(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
Urgent....I've PM you.

Just a word of advise, we can discuss our views of the announced baby bonus scheme but we should try to avoid going into discussing supposed details of our ministers' personal ways/upbringing as this is still an open forum and lawsuite have had ensued over said/typed things on the internet. Don't wish to see any of us getting into unnecessary trouble (lawsuits) because we literally speak what we feel.

We can discuss/gossip over MSN or when we meet, but not over an open forum. Hope you get what I mean yah? Just being concerned and also for 'Just-In-Case'

mashy
I don't think that the government have forgotten the SAHMs lah....coz if they suddenly to give out attractive incentives...we would be seeing 1/4 of the Singapore workforce quitting their jobs to be SAHMs within the next 1 year and our economy will suffer. I think they might look into incentives like giving more tax incentives to the hbs supporting their SAHMs? I know it sounds unfair.....

But let's hope they support the SAHM by offering the dads better incentives like tax exemptions, etc... or when they give out the annual "hongbaos", hopefully SAHMS will get abit more or something in that sense.

Sy
noted. You want 2 refills or 1 refillable and 1 refill leh ?

Before I crack my brain, will look at your blog and order first ha ha

May and QUeen
Happy for you gals.. and Big Big congrats!! mummies in this thread tend to pregger together

Things always happen when least expected!!

Cl
i wan 1 refillable and 1 refill.
i still haven finish the scrapebook for my parents cos no tape!

think if i have time i wan to do one for the kids next.

mamachan
Actually the tax incentive is best for 2nd kid above. Cos there will be a parenthood tax rebate which is like 10K for both working mum and dad.
If only dad is working.. then he can off set all future income tax from the 10K which is a lot I feel.
Now with 2 kids, my hb and I no need to pay income tax for next fews to come which I'm very happy

Re: incentive for grandparent
my MIL make a remark ytd.. hmm.. why Govt never give bonus in money to grandparent who take care of grand children? I told her actually Govt give tax rebate in income tax, then she say.. give income tax rebate money never land in my hand ma...
Faintz... I wonder if that is a very obvious hint for me to give her money!! gosh.. I better start planning.
All the while it's my HB who give her allowance..

SY,
Noted. You huh. I email you my order liao.

Cookie
After makan, I need to go Bloom at raffles city to change a dress. We can either eat at Raffles city or we eat at seah street. Easier for you to take bus. Can have sandwich at Ah Teng or chicken rice at swee Kee

Cookie
You are right because me and hb not paying tax for 2 years liao.

Ha ha difficult to give $$ because ha ha possibility of asking for more or will feel it is too little. So better to buy presents or makan stuff or give her a break sometime bring her hi tea. Last time when my mil is around, we have a women get together hi tea with mil and sil, or if she ask about something, we share and give her. So it is power of all sil and daughter then no need to complain.

CL
during MIL birthday I gave her angbao la..cos she dun wan us to bring her dinner.. so I better give her angbao on special occassion to make her happier

I'm ok with raffles city or seah street.. err is the carton box big? if big then mayb seah st bo I got to lugg around :p
Maybe we can eat the curry fish head place? they sell small one? feel like curry fish head today..hehe

mamachan
quick quick.. dun be too slow..kekeke..
but make lotsa difference not to pay tax kekeke..
tho I dun earn alot but still money saved!

Hi SY,
I send you a email but not sure if you receive it.
I am now working in hillstreet so would like to collect the medela funnels. so sorry, was so tied up with my 2 girls that I seldom come to the forum and can't arrange to meet you to collect. Are they still with you? I think I have not pay you as well.

Amy, didn't know that you are pregnant again. Congrats on your 3rd child.

So many mummies are pregnant with the 2nd child. Congrats Rachel, Clare and May.

Queen,
Congrats! I also have some worries over my 2nd girl when I found out I was expecting her because I just went for a chest x-ray the week before the pregnant kit gave a postive. I checked with my gynae and he reassured me that it's harmless. My girl turned out very well, adorable and chubby. heehee. Check with your gynae. are you going to use Dr Lawerence again?

Cookie
hahaha, I told my hb over the phone that some of those with #2 need not pay tax le...his eyes widened and asked so when is my run gonna be over...I just signed up for the Great Eastern Women's 10k run that's taking place in Oct. kekeke.

So likely we will only benefit the tax exemption come 2010 only.

Mong
kekeke yes yes.. pregger with #3 now.. and almost due soon *stress* in Oct.
Now trying to get prepared all over again

mamachan
you and hb so funny...but it's true.. it's not pay less tax.. for me and hb is NO NEED to pay hahaha.. so try soon :p

Hi Rachel and mummies

Talking about terrible 2s....... i guess teh one i experience with Ashley is very mild compare to now.........

