(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I'm not sitting on my hospital bed in Mount Alvernia. Had just completed my evacuation of the uetrus this morning. I'm ok. Minimal bleeding and alittle pain on the lower abdomen but other than that, I'm feeling generally ok already.

May
Do monitor the spotting throughout the week. I also started out with alittle brown spotting. Went to see doctor when the spotting started to get heavier but still no sign of period. The spotting stopped after I was given a jab and pills. Like you, the gynae also couldn't see the baby from the ultrasound scan and he also told me that either the baby is too small or I've had an ectopic pregnancy. so, took bHCG blood tests to determine which is the case and it turned out that mine was ectopic.

Anyway, the gynae that I'm seeing now is Dr Douglas Ong. He has 1 clinic in Mt E and another clinic in 10-Mile Junction, very near my place in bukit panjang. There's a thread on him in this forum. You should be able to find many postings and comments on him if you do a search here. If you're interested in seeing him, his telephone numbers are :

Bukit Panjang : 67628066
mt elizabeth : 67376855 / 67338880

Good Luck!

Channel 34 on Starhub
Oh I guess Mickey Mouse ClubHouse is the all time favourite. Ashley loves that too, she'll call out "everybody stand up do the Hot Dog Dance!! And when Pocoyo comes on she'll bend and swing her arms and imitate Pocoyo's dance. Another favorite now is Go! Diego Go! (1pm Kids Central). But its really funny that she simply dislike Thomas The Train. She'll point to the tv and shout "Thomas The Train!" and she'll quickly run and off the TV. Haha...

Clare
hee the 1pm slot has changed to Jojo the circus liao. i like to watch Go! Diego Go! with Dylan as it is quite educational and he will go along with Diego to indentify the sound and form the pics of the animals. guess Ashley finds it funny for the trains to have big faces and eyes rolling around =p

Mamapanda
rest well.

Hehehe, my boy doesn't watch mickey mouse clubhouse coz we've no starhub. Bet he doesn't even know who is mickey mouse.

We are subscribed to Mio TV CBeebies instead. So his staple includes National Geographics' Mama Mirabelle, Tickabilla etc, all british children's programmes.

His hot favourite now is Pooh Bear actually after i borrowed a DVD from the library. He kept going 'Pooh Bear' and wants to watch it.

Mamapanda,
Thanks. My report is still with my current gynae. I will go see him on Monday again to see the level of HCG. Because the nurse was quite brief on phone yday.
Most likely I will change to Dr Douglas Ong as I heard he is quite good.

Today I did not touch cold drinks and no more spotting, wonder if this is the cause of it.
I used to drink at least 2 cans of Coke per day. Now stopped everything.

Meanwhile, take care okie?

RE: Afternoon nap
Any of the toddlers here still taking afternoon nap or not at all?
My son recently refused to take a nap in the afternoon dunno y? He usually wakes up 7.30am-8am in the morning and should be feeling tired in the afternoon but he is very energetic leh. Ever tried before if he dun take a nap in the afternoon when during dinner time he will doze off... if let him hv a short nap, when comes to nite he will sleep at 11.45-12mn ;(

May
Actually try not to take any cold stuff in the first trimester esp coke or soft drink/food... is not so good for your health & bb as well.. do take good care and rest more. ;)

May
cold/cooling drinks and like coke is not ideal for our womb. weaken our womb actually. stay away from them as much as you can since you are having some spotting.

Fion
mine still needs afternoon nap, on average at least 2 hours. around 3pm+. if the weather is good he can nap for 3 hours+. he has his own bedroom and junior bed, so we have make it a habit to turn in on a fix time. no matter is he sleepy or not, he will be left alone in his room for himself to roll/sing/talk to sleep.

for the past 2 nights he came to our room in the middle of the night and ask me to dig his nose for him as his nose is blocked with dirt. after clearing his nose, he guai guai walk back to his room and continue with his sleep. i got a tough time getting back to sleep loh! =/

rachel
hahaha so cute, he came to ur room just to clear his nose blocked... well it's really hard on u, i can understand once u wake up very diff to get back to sleep.

wow.. he sleeps at least 2hrs!! How abt nite time can he able to sleep, & usually at what time he goes to bed? Very good leh... he can left alone in his room till goes to sleep. How u train him?? Wanna to learn from u.. ;p

Mine, sometimes will wake up in the middle of the nite due to coughing, suddenly cant find me and starts to cry. It is quite troublesome for me to go in and out of his room cos once i wake up i hardly get back to sleep again.. Until now he still sleeping with me
I wanna to train him to sleep in his own bedroom... but always failed. I'm afraid if he get used to it & continue to sleep with me it will be very hard to correct him liao...

