(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sunny,

it will be good for our kids to take violin first then it will be easier for them to learn piano.

RE :mandeville

The last time we organise once.. not so fantastic.just like music class in CC.. no difference.

dun waste time.

Mamachan,

Ezekiel dun sleep much in the day.. night is worse. he is a super light sleeper as compared to elijah. ** stress**
Ezekiel dun look sumo as compare to elijah when he was the same age. but heavier than kor kor and drink much more. He finishes 1 can of milk in 7 days and my BM to him is just teabreak.

now i really feel tat i was luckly when i had elijah tho he drink a lot but he sleeps alot too. and much easier to take care other then the falling sick part.

Fion

u can always go for shoulder length hair. Not too long until it drags your scalp and not too short either. Think u need to sacrifice your look for a while if u wanna keep your crown of glory. It's just for a short while anyway to let the scalp rest a bit.

mamachan
thanks!!!

Cheri
I wasn't in the room with my boy. My hb accompanied him. My boy was running around. It's not fantastic lor, coz it's just playing with a variety of toy instruments. And of course, the admin's bad attitude really puts me off.

C has a weird habit leh. I'm not sure whether it's normal or not...

We brought down the CD player for him coz he kept wanting to change the CDs. He has learnt how to insert the CDs, eject, play and fast forward. When my CD player gets cranky and refuse to 'spit' out the CD (mine is a vertical loader), he'll hit it a few times to get it to move.

The odd thing is, he will place the CD is the upright position. For Eg, my hb burnt a CD and labelled it 'A' for him. He must have the 'A' upright, cannot be sideways, cannot be upside down. He'll make sure that it's upright when he inserted it into the slot. He does that to all the other CDs too. When the CD stops, he'll look at the CD. If the CD's label stops 'incorrectly', he'll eject it, turn it upright and get it down again.

What a perfectionist right?

Cheri,
Oh i see. Sigh..I really have no time to look into all this at the moment (#2 is 3MO) though i very much want to, cos my #1 really loves music & movement.

SY,
i didn't have to bottle feed my boy at all after latching. If after latching is not enough, he will ask for milk again about an hour later. i will then latch him again. This went on for a few weeks then when his suckling got better, now it can last him 2.5 to 3 hours.

Maybe JX is not latching well so can't empty your breast?

Re: Seimpi
Hi all. Me started Ashley at Seimpi since Mar/Apr(can't remember) so can share a little for those who are interested. The class started off learning basic music notes and note count recognition like treble clef, base clef, crochet=1 count, minum=2count,etc through flash cards & CD, then there's singing, rythmn and beats, recognising sounds of different instruments etc. Now they progressed to reading simple music scores and playing the keyboard in C, D and E notes. Overall I think the teacher is nice though only so so in engaging them (comparing to the teachers at Kindermusik). But i like the fact that its proper music foundation that they are learning and not just music and singing and dancing all day long.

Ashley dun really like to participate in the dancing and singing (depending on mood) and would rather sit down and watch other children. But this happens in Sunday School too where she rather sit with me or get easily distracted with other things during singing and dancing except for story time. At first I was rather annoyed that Ashley has got such short attention span but I've come to learn that although she may not be participating, she is still absorbing as she will suddenly recall and sing the songs or tell me things that happen during class (when I thought she wasn't listening) at home or in the car. So I've learnt to be more relaxed and let her be when she dun feel like participating. Perhaps its her way of learning... through eye power observation hahha...

Re: Ballet vs Piano
Btw 2 doors down from Seimpi is Dance Arts, a dance studio. Everytime we would see pretty little girls dressed in her ballerina uniform and Ashley loves that. So i enrolled her in the Free "Baby Pre-Ballet Class" trial 2 sundays ago just for fun. We were amazed to see that for once she would not wonder off by herself but could actually follow the teacher and other girls in all the actions during class. Now HB is very keen to sign her up for ballet as she seems really happy there. Thing is HB said can only take up 1, ballet or piano. I am very insistant on music/piano for Ashley but seeing how she was having fun on the ballet class, I dun know if I should drop her piano (for now) and take up ballet instead. To me, ballet is just for fun and eventually I would still start her on back on piano. Do you think I should stop her piano now? Is it a waste? Sigh....

ky,
Oh, I get it... you mean the technique. Er, I'm not sure about that cos I don't play the violin. It's true that for piano, a G sharp is the same as A flat.
Actually I think sight reading is very important in music. So not too sure how Suzuki method incorporates this in.

