(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy
wah, your boy so smart. can tell the shape.
i just worried that my gal is colour blind. haha.. 'cos her memory quite good, but, i just don't understand y the colours cannot register in her mind.
she's not fully toilet trained yet, night and nap time still need.

haha.. your boy so cute! i think he just wanna play safe, just in case he knocked against the pole.
what happen to your cornell?

CL
ya loh. kids are so funny. with them around, life is so much funner.
oh, so go for brand, i c i c... hmm... then, got to ask hb which one i should buy liao. 'cos the one on promo, i think same as your model is selling at promo px. yours is the 30L one?
and the microwave convection oven equally good for baking?

sunny
I think mine only 28L. I bougt a extra rack at $22 so can bake 2 layer oso but hor the second layer always have to send in for longer baking time once the upper deck is done.

And i usually have to up the temp as i feel it is not as hot.

tracie
wah, megan's teacher is so onz. haha... you must be feeling stressed with this type of teacher around. :p

mamapanda
good idea! i use the beading games to teach her shapes and colours... but, she still cannot make it. haha...
the ariston oven is the build in type right? i always wanted to have a build in oven, but when we bought this flat, we didn't do any renovation, so, there goes my build in oven. hope i have save enough $ to get my kitchen renovated one day....

may
you mean the mkt rate is now $2,500?!!! that's a lot leh. when i did mine in Feb, the CL still charged me $1,800. she said after mine, she's charging $2k.
i will pm you my CL's contact. hopefully she is not booked for your confinement period yet.

mamachan
ya, my gal speaks quite fluently now but only in mandarin. everyday, we are figuring how to answer her 'why, why, why' and 'what, what, what'. she doesn't speak much english. and sometimes, she seems like doesn't understand english at all leh.
still not 100% off-diaper. wonder when i can save my $ and just to buy diaper for didi only. haha...

CL
haha.. you face the problem of oven not getting hot enough. my old one is always too hot. once i put the pan inside, i can see cracks in few minutes time....

sunny
ha ha my son only for the first time yday told he pooed and request us to change. Ha ha if not he usually hide in one corner , finish his business and run around like normal.

When at home I bring him to toilet to try, he will try to force it out but then tell hop down and tell me " mei you" so i think he is just not ready

CL
i c i c.
my friend's gal very funny. she knows that every time she uses potty, she will be rewarded with biscuit. so, she does her pee session in few batches instead of at one go. so that she will be rewarded with few biscuits. haha... so funny.

tracie,
caleb's teachers also very KS. During teh last PTA session, they say Caleb cannot recognise letters and ask me to grill him during the holidays. IN my heart, i was also tinking, i send my son here to learn leh..if he know everyting, who i bother to send him here.
Heehee.. i jus bo chup.

Speech,
caleb used to speak only chinese. But after he went to school,he could speak quite well in english to our surprise. Hence no worries abt developement, ultimately will catch up.

Just to share,
ytd my #2 was in her boucner and yelling to be carried. caleb went to her and say, cannot bao bao, kenisha cannot bao bao.Must tang tang okie.
Mah Mah cooking for mami to eat.

Geez.. hearing this, i know..My lil' boy has grown up

sept03bride
same here. whenever i am busy, i will ask my gal to jaga didi. when didi cries, she will go talk to him and ask 'you hungry already har? wait har....' then, she will come and tell me didi is hungry and wants milk. haha... so cute to see 2 kids in conversation.

Tracy/Sept03Bride
The playgroups nowadays really very very KS... or maybe coz they are facing a majority of parents being KS so they playing safe to be KS in case they get shot down why the child dunno this or that. During my PTA sessions with my boy's teachers, I made it clear to them that I rather he enjoy himself and in the process learn along the way. In factm if he knows and learnt anything so far, it's a bonus for us. I've heard that by pre-nursery/nursery, they should have the basics of counting, recognizing numbers and the alphabets and their phonetic sounds...I'm like, that sounds stressful!!!

I think our children are expected to know how to read in Primary 1!!! For moms with older kids, is that true? Chicken_Little, is that true that this is what the Primary Schools are expecting??

mamachan,
the teachers told me that they will be required to do worksheets once they are in Nursery. I was like.. Huh???!!!
So kua zhang lor.
What is childhood for them man..

Sept03Bride
Caleb is such a sweetheart!!! WOw! Really sound like a proud kor kor who will teng the meimei =)Really big boy le!

Kekeke, I asked my boy is he wanted a baby didi or meimei to play with, he said ,"Yes!" I think he only heard if he wanted someone to play with now...hahaha, then he asked me "Where is didi/meimei?" hehehehe, now my hb seems keen to hurry me to try for #2. Soon soon, after my Great Eastern run!!!!

