(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Fion,
You stay at SBW? Me too!

How is Canberra Pri School? I heard it's very competitive as well. It's like 10 mins walk from my place only. I'm thinking this would be an alternative to De Lasalle.

My hubby is from nanyang Pri but I'm from marymount so we'll send Ariene to either of these.

Nanyang
Chicken Little
Mamapanda (1st choice)

ACS
Mashy Brainz

De LaSalle
queen

Marymount Convent
Mamapanda (2nd choice)

Neighbourhood school
Sorry babylon but... I won't consider sending Ariene to neighbourhood schools, not even if I live beside one.

mamapanda

i live just beside a neighbourhood pri sch. My friend teaches there and she has been threatened by her student with a pair of scissors before. He wanted to stab her with the scissors. Scary.

Re. Neighbourhood schools
Actually, both me and HB had the intention to send Isaac to neighbourhood schools in Woodlands / Sembawang. To us, what's more important is that the school is near our ILs' place. We never felt that Isaac will be disadvantaged being in a neighbourhood school. Of course, as far as possible, we would want to try for the best school in our area. But this is before we found out about how old boy/girl connection has a good chance of getting a place and since HB is from De LaSalle, we decided we'll go for De LaSalle first as we don't have to go through the hassle of volunteering, balloting etc for slots in the best neighbourhood schools in my area. I mean, we didn't even know that nowadays De LaSalle is considered a good school... my HB thought De LaSalle is just so-so during his time! So I'm just thankful that HB has that old boy connection to the De LaSalle cos otherwise, we'll have to compete for slots in the best neighbourhood schools.

So what I'm trying to say here is, like Belinda, I'm perfectly fine with neighbourhood schools which I had every intention to enrol Isaac in one if not for my HB being an old boy of De LaSalle. I always feel that while the school is important, the parents and the kid's discipline and attitude are even more important. As parents, we always want the best for our kids and naturally, we want our kids to go to the best schools. We try our best to give our kids the opportunity and if our kids do end up in schools that are not of our choice, please do not feel that we have failed them. Bear in mind that ultimately it is the parents' duty to nurture, guide and educate them in whatever adverse situation / environment the kid may be in.

Belinda,
Hehee... I used to do relief teaching at Keming Primary, the kids are generally quite well behaved! But I heard Princess Elizabeth is better? Not too sure about that. I used to live in Bukit Batok.

neighbourhood schools
If u want to send them to one, send to a better one. Do more research on the school first, check out what kind of students make up their majority (this applies to all schools actually). Don't underestimate the power of peer pressure, even at a young age. That's all I can say, as an ex-teacher of a neighbourhood school.

SSF

Is it too late for the thomas the train tickets? Can I join in?

SY
I just got your account no. will transfer the money for the toothpast to you. Sorry for the delay!! Have been sooo busy.

Haven't logged on for awhile.. I see some new pregnancies! Congrats!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>11-May-08</TD><TD>21-Apr-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther</TD><TD>06-May-07</TD><TD>16-Jun-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Leroy </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD>11-Jul-08</TD><TD>13-Jun-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Thaddeus Luke </TD></TR><TR><TD>cindy</TD><TD>01-Aug-08</TD><TD>24-Jul-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Kenneth </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>08-Aug-07</TD><TD>07-Aug-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Kyler </TD></TR><TR><TD>cass</TD><TD>13-Aug-07</TD><TD>10-Aug-07</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>Gabrielle </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>20-Aug-07</TD><TD>07-Aug-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Jadon </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>12-Oct-07</TD><TD>02-Oct-07</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>Clare </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>08-Nov-07</TD><TD>06-Nov-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Bennett </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>13-Nov-07</TD><TD>06-Nov-07</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Tyler </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mongs</TD><TD>25-Dec-07</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>Clarene </TD></TR><TR><TD>Durian lover</TD><TD>08-Jan-08</TD><TD>31-Dec-07</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>Janine </TD></TR><TR><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>29-Jan-08</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Seth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD>23-Feb-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Declan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD>28-Feb-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Yingzhe </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sandra</TD><TD>mid mar 08</TD><TD>29-Feb-08</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>Sonia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>18-May-08</TD><TD>23-Apr-08</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Duncan </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>mid jun 08</TD><TD></TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>Ezekiel </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamom</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>10-Jul-08</TD><TD>28-Jun-08</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>JX </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sept03bride</TD><TD>14-Jul-08</TD><TD>29-Jun-08</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>20-Oct-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepingdeer</TD><TD>23-Nov-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>18-Jan-09</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>20-Jan-09</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Was wondering if you would rather your child be:

1. Last in a reputable/good school
2. First in a normal school

Schools:

Despite us enrolling our kids in the better schools, they may face logistic problems if they don;t stay near the school.... And who know where they shift the schools to 20/30 years down the road?

