(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Friends....

How are you..long time no see

Any of you have second child ????

Are your still on in RP lunch??? From now on I able to join your for RP lunch. I just change my job and my new job has start on last week and located at Cross street

Hi Linda,
Long time no see. How are u? Any good news from you?

Can I check is it safe to do herbal dye for hair and rebonding during pregnancy? My hair is a disaster now. Got two wedding to attend and CNY coming. Dunno how to go out with it.

Linda
Long time no see leh. Great. Will arrange to meet up with you. Any good news for us ?

May
I asked my gynae before and he said it is ok. Even when my husband ask him about applying cream on the tummy, he will go "skin" and "inside the stomach" no connection. Then "head" and "stomach" even further no link at all. So I did colour my hair when I had aden. ha ha

tabbs
yeah i din expect that from JH too. i realise boys seem more deh leh. jh also like to fake cry and will whine easily...haha..

your boy so cute...he sounds very mild too.

may
i think it's ok. i know my gynae will say that it's ok.

May
I've went to color and highlight my hair before when I had my boy. And after even when I was still BF-ing him. So quite safe. My hairdresser did his wife's hair through out all their 3 children and still very healthy. I guess it's the ammonia smell that may be too strong for pregnant ladies to take bah

SY,
My hair also dropped alot more this time round. It finally got lesser recently and I tink its linked to bfing cos i just stopped.

Rena,
Going Japan again?? You're so lucky!

may- i coloured my hair when i was bf my second boy. When i stopped bf, my hair dropped like crazy. Compared to the first one where i did not colour, the hair loss was still ok, i believe colouring will defintely hurt the scalp. It depends also on individual how well ur scalp can take. another alternative to rebonding is to use the straightener. My hair can be untame as times too so every morn i will straighten my hair before i head out. On top of that must use hair mask and cream more often to prevent it from too drying. I find it better than rebonding as the latter is too flat.

I'm back from HK. Practically spotting almost everyday & puking everyday so really kept activities to the bare minimum. Bought many toys for Caeden though. Hehe.

And I was shocked to discover 4 long strands of white hair in HK! Gosh, I've seldom have white hair, let alone 4 at one go!

SSF,
Any hair mask/cream to recommend?

mashy,
U must be very tired after the trip bah. U taking Duphaston? How many wks are u in now? Must take care ah. I am drained out these few days bcos Jamie is having fever, flu and cough.

mashy - u went to disneyland? U bought toys from there! I also ended up buying a mickey house set, winnie pooh car controller and mickey cars from there. I find the pricing reasonable. U must also take care n rest more since ya spotting. hopefully it will go away soon.

May- my sis bought a kose hair mask for 15 bucks. i think she bought from those beauty shop like venus. she gave me some as she said it a big jar. So far i am using once a week. Not too bad. Other brands i used before is loreal hair mask. Ok lor. Cheaper than gg to shops. As for cream i am using sebastian brand potion 9. Bought from kimage salon. Apply after straightenening to tame flyovers. About 30 bucks i think

May
I'm ok, not that tired coz we really rested a lot during the trip. Stayed a lot of time in the hotel. So good thing we got a good decent hotel which is near to everywhere. Now should be coming 7 weeks bah. wah, it's terrible when our kids are sick. Worse when we're preg.

SSF

Yah, went disneyland. Bought a fisher price pooh bear coz it was at half price (when u buy min certain amt) for bb and quite a lot of other stuff. Hehe. But my major buys are Tomy cars & car sets which are either not on sale in Singapore or they're really cheap there. For eg, we bought 2 sets at Toys R Us for $80 which would have cost us $150 here in Singapore.

I wonder if the spotting is due to the polyp. Anyway, that's how i'm trying to reassure myself. My MS is so bad now I'm feeling totally miserable. And I can still gain wt with all the puking. Can't understand how.

mashy - wow sounds like u did have a good bargain. C must be very happy this xmas. Do rest well and dun carry heavy stuffs. ur MS should will end after first trimester. Take care!