Fion

My boy takes 3hrs nap in the afternoon at abt 1pm after lunch. He sleeps in his own bed in his own room but we have to accompany him until he falls asleep. Sometimes he'll wake up at night and scream for us. At night, he sleeps at about 10.30pm.

If you really want him to sleep in his own bedroom, you have to let him cry. If you can't bear to do it, then forget it. Wait till he's older and understands that he needs to sleep in his own room. No point trying so hard when you can't bear to do it. In the end, you'll give in when he cries and the whole cycle will start again. He'll think that by crying, he can get his own way.

Or if your boy is mature enough type, u can go shopping for a junior bed with him and let him know that he's now a big boy and make the whole shifting thing a big deal with lots of celebrations and party.

My boy's classmate's mom taught me that have to let them sleep in their own room from 6mths. I regretted shifting my boy only when he's 1 year old. Made it so hard for us.

Fion
its all about habit really and train them since young is what me and hb believe strongly in. he gets into bed by 11pm latest after his milk and brushing of his teeth.

i started to let my boy sleep alone since he was 3 mths old, started using the cry out method when he was around 4 mths old. by 5 mths old he was able to sleep through the night in his own room alone. although i do kena plenty of scolding from my mum on how cruel i am to leave him alone in a room all by himself. still i find it is all worth it as me, hb and dylan really has a good night sleep. thus since young he knows he will sleep alone. only when comes to hot season then we will have sleep-together nights on and off and enjoy the air con! haha recently we had some sleep-together nights and we observed that he was really happy getting ready for bed with us sleeping with him. to him, it seems to be a bonus bah. but those nights are the nights i can't really sleep well bcoz i tends to wake up to check on him when i heard him toss and turn beside me.

at this age, it is more of a challeng le. but there are mummies here who successfully shift their kids to their own room. get him to choose his own bed, wall decor, curtain etc. these will help him to be prepare to sleep on his own.

mashy
Wow.. ur boy takes 3 hrs nap!!! and able to sleep at 10.30pm good leh.. cos i heard my ppl said if takes longer hrs for nap then nite time diff to go to bed early.. but urs not bad can go to bed as usual time... I think I should starts train them from young to let them know that they hv their own bedroom...

rachel
Pei fu ni leh, can let him alone when he is 5mths old... i think ur mom will appreciate ur intention if u explain to her.. As u mentioned that now he sleeps in ur room, wat happen he get use to it how... ?? This is wat i'm afraid for, let them enjoy the aircon while sleeping with us and slowly become their habit to come in everynite.. ?? 8(

Fion

10.30pm early? I've friends' kids who go to bed at 8.30pm! I wish my boy can do that too.
He's also quite fussy at bedtime, wants me to massage him, pat him etc. A lot of rituals to get him to sleep. But now i let my hb do that job lah. And he takes night duties too. I'm like you, once i wake up, i have difficulty going back to sleep whereas for my hb, he can just roll over and go back to sleep. So I've handed over the night duties to him. If not, I'll be so tired in the day, get a splitting headache and I can't do anything right.

I also let my boy sleep in my room once in a blue moon. If you don't make it everyday, then it's ok. Don't make it consecutive nights. The most just once a week. I once asked my boy whether he wanted to sleep with us. He rolled abit on our bed, couldn't sleep and went back to his room. Hahah. Now that he's used to his own room and bed, he doesn't wanna sleep with us anymore.

