(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy
so the grunting is normal. she did that again from 4am onwards. so fed up that i put her on my bed with me and latch her to keep her quiet...

SH
envy!!

mamapanda
hope that u will recover soon...

cookie
which sch is kae at?

mamapanda
rest well and bu your body back. take care.

CL
will contact you on collecting the toothpaste. thanks.

cookie
thanks for your help with the toothpaste!

Mamapanda,
Really sorry to hear about the pain that you have to go thru. Have a good rest.

SY,
They say every baby is different. How true isn't it? Duncan and Meg are quite different in terms of behaviour. Duncan is easily pacified. If milk is not ready at his feeding time, we just need to play with him to distract him and he's ok with it. Whereas for Meg, I remember when she wanted milk, it means NOW.

Sunny
yes kae taking school bus to school. 1st day I took with her.. feel so funny to sit between all the small kids :p, then 2nd day she took on her own. I suppose to on leave and meet her in school while she take school bus.. but since she is fine, I cancel my leave.
I was worried abt school bus at first but now ok cos there is aunty on bus and she take note of youngest children on board.
On way back, the bus aunty arrange kae to sit with older gals - K1 and K2 level and ask them to take care of kae while she sit the inner most seat by the window.
The journey is ok and I also monitor how the driver drive and Aunty handling kids.

Yuki
kae separation anxiety stage was very very brief, all the time when we bring her playgroud, she will play along very well. I'm blessed in this way
but like I say.. some part of me , was hoping she can "cling" to me more :p but I'm happy I dun have to struggle much.
I also read some expereince from other mummies that sometimes todd can suddenly change their attitude towards school..
So I'm praying that kae will continue this way for good and learn and enjoy school

SH
Oct in Korea is autumn.. wow very romantic wor..
Have a good time!

Yuki
kae will be "repeating" pre-nursery again next yr. She is 2006 kid.

tracy
U are so right.. kae and kyler is soooooo different
kae take the hard approach,will tame down when we turn stern, kyler take the soft approach, he cannot be reprimanded at all, the louder he cry.
They are special in their own ways

SY
kae is with Riverlife now.

MamaPanda
Oh dear....am so sorry to hear about the pain and the chemo-jab that you have to take. Do take care and I hope this painful episode will be soon over!

SH
Wow! Korea in October! Just you and hb going?

cookie
So happy to hear that Kae is adjusting well to going to school and she's so brave to take the school bus on her own too! I guess perhaps they are older now and more independent, can deal much more easily with the separation anxiety. Let's hope that this will continue for a longer time to come.

Yuki
2006 for our toddlers is actually their pre-nursery while nursery is for 4 years onwards. So for our fellow moms whose children are born Dec 2005, their todds should be considered in pre-nursery now. So actually your mom is not wrong in suggesting Megan and let her attend a pre-nursery class next year instead.

Any moms went to the Craziest Toy Fair last Sunday? There was lots of good buys and cheap too. It reminded me of the time where a small group of us went to "cheong" at the toys warehouse sale.

Any of the toddlers here can write already?
I remembered tabbiesus sharing how her girl was able to draw a smiley face? Lately, my boy was able to draw his own interpretation of a happy face on his doodle board. And during meal time while waiting for food to be served, he attempted to write 10, 11 and 12! Though his "2" was not perfect, but could see that he's got the concept of the strokes. He likes to doodle and scribble and form letters T, M, N, V... just wondering if any other todds are doing this in their writing/colouring time?

mamapanda
take care and rest well.

CL
Did I mention.. your cup cake very steady wor..
Nice to bake for own kids...I should do it one day BUT I must get a oven first keke...

Rachel
u r welcome

mamachan
Kae can only draw apple which looks more like a pear

Not writing in anyway yet...

where was the toy fair? over already? my didi birthday coming.. din buy lotsa toy for him.

cookie
The Toy Fair over le...last day was 3 August. We bought the aqua doodle set for him which makes use of water. Interesting concept. My maid bought more toys than us coz she's getting ready to send toys back as Christmas presents for her adopted children. I did tell her that some of the things are pretty much good deals and can't be compared to that in Toys 'R' us

Mamapanda
Take good care of yourself.. and think positive.