Hi mummy
I'm pretty stress up again.
Since kae LS last mon, I'm suppose to stop her milk intake right and I did.
I tried to start her back on milk.. bought Pediasure choc, she refused after she had the first glass. So I bought the classic Vallina, she took a few sip and refused to drink again.
She is well already, no LS but no poo poo too so I'm not sure whats the condition of the poo now.
She is not eating well either. Porridge, rice, noodle, macrononi all take 2-3 mouths or not at all and refused.
She does eat some plain biscuit and plain bread here and there but also a few mouths only.
The only thing she can eat alot is toddlers biscuits.
Drinking so so only.
I know if our toddler is hungry they will eat.. but the intake of food by kae is really pathetic.
I can see she looks really pale and getting sunken on her face. I'm very worried.
Tomorrow I'm trying her back to Gain IQ... I'm so afraid she will think it's pediasure I'm feeding and reject the milk.
In the past.. Milk is my only hope when she dun eat well. Now she also reject milk, I'm helpless.

Oh to make things worst... after she has her dinner ( sometimes under pressure by cane), she will wake up coughing around midnite and vomit out all her dinner.
She asked for cereal in the evening and we gave her that.. just now she just vomit out all the cereal on me and on the floor when she woke up at midnight.
I have to be Thankful I move her off the bed fast enough, else my bed will be full of vomit.

Do you think seeing a PD will help?

SSF,

Ya.. this time round decided to go to Japan Kyushu instead. We have made many big plans like going to south africa which we have missed this year due to the last min changes coz of pregnancy but with 2 kids . hee hee i dun think so.

It will be rather cold durign the new year seaon but luckly elijah has lots of winter clothings so both boys can share.

Mashy,
dun worry too much .coz my Gyane always says its good to have MS so that you know your system is working..

SY,
yah jsut started him on solids but seems worse coz solid is just an addtion on top of his regular feed of milk.. but he wakes up in the night to drink again.??? with out the solid he actually sleep thru..

now ezekiel is 10 kg already.. i am carrying him less and less coz too heavy for my back to handle.

Tab,

Welcome back. I think i am rather lucky coz Eliajh loves his didi and will wispher things to his ears.. very funny sight.. especially when ezekiel souck his own toe then when elijah saw he will go to ezekiel and pretend to suck ezekiel's toes and say "hm.. nice".. funny to him like that. at times when didi's sucking his own shirt and showing his belly .. gor gor will pull down his shirt and put his face on didi and say .. no no didi shame shame and put down the shirt.

Cookie,
I rem that time when Jamie had gottened LS incident. It took her 2wks to 3wks to fully recover. Appetite affected badly. Talked to my GP, he say it is ok for toddlers to go without milk for 3 DAYS!! I was so heartpain to see her go without food, and secretly feed milk again. LS comes back. And same here, no poo poo for 3 days. GP say it is totally fine, as LS had clear up most of her tummy waste so cannot expect poo poo for few days. Maybe u can try to dilute the milk at the moment if she isn't eating. Else, plain biscuits and bread with plain water for a few more days bah. They will "beef" up again when they recover. Dun worry.

Jamie is sick too. Had been coughing for two nights already. Sometimes will puke. Very tiring cos got to clean her up and change bedsheet. I am totally drained out by the end of the day.

Rena,
Elijah is so funny. Must be very nice to see the two brothers communicating hor. Looking forward to mine already.

Re :Ice-cream cake

Beside sweensen, where can i order ice-crean cake.
Sweensen got limited design.
Need it for Damien and Duncan's birthday.

belinda - how abt haagen dazs? i think they might have. i remembered that they have ice cream mooncake..shld have ice cream cake bah!

rena - wow...the kids will love south africa..getting upclose and personal with the wild life there. aiya i also want to travel lei. thinking of brisbane but flights via SQ are all full during the CNY holidays. dun know where else to go liao.

cookie - ya very heart pain hor...last time J also like tat...i spent 2 tins of pediasure milk and gain IQ (lactose free) and he kept refusing the feed. only want to drink his milk and when he was given milk he will LS like no man business. one day i will wash his backside i think have about 7-8 times. very tiring ya. J's backside is sooo red from all those washing. seriously i think no need to go to PD. you have those medicine right? just continue giving. dilute the milk if you really want to give K. dun scold her as she is already feeling so bad. if she refuses to eat, dun force her. let her eat what she wants. it took me 2 weeks after J recover. How long has K been down with LS? meanwhile as i have warn before, take care of the hygiene level. very contagious hor!

Exams over liao. So happy. Now get some of my social life back.

