there and get them to give him fine motor skills training instead.

Mashy
Aden cannot colour properly nor write too. But the teacher always praise him and he feels so confident.

There was once his classmate who coloured very well, showed his mother what he did. Aden oso came to show me in front of that mummy and said " Aden also colour so nice." I so embarrassed because his was in a mess but I still have to say not bad.

I think he realli likes school as last night I heard him singing in his sleep and also reciting something. Then after that ends with a contented smile.

And dunno why it seems very tiring in school. Because teacher told me he is the first one to knock out at 1 for the nap and the most difficult to wake up till 3.30 pm. Once he hopped on the car in the evening, he will sleep too. And in the morning when he hopped up the car, he oso sleeps.

PArdon me for keep bring up Charmaine's blog. It looks like they are going ahead with the treatment in USA hence helping to spread the news for donations.

Hi cookies,

I agree with the other mummies. Your 3Ks are very cute and you look like a contented mum.

CL

That's why it's important to have teachers who are encouraging. To me, it doesn't matter if he cannot do it that well, but the thought of him being ostracised/criticised by the teacher irks me. I think Aden's teachers have done a great job!

But at least for this sch, they really let C write on his own (which ended up having all the numbers written as 1 instead of 1234 coz that's the only thing he knows how to write). When i saw the works from C's prev sch, i knew instantly that he didn't do it by himself. Coz i know he's still not capable of doing them. I rather they guide him than hold his hand to write/draw.

If not for the coming bb, i think i would have just pulled him out and homesch him myself. Even though i'm not too sure abt my own capability on that. Hahaha.

Mashy
it is very difficult for me to read or teach Aden. Even when Cheng tried when we were at her place, Aden give her that "xian" look and gets distracted easily.

I only managed to do it when I am at my dining table and with Charmaine at the right and he is at the left. I guess he wanted the same attention as Charmaine so he kuai kuai sits there and I guided him for the sticker activity book.

But in school the teachers have managed to keep him still vs previous cc all says he will walk around. Not sure if it is because of his age now or the teacher's capability.

He is also most cooperative during his swimming class too.

Cookie
Your 3 Ks really very very good looking!!! hahaha, when things are more manageable you can consider 1 more eh? *winks*

Tracie
hehehe, maybe can consider one more! When Meg and Duncan are abit older lah. hehehe

Mashy
hmmmm maybe it helps if you can ask what are the things you can do with C at home to help refine his fine motor skills? Seems like this is not the first time/teacher that commented to let C join the pre-nursery till he can master certain fine motor skills and then put him back in nursery? Sometimes the teachers know best and must have seen improvement in previous similar children in order to suggest this move. I dunno, just my thoughts... coz you mentioned C actually knows his alphas quite well?

CL

For that it's no prob for C coz C loves reading.

Mamachan
They sugg playdough. So i've told his daddy that no more tv at night. ONly playdough. Hahah. I'm also getting ready some crafts for him to do before dinner time.

I think if his level is low for everything, I will not hesitate to put him in the pre-N class. But coz he's doing well in other areas, just cannot write... That's why thought it might be better if he stays put and at the same time try to improve his fine motor skills. Many kids enter Nursery without any knowledge of alphabets etc but they were still given the chance to learn, so don't understand why coz he can't write, he has to go to Pre-N.

And very often, the first thing the teacher asked was, he's a 2006 kid right? Then can just opt to go 2006 class instead rather than trying to help him improve on his weak pts. I believe they won't sugg that if he's born 31 Dec.

mashy,
was C a premature baby? Premature babies tend to develop slightly slower in terms of learning skills. But they will catch up in primary school. My GM's kid was due in Feb but arrive in Dec. She's also slower in learning and tends to get stressed by teachers in school. In fact, she gets nightmares at night after she started P1. My GM had to go talk to the school teachers. Now, she's P4 and doing fine.

Tracie

In a sense...He's preterm. Born 35 weeks. That's what i think too and that he will catch up later and eventually. He's a happy boy and that's more important to us. He should have been born 31 Dec (to shut the teachers up) or simply on 2 Jan. sigh. 1 Jan is a bad time.

mashy - hmm...have u considered putting C in zoophonics? personally i find the teachers there are encouraging and not very critical. I remembered when i wear for C diaper to sch daily, the teacher encourage us to take it off so that they can train for us. And when he cries to school during his first few days, the teacher was saying its a phase and really helped him gets adapted. Also with a smaller grp of 8 per class, the focus on one kid will be higher. C's tracing and writing of number and phonics have really improve alot.

tracie - ppl also told me that my J looks like a girl and said my next one will be a girl. Hahhaa...maybe u try first and let me know? haha...my hb also not keen.

