(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Update on Yulin (Little Jillian's ICU "neighbour")

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 10, 2008 02:40 AM, SGT
Yulin went to Heaven to be with Jesus two hours ago. After 5 years of living with leukemia and going through 2 bone marrow transplants and years of hospital stays, she is finally free from sickness and made whole again. Thank you to those who donated blood and tried to help. Her family is grateful.

Sorry for the late notification. Thank you all who helped to spread the word around.

rachel,

hb just duno here we how hard we trying to save and yet very generous and lent the money to "others".
his gambling friend come and asked him for 5K..lucky he only lent him 3k.

mashy,
hmm.. perhaps I shall wait a little longer then get her a pillow.

Rachel,
My hb just had a case with lawyer. Not sure if u all still rem the chain accident that we had in AYE. Anyway it took very long to claim. It cost them $5-7K on that. I think for writing to get money back will range around $1-3K bah. There are alot of hidden cost that we wouldn't know. If the sum is small, I think u can consider to write off it already. I doubt she will return the money and not worth to hire a lawyer for that.

Sleepingdeer,
U choosing c-sect too? Was it bcos S was born via C-sect? I intend to C-sect in end March too. Will discuss with gynae tonight. Same here, only 18wks and I am already aching here and there. Not sure how to survive thru 3rd tri. Dun worry..the stretch marks will go away after sometimes.

I intend to get Jamie a bed also. Shall pop by ikea one day. Did u fix it up urself or get the ikea guys to fix? I find Ikea furniture is abit frimsy after awhile.

Have a smooth delivery and update us the pics of your new princess, okie?

krissie - J is 15 mths and weigh only 8kg. also under the skinny gang. haa..

may - my 2 boys are also rotating 360deg every night. they can just get up in a middle of the night and change to sleep at a different position. it makes sleeping for me and hb terrible! cos we all squeeze on one bed. recently we bought an ikea bed for C but he refuse to sleep on it. we carried him to the bed when he falls asleep but the next moment he will slowly crawl down. sigh! now its almost as good as a white elephant.
both my kids are also not sleeping on a pillow. oh btw, my hb fixed the bed himself but paid for the delivery of 50 bucks.

sleepingdeer - wishing you a smooth delivery! happy counting down...

rachel - i agreed with mashy too that engaging a lawyer will be ex. may not be justifiable. to lend money to a gambler friend, your hb is actually not helping her but causing more harm to her. i also live with that mentally that if you are willing to lend money to someone, you must be willing to part with that money and may have the chance of not getting it back. if you cannot do that, then one shld not lend any money. maybe your hb can use that as a lesson learnt.

CL - wow the plate frm Japan is not cheap ya after shipping fees. really made me feel like flying to japan and stock up some. I see if i can get my japanese frd to bring over. the bad news is he is already in sgp now. haiz. have to wait for his next trip.

SSF
It is ok that is always next time. I can help you place order since the site is Japanese. All I need to know is the hotel addy and name of recipient then I can arrange for it to send to hotel

Hey mummies
I'm wondering for non-viable pregnancy, still need to do a mini confinement? Meaning there's sypmtoms of pregnancy, got the sac, but just no more fetal development so no heartbeat....so the lady had to either wait for self-abort (miscarriage) or D/c...so still need to do mini confinement?

mashy
nah, it's not me. I came across such a case. So wondering if the lady should be doing a mini confinement. =)

Belinda
For the mini one that you did, what food did you take? any specific? Should drink DOM?

Mamachan,
In the TTC thread, some ladies did mini confinement of 1-2 wks. Can drink DOM. Other than that, chicken essence. And if the lady is fine, can see TCM, they will prescibe some medicine to BU the health back to normal.

