(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
yup she gave birth last sunday. It is her #3. sms me at 7 am and 8.23 pm pop liao.

Her first baby emergency c-section in 2003. THen 2006 she did a VBAC for #2. This time natural without epi because not in time.

CL

wow! That's fast! No wonder the CL gan jeong called me on Mon to confirm my EDD. hahaha.

Tracie
poor thing. I will be very sore too if i were him.

CL,

wow... that's really fast!
btw, what time you gals going for the doc appt? I might be able to make it on 12 Jun - can I join you?

Mashy,
charmaine's school gave us a checklist during the PTC. The teacher will check against the list to indicate their observations of her ability. What I noticed that was good was the teachers would take into consideration the child's birthdate. The feedback that they gave for charmaine was generally really good and they did mention that she has yet to really master the skills of cutting something. And that she's not really expected to write. Didn't ask them abt tracing though.

At home, we did buy tracing books for her to "practise". I noticed that initially she couldn't really trace but she got the hang of it quite fast. Perhaps you can try that? I have some letters tracing worksheet as well. Pm me if you would like me to send you....

sl
It is 2 pm appointment. session takes 2-3 hours. But cannot wear soft lense 5 days or hard lens 14 days before date of assessment

Just came back from gynae's visit. gal gal is now 1.9kg. Still breeched. In fact, my gynae said it's unlikely that she'll turn looking at her position. She was holding her legs up. So also good that I've decided on C-section. Already booked for C-section on 18 July. 6 more weeks to go!

sl
My boy can trace. Got my hb to use highlighter to write the nos for my boy to trace. My hb gave him a star for every no that he traced and he could do it pretty well. SO it's a matter of motivation. Not that he can't do, he just doesn't want to do it. During lunch time today, I asked him to write 2. But he insisted on writing 1 and said he doesn't want to write 2. stubborn boy. Going to show his teacher his work on mon.

CL/SL
So envious... I think by the time i can actually go and get my eyes done, I'll be so old i've to undercorrect one eye to make way for lao hua yan.

mashy/queen
Ger is born on 6 Jan. So, this year he's in N1 though his old classmates (from last yr) were promoted to N2. I can understand how u all must be feeling. Coz Ger is much slower than his N2 friends. Yet, he's sort of the "leader" in the N1 class now. I did see the standard of the N1 classmates. They can actually write very simple words, like Living Room (erh.. not super beautifully, but can see lah). So, I know Ger def has to continue in N1 this yr as he cant write at all. Cant even trace properly. Think they are expected to write simple ABCs by N2, not in K1 or K2 class. I just had my parents-teachers meeting yest, the teachers were telling me that at this age, they shld be able to trace (a bit) and colour within the lines. Both of which Ger does not do v well now. So, they asked me to try to encourage and set expectations for him. They said tt he needs to be challenged as he has gone thru this N1 syllabus last yr, so he might be over-confident and switch off at times. Anyways, just to share tt Ger also cant trace well now. And apparently he has short attention span.. my goodness!!

Aileen , if you need any clothes for cold weather I can loan you.. I have 2 pairs if long johns too for each..
Let me know clothes for winter I have plenty coz always travel during cny...

Elijah's progress...
So far I am quite happy with his progress just tat he has been a big ham bao lately.. Cry easily when he is upset or get scolded..
He is a total loanshark coz if he wants something he will bug you until you agree.. Especially drinking milk time ... Can ask 20 time .. Mummy can I drink milk..

He can write quite well now just can't really draw.. Now he is taking zhu suan lessons at home.. Not bad bad according to his teacher but attention span only 45 mins then he will be restless climbing the chair...

mashy/queen/krissie,
damien is also in his N2 this year. He still cannot trace very well, dun say abt to write...but he can draw eg car, happy face, sad face....
No worries, they will eventually catch up. #1 still the youngest child in his class but I dun see the difference compared to his classmates.
We just need to put in more efforts when they are in K1-K2 to prepare them for P1.

