(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Aileen

My boy has been given singulair and zaditen to manage his asthma. Yah, u need prescription. So better check with a dr first. My boy's cough is less frequent after i start them on these medications. And on occasions that it started, it doesn't develop into bronchitis as before.

fion, mashybrainz,
thanks for your concern and feedback. a neighbour checked ed and said he doesn't have wheezing so i presume he's ok. gave him ventolin and rhinathiol. good thing he's able to cough out and spit out his phlegm. so proud of him. but boy the phlegm is green! he must be really heaty.

Hi Aileen,

Just to let you kmow that i really enjoy reading your blog. It just shows how much your are enjoying motherhood.

And it really amaze me that amidst juggling with work and motherhood, you found time to do scrap booking and even baking! And you really have a gift, a talent in these area! Paifu Paifu.....

Regarding cough - i don't know if it is the same thing.......... Megan was very prone to cough last time. At least once a month and wheeze every two months...... Since i start her on the crocodile meat soup in early Feb....., so far so good. No cough.... we were even able to sneak in some cold stuff like ice cream, yakult.

I know croc meat soup can cure asthma but not too sure if it can help to prevent cough..... But so far megan don't cough anymore.

Aileen
Hmmmm, you said that Ed's phelgm is green?? I think should get him checked by PD...coz usually when phelgm/mucus contains yellow bits or even green, it's not just the body being heaty but it could also due to bacteria infection which requires antibiotics to clear the infection. Just my view....but if your neighbour doctor feels Ed is fine then I guess should be ok bah....but if green phelgm, I will get paranoid.

Agree with Yuki that I too enjoy reading your blog very much. Absolutely love the photos you are one really cool mom to be able to juggle and do so much hobbies!!

Thanks SSF and FIon
I will venture into the explorer one of these days.
I'm sure kae will enjoy very very much!
When she pass by playground.. she always call out to me.. slide mummy look slide!

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Collection of Toothpaste from SY
I will be collecting either tonight or tomorrow nite for the following :
1)Mamachan
2)SSF
3)Rachel
4)Chicken little
5)Flo (also the chopstick from SH)
SMS me if u need me to collect too if u not on the list... cos I may not check thread today</font>

SSF,
went to the new explorer too. Ha ha yup sure is cheaper to sign up as member. So Aden and Charmaine both are member now. But some things charmaine wants to try i have to pay extra man.

Yuki
I am asthma baby so I am fed with crocodile meat too last time. Where to get them now huh ? Ha ha My dad used to work for the Jurong Reptile Park so we get to eat easily ha ha.

Aileen,
Aden was on singulair for 2 weeks and it realli helps to clear up but I think it should not be used on long term. Not very sure why. I thot i remember seeing someone posted somewhere.

Cookie
Thank you very much for your help.

Kindy
Ha ha me so busy registering Charmaine and finding out more stuff for her pri 1 next year and totally forgotten about Aden's pre-nursery. Call St james, Faith and Nanyang kindy all on wait list. Maybe this year will put Aden for weekly class , next year for pre-nursery at Queenstown Lutheran Church Kindergarten. Anyone has comment for this ? They say they oso run montessori based programm

CL

My boy is on singulair long term leh.
Coz his is asthma. Everytime he gets cough, it'll blow up to be bronchitis.

U can get crocodile meat at Carrefour.

Aileen
Crocodile meat is very heaty. So use that only if it's a cold cough. If it's heaty cough, cannot use.

Aileen,

Renee also have been taking singulair for cough..but only prescribed by doctor.

You can check with SY..i remember she told me that JH is always on singulair.

thanks mummies for your compliments. i'm not wonder woman, just an average mummy wanting to do her best for her boys and be fair to herself. i'm truly still learning how to juggle all these stuff that i'm doing. there are lazy days where i just laze on the sofa and watch tv. thou that's very rare. coz i feel absolutely guilty if i do that! but you know, sometimes i just feel soooo tired. you mummies here are great too! some of you don't even have maids!! do housework, cook, take care of children, work, etc... i guess end of the day, we just try to do our best

cough:
Thanks for all your inputs. think i'll monitor for 1-2 more days, if he doesn't get better, then i'll bring him to see a pd. and see what he says about it. and whether to put him on singulair.