Mamachan,
my mum cooked me those confinement food..eg herbal chicken soup, ginger chicken, fish, red dates tea, drink DOM....just for 1 week.

mamachan,

if she has done an abortion ..she even need more BU.
my mum told me that abortion "hurt" your body more than giving birth.

belinda/May/Mashy/SSF
thanks for your advise. guess getting a lawyer is out of the picture. not worth it. =( but i wouldnt give up! haha will hunt her down.

sleepingdeer
woh, 1 more day and you be able to see your lil princess! take care and update us when you are comfortably settle back home =)

rachel

maybe u wanna try the debt collectors if all else fails? Today there's a report on debt collectors. Actually abit like loansharks but legalised. hahah.

rachel
Maybe inform your hb's colleague if she doesn't pay him back soon or start some form of installment repayment, "threaten" to serve some form of lawyer's letter with prove from her email... I think should get her to start something right?

Just to share. I will be expecting another princess. Now got mixed feeling. Glad that J will have someone to share her toys, clothings and etc. I want very much to have another girl as I find that they can share little secrets as I do not have a sis myself. On the other hand, am disappointed as we tried many ways for a boy to make my in-laws happy. But yet, it will be another disappointing news. I think MIL will be very angry with us and will expect black face for several mths. Treatment will be the same as when I had J. Cried again when I think abt the news, really dunno how to break the news to them.

HI may,
dun be too upset about another girl. Actually, before I had S, I wanted a boy but after S was born, I wouldn't trade her for a million other boys.

For this pregnancy, either boy or girl was fine with us, coz we took awhile to conceive, and it was really discouraging when nothing happened, so when we found out we were pregnant, boy or girl really didn't matter.

I had also read so many cases of children with special needs, I really think that the most important thing is for our child to be healthy.

As for your ILs, well, honestly, whether the child is boy or girl is up to our hbs, not us, as it is their 'soldiers' which determine gender, so maybe your ILS should get angry with their son and not you... ;) Take care!

May,
the bed was very easy to fix up, we just paid for delivery, and I fixed it up myself, my hb is quite hopeless at this kind of stuff, so I am the handyman in our family.

i actually "threaten" hb to give me her contact and let me settle her. haha

today hb informed me she will be paying him back $100 monthly installment starting from next month. well, we shall see. if she honour her words, it will take ages to get back the full amount but better than nothing at all. =)

May
as long as baby is healthy, nothing matters. like what sleepingdeer said, let your hb handle his parent since he is the one accountable for the gender =p

njoy your pregnancy ya!

May
End of the day, so long you and baby are healthy and thriving, that's all that matters. What is most important is that you and hb are happy with the children that you have. End of the day, when your princesses are older, they will honour you and hb, for loving them. Our duty as parents is to make sure that our children grow up to be responsible and happy people, very respectful to their elders. So what if we have all boys or all girls or have a mix of both?

No point having all boys and they end up being super spoilt! So when they are older, they won't bother about their aged parents! =)

Congrats to having another beautiful princess again!

May,
Relax, having a pair of gals is good. They are closer like me and my sister. Regardless gender babies are lovely and precious treasure. They are more " tie xin" to parents.

Just highlight to your pil and set the disclaimer, it is their son who has to contribute to the gender. I have been feeding my mil with this info before I start my family planning so she was not upset at all when my sil's first baby is a gal. Mine oso gal. Then subsequent when there are boys , the gals still are the most precious. She will make clothes for them, she will ask for Charmaine to stay over the weekend with her since we do not go to her place daily. The gals have everything that the boys do not have.

Rachel
great she is repaying.

may,

my sil is expepcting another boy..can you imagine how disappointed that my mum...hahahaha..taking care of 4 boys. Anyway i feel that same gender is not a bad thing. eg they can play football together.

Thanks for the comforting words, Mummies!
Had talked with hb. He will break the news this Sun and ensure that if his parents were to say anything to me, he will snap back. We are ready to settle for only 2 gals and that's it, no more trying anymore.

Sleepingdeer,
I am also the handyman in our family. Most likely I will be the one fixing up the furniture too. Going to deliver ur princess soon? Update us ah.. Have a smooth delivery.

Sleepingdeer
You must have given birth liao bah..update us and pics!

