(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Queen
My fren lend me a whole book on chiffon cake. Which one you want I scan and email you.

Must important is the folding in part. Must fold in well to introduce more air into the batter. If not will not be light and fluffy.

Ha ha i not expert here. Just trying niah. The expert all in that baking thread

Mashy
ha ha I oso pai shi first for my cupcake. Sharon is going to the same shifu.

After that I usually do recipe my sils tried and proven easy ha ha

Queen
I forgot I wanted to ask you about your thomas train cake you baked this year for Isaac's birthday. Still have the recipe or steps ? Ha ha I am getting ready for Aden's next year. Ha ha either the train or Little Einstein Pat Pat rocket. ha ha

mashy,
*whistles* appearing in women's weekly?? Hehe, jus lemme know which issue and i'll go get it.

Now that Meg is 14kg and a tall gal, it takes 2-3people to feed her med. One to hold her body, one to hold her kicking legs & flailing arms and one to feed. That's the best combi, otherwise when it's just hubby and me, we normally give up after one type of med. BUT my MIL can carry her tightly and feed her the med all on her own. Peifu!

My shifu is that Pink who started that baking thread. her blog is www.myhumblearts.blogspot.com

She baked charmaine's 3D castle cake while I bake the cupcakes this year.

Sharon would be attending her class too.

I will be attending Aunty Yochana's bun class on 9 Nov 08 at thomsom.

Hi mommies!

NIce to catch up with you guys after so long...

Chicken little
YOu are really amazing! I cannot stand yoU!!! Hahaha!! I wish i had the energy that you have! I like to bake and scrap too but in the end i just sleep with the kids! Even when I cannot sleep, I don't get up to bake. You are really motivated.. I need to have you motivate me man! Your cakes look so yummy. One day you should have a baking course for us mommies!!

RE: panadol
My didi is taking 3.5 ml at 15 months and my daugher is taking 5 mls. Gps tend to be more conservative if they are not experienced with kids.

RE: lazy eye.
hey.. lazy eye is amblyopia.. you can't see it at all you can only find out if you do a vision check. What you are talking about is squints... inturning and outturning of the eye.. that can also lead to lazy eye but itself is not lazy eye.

If you have family history, should send your kids for a check just in case. 2-3 years is about the age of onset of most squints. And if there's lazy eye it is only treatable before the age of 7-8 years old. After that, there's not treatment.

I can't say so much here cos its public.. if not ppl might accuse me of advertising! Har...let me know if you need my help. Just pm me lor... no obligations :p

RE: going to the US
Thanks for the advice mommies...Ya.. sometimes I also feel that its not worth it. Just wanted some advice from you all, cos its another point of view.. just really thinking hard about it. Praying really hard about it too. But short of going private, i really have no choice. I'm not very happy where I am now but this US stint gives me an opportunity to not sell myself short and fulfil my potential.

I am very old fashioned actually. I don't mind downgrading, staying at home and just looking after the family without a maid and doing things for my hubby so that he can feel like KING but he has to support me. I actually would love to be part time. But looking for a job outside is not easy for me too. Hubby doesn't mind me staying at home but only thing we are not in the intermediate stage of our career.. just have to DONG a little more, than things will be better.

tracie

hehe, nov issue. It's just a small page lah. What to do, my little boy hates med so much until he gets to go on the magazine and let his mommy tell the experts abt his prob. hahaha.

Tracy
LOL! It sounds like us when we had to force feed my boy during his high fever episodes. But when hb is off at work and I'm working from home so that I can keep an eye out for D as well, I will arm lock him so that my helper can put the medicine down his throat! I will cradle him (like as though infant), then one arm looped under the outer leg and then I hold my hands together. confirmed cannot move too much even though he struggles!!! Other than that, he is willing to come and drink "white", "orange" or "Red"...but he hates "pink" (paracetomol). LOL

CL
I think I will just admire your baking goods =P I'm happily stuck with my scrapbooking! LOL! The only "baking" I do is apple crumble and tiramisu (needs no baking at all!!) LOL!

Mashy
Wow, ok, will look out for Nov issue and "check" you and C out! *woot* Women's weekly issue also has got good recipes at times too =P

mamachan,
Meg hates ALL colors of meds. She can taste it even when we mix just 5ml into 120ml of milk or 60ml ribena! Somehow Meg has the strength of a grown up that even my hubby cannot handle!

Rena,
hehe, for such advice from tabb, gotta PM her lah.

Tracy,

elijah also has this problem but we will tell him that if he dun take his medication then we will pack his bag and let him sleep with the cats/mouse outside...

oh dear, think only my boy will come to me and asked me to give him medicine...he enjoyed it.
he can even tell me he had not taken his medicine.
I got no problem at all feeding him medicine..even the chinese one.

