(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

belinda - hb just sent C to school and he cried even though the teachers and friends are the same. haiz! this is a start of his 3 hrs class everyday. previously he was on 2 hrs on 3 days a week. hopefully he can adapt soon.

hv 2 big tins of Gain IQ to let go at $38 each.
free delivery if taking 2 tins, otherwise self collect at raffles pl or tampines

pls pte msg me if ur interested...cheers

SSF,

the class will be starting from 1 hr for the first week and slowly to 3 hours.

send my #1 to school, aiyo..suddenly i just cannot control myself..feel like crying.

belinda
aiyo. Me packed my gal up school bus at 6.30 am then rushed to school to be PV to help out. Being PV I get to go close to my gal, she no need me lah, only say hello to me then busy talking liao. Her partner is my colleague's gal so I think she is fine.

happy new year
spent the last few days down with stomach flu..

JH hasn't start sch yet. will start on mon. think this time will really have a hard time wiht him.....

I was quite proud of J today. She is the only one that doesn't requires parents to be by her side. I can watch her for a distance for abt 1.5hrs. And I told her I am leaving, she even can wave goodbye and say "see u later". Was peeping from the window for awhile before I really left for breakfast. Teacher told me that she did ask "where is mummy?" But was ok when teacher tell her, mummy come back later. Finished her own lunch and even agree to let teacher shower for her. Hope she will be fine on Monday, as I intend to just bring her into class and leave the school.

Life is just so full of irony.......

I manage to switch to a 5 day job so that i can have more family time as hubby also work 5 day week...... but he is not here anymore........

Weekends and holidays just seems to pass by so slowly without him..........

sometimes i am still thinking of going to states is a form of escaping........ i find comfort in talking to hubby's sister so naturally wish to spend more time with her.... but wonder if i will become over reliant on her.... she will remain in states till mid of the year... so when i come back from states, i will be alone again.........

hubby's colleague wrote a letter to me.... he almost lost his wife to an illness some years ago and he is able to share the anxiety and fear thou not 100%.... indeed the things he brought up are things that cross my mind but unable to voice out......... should i be liberal or protective towards the girls upbringing.....liberl because they are pitiful or protective because they don;t have a daddy to fend for them......

His last sentence is "The children can be well only if you are well..." How true. But i guess it still takes time........... And being liberal or protective is still an unknown answer.........

CL,

at least you got the chance to get close to you DD. As for duncan, once i reached the school doorstep, he was being escorted by the P2 student to the classroom.

Happy New Year!

CL,
You still need to be PV? Thot you old gal?

Yuki,
I am really at loss as to what to say. I guess it's much easier to say than to do it. Just trust in the Lord and take each day as it comes.

Ky,
Are you the one who's homeschooling your kids now? Can share how? Are you using any curriculum currently?

Yuki
It is natural to feel lost and directionless at this juncture. I think is good for you and the girls to get away for a while. You must have been totally drain over what had happened over the past few months. It is good to get away to heal yourself emotionally. As your hb’s colleague put is, you need to be well in order for the girls to be well. Just take a step at a time and don’t worry so much. You are much stronger than you think. My mom had always been a housewife before my dad passed away. She is not very educated and my dad also didn’t leave much money behind for us. Nevertheless, she still single handedly brought up the 4 of us. I’m sure you are able to a good job in raising up the 2 girls….hang on there!

Just came back from a short trip to Genting & KL. It's probably my last trip overseas before delivering n April.

Yuki,
I also think it's good to go US for a while. But what about Ashley and Megan's schooling? School has started for them isn't it? It may also be good to go back into the normal routine for you and your girls?

RE. toilet training
Anyone of you here still toilet training your todds? Isaac has begun to show some positive signs. The last week, whenever me and HB are home from work, we will get him off the diapers and he has managed to tell us that he wants to pee before he actually does it. Done it 3 times successfully. So happy!

Hi Queen,
Wow.. u really got the energy to go till Genting. How's the trip? Bought ur CNY clothing already? I have been hunting for CNY clothing for quite sometime but only got 1 dress. Hope I can get another one real soon. Continue to encourage Isaac on toilet training, he will soon be off diaper. Jamie is not wearing diaper in the day now. But she still needs it at night and when we go shopping.