Fion
ya you are right, my mum is quite impress haha. even came to our place to spot check on his darling grandson bedroom. still she said sleep together is good bonding, then i replied her that we bond with him in many other ways e.g. we bath together etc etc. then my mum eye big big and confirm with me again about the bathing together. was quite funny to see her OMG look kekeke.
what i shared earlier he went back to his own room after i cleared his nose for the past 2 nights. he got the idea that he still has to sleep on his own afterall. he does on n off sleep with us when we visit my PIL and on hot nights. he gets the idea, no bargain =p

Fion
My boy, like Rachel's, sleep on his own in his own room when 4.5 - 5 months old. Back then my hb, MIL and own mother thought I was being too much to let him cry it out to sleep. But it took within one week for him to get the idea that lights out at 9 plus pm is sleep time and since then, he's been sleeping through the night. Now, his routine is that by 8.30pm, he gets ready for bed with his evening bath and then milk...by 9pm, it's lights out le.

In fact, sleeping early was something we instilled in him since he was few months old. Though it meant that we sacrificed our own staying out late to get home in time for his bed time. But it's a good habit and routine, so they can get enough sleep too. Now, he can only sleep in his room, he doesn't want to sleep with us in our room coz end up playing with my hb.

My boy still takes an afternoon nap. There are times he doesn't want to sleep but so long someone stays in the room with him, he will slowly drift off to sleep. He sleeps at least 1 hour for his, somedays 2 - 2.5 hours.

MamaPanda
Glad to hear that you're ok now. Do continue to take good care nonetheless.

mashy
10.30pm is consider early liao... compared my boy he sleep at 11.30pm or the lastest is 11.45pm leh... sometimes i pat him till i fall alseep and suddenly wake up to check whether he sleep oredi? he look at me with his big round eyes and the time it's coming to 12mn still awake..... sigh... ;(

After much effort u hv put, at least now he gets the idea and move back to his room...

rachel
I also sometimes do bath with him only when my boy and i alone, cos i'm "Pu Fang Xin" leave him alone in the living room while i'm taking my shower, unless he reach 4yo. If my hb around normally he will shower for him.... so sometimes when we shower together i feel awkward the way he look at me 8(

Fion
Dylan is used to seeing me and hb nake when we bath with him haha. it is fun, he will help scratch our back and apply body bath here and there. recently i got to cut down in bathing with him as my tummy is getting bigger. i do left him alone on our masterbedroom while i bath as there are nights when hb will be coming back late. so he will stay on bed playing with his activity books etc while waiting for me. or there are times when he will come into the bathroom to check on me.

Mamapanda - Take care & recover soon.

May - Congrats!

Nap - C takes min 3 hrs nap. Sometimes need to rouse him out from the deep sleep. This chap can sure sleep

His fav cartoon is Handy Manny & his tools. Think it's at 10pm wknights. Aft that, it's lites off & chit chat time b4 sleep.

Last nite's funny conversation with him was:

Us: "Are u a dinosaur?"
C: "No, I am C. I wear pyjamas, wear diapers, sleep on pillow. Dinosaur sleep outside. I am not a dinosaur."

Sysac
hahahaha. C is soooo cute! I'm just waiting for my turn to have such "colourful" conversations with my boy.

Rachel
You and hb very "sing"!!! Bathe with Dylan together?? I've never tried that before with my boy and hb together....coz we only have one bathroom and it's so tiny!!!! The only time I bathed with D when he was an infant, sat in the bath spa with me.

This is how i wake up my boy in the morn nowadays.He usually just lie on his bed and refuse to open his eyes. Hahah, I will turn on his CD player. Once it reaches the song "Soldier Soldier Won't your Marry Me", he can't resist singing 'On' loudly when the song reaches the part on 'The Soldier puts it on'.

Sysac,
hahahahaha!

Fion,
Your 1145pm not latest liao. My gal earliest sleeps at 1130pm, otherwise it's 1230am or even 1am. But hubby and I are asleep already and she alone watching sesame street and elmo till she doze off. Gotta admit it's a bad habit cultivated by us. :p

rachel
I also never tried before too bath together with my hb & my boy... cant imagine my boy expression when he see me & my hb nake hahaha... ;)

Pei fu ni leh... till now i'm still afraid of letting him alone while i bathing... cos he like to climb here & there... esp like to jump on the bed or sofa. He was hurt his jaw few mths ago while jumping on the bed and he cried out loud!!! but later he forgot the whole episode and do it again... sigh... I think they like to jump & climb at this age bah... cant really stop them from doing it..

Tracy
wow... ur gal very "ho tong" leh.. 1am!!! Is ur gal takes long hrs nap in the afternoon? 1am is really very late leh.. since she sleeps so late, what time does she wake up in the morning?

