(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: Milk storage
BTW mummies, I forgot how long can we store frozen BM in top freezer? The TMC book says 2months, my fren says 3months.

SH
Don't worry, like what mashy said, once they recover, their appetite will come back with a vengeance!!! Back then, D didn't eat for nearly a week, only water and water. It's only towards the end he decided he cannot take it and just force himself to eat rice/crackers. I left him be for that period but making sure he still have fluid intake.

Yes, porridge water is like those water in the teochew porridge type. Like what mashy mentioned, it's used in the cases of diarrhoea so as to make the stools harder...but in the case of JW, the porridge water does contain some starch molecules so will help give him some energy. Use it for his milk feeds if he still takes milk. I use it as an alternative (though it's not 100%) when D totally don't eat solids at all when he was sick last year. Bo bian, desperate situation, desperate measures.

LeapFrog Letter Factory
Yes, I would give this DVD 2 thumbs up! It's really good in introducing the phonetic sounds. When D was 1st introduced to the ABCs formally, it was via this LeapFrog Factory. Whenever he sees posters at bus stops with alphas, he actually address the letters via the sounds it makes instead of A is A or B is "Beee". So it sounded like he was "reading" the bus stop posters. Now since attending the playgroup which uses letterland, he calls the alphabets by the usual ABC instead of the sounds.

D is very cute now, he keeps singing the ABC song, some parts I want to laugh out loud. heh heh

Rena

Sure, no prob, will sms u when i'm going to toys r us to confirm with u again.

I also bought the Leapfrog 5 DVDs set. My boy loves them and picked up his phonics from them. Although he hardly talks, he recognizes the alphabets and says the phonic sounds. He still doesn't know the sequence, but when i recite an alphabet, he can pick the right one out. Think it's all thanks to the leapfrog DVDs. That's why I wanna invest in this phonics bundle.

SY
DUn be upset, it's important to maintain a happy mood. Time flies, once bb arrive your anxiety is over.
Regarding your HB, dun be upset, what I notice is usually when we highlight an issue to our men, they will always take a role of problem solver, obviously how your gal position is something beyond what your hb can help, therefore maybe he din do anything because he cant.
Of course we would appreciate if men would offer some kind words or comforting words like ask you dun worry..but well I find usually gal friends are more comforting when come to this kidna things.
SO dun be upset ok. But perhaps you will like to highlight to your hb, that you would love him to "......." so you will feel better. SO he can learn in future how he can make you happy

SY
35 wks still early lah. i think mine turn dont' know 36 or 37 wk leh. don't worry. :D

mamachan/queen
thanks for your feedback, i think i wouldn't want to get the set liao. 'cos i am also concerned that the info inside the encyclopedia set is not updated when time goes by.

aileen
i used fridge to go, too. not bad.

CL
ya, the letter factory very good. my gal can pronounce some sounds of the alphabets liao. she always asked us to play it when she's at home during weekend. haha...
i am thinking if i should buy the set which you and mashy were talking abt.

aileen
I am using the pigeon fridge to go. The ice pack is removable so i remove it when i'm at work. It does cause some condensation on the surface but not too bad. I don't think ur other stuff will get frozen. Its quite big lei, height can fit those tall 250ml bottles.

re phonics
My girl learnt letterland phonics so sometimes i disturb her and say a says ba or a wrong sound and she will correct me. This way i know she really understands.

She does't seem to like leapfrog as much

Rena

Oh no, the papers said it's limited to 1 per customer leh. I was thinking of heading down tom to buy without my hb. So may not be able to get for u.

BTW, the sale is only at Forum Toys R Us & valid only from 6 to 8 June. So don't go to the wrong store.

My friend's friend from Young Parents is looking for quotes on pregnancy. No need photos but will need some details like your name, occupation, your kids' names and ages.

PM me if you're interested.

cookie
yeah u r right. that's why the forum is so great! cos we can always find comfort here...

sunny
your gal also turned late? hmm, is it a gal thing??

dunno leh. she just in this position so long....must pray that she will turn if possible.

tabbs
i heard good things abt letterland phonics too. actually there are many different phonics systems out there so must find one that they like.

mashy
The LEAPfrog phonics system sounds good... hmmm, am still thinking whether to get it now or not. I'll check with my hb to see if there's any chance of him travelling to USA again this year or next year...I still can wait for the system, no hurry to get for now. My hb's recent buy for D was the Leapfrog Word Whammer (similar concept to the fridge phonics)

PTC
Wow...D so young already got PTC session with his playgroup teachers!! Scheduling to see his teachers in 2 weeks time. Was asked what I would like to discuss with the teachers but I'm also not sure what to ask other than his social skills with the teachers and his peers. Any moms got advise what I should be asking?? Coz at this age, I really am not expecting much from him except that he adapts to a school environment well and have fun in a group setting.

Mamachan

me too! going to see C's teacher on 16 June.

Wonder if the store will be crowded tomorrow. Gotta rush there at the opening hr at 10am and leave by 10.30am. Wonder if that's possible.

SY
it's my boy. he turned very late. my gal very early leh. but not to worry, just keep talking to your gal and ask her to turn.

mamachan
i had the PTC with my gal's playgroup teacher 2 wks ago. basically, the questions that i asked were how's she coping with the classes; if she could get along with other kids; and at home, what else we could do to improve the weaknesses that the teachers see during the class. I am more concerned abt her social skills rather than other developments.