Krissie,
Duncan is 7.2kg at 6-7months. That's the weight taken at PD's, but when i take the weight at home by carrying him and minusing my weight, he's 9kg.

May,
having a healthy baby is most important. i agree with the rest gender depends on the men, not us so your MIL should blame her son!

Rachel,
Hope your hubby can get some $$ back. When I lend $$ to gamblers, i also consider it written off. My sister used to borrow $$ from me to settle her then boyfriend's gambling debts. For her case, I hound her down to get the $$ back cos I know if i let her off, there will be no end. But for friends or colleagues, $$ lent often considered bad debt liaoz..

rachel - wow..she seems to heard u. glad that she is finally paying off by installment. better than none ya.

may - i agree with the other mummies that having a healthy baby is more impt than the gender. sometimes you just have to ignore your MIL. i mean at least you are producing right? unlike my sis, she don;t even want to have a child. let alone a boy or a girl. i pity her mil as her hb is the eldest son. most impt is you and hb are happy and looking fwd to your coming bb. u must bear in mind that not all ppl are as blessed as you to have a bb. i have a frd whose only child is already 5 yrs old and she has tried like 3 years but still in vain. so be blessed that you have a bb coming along your way. congratulations!

Rachel

Great to hear that she has agreed to pay back.

May
At least you're preggy. I still can't.
I think the gals will be closer to each other than boy & gal. And u can save a lot more money.

may
don't bother about what your mil will think after you tell her the gender. like what other mummies said, health is more important than gender. and imo, gals are always more 'tie1 xin1' to the parents than the boys. and when kids grow up, gals are usually the ones who are closer to the parents even after they get married.

cheer up. enjoy your pregnancy.

jx got some spots on her foot soles! praying hard it's not HFMD. JH's school had 3 cases but he's alright. no symptoms but Jx has some spots. other than that no other symptoms. really worried that it is HFMD but doc says just observe as can't conclude

may
dun be too upset. gals are really sweet. after having a gal, i really feel that gal bb are different. somehow they look at u in a different way from boys. if i were to have one more, i will wan a gal

as for your il, ignore them! i ever did say in my mil 's face straight that they favor boys but of cos she denies it. guess though they do favor boys they dun wan to be seen as so old tradition.

do not think too much and too negative. will affect bb. so cheer up and be happy for J.

May

I agree with the rest of the mummies, gals are very tie xin, and I enjoy my sisterhood with my sisters. We can shop and chat together. Whereas my hb side, he and his brothers are kind of close too, so I think same gender siblings are generally closer to one another.

If I were to try for #3, I wish for another gal too.

Do you have contact for private driving instructor? Hope to find one who is patient enough. Please pm me the contact if you have someone in mind.

I am looking for part-time helper too, if you happen to have contact for good one, please pm me too...

May,
My sil aka my hb's sis hor. The 2 brothers dote on her but never show. It is only when me and another sil ( aka brother's wife) join the family, she is like having sisters. So 3 of us quite close and we probably know much more than the brothers know. Ha ha

CL - wow i looked at the BP for the food container(teh plane) you bought from japan. the seller is selling like 30-40 bucks each. can faint. if retail like u mentioned is only $14. then shipping is so ex.

i have a friend who shuttle to sgp and jpn quote freq for work. i passed him the rakuten site and ask him to get some if convenient. i let u guys know if i have extra. the selling price is so high..i might as well work with my frd and get in the supplies and sell at $25. haha..

From AVA's website:

Voluntary Recall of Some Mamex and Mamil Gold Products by Danone Dumex Due to findings of Book Lice on the Outside of the Unopened Foil Seal of a Few Products
Danone Dumex Singapore has notified AVA that the company is conducting a voluntary recall of some Mamex and Mamil products in Singapore because book lice was found on top of the unopened foil seal of a limited number of the products. There was no book lice found in the products. Details of the affected products are described below.

Outer shipping cartons used to pack the affected products were identified by the company as the possible source of the book lice.