Sysac
hahaha... C so cute...

Fion
My boy likes to jump around too...but he knows not to jump on the bed or sofa, and he got caned by me a few times already for doing that. Most occasions I would keep reminding him that bed is for sleeping, sofa is for sitting, not jumping. Actually if your boy can be entertained by the TV for a good 15 min, can take the opportunity to take a quick shower...

Sometimes, can split the washing of hair and body. wash hair still can leave the door ajar...then while he's watching TV, can quickly shower lor...

Tracy
Wah...Meg watches TV till she dozes off?? Reminds me of my late grandma who likes to watch television until she falls asleep... but think can wean her off the late night TV? I always tell my boy cannot watch coz his favourite characters are sleeping already, TV also sleeping, need to rest so no more TV after 8.30pm. Perhaps can try that reasoning with her?

Fion ... u have an older son right? Get the older brother to look after the younger one. I do that these days so that I can cook or go to the toilet. I bath at night mostly after they sleep. My 5-yr old still takes his afternoon naps and I guess I'll only stop it when he goes to Pri school. A educationor recently reminded us how impt sleep is to us ... that the brain gets to re-generate and grow. My younger son will ask to sleep by 2pm if he's tired out in the morning. Make it a habit for the kids to sleep early and wake up early. 1 mother of 3 has the boys in bed by 7pm and they are up at 7pm; they skip naps. Mine is 9pm to 8am with 1.5/2 hrs afternoon naps

.ky.

Alamak, kenah 'firing' for letting Meg sleep so late :p

Fion,
Yups, she watches tv to doze off. She naps for 2-3hours in the daytime. She wakes up at about 830am-930am every morning. Sometimes if really tired then 10am.

Mashy,
Eh, we are quite flexi about this so erm no intention to stop this cos erm, we as parents also watch tv till late at night.

Mamachan,
No TV after 830pm?? Cannot lah, I got many shows to watch at 10pm everyday. Hahaha. Reasoning with Meg is out of the question. She's unreasonable. She will scream the house down if we switch off the tv so....

Tracy
Aiyoh....no lah, not firing you for letting Meg sleep late. hee hee, we as parents also like to watch tv till late, but between 8pm to 9pm, the TV is switched off while we prep him for bed-time lor...once the moment he's in the room with lights off with either parent, we would switch on the TV and watch...or my hb will watch after the boy sleeps.

So jiak lat now to reason with Meg ah?? I think if it's me, I won't have the patience to deal with it. =P you and hb have high tolerance level eh!

Mamachan,
Haha, it's not patience that we have. It's bo bian situation. She's super super glued to my hubby. If you have chance to witness it, I think you will be amazed. My in-laws are all very amazed by it. Every evening when we reach my in-laws, my hubby can't have his dinner unless my FIL brings meg down to open letterbox or buy bread. She will insist hubby carry her.

She has been like that even before Duncan's arrival. I tell you, i'm very sure he owed her something from previous life. hahaha.

Tracy
hahahaha. I think I can imagine it lah...I've seen her with your hb...and when in the past when we had playgroup date, my boy happily sat with your hb to play, Meg gets really angry and jealous and pushed him away =P Really bo bian for you both in this case... so long she gets her "quota" for sleep, I think that's good bah. Though I'm pretty sure you and hb would be very very happy if it comes the day where she sleeps early =P

Fion
My gal will nap 2-4 hours in the afternoon and sleep 10-1030 at night. We will try not to let her take too long nap tho. But she MUST nap, we cannot stop her..hehehe
Now she start school, she has to sleep latest at 10pm.

Tracy
My son can hi5 with Megan. His usual sleeping hour is 11-12am too. Really envy those parents who got "time off" after 10pm. But I feel because we sleep late, so he picks up the bad habit.

mamachan,
my hubby is looking forward to the day she outgrows this phase of sticking to him!

Cheng,
I agree, it's becos of us that they sleep late too :p. I still get my 'time off' cos Meg sticks to hubby, not me. As long as Duncan is asleep, which is by 9pm, I got free time liao. Hehehe..