SY,
thanks for reading my blog. yes i like to take pics of my little ones. so that i can blog and scrap about them. very time consuming hobbies but i enjoy doing it

mamachan
i also met with JH's teacher last week. bascially they shared with me his developement socially, academically. you can ask abt what they plan to do, what they have done, any behavioral, academic problems and what you can do with D at home to improve on certain areas.

for JH, the teachers shared that he is naming all the letter names instead of letter sounds. that why they gave me some suggestions to incorporate letter sounds into daily life. also JH likes to say A for Apple, B for Boy etc which wasn't taught by me (suspect either helper or IL doing that) and teacher told me not to teach that.

aileen
how do u find the time to do it? really impressive blog. and i love your pic.

Cheng/Aileen/Tabbie/Rena/Mamachan
you all have my contact no. right? can give me a ring and we shall arrange for the pickup of the toys. now my foyer is filled with them =p

i be home this evening,tomo and sunday evening. will be in next monday, friday and weekend. coz the rest of the days i be staying over at my mum as hb be on biz trip next whole week.

hi mummy
at leapfrog.com the items are rather cheap as compared to SPore. Anyone bought from there ebfore? I never check the shipping.. dunno costly or not.. else we could starta SPree here.

Sunny/SY/mashy
Okiez, thanks for the feedback! I went by to pick D up from playgroup the other day as well as to pay for his school excursion trip. His playgroup teacher briefly told me that D was excitedly naming and making the letter sounds of each of the alphas. Sounded positive to me. oh well, we'll see how things goes. We're scheduled to meet on either 16th or 18th June.

Rachel
I'll try to arrange to pick up from you soon.

Aileen
Share share your scrap pieces leh... there's a SMH SB club sharing thread =) Hope to see you share your LOs there!

cookie

the shipping is ex esp if you're buying bulky items like the leappad. that's why can run up to $100 just for shipping alone. I've seen some threads organising BP before on leapfrog.com on smaller items though so think some things are still worth it to buy from there.

mamachan,
hee...i only just picked up scrapbooking recently. so i haven't done any LOs yet. mostly altered art. hehe... ONE day, if i ever do an LO i shall share with you :D

is it compulsory to do strep B test? i cant remember

cookie
shipping is very ex. someone shared with me that her fren bought toys until shipping was like 200 bucks.

SY

i think it is if you're having natural birth. I think mine was given during labour. Can't remember lor. If not, it's all wasted since i went into labour at 35weeks. Why leh? U dun wanna take?

Leapfrop is so much cheaper in USA! When my cousin was based there last year, we ordered online and sent to her address in USA. As she ship all her stuff back when she came back, she ship those back too so we didn't really incurr much shipping cost.

The individual set to be attached to the lepfrop set.... selling at $29.90 in Singapore....cost only $10 there....... so after conversion, still alot cheaper than here. The thing is i think they only deliver within USA.............

Bought something like a mike to attached to the leapfrop system. Can record sounds, names etc. Very interesting.
Can't find the mike in Singapore thou.

SY
My gf's bb just turned at 36weeks.. dun worry, still hv time, think my gal also turned qt late...

Leapfrogs letter factory
erh.. the DVD souns v good. Where can I buy it in Sg?

rachel
thanks, will sms u. Maybe try to pick up tomorrow if hubby can knock off on time. Anyone wants to tompang me? please PM or sms me :>

Sunny
i got from kinokuniya.. very ex.. wait for members sale with 20% then not so bad. But i got it cos my girl loves annie apple.. she can sing most of the songs.

tracy
i store BM in the Freezer for 3 months last time. I still have 1 year old frozen BM in my vertical freezer cos I don't know what to do with it!

krissie

Yah, the shipping is cheap. I can't remember how much i paid already, but i bought the 5 DVDs box set, so it works out cheaper than if u buy indiv DVDs.

Hi MAshy,

Wow, looks like a good deal! To think i had the impression they don't deliver to Singapore! It simply make more sense to order online then to buy from Singapore stores if any..........

tabbie,
thanks for the info! Haha, you can use your 1YO milk as facial cleanser.

SY,
The Strep B test must be done right? But its mostly done close to EDD. Cos if positive then you need antibiotics during delivery.

just now went world book fair. picked up some books for #2.
din really buy much for JH this time round. everyday he keeps saying he has a lot of books....

I have two Barney concert tickets, bought at $71 each for tomorrow(5 Apr 08 Sat)'s concert at Suntec. Will let them go at much lower prices. Any reasonable amount is fine, please PM me your best offer by today and I'll meet up with you tomororw to pass them to you before concert starts.

Concert: Barney's Lets Imagine Live!
Time: 11.30am
Date: 07 Sat 2008
Seats: Row E, seat 5 and 6
Original Cost: $143 total
Selling at: Best offer by 7pm today.

Payment: I will require a 50% deposit of whatever price we agreed on via IB, and remaining amount to be paid up in exact tomrrow when tickets are handed over.

RE: Leapfrog DVD
Hmmm not sure if JW will watch it. He is very stubborn with things he watch. He only watches certain episodes of Hi-5. Change new one oso cannot. Dunno how to handle this boy...