Re : Melbourne,
I read one mother went down to Emirates office and somehow got a transfer to Brisbane without transfer fees. I did call up Emirates before and they said that if there's an advisory, they would waive cancellation charges, so it seems that it's not true to what they said.

Mashy, I'll blog in my blogs later. Got even looked down by a chinese ... very honestly, after this trip, I would not ever think of wanting to migrate there. They said before that the chinese are treated like second class citizens ... but I hear Melbourne's the worse probably becos they resent the chinese immigrants quite a bit. Well, with the H1N1 scare going around, they are not going to get good biz into their country. Sorry, I'm still rather sore with that country. I usually like the places I visit and always want to go back again.

CL, u moving ard CCK? Why sell house then?

.ky.

ky

that's sad... When i was in gold coast, we met a few Aussie retirees who were pretty nice. Really enjoyed myself there. Perhaps there's an influx of chinese in Melbourne and the locals there are resenting the fact that many chinese are taking away their jobs?

belinda
Ger cant draw a single thing, except a distorted circle. haha..

ky
think aussie is like tt.. but, my experience at Mel is not tt bad.. think Sydney is the worse.. can you imagine, i was attacked 2x. 1st time, someone threw beer on me. 2nd time, when hb and i were walking in the park, they threw party poppers and bottles at us. I will nvr go back to Syd, unless for work. Really feel like we were being bullied by them.

ky/krissie

i wonder what's wrong with these pp? Don't they realise that they are descendents of criminals? They bully the aborigines and now they think they're so good? sigh... I hope these are just the minority. Or perhaps such violent acts are in their blood.

belinda/krissie

C can't draw too (or maybe he just doesn't want to). He only likes to scribble. He favourite is still a circle, number 1 and alphabet A. He can draw a happy face if & when he wants to.

KY
ha ha actually wants to move nearer to bukit timah but aiyo the price seems moving up so ha ha dun want to overstretch ourselves lor. Sigh.

Amy, SL
I suddenly has last min assignment and cannot go for the appointment on 12 Jun. SL do you want to take over my slot ?

Hi CL,

ever consider renting a place in Bukit Timah? 1 ex-colleague did that; he bought a place in West Coast and it seems he's renting out to cover the rent there ... another is renting coz girl going to register this yr n she was from CCK too. another has moved from hougang to bkt timah area coz girl got into NYPS, but she can afford it. But saw a fren's sis yesterday, kids go to Catholic High and Kuo Chuan Pres, she stays at my place, and she feels that one need not move place bcos of the school, but she works in AMK.

Krissie, we were not physically attacked but verbally abused. But guess physically is worse esp when there are kids that we've got to protect against. I've written in to complain abt this big-sized rental service guy who made an inconsiderate and nasty comment and we were potential paying customers. Bcos of that nasty comment, I decided not to spend in their economy and took a 45-mins stroll rather than took a ride on the paid tram ride. Also, I find Melbourne information though on the surface looked very good (ie, can get good info on the web) BUT in actual fact, not so. Eg, for the Penguin Parade show in Philip Island, I was asking what's the difference btw the basic n + pkg, n only realize when asked in the vistor centre the actual difference. And when we took the tourist tram, it went on a different route as per what's officially printed, n we had to ask an officer before realizing it's been changed just a few days earlier, and when we asked how to get to our dest, he could not tell us, and so we decided to walk, n when we walked just 5 mins down to another stop, we saw the tram that would bring us there, and so that means the guy does not know his stuff even though he prob stands there everyday. Btw, I realize that we can negotiate even when booking an accommodation... something that we've never tried with other countries. My contact with them is quite minimal but the passion and knowledge I saw keeps me thinking of how really "wonderful" they are.

.ky.

Ky
my plans all go hay wire because the prices of property is moving up a bit. Then my fil bought Micasa to move near us. So now we are looking at CCK again. Silly but no choice. I was hoping to at least move to bukit batok or clementi.

ky
wow...Melbourne sounds not so friendly. I had a really good time in Perth and had no unpleasant incidences the 2 times I was there. Though I heard my cousin who stays there had an occasional nasty encounters while working part-time at Target.

