(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
yup either they hate it or they love it.

Mamachan
You are going BKK next week ? Monitor the situation there

Authorities Announce State of Emergency in Capital

Prime Minister Samak Sundaravej at 07.00 (local time) on 2 September declared a state of emergency in the capital Bangkok.

The announcement followed violence between government supporters and opponents late on 1 September.

Specific details are emerging, but initial reports indicate that the army has been put in charge of restoring order and gatherings of more than five people have been banned.

Travel Advice

1. In-country personnel should minimise movement until the situation becomes clearer. They should avoid the central business area and all government buildings.

mashy
I see...my boy has been wanting us to carry him again lately, not surew if it's because of the HFMD episode.... and I'm really thinking hard if to bring the stroller along to BKK...my hb doesn't mind the stroller when we head to the malls. anyway, I found a hotel called Siam at Siam Design hotel on asiarooms.com

Chicken Little
Yah man.... I just read the news. Stressed. My hb's Thai friends still telling him that the protests are far from where we'll be somemore!!!! I better urge him to call them again.

CL,
have you met up with belinda and SL for lunch? also i think i'll borrow the ergo from you since mamachan is borrowing SL's one. i just need it for 2-3 days to test it out with ty. so weekend u can still use it.

Need advice to postpone travel plans
Mummies, I'm really very suaku here, never done this before, can anyone advice on the postponing of air travel hotel plans? Do I need to just email them and get confirmation?

mamachan

Have u paid them yet? There's cancellation charges or admin fees for changing depending on where & who u book from. Think asiarooms should have the terms & conditions written somewhere.

Halo everyone

WIll try to join in the next RP lunch k, been busy lately..argh...

Mamachan - glad to hear D is better now. Ya, i also tink its wiser to postpone the travel to BKK. i think you can chagne to later date but gota pay admin charges for the change.

CL,
sure, just let me know when. thanks!

Mamachan

Think it's better to postpone the trip now that the situation at BKK is like that. I still remember the day after we returned from BKK, we heard news of the bombing at the world trade centre at BKK. We were there just 2 days ago and saw the pp preparing for the ocuntdown party. It was such a close shave.

Thanks mommies for the advice.

I've called Tiger Airways (we're travelling on that), they only allow those who are due to travel this week defer their travel...but they have no further instructions for next week, so if I want to be allowed for deferment, just have to "Wait it out" but I was like "Hello!! Thai PM declared a state of emergency for BKK and Singapore MFA announced no travel to BKK!" and Tiger Airways customer service rep just say that the BKK airport didn't give instructions to stop all flights from flying in"..... sigh....maybe I should write in to MFA??

ky/krissie/mashy
want to bring mine to Babies Proms too. which day and time slot are you girls looking at??

Fri, 5 Dec 08 - Sat, 6 Dec 08
10:30am & 12:15pm, Victoria Concert Hall

for us, sat and the 1030am slot is better. wanna combine and buy the tickets together? am not SSO member.

mamachan
thats a silly excuse TA has given you wor... based on the state Bkk is in now, dont think it will die down fast enough as in by next week. postpone is unavoidable now and hope that your deferment can be process asap.

rena
speedy recovery to both of your boys!

CL
can share how to go about making muffins? saw a few version here and there but i think of you, so want to ask the baking master here =) thanks in advance

latest update on my baby's gender, its a BOY! boy oh boy =p

Re: Thrush
Anyone had experience with breastfeeding and baby having oral thrush? I suspect MIL never sterilize or clean his bottles properly so now he got thrush and i tink it's affecting me cos my nipple keeps getting blocked for no reason. I'm applied Daktarin for him last week and it got ok. But this morning I saw spots again! And yesterday i got major blocked ducts again!