Esther,
saw the clip of leroy! he's such a handsome boy! your kids both have very nice eyes! big and round!

Hi CL,

I bought the sun dried croc meat from a medical hall at Upper cross street. The medical shop is called Chop Wah On.

They sell the meat in pre pack ($25) and a small pack of herbs consist of Nan xing, bei xing and some others at $2.... for the $25 croc meat, you need 2 packs of the herbs. For kids, the croc meat can be divided into 4 portions. But my mum divide into 6 portions.

Mashy,

Really?? huh headache! oh no..i will ask my pd since renee needs to go back for review..they are sick so often..one passing to another

Aileen,

they are both really keeping me so busy. thankfully i have a good helper. now renee needs to be on the nebueliser for her cough too. u are not giving any medication for now?

wow forum is really active....

HELP!!!!
Need your advise really badly today... S got a confirmed space at St James for next year, 2009, but I am really torn as to whether to put her in next year or not. She loves her CC now, and the student ratio there is great, 1:8, so she learns really fast. But utimately I wanna enroll her into a school based Kindi to give her exposure before she hits P1 and not get a rude shock, imagine 1:40! My inital plan was to enrol her next year, but now we are expecting some big familyy changes end of the year, so my big worry is that she wont be able to cope with change in school and change in family too, how? Anyone has advise?

Decision to Change school to St James in 2009
Pros:
1) Excellent school and tough to get in, fear of not being able to get in later if I dun grab the chance now
2) Able to adjust her to P1 faster and easier then if she were to stay in CC
3) Better to change when she is younger as kids are more adaptable to change now then later
4) Cheaper than CC!

COns:
1) Wont get the attention as compared to CC. St James is 1:16 versus CC 1:8
2) Difficulty in adjusting as big family changes coming in Nov, so close to start of the school term
3) ALl her friends are at CC, and she has a best friend there as well who is my neighbour's gal
4) Further from home, need to take school bus and shorter hours with no lunch I have lesser time to handle stuff

Choosing to stay in CC
Pros:
1) Can adjust much better to new family changes since her school life is consistent and good friends are there, wont feel neglected.
2) Learns really fast and picks up new things very well
2) Teacher pays very close attention to the kids and additional enrichment like CHinese drama and arts class to start next year
3) Good student teacher ratio
4) Near home and lunch covered, I have more time on my hands to see to other things.

COns:
1) Tougher to adjust to P1 in future as little exposure to school based system
2) Keeping her in CC for 1 more year will just make it harder for her to enrol into a school based Kindi in 2010. Also, very little vacancies for Kindi as most of the kids will progress up form Nursery level.
3) Expensive!

Mommies, please help, St James need a answer by tomorrow, and I am sooo torn right now..... sigh!

Re the new explorer ... how much for membership?

CL, not sure abt Queenstown Lutheran Church Kindergarten, but Nanyang has a waiting list for 2 yrs, I hear.

Singulair has 2 type of dosage ... 4 or 5 (not sure what the units) ... taking the right dosage is better. My older son took once before and the right amt was 4, but a cheaper pill comes in 10, and cutting into 2 pieces is cheaper. It's a lung booster and helps to strengthen the lung, but I don't think it's a steroid.... maybe that's why it cause headache? an incorrect dosage?

.ky.

Sleeping deer,

Frankly.. my advise is that you should stick to this CC since S is so comfortable. I was lucky when i give birth E has gotten comfortable in the school. with a smaller ratio he felt more love and it also help me to tied him over during this one month ... coz he was so whiney in school and sticky to his teacher... especially when he knew that i need to rest..

Aileen,

I give E flumid when he has phelgm.. so that i will dissolve and comes out from his poo poo..

Hi sleeping deer ... I think St james does have vacancy for K1 but it's the mid-day session ... IF you have a choice, do you want S to go to this timeslot? We adults tend to be more change resistent than kids ... or rather, kids are more adaptable than you think they are. Kids make friends very easily (that's under one of your pros/cons) and even if they are together now, they'll eventually split in P1 ... I understand where your concerns are coz those are mine too. I was very reluctant to change from cc to preschool coz of the "good fren" factor. And yes, lunch was provided vs now I've to rush lunch out each day before 10.30 for him to bring to school ... If you are having second thots abt the change, think if you can let her go when she's 4 yrs old or even at 5 yrs old, that's 3 yrs before she goes into P1. And looking at the population within St James, you should get a place, but not at the morning timeslot. btw, mine changed schools when he's 3.5 and now when he's almost 5.5 and he's adapting well.

