(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mamachan

not to scare you, but just to relate something that my MIL told me abt one of her students.

Her student was taken care by a maid. So it happened that the student started to keep obsessively cleaning his mouth and say dirty dirty. The parents later found out that their maid brought many men back to their home. So scary to think what they could have done to him to make him keep washing his mouth and say dirty. Well, u can probably guess what they did to him.

Of course, this won't apply if there's someone at home to watch over the maid lah. But imagine if she has AIDS and she passed to that man, and they did that awful thing to the boy.

mashy
That's the way it goes when we have a foreign domestic helper at home, we tend to think of the what-ifs if they are left home alone with the maid. Sometimes, really have to trust God for His divine intervention and protection that our love ones will not be in harm's ways.

Coz in our society where we tend to get maids, we also hear all the horror stories.

Hi May
Thanks for asking. D is much better now as compared to Mon/Tuesd. He started to drink more willingly since yesterday. Even took some semi-solids (quaker oats) in late morning and for dinner. This morning can hear him starting to sing and talk once more (Mon and Tues he was scarily quiet, which is understandable coz of his mouth ulcers), finishing his milk faster now and drinking alot more water too.

Anyone came across this Ride On Board for stroller? I intend to get to attach to my stroller/pram for J to stand.

1672400.jpg

krissie
The infant care that I sent D to last time was along Queensway, opposite the Queensway shopping cente called Cosy Corner. They are quite ok lah...but just that the down side is that children there tend to get sick easily...that's why I withdrew D out of there after a good 4 months.

Krissie
Del-care at Fuji Xerox where Charmaine and Aden used to attend has to infant care. SL's charmaine was there too

The learning vision at Cecil Street - Aviva Building has got in fant care too.

Not too sure about kinderland at MND building

Mamachan, SSF, Belinda, Mashy
My bro's ex colic found out his maid contract aids during the routine checkup...the whole family freaked out when the learnt about it. Thank goodness they were fine.

krissie

I sent my boy to an infant care in Apollo Centre last time. It's called Winchester Pre-School. If u need the contact, let me know.

There aren't many in CBD and where there is, it costs a bomb. I think SY sent JH to Delcare or something which is also in CBD.

U can check out the infant cares thru the website:

www.childcarelink.gov.sg

Just to share that Megan is getting better in preparing for school for the past few days.
Will still whine about not going to school etc but when time comes, she will just pick up her bag to wait for school bus. And just when she is getting better, the school holiday kicks in........... Hai

Anyway was sharing with a friend about the problem i have with Megan like what i shared here..... she gave me some advice and it works pretty well with megan.

Her advice is to always avoid confrontation as even kids these age have lots of pride.... the more you ask them to do, the more they don't want to. So like the make up thingy where megan mess up my table and snatch my make up and run away.... despite asking and threatening, refuse to give in....

My friend said instead of cane and threatening, i should just give her instruction to put the make up back on the desk and walk away. By doing do, i can avoid a confrontation with megan and at the same time give her space to react. If after 5 mins, she has not do so, remind again without threatening.

She shared a interesting thing that i almost neglected. Cos at that point of time, temper flare and we threaten with cane.... we are losing control ourselves and the kids learn.... want your way - threaten..... Which is not what we want. So by walking away, it shows them that you are not losing control and not threatening to get our way.

I tried these method on a few occasion and i find it easier to get megan to do things and i don't get angry or upset about the situation. Like i ask her to pick up the mess, i don;t stand there and watch her do. Rather i give instruction and walk away to let her have her own space to react without losing her pride of having to 'bow down' to the adults.

Yuki
That is a good approach. nowadays I use the word , Aden can you help mummy do this do that and he will do it and wait for me to praise him. ha ha

SL, Belinda
Noted our lunch today but subject to weather. If rain I cannot go.

BTW I din bring my mobile, please communicate via email. Please decide time and place. I will give you my office number via email

Flo, kept you in the loop too in case you are joining

Yuki

That's great! Yeah, esp since Megan is the type who needs the soft approach. Hmm, think I should also try this mtd on my boy to see if it works. Sometimes he can really frustrate me until we've to threaten with cane.

Hi Mashy,

At least cane works for you! haha....

