(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy,
actually i am also duno where to start...where go for allergy test. Apparently i was told by our family GP that Damien is suffering from sinus...and it could be inheritance coz my hb also suffering from sinus.
I just made an appoinment at SBCC with Dr Ngiam instead of Dr YY Yip. Tot of seeking for his opinion.

belinda

Dr Ngiam is good with asthma but he can be abit heavy on the meds.

U can try going for allergy testing at National Skin Clinic. They've a specialist there for children. But not sure if their tests will have any relation to just skin probs or also sinus. There's also an allergy clinic in KKH which u can try calling them to ask.

Some kids are allergic to dust which triggers sinus. U might wanna confirm that damien isn't allergic to dust.

mashy,
i actually also duno should i go for Dr Ngiam or not coz alot of my friends told me that he is better than Dr Yip.
Not sure of he is sensitive to dust, pet or what...totally got no cue.

Hi tabbisus
Thanks so much...
I will check those area.
Kae so far she dun bump into things... she just "trip over" for no obvious reason, like sometimes she kick her own foot.

The Sunshine house is really tempting!! Let me check with HB first kekeke...
Same here, space is really limited..

To give ...

1. Grow $2 discount voucher (valid till 30 Apr 09)

2. 1 sticker for Night Safari ticket redemption (valid till 5 Apr 09)

knows anyone who wants?
Self-collect from my place at Yew Tee (5-10 mins walk from MRT) or via self-addressed envelope

.ky.

belinda

no harm going to him and see what he says.

Then u should prob check to see if he's sensitive to such things. If it's dust, then you'll have to keep the house really clean & dustfree... Maybe can get an air filter.

Mamachan

Hai.......was just talking about maid last week.... last night my helper almost fight with the helper at my mum's place who was engaged to look after my grandma.

It was over some slight issues. Now the helper said she wants to transfer.... don't want to work anymore (cos they have to see each other every day).......... i think she has hidden agenda........ now tell me she has ready employer to take her and she can transfer immediately.

To think i still pay for half of the agent fees to bring her back.........

Really - maid cannot be trusted.........

yuki

this maid so horrible. Then tell her to repay the agent fees to u. Or since she has a ready employer, ask her to get that ready employer to pay u back.

belinda
jh also like that. cos of his sensitive nose, he is always getting runny nose, cough etc and sometimes he will get infection cos of it. now my younger one also seems to have this problem. doc says cos they have sensitive nose like the father.

recently jh got very bad episode of diarhea...think my maid really nto clean. his water bottle was so dirty. hb already told her before to clean it well but she just dun listen. and when we scold her she will say how come she can't seem to do right.

re pri 1
sounds tough. i always hear abt how tough it is from my neighbour. they have projects to do, presentations to make etc...

re chinese
i heard berries is good but so far jh's sch quite good. he came back with 2 sets of materials and he can recog all the words in it and read the book (though i think reading the book is from memory). he can recite a few pages of san zi jing also but this lazy mummy can't seem to remember more so stop teaching him..haha

Yuki
Then you tell her to repay you for the passport money and the agent fees for bringing her over. Must tell her that you are dissapointed that she would pull such a thing on you and your family. Obviously she has had her own plans...I've heard of some maids who are like that too...

RP Lunch on Wednesday, 1 April 2009
This is for real... anyone for lunch at The Sandwich Shop at Hitachi towers?? I'm meeting Chicken Little to collect stuff and have lunch.

Time: 12:15pm

1) MamaChan
2) Chicken Little

Do fill in your names.

yuki,
recently my mum found out that she lost some money. We suspected it was done by the maid.
Think she even took my son's money. Counted his money last nite and was not right.
Let my sil and brother to decide if they still want to keep the maid.
She is pretty good at telling lies. Cannot be trusted.

SY
What you can do is perhaps do a positive demonstration to show her how to clean JH's bottle?
Sometimes when the helper really still can't seem to their job well or still don't get it after being told time and again to do things properly... I will just go ahead and do things my way without saying much to my helper... it helps in a sense that it will "wake up their idea"...because from where they are from, it's totally different in how they do things i.e. for your case,hygiene is not exactly a norm/priority for them... they all grew up in that environment.

For me, my helper is poor in her packing skills. I can talk and describe how to do it but she still don't get it, so the best way is for me to do it myself to enforce a positive demonstration on how I want things to be..

Hi Belinda,

You can test her by marking the money.

That's what my MIL did when she suspect the maid. True enough, they found the amrk note inside the maid's room. Was meant to be my cousin's daily pocket money......

Mamachan

Yup, can't help but feeling she has hidden agenda and feel make use by her........ My friend said allowing her to transfer is totally out of goodwill. Else just buy a ticket and sent her back and let her pay for agent fees all over agin.

Yuki
So sad tt your maid did that. Must say that we can nvr trust them totally.