.ky.

Hi Sleeping deer,

Can i ask why is St james so so popular? The ciriculum? Heard many aprents mentioned.... Heard Zoe Tay's boy is there too.

My view is the same as Rena. What we percieve as good for the child may not be good for them.

I had shared earlier that my friend place her gal in a Montessori near her place while on waiting list for a popular sch. Her gal loves the Mon sch and enjoy going to school, make many friends.

After a long wait and many struggles, there is finally a vacancy in that popular sch. My friend gladly transfer her gal to the school. Her concept is the same as you. The school is big, has canteen etc - she thot it would be good for her gal to adapt to P1 later.....

But her gal end up quite lost and don't have much friends. She became very quiet and drag going to school... Even the granies and neighbour notice the change in her..... after 3 months and personally seeing how lonely her gal is in that school, she transfer her back to Mon........ No regrets so far, her gal will prompt her to hurry cos school is starting soon. She become the lively gal who enjoy school, enjoy learning....

What i feel is that at this young age, they need the attention..... why don;t let them enjoy these few years of special attention? They have many many more years of primary and sec education where the ratio is big.... They will adapt somehow.

Rena, KY, Yuki,
thanks for your good advise.

Yuki,
I've been to visit St James, together with Maris Stella,St Joseph, Pei Hwa, Arise. I was skeptical of its high praises as well until I saw the school, hmm, what can I say? I love the space and the well thought out structure of the programme. Its very well rounded, e.g. they have a huge herb and veg garden, and kids are given real responsibilities in gardening. They also have a cooking class sometimes with real baking and cooking. The environment there is nice and you get a sense of the kids really having fun there and learning there. I'm also impressed by the set up, from the drop off point to the assembly to the class pick up. My view is that they get a very well rounded education there.

I know what you mean about what is good for other kids may not be good for yours, that is my fear too, I guess most of my worries are all 'what ifs' which may or may not happen in the future, that's why its so hard to make a decision. Maybe she will do better at St James, maybe she won't, I really dun know.

KY,
thanks for the reassurance! It's so tough deciding what is best for your child... and yes thi sthing about having to prepare her lunch is also a consideration man!

sleepingdeer
The list of pro &amp; cons, sound like cc is much suitable for ur child as she feel comfortable, used to the environment &amp; hv lots of good friends there.. etc... can c positive more than negative.. Children were feel uncomfortable &amp; hv to adjust the new environment as they go. As for me, i'm having problem of sending my #2 to MMI Pre-sch. He keeps crying and cannot get used to it. How wish my #2 can be like ur child easy adapt the environment.

Hi Sleeping deer,

Hmmm, by the sound of it - i love it too. Haha.

You can try to ask a teacher to tag along your gal in order for her to adapt to the new school.

How much is the fees at St james and how long is the sesion?

Fion,
how long has your son been to MMI? Mine took 3 weeks to settle down, and occasionally still whines when I leave. I took the hard approach, and on her first day, I left after 1/2 hour, and thereafter I didn't stay at all even though she started wailing every day after that, so sometimes it just takes a little of time for them to adjust. Once they start having tons of fun there, and they DO see that mommy didnt abandon them, and will pick them up as promised, they will settl edown I make it a point to tell her straight in her face that I'm picking you up straight after lunch everyday, even now, and I make it a point never to be late, in fact, I try to be early, so I think it helps.

Yuki,
it's about $900 a term, so roughly $300 a month. Its about 2 hours each day, more exp then other kindis, but definitely cheaper then CC.

Yuki,
oh one more thing that really impressed me and still sticks in my head. The vice principal took us on a tour of the school, and she personally knew the names of about 1/3 of the 800 kids there. Like wise, this is the first school I seen who has small kids, like K1, actually cooming up to her on their own accord to say Good Morning Mrs XXX, in front of a big group of strangers and she will answer them by name... heehee!