Megan is very stubborn, can cry and scream all the way.... i have use soft and hard method... but she can persist... one example:

She saw me putting make up and wants to put on make up too. Told her she's too young to do that and she replied "Then i mess up your table!" and proceed to wave her hand to upset my make up on the table. When i scolded her, she took one of my eye make up and run away. I chase after her and ask her to return, she kept her hand behind and refuse to return. I threaten to beat her with the cane, she stillr efuse to give in. End up i cane her twice on her thighs... She cried really loud BUT still refuse to hand over the stuff .... i had to force her and pry open her hand to return the stuff...... really don't know what to do with this girl.

She can ask to go playground at 1030pm and i said it's too late already... she insisted and cried and shouting "Now, now, now.... I want to go playground now!"....and continue for the next 10 mins..........

Really very challenging........... not to mention tiring.......If it's weekend, i can experience at least 5 episodes of such defiant daily....... My mum used to be a nanny and look after many kids and she said never had one so stubborn....

To Clare, May and Queen

Congratulations. Guess the baby bonus will still come in handy.

How does the tax rebate works huh? you mean the 10K to offset the tax you have to pay or they take 10K off your income to assess the tax? Makes a lot of difference!

Yuki
Wow.. ur gal really stubborn.. I was told by my hb that last yr his income tax was taxed amt abt $4K+. IRAS used the $10K to offset the $4k+ so we no need to pay tax to IRAS...

Cookie,
Really peifu you! At this moment I cannot imagine having #3. I keep thinking maybe when both kids are older bah, but i know if i wait too long i will not wanna give birth anymore liaoz.

Yuki,
Your Megan sounds really like my Megan. Last Saturday evening my mum gave Meg some $$ and told her ask mummy bring her shopping. Meg immed went to daddy and said,'Bye daddy!' I asked her where she's going, she said,'shopping with mummy lor'. So we told her it's not today, the shops are closed etc. She refused to accept it and threw a tantrum...had to use chocolate to distract her. And when she was eating the chocolate, some dropped on the floor and we told her cannot eat those, she went into tantrum again and went into bigger tantrum when she saw my dog eating them up!

Sometimes when she goes into tantrum and we can't do anything to pacify her, I just grab her and hug her tightly and let her cry it out. It works so far but rather tough to hold a struggling kid tightly.

Hi Fion,

Yes Megan is very stubborn. Just that day, she chase my MIL's maid into the kitchen and refuse to let her come out to the living room. The maid stay in the kitchen in order not to make her cry and shout. But i cannot let it happen else there will be a second time. I instructed Megan to go into the room instead and the maid is allow to go anywhere, need not take instruction from Megan.....

Megan likes to cut paper into small pieces and refuse to pick up.... Coat her gently with sweets, with praises etc doesn not make her pick up. Neither do cane ...... Hai.....

If the 10K can be used to offset the tax, it would be great! Can save money!!! Think we didn't apply or submit when filling income..... My civil servant hubby just click submit every time cos the income etc all auto fill in by government.... must ask him to look out next year! Anyone knows is there a time limit for the rebate?

Hi Tracy,

Talking about shopping, i was at Larry Jewellery to replace my lost wedding ring - Ashley casually walked over to the counter and tell the sales lady that she like that item... i turn and look at what she 'choose', it turn out to be a 10 carat lazare cut diamond that cost a whopping $1.7 mil!!!!! I told ashley her futurn hubby will have a hard time. Haha....

I have never see a $1.7 mil diamond before till then. haha

Yuki

wah, ashley better find a rich husband, else can't afford. hahahah.

C also likes to play with my makeup. He'll take my eyelash curler and attempt to curl his eyelashes! Hahahaha.

Today, he cried again. sigh. Refused to keep his shoes after he returned from school. Just stayed on the floor and cry. After that, refused to bathe again. so tiring....

Yesterday my hb has decided to send my #2 to MMI Pre-sch end of this yr. At that moment I was thinking when we tried to send him there before, he cried so badly.. This time, i think will be the same things happen again... I know i hv to overcome this situation but is really sad to see him this way... 8(

Fion,
No choice... it's a matter of sooner or later.
Give it a try, who knows it will be better this time.

Mongs,
I'm quite worried... will be seeing Dr. Ang this Friday even though I think it's too early, only about 5 weeks. I'm going to Perth next week as well, so all these kind of worries me.

May,
Estimated using the online calculator, I'm into 4+ weeks. EED would be late April.