Tracy
Wow...she must be really strong. I always tell mine, if you're strong, I'm stronger!!! And proceed to arm lock him up!!! LOL! That's only for paracetomol.... but he likes his Zaditen and Nordic Natural Cod liver oil. So not too bad

Rena
aiyoh....sounds so drama!!! He must be really scared to hear that!!

yah he very funny.. when didi cry he will ask me .. mummy is di di noti?? yes?? want elijah pack didi's bag to sleep with the cat.. then he will turn to didi and say .. sorry .. no more sleeping with me.. you sleep with the cat ok..

RE: Taking Medicine
Are u all still using stringe to feed medicine? J got no prob with it when it is using stringe to feed. Just tell her eat medicine, she will lie down for you to feed. We start with sweet taste one then the bitter one.

Oh ya, probably can buy doctor play set. We keep pretending to feed Jamie with the medicine. Fever-Strawberry, Cough - Bitter Black , Flu - Orange, Anti-biotic - Banana. So when we feed her the real medicine, she is used to it already.

May
My boy will use drink from the mini cup that comes with his Zaditen. So no issues on feeding him with those.

Rena
Elijah really so funny....hahaha it seems like he can't wait to help you carry out the "threat" to didi as well for being "notti". Our children at this age really says the most funny things!!!

Flo,

Didn't hear from you for such a long time....
Mel's not in purple train anymore? Where's she at now?

My charmaine also vain girl - loves purple and shopping - can you imagine. When we went shopping, she will try me, mummy try shoes, this nice, this not nice. Gosh!

Tabbie,
wow, moving to the us for a yr is big decision? Actually I have converted to the parttime scheme for sometime now. I have to say that, there are pros and cons - not convenient to diverge too much here since it's after all a public forum. But mummies who are keen to explore, I can always share my experiences, just pm me.

Re: eyes
I think Charmaine is short-sighted. She cannot see a lot of stuff that's a distance away... is it possible to confirm?

Rachel,
Charmaine has been toilettrained for the past year. Touch wood but so far it has been quite good. She only wets her bed when she's sick.

Tracy,

I have the list of weight and the corresponding dosage at home. Want me to check?

CL,
You are really one supermummy!

mamachan

u can ask the PD to give him the syrup type. It's red. C also hates the pink paracaetamol, so after we changed to the syrup type, he's ok. At times when he simply refused, we'll give him the suppositories. This is so esp in the middle of the night when we found his fever suddenly spike. He hates to take his med when he's sleeping, so we'll give him that.

May
We've already changed to spoon.

Re: taking meds
Well, there's quite a fair bit of tips there. Some of the things that we've done so far are: watch his favourite prog when we feed him, give him a bribe (vitamin sweet) etc. He has since improved tremendously with reg to med taking.

CL,
er... I'm actually thinking of Pandan cake. But i heard it's quite challenging. So maybe any other nice chiffon cake will do for now. What have you made before?
Sure, I still have the recipe for the train cake. Actually, it's quite straightforward lah... but very time consuming and a lot of effort on the fondant part. Have to bake a dense cake and cut it up into shapes and assemble with paste. Then knead the fondant, dye it in different colours and cover the train cake. I'll zap the recipe and include it into the ON package I'll be mailing to you.

Re. Meds
I feed with spoon. Isaac is quite ok for most sweet tasting meds except for antibiotics. Sometimes I have to use vitamin gummies as bribe too.

rena,
hahaha, Elijah so funny!

May,
I'm still using syringe...tried spoon & cup...fail.

SL,
Oh..can help me check pls? thanks! I'm secretly hoping 2.5ml lah, so no need to torture us feeding her. hehe..

Mashy,
is there a syrup type of paracetamol?? Tastes better? The GP advised me to avoid suppositories leh, say it's traumatising for her. I wanted to tell him then the other way is traumatising for me! Anyway, Meg's ok with supps.

She's already rewarded with sweets for EVERY MOUTH of med she takes, which is like 0.5ml each time. Imagine can use up one tube of sweet feeding her meds!

RE: taking med

Tabby since childcare is sick lots so always taking chlormine or zyrtec or something or other. She quite likes medicine. She is one crazy girl..

My son hates it but will take if his idol zhei zhei takes the medicine. Otherwise, we also resort to brute force cos bribing doesn't help.

SL
Are you sure? Can if they can do picture matching or listen to instruction can do a good VA at this age.

Rena
I think a little early to check at 4 months, but from his photo u posted, doen't look so obvious. If you are worried, can send him for check when he's a little older. in turning of the eye in asians is quite rare. Most of our kids get out turning which is more common around 2 years plus.