Sleepingdeer
For that good morning , ha ha charmaine at nursery oso do the same. It is a habit they cultivate the kids in school. Charmaine at nursery oso will. Yup I am impressed with admin or principal who can remember all names. I went to Faith Kindy and the admin lady remember all names.

St james is a place where you like it you like if you hate it you simply hate it being commercialised. For me, I would bring shannon to both school again, ask which she likes. I personally feel that they are able to express like and dislike now so go with her gut feel.

I brought charmaine to all schools before deciding where she goes. She oso had a change from CC 2: 12 vs current 2:23. She is adjusting well too.

Hmm big family changes, are we expecting good news for a dec baby from you ?

KY
ha ha i used to be from nanyang kindy dunno if they still have my record. ha ha 300 waiting list I think can forget it.

But I called lutheran kindy just now. ratio 1:6 seems good. 12 in a class only so I like the ratio. Will drop by to check it out on Thur.

sleepingdeer
heehee.. only for 2 weeks trial period. I'm very soft as i c him cried badly my heart goes soft. Cos of this i've stop sending him to MMI as cant bear to c him like this.. I very peifu u leh... never look back as i sigh... keep looking back and worry whether he can adapt or not, teacher there will leave him alone when he cried like mad.. anyone attend him when he need somethings ??? all this thoughts keep flashing back my head and there heart goes soft and therefore i wait till he 3yo next yr then try again... As lots of mummies here said to me, must be hard and dun look back but very hard to do it leh... eventually they need to go to sch one day, i've to overcome myself first not the child. ;(

sleepingdeer - since S has settled well in her school, my opinion is better to take put and not expose her to a drastic change. the last u need is to go through the crying period again. C is not in school yet but we are definitely sending him next yr. i am so worried abt the crying phase. but again, the choice is urs. let me know your decision

ky - the fee can be found at the following site. we paid about $20+ to be a member for 1 child.
http://www.ntucclub.com/about/corporate.aspx?id=2659

chicken_little- wow..isn;t explorerkid far for you. u are residing in the west right? hee..and yes i do agree that they shouldn't charge more for additional activity. shld be free for all mah.

re:thomas the train show
anyone interested to watch? it seems that there is a 25% disc (weekday) and 20% disc(weekend) group purchase of 20 tixs and above. let me know if anyone is interested. i can help arrange. C has been bugging me to buy the tixs.

sleepingdeer

my boy has settled well in his school now, but i'm withdrawing him for nursery next year. Well, his class is more like a playgroup, and it's till 4yrs old.

I think if St James is the place that you want him to be there eventually, might as well do it now. The pain of changes will either be in 2009 or 2010. And like what ky said, they're better adapting than us. We place so much emphasis on friends that they make, but how many of us actually still keep in touch with our kindy friends? I don't even remember them for that matter.

Wah, the ratio is quite bad at St James hor? I thought it'll be 2:20. Not 1:16. That's more k1/K2 ratio. And only 2hrs. Haven't warmed up, already time to go home...

Different strokes for different folks. Some kids prefer a huge place to run in, some need plenty of personal attention, some don't like any attention. So i suppose, u just need to see what your gal really need. For my boy, he's a bit slow and still need plenty of attention. So while i could transfer him now to his future kindy for pre-nursery, i resisted it coz of the teacher-student ratio.

SSF
ha ha for kids daddy willing to drive there one. Nothing must at west side. But alamak my helper scare to climb with the kids so it is still me going up with them. ha ha

Count me in for thomas train 4 tickets. which day ? Weekend better then I dun need to take leave and will have transport to go.

Chicken_little - ya for kids..how far also daddy will travel. just like zoo for us. ok, 6th sept ok for u?
i think need to book asap in order to get good seats. we have 13 seats to go. pls let me know ya.

