(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
I can't. Coz JW actually recovered for a while liao after we brought him to dr sim some time back. Completely no cough. This is a completely new episode so a bit shocked that it degenerated so fast.

Went back to dr sim again today. Changed antibotics coz fever still at 40 degrees....sigh...when will he get well. He hasn't had any solid since he fell sick...

<font color="0000ff">REAL BEAUTY</font>

When a first-time father cuddled his newborn son, he immediately noticed the baby's ears conspicuously standing out from his head. He expressed his concern to the nurse that some children might taunt his child, calling him names like "Dumbo." A doctor examined the baby and reassured the new dad that his son was healthy - the ears presented only a minor cosmetic problem.

But the nervous father persisted. He wondered if the child might suffer psychological effects of ridicule, or if they should consider plastic surgery.

The nurse assured him that it was really no problem, and he should just wait to see if the boy grows into his ears.

The father finally felt more optimistic about his child, but now he worried about his wife's reaction to those large, protruding ears. She had delivered by cesarean section, and had not yet seen the child.

"She doesn't take things as easily as I do," he said to the nurse.

By this time, the new mother was settled in the recovery room and ready to meet her new baby. The nurse went along with the dad to lend some support in case this inexperienced mother became upset about her baby's large ears. The infant was swaddled in a receiving blanket with his head covered for the short trip through the chilly air-conditioned corridor. The baby was placed in his mother's arms, who eased the blanket back so that she could gaze upon her child for the first time.

She took one look at her baby's face and looked to her husband and gasped, "Oh, Honey! Look! He has your ears!"

No problem with Mom. She married those ears...and she loves the man to whom they are attached.

The poet Khalil Gibran said, "Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart." It's hard to see the ears when you're looking into the light.

SH

I'm surprised that JW doesn't need to be nebu leh. Since he's got infection already and his fever is so high and so persistent. That time my boy already kenna warded and put on nebu round the clock every 4hrs incl at night, plus 2 types of antibiotics. Somemore, my boy was eating very well &amp; active too. Not just milk, solids too. That's why i was shocked when they say need to admit. Then again, maybe coz my boy got case before, so have to be more aggressive in the treatment.

SO what med is he on?

anyone heard of a company called grolier int'l?
just now went to the world book fair. they are selling the scholastic books including encyclopedia costed around $2,400.... looks good but v ex leh...

anyone have recommendation on good encyclopedia? my gal starts asking 'why, why, why'... so, thought of getting one set and learn together. :p

SH
maybe when he got well, it was only surface and he din completely recover. so this time when he fell sick again, it was much worse. so must tell your hb cannot take it lightly and best to see PD in such cases.

when JH is sick he takes a lot more milk than usual. solids also very little. maybe must give him things that he really likes? except for those heaty stuff...

sunny
yes i heard of grolier. always see them at book fairs. hee, why not go online to search for stuff that u can share with her? JH also likes to ask why all the time...

SY
'cos if got books, then we can read together and develop a habit of reading loh. hee... not sure lah, that's my thought.

Re: Pumping Pal's breast Shield from Mumsfairy
HI Mummies..
Just wanna check, has anyone here tried this before? and any idea is it good ?

SH,
Pray tat JW will recover fast. He probably got secondary infection so recovery takes longer this time cos body immunity is super low. I experience that with Ben. Took him longer to recover n had to take the strong medicine to clear up his cough. Make sure to go back for checkup to make sure lungs are totally cleared up.

Rena,
Better stop carrying Elijah wor. The pain will be more prolonged later cos this is ur 2nd time. I only had the lower back / pelvic pain this time n Ethan is not as heavy then.

KY,
I like ur term "one-woman-show" at home! hee. Cos I m in the same shoes like u. Ethan is having 1 week term break n I m handling 2 active boys at home this week.

sunny,
Grolier has a shop in Downtown east, infront of Explorer Kids. U can see the books there. I like some of the series but damn ex lor.

Cookie,
I tink Denmy has it. U wanna check with her. Personally I dun tink its necessary.

<font color="0000ff">RE: BRESTFEEDING PILLOW</font>
Anyone here interested to buy over the brestfeeding pillow? Its still in v good condition. I hardly use it. Wanna ask the mummies here before I post on the forum WTS. PM me if keen ya.

Mashy,
JW has suddenly turn lethargic today and is refusing food. Just brought him in the morning to see dr sim to change antibotics. If continue like dat may have to admit him any way liao. Your boy was eating well when he was hospitalised?

SH

Yah, he was eating well before we went to the hospital. In fact, we had a family dinner and he was eating well. It was only when his fever hit 39.8, we decided should go and let the dr check. But with all the needle poking and forced medicine feeding, he was so totally upset. Refused to drink his milk and ate only the red bean bread &amp; cha siew buns that i bought (coz he likes it).

Wendyl
Thanks.. check with Demny already, she has the handsfree. But I'm considering the Pumping Pal breast Shield.. suppose to prevent sore nipple from pumping.. I wonder if it is as miracle as it sound.

