(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY
I agree with Mashy, you'll need to be your hb's PA during this period - screen the recruitment page for him! That's what I did previously too.

Flo, mashy
actually our timing is quite good cos if he changes job in july/aug, and my contract runs out in oct so we dun clash. no matter what, i won't renew my contract so i will still be out of job end oct. that is something he can't change. and i won't be looking a job so soon probably as well. my office is shifting and will be really far from where i stay. so not ideal for me to stay on as i will be spending 3 hours travelling everyday.

mashy
i have been flipping recruit since last year for him but he never ever act on those that i shortlist for him. the enthusiasm doesn't rub off one..haha

all that u suggest, i have been doing but i sitll need him to act right....and that part doesn't happen.

ha, u dun know my hb. he can be quite weird at times. he did go BK and ask abt the pay etc. and he still brings up this idea a lot since a few months back.

Lunch - 12.30 today Seah Street - Xin Yuan Ji. First shop at Seah Street. Opposite Raffles Hotel.

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. SL
4. Tabbiesus
5. Rena (Sy can bring the stuff for Rena since she is joining)

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday 3pm - 5.30pm
Venue: Marriott Hotel Cafe - Booking confirmed

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Sysac
4) Yuki
5) Chicken Little

Marriott Cafe Intl/local Hi-Tea 3pm - 5.30pm. at $35++. UOB Card Dining Privilege is 1 Complimentary buffet with every 3 paying adult diners OR 15% off total bill. The lady over the phone say we cannot charge the remaining 2 diners with additional 15% off. So....unless you want me to book under my name for 4 pax, then someone else's name for 2 pax and have our tables arranged side by side? heee.....

Mamachan - Not to worry! I have UOB card also.
So we'll meet at the lobby at 2.50pm? Think only 5 of us left? 4 pay + 1 free then we split the bill af that

Hi SY,

I am also unhappy at my workplace and have many complains. I think my hubby is also sick of hearing my complains over and over again. I have said i want to change job for the longest time.
But i always procrasinate....maybe i am just wanting to stay in my own comfort zone .......... is your hubby's character like that too?

I agree with the other mummies to have a good talk with your hubby. I used to stay at home for the first six months for my first child. Not by choice, but because my ex company wind up. As we had just spent for the wedding, the house etc and my company wind up when i realise i was almost 2 months preggy, we don't have much savings to rely on. I was mostly a unhappy mummy then. I worry about finances, i dislike being stay at home having to calculate my spending, i dislike having no one to talk to during the day, dislike feeling so out of the world/market place etc. I only think about what is on sale at NTUC/ Cols storage etc...... Although now finances is stable, i don;t think i enjoy being a SAHM very much still........ I also questioned myself if i am not like the other mummies who don;t enjoy being with their children. But i reckon it is more important for me to be a happy mum and spend quality time with my children than quantity time but unhappy......

Why don;t you take your maternity leave to 'try out' being a SAHM? Put that 3 months salary aside, assuming you don;t have that so that you can have a actual feel of the finances, where you need to cut back etc? If successful, maybe your hubby will be more convince?

SY

haha, your hb is one odd guy. He actually went to ask BK? What did he wanna do? Be a manager or a service staff? Well one thing for sure, as a Mac staff, he needs to wash the toilet and mop the floor. Hahha, get him to do some training at home first. Have you asked him why he wanted to do that? Is it his dream or something to serve at a fast food restaurant? Other than the pay, what does he think he will like about that job? Coz reality can be very different. If it's his lifelong childhood dream, then u might have to support him. Let him have a taste of it else he'll be talking abt it till he retires.

My hb wanted to be a financial planner. I let him do it, then he realised that he's not cut out for it and he's now happily enjoying his job as an employee.

How about filling up those resume forms online? Eg Jobstreet etc? Then can just auto send resumes. Very easy and fast.

