(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mummies, i need to translate a chinese report into English..anyone has a good web translation to recommend?
I had tried a few...and was pretty bad.

belinda

u can't translate direct from the online website. U need to do it word by word as u go along. If not, then u probably have to pay someone to translate it. I think it's $0.05 per word for chinese.

belinda

u can try the tw.yahoo.com (dictionary) site to translate individual words. They give a few options for each word so that it makes more sense when u translate.

Any truffle lovers here?

A fren of mine has just started a homemade truffle biz with her sis. Very yummy & addictive I would say! Great dessert for parties.
I am just helping her spread the word here. Check out the blog if interested....http://noirartchoc.blogspot.com. Thanks!

since so quiet today, i will post something. Too pek chek at work. This was Aden's dinner yday. Bought the Thomas Plate at Robinson. $29.90 less 20% and additional 5% discount. Pan Fried Dory Fillet and ha ha try to make a doraemon egg with my pan but aiyo the face never show.

1998325.jpg

CL- haha ya i also find it very quiet in forum. even my office are quiet. not many emails also..haha..all festive mood liao. u are really good in making ur kids feel interested abt food. i think i must try harder too... frankly, my 2 kids are still eating porridge everyday lei. abit sianz hor? tats why weekend, i cook or bring them out for outside food.

SSF
ha ha me no good cook so have to use other things to complement it. Aden ha ha sat thru the whole dinner with this plate which is my greatest relief.

CL

wow, yummy! I saw this plate in HK but didn't buy coz it was also $25+, so decided no pt. Lucky didn't buy since it's cheaper with discount in singapore.

Re: Truffles

Mamachan,CL,
My fren should be able to meet up at other locations if its on weekends. Do drop her an email if interested. Or can sms me for her contact. Thanks!

Phew
today I start my spring cleaning. Managed to rearrange my kitchen cabinet to accommodate all my baking equipment and ingredients in where I want them to be. Glad to say besides throwing some baby utensils and containers away. I do not have tons of things to dump. Except I thought I do not have a blender and just bought one for blending baking stuff. Aiyo now I have two. Both BN in box.

After lunch, moved on to the storeroom. Now finally cleared and packed it nicely. Initially hardly have space to walk in to look for things. But ha ha my hb says "let's see how long it would last." That storeroom was for us to store stuff but it has officially becomes my MemoirActs Stock up room and my scrapbooking supplies room.

CL,

i just bought a newtoy rack from ikea..tot that i can clear away the old toy and now it started to pile up again...hee
..hb just complainted that i am buying new toys almost every week...

Belinda
I cut down a lot on buying toys. Now more on building up the library for the kids.

Now my brain is working out how to change the layout of the room to make it more spacious for the kids both for play and study. Thinking hard where to buy sticky board, where to put the charts and map for Charmaine and if I can work out the space, thinking of getting a white board. Maybe if let charmaine play teacher she has more commitment in her study

CL
sounds like major spring cleaning.

u going to do those boards like those kindergartens? i wanted to do but hb refused. think it's good to display stuff so that they can learn easily

These two months are the toughest in my life...........

I lost my husband to cancer last week...... He was very fit, exercise regularly, do not smoke or drink.... yet cancer found him............

He was diagnosed with Adrenal cancer in Oct after his fever did not subside which leads to one test to another.... found a lump in his liver and the biopsy reveals cancer of adrenal at stage 4..........

As this is a very rare form of cancer that hits one in a million person, the medical field do not have much case study on it and can rely mostly on one type of chemo drug..........

Sorry to share such sad news during festive season.........

But i really want to highlight to all the importance of insurance and hospitalisation plan.

For example, with critical illness plan of $50k, it is barely sufficient. Upon diagnose, we tried to chnage his diet to organic etc and organic food is expensive. A stem of brocoli cost $7 as compare to usual $1.70 etc......... In addition, there are medical cost..... The drug that my husband took cost $6.50 per tablet and towards the end, he was taking 20 tablets a day. One week's supply of medication canc ost $2.5k....... Without hospital and medical insurance, the $50k of critical illness run out very fast...........

Nowadays sickness hits very one..... My husband is one of the fittest guy in his work, runs full 42km marathon, goes to gym once a week..........Guess the only thing to blame is his diet cos he is a meat eater... (but so are many of us, right?).......

So mummies, do not be complacent and look really hard at you and your family insurance. If you can afford the premiums, don't save on it.

Yuki
Oh dear..... my heart goes out to you. It really is not an easy process and journey. I hope things will work out alright for you and your girls too. *hugz* Do take good care of yourself during this period and if you need people to talk to, we will be here.