Re. Mandaville
Oops, looks like not so good?
Actually how effective are such music appreciation couses?
I can't remember much about how I started on piano. I think my mum just bought the piano and told me to take lessons. I had a private tutor and I remember taking both theory and practical lessons to learn the notes, chords, tempos etc and went direct to sight reading of the scores. So I guess all the stuff about tempo, pitch, scales, will pick up along the way.

SY,
Do you still feel full after latching? Or does JX still cry after latching?

clare

personally, i feel that you should let her continue her piano too. If she doesn't wanna do it in future, then can drop it lor. Piano is something that u need to learn from young. Once you miss the window period, it's very difficult to start next time. Like me, always regretted not taking up piano.

Re: music lessons
In case u gals don't know, for those intending to send their kids to learn violin, u have to learn it yourself too. At least that's the case in mandaville. Have to get 2 sets of violin and the mother has to learn it alongside the kid. In a way, it's good. The mother knows what to teach the kid at home and the determination will last longer.

Hi Queen,

My DS1 is 4.5 and he is the one learning violin. I would suggest not to pick up violin so early so 2.5yrs old has not developed the motor skills to play it well. Posture and technique is very important in violin. You might want to start music appreciation class first. My DD is 2.5 and she is at Siempi. They learn veri simple stuff like waht clarye mentioned. At siempi believes in alot of sight reading and left brain. They start electone at this age. But so far my gal has been playing only C,D E and knowing note values, note counting and some other basic stuff. Siempi dun focus alot of singing as comapred to yamaha JMC.
For Suzuki violin, it requires alot of hearing before note reading so according to some of my frens who are instructor they say most of them cannot progress beyond grade 3. My son is doing the traditional violin class.
At mandeveille, there is a very very famous violin teacher call sylvia. So you can try mandeville baby class then proceed to violin class there. Siempi is more famous for piano.

Hi Clarye,
your siempi is at funan?

ky
is the piano course given by cc good? is it one to one?

rena
oh, didn't know if learn violin, it's easy to learn piano. 'cos i nvr learned violin before learning piano.

now, i am thinking of taking grade 8 theory test and refresh my skills on piano. then i can quit my job and stay at home to teach kids piano lesson. haha....

clare
just curious how come ashley doesn't like dancing and singing session during the piano lesson? but likes the ballet? 'cos both require movements... is it because of the teacher? the music that both studios play?

if i were you, i will gv ashley more time and see if she really likes taking piano lessons. i remember last time there was a period of time, i really dislike going to piano lessons 'cos my mum kept pressurising me to practise, practise and practise. but after i grew up a bit older, i started to appreciate piano more.

clare
just curious how come ashley doesn't like dancing and singing session during the piano lesson? but likes the ballet? 'cos both require movements... is it because of the teacher? the music that both studios play?

if i were you, i will gv ashley more time and see if she really likes taking piano lessons. i remember last time there was a period of time, i really dislike going to piano lessons 'cos my mum kept pressurising me to practise, practise and practise. but after i grew up a bit older, i started to appreciate piano more.

thanks mummies for all ur sharing on mandeville & seimpi as well? just curious, those who hv a knowledge of both, r their music appreciation class for 2 year olds abt the same? or only seimpi does note reading, flashcards?

besides funan, where else is seimpi? they do trials?

mashy,
I would LOVE to learn the violin along with her! Hehe. I've always wanted to learn violin but never got the chance. Only did piano.

Clare,
I would also be in a dilemma as to which to choose if Meg happens to like ballet too. I always viewed ballet as for fun only (no offense to any ballerinas out there) and a waste of money.

My sis took up piano lessons first and as the younger sis, I also took a liking to it and started lessons at 5YO. Eventually my sis dropped it. I finished my Grade 8 practical and stopped theory at Grade 5. Didn't pursue further cos I didn't plan to teach. Only wanted to play for leisure. So i guess really have to depend on the kid's interest.