Perhaps you should seriously look for another job yourself too. Have you discussed with him about not renewing your contract and intending to stay at home for a while first? He didn't agree to it right? Both of you are like making your own decisions without consideration for each other and trying to force your way thru. This will only create more conflict.

ANY GOOD PD AT BUKIT BATOK?

My friend staying there has jsut given birth and needs contacts for good PD.. and good price for Vaccination.

yuki
yup will be using the 3 months ML to try out. but hb won't be convinced one i feel. we already have a few potential areas to cut back and one area is JH's school fees. i dun mind not spending on myself. in fact i dun spend much now. mostly on the kids.

mashy
funny right...haha he went to ask abt restaurant manager job. he thinks that it means more flexible timing and can spend more time at home...

it's definitely not a childhood dream...it's one of those silly ideas that men have once in a while but u not sure whether he will go and do it on a whim.

he already filled those up a long time ago....

he knows i dun wan to stay in my current job cos i can't stand it. and he knows i will take a short few months break at least. but the conflict comes in how long is the break.....

<font color="0000ff">Flo, Mashy &amp; bblon, do you all still want the chopsticks? I should be ordering soon. Let me know okie. Thanks.</font>

Chopsticks
Toto &amp; zeze = orange (left handed), blue, pink &amp; yellow (right handed)
Rabbit = yellow (left handed), pink &amp; blue (right handed)
Poroporo The Little Penguin = think no color difference but got left &amp; right handed too

Here's the list:
1) Maywong - Toto &amp; Zeze: Yellow x 1 (right handed)
2) Tracy x 4 pairs - Toto &amp; zeze: Orgx1, Blux1, Pkx1 and Ylwx1 (noted org is left-handed)
3) Flo
4) Sleepingdeer X 2 - Toto &amp; Zeze (Yellow), and Poroporo the little Penguin (Right handed)
5) Mashy -any design ok so long as not pink.)
6) bblon x 4 - any design ok as long as not pink
7) queen - Poroporo The Little Penguin (right-handed)

SY

haha, then your hb is obviously not aware of the actual circumstance. Perhaps he should find out more. The hrs are long. Definitely not short. And he has to go on shifts which could mean night shifts for 24hr outlets. Not only that, he has to manage his staff which will have a high turnover, unreasonable customers, ordering of goods, accounts etc. It's not as easy as he thinks. He has not worked in a fast food restaurant as a teenager i suppose? The good thing is probably that he doesn't need to bring work home, but it'll still be long hours.

Since he already filled up his resumes, then so easy, just click send.

Actually i don't think the ML will be a realistic gauge coz you'll still have your maid. You have to try without a maid, then you'll know how it will actually be since you'll have to let her go once you're a SAHM.

Long time no "see" I went HK last week with HB only and spend 5 days there. I miss the kids a lot so much so that I cannot sleep well starting from the nite before we depart till we come back.

Tabbiesus
You are not alone, I too did not spend enough time with my didi and I felt really guilty about.
I have struggle for a long long time to decide on the HK trip with out the kids.
Kyler sleep very early too around 830-9pm. I reach home around 7plus and time left with him is really not much before he sleep. MIL will tell what he does and did and I felt soooo left out on his growth. before we left for HK he was still crawling with his hands, 5 days later when we back.. he is crawling on all 4 now... I cannot remember when was his first turn...his first tooth...
Men are generally less sensitive, my hb can contineu to play game once he reach home from our trip.. for me.. it's like oh I must hold them ,kiss them, play with them.
My work is also very demanding esp when come to month end closing, I have to contribute to my work so for that few days I will work till late, other than that, I make it a point to leave on time ( not exactly on the dot), just like Flo, even if I'm not done with my work, unless it's urgent I will still leave.
When #3 arrive... I might think about switching job, not sure. perhaps I'm not so ambious, I might settle for something less demanding so that I can be home to fetch the kids from School, spend more time with them.
Hee Just like you... I'm not sure if I can be a SAHM too and Hb want to maintain a certain lifestyle, surviving one single income might be tough.
Oh I can understand totally when you said it's so tiring to stay awake at nite.. I really tried so hard to do my things after the kids sleep... gosh.. I slept with them even I promise my hb I will wake up to watch a drama with him... I couldnt wake up even when he comes in to shake me.
Oh and you what.. if you are planning anything for didi like mum and didi group activity or what.. let me know.. we can go together...
I wasnt involve is Aug 07 thread...so didi kinda miss out "knowing" the babies of his age...