So if any mummy her ever use perhaps can share your experience.

sunny

wah, so expensive, i won't be tempted to buy even if it promises the world. I think such things are good to have but not necessary. My hb has a set of encyclopaedia which his parents bought for him when they're young. Sorely outdated already and collecting dust at his parents' home. If u wanna buy, better make sure it's updated, eg. the no of planets in the solar system (since they downgraded pluto recently).

today went for my checkup today. a bit upset cos bb hasn't turned. think most likely going for c-section. i have a feeling she doesn't wan to turn. she has been staying in this position for a long time. so maybe cannot turn. nothing agst c-section but just thinking abt staying in hospital one more day, not being able to carry jh after that etc makes me feel sian.

i already not feeling happy and all hb can do is to continue to work. makes me feel that having this bb is like my own problem.

mashy
haha.. last time my parents also bought us a set of encyclopedia, end up also collecting dust and now don't know where we kept liao. ya, really must think carefully...

SY
cheer up! how many weeks are you now?

cookie,
I have the pumping shields! You want? I tried and dun really like it. Can pass to you.

SY,
Still got chance for bb to turn. Meg turned after Xmas, around 28dec, which means about 37wks. So it's still possible. 35weeks still early. My gynae also tot she will not turn, who knows she gave us all a surprise. So your gal may turn later too. There's hope.

SH,
Hope JW recovers soon.

Sunny
I've heard of Grolier International. The main lady is Judy or is it Julie? They seem to be quite hard sell actually.... no doubt that the books they carry seemed good. I was approached for an introduction when they had a roadshow at Tiong Bahru Plaza. I think at this stage, there's really no need to buy the entire set of encyclopaedia as information will keep changing with newer updates over the years. What would be good is to borrow books from the libraries instead as our local libraries are constantly updating their books of knowledge. I would think by the time our toddlers reach the primary school stage, they might all be learning via computers and get information off the internet which have massive access of information. Just my two cents worth lah...

SY
Hope your girl girl will turn in time when it's nearer to due date.

SH
I wish JW speedy recovery soon! Ultimately, what's impt now is not the amount spent but that he gets well and fully recovers. I can fully empathize the pinch in the money spent on countless of visits to the PD or PDs and the ideaof giving so many types of medication. But end of the day, the well-being of our little one is more impt than the money spent. I guess though your hb grumbles about the money spent, am sure he wants JW to be well too. You take care too! It's really never easy when our child falls sick and badly sick somemore. Can be very heartpain.

Try to keep JW as hydrated as possible. Cook rice water for him to drink in place of his usual water so that he gets some nutrients, electrolytes and liquid in that form other than milk. When he fully recovers, his appetite will definitely be back! That's what happened to D last year when he had a throat infection, totally don't eat nor drink milk...lost alot of weight in a short time and his urine started to turn dark. Was a scary time for us too. He just kept drinking lots and lots of water and rice water.

SY
Sorry to ask, you're feeling unhappy because of the prospects of going through C-sect? or coz your hb seemed to be indifferent whether your girl might be c-sect birth? Don't think too much at this point in time, am sure whatever you've tried to prepare ahead in time had been done. Just enjoy the final stages before you give birth. A happy mommy = happy baby and happy family. Just take things one step at a time, the road will unfold itself naturally. Take heart! Trust the Lord!

tracy
hope she will turn! really din expect this. though i did suspect she doesn't want to move cos she seems comfy in this position for sooo long.

mamachan
hmm, think it's a combi of both. i guess i wasn't too prepared at the prospect of C-section as well. just think it's going to be quite troublesome cos will be away in hospital for an extra day, then will worry abt jh etc etc. maybe thinking too much also. and hb knows that i m already upset and just din do anything abt it.

yeah still got a lot of things not done. must pack my hospital bag soon, get the confinement stuff and start to wash the bb clothes....

SH
mamachan's suggestion of rice water is good. when JH is sick and doesn't eat much, i also use the rice water and try to make milk with it also. more nutrients and it helps to settle the stomach. sometimes taking too much anitbiotics makes the stomach uncomfy

hi rachel,
thanks for lugging the toys back for us! and thanks to your hubby too! =D Let me know how and when I can collect from you. Don't want to clutter up your house since it's a huge box.

Fridge-to-go:
has anyone used it? any comments? i tot of getting one coz my one from medela is torn already.

SY
relax, dun think too much. Still a month to go. She will be a good girl

Aileen
I used that fridge to go. I love it. Now we used it to bring cold drinks out when we go beach or picnic. If you want to try before buying, let me know I can pass to you to try

SY,
think you are going thru the anxiety of delivery. relax and just take things as they come. don't have to worry too much. doesn't help anyways. as for your hb, no point getting upset as well. it's not the first time he's like that right? hehe.. men never change, in this aspects. :p

CL,
oh really? that's good. they have tied up with pigeon to come up with a breastmilk cooler bag. so i'm considering buying that one. only thing is that i don't know the dimension. will call up to ask later. btw does it collapse considerably? i'm afraid it takes up too much space in the fridge and is it very cold on the outside? coz i put the bag in my large work bag, so i don't want my things to be "frozen"! :p

Aileen,
Fridge-to-go is good. I can put one good ice pack in and last 12 to 14 hours for the model which can last up to 8 hours to 10 hours.