Cookie,
Not sure if this comes too late. Try to keep K hydrated. That's the main pt for LS. Porridge water is good too. Should keep off all milk and diary pdt. So sorry that I can't help much on the milk cos cos when Charmaine's having LS - she kept asking to be nursed so she does have enuff milk and water. Appetite will be real bad so I gave up then on getting her to eat. If K coughs at night, let her sleep on a higher pillow? I find that it helps for charmaine.

CL,
You are amazing!

REna,
So sorry - I still can't find my ergo! Hope that I didn't leave it behind in Tokyo...

CL,
You have recommendations for a good dentist? I think it's time to get Charmaine to see one...

Cookie/May
When toddlers having LS, best is totally not give milk so soon as it will upset their tummy and they will LS yet again and be miserable. Even when it gets better, must slowly re-introduce the strength of the milk powder i.e. try diluted 1st. If no signs of LS, increase the no. of scoops and milk feed. Don't just give milk as per normal right away as you'll "shock" their digestive system and it becomes a vicious cycle and they take a longer time to recover which = more visits to the PD.

Cookie, think perhaps you can really deprive Kae of the toddler biscuits instead? She must be used to the fact that if she can get away with not eating her usual main meals and will always end up eating the toddler biscuits that's why she just rejects the marcoroni/possidge/rice? Just my thoughts lah. At the recovering stage, their appetitite is slowly coming back. Main thing is to hydrate her with barley/porridge water and use porrigde water to make-up the "gradual" milk feeds. So if her normal Gain IQ is 5 scoops, you can start with 3 scoops with porridge water then if no more LS, increase the scoops slowly back to 5 scoops.

Sometimes it's really bo bian the things we do to get them eating right, even though it might mean the 1st few days they looked so starved but always think it's for their good at the end of it all. I can empathize the feelings of heartache seeing them losing so much weight and not having appetitites. Once they are better, their appetite will come back with a vengeance!

RE: Dentist
Are we supposed to bring them for Annual Visit? J is still very lazy with brushing teeth and do it without toothpaste. So far her teeth is very clean and white (wonder if it's bcos of the calcium she had gottened cos she is milk monster). It is compulsory? If yes, then I got to bring her to see one already.

RE: Carrying Habit
Does your todds still ask to be carried? I am not sure if it is bcos J is fighting for attention with her meimei or it bcomes a habit. She is very lazy to walk and always want only MUMMY to carry. When I am not around, my mum and dad likes to carry her and walk fast as they find she is walking very slowly. And my back really aches now with a big tummy and carry her (just weigh her, she is 17.2kg now). If I dun carry, she will just sit on the floor and cry (not usual behaviour).

Mamachan,
Ya, I learnt that from the past experience. Cos I think parents' nature to worry that our little ones are not taking in food/milk. From then onwards, any slight LS incident, I will stop milk till LS stop. Then dilute it and slowly increase the milk. Really heartache to see them like that, esp the weight loss.

Carrying Habit
It depends, there's a phase where my boy always asked to be carried but I don't give in to him all the time, most of the time he asks my hb to carry. So whenever we are out, I rather put him in the stroller still, no need to carry and he gets pushed around. coz they are getting really heavy and I always tell my boy that he has legs to walk, cannot always "borrow" our legs to walk on his behalf and that he's a big boy now. No more a baby.

May - YES! My older boy still asked to be carry when we are out. The only way is to let Didi walk and he will then follow suit.

May

C also same thing. He hardly walked even in Disneyland! Always on stroller or if not his daddy will carry. Well, at least something good that he's so sticky to his daddy. I could rest in the room while he and his daddy go out to kowloon park to play by themselves.

May,
Meg always 'demand' for Daddy to carry when we go out too. Now we bought her a new stroller and when we are out with my nephew, we get our nephew to pretend to wanna sit her stroller, then she will panic and rush for the stroller so Daddy dun need to carry. :p

do you know where serves good Japanese buffet? Am planning a lunch at the end of the year and craving for all that I can eat Sashimi, haha!

hahahaha, damien even better, just step out of the house and going down from the stairs and can told me that his 脚断了, cannot walk, wanna to be carry.

Sleepingdeer,
Try Kushinbo ? Other than the branch at Suntec, Jurong Point has got a newly open branch too. The snow crab is yummy !!

RE: Carrying Habit
Looks like it's another phase.

Belinda,
Damien is so cute. My fierce Jamie will tell me "Ask that baby inside ur tummy to come out. So mummy can carry me."