Thomas and Friends show
Date: 6th sept (sat) 7pm
Pricing: $48 pax (kid under 2 FOC) before 20% disc
Seating: Cat 2

I'm interested!
===============
SSF- 3
Chicken_little-4

sleepingdeer,
i am putting ed in st.james next year for N1. i like the school for all the same reasons as you. S is going to N2 right? Actually the VP told us that their K1/K2 afternoon classes are usually not full. so in the event you don't want to send her now, but only 2 years down the road, i think you should still be able to get a place. For me, I feel that S is better off at her current CC given all your concerns.

esther,
my dad brought ed to the gp. and gave him the same med which I have given, ventolin and rhinathiol.

rena,
noted thanks. just taught Ed last evening how to spit out his phelgm. So I suppose he won't need to take flumid.

hi Sleeping dear and mummies

Do bear in mind a CC and enrichment class eg. St james are different. I think CC are more particular about care for the child (nap, bath, meals etc) with enrichment class throw in..... Whereas in those 2/3 hours enrichment class, be it playgroup etc - it is academic intensive during those few hours....

PErsoanlly i find those kids who attend CC are more independent.... able to self feed earlier, etc.... as these are the skills they learnt. Whereas those children who enrichment and spent more time with parents/ maid... they can manja more?

: Cat 2

I'm interested!
===============
SSF- 3
Chicken_little-4
belinda - 4 (TBC, might going for holiday), will let you know by tomorrow.

thanks so much for your invaluable advise, its always so good to come here and ask for advise coz you get great ideas and pointers that you never thought of

Fion,
my neighbour also very soft hearted. Her gal is three but she stayed with her for about 1 week in school coz the girl very clingy, and till now she is still doing only 3 hours rather than half a day coz she's scared her gal can't take such long hours, so its really up to the individual... take it easy and try again when you are comfortable bah...

CL,
Charmaine's CC sounds good, yah I always get impressed when the non-teaching staff know the students names, feels like they make a effort to get to know the students personally.

S goes to St James for her swimming classes, so she's a little familiar with it, maybe I should bring her there one day and ask her, heehee...

Haha, actually, lots of mommies have been asking me, but I've been avoiding the answer. Yes, we are expecting our second gal in Nov. I have to say the mommmies here are really fast and smart, like Mamachan and Flo who keep guessing...

We have been keeping quiet about it coz there were some complications, so it was very iffy. we didn't even tell our parents until we recently came back from Cambodia, when everything has stablised. And we are only only starting to announce it after the detailed scan...

This is mainly the reason why I am so torn between the two schools, I fear it will be too much for S to handle, a new baby sister and a new school.

SSF,
yah loh, we always worry about how they will react and its really heart pain to see them cry, thinking that Mommy or Daddy has abandoned them or dun love them anymore... *pull hair*

Mashy,
you putting your boy in the same Kindy as Wenyl's son right? I heard its a good place
Yup, I keep telling myself she probably won't remember all of this when she grows up, its probably just me worrying over the what ifs and possible emotional scars and what not!

Aileen,
really? The VP really mentioned to you that got possiblilty for K1? The admin told me waiting list for K1 is 25... haha, which is not toooo bad considering my waiting list for Nursery was 52!

YUki,
I do agree with you tat S has learned alot once she started CC. She learned to wash her hands with soap, pat dry with a paper towel and throw the towel into those step dustbins in the first week she was there, and self feeding was not a problem. Her vocab has also expanded tremenously, now it includes 'Because' and 'I think' and 'Remember', that's why I see the progress she has made in CC...

sleepingdeer

yah, he's going to the same kindy as wenyl's son. it looks good. Can't wait to get him there next yr. Then the sch fees will be so much cheaper. Hahaha.

sleepingdeer,
no, the VP didn't explicitly mentioned. but she said that their afternoon classes are not full when i asked how come the class size seems quite small. with regards to the sudden increase in vocab, actually i'm not very sure if its because of school that has helped our children pick up language skills. i have a neighbour who's boy doesn't attend school but talk just as well. so i believe it's around this age that our todds starts to "throw up" all that they have been absorbing...

sleepingdeer
Congrats to you!!! Thanks for ur advices, ever since i've send him for trial session. Now and then he very attach to me. Whenever i go he will follows and always want me to carry him... Hopefully he will be alright when i send him to pre-sch next yr and hope he wont remember any things, sound like we abandoned him ;p

sleepingdeer ... congrats! understand why you choose to keep quiet about your pregnancy ... btw, for my #2, I only announce to my friends (those who I know my entire life) only after delivery ... yes, fear of complications, etc.

