(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
my hb often goes there due to work. its him who told me there is 40% sale, tats y i quickly post here =p

i can ask hb to get for you if you r ok with that =)

Yuki - i only went to Montessori school for a trial class so cannot comment much.

However when i enrolled C in Zoophonics, the admin lady who is very experienced told us that when kids go to pri school, the teachers can distinguish between a Montessori students vs a non-montessori as the former likes to roam around in class pretty much and hardly can sit and listen through. It's true during C's trial class as they encourage C to walk around the class aimlessly, get the toys he wants, and put it back after play.

Zoophonics has a branch in tampines mart at st 32. but it is a small branch compared to siglap. just 2 classrooms. KY is right that everything they teach abt phonics, they uses animal as a basis which is pretty effective as C can remember from A to Z the phonics and the animals associated with them.

rachel - yeah if its convenient. I can pop by ur place and collect. ya staying near CCK right? If possible, can get me 8 since i have 8 bottles :D

re: zoophonic hoilday program
dylan will be attending from 15 to 19June @ bt timah. its 2hrs session, so i will drop him there and jalang jalang till time to pick him up.

toilet wise, i find it acceptable. anyway dylan normally only pee and i will chop chop let him do his small business and get out of there. so its ok to us.

SSF
if i not wrong per pack has 2 teats. so i get for you 4 packs of no.4 ok?

i stay @ bt panjang, my mum @ cck. i can meet you @ cck since most evenings i go over for dinner =)

Mashy,
I think the problem lies with the school? How far behind is C in terms of tracing? Is it a complete mess? Can he roughly follow the dotted lines? My Isaac is a Dec 05 baby and is the baby is his nursery class. He can't trace very well either. He can't connect the dotted lines very well, but will trace it's outline generally. he also can't colour very well as well. I don't think he's slow in learning at all... and his teachers have not commented negatively on his tracing / colouring as well. And frankly, I don't care whether he can trace/colour well at this age cos he is learning well enough on all other aspects. Maybe when he is in K2 and still can't trace / colour, I'll be more worried.
Maybe you might want to find another school that is more encouraging.

SSF
my pleasure =) will contact you when got the items.

cookie
k3 looks more boyish as compare to k1 when they r of the same age hor? still, all your Ks are pretty and handsome =)

SSF
pei seh, hb just called back and told me for avent products under accessories eg teat. is only 15% discount... think breast pump n some others then is 40%. do you still want? its private staff sales, so he will tompang the staff there to buy.

rachel

thot the carnival was 2 weeks ago when i was in sentosa?

queen
it depends on his mood lor. If he's happy, he'll trace and it's more or less there. If not, it'll be just a scribble.

He just started this new sch on monday leh. In fact before i enrolled him, i already told the supervisor abt my concerns & his prob at his prev sch. But she seems to have forgotten abt it. Same here, if he's in K2 and still can't trace/colour, I'll be worried too. Right now i'm also satisfied with his progress altho i see his classmates able to write pretty legibly. The supervisor said he needs 1-1 attn now coz he likes to roam ard and wanna play more than attend the class. C'mon, i would wanna play too if i'm him. Well, we'll give him some time to settle down and see how.

Sigh, really tired of having to keep changing schs. It's such a headache finding a good sch with encouraging teachers.

mashy
this time round is private staff sales, not open to public. so got to tompang the staff to help in buying.

i guess like what you said, give C more time to settle down. dylan was a loner when he first started his Pre-N in Jan. he not willing to join the group and prefer to do things on his own. during the recent meet-the-parent session, his teachers said he now is very active and mix very well with his classmates. so just give C freedom and time to adjust at his own pace. most important is he enjoys school.

rachel

oic.

My boy loves sch. Guess more than the teachers/sch loves him. He enjoys going to sch but still doesn't really communicate with his classmates nor plays with him. Heard that he only talks to the adults. Perhaps it's becoz of the environment at home and he's used to talking to adults rather than kids his age.

rachel - oic...hmm maybe not then cos time to time, there are 20% off avent prod. so perhaps i will check at the stores then. thks anyway.

mashy - be patient and maybe give C more time then. maybe after 1 yr and see how things go.