I don't find myself considering childcare and schools when i got married and buy a flat. So this will always be my advice to those friends/ colleagues who are getting married - to really take all these into considerations!

And also after i discover i am preganant and start reading books about parenting etc, i realise how 'unfriendly/ unsafe' my house reno is. Haha

yuki

haha, it's like that. U won't know till you're there. My SIL is resistant to putting up a full grill that leads to her balcony. She believes that a short child gate will do coz she thinks that the full grill is so 'ugly'. Hahaha. Her baby is still very young, so haven't started climbing to let her see. Her place is so dangerous, i don't dare let my boy roam freely.

Her bedroom windows have a ledge which my boy can climb up easily and the window have only half the grills! That means, the grills basically becomes a ladder and my boy can easily climb and pop out of the window thru the big gaping hole on top. I had a fright when my boy ran towards the room and tried to climb up. I really raced myself there to catch him before he climbed up.

same as Queen, I wouldnt mind putting S into a neighbourhood school if the reputation is not too bad, doesnt have to be the best, but have to have kids who are generally well behaved as well. My neighbour used to go to different schools to teach life sciences, and she tells me about how some neighbourhood schools have students who may not be the brightest, but have sterling characters, and how other top schools have snobs... so research is important. Same here, I'm thinking of putting S nearby but also afraid we probably won't get in if we have to wait till 2C, so I'm opting the easy way out and just sending S to my school... my hb initially put up a resistence coz he wanted S to go to a catholic school, but after seeing how competitive it is to get places, he also feels better chance of using alma mater to get in.

BTW, does anyone know which school is St Michael's affiliated with? My hb studied there, but he has no idea whether S will get priority to any school, e.g. CHIJ, since she is a girl and St. Mich only accepts boys...

MAshy, Yuki,
wah, same here. My MIL was super resistent on putting up grilles coz she felt that it will spoil the view from our house, but I was also super INSISTENT that we put up grilles. Have heard enough stories of children falling from windows. Sometimes I have to fight to make our place more child safe, such as Magic seal mosquito screens etc, coz my hb and MIL always worry about asthetics of the house, but I dun care while my child's safety is concerned
They can decide other stuff like what colour or type of sofa to get, lights, etc, doesn't bother me...

KY,
when I was talking to my hb's cousin at that time, the thought of sending s to Pri hadn't occurred to me, so I didnt really bother to probe, haha... will ask her more the next time I see her.

Nanyang
Chicken Little
Mamapanda (1st choice)

ACS
Mashy Brainz

De LaSalle
queen

Marymount Convent
Mamapanda (2nd choice)

Henry Park
sleepingdeer

St Michael's not affliated to CHIJ. Have to be IJ gal to be in Phase 2A. Unless u wanna go as catholic, then it'll be under Phase 2B like the parent volunteers. But if u read today's papers, some schools already need to ballot at Phase 2B. Why don't u just stick to Henry Park lor? Like that next time whether S has daughters or sons all can go to the same school. Then when she goes Sec school, just choose an IJ school lor.

sleepingdeer
Can pm me contact on the Magic seal mosquito screens. Ha ha my dad is asking about it because seeing my gal full of mozzie bites.

Pri 1 Registration
Everyone tell me I am stupid if not to enrol Charmaine in Nanyang, or I am so lucky. But I have my worries. It is a so call Elite school but my gal is quite lazy, so it could mean stress to her. It depends on how she can cope. If she cannot cope well, I am ready to transfer her out. But my mentality is it is easier to transfer out to other school of my choice because she is from Nanyang. My hb got another worry, it is a rich man school, so she could have peer pressure in other sense. So we have to stress and educate her that she cannot get anything that her frens has. You know before buying books etc, it is already stated in the letter to pay $318 for education resources.

CL
i used to keep my report book but cannot remember where i put it now. think i shd have my PSLE slip..haha

wow the talk is on schools again.

i need to think abt what sch. of cos nanyang is my first choice but now staying really too far.....

Sleepingdeer
My advise is go for Henry Park. Let say you try for no. 3 and is a boy, then can easily go in at Phase 1. My colleague happily put his first boy at ACS and forgot about his daughter. Then so stress when it comes to registration but manage to get in St Margaret

Mashy
I realli think Grill is very important. Look at Aden being spider man every day I was so glad that I installed since day 1 when I decided to conceive. Dun want to regret man.