Sysac/Mamachan
The high tea is sooo tempting.. despite just came back from HK... I really looking fwd to go on leave again. Not sure if my boss will allow me to go on leave tomorrow 1/2 day on such short short notice...
If I can come.. I sms you ok... the last round at marriott was good...yummy!

Hi SY,

Maybe can you work out your monthly fixed expenses to see how much you need in order to meet the basic expenses?

Car loan, insurances, food, school fees, income tax, allowances to parents, etc. Then use hubby's income to deduct the expenese and see if you have savings etc?

My leave tomorrow has been approved.

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday 3pm - 5.30pm
Venue: Marriott Hotel Cafe - Booking confirmed

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Sysac
4) Yuki
5) Chicken Little
6) Cookie
7) Denmy - TBC

Marriott Cafe Intl/local Hi-Tea 3pm - 5.30pm. at $35++. UOB Card Dining Privilege is 1 Complimentary buffet with every 3 paying adult diners OR 15% off total bill. The lady over the phone say we cannot charge the remaining 2 diners with additional 15% off. So....unless you want me to book under my name for 4 pax, then someone else's name for 2 pax and have our tables arranged side by side? heee.....

Mamachan - Not to worry! I have UOB card also.
So we'll meet at the lobby at 2.50pm? Think only 5 of us left? 4 pay + 1 free then we split the bill af that

mashy
yup, i have to try without a maid. but a bit hard to do that unless i really get rid of the maid.... actually when i m at home, besides the cooking and cleaning, i handle JH myself. so if without a maid, it means i have to scale down my hb's expectations of housework. that is also a challenge...

haha, yup, i highly doubt he can do and do restaurant manager job. mayeb shd just let him go and do it then he will realise not as easy as he thinks. no need to argue somemore.

yuki
we already have worked out and hb is keeping track. the thing is it is quite high now and my contribution is also substantial. so if we want to cut, it will be cut the maid, car and JH's school fees....that can save us about close to 2K a month....

Chopsticks
Toto &amp; zeze = orange (left handed), blue, pink &amp; yellow (right handed)
Rabbit = yellow (left handed), pink &amp; blue (right handed)
Poroporo The Little Penguin = think no color difference but got left &amp; right handed too

Here's the list:
1) Maywong - Toto &amp; Zeze: Yellow x 1 (right handed)
2) Tracy x 4 pairs - Toto &amp; zeze: Orgx1, Blux1, Pkx1 and Ylwx1 (noted org is left-handed)
3) Flo
4) Sleepingdeer X 2 - Toto &amp; Zeze (Yellow), and Poroporo the little Penguin (Right handed)
5) Mashy -any design ok so long as not pink.)
6) bblon x 2 - Toto &amp; Zeze (Yellow), and Poroporo the little Penguin (Right handed)
7) queen - Poroporo The Little Penguin (right-handed)

CL
Sorry couldn't make it for lunch.. last minute kena caught by boss and had to settle so stuff, after that no mood liao.

SY
actually, i may understand what you feel. Maybe you can take small steps? For me, when i was having some trouble with my workplace last year, i took my ML and then spent 3 months part-time so as to get a break from everything. It was such a lovely time to be part-time but after awhile too much kids and stuff can make you feel tired too. Can you go part-time for a while as transition, and then if you still feel so strongly about things, then quit? At least when you are part time with the paycut your hubb can see if there is a difference, and if there's not much pressure on him, he may be more open to you quitting completely.