Mamachan
He is too clingy to me even go to the toilet hv to follow every steps i take... i ever tried on the his favourite show Hi-5 only last for 5 mins ;( That's y i'm not dare to take any chance to left him alone...

ky
Sigh... talking his older bro.. I cannot entrust to take care didi... cos kor kor will quarrel with didi over a small issue.. Normally kor kor bully didi but mine is the other way round.. 8( But lucky is that, kor kor will never beat his didi even didi in the wrong... ;p Wow.. ur elder son still takes his afternoon naps?? I remembered my #1 stop taking aftn nap abt 4yo.. cos he dun want to sleep so no choice lor.. Actually i prefer nap time at 2pm wake up at 4pm then bed time sleep at 9pm morning wake up at 8am heeheee... I dun think is possible for my #2... cos if he taking aftn nap will be 2pm wakes up at 3.30pm (1.5hrs) i tried to avoid him from sleeping long hrs cos nite time very hard for him to go to bed early ....., then bed time 11.45pm or sometimes even 12mn... 8(

cookie
So good.... even she take a nap btw 2-4hrs... she still can sleeps at 10.30pm, very good!!! How wish my #2 same as urs. No matter how i shorten his nap time from 2hrs-1.5hrs he still the same, nite time sleep at 11.30-11.45pm

Fion

Is it becoz your kids aren't put through much activities? I realise that when my boy is in school, he tends to sleep more, maybe coz more tired from the activities in school.

Fion
Both my kids still take nap. In fact, Charmaine at age 6, will knock out at 2 pm, she must have her beauty sleep usually up to 5 pm

Then my mum will make aden sleep from 2.30 to 5.30 pm. Aden oso take short nap at 9.30 to 11 am. So he is napping a lot at my mum place

Aden will get cranky at around 9pm and ask for milk to sleep. If I have some deadline to meet, sometimes i ignore, he will haunt me till he gets it. Only when he is outside he might forget about the sleep time but once he reach the car he will go " want milk milk".

Even Cheng can tell you my older daughter will misbehave when she miss her nap. Ha ha when she starts fighting with her son aidan, ha ha that is the time she is sleepy.

Aileen, cookie, KY
thanks about the cupcake. Ha ha I took up a cupcake class on 12 Jul then every week been practising. So finally managed to bake both for a party on 2 Aug and her school party on 5 Aug. Ha ha 2 different flavour. Hee hee will do anything that my gal request if it is within my means.

Anyway, been baking and neglected my sb. Will pick up soon maybe to scrap about my first baking experience. I was just telling mamachan the other day, next year, I will do cupcakes for our birthday bash. Let the parents decorate with the kids for their own cake. ha ha

May
congrats. Great news. My fren just delivered today. see if I am tempted by babies or not ha ha. Ha ha now I see all the baby clothes feel like buying ha ha.

Many mummies go to that CCK dr. Some mummies oso come from Jurong apparently he is not bad.

Sysac
yup aden oso loves handy mandy. Aiyo I will only allow on Friday nite, other days no because they have to wake up by 6.45 am.

I cannot think about next year. I think I have to leave house by 6.30 am. Charmaine needs to be in school before 6.50 for me to avoid the jam to school

Fion ... agree with mashy. I'm constantly teaching my older that being the older brother, he should take care of the younger one, like helping him undress, wear shoes, keep toys (together). In fact, I'm rather guilty as I've given him more responsibility than I should. He sleeps around 4pm coz after he's back from school, he'll do his homework n I'll do some activities coz that's our only 1-to-1 time.

Tracy, hubby n I are nightbirds too. The kids understand that mummy n daddy will still be up after they are in bed. I usually have a settle-in-bed time which was until K falls asleep. After my maid left, I moved him to sleep with the older one, and I'll leave the room after 5-15 mins, and they are yet to sleep, but they'll eventually doze off on their own. Changes are difficult to do, esp for us, but it does help in the long run

.ky.

CL
hahaha... then u hv to make sure ur daughter hv enf sleep b4 she play ;p

mashy/ky
Ya u r right, at this moment he dun hv much activities cos he haven starts schooling yet... perhaps next yr cos i intend to send him to Pre-sch and maybe this will change his sleeping pattern...

Fion
for my kids previously they are in childcare so I think their sleeping pattern for nap has been moulded. Because Charmaine will still knock out the same time when she is in Tokyo disneyland ha ha

For me I put aden to sleep first then Charmaine goes in. Because if I leave the 2 of them, i dunno how charmaine communicate to aden, they will talk and play.