RE: Toilet Trained Kids
Can I check with those kids that had already toilet trained. Does ur kids pee/poo in potty or the children seat? Jamie nowadays refused to do it in potty. She wants it to be in the bathroom. After pee, she would ask for tissue paper to wipe dry. But I will do it again for her to make sure it is 100% dry. I dun let her use toilet paper cos I scared the paper will hurt her delicate skin. Should we continue potty or change to children seat now?

may,
for poo poo, caleb is using the toilet bowl but need the children seat. we wash with water after he is done.
As for pee, he will use the potty.

Sept03, Sunny,
Just last evening i had to give Meg a good scolding cos she put a musical toy (loud techno music compliments of my dear parents) onto Duncan's ear to let him listen. I put it to my own ear and cannot even tahan the sound! He was lying in the rocker and she simply press it against his ear. After that can see she was sorry about it, cos she immediately handed me the toy to keep forever. Usually she refuses to give up her toy to me for confiscation. And my darling Duncan? He was laughing away...he really lurves to play with her.

May
Though my boy not fully toilet trained, he is using the children's seat on the main toilet bowl for his poo poo jobs in the morning. he doesn't use potty.

Sept03/ Sunny

Your #1 all so 'dong shi' already. Envy envy. My boy is still like a baby. Hopefully when we have #2, he'll grow up too.

Re: Nursery/Kindy
It's true that it's very tough nowadays. I heard from my bro that my niece who's in K2 is expected to solve maths probs. Not just simple 1+1= 2. But prob sums. And yes, they're expected to know their alphabets by Pri 1. My SIL who's a pri sch teacher said if the kids dunno by pri 1, they're kinda 'condemned' to EM3 (prevly). So we've to start now already.

Sunny
U need alot of repetitions. They won't remember after 1 or 2 sessions. For C, we've been at it since he's 6mths old when we gave him the shape sorter. He only started to say them at 2.5yrs old when he started to talk. By now your gal should be able to pick up pretty fast. My boy is kinda slow, so we've to start earlier or else he'll suffer later in Pri school.

Re: Potty training
My boy does it in the toilet bowl when we bring him there. No more potty. He still poos in his diaper though.

re: potty training
my gal will pee in the potty, but for poo, she will insist to use the toilet bowl, not children seat anymore. 1 funny thing is if didi poos in her potty, she will refuse to use the potty to pee until we clean it. haha...

mamachan, sept03
if i am not wrong, at k2, the students will need to start writing composition. ya manz... like that how to enjoy childhood? so stress...

mashy
oh... then, i will play with her more beading games. haha... else, i just leave it to the playgroup teacher to teach her. :p

tracie
with #2 around, we really need to take extra care on what our #1 is playing. when didi is awake, i would not allow my gal to play beads threading game. 'cos the beads will be scattered all around, and didi will surely take and put into his mouth.
and, my gal now knows that only board books can be given to didi. 'cos didi already destroys some of her books. haha...

Mashy
Re: Nursery/Kindy
Actually they are expected to know how to read by the time they are in P1, knowing alphabets alone is not enough. In fact, when my fren's fren register his son for P1 in Aug, he can't really read yet. The teacher asked her to enroll her son for enrichment class before sch starts in Jan so that he won't be behind his peers....so demanding!

Glance thru the posting...read that you appear in Women's Weekly? Itz some interview? Will try to grab a copy =)

Mashy/Flo,
I used to be very worried for my #1 since he is a Dec bb...as what Flo said knowing ABC is not enuf...
one of my sons' math question...

eg) There are 4 boys in the class. Each of them has 5 penciis. How many pencils do they have altogether?

if he can't read, how is he going to solve the question?

Sunny,
I got ur PM on the CL. Can only access email at night. Can I ask a few qns?
1) Is she ok to do some simple household chores?
2) Will she wash hb and my gal's clothes as well? I am ok with machine wash for all clothing.
3) Is she local?

RE: nursery/ playgroup
last sat I went for the parents orientation for maris stella nursery.. they not very gan cheong lei.. they said they will be learning alphabets and phonics and numbers up to 5 only! Worksheets are mainly colouring. So not too bad right? Maris stella's emphasis is through learning through play so it seems quite nice and not very stressful. But its 2 teachers to 20 kids!

Tabbiesus
Ha ha Charmaine is in Maris Stella. Very relaxed one. Quite fun in the school. Now they are preparing for year end graduation concert.

But they will still teach you to read because she has got this readers and flash card that she will bring back after the school went through.