Tabbiesus
De La Selle is a mixed school. if so many of you going to put your kids there, which is 2 blocks away from the school. I shall start a before and after school care for you ha ha.

Oh yah, yesterday night, my boy locked himself in the toilet. We had such a fright. Kept coaxing him to unlock it but coz he's too short, can only lock and not unlock. Luckily he didn't lock it very tightly, so after a few nudges, the door finally came loose. After that, immediately teach him how to unlock it by pushing his stool to the door.

Mashy
So scary hor. Once Charmaine locked herself in the room and she could not get out. So now we kept all room keys in the living room.

Belinda
As per my sil, Keming is now not bad. PE juz changed principal and not as good. Her fren withdraw from St Anthony commenting it is not good. So I think your first choice is good. Join this thread on 2008 Pri Registration http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/1190517.html?1216261140

Hi CL,
just sms you Steven, Magic Seal's no. I also need to contact him to install for MY room. Now S room is ok, but since the mozzies couyldn't attack her, they came into MY room and attacked hb on the first night we installed the screen in her room, haha!

Mashy,
is it? Like that my hb's alma mater is useless liao, haha! My only worry is Henry Park has no affilation to any sec school.

I once locked myself in my room when I was three, still remember crying... in the end my parents broke the door open, haha...

wow, all about schooling topic.

i am still not sure where i should send my gal's to. i have 3 choices at the moment which i can think of a) de lasalle which is near my mil's place b) nan hua which my hb studied there before but don't think he registered as alumni c) kranji primary which is just downstairs of my block.

CL
i heard that de lasalle focuses a lot on academic, is that true? it's a catholic school?

Re: Accidents..

Locking in the room seems mild as compared to what i did.... the hero me want to jump across the big drain and end up inside the drain and hit my head and faint for a while.... The doctor says i am very lucky cos i don;t need stitches and thank God the drain was not flooded else i may drown............

Hi Sleeping deer,

Haha.... you are talking about affilation to SEC school liao!! You really plan ahead! But might as well

Yuki
ha a ya man. Charmaine i know got nanyang girls but aden ha ha i dunno. But actually CCA is oso a important factor. I remember being approach by JCs because I was vice chairman for chinese drama in sec school. You know la those school team etc. I only want Charmaine to do choir not accident prone

Sunny
Yes De la salle is catholic. Every wed got religious class if I am not wrong. Nope I dun think so, because if you see the banner outside the school, they participate in lots of art, maths,etc programme

Ha ha take the easy way out, go nan hua. Nan hua needs to be ballot accordingly to news paper today

Queen
hey u stay at SBW too!!! Which block u r staying? I'm staying at BLK 334 infront of my hse there's a small coffee shop.. Canberra Pri is a future sch ever since they had announce that become quite popular but before that i'm not too sure whether is a popular sch or not. My #1 study there is quite tough for him at the initial stage cos their spelling list can be up to 20 words &amp; word that they spell difficult and long too. Quite impressive as they are using new technology to teach la... hope my child will also benefit from there when he reach P3 onwards ... Each yr they hv 4 terms of exam, CA1/2, SA1/2 and each term they will give topical test before the actual comes. I never heard of this sch De Lasalle, where is the sch situated?? I do not quite understand, if u staying at SBW, ur kid can enrol to the sch that so far away where u stay?? Need any doc to prove?

Yuki
I'll enrol my child to a normal sch as i feel that those reputable/good school is very pressure. My standard to my kids are can pass &amp; get a Band 2 can oredi liao...

I think u tell them ur I/c should be good enf to prove whether u r ex students of the sch. The sch should hv the record ba.. if not show the report bk hahaha... sound like back to sch again ;p

mashy/cl
So scary.... R they playing or throwing tantrum??? All my room keys are kept in the living room, just in case they siao.. playing the lock and happened lock themself up...

Hi Cl,

Yup i would be worried about the rich schools too....

My ex-colleague who is from Mymnar, her gal is very smart and got into gifted program and had to transfer her from a neighbourhood school to school which offer gifted programs.

Her gal simply hate it there as even at age 10 (P4), the gals are vain and compare the brand of bags you carry and even sweater you wear on rainy days......They have many to change about compare to the only one or two my colleague's gal have.... They look down on my ex colleague's gal cos she is not into branded stuff. And i was very surprised at age 10 they can make comments like "God is fair. He made you smart but ugly" Cos she is dark and big built......

The gal scored very well for her PSLE, good enough for any school she wants even Raffles etc but she had enough of the rich schools... she chose a neighbourhood school instead. Still did well for her o levels.