May/Queen,

Damien already off diaper for quite some time..even for the nite time.
I was pretty lucky that I do not need much effort to toliet train them...even for nite.

Yuki
Believe in yourself. Give yourself and the girls a break then when you are back start all over again and get into routine.

I am sure you can do it. Build up your confidence and look forward.

Queen
Me too still training. But most weekend I am out so he is not off diaper. Sometimes even with diaper he will says he wants to go I will still bring him.

In cc, teacher oso training him. But due to hygiene purpose, they did not put him diaper free till they are quite sure he can tell before he let go.

SL
me lah kan cheong. Only if you signed up for PTA and volunteer for the orientation then can get close to the kids. Ha ha if not you have to look from behind the barrier.

At the same time network with other mummies with kids of same level lor.

Belinda,
Wow.. so good. Actually quite effortless to train Jamie too. I am now observing her nite pee. Usually will bring her once to toilet before she sleep. Then put on diaper for her. Sometime at night she will wake up and tell me she want to go but sometimes she still pee once in the diaper. Tummy getting bigger also lazy to train her.

CL,
Me very kiasu, first day of CC still wear diaper for her and packed 3 pcs just in case. But when I pick her up, her teacher told me no need to bring already. Cos she knows how to tell her. Maybe can save abit of money also le. hehe.

Hi yuki,
dun worry about being over reliant... just take things as they come. I think that sometimes when these things happen, God sends down some guardian angels to help, in the form of friends or in other unexpected ways. For me, I became close to some of his friends whom I never was before, and naturally when the grief lessened, we lost contact too. It wasnt using people or being reliant on them but rather a case of you needing help, and other being all too glad to be of help.

I think a saying is very true, 'Some friends are here for a reason, some are here for a season, and some for here for a lifetime.' Take Care.

Hi Florence,

Thanks for your sharing and encouragement. Your mum is an amazing woman.

Hi Sleeping deer,

I was browsing the forum for single parenting suport group and found mostly are divorce cases...... In any case, SIL is not very keen in such support group cos she thinks it might add more sorrow.........

Many people encourage me to move near to my mum's place. But i really can;t bear to sell the house/home that hubby and i have built.... Am i being too emotional and not pracitical? Part of the reason i don't want to sell and move house is because moving means i cannot enrol ashley to Nan Chiau. Moving near my mum would means i have to be in Phase 2C to ballot for good schools...... really am at a lost........

Hi mummies - Long time didn't contribute cos I forgot my password!

Hi Yuki - You should take time to grieve. At the moment, there are so too many decisions to make. It would be good to go for a break for the 3 of you. It would be a good time to heal as a family. Many people will have practical ideas as they see it from a different perspective than you. Well, make what you deem to be comfortable for the three of you. Take care alrite...

First day of school - Cephas refused to eat the snacks given & pee in the toilet! I had to keep reminding him over the weekend to do it today cos it will be the full 3-hr prog. When I asked him to eat the snacks, he said no & only want to eat blueberries/strawberries. He's suddenly into blueberries for dessert.

Yuki,
I agree you should take a break in U.S. with the gals. Take the time to grieve, just do nothing but lie in bed, curl up and cry yourself numb..You need to try to stop thinking about the future, how the gals will grow up etc etc. Trust in the Lord...everything will fall in place naturally. He has plans for everyone. When you are done crying, your tears have stopped flowing, take each step at a time and slowly move forward. Before you know it, you will find the strength to let go and look to the future. Take care gal.

Hi Yuki,
Any chances if ur mum can move over? I wouldn't bare to sell the flat if I were u too. But it will take some time to grieve. Hugging the gals will be a nice gesture of comforting each other. Come in here more often to share okie? We will be here as well.

Sysac,
U on leave to bring him to school as well? Today is Jamie's day 2. I managed to just leave her there after the temp check. Is he too used to peeing at home and not other place?

Sysac,
Thanks. Daddy's eyes..

May,
he's 8.5mths now
My MIL's darling cos looks like my hubby when he was a baby.

Hi yuki,
actually being in a support group helps tons, you should think about it. I know there is a widow support group called Wicare around. Being in a group helps you talk about your feelings and for others who have been through it to support you ciz they alone truely know exactly what you are feeling... i guess it depends, if you feel like talking it through, then a support group is a good idea.