Yuki,
Oh no! I'm really very sorry and sad to hear about your HB. It came as a shock! How are you and your girls holding up? Do let us know if there is any way we can help, even if it's just providing a listening ear.
Be strong. Your girls need you.

yuki
so sad to hear abt the news. take good care of yourself. *hugz*

my hb's family has history of liver cancer, this worries me a lot. we try to get ourselves covered as much as we can.

Yuki - i am truly sorry to learn of wat happened to ur HB... my condolences to you and your family... *hugz* should you require any help, do come in and let us know. meanwhile, please take care... will keep you and your gers in my prayers..

Hi Yuki,
I know no words will help at this moment, I've been in a similar situation where I lost someone very close to me in a accident.

I pray that you will have the strength and courage to go through this, at this really difficult moment in your life.

Please take whatever time you need to grieve, I know it sounds futile at this moment, but take each day, a day at a time, time doesn't heal, but it does get better after a long while.

Take care, and please let us know how we can help, even if it's just to listen.

yuki - i am tearing as i was reading your post. my prayers are with you and your family. I hope you can be strong for your girls at this time. Like all the other mummies, we will be here for you. Pls let us know how we can help you. Pls take care and continue to update us. *HUGS*

Thanks. Sometimes all these are still like a dream to me........... how i wish i can just wake up and find that it is indeed a dream.

From the time he was diagnosed, the whole family was turn upside down especially for my gals cos the daddy will always bring them out during weekends..... Ever since he's sick, all weekend outings came to a halt..... Thou friends and relatives offer to bring them out, but i don;t want to 'second' them to others too.... So mummies, do treasure whatever outings you all have as a family cos these are gifts.

Hi Sleeping deer,

taking time to grief..... i have not cried much these two days....maybe the reality has not hit me yet..... to me it's just like he is overseas on some assignment.....

Sometimes i think i can go on and bring the gals up, sometimes the future looks so scary without him............

Yuki
I'm so sorry to read about your husband.
I know its gng to be the toughest time.
I have smsed you.
Pls call me if you need any help or just anything...
Be strong for the gals.

Yuki,
I'm very sorry to hear and hope you are holding up well. Do let us know if you need any assistance at all. My heart goes out to you and your family. Please take care.

Yuki,
My condolence to you and your family.
I am at loss of word when I read your post. Tears just flows out like that.
Please be strong for your gals, it need some time to pick up yourself. *HUGZ*

Yuki,
yes, I know, some days will be harder than others, most days will be very tough. Sometimes, you are auto, other times you have no idea what to do. At my lowest, I was crying all day long, the moment I get to bed, i cry to sleep, the moment i wake up, the tears would come.

Well meaning relatives would avoid mentioning him, but for me, I needed to talk it out and went crazy finding someone who would mention the subject... do whatever you think makes the grieving better... have PM'd you, take care.

Yuki,
Sorry to hear about your husband. Be strong as you still have your 2 little ones. I just smsed you. Do let us know if you need any help. Do not hesitate to contact me. Take care.

Yuki,
I am so sorry. I really don't know how to console you. Do take care! Sleepingdeer is right to grieve as long as you want.

Yuki

Oh no, I'm so sorry to hear that. *hugz* *hugz*. Everyday I read the obituaries hoping that I will not see a familiar face and always feel sad that a young person pass away. It must be hard on you. We're all here for you and do let us know if u need a shoulder to cry on. Take care!

Yuki

I don't know what words I can say in addition to what has been said by others. Even in your darkest moment now, you still have others in mind and share with us about insurance.

Please be strong and take care of yourself. In all this don't forget to live for yourself and for your little girls.

Grieving comes in stages, in medicine, this is what we are taught. I have also lost someone dear before. Each person grieves differently. I hope that you will be surrounded by people who will be able to give you the support that you need.

Don't be afraid to be afraid sometimes. As you can see from the posts in this forum, you have a group of friends who are silently if not actively here for you.

Yuki
Our condolences.. Please do take care, and know that you are surrounded by friends. Everyone of us in this forum have been friends for so many years, if there's anything that we can help at all, do let us know.

yuki
so sad to read your post. though it's easier said than done, do be strong for your gals. they will need you. let us know how we can help.

