(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY

Europe is really beautiful, u should try to go if possible. Everywhere is so scenic that all your photos will turn out picture perfect. Your hb scared of flights? I also hate long flights coz i can't sleep in it, can't rest well and freaks out at air turbulence, so doubt i'll be going anywhere far too in the near future. sigh.

Maybe u should save up for a big trip next time. Then just take 1 flight return and travel there for 1 month. Heheh.

Sysac- wow, very innovative of u to use playdoh! heehee.. glad tat ur had a great time and C was well behaved in the plane

Tabbs - envy envy! wow... i tink the next time i can go there again will be many years down the road haha...i love the mountains there and the cable car ride up Mt Titilis, pretty sights everywhere wf cows moo-ing away beneath u and their bells ringing away! Hope ur kids will get well soon so tat u can b rest assured!

Cookie - haha, the incidents are reali funni! tho im sure it is exasperating when facing it :p like wat the others said, it brings back fond memories of wat happened wf me and my siblings...

Queen - same same! my mum used to cane all of us in equal shares no matter who is right or wrong! and my bro used to dive very quickly under the bed for shelter hahaha

cookie, sunny
My didi also bian zhui alot. Dunno why?

Sunny
Cos didi one year liao and i'm still pumping 3x a day quite tiring. Was thinking can feed the same formula to 2 kids.

Thanks mums for the swiss advice. Hope i have fun. Long time no holiday with hubb. We made a video 4 the kids 4 when we are gone. Hope they don't miss us too much.

Rachel
Sorry i got no time to pick up the rail set this week can i get it next week?

Nintendo wii
I bought a nintendo wii 4 my hub father's day pressie, any good games to recommend?

cookie
My didi also shout very loud cos he can't say anything yet. Not even ma ma. He just point at everything and go orh orh orh very loud. So typical man? Caveman? Ha ha. We always call him dai sang gong in cantonese. Although he can't talk his screams can beat tabby! Just hope he learns some speech soon cos i dun understand him.. He's very different from tabby

mashy
he is not scared of flights but he is sian on long flights. he cannot sleep on plane one.

tabbs
cooking mama supposed to be fun for wii.

Tracy,
Sure. I should be around on Sat but have a gathering on Sun. I PM you my handphone number already so can just sms/call me to arrange the logistics

Hi Sunny ...

there are shades around the beach. remember to apply sunblock even though the sun may not look bright. And there is a foodcourt (koufu) that you are hide in the aircon with #2 and there's water fountains just outside for #1 ... just remember that the water may not be clean though. have fun!

thanks mummies for your suggestion.

my crazy hb said he will bring didi to sun tan with him everyday during his school holiday 'cos he got islander card and didi's admission is FOC!!! crazy right?

#1 & #2

Once i was talking to my colleagues and they commented i seems to favour #1 more.... so i pay more attention to myself. I tried very hard to search within my heart if i do love either one more.........i can't tell.....

But since my colleagues said that, i was very concious about it..... But during the parents teachers meeting, #1's teacher highlight that Ashley sometimes seem insecure and told the teachers that #2 bully her but everyone loves #2 still.........cos #2 very 'ke ai'.......... The teacher was very open and ask if we neglect her...........

I am such a flop right? #1 & #2 also cannot balance after so much attention.........

But i gradually realise as long as i love them and provide for them, be there for them emotionally - i have done my job.......... there is no balancing skills here...... some child just need more attention etc.

I was watching a japanese ghost story two months back on Channel U - Friday night. wonder if any otehr mummies caught the show.

Anyway the first story was about the insurance agent going to a hospital to assess a patient. The hospital is closing down and the patient has no other kin.... The hospital brought back many memories for the agent because she spent quite a fair bit of time there as her younger sister was constantlt sick and stayed there.

She has to go to hospital to look after the sister after school and miss playing with friends etc. And because the motehr was busy working to meet the deadends, pay the hospital bills etc and had no time for her.

One day she asked her mum for a birthday party as that's what her friends in school have. The mother refused and said she should know better. She asked the mother "Why did you neglect me? I am also your daughter." The mum cried and agreed to a party. Anyway, it doesn;t come to pass.

One day, this elder sister suggest to the younger sister to run away from the hospital.She hide the younger sister in a laundry basket and ran to distract the nurse away. But the sister went missing........ hence the ghost story.....

The ghost scene don't disturb me as much but more of the whole set up.......... In the girl's point of view, she is right to ask the mother ofr attention.... she miss out all childhood cos she has to take care of the younger sister after school, the mother cannot afford anything for her at all........... Is she selfish for hating the sister?......... It really sets me thinking about sibling love........ parents and children....

yuki

I also had my fair share of fighting with my brother when i was young. It stopped only after we stopped staying together. It's normal that siblings fight i suppose. Fight over toys, over things, over the right to use the phone, over tv channels, over money or even over spouses/boy(girl)friends.