SSF, Rena,
Tink South Africa will be more suitable when the kids are much much older. I went there for my honeymoon & truly enjoy the wildlife experience. For now, I tink zoo will be better for our toddlers. Hee!

Cookie,
Does K1 like milo or horlick? Maybe can try giving her some? Pediasure choco taste weird (even my E who loves chocolate also rejects Pediasure choco last time hor) and vanilla may be too sweet & "jerluk" as compared to normal FM. Can fully understand how very heartpain for us to see our fussy eaters eating even lesser than norm.

Sleepingdeer,

How abt Ikoi at Hotel Miramar? Their sashimi is good.

cookie

since she can't drink milk now, why not try soy milk or rice milk? I think her stomach is still not ready for food yet since she's been vomitting.

Wenyl/Rena
Ha! I've dreamed of ever bringing the family to South Africa on a Safari tour when they are much older. Thinking of when they are at least 10 years of age. So must start saving now to see that wish come true!

I'm just wishing to go Israel with hb end of next year or beginning of 2010.

Cookie
Poor Kae, hope she will get better soon.

rena
You are lucky to have Elijah such a good kor kor to his brother.

Sleepingdeer
Ikoi is superb for Japanese buffet. Ha ha eat sashimi till you drop

May
Aden recently start to ask to be carried even at home. I feel it is because of going to cc. He needs some assurance and will fight for attention with Charmaine.

Sl
the one I go is GPA United Square Dr Tay. Very soft spoken. The other one you can try is what my fren recommended at NUH- Betty Mok

Belinda
Damien is so cute.

Mashy
Better have a good rest after the trip. Keep C occupied with the new toys.

Family trip
I felt tired after the last perth trip. Ha ha so maybe I will plan for a relaxing trip for 2 first.

JTS this site so mummies do not have to compare the development of your own kids as they will develop in their own pace. Just enjoy as they grow.

http://www.magicalchildhood.com/articles/4yo.htm

Just to share when I thot Aden was not speaking a lot but recently he speaks more which I feel it is the exposure back to cc. But ha ha he is very singlish. " I want to go leh" " you go lah you go lah" yet sometimes will still surprise us with the it is de-li-cious. So we would just laugh it out

mashy
sounds like a good shopping trip that u have!

but do rest well and take care.

CL
jh talks like that too. he purposely says all the leh and la in his sentences...quite funny.

cookie
poor K. but sounds like JH when he was coughing. he will vomit every night and i also got so worried abt him. and nowadays he eat a bit and will say he is full. can't force him if he udn wan to eat...

rena
your boy really heavy...must be hard to carry him....

A B&B in the vicinity of Bukit Timah is organising a Xmas carolling session on its lawn. You're invited to come join us but space is limited to 50 adults + kids, so registration will be on a first-come-first-serve basis

<font color="119911">Date: 23rd December 2008
Time: From 5pm till 8pm. Carolling starts at 6.30pm for 30 minutes.
Bring your mat and umbrella.</font>
<font color="ff0000">IT's FREE for everyone!</font>

If you're interested to bring your kid(s) over to enjoy the Xmas cheer (there'll be Santa Claus and his Elves/Santarinas), drop us an email with the total number of adults/kids to <font color="119911">littlegastronomy[at]gmail.com</font> and you'll get a formal invitation with the full address of the party.

This is a partial charity event whereby there'll be 25 old folks from a nursing home who'll join us. Hope you could come spread the love and sprinkle some joy tis xmas with us

<font color="ff0000">HO HO HO! Merry Merry Xmas!</font>

(Very sorry if I'm intruding..

may,
wow u jamie is sure very fierce. think u need to educate her that "THAT BABY" is also HER baby. that way, she will feel the attachment towards mei mei when she's out. ed is very protective of didi, say it's HIS didi and HIS baby.cannot give away. must stay together coz we are family. i think really need to brainwash the older one before #2 comes along.

CL,
i also think i need a relaxing trip for 2... where are u planning to go?

sleepingdeer,
ikoi is good. else u can try hanabi at king's arcade.

cookie,
hang in there... totally emphathize with u.

carry habit,
luckily my boys are both very small, so i don't mind. infact i like to carry them, coz i feel closer to them and can talk to them.