SH,
It's normal that appetite is bad when our kids are sick. Just have to give him whatever he feels like eating, if he does not have appetite at all, yes, even plain porridge / rice water is good. If not a few days on total milk feed is also fine. You might even want to try baby cereal.

Sunny,
Grolier is a good brand of encyclopedia. But I do agree with Mamachan and SY that it's not worth spending money on encyclopedias as they get outdated. Now in internet age, just search and read from the web together. There are plenty of kids friendly information websites on the internet.
Storybooks, I'll spend the moeny to buy expecially those books that come with beautiful illustrations and good story. Such books are timeless.

Sunny

My ILs bought this bilinggual set (similar to leapfrog but need to change the page in the computer system when u turn the page) for >$300 at people's park. It's so expensive and although it's bilinggual, frankly, i don't trust the English. My hb and i were skeptical abt it. My boy was happily pulling out the gadgets (rather wanting to rip it out) so we told them he's not ready and told them to keep at their place. The pointer pen can't even detect the words properly sometimes.

So expensive, I would rather spend it on a leapfrog.

Mashy,
JW won't take any of his favorite food now. He is completely off solids. Yesterday only had 1 milk feed at 6am, cheat him into drinking a bit again at 4pm. We got so worried. We decided if he still refusing to take even milk by next day, we will hospitalise him.

Thank goodness he suddenly asked for milk 3 times again thru the night. But he is still refusing solid. Should i be worried or should i leave him to be since he is at least drinking milk?

MamaChan,
Rice water is what? Just like cooking teochew porridge and taking the water on top. Like dat will have nutrients as well one? Hmm...like dat must go cook some for him though dunno if he will drink..he v fussy....

SH

If he's still drinking milk today, then should be ok. But if he refuses to drink again, better go and see the dr. Can get dehydrated. Is his fever gone yet? If the fever persist for 2 days with no improvement, must see PD again. Must arrest the fever first.

SH

Rice water is good for diarrhoea coz it helps to stop diarrhoea and prevents dehydration. U can also use the rice water to make his milk. Have to make sure he drinks, whatever drink also good.

Yah, once he recovers, he'll eat like a monster so don't worry too much abt weight loss now.

Mashy,
Still have fever but pretty controlled with the paracetamol at below 38.5 degrees so far. I think my hands are completely ineffective after his days of high fever liao. At 38.5 degrees...i tot by using my bare hands that he has no fever liao. Got a rude shock when i measured and saw 38.5 degrees.

mashy

do you have a pic of it? i jsut got him first the computer leapfrog at 100 from a mummy. wanted to teach him phonics on my own.

SH/Rena

U gals wanna get it? I'm definitely going for it. Have been eyeing this for a very long time already. If you buy in US, it's very cheap, like S$50+ only. But with shipping, it'll add up to abt $150.

Mashy,

I been eyeing things like this for a long time but always worried coz jw always flip pages very roughly. A few times, he even tear the book....is it a very good buy? Hmmmm....

Mashy
Wasn't this at sale at Robinson at the member sale last month. That lady keep asking me to get and it is oso $150 leh.

Now Toysrus cheaper hor.

aileen
i really love reading your blog. so full of nice pictures. i realise i have been taking very little pic of JH nowadays. must really do more before #2 comes!

Re: Chopsticks
Sorry mummies have not been into the office whole week due to JW sickness. Will let u know once i collect them okie.

SH,
yeah i also use the rice water to make milk.

re leapfrog
a fren was asking me abt this recently. but i m not so sure whether i can teach phonics well.

when i went for the meet the paretns session, they gave some practical suggestions on things that i can do with JH to reinforce letter sounds. play games like "i spy" and sometimes when i talk, i can voice out the sound for the letter. it is impt to get them to hear the sound at this age.

after doing it like 2-3 days i can see JH learning the letter sounds and voicing them quite well. in fact now when i ask him things like what sound does balloon begin with, he will say the correct letter sound.

when i was using a lot more visual like words to do the letter sounds, i realise he ended up saying A B C a lot. so the teacher told me not to mention letter names but try to get him to hear the letter sounds.

hope my little sharing helps.

CL
yup i think the letter factory is pretty good. JH can do the sounds too. but i think must be able to let them hear the sounds without looking at any of the words also. JH a bit lazy lah. can tell from his behavior. so now i m trying to get him to hear instead of just look.

mashy,

I almost bough from a mummy at 120 dollars. if you are buying can get for me? lately quite diffcult to go out .

SY/ CL
What is the leapfrog factory.

Aileen,
I'm also using the Fridge-to-go now. They have many models now. You can view the full range at Vivocity DIY shop at basement opposite Giant. I find the Pigeon one abit too bulky. I bought one that you can remove the cooling panel to put into freezer. No need to put the whole bag into freezer so saves space. The bag when cool will not 'perspire' so your other stuff will not be wet.