I don't think there's any sibling who grew up loving each other naturally unless there's a huge age gap so it's really the parents' responsibility to help them love each other. Hopefully by the time they're grown up, they've already developed a sense of kinship and love for each other.

the first teeth finally got shipped out and it's back in stock. so will order the 2nd batch.

jsut to confirm again

Flo First Teeth 5
Krissie First Teeth 4
SH First Teeth 5
Mashy First Teeth 2
Wenyl First Teeth 2
Flo Oral B 2
Mamachan Oral B 2
Cookie Oral B 2
Rena Oral B 6
CL Oral B Stage 1 Toothbrush and Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 1
Cookie Oral B Stage 1 Toothbrush and Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 1
CL Gerber 2

Rena
i m not sure whether u still wan the Oral B, can let me know before i place order? wan to place the order before first teeth runs out of stock again.

Yuki,
I'm totally with you. I feel that the more I try to spend time with either one, the more I feel guilty towards the other one which I "neglected". So I think I just really have to stop feeling guilty and just enjoy whatever time I have with both of them. Nevermind that both of my boys are very attached to their main caregivers (aka my maids). I mean I have to work full-time, so it's only natural that they are close to them. I must believe that my boys will still know who their mummy is and the maids are just their care giver when I'm not around. Having said that, I'm going to put up more family photos at home so they understand who's family and who's not! :p

siblings,
I don't remember fighting alot with my bro. Maybe coz he dotes on me alot. And my parents have always instill the notion of 相亲相爱。They have also been rather fair. But I do agree with mashy, we as parents will need to teach them to love each other.

re #1 and #2,
any tips to make #1 and #2 closer to each other? so that instead of us feeling bad, we let them spend time with each other then we don't feel so bad....

tell u a joke from the comic strip 'Baby Blues' abt sibling rivalry. Can't remember the exact details but it goes something like this.

Zoe is the older sis and Hammie the younger bro for those who haven't seen this comic strip. Their mother made 2 cupcakes for each of them. They were exactly the same size, same flavour, with the exact same number of sprinkles on them. The two kids then started screaming at each other. Zoe screamed that Hammie has more blue sprinkles while Hammie screamed that ZOe has more green sprinkles. Mother got fed up and took out the extra sprinkles from each cupcake. Then the two kids started screaming 'Not fair' and that each other's sprinkles were bigger than the other's.

So u see, no matter what u do, they'll find something to argue about and that it's not fair in their eyes. They will always think that their parents love the other sibling more.

Hi Sy,

There are always the good time and bad time....never 100% loving....Sometimes Ashley and Megan fight and Megan is in the wrong, i punish Megan and Ashley will get upset. She will console her, hug her etc. But Megan can be quite agreesive and some instance she don't apprciate ashley's comfort and pinch her even further......

Ashley is the soft hearted one here. Haha.

But when someone bully Ashley, Megan will help Ashley to fight. Once Ashley's cousin was fighting over a toy with her and AShley cried. Megan went over to kick her cousin.

Very much like me when i was young. I used to bully my elder sister at home but when she get bullied outside, i will help her. In fact once, i used a 1m long wooden ruler to hit my neighbour when i realise he bullied my sister! haha. I was 4 then........ small size but i carry the wooden rule to his house and smaeck him on his back.......Two years back this boy came my house to deliver his wedding card to my mum - he can still remember the incident! So paisay........

Hi MAshy,

I totally agree! haha.

It can be quite a headache.... especially with gifts. Once we ate at Waraku restuarant and they always give children gifts...BOth get the bubbles but different colour and different shape. I felt so paisay to asked the stuff for the same shape and same colour! Both gals will fight still. haha

Any one interested in Coach bags and Kate Spade?

A friend is in USA for 1 year accompanying her hubby for work and is a stay at home mum there. So she is looking to make a little money. As Coach and Kate Spade is generally cheaper than in Singapore, she can help to purchase and ship over with a little charges.

Those interested can PM me. Infact she had bought a few Coach bags and if you want to see the designs, i can email to you. Or if you have a particular one in mind, i can ask her to check it out.

No obligations. Thanks.

Hi Mashy,

Heehee , pros & cons.....

Eating out is super ex, estimate to be USD$20/person/meal. Even groceries is about USD$80 a week for family of 3.........

My friend bought a lot of Leapfrog there thou. So much cheaper than in singapore.

re: Siblings
I'm starting to understand what Yuki is saying. My hb hints that I seem to only have the younger one on my mind. But it's so unfair because I have tried to give as much of my attention to #1 whenever she's at home. #2 is always delegated to his rocker and observe #1 and mummy playing together. Luckily he's an easy child and doesn't need to be carried all the time. When he grows older, he will probably start to feel neglected. I still feel guilty that #1 has to take the school bus to/fro school even though she's the youngest one in class. All the other students have parents/caretakers fetching them everyday.