SY
I saw your earlier post abt your maid. My maid also didnt look after Clare properly and she lied to us that Clare only knock her head on the cot and did not fall on the floor. Upon repeated questioning and my hb's threat tt we hv a video cam in the room, she confessed that Clare fell on the floor. I was so upset with her, most imptly on her lying and Clare could hv died. But after calming down and thinking through, we decided to keep her and give her a second chance as her other parts are still bearable and after hearing all the stories, I think all of them are the same and tend to lie. So, I'll face the same problem even if i hv to change maid. I've counselled her on her lying even though I dun trust her anymore. To me, she's just here to help look after Clare and the hse. My boss told me that "better the devil that you know, then the devil that you do not know". I thought it makes a lot of sense. So, since we know her "pattern", can keep a look out on her weaker areas and we will know when she lies. Anyways, just to share. So, are you sending your maid back.

Yuki,
we are pretty sure that she took the money coz my SIL found 3 pcs of $50 notes in her room and none of us had given her $50 note before.
SIL only give her $20 per month to just for her to buy personal thing...and the rest was in the bank. Not sure if they are going to keep her.

Read the posts regarding maid, I have just changed a new maid, really keeping my finger cross, hope she is ok.

Mummies who brought their kids go travel before, need your advice again, this is the first time I bring Clarisse along for tour, a bit gan cheong. What kind of shoes should I prepare for her?

And do you all bring the whole tin of FM along? And milk bottle? Clarisse still drinks her milk from bottle.

zhimin
I bring the usual shoes which he wears. And yes, I'll bring 1 whole tin of milk, milk bottles, detergent, etc, plus diapers!

zhimin

then force her to drink her milk from cup lor. Maybe when she's desperate, she'll do that and you would have successfully weaned her off bottles.

Zhimin
Ya me just like krissie and I will bring extra pair of shoes just in case of unforseen circumstances ha ha. I never bring detergent liao. For me aden needs the milk to sleep so I still bring bottles

This morning I missed the last step on the staircase and fell forward. I managed to use my hands to brace the fall, almost landed on my tummy, but didn't. Had a big scare... called up my gynae and went to his clinic for CTG monitoring for baby. Luckily fetal heartbeat is normal.

Zhimin,
I still bring bottles along and detergent and brush... when it comes to travelling, I find that Isaac tends to drink more milk and eat lesser solids. So if bottle feeding helps, then stick by it. Less stress and worries. I will bring a small tin of FM.

Yuki
I think if I'm in your shoes...I would probably sent her packing home. Clearly she's taking advantage of you.

Zhimin
My last Perth trip, I still brought my boy's bottles along and a tin of milk along with boxes of the milk sample for the 14-days trip... but on the plane I would have already portioned out his milk feed portion in those milk powder container. I still brought along my travel thermos flask for the just in case. I brought a small, travel bottle of the prigeon detergent to just wash and rinse the milk bottle... as for shoes, he will be wearing his fav, crocs and I would pack and extra sandals in the luggage. Just make sure that they have at least 4-5 sets spare change of clothes on top of their daily wear in case of spills or they get themselves dirtied or they perspired too much.

Queen,
oh dear...lcuky you did not fall on your tummy....be more careful next time.

Zhimin,
i just let him to drink from cup and straw...damien no longer drink from bottles.
Sometimes i just boy him those packet milk or milo.

Thanks mummies

Belinda

I tried let her use cup before, she rejected and rather don't drink... haha. Think going to try again.

Zhimin
try a cute cup with straw and get her to choose.

Queen
am glad you are ok. Do be careful. I fell twice in my first pregnancy so I was being blamed that Charmaine is just as clumpsy as me ha ha

mashy,
Yes. Am 36 weeks now. Baby is already 2.4kg (which was Isaac's birth weight at 37 weeks). Gynae did a VE on Monday cos I was experiencing significant increase in BH and started having some backache. He said I will give birth soon but not so soon. I asked what that meant, he said it will not be within this week cos cervix is not opened yet. So I take it that he meant I'm most likely to deliver before EDD 30 Apr.

Belinda / Tracie / Sysac,
Our Ga/ON stuff just arrived yesterday. Will sort out within these few days and I think can collect by this weekend.

turn out the nodule in my breast is indeed milk. tried pushing it towards the nipple and squeezing it out, its milk. apparently its normal to still be leaking 3-6 mths after weaning. it's been 3mths since i weaned him off.

Tracie
I think I have the same experience for a while after weaning. But I cannot remember how long it stops.

Queen
Jiayou and hope to see your prince soon.

Mummies who has sms me and showed concern for my mum. The scan result is good. So nothing to raise concern. It was just the x-ray that was not clear so they call for CT scan. I finally can have good sleep. Thank you very much for all your support

Thanks Yuki
realli appreciate your constant check via sms.