Re. Baby perks
I think it's a half-hearted attempt lah, at least on the leave portion. No compulsory paternity leave... it's a big letdown. Will have to see how attractive is the $$$ though.

I don't mind goign for #3 if it's attractive enough (though my #2 is not even out yet). heeheh

Queen,
Most likely I will be deciding on C-sect end of March. But must see how big is the baby first. Currently it is smaller than the usual range. In April 09 mummies' thread, 7wks baby is 1.9cm. I use online calculator, according to LMP, mine 6wks baby is 0.16cm. It could be my mis-calculation of O day or perhaps I am too weak. That's why I am on Duphaston now. Hopefully the baby is strong enough to pull thru.

SSF/Mashy/SY
as for today, dylan did not cry bcoz i made a attempt to show him with more attention and control my voice when i lecture him. it works but very challenging ar! not sure what cause this kind of behaviour to cry/whine at the slightest thing but it sure got to do with the way we respone to them. hope this phase get over soon!

May
I will =)

re: Income tax
my eye widen too when saw you girls saying no need to pay income tax with 2 kids... ohhh can save quite abit of money here!

abit disappointed there is no additional benefits for the daddies when comes to childcare. those current 2 days parent leave are just not enough...

Queen
U are sure thinking ahead..
but looking at last nite speech, seems like the perk are not in 2nd or 3 rd bb. I hope there are more benefit which meant for 2nd and 3rd bb in Mr KS wong annoucement else I will be disappointed :p

tracy
hmm.. dun have to peifu me, I dunno if I can do a good job ahahha.. I was very stress up initially as u know it's unplanned for. But I do believe whatever God has blessed me with, He will make a way for me

I havent make space to accomodate #3 clothings..of course the good thing is.. I dun new clothes for meimei anymore.. all from kae even kyler.
Right now.. if I'm not pregger I wun think the 2K are still ok to handle. Perhaps I'm pregger now, I'm always tired and irritated.

Hi Tracy and Mashy,

Yeah... Larry's diamonds are of good grade and different cut.... but never expect so expensive... It's just the diamond alone, not even made to a ring or anything.... I think i am 'blinded' by the price tag then the diamond. haha.

Rachel
Dad can take up to 6 day FCL leave in the new policy!!..and if necessary also 1 week UNPAID leave as infant care leave as long as bb is less than 2 yrs old. But I find the unpaid leave very not attractive la. if got annual leave.. why take unpaid...

oh and... kae has been like this too.. cry and whine at the slightest thing. Its very trying for me too.. when she cry running to me.. it's diffcult not to attend to her and she is also really testing my patience sometimes..
I also hope it's a phase..old folk will saymaybe cos I pregger.. so didi and her a bit more clingy than usual.. I wonder...

Yuki
Ashley has expensive le... for 1.7mil I would buy a house instead hehehehe...

For the parenthood tax rebate it is used to offset the AMT of income tax u need to pay IRAS for the YA. NOT to offset chargeable income.
Those to offset chargeable income are reliefs

Is the 6 days shared between dad and mum?

hi cookie,

Yeah. Good idea. can buy house instead.
Maybe can even buy two houses or just one bungalow.

Oh, now i know we have been 'shortchange' and have been silly to keep paying income tax for the past few years......... Hai......

Yuki

Yes, it's supposed to. But nobody will know lah. U think the HR so free keep checking esp if hb and wife not working in same company? Last time my hb and I same co, they also didn't bother until we found out by accident that we're supposed to share the childcare leave. Hahaha.

Yuki
some say 6 days shared, some say 6 days each wor..wait fro KS Wong to annouce details :p
ya lor.. buy 1 house and get rental better..
me very practical hahaha.. rather than diamond ring. Perhaps I still like diamond rind but no need to exp one kekek...

Aiyooooo, u check IRAS website and u read under parenthood rebate on how it work. u can share the 10K with your HB if both working. For 1st time, u need to do the indication online so IRAS know hoe many % each of you share.

Hi Yuki ... U can write in to amend your income tax submission, I think. I've incorrectly submitted mine couple of years ago and have to re-submit. But it takes quite a while to get adjusted.

Anyway, on sahm being "recognized", I guess I've stopped hoping that govt would do anything to recognize our efforts... like mamachan said, if govt makes staying-at-home attractive, then every woman who have vaguely thot abt it would gladly leave the workforce and who's going to work? He's never ever dare to bring this up in official talks when it comes to incentive scheme before ... the only thing he did vaguely said last nite was when he was comparing the countries having more working mums vs those staying at home and it's the former countries that are having a higher birth rate. Having said that, I think a little help would really really help ... like I'm sick today, and hubby would have to take AL to stay home to help ... and since govt can grant paid additional maternity and childcare leave, why can't they grant such medical leave for hubbies ... anyway, like i said, no point wishing for anything much.