Does it mean i must wean him off the breast for now? Sigh..means i gotta pump and wake up at night to bottle feed him. Sianz..And I fear that later on he will not wanna latch anymore

Rachel,
Dylan's gonna have a brother! Congratz!

mamachan - aiya TA so lousy.Should be flexible esp now that BBK is in a state of emergency. i doubt they will fly their airlines there too. so ya hb is still going since he will be away for work right? hope ur cancellation go through smoothly.

rachel - congrats...another boy for ya right? welcome to the boys club. haha..

tracy
my boy and i got it before. no worries, no need to wean him off. i still bf when i got the thrush from him.
what i did is to applied daktarin for him, and also for myself.
on and off it will come back loh. so, need to consistently check his mouth. if it's just little bit, i just use hanky to wipe off and didn't apply the medicine.

rachel

congrats on the boy! Pmed you regarding the Babies Prom.

Mamachan
Tiger Airways is like that. Last time I also had a hard time with them coz i needed to cancel my trip during my preg. Finally managed to get them to let me transfer the names.

sunny,
whew! Thank you! I'm so glad i dun hv to wean him off the breast. keke, i will apply the daktarin on myself too. Thank you!

TA
Sigh....dunno leh...maybe I should just cancel my hotel booking 1st and then wait and see nearer the date? My hb was saying that if there's another coup, it should be relatively fast if they have enough "evidence"....

SSF
My hb no longer going there for work le.... he's changed jobs =) So we're going there for leisure.

tracy
no problem. take care. it's really irritating to see the thrush keep appearing in his mouth. haha...

rachel

mamachan
i think you can just cancel the hotel booking if that's not the only hotel you really want to stay during your trip.

mamachan

hmmm, chances are the hotels will have plenty of empty rooms now that they're facing this situation. Everyone will be rushing to cancel their bookings. So even if u do decide to go ahead later, shouldn't be a big prob to book a hotel bah.

mashy
The customer service rep of TA asked if I opted for their Purrfect Tiger protection covered by AIG, I opted for that. The girl just promptly said on if on the day still cannot fly in, can always claim from that insurance wor!!!! I was like @#$&^!%&$! in my head! I'll discuss with my hb further also....he himself said to monitor the situation, hopefully the coup/riots/protests will be all over by this weekend....

Mashy
Yupz, I think likely I will cancel my hotel booking 1st...my hb was saying if on that actual day can fly then we look for hotel online or something...

I'm thinking I rather pay the admin charges ($50/pax/one way) to change dates lor.... that additional money for peace of mind and safety....

mamachan

U need to be more 'xiong' to the TA pp. I find that they don't budge unless u show them some colour. There's what happened to me then. I called and called, send email etc, horrible experience. Now I refuse to go by TA at all.

long time never log in, how is eeryone?

AIleen,
I have a Ergo too, its with Wenyl now but if you want, I can ask her to pass to me when we meet for shicida and pass to you to try... I found it useful when we went Chiangmai and SIem Reap, when climbing up the hills, I strapped S into piggy pack style and she liked it.

CL,
how to carry sideways with the Ergo huh? The lady showed me before, and Wendy tried it on B, but like not very comfy, its straps across the chest right?

Rachel,
congrats! I think siblings of the same gender are very often closer. My bro and I were at loggerheads with each other since small, fight until we start pullin hair and punching each other, and biting! Even now, our relationship is still not good...

Mamachan,
yup, better to see how the situation goes first... hopefully things will settle down...

rachel,
congrats! join the club of M22P! :D

sleepingdeer,
ok, i don't mind if it's not too troublesome for you. coz CL still uses it during the weekends. and can i borrow it from 28sep - 2oct if tyler doesn't mind being in it?

Hmmmm, have contacted the Asia Rooms, they are quick in replying my emails. They said they will try to negotiate with the hotel for minimal penalty charges...I did ask them to keep an open date for us till things are much better and we'll go back to that hotel again

Sunny,
So those milk that I expressed n freezed during the period with thrush, can they be fed to him later? Like a month later?

tracy/ssf/mashy/aileen/sleepingdeer
thanks girls =)

ssf/aileen
guess after seeing the photos in your blog showing the cute moments of your 2 boys taking bath together, it sure is fun and good bonding for them. my 3 boys can all squeez inside our shower area and have a whole lots of fun =p

btw, wats M22P huh?

sleepingdeer
mine too. fight since young and nothing much to talk about when in our teens. now better as my brother is married and a little more topic to say.