Clare
Actually should let Ashley go for what she enjoys best. I grew up dancing ballet when I was about 3 plus years and have always enjoyed it. I took up piano at a later stage but struggled with it and gave up at Grade 5. Ballet is somewhat like music appreciation, learn to move to the counts and beats, etc etc. It's sort of complimentary to piano or other musical instruments. Baby ballet is for fun right now, so it's nothing serious until she is in k2 or Primary 1 or older...then they will start to have the RAD examinations, grading system. Dance Arts is a good ground to go to(Coz I was from there Eons ago) for baby ballet, it helps in their overall gross motorskills as well.

Oh yah, just to add, I found ballet fun esp at those dance schools as they have annual dance recitals and pretty costumes to wear =P So it's a big thing to be able to perform even with the group as a kid...it helps to build up confidence as well. Sometimes got even chance for public performance =) so "exposure" is there lah....

sunny,
I went though the same 'rebellious' phase for piano! I remember for Garde 4, I hated practising and I told my parents over dinner that I want to stop learning. They gave big a big scolding about me not knowing what's good for me and how I wasted they money and effort if I give up blah blah blah. But now, I'm glad that my parents' made me continue cos eventually I appreciate piano and classical music. Though I must say my piano skills are only so-so. Just managed to scrape past exams.

So no teaching for me. I stopped at Grade 6 for theory too. Practical finished Grade 8.

Sunny / Tracy,
do you have a piano at home now? I only get to play when I go back to my parents' place during the weekends. My HB doesn't allow me to bring my piano back to my place... he says takes up too much space.

Clare,
If Ashley enjoys ballet, why not let her try? If you can afford, no harm let her try both music and ballet now and then she can drop when she's sure about what she likes. There's no point forcing her to take piano if she doesn't like it in the long run. My brother started piano lessons and I dunno why, he didn't even complete Grade 1. I think my parents recognised that he is just not interested.

Halo everyone!

Re: Music/dance

i would also think best to follow wat our kids likes... i was also hoping to enrol cel in ballet but its full at Crestar! last week i went home after work and out of a sudden, cel told me: Mummie, i want to dance ballet! had wanted to let her join cos she has always been fascinated with the older girls dancing away and refuse to move from the panel to keep watching.. music can come later i suppose.im also keen to let her play piano at age 3+, i liked it myself but then dropped out at grade 3 only :p was too occupied with other fun then..but if possible, wld love to learn it along wf cel

Queen,
My mum sold my old piano (so much for support given), so I bought a Clavinova. Takes up less space and can adjust the volume, keys are standard piano key size. I compared between Cristofori and Yamaha Clavi and found Yamaha one better. The weight of the keys are more realistic.

Frankly, until now I still very disappointed that my mum didn't wanna support my piano lessons after I reached poly. I was doing private lessons to complete the diploma but she stopped me halfway, saying its wasting her $$. And I know for sure she could afford it. Oh please, she even wanted me to pay her back my poly school fees which she paid from her CPF. I refused to anyway. So I had to drop my piano lessons.

So now, for my own kids, I would support them in pursuing their interests!

tracy
she can't empty my breasts so i m afraid if i latch her, my ss will drop. but i want to latch instead of pump esp at night...she wakes up very often for feeds at night and if i still have to feed nad pump i think i will faint.

i counted that she took 13 feeds yesterday

queen
i usually can pump out milk after she latch. can get abt another 40ml or so.

and the thing is she dun feel full after latching...

today is a rainy day, such a cool weather! love it =D

i greatly agree to let our children pursue their interest, as long as it is what they enjoy. even if my kids plans to pursue their interest in the futher in terms of as their career, i will fully support them. although many might say no future and can't earn much, but i do see the potential in this field and have friends who are doing good and enjoying what they are doing. rather having to drag their legs to work for the sake of earning a salary.

my parent sent me to arts class since yound and for every weekends, i will be looking forward to the classes and able to take part in many competitions and going on stages to claim my fruits of labour. the satisfaction was thrill and my childhood has been a happy one. of cos, as i gets older, reality kicks in and i need to forcus more on my academic results. still i made a bold move by quitting my job and future my interest in designing, survived on my own saving and scholarship. no regrets.

if mine has a strong interest, i will make sure to help them pursue.