Yuki
My deepest condolences to you. I know no word can describe and console the pain and grief you are going through but you must stay strong for your girls. Yes life is unpredictable. I've lost 2 ex colleagues to cancer in the last 2 months. I was quite close to one of them and it was really disheartening to see the pain she was going through. I’m sure God his plan for your hubby. Do let us know if there's anything we can help. Take care

Yuki,
My condolence to you and your family.
I am of loss of word when I read your post. Remember you need to be strong. and life goes on. not easy to be done but The lord will guide you thru.

Thanks for your condolences.

In fact i was totally lost for life because i don't know what works anymore..... For example, my hubby don;t drink, smoke, party etc, exerciser egularly.... still cancer hit him. Towards his last days, he couldn;t eat at all and lost so much weight..... In my heart i am just so fearful of cancer cos i don;t know when it will hit someone again........... During the wake, an ex colleague came to pay respect and shared that she was diagnosed with breast cancer. She is 34. I lost my good friend to luekemia last year and she was only 33............ know of another church member who has stage 3 nasal cancer at age 30s............

I really don;t know what life has in store..........

Hi Sleeping deer,

Indeed it helps a lot to talk about him. My sister in law (hubby's sister) is here with me and it really helps to talk about him. i left a book at the wake for my hubby's friends and colleagues to describe what they know about him etc so that our gals can read and know about their daddy when they grow up.

As sister in law and I write the eulogy, we cried as we write because we realise hubby has taken care of the family so well, there are many voids to be filled.

In the eulogy we shared, we describe him as a loving husband, a doting daddy, a filial son and a caring brother...........

He has taken care of me so well that i do not have to worry about anything.... He was my pillar of strength, always strong, always reliable.... I recall i had to attend a wedding dinner at Raffles city on a weekday. He went to fetch the gals after work and brought them there for desserts and hang out at raffles city so as to wait for me...... My colleagues commented that he is so sweet and such nice gesture...... Was sharing with SIL on this and told her i do not have such priviledge anymore......

As a doting daddy, he is the forever generours one who gives in the the gals demands...

As a filial son, he does things like bring his father pants to thailand when he was there for work to tailor pants for his dad. (At this point, SIL cried and told me that she would have to work so much harder to take care of her parents cos hubby did it so well).

As a caring brother, he started buying gifts for his younger siblings when he started working and he was never stingy on them. even thou he don;t earn much when he started work, he bought the coolest stuff like baby G watch, Nike Air shoes for the sister............

There are just so many voids to be filled in after he left..............

For my hubby, it started off with a fever that does not subside. So after 2 days,the hospital did blood test and one thing leads to another.... by the time he was diagnose, it's already stage 4............ i mean all these cancerous thing goes undetected in the body without any symptoms............ For his type of cancer, the blood test and tumour marker does not indicate he has cancer...... So normal check up can;t tell of it...........

Hi MAshy,

Like you i alos look at obituraries.... some friends think i am crazy.

I started this habit ever since my pal pass away last year. And you know what, last month, as i was browsing thru the obituaries, i saw my ex classmate pic......... i started contacting the other classmates and they were shocked too thou they have just seen him a week ago...... He had high blood pressure and died in his sleep... one of the blood vessels in his brain burst and he had stroke....and died.......... He is also in his 30s..........

Hi Tabbieus,

Basically i just want to highlight not to take anything for granted.... be it insurance, or health (go for regular screening, seek doctor's help earliest possible for any discomfort etc) or most importantly, treasure the times you have with your family. Even simple dinner are special........

When myhubby was diagnose, there are just so many things to read up on.... read about his type of cancer, read about cancer in general, read about the diets, read bible books on healing, read testimonies on healing, read about other cancer patients......

I don't know if any of you catch the show "face of death' or something, a lady with breast cancer spread to lungs and bones.... In fact when she first approache her gynae for a lump in the breast, she was being brush off as a blocked milk duct... she went back again after a few months and same response........ she was subsequently diagnose with breast cancer.........

People always says we should know our health best but besides medical advice, just do not hesitate in seeking a second opinion.

yuki ... my heart sank when I hear about your loss. and tx for sharing with us the importance of insurance/healthcheck. another thing that i'm reminded with this is writing a will ... your hubby's a gem and i hope he's left in peace. my dad dead of cancer when i was young too and i could never forget how much he's suffered and became towards the end. and time did heal and it will for your family too. do take care.

.ky.

Yuki,
its good to know that your sis-in-law is there for you and you are there for her too... indeed you and your family members have tons of precious memories of your hb that will remain in your heart forever.... alot of times, as time passes, people avoids mentioning the person coz they dun want to remind the loved ones of who they lost, but in actual fact, we want to know that someone remembers... it helps us get by...

Its really also good you are posting here to share with us, take care!