But mummies, don't fret that your children are displaying their jealousy and fighting. Let me share my 2 cents worth. I'm the oldest sibling with 1 bro and 1 sis. They have been fighting since day 1 because my bro was super jealous. And they have all the attention from mother even though they are mostly scoldings. To win favour from my mother, I always try to be the good sister and I'm very sensible and easy-going. But the problem is I grow up feeling very insecure whenever people start to display their anger toward me and I tend to keep my feelings to myself and people think I'm always happy. Not that there are a lot of unhappiness in me, but I have a difficulty communicating my feelings to people, even hb. So hb and me both feel it's healthy for siblings to fight occasionally instead of putting on a good show all the time, at least they are able to communicate their feelings. The onus is on the parents to manage it properly and fairly.

val
dun feel guilty abt #1 taking bus. in fact, JH's teacher said that was one of the best things we did cos it made adjusting to sch much easier. i can foresee that when i m at home during my ML, he will resist going to sch but cos of the routine with the sch bus, it will make it easier.

why does your hb think you only care abt the younger one? i think for mine, no matter what i do, my hb thinks i only care abt #1!

RE. Siblings
I have 1 older brother (1 year older) and 2 younger sis (1 is 3 yrs younger, 1 is 11 years younger). I'm the oldest daughter. Growing up, I always felt that my mom (not so much for my dad) favours my brother the most. 'Favour' not love. Maybe cos he's the first born? There are times when I feel my mom practise double standards and let my bro get away with things that I cannot. As the oldest daughter, I'm expected to take care of the house. But I never felt that my mom loves my bro or other siblings more than me... just the favoritism part. I know my mom loves me enough cos she shows that she's proud of me and will nag (her way of showing concern) and she'll cry when I hurt her. I think it's quite hard to avoid having yoru kids feel that there is unfairness in treatment. It's just the way it is. So just have to try our best to be as equal as possible. We know in our hearts that we do no love one more than the other.

RE. US
I have very nice bosses... for my trip to Texas next week, they asked me how come I do not want to extend my stay for hols. But my HB complained that the costs are too high cos we'll be going to Perth end Aug for 9 days. Sigh...
I was hoping to bring Isaac to Disneyland.

Hi Valerie,

I am so touched by your sharing!

My elder sister dotes on us alot and if she have a dollar, she will spend $0.80 on us and only $0.20 on herself. I used to take advantage of that and as i grow older, i wish she will be more selfish so that people will not take advantage of her! And sometimes i see Ashley having this trait too and worry she get bullied.........

There is never 100% right or wrong in parenting. Afterall we are all born different and unique and there can never be consistence in dealing with all children.... As long as we can touch our heart and feel we have done the right thing..

Was wondering if all these attention, favourism etc in our mother's mind last time? haha.

Hi Queen,

Hee Hee, even now, my mother still favour my brother more. Very concern if he miss eating any meals etc. But like what you say, i don't feel my mother's love any less. In fact, till now, me and my sister still treat my younger brother like he is still young, sometimes worrying if he has money to spend althou he is working already. And althou my sister is a SAHM, she sometimes offer to pay when we go out cos i guess she feel she is the elderest....... I try to not to let her pay as i am the one working and earning my own living........

Yuki,

Since your friend is going to US, maybe she can do the leapfrog BP as well . I think Educational items are easier.

RE: elijah

I used to be very protective over elijah until he goes to school . I was very concern when the school has outing. Even hubby is worried if the school can cope with all the students going.
Suprise , He is back in one piece and he enjoys himself just that he became more tan and has a little cough. I think too much cookies...

RE: Maternity

I am finally on Maternity since monday. but the sad thing is that i caught a flu virus . Poor me with nose block and couldn't sleep. by the time I am able to sleep bb is kicking and moving alot inside. I only manage to sleep in the morning at 6am after making milk for elijah.

Siblings

I am the eldest in the family with 2 younger brothers. When my brother was born I was totally jealous of him .. but it was my mom who assure me that she will love her children all the same. She really did. All the sacrifice that she made for all her three children are the same. only something diffrent . my brothers get to go camping and not me.. boo hoo.

That was why when i got married .. I totally can't fit into my hubby's family. coz his mom totally doesn't favor him and only favors the eldest, the youngest and the gal. '

Therefore I told my hubby to be aware and not to exercise his mother's method to our family..

Hi Rena,

My friend already in USA and will be there for another year. As for leagfrog, i thought we can just order online ourselves and pay for the shipping?

In that case, it doesn't make sense to go through my friend since we can do it ourselves.