Their spelling ha ha 10 words only. This week it is nell, swell, fell, tell, well etc. aiyo just rememeber it is ell then listen to teacher sound the words can write the first alpha liao. So Charmaine can finish learning her Spelling in 5 mins. No challenge at all.

tabbiesus

numbers up to 5 only? Hahah, my boy already recog numbers till 10 and can recite till 20 already. And he's a slow one here. Maybe they'll learn how to write it out too? My MIL said that now our kids are still double-counting. Still can't count properly as in 5 ducks they'll count 5 ducks. They can count the same duck twice or even 3 times. Maybe the numbers up to 5 is that they'll learn to count specifically?

But your gal going to US with u right? Then can catch up with the s'pore system when she returns?

may
1) ya, she will sweep the floor everyday, mop the floor abt 3 days once, i think.
2) i didn't ask her to wash hb and gal's clothes. my hb did the laundry. but she will iron and fold the clothes. you can check with her if she does wash.
3) she's indonesian chinese. no need to go back to chop passport.

better call her soon 'cos she's very popular one...

Flo,

it is quite scarly now coz elijah is now learing how to spell numbers.. i am quite bless that elijah can do alot before he goes to school.. just the toilet train is a headache to me... when E was 18 months we teach him shapes and colors only the basic ones now he is adding more to his knowledge... but chinese he is not too good..

re colors
JH can tell colors and i have been teaching him the mixture of colors like blue + yellow, red + blue, etc. so far he can tell the colors.

may
nowadays very hard to book cl one, esp in apr. need to call early. a lot of CL are booked very fast one. also 2K is the normal they charge.

re toliet training
jh poos / pees in the toilet bowl. he hasn't been on potty for the longest time. but he very weird. he refused to tell his teachers he wants to urine in sch. he is embarassed i think. but at home he will tell us when he wants to pee and he can actualy hold his urine during naps.

re sch
JH's sch also quite relaxed i feel. but he can count till like 50 or so already. in chinese he can also count 1-10 well already....they dun do worksheets etc.

for pri sch, the basis is still the same, adding, knowing number bonds, numbers from 1-20 ... but it's the decoding and problem solving skills that kids have to be equipped with. Kids should be able to read by then (esp if the parents are reading continuously to them). A lot of build-up happens at K2, I feel ... at N1, the kids are still learning their fine motor skills and actually getting the kids to hold a pencil n write is not a good move ... my opinion

.ky.

ky

why holding a pencil n write is not good? My boy can hold it properly before school but unfortunately i think he learnt the wrong ways from his classmates. Now it's back to bb ways.

ky
can explain y getting the kids to hold a pencil to write is not good move? you mean should let them explore how to hold pencil their own or?

ky,
ya.. not writing first. I training Jamie with gross motor skills with her hands. Then moved to fine motor skills like pasting and puzzle playing activities first.
I just bought thick giant crayon for her to train her scribbling skills. Bought thick triangle shaped pencil for her to learn to write with dots.
She can write 1 to 10 following the dots now. Not very neat but just want to let her learn the gribbing skills.

sunny - we recently asked C "what colour is the sky?" he replied "blue!" so i guess he knows how to differentiate? hee...cos we never really tested him. as for shapes, he knows square, circle, triangle, star. as for square and rectangle...he always get confused.

may - i gave like $20 too i think. its the thoughts that count. if you think she did a good job, you can give more.

re:potty train
C is still not trained on potty. to think i even bought a $50 bucks combi potty and its soooo new. not even a poo or pee is in it. sigh! C will say that he wants to pee and he will pee in the toilet but as for pee, he will insist to wear a diaper and poo while leaning against a table.

Mashy,
You and Caeden looked great in the mag!

Mamachan,
I read that you used the 1-for-1 voucher in Chatterbox and that's what I'm going to do this weekend! Heheh...

Flo,
I don't think sl's Charmaine is in PT...

SSF,
Same here. Isaac is no where near being toilet trained. Sigh. He understands that pee and poo should be in the potty or toilet bowl, he just doesn't want to do it.

re. learning
Er... is there some guidelines on what our kids shouhld know by now? They are barely 3 years old! Should we be too concerned about what they know or do not know? I must admit that I'm quite a boh chap mummy... I'm not even sure whether Isaac is learning much in playgroup now and I don't even bother to test Isaac or ask the teachers cos I assume I'll find out during the PTA at the end of the year. I mean, Isaac knows his colours (even shades like grey, beige), shapes (like pentagon, trapezium), alphabets (big and small letters), numbers and counting etc. But I attribute all that to teaching him when I was SAHM before he turns 2. I'm not sure exactly what he is learning in school now. I guess he learns things like the weather, calendar, transportation etc. But then these are things which he also picks up in daily life or through the books which I read to him everyday. So what I'm trying to say is, should we teaching them more than all these basic things which they will pick up in our daily interaction with him and in school? I'm not enthusiastic about spending efforts to teach additions and subtractions, or spelling or writing or anything like that now.
But I think all kids learn at different pace and will pick up things faster in different things, so not to be unduly worried.