Krissie
Your encounter sounds scary! I can't imagine what else they might attempt to throw at us Chinese.

mashy
the staff sale is on for a month. provided you know any philips staff who can use he/her staff card to make any purchase. but not sure whether can use vouncher for this sale.

CL
Wah Micasa is ex! we went to view the showroom, rather like the concept of it. at least a mil for a decent 3 bedroom apartment. know from the sales person that phase 3 price will be even higher...

your buyer yet to confirm rit? if thats the case no point to sell your house and look foor one in the same area again. unless can find a better unit than your current one and both you and your hb likes.

ky
wats your blog add?? can PM me?

re: Job positions
hubby's company is expanding and they are looking out for 3 positions.
1)Finance Manager
2)Asst Sales Manager
3)Factory Manager

let me know if anyone interested and i will forward the requirements over. =)

ky,
gosh, sounds bad, always tot Melbourne would be nice. it was ok for me in Perth and Brisbane but that was a couple of years back. Things may have changed too. Thanks for the info about Emirates. Shall sms my GM see if he can call and get some $ back. He's so sad about it today he decided not to come in to office. *grinz*

CL,
Have you found your new place yet? I'm still looking and looking
Last night went temple to 'submit' our two choices and was told which is a better choice. The 2nd choice, only if really no choice but if wanna take this 2nd choice, gotta go back temple again to be advised on things to do. Sigh...the 1st choice is the $70k above val. so i doubt i can get it. So...back to shopping again next weekend..

rachel

dunno what to buy leh.... maybe buy a rice cooker or something. My ILs didn't know what else to buy, so passed us the rest of their vouchers. I already bought the Avent Duo pumps and Avent food warmer previously with them.

Cl,
So now you buy back cck? We are looking out too but still cannot decided..balestier looks good but too near mil so I dun like.. Only choice is town or thomson. Or near st Andrews ..

Ky,
I never like Australia ...only love japan.. I think it's the pp..

Rena

Near St Andrews? Potong Pasir lor. I stayed there before. Very quiet and nice environment. If you're looking for condos, there's also plenty ard that area. I like Blossoms but it's so ex.

Rena
I thinking hard now.

Mamachan
Thanks. It is the same buyer. Ha ha once they see their loan approved they quickly chiong to sign and seal the deal in the night.

Ya have seen blossms but area too small, when we saw the show flat the bigger ones are booked. This time we are looking for bigger area. Mine now is 121 now looking at 200 or more.. And would like only 1 level.. Tat is why only old apartments seems good..

rena

oh, then braddell view will be good. They're huge.

My ILs stay in the HUDC inside Potong Pasir. Also very big at 170sqm. But 2 levels lah... I didn't bother looking at PP coz they're staying there. Haha, too close for comfort.

CL,

Don't think I can go on Fri - Charmaine's down with fever. Only recovered today. Congrats on the house! Yup, the prices are moving up...

Ky,
so far my experiences in aus has been really good. I do hear of the racism there cos most of my extended family is there now. The underlying current is partially with the vietnamese as well... I have really liked mel - found the pple there plus the weather really more unwelcoming. Gold coast area's much better...

Australia - Like SL,my experiences in Aust have been really good. They dun like the Vietnamese because of the gangland culture. I find that when they know you are Singaporeans, they become friendlier.

Re: Australia

Did not really experience racism when I was studying there. But many of them do not know of Singapore and were surprised English is our first language as they don’t communicate well with the other ‘Chinese’ (Hong Kongers, Vietnamese etc)………So they thot we can’t speak or write English well too.

We had one ‘helpful’ Aussie classmate who asked the lecturer if he will mark us more leniently given that English is not our first language……

There was another classmate who is a migrate himself asked my friend to sit further away and not peek during exam period in a very rude tone. End up we fare better than him and he wants to sit and work with us on projects ever since. Of course, we told him to back off….. And he said he will buy us ice cream………what the heck #%^&*@#%……..