.ky.

Hi KY,

Lazy to write in. If there is no time limit, will offset next year and the year after next etc.

I always thot it is strang that the childcare subsidise etc are higher for working mum.... i mean single income family need more subsidy isn;t it? Why give it to working mum? But i guess it's a chicken and egg thing..... Like what ky says, the scheme is more to encourage woman to work after child birth....

I think more importantly is to cultivate correct mindset in pte and maybe even gov companies to be more pro family. Leave office on the dot, less OT etc...

guess we all have to wait for awhile more for the final detail announcement to be made. no point doing guessing game now too.

i share ky's point too, as i did not pin too much of a hope for the govt to give away very attractive package. it also takes time for the govt to make certain adjustment as they need to take into many considerations which include the empolyers. progress needs time and things might go hay wire if govt give too much of bonus too. our govt is testing water and by next year, more will come.

about the 6 days CCL, better than nothing. thats what i feel. on the 4 mths ML, it depends on how the company and the mother see it too. many of my friends have to go back to clear their work even before the 3 mths ML is up. they do not have a choice, since the boss require them to report to work. if not, there goes their job and performance record......

Yuki
Actually, I feel that government giving more incentives for the working moms in the hope to bridge the need for childcare when we are away at work. what's the difference between CC and kindies? CC is to cater for working moms with not much help at home, to care for the children more than just educating them. Of course nowadays most CC have a very all-rounder system where they boast of following certain renown curriculum.

Kindies serves the start of "formal, proper" education when they turn 3 years onwards. It's for the purpose for them to learn in shorter hours and thus cheaper fees as compared to CC.

So in a way, for those of us who send our children at this age to CC/playgroup, despite that we have help at home or stay-home moms, to start learning and picking up social skills etc, it's what we want to do much more than the national guideline where they start their nursery at age 4. But I guess it's in our KS nature (me included) that we don't wish our little ones to lose out too much in this competitive and academic society.

End of the day, incentives are just incentives to encourage us to have children. The number of children at the end of the day is about personal choice. At least some things are in place to show that the policy makers are trying their best to cultivate a more family friendly work envrionment. Coz they not only give us parents incentives, they have to extend a more attractive incentive to companies (MNC and SME) to employ women...all these takes money...and the money comes our economy which also comes from a sustainable workforce.

The funny thing is that when initially we complained that we have no time for children and spend time with family, over the years, the policy makers tried shifting and promoting the 5-day work week so that we have more time for family on weekends and evenings, now we are asking for more monetary returns.... hahaha we are really hard to please.

CL - ya i think many sales ppl are not thinking of having any kids as they are so goal oriented. their basic is not fantastic so they really need the commission to boost their pay. and in some co, if you don;t meet target, you are ask to leave.

cookie - me and hb are also very happy abt not paying taxes for at least the 2 yrs to come. heee..really give me more money for shopping. haha..

mamachan - ya we are certainly hard to please. not easy to raise kids..so must reward us then we will "work" hard. haha...but with that said, frankly it does not tempt me or hb even with the 4 mths maternity leave. i think we will just settle for 2 as no one can help us to look after if we have another one. my mum is also old and want to enjoy life. not fair to put too much burden on her. with that said, next time i will tell my sons...ur kids pls look after urself. haha...me and hb want to enjoy life and see the world. hee..

went to m'sia 2 weeks ago, was being requested by the m'sia custom to change damien's passport photo. the current passport photo was taken when he was 4 mth old. Has anyone encoutner this yet?

Belinda,
uh oh...i'm planning to bring Meg to M'sia in Oct and hoping I dun hv to change her passport. Now cannot change photo right? If change photo means issue new biometric passport? Means pay $$??

Cl
ok will check your order.

mongs
i saw your emali but am on maternity leave now. m going to city hall tmr. can u pick up tmr?

Tracy,

i think got the change the whole passport. I renewed my passport at the same time when i first applied for the passport already biometric. Not sure if we can just only change the photo or not. Checked in the website. They never meantion anything of updating the photo ley.

Damien is still having fever, not very high but around 37.8. Today already the 4th day. Bringing for blood test later. Pray hard that it is not dengue.

Berlinda
Normally children develop fever can be last for 3-5 days and usually is on and off. Did he have any symptom like vomit, diarrhoea? Dun worry, i dun think is dengue. It could be just a normal fever..

discussions on open forums
I agree with Mamachan. Pls do not discuss details of specific persons here as that could get you into defamation lawsuits or similar trouble.