Today's april fool's day hope Aden is not thinking that I playing trick on him. Today is his first day at Yuquan and check out his latest pix with his new uniform, new Mack and new Lightning Mcqueen Bag. His is a total Disney Cars Freak now.

2307644.jpg
2307645.jpg

feeling so tired. C didn't wanna nap just now and took a long time before he finally went to sleep. Now trying to look for another sch for my boy. sigh....

can't stand the teacher. Yesterday when I was accompanying my boy up the lift, there was this boy who's in his class came up to him and started stroking his face! Of course my boy was upset and irritated and told him to go away.

At dismissal time, that same boy did it again. He just went to my boy and stroked his face over and over. I told the teacher abt it and the teacher said my boy doesn't like anybody! She should be addressing the issue abt the other boy invading into other pp's pte space, but yet she chose to just pick on my boy. Real fed up. I've been putting up with her for so long, hoping that there'll be some changes but till now, she's still the same.

So now i'm going to find a new sch for my boy. Hopefully can get one that's suitable for him.

Queen
wow, so fast!

CL
Glad to know that she's ok. Thank God!

CL
glad to know that your mum is ok. :D Aden looks so happy. haha...

Queen
you are going to pop. so fast! take good care.

mashy
hope you can find a suitable school soon. it's really not easy to find one which is good.
yesterday, my mil told me that the PG teacher asked her to let my gal wear diaper to school 'cos they have no time to bring her to the toilet during the class and the kids can only go to the toilet during the tea break! when i heard that i was so upset. 'cos my gal is toilet trained and only need diapers during nap and night time. and there are 2 teachers there during the class. i just don't understand why can't 1 teacher brought the kid to the toilet, and the other one just carried on the lesson.

then, i talked to the principal and she said the teacher explained to her that when one is teaching, the other one will be making sure that the kids are sitting properly and ensure that they don't move around. the teacher can't handle all the kids alone!!! when i heard that, i don't know if i should interpret that the teacher is incapable in handling the kids alone or the kids there are simply too active and need 1 more teacher to handle them. sigh... all the while, i thought the task of the 2 teachers should be when 1 is teaching, the other one is taking care, which means including bring the kids to the toilet.

anyway, the principal told me that i can don't let my gal wear diaper to school for the time being and see if she still goes to toilet often before and after tea break.

sunny

that's terrible. Children can't hold their pee like we do. It's as good as unlearning what she has learnt.

C's teacher also complained that he's not toilet trained and wants me to put him on the potty before going to sch. As if i don't want him to be trained. He is pee trained but still wants to poo standing up. So I just let him wear his diapers to sch. And my boy, knowing him, when he wears his diapers, he knows he can just pee in it and will do just that. sigh.

Mashy, sunny
I am happy with Cherie Hearts when it comes to toilet training. They willing use the training pants and will remind aden to go. Sometimes aden just forget and pee into the training pants.

Once he even tell them he needs to poo once remove the pants , he stand and poo so poor cleaner got a "chocolate cake". So same like C he needs to stand and poo.

One thing for Aden, if he remembers , even in diaper , he will ask me to bring him to the toilet. Imagine 2 weeks ago, I brought him to SUN for lunch and I have to go toilet 3x

sunny
How long is this PG? 3-hrs or it's like a CC setting?? I think it's horrible that the teachers don't try to help you out, and moreover your gal is toilet trained she can indicate that she needs to go to the toilet!!!

Mashy
Does it help to encourage your boy to go on the potty in the mornings before school? It sounds abit troublesome but it helps to encourage to clear his business in the morning.

My boy is always placed on the toilet bowl to sit on it, to poo, after his milk and brushing his teeth. Sometimes he takes a long while i.e. 20 min, if he'll tell us "finish, no more, all done" without pooing, we'll just take him off and then send him to school le... then when he comes home and the sensation comes, he'll tell us and initiate to go to the toilet bowl himself.

In the beginning, I experience the same thing with D's school, coz sometimes they are under-staffed... but because couple of weeks ago, I noticed that he initiates to go to the toilet by himself to pee at home, sometimes telling me while running past me to get to the toilet. So I asked the teachers again if we could take the risk together to have him wear his underwear to school. One of his teachers weren't too keen coz she's alone handling 18 children till about 10am where his main teacher will come in.

But his main teacher is agreeable and strike a "Deal" with me...saying that when she comes in at 10am, she'll change him out of his diapers into his underwear...it worked out right for a week and it was so far so good... so we took one step further and let him go to school in his underwear...the first day was good, he goes to the toilet by himself...but the 2nd - 4th day was a disaster where he wet himself in the middle of class!!! Aiyoh... I was quite embarrassed then but his teachers didn't make a huge fuss...or rather they didn't call me separately on the phone to tell me to let him do on diapers all the way...it got better after that...no more accidents.