Hi Aileen
We got it from WinterTime @ Jurong Point, near John Little, but it has branches in quite a few locations. Has at least 2 types, 1 for the 8 and abv temp, and 1 for 3-8 (degree temp) which is $10+. Can layer the kids with long-sleeve cotton type of tops. I only bought 1 for my older coz I had hand-me-downs for the younger n it's just cotton white. Think u have to layer more since u'll be out in the open for a while right? I tend to classify coldness by the fact if it's windy or not.

Hi CL
Yes, we just came back from Melbourne last night. Very thankful that we managed to get there n back. K was having a mild fever abt 1.5 days before we left and both of them had drippy noses one after another. I was very worried abt getting stopped at Melbourne airport and was actually prepared to fly there and back on the spot. But it got better when they were at the airport n I was told they only check for fever, though our neighbour told us their fren were asked to leave the plane whose kid was having a bad running nose cum cough.

Just saw this classification and read that a mum could not get Emirates to waive the cancellation charges. Was really really thankful; we left when Singapore had case #1 and the number in Melbourne peaked over the weekend that we were there, and so the tension was not felt as much though people do bring it up.

.ky.

ky
Wow....it was a good thing that you get to leave Singapore and come back from Melbourne in time. I hope you all had a great time despite #1 and #2 having drippy noses.

Hi Mashy

I was writing a msg last night (long ...) and my laptop went ka-poo ... so here I go again.

Was commenting abt C's teachers commenting on his ability or weakness in tracing/writing. Mine can't write, and trace or colour when he wants to too. 3 yr olds are still more keen on exploring the surrounding and they parallel play with their peers, not interactive play. they tend to prefer adults as they are more reactive to them. I notice my older was like that too at this age, but K likes to disturb those his age and the adults. So each kid is different. As long as u don't notice anything drastically slow, I think u should tell the teachers that u r aware n that let's give time to the child to develop. Ask for a list of milestone or checklist that they check against, and do "damage-control" at home if need. Like what mamachan said, there are other fine-motor skills work that u can do n not focus on tracing/writing ... just make sure he holds the pencil in the right way and can do simple colouring (like up n down, in a circle). there are the pre-writing worksheets that u can download on the website, or dot-to-dot join ... those are more fun for kids, don't u think? I feel that at this age, focus should be on creative and imaginative learning and hence a lot of focus is on craft rather than the very academic stuff like writing. My older one started getting interested in writing only when he's 5 and that's bcos he goes to a school that focus on that.... but eventually when they are at 5, they'll tend to see what their peers can do n try to follow. A daily exercise would slowly get implemented and it should be tailored towards the kid's interest. Like a lot of other matters, the starting is always difficult, so yes, if the kid is running away from u, try to get him to sit down a few mins and break away before he loses focus, and slowly extend the time longer, everyday or a fixed number so that he becomes aware of the routine. Eg a fren had a handy little book that the girl would write/draw on since she's young n now the 6-yr-old carries it everywhere n jots down whatever she's noted.

But keep in mind what the teachers are saying; it's an observation on he being slower, not an excuse for being slow. Having a 1-Jan baby is a blessing ... yes, tend to be slower for a start but eventually the difference is negligible. I wanted year-end kid but both are born very early in the year and it really took a long time for each yr to go by (for me).

.ky.

Reg. Melbourne ... yes, tx goodness no hiccups though we were forced to drive in the dark along the bendy stretch of Great Ocean Road. I don't think I can ever drive along that stretch myself ... and I feel a strong sense of racism, those who went, do u feel that? the folks there are rather unfriendly and fake n honestly that take the fun out of visiting the country a bit for me.

.ky.

ky

thanks for your advice! I started doing some crafts with him in the yesterday evening (rarely able to coz i usually have to make dinner then, sigh). Yesterday I drew a sheep and got him to paste cotton balls on them. He loves it and we have proudly pasted it on the wall to show everyone. When his daddy came home, he also got his daddy to admire his work.

I also made some cardboard gingerbread men (done long time ago but haven't taken out for him to use) for him to string together. He strung a few and the rest, aiyoh, he just pushed them off the table. Kind of sadistic. He will purposedly hold up the gingerbread men in mid air and then drop them down.