She is now in USA doing triple degree on a schlorship.

Wonder who had the last laugh........

Wow all the talk about Pri schools! Lazy me have never given much thought as to which schools to send my children to though I actually prefer a all girls/all boys school. So Thank God for my church affiliation, I dun really have to crack my head much: Kindergarten: Acension ; Pri/Sec: St Margaret's (Girl) / St Andrews (Boy). Adding mine:

Nanyang
Chicken Little
Mamapanda (1st choice)

ACS
Mashy Brainz

De LaSalle
queen

Marymount Convent
Mamapanda (2nd choice)

Henry Park
sleepingdeer

St Margaret's
Clayre

Sleepingdeer
CONGRATS!! You can pass down Shannon's clothes to her mei mei then. I think its really nice to have a sister to share clothes, chit-chat, go shopping together etc. I've kept all of Ashley's pretty clothes hoping to pass to her mei mei, but think 2nd one very likely gonna be a boy... sigh... (and HB say stop at 2 liao... double sigh...)

wow all the talk abt pri school, havent really decide which school to place kae in, there are a few nearby schools and some not so near by "hot" school but I hope to know more abt the school before planning..

Can anyone share how to research more on the school besides checking out their websites and making email enquiries?
Cos I dun really know any parents are kids from the potention school...
Is there usually open house that we can attend? even tho we may not be registring for that yr's enrolment?

mashy
Kae always lock the toilet room door whenever I bring her for shower...she knows how to lock and unlock..of courseunlock is more difficult cos it's require height.. but we always has a small stool in the toilet for bathing the bb or washing clothes so kae will use the stool if she know she is not tall enough.

Yuki
hahaha.. nows a day children not like us tutu... they knows how to compare oredi... sometimes i think dunno whether is parent fault or children fault??? Sometimes environment can be changed.. due to circle of friend and parent reward them buying those branded stuff... I also caught in a dilemma as a parent dunno whether is it right to buy them things that they wants. Sometimes they might compare one another...

Fion,
I stay at Blk 466C. My ILs take care of Isaac in the day and they stay in Woodlands. I was thinking of enrolling him in Woodlands schools instead. If cannot, then a school in SBW. But I heard even the best school in our neighborhoods are competitive. So if I want, I can only apply via Phase 2C (cos we don't want to do volunteering and all that... so may end up have to ballot) whereas if we go for De LaSalle, it will be Phase 2A. So easier leh... and De LaSalle is in CCK, not that far, only about 15 mins or so drive.

Nanyang
Chicken Little
Mamapanda (1st choice)

ACS
Mashy Brainz

De LaSalle
queen
sysac

Marymount Convent
Mamapanda (2nd choice)

Henry Park
sleepingdeer

St Margaret's
Clayre

Congrats Sleepingdeer!

SSF- U r faster than me. Was going to post the Thomas the Train discounts too. I am still thinking

Weird Habits
My boy is getting really weird. He kept wanting me to dig his nose, use my finger to rub his teeth &amp; gums before he sleeps. Massage is ok, but all these crazy habits? sigh. And he'll fall asleep while i'm digging his nose or rubbing his teeth.

Re: Comparing stuff in sch

Actually it's not just restricted to the reputable schools. Even neighbourhood schools get that. My friend's boys study in a neighbourhood school and they were already pressurised by their friends to get a handphone when they were in pri school! My friend insisted no handphone until sec and they had no choice but to wait.

CL
At least lock in the room still have key to open. My toilet door cannot open from outside. So we nearly had to knock down the door to get him yesterday. sigh.

queen
can understand ur situation and becos of this u r caught in a dilemma.. Perhaps u can find out from the website &amp; compare both sch by their achievement &amp; award, teaching &amp; learing frame &amp; philosophy for teaching &amp; learning... perhaps from here u can get ur answer leh...

CL
easier to enrol for nan hua if my hb studied there before? need to join alumni or not? i am really confused with all the categories e.g. 2A, 2B? don't know if we choose nan hua, which cat we are put in. haha.... *scratch head*

hmmm... religious class? not too sure if my hb and in-laws are comfortable with that. but i like their uniforms. hehe....

mashy
hahaha... maybe ur boy feels comfortable &amp; enjoying when u digging his nose and dose off... My #2 automatic held my hand to his nose and want me dig his nose when he nose feel uncomfortable..

I'm very happy yesterday, my #2 starts to call me "Mummy" so loud!!! This is the first time i heard it so clear.. ;p

sunny

if your hb joins the alumni association, then will be phase 2A1, but if he doesn't join the association, then will be 2A2. 2B is for parent volunteers, grassroots leaders and church/clan affiliates.