Mamachan
Wow.. ur boy knows how to write oredi. My boy still dunno yet.. but he only knows how to draw lines 8(

Morning Mummies!

MamaPanda
Sorry to hear about your loss and the pain you're going through. Think its good that you opt for D&C asap as oppose to waiting for it to discharge itself. Every thing's gonna be fine dun worry.

Yuki
Hahha Megan is so funny... I actually imagine her arms outstretched towards grandma and calling out pitifully "help me help me".

MamaChan
Daren is really good! Ashley likes to "Xie Zi" (write) but all she does is doodle circles over and over again (like "@") in long strokes till it almost fills the page. Tried to teach her to write in short sharp strokes but she's not keen.

Fion/Clare/Mashy
I think they all start out by drawing lines? My boy has been attempting to draw circles and then scribble lines. Now sometimes when he doodle, and if it's in a similar shape to some objects he knows, example, fish, he will use his imagination and call it "fish, yu" when it looks more like a microscopic amoeba. haha

I guess coz he always doodles and draws on the doodling board almost everyday. Now he likes to make us sit with him and asks us to hold his hand to write the individual alphas and numbers. Great bonding time and he's learning the strokes as well.

mashy
Eh, apparently the toy fair was 1 month long at the Ngee Ann City Times Square. I was there only on the last day and by then, it looks like alot of things were snapped up over the weeks. I managed to do some early Christmas shopping. If I've known earlier, would have given a shout out in this thread.

Mamachan
end up we did not went to the crazy sale =( our packed schedule had no space for this. sob sob

heard there is a baby fair coming up.

dylan do writes a few numbers but now he is into playing tick tack toe =p he will demand us to play with him. he will happily draw the lines and start the game by drawing a circle in one of the colume. quite fun but we tends to get bored but he can keep on playing.

Clare
I was pleasantly surprised that my boy recognizes the Chinese characters of 1 to 10! I thought to expose him more to the simple Chinese characters that I know of lah and wrote on his doodle board, so he could say it out in Chinese! I was stunned! So for him, going to school is to pick up whatever Chinese lessons they have. Coz I really don't want him to be "Jiak Kan Tang" like me and have to work extrememely hard to pass my Chinese in Primary and Secondary school.

Rachel
Wah seh!! Dylan is really advance!! Can play tic-tac-toe? Coolz! Very easy to entertain!

Chinese Enrichment
Need your inputs, do you think it's too early to look for Chinese enrichment classes for our Todds now? I'm just thinking if it'll be useful to go with D for such classes to expose him more to Chinese? Or should I wait till he's a little older like 3 or 4 years?

Mamachan,

i think elijah is like tat too.. he will attemp to draw car and train and fish but non of them really look like the actual thing.

RE: CC
lately i realise tat the child care that elijah goes to is quite good. they actually get elijah to take care of the smaller kid as they knew that he has jsut promoted to be kor kor. he is very cute when he came home he will take di di nappy to make boster for him..

he has been learning the days in a week and lately he can spell July and the number 4..
i am quite impress..hm.. neighbourhood CC also not bad..

Mamachan
he could be too engross in getting his 3 circles in a row that he will forget to block us =p he loves to play siccor paper stone too.
i teaches him chinese through books for now, he reconginse some of them too. will observe how he responds then decide. i find that speaking to our todd in mandrain for now is a good way of exposing them to chinese.

Wow... looks like every child here are picking up except my boy... dunno when he is going to hv interest in these area???? He only like to watch Hi-5 vcd... and sometimes he do follows those movement and music la... i did tried to let him watch like Thomas & friend, Barney, Your baby can read.. he shows no interest & looks boring to him leh... Sigh..

Rena
Elijah independent & a good helper leh.. ur boy so sensible and u should hv no more worries liao.. ;p

Rachel

I tried speaking to my boy in Mandarin and he treats me like transparent glass leh. Argh! HOw ah?

Rena
U must be so happy to see your boy so guai.