May,
Aileen is right.. that is what we do too. tell elijah that is his didi and I will name thos with didi that he knows and will stress on his didi their didi or their mei mei..

then i will tell him , he , mummy , daddy and didi 1 family.

rena,aileen
jh is like that too! he wil always say jx is his mei mei and very possessive over her. now everyday when he wakes up, first thing he will do is look for mei mei and even wake her up as well...

SY
Poor JX hope her bite mark has subsided

Cookie
Is Kae feeling better? Maybe just stop milk for a while

Belinda
You can try Gelare too but is quite ex

Annual Gathering
Keep me posted!

Aileen/Rena,
I had already tried to explain/talk to J abt meimei and try to "intro" / "include" meimei in our daily life so that she can get used to it and love her sis. But seems like more emphasis is required bah. Thanks for the tips, will work hard on it.

May
what about bringing thru the daily life again ? Like if you are bf baby, then she needs to change diaper or go toilet. She can also look for daddy.

When mummy change mei mei, what can she help as a big jie jie. Charmaine will tell me she can bring towel when bathing, she can bring changing mat, wet tissue and diaper when changing, she will do this and do that. Involve her as much and make her feel she is big jie jie and she can do a lot of things.

I let her sing to my tummy and when didi kicked, I just say " Didi says it is lovely and say thank you."

Very fast Gap\ON spree!
Mummies, I'm thinking of ordering some stuff but would need more purchases to qualify for discount:
ON - still need US$50 to get 10% off
Gap, still need US$40 to get S$20 off.

Anyone of you interested to order?
Email / PM me at [email protected] before 11am please. I have to place orders by 11.30am.

May,
Haha... Jamie is really very assertive. I have been telling Isaac about didi in my tummy and he will stroke my tummy. And I'l ltell him to sayang didi (meanign my tummy) cos didi loves him. But that's about it. I'll ask him who's inside, he'll say didi. I don't think he will fully grasp the concept till the baby is out. I still carry him quite often, but not for long.
I dunno if I'm sensitive or not... sometimes I get the feeling of 'bu she de', like I'm worried that I'll lose touch with Isaac when no. 2 is out. So now, I really try to hug and cuddle him as much as possible.

May,

Some times i will remind elijah.. duno he know or not. but i will say last time mummy also bath for you like that and spend time with you.. then he will go.. oh... mummy last time mummy also bath for elijah like that.. then he will quickly go and play toys and will not disturbe me .

RE: Involvement
I did involved J and meimei in daily life routine. It is just one occasion that she gave that comments that I always remembered.

When I bathe her, I will tell her, next time meimei and you bathe together. Now mummy bathe for u, next time we bathe meimei together ok?

When she take her own diaper, towel and clothing for bath time, I will say.. wow..good jie jie leh. What if next time I am busy, can u help me to get ready meimei things and we help meimei to dress up?

She will sing to my tummy every night before sleep, kiss my tummy and say "Good Night meimei, be good girl ah. See u tomorrow." And one thing she is very protective over the meimei is, DADDY cannot touch MUMMY's TUMMY. Cos meimei will feel pain.

I will try to get her involved and let her feel that she had grown up and able to help me with attending to our new meimei.

Belinda,
We had the ice cream cake from the ice cream at 6th ave. It's much, much cheaper. Can try.

Re: Annual gathering
Woudl love to meet up. It has been a long while since I met any of the mummies.

*wave*
we just came back from short trip at bintan. managed to survive with 2 kids around. haha... share with you their pix.

1990313.jpg

1990314.jpg

Sunny
They both look really lovely! And your boy is sooo cute and adorable with his chubby cheeks and gummy smile!

How's everyone doing? My helper just went back home for her home leave on Monday and I'm glad that everything is so far so good at home. Reverted back to being super-woman at home after work! Good thing both our moms don't mind cooking and we go to their place for dinner! Tired out but have a sense of satisfaction. It feels good actually. hahahaha

Arranging for the maid to go back on home leave and recontracting them is quite an experience!!! can faint!

CL,

i dont remembered that duncan offer any help when damien is out...and whenever we asked him for help..he will tell us that didi did not belong to him..it belong to daddy.or if we asked him to help to rock the baby (in sarong), he will tell us that he got no hands or very busy..etc..too him..didi is a very mafan thingy..even now if you asked him if he wants any didi or meimei or not..he will tell you no...very mafan and noisy.