I think its very different being SAHM. Its quite stressful. If you have to cut so much out, you may feel the difference and not like it.

Can i trouble you to pass the toothpaste to CL, maybe i can pick up from her?

btw, I need your account to transfer the funds. Can pm me?

Cookie
I know how you feel. I feel so bad that i'm missing out and not so careful with didi. Last time tabby never hit her head or fall sick. Now didi bump his head and fall sick so many times, I feel so bad. I'm also arranging to go for a trip with hb in June without the kids. Actually i also dun want to go but hb has a conference to go and he suggested that we spend some private time together.. i feel bad to say no but it is also during didi's birthday.. i was so so torn, but in the end I also felt that i needed a break so i promised him i'll go.. in a way, i'm taking it as weaning didi from latching on but in my heart i feel really sad i won't be spending his birthday with him. I think it would be a good idea to slow down, cos its not easy having 3 young kids. LIke your hb my hubby also bochap. He can live without the kids, but i can't.

CL
Sorry couldn't make it for lunch.. last minute kena caught by boss and had to settle so stuff, after that no mood liao.

SY
actually, i may understand what you feel. Maybe you can take small steps? For me, when i was having some trouble with my workplace last year, i took my ML and then spent 3 months part-time so as to get a break from everything. It was such a lovely time to be part-time but after awhile too much kids and stuff can make you feel tired too. Can you go part-time for a while as transition, and then if you still feel so strongly about things, then quit? At least when you are part time with the paycut your hubb can see if there is a difference, and if there's not much pressure on him, he may be more open to you quitting completely.

I think its very different being SAHM. Its quite stressful. If you have to cut so much out, you may feel the difference and not like it.

Can i trouble you to pass the toothpaste to CL, maybe i can pick up from her?

btw, I need your account to transfer the funds. Can pm me?

Cookie
I know how you feel. I feel so bad that i'm missing out and not so careful with didi. Last time tabby never hit her head or fall sick. Now didi bump his head and fall sick so many times, I feel so bad. I'm also arranging to go for a trip with hb in June without the kids. Actually i also dun want to go but hb has a conference to go and he suggested that we spend some private time together.. i feel bad to say no but it is also during didi's birthday.. i was so so torn, but in the end I also felt that i needed a break so i promised him i'll go.. in a way, i'm taking it as weaning didi from latching on but in my heart i feel really sad i won't be spending his birthday with him. I think it would be a good idea to slow down, cos its not easy having 3 young kids. LIke your hb my hubby also bochap. He can live without the kids, but i can't.

tab
hb is agst PT. he thinks that is worse than not working. so that will be hard to push for...

actually i m already thinking of ways to get income when not working. teach tuition maybe? do some small biz? exploring different options. so hopefully can get something

ok, will pass your toothpaste to CL when i meet her.

Hi cookie, Tab and mummies of two or more,

I think the guilt of spending less with no. 2 will hit us at some point of time. Personally i can recite and remember how heavy ashley was at 1 mth, 3 mth, 6 mth etc, the milestones....... When comes to megan - i find it so hard to catch up with many of you when you share this and that....

But come to think of it, many of us are in the same situation isn't it? It's just a fact of life that not being the firstborn, the child just have to share the attention with parents, be it the mum being a SAHM or FTWM. A good example is during the weekends. No work but still have to divide time between the children and they sure will fight to have your attention.

I think what we can do is to give them the assurance of our love and support so that the kids know that they will always have the parents to rely on whether or not the parents are physically with them 100% or 50% etc. Building a bond with them is more important than attention.

Another consolation is that we all have siblings and also share our parents' love and attention - and all of us grew up fine isn't it?

I have this very silly idea that whatever i do for ashley, i ought to do for megan. Eg. If ashley have birthday parties for her 1st, 2nd and 3rd birthday etc, i must ensure megan have the same.......