Hi Mamachan ... I do intend to send K to Berries next yr. Thinking ahead that he'll not be going to school soon, I think he deserves to get some form of "formal classroom" lesson. I saw Berries materials and basically it's not what we can't do at home (likewise many of what's "taught" in classroom to our kids now) ... but it depends on your own priority. Each kid is different; for my older son, he picks up chinese in school rather than from me, but for K, I find he's more a audio/visual learner and it's easier for him to pick up stuff from me.

.ky.

MamaChan/Rachel
Wow your boys can recognize words in Mandarin and able to play tic tac toe... very "Li Hai" leh.. Ashley understands Mandarin from my mum but whenever we try to talk to her in Mandarin she will reply in English. Only certain words she will speak in Mandarin e.g. I wan to "Xie Zi" (write), "Kuai Dian" (hurry up)... ooh and she pick this up from the Taiwan Entertainment Show "Mao Zhua Lao Shu Zhua Ji Zhi? Mao Lai Le... MEOW!" (Literally translated to be: Cat Catch Mouse Catch How Many? Cat Coming... MEOW!" and she will do the whiskers action when she say Meow... quite funny esp with her ang mo accented Mandarin hahaha...

Mashy
Every Fri Ashley will get to bring home an English and a Chinese story book from her play group. So over the weekend I'll read both to her. When it comes to the Chinese book, I tell myself to speak ONLY Mandarin but to do in perfect and non-English infiltrated Mandarin, its really quite hard and many times I end up laughing at myself hahaha... Its worst when you ask the daddy to do it...Maybe you can try single words with C first... eg. asking questions that would prompt him to answer "Yao" and "Bu Yao" (want and don't want) and "Shi" and "Bu Shi" (Yes and No)

Mashy
My boy responds to us with "Dao!" when we call him by his chinese name. with right hand raised somemore. Slowly I suppose. I try to speak more mandarin with him at home but same as you lor, I get the blank look or he just goes on as though I'm transparent. But he does pick up individual words in chinese with regards to his favourite objects like Ball, Car, Fish, etc. I will play the Chinese version of Dora for him (my only chinese vcds/programmes that I ever have).

rachel/ky
I'm teaching him basic Cantonese words too, other than speaking Chinese, like during meal times, I would ask him to repeat after me to address my hb "Daddy Sek (Eat)", "Mummy, sek", etc etc. Or when he points and names to the various parts of our faces, I would repeat after him but in Cantonese. He's slowly picking up which I'm happy lah. But sad to say, despite after our parents session with the teachers 2 months back...my hb went back to just speaking English with the boy.... we're not consistent...so I guess a more "intensive" weekend 2 hour Chinese session would be better? I'm just looking around and thinking what's the ideal....

Clare
Ashley not bad eh!! I think she'll have an easier time being bilingual..... I really wonder when my MIL will realize that it's best to converse with my boy in Chinese/Cantonese so as to encourage him to be more bilingual than being ang moh... and it doesn't help that my boy have a hard time making out her english.

Rena
Neighbourhood CC is actually not too bad. The one that I send my boy to is a church-based but in neighbourhood CC lor. So long they are happy, that's what matters most.

Odyssey CC @ Alexandra
They just opened and directly opp my place! The concept looks interesting, so I went to call and enquire... I was shocked by their prices!!! Half-day: $1000 b4 GST and Full-day is $1300 b4 GST! Madness!!

Rena
Eh.. think i forgot to reply you. I'm leaving on Thurs night. Arriving Brisbane Fri early morning. Coming back next Fri.

I'm getting so excited about the coming trip... so many things to pack till I not sure where to start... =P

Clare
oh wow! So fast your Brisbane trip!! Have fun!!! I think can buy diapers from their supermarket (that is if Ashley is not off diapers yet), just pack a few to last the plane ride and 1st night...the rest can get from supermarket bah (won't know if it's super ex there or not)...but at least won't take up too much luggage space.

Yuki,
It's autumn. Not so gungho to bring JW to ski. :)

Cookie/Mamachan,
Not much of a romance...bringing along a big light bulb :p
Wow, the moment they turn 2, so expensive to bring them to tour...