SY
*pat pat* my boy also took almost hrly feed during confinement. whenever he cried, i offered breast. then gradually i find that it's not that right, and i should kind of 'analyse' his cry before i offered him milk immediately when he cried. 'cos sometimes, he puked the milk out when we tried to burp him after feed.
then, i realised that he finds difficulties to fall asleep by his own most of the time. and sometimes, he wanted us to play with him. from there onwards, i started to adjust his schedule else, he would have overfed liao...

queen
i hv an old piano given by my friend. hb's ok to let me put at home.

Just want to share with you this activity book that i got from Popular yesterday.. Renee had fun doing it.

It cost only $2.90.

From this I found out that Renee knew some words which i have not taught her and also found out what words she doesnt know. Of coz its only few words in this book but its a pretty fun activity

board-post.cgi

Hi Sunny

It's not the 1-to-1 piano at CC that we go to. It's the Electone courses outsourced to Yamaha; simlar to Yamaha's JMC but it's a different syllabus. There's a new school opposite from the stadium that teach 1-to-1 piano ... hear quite good, and recently, at my place, there's a music teacher who put up a notice that she's teaching music at home; even converted a room into studio. If I convert my son eventually, I might explore that option coz it's the most convenient.

Generally, kids have a small window to explore various interest ... at 7 yrs old, more focus and pressure generally come from their formal schooling, and so between the ages of 4-6, I find it's easier and cheaper to explore their various interest ...

Clare, a fren opted for Ballet since her girl is 4 (or 3+). She's carefully selected a private piano tutor to come to the house to do 1-to-1 with her girl just only this year when girl is 5. She wanted to wait till the fine motor skill is more developed before exploring piano. But that's her opinion.

I bought a 2nd-hand Yamaha Electone early this year (only $250). Before that, my son was practising on a portable keyboard. Then he started playing 2 keys on the lefthand and I thot getting something better might helped since he tend to be able to reach for the keys at home but not in class. It did help, and right now, he's doing chords on his left hand (G, F, C Major) and I find for a younger kid, it's quite impossible for the child to do those notes. In fact, in the class that my son's in now, 5 are left from an original 11. Some kids are so pressuried in class that they'll cry when they can't play the piece together with the rest ... hm, so in my opinion, don't give them too much pressure to fulfil what u want them to fulfil or u didn't.

.ky.

SY,
True true, my supply dropped when i latch him totally. Nowadays, i pump only 6 times a day on weekdays then at night i latch him. Supply is not as great as before but can satisfy him and build up stocks. He's not a big drinker like Meg. Weekends i hardly pump unless I feel engorged. I rather latch him.

Have you tried pumping while feeding him? I do that when I have no time in the morning and can normally get alot at a short time cos he's latching and let down comes very easily. Need abit of practice to get the hang of it. One hand hold baby, the other manual pump. You can experiment this way.

Don't worry, things will get better over time. More practice for yourself and for her to latch. Soon she will know how to strip more milk from your breast at a faster rate. I was also very impatient initially especially having to latch so often. Eventually everything fell into place and schedule when he turning 2 months.

Esther,
The book is interesting! Shall go look for it this weekend. Thanks!

Hi Sunny
I think largely due to the fact that the singing and "dancing" during her piano is more "on the spot" while dancing during the ballet class involves running and spinning and flapping of "wings" (arms) around the spacious studio so definitely more fun.

I totally agree that we should let our children do what they enjoy most. HOWEVER, when it comes to piano, my thinking is different. Unless my children violently refuses to learn/play, I would definitely enroll them in piano classes. I actually believe that majority of the people who play piano started off hating it but grew to love and appreciate it later.