The book i am reading "discipline without spanking and shouting" advocates the same thing. Avoid confrontation cos it makes us lose control. Plus always to bring ourselves to their level, eye to eye when discipline rather than standing up, threatening with cane.... That, they learn to 'bully'.... "I am bigger in size..." etc

yuki

that;s what i;m afraid of. Sometimes my boy will carry the cane and go ard 'punishing' stuff. Like when i scold him to hitting the LCD TV, he will take the cane and scold the TV! And sometimes, he'll break into a breath of scolding dunno what. So fierce. Think must have learnt from me coz i always scold him. sigh. I must learn to use the softer approach.

Another addition to my baking adventure. Baked donut with Charmaine coating and decorating it. For her teacher's day celebration. Aden munching away as she decorate

1673940.jpg

thanks to all mummies on the feedback on the infant care.

CL
I was also thinking of doing some baking with Ger. Can trouble you to share the pizza receipe again, pls. Pai sei.. wanted to copy it earlier then forgot. I went to buy the tomato paste yest.

CL - wah impressive lei! i always like baking but have not started as my 2 monkeys have been keeping me busy every weekends. maybe i will start baking when J is much older. hee...meanwhile, please safe keep all ur receipes for me.

SSF
me now in sdyney, staying near to the visitor's centre. So if u would like me to pick up some brochures for u, let me know :p

SSF,
Just to share. Last year during this time. Mamachan happen to pop by my place while i was busy baking cookies with my toaster oven ( my new toy oven is only acquired this Feb 08 as my present) Ha ha I was still asking her why my cookies all burnt and she can smell the cha ta smell. 1 year later with the right equipment ha ha I can bake woh

cheng
aiya, you're in sydney. I was still thinking of asking you whether you want to hv a playgrp on monday. I feel like taking leave since it's teacher's day.

hi mummies, took my maid for her health check. asked for the hep and hiv test. total $61. haha to have a piece of mind. told hb the amt is worth it la.

krissie - ya cheng is in sdyney enjoying her couple's time. back on Fri only.

CL - wats the brand of the oven you bought? must be super ex? $200+ or $300+?

krissie

I missed last year's babies prom. Heard it's good and wanna go this year. Hopefully can get tickets coz apparently it's opened to SSO members first before it opens to public.

mashy
oh, is it?? then we must quickly book when it opens on monday. maybe we can see each other there.

ky
I brot ger for the tick tack tock play today. thanks for the recommendation. he enjoyed it v much. I wanted to bring him to the rainbow fish, but sold out!

May
I saw the buggy board at Kiddy palace before. My Hb says babyhyper mart and robinsons sell it too. Cost I think it's 69.90 at Kiddy palace.

Yuki
Thanks for the pointer... I will try them out. Kae has been very challenging these days.

chillies
Thanks!!.. hiya.. went all the way to Birdpark today and it RAIN!!...ate a super expenisve fast food at the door step and went Jurong point shopping instead...

CL
wow you have more and more idea for baking liao.
Nice donut

krissie
i went to baby prom last year. my gal enjoyed it. this year i am trying to get the ticket, too.

CL
wah... so nice!!!
remember the books that i bought from you last time? after reading the same book to my gal for few weeks, now, she's 'reading' to us. haha...

krissie, glad ger likes the play .... we are going later, for once, we are going as a family (ie 4 of us).

for babies prom, we've been going since 2003 ... the format is the same year after year, but definitely very enjoyable for those who have been there once or twice. i paid for 2 tixs last year to bring both, but since I gotta pay for 3 this year, I'm thinking if should go.... sometimes, I wish they can go in themselves n I wait outside. oh, btw, I lost them for a while last year when they went up the stage ... so don't fret out if it happens to yours coz parents not allowed on stage but kids are allowed to roam while the orchestra play

.ky.

Re : Dental checkup
Brought damien for dental check up this morning and he did 3 fillings. Lucky the whole process was very good. He did not cry at all.....phew...Feel so proud of him.

krissie,
aiya...long time no playgroup, I want :p Next time u go on leave again, we arrange.

SSF
Went to the DFO factory outlet today. Have to travel quite far and so so only. More men clothing. So I recommend u give it a skip.

mashy
I'm not member.
I thot they are selling from tom. hopefully, we can get the tics.

ky
are u a member? since u hv been gg since 2003.. can help mashy and I to get, pls. I wld like 2 tics, pls.

cheng
actually, we can also do the playgrp on weekends. I was thinking of doing a baking playgrp.. heehee..