Outing:

Haha. I only go for my overnight BBQ at 15. Before that my mum don;t allow. But i went for a school camp and was not at home for 5 consecative days....... since then my mum was more lax. Think maybe she has the same thot as you! haha....

yuki

wah, so ex? I also can't remember how much it is already since it was also eons ago that i went. But i remember las vegas food is quite cheap. Suppose it's due to the casinos.

Hi mashy,

Yes indeed. In fact my MIL just went over and claim the same thing. The cheapest breakfast set cost US$18.... 1 sunny side up, a simple sandwich, 2 waffles. And it was the cheapest on the menu.......... Just a cafe along the street, not fancy restaurant......... She was in SF.....

rena
u on ML already? so nice...i also wish to start ML but too much work and also i wan to minimise the time spent at the new office..haha...

hi mommies!
Posting from lucerne switzerland!! Got free internet access...

its all rainy here but not too cold.. its a small place, so nice to just stroll along. Feel so weird without the kids but its nice to "find" myself again... the chocolates are lovely here!! going to enjoy myself as much as possible before i get back to the grind!

Really miss couple time with hubby... its quite nice..

SY, Rena... so fast.. soon you will join us in the no2 club

RE: sibling rivalry...
i'm the only child, i really don't know how to handle that, hope it will be fine... we just do our best as parents and hope they realise when they are older that we love them the same.

Finally finished my exams last week but this week still very busy cos just started charmaine in childcare. The first day was relatively okay - she cried a bit but today was terrible. She clinged onto me and refused to let me go. She even told the teachers that she would call mama to wait for her at home then take taxi home. Gosh!

Tabbiesus,
Glad that you are enjoying yourself....

Valerie,
I am also the eldest with a younger bro and sis. For us, I noticed that my younger sis who's the middle tended to be more vocal about voicing her likes and dislikes whereas I would tend to keep quiet.

CL,
Glad that your event's going to take place. It's a sat? Will drop by just to say hi if we are around.

sysac
nope, din miss out. yours was in batch 1.

tabbs
so shiok....take more pic and show us!

sl
congrats on finishing your exams... finally can relax a bit and spend more time with charmaine.

tabb
Wonderful that you are enjoying yourself.
Have a good good time

SY
pls let me know when to pay you for the toothpaste. Thanks

Yuki
I PM You too.. also yes I would also wanna know your friend's service charge

sl

charmaine is so smart! To think that she actually told the teacher that you'll wait for her at home while she takes a taxi, wow! My boy is still gong gong like that. More like a running little baby than a toddler.

Tabb
Great that you're enjoying yourself with hb! Have fun!

Re:Siblings
Talking about siblings.. I'm the 3rd child of the 4 kids at home, dun fight so much with my elder or younger becos they are 5 yrs difference of age from me, either 4-5 yrs older or 5 yrs younger.
When I was young, I do feel that my dad dote on my elder sis where my mum dote on my elder bro. but as time goes by, things are pretty much the same. I also remember my elder "hate" me becos my mum dote on me(as I was the youngest) before my younger come along.
But I too did not feel if my parents loves any one of us more. We got all the caning the same..heehee..
On one hand.. I hope I had siblings nearer to my age so I can share and relate with them more (Having a 5 yrs gap is big I feel between siblings) but on the other hand.. now coping with children just 1 yr gap...is a big challenge to me... dunno how to cope when #3 comes along.

Mashy,

She refuses to stay in school so I told that my mum who usually looks after her while we work is not at home there's no one at home therefore she can't go home. That's when she told the teacher that she would call mama (that's my mum) to wait for her at home while she takes a cab home. We were very astonished to hear that too cos we don't take cabs and I am really surprised that she knows that she can take cab home. I guess sometimes, we really underestimate what our children know. Someday, caeden will surprise you too.

Just to share something funny, when my dad asked charmaine when she's going school again. She said that she's going on sunday.

SY,
It's going to be just a short break if I can clear my papers so am going to make good use of this time.... Sometimes, when I am really stressed out, I kept asking myself why did I bring this upon myself...

When are you going to pop? Shall we meet for lunch before that?

<font color="0000ff">Sales promo On Thermal Flask?? Tiger or other good brand</font>
Hi mummies...
In case you come across in newspaper on any Sale Promo ( since its GSS now) on 1L and above capacity Thermal Flask- Tiger/Thermos/etc good brand...
Can please highlight to me...

So paisey to make such request, cos I dun subscribe newspaper at home and co newspaper so difficult to get hold.

sl, mashy
yeah, it's amazing what they know. got once my mum brought JH to ikea near my place. they took bus there so he was very happy. but when coming back, when he was still inside ikea, he told my mum he wants to take bus. but when they stepped out (and it was hot) he told my mum to take taxi instead cos he was tired. then he told my mum take taxi very expensive. my mum was pretty tickled by it.

sl
i shd be popping first week of july (hopefully!). sure let's meet before that.

cookie
can can, i can help u look out. i always look for sales on fri and sat papers..haha very auntie one.