Yes, i also think that all kids develop at a different stage. Not being able to do now doesn't mean anything.

ky, thanks for your info. ya i'll prep my boys with thick jacket and thermal coz it's very windy at goldcoast. glad you came back just in time. hopefully the flu bug doesn't travel to GC by the end of the month! *keeping fingers crossed*!! btw did u manage to get the cheapfares from emirates as well?

mashy,
is it difficult to get ur boy nap? How long does it takes to make him sleep? J1 can dun nap at all and sleep at 11pm. I got prob getting her to even lie down. For the past 3 days, she didnt want to nap at all in CC despite waking up at 8am! She can endure till 10pm then sleep.

Hi Aileen ... yes, we went on Emirates, $1300+ for 4 of us. Can book your seats and checkin online. Very good facilities for adults and kids. Beware, your kids would NOT want to sleep ... but u reach there at night right?

The service is rather so-so. Got ignored most of the time and they do not react to the buzz light.

Mashy, I got a lot of ah-soh stories to share abt the experience this time... even my hubby commented ... folks in NZ n US have treated us better.

.ky.

ya my friend called me to ask about melb coz i used to study there. that's how i found out about the super cheap fares. so i jumped on it and booked the entire family including my folks on a flight to goldcoast. ya i reach there midnight. i'm alright with service. i don't need much anyway. haha!

just catching up! back from beijing on sat and was really tired out that i just slept at 8+ that night! the whole trip was not bad but really tiring cos jx din wan to let other ppl carry her much and i m almost glued to her 24 hours. good thing is jh was pretty much stuck to my parents so at least i have a breather.

he's getting really naughty and sometimes i just lose it with him. nowadays he's acting like a bb a lot and wants to be carreid most of the time. and when we go out, he keeps saying he's tired and will refuse to walk. just squat there until u move him.....arrggh

Belinda
I'm not sure where he got it from. The worst of the pox marks are on his lower back and on his scalp. Other than that, he is healing beautifully.

ky,
jus heard this morning the 12th case is a boy returning fm melbourne via emirates EK405 on 1st June. hope you are not affected by it.

belinda,
looks girl leh. try for #3!

Tracie ... yes, saw it in the newsflash last nite. He came back on 1st June n we on the 2nd June ... so lucky, coz we were considering these few dates.

Aileen ... did u study in RMIT? very nice building. thot the special prices dates for brisbane is sometime in mid June. what dates r u going?

mashy, u can look into http://www.dltk-kids.com/ for ideas. can be just something very simple. and yes, putting it up helps to motivate the kid.

.ky.

ky

oh lucky u! Thanks for the link! I'll go and check it out. Today C's sick so kept him at home. Really cracked my brains out to think of activities for him to do.

Realised that he can finally draw the eyes/nose & mouth for the face.
U see, he can do it, it's just that he needs more coaxing... & motivated. Previously when i tried to get him to draw the eyes, nose & mouth, he'll just scribble. Even the ones from sch was actually drawn by teacher holding his hands. So today, i did something different, cut out some shapes for him to paste as the person's body & limbs rather than drawing a circle for him to begin. After that then draw the facial features. He managed to do it all by himself.

Looks like I'm going to have a huge prob when he goes pri sch if he continues to be like that. He can do it, just that he doesn't want to....

May

it depends on his mood leh... On some days, he'll knock out in 15mins, some other times, 1 whole hr already still not sleeping. He sleeps at abt 10.30pm and wakes up at 7am.

If i don't get him to nap in the day, he'll knock out at 5-6pm which i don't want coz it'll affect his sleep at night.

Your gal very good leh. If my boy goes to sch, when he comes home, he'll def wanna sleep. Coz of his long naps, i also don't really get to do much activites with him in the afternoon.

ky

tell us your stories leh.... I've heard of such stories before too. My aunt also experienced that when she went to Australia. Wonder why so many Singaporeans still wanna migrate there...

yeh, my CL bill settle liao. The insurers going to pay me $2k for falling down with my boy the other time. God is great! He always provide me with my needs. hahaha. My hb says it's always needs, not wants.

re:Melbourne
my GM had to cancel his trip. was supposed to leave tomorrow for his '2nd honeymoon' :p Also Emirates promo fare. No refund, no change of date, destination. He still very sore about it.