Thing with Ashley is although she doesn't seem to concentrate or participate much in class, she would tell me she likes going to "music class". When its time to practice on the key board in class, I would have a hard time telling her to do so as she's more interested in fiddling with the many buttons on the key board. But when her teacher comes over, she will guai guai follow the teacher's instruction and play what she is told to. (That makes me wonder also if its more effective for her to do 1 to 1 piano lesson but perhaps when she's slightly older) So, i wouldn't say she totally NOT interested in piano.

The school fees for ballet is $180 for 3mths which seems ok but we have to pay additional $100 for her ballerina uniform. That means we'll be paying $270 upfront for her to try... plus the $100 monthly for piano... As much as I would love to expose her to many things, I'm not so sure if we should spend so much just on enrichment classes especially now that we're relying on HB's income alone. HB's concern is more of will she feel taxed out with school on Mon-Fri, piano on Sat and ballet on Sun. (Feels like no days left to relax)

So envy - you all seems to have the artistic cells in you....... i have zero! Be it music (tone deaf), art (can't draw), can't cook, can't bake...........

That's why i am also keen to let my gals learn art or music or dancing.... but so far ashley has not express any interest in any........

Any recommendations for nice places for dinner with HB & C for HB's BD dinner?

Wanted to make it for Cable car Skydining but cut off time for booking for tomorrow's dinner is 12pm today & I didn't make it! Hee...

Desperate now...

Yuki
hahaha.. u r not alone, Me same as u do not hv any talent in this area.. i ever ask my #1 and he shows no interest in this area

syac
How abt Japanese Restn? If he take Japanese food. There is one which at next to Goodwood Park-Orchard?? To me the environment not bad. heehee after dinner can go for shopping :p

RE: BM

SY, Tracy.. I think you two are good man! i have decided to stop breastfeeding. not much for him to drink thus have to rely on FM and he drinks a lot.feeling so tried lately and also having some problem at home so decided to stop since supply also drop..

me really bad mummy.

first tri bleeding
can i ask those who bled during first trimester, how much did you bleed? I started with light spotting but my P never came so I went to GP yday and had a positive urine test, so she referred me to gynae. But today, when I see gynae he said not looking good so had a jab, taking hormone pills adn blood test and hope for the best now. Wednesday gotta take blood test again to see if baby is surviving or miscarried or ectopic. Since I'm only just 4 weeks now, he cant see the sac yet from the ultrasound so can only tell from the blood test for now.

I'm also getting worried as the bleeding seems to be getting heavier. Hope it stops.

sigh...

MamaPanda

I never encounter bled during the first trimester but dun worry too much, everythings will be fine. At this moment, u should rest more and dun think too much. I'll pray for u and ur bb as well ;p

Re: First Tri Bleeding
Hi MamaPanda, I had dark brown spotting in my 1st tri which I initially thought was my menses. It started with an amt similar to 4th/5th day of normal menses. Got heavier and darker on some days but colour gradually became lighter and eventually went away after taking the hormone pills for a month. Was given a jab as well. I was 6weeks when I went to see gynae so could see the sac though could hardly detect the heart beat. Review 2 weeks later then everything looks better. I do notice that the spotting came darker/more when I do more walking so do rest more if you can.

mamapanda,
congrats! and do rest well like fion and clare mentioned. think positive

thermal cooker or magic cooker (some call it)
has anyone used the Endo brand one? any feedback? i tot of getting one to make porridge for my boys. tot of getting an Endo one coz the tiger one is so exp!!

Mamapanda,
I had light spotting in 1st tri but was the later part like around 10-12weeks. Mine was very light brown and I took one hormone jab just in case. Then rest in bed for the next couple of days and it stopped. Do rest more in bed.

Rena,
No mummy is bad lah, you included. I believe that breastmilk will only be beneficial if the mummy herself gets enough rest and proper diet, nutrients. Without all that, the milk will also not be nutritious right? Anyway most of us grew up drinking FM and here we are now. That's my own thinking lah. So you have already given your best liao, most important is that baby and mummy are happy!

MamaPanda
Congrats to you! must be worrying to be bleeding during 1st trimester. Like what the rest of the mummies said, so have more bed rest. Praying for the best for you.