Mamachan,
Wah...D is so smart. My boy is a TV addict. Sometime back he loves to watch the chinese TV serial (the one with the volleyball at 9pm). He like it so much that he even have an idol in there. He will keep calling Sixing (a character in the show) each time she showed up. Pretty funnie..but oso jia lat coz he is so exposed to all the junk TV shows

Sunny,
Have to persevere... remember some time ago I posted that I was facing pressure from my ILs to withdraw Isaac from school cos he was crying very hard before going to school. I put my foot down and told them we have to keep trying. Anyway, soon after, his crying lessen... we tried methods like letting him bring a toy to school and it seems to work. Now he doesn't cry anymore.

Clare,
Enjoy your trip! I also can't wait for my Perth trip on 29th Aug.

Re. Chinese / dialect
Isaac is picking cantonese as well. Can't really speak in sentences but he understands and can say a few words in cantonese. As for chinese, he can speak much better it in now. have to credit my ILs, they only speak Chinese and Cantonese to Isaac, though my FIL will switch to english sometimes. Isaac knows how to switch automatically. When speaking to my ILs, he speaks in Chinese. When speaking to us, he speaks in English.
But I don't think he can recognise Chinese characters though. He's quite ok with english... can read a few words.

Re. drawing
Isaac is not that advance... he loves to doodle and colour. He did draw a car (or rather, something with 2 distinct wheels and he claims it's a car) and apple.

Re. TV
Isaac is not interested in adult TV... he's really hooked on Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Pocoyo though (Cartoon network). He's quite funny... last sunday, me and HB were watching a Taiwanese drama on DVD and Isaac kept asking us to stop watching. But me and HB just ignored him. He walked over to the DVD player, press Stop and took out the DVD. My HB told him "cannot do that!" and Isaac replied, "No TV for you!" to my HB. We laugh like mad! He's repeating what we always say to him!

Re. toys
Are your kids still into toys? Isaac is playing the usual Thomas trains and all that but I see that he gets bored quite easily. So I bought him some puzzles and was surprised that he can now complete a few sets of 6-8 pieces puzzles without guidance.
How do you all entertain your kids at home?

queen

C has also become bored with his trains already. He used to be able to play with it whole day. I've Lego sets too for him to play. Now he just use the lego blocks to identify colours and does counting with it.

My bro just gave us a tricycle so we're teaching him how to ride it now. He managed to cycle a bit but think need to build up his muscles a bit first.

He's also playing with puzzles. Can easily do a 15pc puzzle now.

Last Sun, we just packed and sorted his toys, so now there's vehicles, zoo, trains, balls, puzzle, kitchen, doodle/colouring, playdoh, alphabet toys. For big toys, we have a home made tunnel made from cardboard (he still loves it), a motorised car, tricycle and swing. For the media part, he has tons of CDs which he plays them himself and DVDs.

That day my hb did up a list of activities that he can play so that whenever we need to think of something to do, we just need to refer to the list.

Well, if u count doing housework as entertaining them at home, u can include vaccuuming, packing, cleaning as well. heheh, my boy has picked up vaccuuming and he enjoys it.

mamapanda,
so sorry to hear about your loss. like the rest said, u can always try again and dont give up hope. i'm sure you are a strong mummy. rest well, and recuperate...

CL,
you are really one super mama. i really don't know how you can manage to juggle work, home,kids and hobbies so well. even with 2 maids, i find myself so tired at the end of each day. barely hanging there. C's cake and cupcakes are so pretty just like her! :D ok i'm going to get my butt moving and make gingerbreadman for ed this week. he has been bugging me for the longest time!

queen,
ed is still very into his thomas trains. he would play them without fail everyday. my boys are both very sunshine boys, so they are usually outdoors whenever they feel bored. i guess they feel couped up at home. ed is very good at cycling now so he'll usually be cycling his bicycle (with 4 wheels of coz) around the estate. my poor maid has to run after him coz he cycles really fast. and the more you chase, the fast he goes. prior to the mastering his cycling skills, he was hooked on the scooter. at home, usually he'll be either watching tv, or if i am home, i will make him do some paper work, like tracing or colouring or drawing. and he love to play catching ball with his daddy. i think that's about all we do with him. 99% play! :p

I need help here. Do you all have any good gynae to recommend that operate night clinic / on Sundays?