In fact, in the school, they had children's toilets to cater to the little ones... so they can pee on their own.

mamachan

i tried putting him on the potty but he will just sit on it, then after a while will say no poo. If he's on the adult toilet bowl, he'll wanna read a book while on it and still no poo.
One thing is that his poo is really irregular. Due to our poo poo training, he's now constipated.
Coz when he wanna poo, he actually told me and we hurriedly got the potty ready. But when he sits down, he just couldn't do it. So end up constipated for 3days already. Now my priority is to get him to poo, don't care on the potty or not just in case it's very painful and he associates it with the potty.

Good that you've a teacher who's at least helpful. C's teacher only complains. She puts it like he's a trouble maker in sch. I know he's very active, but i doubt he's all out to create trouble. He's not that diff to deal with at home most times.

CL
I'm expanding my search to childcare centres already. Probably go half day or something. Hopefully they can help him in the toilet training aspect as well.

Queen - Thanks! Thank goodness you broke yr fall! Pls take care

CL - Great to know that yr mum is ok. It can be worrisome when our parents fall ill. Aden looks happy!

Mashy/Sunny - I am surprised that the teachers are taking an easy way out on this. They shd incorporate toilet breaks in between lessons and the entire class goes tog.

CL
hee hee... your boy looks really happy!!! I hope he settles well in his new environment! =) Am glad that you mom is alright!!! Sometimes it's the ruling out that makes us paranoid...
I still remember the days where I went in to the A&E after a nasty fall in the ice-skating rink when I was in Sec. school and hurt my forearm... the housemen/MO thought I had a hairline crack via looking at the x-ray, turned out that it was a vein after my follow-up!! :-x What a joke lor... I had to suffer in a half-cast for a week!

mashy
precisely, how could the kid hold the pee, right?

CL
that's so nice of the teachers at CH.

mamachan
at least D's teacher makes the effort to help toilet train him.

YX's PG is just 2 hr. 9 - 11am. when we bring YX to school, the teacher will ask us to bring her to toilet 1st. then go for the class and the tea break is 10am.
actually, the teacher complained few times that she requsted to go toilet before the tea break and hinting to us not to give her so much water and milk to drink before going to class. we ignored her complaints 'cos my gal tends to have cough and running nose easily if she does not drink plenty of water during the day esp after she wakes up.
the teacher even told the principal that if YX is really toilet trained, she won't wanna pee in the diaper and can hold till tea break! don't know what logic it is.

sysac
ya loh. the previous PG which YX attended got no such case happened and there were 2 teachers in the class, too.
after our feedback, the principal told the teacher to have another toilet break at 930am. my mil, hb and i think that the teachers are either merely lazy to bring kid to toilet before/after tea break or lousy in handling active children alone in the class.

sunny
I think you can argue the fact and ask are they trying to cause kidney stone problems by making the children hold in their pee??? I feel that these PG teachers just want the easy way out. They should be happy that the children ask to go to the toilet rather than just do it on the floor!

the teachers noticed that the biggest-sized pull up pants (XXL)from mamypoko are rather tight for my boy...so I guess they could sense my desperation to get him toilet-trained.

Sunny - At least the principal is reasonable to recomment an earlier toilet break. For C' school, they will have a toilet break when they arrive (cos about 35 mins on the sch bus), before snack time which is abt an hour later, after snack time & before class is dismissed (another 35 mins journey. He does not wear diapers to school but I do pack an extra set of clothes, a diaper & an extra underwear in his bag in case of any accidents.

mamachan,
Daren is wearing XXL...i think damien still can fit in L from mamypoko pull up pant. But he is already totally off diaper liao.

Yuki,
Thanks for the immunisation records link. Will non-compulsory jabs like Chicken-pox, pneumoccocal appear in the lists as well?

Re. toilet training in school
Since last week, we let Isaac go diaperless ins school (3 hrs nursery) as well and my in-laws told the teachers. Isaac is not very well toilet-trained in terms of pooing but so far no accidents and no negative feedback from teachers. I'm not sure how the teachers manage, but I suspect that there is a fix toilet break time as well. I dunno whether Isaac has been telling the teachers as and when he needs to pee or he has always managed to hold his pee till toilet break.

sunny

gd that the principal has stepped in on this. I'm going to see another sch today with C. Hopefully he likes it.

Just wondering for those who send their kids to childcare centres, if i send my boy for half day, will he be missing out a lot in terms of the curriculum? This new sch is a childcare centre actually and they've only 5 kids in the nursery level. Total only 40 kids in the centre. Hopefully this also means that C can get more attn.

Queen,

I checked the list..damien took Chicken pox at SBCC while the pneumoccocal at GP.
The chicken pox is in the list but the pneumoccocal is not in the list