CL,
I also have leftover fondant dyes and fondant.
If they are not expired yet, can give to you lah. I'm not baking a special cake for Isaac this year. Even if I'm baking, will not be using fondant. Too much work liao. Heheh... though Isaac still remembers the cake and every now and then he wants me to bake a train cake for him.

Queen
thanks. Let me know how much in total including postage to pay you. I tried chocolate chiffon but i feel not soft but orange not too bad.

Have not tried pandan. I think cheese should be nice too because I tried what my kaki baked it is quite good.

Hee hee I dun like those fondant. I will make own mashmallow fondant. softer , less sweet so it is good to look at and still nice to eat. This recipe oso from my shifu. ha ha. I have wilton colouring so you can pass on to someone else.

Tabbiesus
When I have more time, I will organise a cupcake session with the kids. But just to pre-ampt had a trial run with Cheng and flo liao. Ha ha either they just busy grabbing 1 handful and sprinkle or aden is busy eating the gummies i bought to decorate. ha ha

Mummies can bake, kids can decorate. But I must have a fool proof plan, no maid so activities must be outside my house ha ha

tracie

I'm not sure if it tastes better but my boy prefers it over the pink ones. haha, yah, i agree with you. Anyway, my boy doesn't find it traumatising at all. He will even lift up his legs for me to put it in. Hahah.

Gummy sweets
My boy doesn't eat gummy sweets!!! Or any other sweets for that matter! Tried to give him vitamin gummies and he spit it out! He just simply doesn't like... hahaha I think I train him too well liaoz... so now everything is liquid/syrup form.

re feeding med
interesting to read abt all the experience. think i m lucky that jh loves his med. though sometimes he will complain that some of them are sour, we just need to say only big boys can eat and he will eat it...

re baking
feel so tempted but no oven!! and now iwth economic downturn, my wish to get an oven is even harder to fulfill

SY
if you dun need a super exp one, my sil got a very good deal at carrefour. 42litred only $110

My oven oso only $200 plus but I happy enuff liao

CL

what brand did u get? Mine is a cornell, but i find it sucks. My cake was very unevenly baked.

And then when the top is well done, the bottom is still soggy.

mashy,
I think it is not the same. The type of sour plum used in cooking is different from those we eat. U can go to sauce or can section of supermarket. Some bought it to steam fish. It is in a glass bottle/can one.

may

hahaa, i realised that it's not the right one when i tasted my soup yesterday and promptly popped in 1 sour plum from my umeshu. still turned out a bit weird. hahaha.

Hi Hi Mummies,

Anyone booked tix for the Disney Princess show? its next month and it will feature 3 princess stories - Cinderella, Snow White and Beauty and the Beast.. just got to know of it fr my colic ytd and since cel is into her princess books lately, hav booked the tix to bring her. im rather excited bout it as well! haha..

Re : Meds
oh, we norm tell Cel tat if she doesnt eat the med, she gota go back to the doc for injection.. so she norm will guai guai eat it hee... shes rather scared of injection so gota co-operate..

Morning mummies.

God's child
I booked the tic for the Disney show liao
, will be bringing Clarisse on 21 Nov.

Mashy
I have the Women's Weekly Nov issue, so that is you! You very photogenic leh, as well as your boy

Zhimin - i oso booked on the 21 Nov!!! 7pm oso??? hee.. at first i thot buy 3 tix incld HB but later i thot aiya, 1 hr oni, ask him to lin kopi outside and save the $$ haha... will bring cel in myself...

Aileen - so when did u book urs?

CL - ya, i tink ur princess will wana watch! check out sistic.. wasted, if i know earlier can do the early bird..heee, 10% better than nothing also ...

mashy
Ooops!!! I thought your recipe literally says sour plum (if recipe in English)..... eh, I've never cooked the xian chai tou fu tang before.... so in the end you bought the sour plum? or you went back to buy the "correct" one. Coz I interpret your question literally if sour plum is suan mei and therfore I said yes! =P

god's child,
i haven't book, will do so tmr. i'll likely get the weekend tix. btw, there's 15% off for maybank credit card up till 19th oct.

Aileen - oh, reali? alamak, i oni saw the sistic web tat RBS card got 15% and since i haven got tat card, i paid the full price. if i know maybank got, cld have asked a fren to do for me.. nvm la, anyway saved on my HB's ticket :p haha

God's child

Mine is a 3pm show if I am not wrong. I will be going with a friend with her son, since hb also not keen hehe.

Also bought the tic to Babies prom... very broke now haha.

zhimin

oh the magazine is out already? That's fast. I haven't even seen it yet.

mamachan

haha, never mind lah. We learn from experience. Heheh. My hb didn't complain and he drank it up so should be ok.