Re. milk feed
Isaac will take milk before bedtime and the next feed is usually 6 or 7+ am. But for the past few days, Isaac has been waking up at 4am asking for milk. It's like back to baby times! Any of your todds are like that?

Queen,
Me me me.. Jamie is also like that. She will wake up at abt 4am, keep tossing. Then in order to make her sleep, I make milk for her. Then she is back to her lala land. Not sure if it is bcos we are expecting No.2. Let's see if the rest of the mummies is experiencing this as well.

queen,
same here, megan still wakes up for milk at times, irregular timing - sometimes 3am or 5am. Sometimes she takes 180ml at 10pm, then 1030pm ask for more and we give her 100ml. Still, at times will wake up for milk. We're kinda used to it liao. Maybe it's cos she eats very little for dinner. She eats alot more during lunch - can be a bowl of porridge, half a bowl of rice or half packet of noodles.

Hahaha, must get Women's weekly to pay me already. Got so many of u to buy their magazine.

Re: milk feed
U gals still feed quite a lot of milk to your kids. I give C bread/bun or cake for supper. He wakes up at night only becoz he was scared of being alone but never for food anymore. Maybe u should try something solid for supper? Just use milk as a drink & not as a staple meal? U know like milk and cookies that sort of thing.

can i check what brand of storage milk bag is good and price reasonable? want to do some stock up before delivery. thanks =)

Mashy
I think having milk at this age is still essential for their age though not to replace meals, but as a supplement to their diet bah. My boy only have milk 3 times a day: morning, after nap (or even before nap) and before he sleeps.LIke you said, it's their necessity drink (milk fix) but he's still having his usual 3 meals a day with some cereal snacks in between.

queen
We enjoyed the Chicken Rice at ChatterBox...you can just ask for 1 bowl of rice for Isaac (they dun charge for additional rice). In fact, 3 adults + 1 child can eat the 2 portions of chicken...can always order sides. =)

do you think it is ok to give damien half boiled egg?
i let him tated it before and since then he love it very much.
keep asking for it whenever we are having breakfast in coffeeshop.

belinda
have not tried giving mine half-boiled egg...coz I personally didn't like it =P but for the one you give damien, got add alot of dark sauce? I know my MIL will always tell me last time when my hb was D's age, she would dip bread in the half-boiled egg and give him and he would love it... so as old folks say, You once ate it and still grow so big! hahaha.

belinda
i guess as long as your boy's digestive system is strong enough, can take occanionally. dun wish to have any LS episode ya?

mashy,
Dunno why Meg is still a milk monster and burning a big hole in my pocket! And she doesn't want the free milk I produce..darn. Sometimes before dinner she insists on having alittle milk first then she can eat so we will let her have 60ml. Imagine, the 900g milk in my house which is used for night and morning and weekend feeds only, lasts us 2weeks nia.

Rachel,
I'm now using Lansinoh milkbag bought from overseas spree. Self-standing with zipper. Ok lah for the price I pay. Dunno wats the current price now due to the exchange rate. i store the milk lying flat so that easier to defrost. But cos I went to stack the milk on top of each other (pls ref to my blog for the pic), some of them cracked at the seams and broke when we defrost it so gotta throw away.

I've also tried this local supplier blueeggs milkbag http://www.freewebs.com/mybreastmilkstoragebags/

Although the bag states can store up to 250ml, i think the calibration is wrong cos I can only fill up to 180ml max. It's from Korea and the good thing is it is thick,the seams are thick too. It's good to use if you are storing in small amounts. Cheap too.

So now i using the above two brands. 200ml - use Lansinoh, 150ml and below - blue eggs.

Thanks Tracy,
I saw this spree also on Lansinoh milkbag. currently she has not start on a new spree, so i will wait.

will try blue egg too. thanks for your reviews =)

mashy
solid food as supper? think not very healthy bah? milk should be enough to fill the stomach already, i think.
but my gal doesn't require milk feed before she sleeps since she's abt 1.5 mth old liao...

rachel
i use playtex milk storage bag. need to buy clip to clip it 'cos it's not zip lock kind. i bought from shopbug.com, an online shopping web in s'pore.

belinda
yx has been taking half boiled eggs after she turns 2 as breakfast, but not everyday lah. so far so good. heard from old generation that giving half boiled egg in the morning will boost kids' brain power. haha.. don't know how true it is.

sunny,rachel,

i am so scared that he got LS that i dun even dare to order it for my breakfast. coz each time if we order, he die die also want to eat the 2 eggs.