Consumers need not to be alarmed by the recall as there is no indication that the products have been contaminated. AVA has also not received any complaints of this nature.

Consumers may contact Danone Dumex at Tel: 1800 265 3188 (Monday – Friday; 9am – 6 pm) should they have any questions regarding the recall.

Product details:
Mamex Gold Step 1 – 700 g
Mamil God Step 2 – 700g
Mamil Gold Step 3 – 800 g Regular and Honey

can faint mann! all this milk powder is getting me paranoid.

Sleepingdeer has delivered! Both mummy & Baby Lauren are doing fine.

Congrats Sleepingdeer! Rest well & post us some pics of ur lovely princess ya!

May,

I wish for a gal but no such luck leh. Agree with the rest that next time Jamie & her mei mei will grow up very close knitted. U are so fortunate to have 2 shopping companions.

SSF,
Eeks! So scary! My E&B are taking Mamil le. Jialat!

RE: LASIK
Anyone got good recommendation for Lasik? I remember few mummies went for it. Any side effects so far?

Wenyl - my JC are also on mamil. only 800g are impacted. i read that the milk is not contaminated lei. so far i have been buying 1.6kg. pharmacy just had a promo at $39.95 and i stocked up like 7 tins! got a shock when i read the news. nearly drop off my chair but then i heard only the smaller tins are impacted. so abit relief.

sleepingdeer - congrats to the birth of Lauren. what a nice name. do take care and hope to see Lauren's pics soon.

wenyl - i went for lasik and did it in NUH under Dr Lennard Thean. check out his profile under http://www.nuhlasik.com/ldoc.html

so far i have no side effect other than halos at night which he has already informed me beforehand due to my large corneas. however i dun find it a problem. i can still drive at night. he is pretty good and a senior. nice man to relate too. u shld really go for lasik as it's the best thing i have done for myself. in less than 1 min, its done.

thanks for the inputs on your bb's wt.

SSF,
what's your bb's ht ah? think your bb, then K2 and wendyl's boy are the closest in age to clare.

sleepingdeer
Congrats!!!

sleepingdeer

SSF
so scary..but i always buy the 1.6kg tin also.

in a way i m quite thankful that jx is on breastmilk. at least less worries.

Congrats Sleepingdeer
Looking forward to baby Lauren's pics

Wenyl
I oso seriously considering. ha ha want to go together can get discount.

Halo Mummies, finali got a chance to log in, been terribly busy at work this past week.. can faint!!!

Sleepingdeer - Congrats on the arrival of Princess Lauren! Nice name! Hope to c some pics soon
take care...

Wenyl/ CL - im also tinking of lasik.. just when i was almost decided on doing it, i got to hear from a close fren tat cos her eyes were more sensitive, she cant go under strong sunlight wfout her eyes gettin uncomfy... it made me tink twice cos i am one who canta stand strong sunlilght as well and will get headache if i do get an overdose! so am worried while eyesight will b perfect, i get another set of problems... stuck!!!

May - congrats on ur 2nd princess! like wat the others mentioned, i tink its reali impt tat so long as u n HB love ur princesses, wat others say is none of ur concern...the kids are urs,not theirs... i wld love to hav another ger as well! mostly my purpose of another child is a sibling for Cel to grow close wf, and if i meant for them to be close, i suppose another girl will be the perfect one! my sis n i are reali close and share our clothes and secrets til now... our HBs tease us and say ' jie mei qing shen' when we can pick up the phone to each other tho we just parted an hour ago

CL

I'm also wanting to do it. Hahaha. Let's go and see if can get group discounts! And also, we can give each other support. Hehe. I think it's still quite frightening to go under the knife.

Wenyl
U have keloids prob like me right? One of the questions i def need to ask them if that's going to be an issue. The internet has contradictory info on whether those with such history can did lasik or not.

Now considering a few places i.e. SNEC, Shinagawa (joint venture from SNEC, Capitol & Japanese lasik clinic), & Singapore Lasik Clinic at paragon.