Krissie
Ha ha then must invite me hor. I oso want but Sat I am always packed. Do sunday can ? I sure can contribute raw materials so no need to buy. ha ha

cheng - oh really.. nothing on pumpkin patch? in that case, will give it a miss then. let me know if you have any other exciting places to shop or great bargains

Didn't come in for a long, long time... Was so busy struggling with studies, work and a hyperactive toddler.

Just quickly scan through. I can loan my ergo if any mummy wants to try or borrow for overseas trip. Will only need it from 25 Sep to 6 Oct. Afterall, I don't need it in Sg.

Krissie,
Delcare is good. Much better than where Charmaine's now. Would love to go back there except that where she is now is really much more convenient.

Re: RP lunch
Shall we rearrange for tomorrow? Still need to pass Belinda and CL your ON stuff... the weather these few days are real horrible though....

how are things Gals...? Its terrible for me.. Elijah has not been well for 3 weeks already so we stop school for 2 weeks as the chinese sinse advise.. so far so good.. due to allergy and lungs... then yesterday ezekiel has fever.. and a little cough.. doc suspect may be UTI due to his skin color.. now still observing... stress..

I will be back to work next week.. haiz a little worried about the health of the kids as the weather these day alittle haywire..

CL
of coz will invite u if we hv lah.. let me check my diary and we can arrange for a suitable date for all.

sl
let me know when's the RP lunch. Will join in if i hv the car tt day.

mashy
u're rite. I just called and they said tt we cant buy. sob sob..

Paging for SSO members.
can help us to buy tickets for the babies prom, pls. thanks!

Krissie
ha ha you make me feel like going for the SSO shows.

Rena
If need be, maybe take another week off to ensure the kids are well so you can go back to work in peace. Rest well too. Hope they get well soon

SSF
I thot pumpkin patch is cheaper in NZ because sil bought for the kids when she was there for training.

sl,
if you don't mind,can i borrow your ergo to test it out?

rena,
hope your boys get well soon. ed is down with cough too.

Rena,
Hope Elijah is on the road to recovery and that it's not UTI for Ezekiel.

Aileen,
Ed's down with cough too? I think many kids are these days.

Meg is also down with phlegmy cough and running nose. Fever for 3days last week. This is the second attack of cough/flu/fever within one month. Can faintz cos it's sooo difficult feeding her meds as she will spit out or gag herself to vomit. So this time we decided not to even start her on the antibiotics prescribed by PD cos she vomits them out anyway. Slower road to recovery but on choice.

Burn a big hole of $300 when i brot her to PD together with Duncan who was there to take his jab and rotavirus vaccine! #(*&$^

rena - UTI? same as my younger son. He just recovered. need to go for further checkup though. Does he has fever that never go away? do a blood test is the best. last time when we go KKH for high fever, doc do not want to do blood test say...monitor for 3 days. but his fever keep hovering and we went back the next day and insist doc do a blood test and true enough, its UTI. so sometimes, must insist..cannot imagine having to wait 3 days later before doing the blood test. its mentally exhausting having to watch over the kid thru the night and not knowing why the fever never subside.

CL- I alos don;t know. i read in the recent papers abt this lady who brought her son to Sydney and claiming its a child friendly place. in it, she said pumpkin patch is so cheap at the direct factory outlet. so told cheng to go check it out. sigh! appears it not so cheap after all. will have to write that off my itinery. hee...

Tracy,
ya ed is down. it's his 2nd bout in a month too! so sick of it!

SSF,
when I went to goldcoast and visited their factory outlet, I saw pumpkin patch but it's not cheap. about $9.90 for a normal T after discount. Well to me that's not much of a discount! :p

Aileen/sl
Oops! I didn't see Aileen's posting to you sl, I PMed you to check if it's ok that I borrow the ergo carrier for my upcoming BKK trip from Sept 11 to Sep 14. Aileen, if you need it urgently, you go ahead bah.

mamachan,
it's ok, i only want to test it out. you need it sooner than me. u take it first. moreover the date which i'm travelling is 28 sept - 2 oct. and sl will need it herself then. i'm also not very sure if ty will be willing to be strapped in it.

Re: Ergo

I borrowed it from my friend once for my trip to Japan last year. Unfortunately, he hates it. Refused to be strapped. So depended on the stroller most of the time.