Are you intending to get help or cope with both yourself? Nevertheless, I'll suggest staying with CC too. Not for S but for yourself. Share with you my experience, if u don't mind ... after I had #2, I made a change in cc. kindergarten was not in my consideration ... my #1 was having lunch taken care by the cc and before I did another conversion recently, that was one of my concern. But by now, K's 2.5 yrs n both boys can entertain each other while I cook. Don't cope with so much changes yourself ... btw, someone from my place goes to St James too ... the 2 brothers travel perhaps 2 hrs each day ... also, it's not that difficult to psycho a child ... emphasize on the good points, in my opinion, son#1's cc is more fun than his current kindergarten but I managed to got him very excited abt the new school.

CL ... I peifu u lei ... go all the way to explorerkid ... B would love to go there but really expensive nowadays even to drive

.ky.

Sleepingdeer
Congrats and am sure Shannon will be a good big sis. I have the same worry with you. When she goes school it is like when Charmaine become big sister too. Just have to prepare her , buy her a baby alive. Ha ha can cry for help and can change diaper. So she get used to the idea that have to let mummy attend to baby.

Faith Kindergarten is opposite Queenstown MRT. They used Rigby as their reading materials. hb's nephews are there and Mamachan told me her fren's kids oso there so seems not bad.

Just bring Shannon, tell her she is a big girl and going to be jie jie soon so mummy will trust her to make decision. Ask her which school she likes.

Waiting list for below 50 is not bad not like nanyang it is 300.

Ky,
my sir is that kind will go anywhere for food so cannot short change his kids for explorerkid. BTW now with helper, he gets to sit at a corner enjoy himself vs running like mad like me.

sleepingdeer - congrats! where is our preggy table? can someone update? hee..

chicken_little - i am ok with 4pm as 1,30pm is C's bedtime. Belinda, are you OK? 9 more to go..anyone else?

Thomas &amp; Frds SHow -I'm interested!
===================================
SSF- 3
Chicken_little-4
belinda - 4 (TBC, might going for holiday), will let you know by tomorrow.

Sleepingdeer - wah, today come in forum see good news hee
congrats wor! not bad ar, u are pregnant and yet went VIetnam and still koala S when u were there! bravo!!! Wishing the best for the rest of your pregnancy and a smooth delivery... with a BIG change coming, i wld think placing S in the current CC will be good..take care!

thanks thanks!

Mashy,
I totally agree with you on school fee! It's crazy right... I really think govt should give more monetary benefits to parents who wanna have kids, how to bring them up when everything needs $$$ and SG is soo competitive now? If they really follow the Swiss and give free education, I'll go ahead and have the third one man, haha!

Fion,
my gal is also super clingy to me, always want to be carried, siao right?

KY,
not at all, really appreciate your input. Yup, I am gonna try to be the Incredible Mum though I seriously think I may go crazy having to deal with two on my own! I'm staying with my MIL, so hopefully she can provide some help, though realistically, I know not much, coz her health is not good, and she needs her rest in the day. I dunno how you can handle it man, two kids, no help! That's why providing lunch is a consideration, haha! My hb feels that letting S stay put at CC is better for me time wise too...

sleepingdeer
Do ur gal knows she's going to hv a sibling soon?

I can imagine dealing with 2 kids can go crazy.. esp boys!! I going to handle my 2 sons soon as my mom going for holiday for 5 days, i cannot imagine how to handle with my kids esp the #2 super clingy to me...

Hi sleepingdeer ...

talking abt school fees and incentives ... if our dear govt provides all the freebies, I'm getting back into workforce and then go for a number 3! Ha! Will be heavily taxed to support such a structure so may as well we "earn" from it too... but yes, the savings from cc to kindergarten is quite a fair bit. and thinking ahead, ur kid will need to go for other enrichment classes when they are a little older, ie $$ outflow...

oh, I'm not that great. I have hired help ... for 2.5 yrs. She's great lah ... work from morning till night. Now she's in Norway working 6 hrs/day but earning 3 times the pay. and oh, the boys take afternoon naps, and they sleep at 9plus ... all these help

.ky.

sleepingdeer,
yes totally agree with u! if govt pays for our kids education, i will also definitely go for #3 or even #4!!! haha! oh btw, congrats once again! :D