Last Sun, I tested +ve at home. Wanted to see gynae only a few wks later. But on Mon, there is some brown spotting. Went to see the gynae that delivered Jamie. He does not seems so caring as before and he was reading magazine while I am taking blood pressure with the nurse.

Done tummy scan and vaginal scan, he cannot find the sac. So he done a blood test for me. Results was out yday, I am confirm 5-6 weeks pregnant and was advised to go back 1 wk later to find the sac. He told me there are two possibility. first, the sac is too small to be discovered (I can see Jamie when she is 5 weeks old). second, it is etopic pregnancy.

As hb is not comfortable to leave me under his hands, he wants me to change gynae. Does any of the mummies has good gynae ? I am staying in Jurong West. Thanks in advance !

May,
Congrats! Looks like I have to pass you the Gap maternity top soon! Paisei for holding it so long. Don't worry too much now, stay positive.

May
i know of gynae that operate night clinic in cck area but not in jurong west. do you still have brown discharge now??

Clare
enjoy your trip!! Ashley so cute in picking up the Cat Catch Mouse =p

Mashy/Mamachan
i guess it takes time for your boys to respond more in terms of Mandarin. just like when they 1st started to pick up English and start using them. the more exposure the more they will pick up. give them the time. both my parent and PIL speaks to Dylan in Mandarin, so his mandarin is quite good. can form complete statements and have well understood conversation with us. on the other hand, his English is still at the stage of 2-3 words. he rather reply in Mandarin when i spoke to him to English, so i will ask him to reply to me in english instead. still got lots of work to do on this part. one thing is my FIL does speakd to him in Hokkien and Malay at times, he does picks up a few after him. haha

you girls are doing your part of letting them be bilingual, have seen parents with kids who are really banana.

Queen
Dylan loves Mickey clubhouse and Pocoyo too. at home, he is more into his activity books, painting, puzzles, games like tic tic toe & siccsor paper stone and card games. while over at my mum's, he will be into his toy vehicles and activity books. oh ya, he does like to help with the laundy and folding of cloths.

Hi May ... congrats! My gynae at Gleneagles start seeing patients at 7.30am, so I used to see her before I go off to the office. She's not cheap though but a very cautious and wonderful old & experienced lady.

Rachel, the gynae at CCK ... she's with Edinbourgh on the weeknights ... Dr Chia? hm ... I was her patient.

.ky.

rachel,
ya.. yday still got abit. I got crampy feeling, something like pre-mense. Once I eat the An Tai Yao (Utrogestan), the cramp is no more. Is the gynae that u are talking abt good? What is the name and contact? I dun mind travelling to CCK.

Thanks Fion and KY,
Abit far for me.. Thanks anyway.
My office is in Tuas and I am staying in Jurong West. Really thank you for sharing.

May
here you go, this gynae is quite popular with the mummies i know in Jan09 thread. quite a few of them are seeing him and find him good.

today the cinic is not open, you might want to call and check. thursday is open.

Thomson Women Clinic:
Blk 304 Choa Chu Kang Ave 4
#01-653
S(680304)
Dr Adrian Woodworth
6893 1227

May
don't mention it. meanwhile take care, do reduce on walking and plenty of bed rest. i too had crampy feel throughout my 1st trimester. did the gynae give you any med on the spotting?

COngrats May! Happy for you too! Take care and think positive.

Activities
We are still very much into pretend play with D. He will initiate the activities that he would like to do with us, from playing imaginary hockey, soccer or basketball, to playing racing cars, to reading to activities book to colouring/doodling to watching TV. He still makes good use of his old toys for pretend play. Would say he has quite a fertile imagination. But for ball games now like soccer, we're moving him to outdoors for that instead at home...his kick is very strong, can send the ball flying and knockin things over or hit the ceiling.

Channel 34 on Starhub
Daren is very into watching TV as well...his main favourites are Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Thomas the train and Jojo the clown.

Mamapanda
Rest well and recover soon. Take care.

May,
Big congrats!!! your wish came true.

CL
I'm so impressed with you.. can bake and scrap.. I hv zero skills. Is it C's birthday?

mamapanda
thanks.. we managed to find a clinic which was opened on Sunday and rushed down.