re: Cristofori Music School
i went to the website and saw that there is a term starting for 3.5yrs and above(Music for Little Mozarts). Anyone keen to start their kid on piano class? any feedback? for a start, they will teach them to recognise the keynotes and not really into playing the piano. the basic knowledge must be there and of course with interest. opp my hse, there is a branch. i am asking hb to enquire abt the cost. my frd sent her girls to another school in funan and she said it can be accompanied by one parent and they made learning of the keynote so fun like a story telling.

http://piano.com.sg/ver2/cms.edu.sg/ver2/index1_files/page0007.htm

SSF

Is it parent accompanied? How long is it? I brought C to zoophonics before but he was busy running ard and i had to catch him all the time. So tiring. And the branch i went to at thomson seems a bit dirty... The carpetting had quite a lot of stuff on it.

mashy
playdough is good! I do have some playdough activities with daren in the evenings...great for their imagination and pretend-play too. How about those threading activities?? weave thick strings in and out of punched cardboard.

I think it's good that the school is pushing for C to improve his fine motor skills... coz honestly, they absorb things like a sponge now and can learn easily and will catch up by K1. But fine motor skills is a lifelong skill to last them through. So better for him to improve on his writing skills so that he can catch up and able to write by the time he is in K1.

Depends on how you see it I guess... I won't think it's a regression if he does join the pre-N class for a couple of months... he definitely won't be there for long. C is a smart and capable boy I'm sure

mamachan

he could thread quite well actually. I was surprised that he could do it when one of his toy's string came off and he stringed it back by himself.

Sometimes i think it's not that he can't write, it's just that he doesn't want to. hmmph... The reason why i say this is coz i've seen him drawing circles, tracing properly before. But he has a mind of his own and wanna do things his way. So even when i ask him to write say the letter C, he will write his 'A' again. But i think he also needs to practise more lah.

He's a perfectionist. If he can't do it well, he'll rather not do. It's just like his language skills. He won't talk until 2.5yrs old. And now he'll talk &amp; sing to himself before he sleeps. In sch, when they sing, he'll sing quietly (just mouth open) to himself. But at home, he'll sing so loudly and dance away. When i tried to film him, he'll immediately feel conscious abt it and stop what he's doing.

mashy,
i agree that most important is that C is happy
He will catch up eventually. It's our education system here lah, too stressful!

tracie

i also think so. I remember we weren't even expected to know ABCs when we were in Pri 1. Now they must be able to spell by the time they go Pri 1. And previously where got such thing as pre-N. I think it's prob those Admin Service pp who did the curriculum. Just becoz they were scholars, they expect everyone to learn as fast as they did.

Mashy - oh really! thankfully tampines branch is a new setup so it is very clean. u mean the music sch or zoophonics? zoophonics is not parent accompanied. music sch...i just called cristofori and they do not allow parent to sit in ..only the last 15 mins but for wat? i am totally clueless abt music .if i dun attend the class, how to reinforce it at hm. their rates are $192.60(8 lessons) anyway, i enquire abt the school my friend enrolled in at Seimpi. WHite sands has one outlet. $110 per month. slightly ex than cristofori. details at http://www.seimpi-music.com.sg/musicmind.html. i will call later to enquire the start of the term.

MIM® In Me (From age 3 years)
=============================
Carrying the same playful theme further to introduce basic techniques in piano playing, nurture the child’s creativity through music dictation, improvisation, music mapping and composition. The child will also learn score reading, music theory and music appreciation.

SSF

aiyah Zoophonics lah. Not intending to send C to music sch till he's much older. But he's been taking an interest in my hb's old kiddy music book (when my hb was just learning), so i suppose i'll let him learn next time.

<font color="0000ff">Philips Canival Sale 40%!!!</font>

Lots of products including Television set etc etc. Avent products also 40%!

Hi SSF,

Can share about the zoophonics in Tampines Branch? Where about in Tampines?

Maybe need to send Megan to strengthen her phonics.

Is zoophonics and Montessori phonics the same? Wonder will the teachings be contradictory..........

CAn any mum share with me the zoophonics in Bukit Timah branch it is good. My main concern is the toilet, as it is a public toilet it is dirty. My girl is now in gracefield Gilstead road. Fetching her is so tiring because it is so far and i alway need to rush as my elder girl is in MGS Blackmore rd. Thank you

I'm back from Melbourne. Tx for the advices on the food stuff ... not much got confiscated, only those "made in malaysia" :->

Place was cold but not as cold as expected. but kids have on 2 thermals so they could tahan quite well too ...

zoophonics and Montessori phonics - not the same. zoo uses animals. montessori more on the various schemes to build phonics concept.

zoophonics in Bukit Timah branch - not bad but depends on teacher. admin lady quite "sour" type so handle with care. yes, toilet dirty and secluded.

.ky.