Rena
Don't worry too much. BF is just one aspect of parenthood and it doesn't make you a bad mummy for not BF. More impt is that you're healthy and happy and have a healthy and happy bb too. Don't beat yourself up over not being able to BF.

mamapanda

Congrats! i had spotting throughout my preg. Had to take jabs and progesterone. U have to go on bed rest, don't move much. And if sitting up, lift up your legs.

Aileen
I've the 1.8L Endo magic cooker. Love it. Use it to make my boy's porridge. It's good enough for 2 person's share of porridge. But i find a bit small lor. If u want, get the 2.5l one.

However, if you're looking at bigger litres like >4 litres, think might be better to get the tiger or thermal magic cooker coz the handle is better. The Endo handle has to lift upwards while the other 2 has plastic handles by the side. I find it safer to have plastic handles by the side esp when you're going to lift at least 4kg worth water & ingredients. For small capacities, Endo will work just fine.

Mamapanda - do take care and rest well meanwhile! i know how worrying it is cos i had very bad bleeding when i was only 6 weeks, the day after i detected heartbeat. it came like a gush and my bottom was all wet! rushed to hospital and thot i was miscarrying but turned out it was bb implanting too deep ( per gynae ) and after jabs n hormone pills cum total bedrest, i was ok.. but 3 weeks later at week 9, spotted brown again..went thru jabs again and everyting was ok after tat.. all the best to your blood test results and rem to be on bed rest

rena, don't feel bad about not bf.that's only a small part of motherhood.

mashybrainz,
ok then i'll get the 2.5L one. btw is the end result very "nua" kind of porridge. will the carrots be soft? and how long does it take?

mashy brainz,
when u said the 1.8L is abit small, what do you mean? is it too small for 2 pax's adult's share or kiddo's share? coz i intend to only use it to cook my boy's meal. so wondering if 1.8L is good enough.

Aileen

It's about 2 adults' share exactly, not a drop more.

But it also depends on the ingredients you wanna put in, better have some space for it coz it can get quite tight in a 1.8L. U still need some boiling space coz can't fill the water to the brim. With a 2.5L, probably can have a bit more space to make stews.

You have to boil the rice & ingredients for about 15-20mins before putting into the thermal pot. After that, it'll be ready in 2hrs time. I think it can be shorter, but coz i usually prepare abt 2hrs in advance before i pick up my boy, so it's usually abt 2hrs for me. U can even prepare much earlier and leave it inside, it'll still be hot for abt 4hrs. Yes, 2hrs is the very nua type of porridge. Carrots will be very soft. If you want semi-soft ones, then put it shorter time.

ic. but i'm afraid 2.5L will be too big if i'm making for my boys. coz i probably only need to make 1.5 adult portion coz my #2 don't eat that much at the moment. what do u think? btw how to make beef stew? can teach me?

aileen

oic. Maybe u can go and take a look at the 2 pots and make a physical comparison. I thought will be good if u make some leeway for future 'expansion'.

beef stew needs to take a long time. The longer the better coz then the beef can be tender.

hehe, i always 'tou gong jian liao' coz i buy the prepacked package from isetan to make. So it's easier, just boil the ingredients, then add the beef stew cubes and stew for at least 4hrs. If u are interested, i can find out for u the pic. Think it's under the brand 'House'.

thank you mummies for the prayers and goodwill. The clinic called me just now abt the blood test results. My HCG level and progesterone level is very low so it very, very early pregnancy, possibly less than 4 weeks as I may have ovulated late this month. Right now, I'm taking progesterone pills 3 times a day and the homorne jab I took this morning is giving me a very sore right bum. I suppose feeling neuseous and the morning sickness at this juncture is a good sign that my progesterone levels and HCG levels are on the rise but the bleeding don't seem to be stopping yet. Its more like last day of menses kind of bleeding, dark maroon coloured blood. Wednesday gotta go back to the clinic to take another blood test to determine see the hcg and progesterone levels.

durable water bottle
I'm still letting Ariene use her oold faithful Pigeon magmag which she has been using since 5 months old. When the cap or straw is broken, I can just buy replacement parts for them easily. I have bought barney, hello kitty, pooh bear water bottles for her before but they all don't last beyong 2 months. They either have broken covers or torn straws like you.