Guess there are always a few black sheeps here and there. We were invited to an Aussie house party and they were friendly and fun people. They actually book those jumping castle and imagine a whole bunch of adults enjoying jumping and falling inside the jumping castle, laughing out loud???!!! Of course they also enjoy jumping into the pool, complete with beer. Haha.

Besides the above, didn’t really encounter much racism…… there was a nice old lady who advise to go home when we ask for directions to somewhere because it was ten pm already. There was also this nice family who advise us to go home when we travel in a storm to see a ‘blow hole’. They said it was the worst storm they ever encountered in their 25 years there and we shouldn’t travel……..We still went ahead….haha

Re: Vietnamese

Before I went Australia, my aunt also warned me of the Vietnamese and their gangs. But surprisingly we hit off well with our Vietnamese classmates and they are such gentle people! They were keen in learning Chinese and they can sing Andy Lau’s “Wang Qing Shui’ in their language. Seems like a popular song everywhere….

Again there were the black sheeps. Once my friend dined in a restaurant halfway and this gang of Vietnemese came stomping into the restaurant with choppers like those Hong Kong movies. Thankfully she managed to escape without hurt…….

I am back from my Genting Trip on Sun. It was terrible !! Long way to drive up. My 2mths old J2 is so cranky throughout the journey. WHen queueing for safe rides.. just awhile need to drink milk again. Not enjoying it at all. As for J1, I felt bad cos it is supposed to be a trip specially for her but ended up poor mummy here caught flu and fever on Day 2. So daddy went out with her for rides while I stay in hotel room with J2. My parents went there with us but most of the time they are in casino. Had learnt my lesson.. we will not be going for any trip until J2 is at least 2yo !!

J1 started her CC in Little Skool House. THe morning part is abit tiring for me as she is always crying. But after warm up she is pretty fine. Just slight nagging at night saying DUN WANT TO GO SCH. But she got no choice..hehe. First day to nap in sch with me around. Hoping to leave her there to nap alone tmr. Must ensure she is settled down before I start work in July.

May
Maybe 2 months is still a little too young for J2 to travel bah... though at this age they are still pretty much sleepy and sleeps more. My first travel with Daren was he was 18months... took ferry ride to Bintan with him and then coach up to Malacca with him and my maid. I think J1 is doing better with going to school now? Hopefully after 2 weeks, no more or rather lesser crying

May
I am sure she will be better in this school so relax. It is still an experience. Hope for a better trip next round.

Mamachan
Ha ha that is why I tell you. Ha ha that day i scare to go your place. I kenna 2 x. second time when hb was in uni, he got it. I went to visit him and I got it. Then hor pass to my papa.

When my sis got it I oso never get leh. So Daren's chix pox is very "tu" ha ha

CL
My DH is unsure if back then his chicken pox was full blown or not. I remembered mine being alot...so that would be full blown. Funny thing is, daren never had fever... only my hb. hahahaha rena was still asking me over msn last night how come so late not sleeping yet, how to have baby #2..... my poor hb was having fever!

Mamachan
as you grow older it is more severe I think. I oso got no fever. But my poor father got it at age 55 has got bad bad experience

ky
i also tot of renting a place instead of buying but hb not keen. feel that buying a place nearer to sch is really way out of budget. at least renting is easier on the pocket. but my hb belongs to those who think renting waste money

mamachan
your hb got chicken pox? poor thing. my mum got it when my sis got it when we were young so hers was really bad. and when i played with my sis i din catch it and one day out of the blue in sec 4 i got chicken pox. din even catch it when my bro had it...

Hi May
took my ger to genting too..
We flew up to KL then we hired a small coach bus. It was okie, just tat my boy din like Genting.
He was afraid of those rides!haiz, this boy!

May,
Bringing kids on a trip is like that de. When I brought Duncan to Malacca, he slept in the car. but when we out shopping, every 3hourly i find a place to latch him. When i brot Meg to HK previously at 6mths, also every few hours drink milk.
It's an experience. I din regret it tho. You will get better at it so i'm sure your next trip will be much better.