Tracie,
soooo cute!

re:toilet training
C has been toilet trained for some time already. he only wears a diaper during naptime and during his 3 hrs school play for convenience sake.

yuki- have u considered gg for counselling? i think that is a better approach than joining the forum of divorcees.

tracie- wow...his eyes can "dian" all the babes mann!haha...so cute!

May - Yes, on leave. Fri had to settle him in school. Today is to settle him on the school bus. Everything is new to him. I left home earlier & let my mum settle him on the bus. He wanted my mum on the bus but the lady told him mama will wait at home for him, strapped him in & left for school. I drove tailing the bus just to see the bus journey.

Yes, he's used to pee-ing only at home. He's quite headstrong & so needs more convincing. He'll have to learn to pee in school& eat what the school provides. Anyway, wrote in the communications book to ask the teached to encourage since it is second day today. We'll see how when he returns at 3pm.

anyone using Canon Compact digital camera? My old camera died on me n now considering Canon Ixus 80 and Ixus 90 ... anyone using them and your opinion? btw, how long does your compact camera last u for? I'm told it's common for cameras to last 3 yrs.

.ky.

ky

Maybe u wanna consider an Olympus? I bought the waterproof olympus. Love it coz i can take it to the pools without fear of it getting wet. Can take photos of my boy playing in the water parks too.

Belinda, why didn't u consider the Ixus 90? Difference is it's 10mpeg vs 8mpeg... met a good salesperson yesterday who explained to me ... he said not much difference, but the 90 has a promo that gives away a photo printer, so I AM TEMPTED. Just wondering if I'll use it. But like to know how u like the Ixus 80 ... picture quality, ie.

Mashy ... I'm always a Canon fan. This is my 3rd digital camera... Already bought a non-canon DSLR ... die-hard fan lah, quite difficult to convert :->

.ky.

ky,

i heard from my friend that there is no much difference but duno why i get the 80 instead of 90 maybe becoz of 10mpeg vs 8 mpeg
I got it thru my friend who is working in Canon...
Ky, just go around to check out on the freebies...some shop even come 4gb memery card.

Ky,
actually when i think back..why i get this camera also becoz I used my old camera Panasonic during my boy k1 graduation ceremony and did not able to get a nice shot of him on this important event.
cannot get over it so decided to get a new camera on the next day.....hahahaha..very impulsive hor.

ky

haha, didn't realise that there's still such brand loyalty nowadays.

FYI, my panasonic lumix lasted me for 4yrs already and it's still working, just that i find it a bit too low end & outdated already. So we upgraded to Olympus. I feel 3 yrs is a bit short for the camera to last. More like it gets outdated in 3 yrs rather than break down in 3yrs.

For my hb, he'll get canon if it's those high end can convert to manual type. For a dummy camera, any brands is ok.

KY
My hb oso just bought a panasonic Lumix in the last IT show. He was comparing Canon with Panasonic and he went for Panasonic. Cheaper, and he even got both 4 GB and 8 GB 2 cards each.

CL

My cousin works for Panasonic and we met him at the fair, so got a really good deal. Got a lot more extras. But we were so tempted by the waterproof functions of olympus that we avoided that stall this time round. Hehehe. It was surprisingly good and even my hb was impressed.

first day of sch for JH and he did surprisingly well. got up quite fast and prep quite fast. we were early in fact. best is that he got up without fuss on the bus. but will call teacher tmr to find out how he is in sch.

re camera
mine is a canon. i find that it is not very good. heard that panasonic is pretty good.

ky,
my compact is a panasonic lumix. a few of my friends saw my pics taken with it and also went to buy. they were using sony, canon and nikon previously. i suppose you have to see the outputs inorder to decide. but if u are a diehard fan of canon then stick to it. canon is also a good camera.

re school,
ed is also starting this thurs. hope that all goes well for me.

ky

I got my Olympus u850SW 8megapixel at $499. Now i think the price drop already. It's waterproof and shockproof so i could hand it over to my boy to play with it without being scared of him dropping it. He had experimented taking photos with it, but usually just took his fingers which were covering the lens. Hahaha. Coz it's waterproof, we can even wash it with water when it's dirty.

Panasonic Lumix is also gd since i bought the earlier generation of it. hehe.

Aileen
I saw some of your photos of your kids probably taken with the lumix. Agree the photos look great.