CL
Oh i c... Charmaine has already get used to liao.. What happens if she in P1, when reach her sleeping time she doze off in the class hahaha.. ;)
Mine also the same, both bros together play so rough and can feel the "house tremble" while they r screaming.. Sometimes boys are very hard to discipline them... the ears are as hard as a "rock" refused to listen one leh...

Fion/Rachel,
I will stop all cold drinks from now on.

Rachel/CL,
Ya.. I am going tonight to Dr Adrian Woodworth. Surprisingly my hb go thru the forum and tell me this morning that we will go to this CCK doc. Leaving hse soon. Keep u all update again. Pls pray for me that it is not Ectopic pregnancy.

CL,
So there is a possibility u are trying for #3? *winks*

wow...i really need tips to make my 2 monkeys sleep early. the fact is that they won't sleep until 11pm+.so hard to catch up with their energy level after a hard day at work. when i reach hm, it be 730pm and then have to wipe them and chg them to pyjamas, have my dinner and feed them. by then...it be 9pm. nowsaday, i can only read newspapers after they sleep. so papers reading will be from 1130pm to midnight. so much of my ME time.

mamapanda-pray that you have a speedy recovery. Do take care!

cookie - happy birthday to Kyler! so fast our boys are ONE! J is still bo gay. haha....but he can walk already. so he is now a walking toothless chap.

May - congratulations..your dream finally come true.

I am back. Doc had ruled out the small percentage of me having Ectopic pregnancy. He say I got to be careful these few weeks. Any red discharge will means miscarriage for me. As I ovulate late this month, more likely baby is growing abit slow and need longer time to be discover. Will need to go back next sat to detect the sac again. EDD is expected to be early April. Hopefully everything goes smoothly.

May
Take care and no ha ha need 2 hands to clap. Hb not tempted to go for no. 3 even after seeing my fren's baby today. ha ha so no chance. I am happy with my 2 liao.

Happy birthday to K and J.
How nice to see the kids growing hor.

Fion
the good thing is Charmaine will be in Nanyang, single morning session so she can still do a beauty sleep in the afternoon

Mashy - Yes, we enjoy asking him 'silly" & funny qns as we think it sets him thinking of his ans. Don't want to make the qns too intellectual or serious so we make them fun instead

He has surprised us with the logic of his ans & we have been amused/amazed

Rachel - Haha...my HB wld bathe with C. I was told by a friend that it's okie since they are young as it bonds the family. I only join in when we go for holidays. 3 of us wld just laze in the bathtub.

TV/Sleep - I wld usually pre-empt C that Handy Manny is the last show for the nite & we'll sleep aft that. As he is a sleeper, I need him to sleep at least 8 hrs so I 'll wake him up at 7.30am to bathe b4 he goes over to my ILs on Wed-Fri. I allow late nite shows on Fris & Sats. As for Sun-Tues, will also make him sleep aft Handy Manny but he'll get to wake up later as my mum is over at my place.

CL
Yes, Charmaine is usually very sweet and generous with my son, so when she dun give in to him, means she is getting tired and cranky :p. That's why she is my son's favorite jie jie.

Milestones
I'm amazed by the progress of the toddlers here. hee...to think I was so surprised by Aidan attempting to write 1,2 & 3 without me teaching him. The smart ones here can recognize Mandarin, play Tic Tac Toe and hold such intelligent conversations :p Anyone knows any link whereby we can read up more on expected milestones for their age?

That aside...I find our kids are developing their own unique talents & personality nowadays. For example, I love to hear CL's Aden sing and dance. He can sing so many songs. Ha...my Aidan can only recite the lyrics without a tune. They form quite a cute combination.

mamapanda
wish you a speedy recovery.

may
congrats! rest as much as you can and don't do too much walking.

re: nap/sleep
my gal nap abt 2 - 3 hrs in the afternoon, then at night, we would let her go to bed at around 830pm after we settle #2.

re: sibling sharing room
does your kids share the room together? currently my boy and gal are sleeping in different room. i heard that it's good to let them sleep in the same room for bonding purpose. is that right? my hb wants to have an empty room for himself so that he can do up a mini studio. i was thinking if there's 1 room empty, i can rent out. haha...