I'm not taking any chance, so went to join the club. By the time our kids enrol, dunno will have a lot of children or not, now that the birth rate is up. For popular schools, Phase 2B already need to ballot. Think Nan Hua is one of them.

Wow..all the talk about schools!

Based on my observation of my nephew who's already in P1 and in a good school, ultimately it really depends on the kid himself and the friends he mixes with. Even though it's a good school, my nephew is becoming out of hand since he started school. He's become very rude, his mind seems to be corrupted *faintz*. When we call him, he will answer you rudely 'What?!'. He likes to use the word 'sexy' and he even wrote it on MY bumbo seat. Even wrote the words 'I Love You' on my bumbo. The bumbo looks like some vandalized wall.

Then one day he came home and told me,'You know, my fren brought this book to school today and there's the word Breast in it.'

I answered him back,'Chicken breast ah?'

And dat day he came home reciting some poem about his maid going out and buying a bikini and looking sexy in it. *Faint faint faint*

fion
thanks! it's really useful. i am clearer now. haha...

mashy
if we choose a school which near to our place, which phase we are in? i think when it's time for registration, i would be quite stressed up. haha....

tracy
wow... i will really faint if my kids come back reciting all those weird poems.

sunny

It doesn't matter even if the school is next door to yours. You will still be in Phase 2C if you're not related in any way. The only priority is when they ballot, you're given a better chance.

kids nowaday are very smart. they really know how to compare...and dun be suprise with the thing that they compared.
eg . just like the last school holiday, my elder boy asked me..
duncan : Megan is going to thailand, Siboi is going to korea..and so where are we going for holidaty.
Me : duno what to say...

Nanyang
Chicken Little
Mamapanda (1st choice)

ACS
Mashy Brainz

De LaSalle
queen
sysac

Marymount Convent
Mamapanda (2nd choice)

Henry Park
sleepingdeer

St Margaret's
Clayre

St andrew
Rena076

Hi SSF!

How much is the price for our todds? Do they pay the same price as adults?

Thomas and Friends show
Date: 6th sept (sat)
Time: TBC
Pricing: $48 pax (kid under 2 FOC) before 20% disc
Seating: Cat 2

Thomas &amp; Frds SHow -I'm interested!
===================================
SSF- 3
Chicken_little-4
belinda - 4 (TBC, might going for holiday), will let you know by tomorrow.
MamaChan - 3
wenyl - 3 (TBC) Need to check with hb tonight.
rena- 3(TBC) need to check with hubby too

tracy,
Esp boys!!! every difficult to teach them. Too much nagging/pressure they commit sucide, too much controlling their freedom they left home w/o a word, gives too much freedom to them they feel nobody cares them... sigh.... As a parent very hard to do leh... dunno how to balance it.. ;o

sunny
u r welcome, hope do solve ur problems ;) if ur child is attending those K1/K2 the teacher there will give u a booklet and let u know the date of registration &amp; phrase u r eligible.

belinda
hahaha.. kids are hard to please then adult!!! next time if our kids these question "where r we going for holiday"? Tell them we go to the cleanest, nearest &amp; most beautiful "Sentosa" hahaha... can imagine their expression ... "Frown"

fion

not just boys lah. My pri school classmate (gal) committed suicide when i was pri 5. She jumped down from window coz her parents wanted to change her from afternoon session to morning session.

So before we do anything, at that delicate age, we've to ask them for their opinion.

belinda

haha, i tell u, these children already started comparing when they're in kindy. My kindy teacher MIL told me her students will say which country they go during their hols. Ai yoh!

And to tell u a joke. So funny. My friends' kids went to Australia Gold Coast when they're pretty young, like early pri school. Then when we asked them, they thought they went USA. Hahaha. Maybe can go Sentosa and bluff them say it's Maldives. hahaha.

mashy
ai yo... so wasted so young, y make life so complicated..... feeling sorry for ur friend u must be scared at that moment!!! cant imagine??? Her parent must be very regretful... but everything is too late.. sometimes is fated..

mashy
sentosa = maldives. That is a good one. I think for charmaine her first trip was at age 3 so she remember everything including food and places she visited. For Aden probably he din even know he took the plane and went hong kong last year.

Commit suicide at young age
that is another thing i so scare. Recently got 1 case oso the girl committed suicide. You cannot imagine the stress the kids is going through now man.

I remember crying badly at pri 6 when i want to join my frens at tanjong katong girls and my mum wants me to go dunman. though it was just next door. ha ha