Rachel,
Hmm..boy and girl not so close..means i should have #3??? Hahaha, no lah, already ask hubby he gave me the 'are you mad' look liao. He said wait till Duncan is at least 3YO then consider, but aiya, by then maybe I'm the one dun wan liao.

Sunny,
Hehe, I also dun wanna waste milk so thinking I'll continue to give too :p

tracy
haha, your hb might not wait till Duncan is 3YO and ask you to go for #3 with him leh =p. my hb is a little disappointed that this #2 not a girl, he wish to have one. asked me, so #3 for us?? its me who gave him the 'are you mad' look! haha

Tracy
Re-read your posts...I remembered when D had oral thrush, I still BF him... applied the oral medication for him and made sure I cleaned myself after BF to prevent any infection. I should still can BF bah. Blocked ducts is no joke!!! You really got to massage really hard to prevent it from being blocked!

aileen - do u meant to say M22B = mum to 2 boys?

rachel - haha ya save water and also a bonding session for them. the only problem is that the tub is getting smaller and C wants to bring all his toys in. for me, i was disappointed that it was not a girl. hb was the one insisting on having similar gender. as for having no 3...we are all busy and happy with us 2 unless accident happens. haha..

Congrats Rachel!

Mamachan - Can't cancel the trip at all? Airlines shd have the brains safeguard their passengers! Shd write in & ask for full refund and tell them you plan to go somewhere else instead.

Sysac
Hmmmm, I had a hard time finding TA's email to write in, they only have mailing address seen on the site so far. As for their customer service...I have to dial like 5-6 times in order to get through, and after getting thru, can be on hold for 20min till I finally get to speak to their customer service rep.

My mom suggested that my hb and I can still go, coz if in the event we get stuck there, it's easier to deal with than getting stuck there with a toddler....the most we might forgo D's air-ticket....

M22P = Mother to 2 Princes! hee...

rachel,
u so funny... boy and girl can also take a bath together what! i mean when they are young.

Congrats Rachel.
Can ha ha yes go for no. 3

Sleepingdeer
Yes , strap across leh. I follow the video.

Rachel,
Hmm I never baked muffin. I have been doing cupcakes. What kind of muffin you want, I get the recipe for you.

Yup, I still let Aden and Charmaine take bath together.

Check out my moonies. Ha ha the Yam Flaky mooncake no more picture because all in stomach. Check out the snowskin ones

1688134.jpg

CL

Wow, u're so 'domesticated'. Hahaha. All your pics of food looks so good! I only say say, till now still haven't managed to bake anything decent out. sigh.

CL,
wow, u impress us once again! i love the cute moulds you have! i'm sure i tastes as good as it looks! u attend classes?

CL - wah seh! u are really motivating me to rush out and buy an oven. hahaa...very nice!! charmaine must be having lots of fun helping you to bake. do continue to impress us ya...btw, aren't you working? got time to bake meh? i hardly have time to even sit down and read a newspaper in peace. kekeke...

mamachan - i got a friend who is in BKK now. she said life there still normal. ppl still shopping ..buses are still running. no one seems to be panicking. her poor hb here is so worried abt her though. i do agree with ur mum that you guys can still go ahead but leave D behind. as with kid....anythg happen if want to run also difficult. TA is hopeless la...tats why i never travel with them.

SSF
Yah, my hb's thai friends were saying that the protests are mainly near the government buildings, normally away from the tourist areas... my hb also funny lah, told us if in BKK, don't wear Red (pro government) or Yellow (anti-government)..... *_* hear already want to faint!!

CL
Wah Seh!!! You power leh!!! Very nice looking Mooncakes!!! I'm amazed at your energy levels to find time to bake!!! I'm just contented SB!