But gradually i realise it cannot be that way... Eg. I bought a lot more clothes for ashley and now megan gets the passing down.... if i go by the above practice, my gals' room will burst with clothes and toys.........

Anyway these are the physical and material things. What is more important is they have the same amount of love and no favourtism........

Hi SY,

My opinion is No. haha.

I think to some extend the old chinese saying "ten months of carrying the baby" makes a mother and child bond stronger.....

My hubby also had never expressed any guilt. At most a passing remark that he was too tied up with work and has less time for the kids that week etc but even if he is able to return home earlier, the idea of spending time with the children is being in the same house. Period. Hubby watches his soccer match while the kids play by themselves sitting beside him. haha. On some occasions he will play together with them, read to them. However he will be more involve when we are out, help to look after them. He don't mind bringing ashley to the toilet when i have not finish eating my meal etc. When the gals are young, he helps to change diapers, make milk and even offer to bring them out so that i can have a good nap at home....

I think basically mothers are more nurturing and are expected to provide emotional support.... personally i sacrifice TV time, read to them, play with them and talk to them. We play nonsense things like jumping on the bed, make funny faces, act silly etc.

I reckon the man's concern is not so much of emotional support but more of being able to provide for the family in terms of material things. I think that's most important to them.

tabbiesus
Oh oh talking about falls.. kyler had much more than Kaelyn. I always console myself he is a boy somehow will be tougher.
I know it's tough to leave the kids behind and go on the trip but I think you made a good decision. Life is not just about children, we have to take care of our hb too.
Tho I had difficulty sleeping during my 5 days in HK ( probably miss my kids too much) but still it's good bonding time with HB and it was very nice to have couple time
so Just go for it. I suppose you cant do away with the guilt maybe try doing something really special with didi before you depart like take a day off from work. and spend really good time Alone with didi, bring him somewhere outside so that tabby will not interrupt.
I remember I take half day and brough kaelyn to Pasir ris Park a couple fo weeks ago.. and till now she still ask me if we are gng to the park whenever I bring her out alone and I told myself I have to spend quality time with the kids separately so that will always remember the special time

and what YUki say is very true too... on weekends, I will watch kaelyn crawling on all 4 mimicing kyler... and they had great fun laughing. Kyler was so happy to have kaelyn crawling with him.. so cute...
We might feel guilty about didi, but I think they are not as bad as we thought.

SY/Tabbiesus
Somehoe I felt guys are just probably I dunno not as insecure as ladies - well at least to me. I'm probably more insecure than my HB thats why.. he will not be kan cheong, he will do his things watch his movie. For me it's like oh I MUST spend my time with the kids when I'm at home etc...I guess we are just build differently. When they are not showing.. I do not think they do not Love the kids...it just they are not as emotional as we do.

Yuki
yeah I agree... it's the bonding that counts..
Guilt is inevitable, as mummy we have learn to deal/live with it. Thought have sibling inevitably divide attention from parents but the kids on the other hand has playmates to grow up with. That compensate in a way or another.

Yuki

yes yes you are right.. i think i should stop feeling guilty but its nice to let off some steam on the thread so i feel like i'm just human not someone who's really not fair.

Me n my hubby are classic examples of only children with opposite upbringing that influeced our mentality.. I got a SAHM and he got a FTWM so i feel i should stay at home more with the kids cos that's the life i had.. and he feels its fine leaving the kids in school or with nanny or outsourcing. Its the way we were brought up. He doesn't love his mom any less.

But one thing i do notice, my mom as a SAHM seems to get less respect from my dad as compared to a FTWM. Its kinda sad.

Tabbiesus
I totally agree about the SAHM and FTWM. My fil used to think my mil like nothing to do. Only when she passed away, then he realised hey many things he dunno she left the things and she has done so much that he do not have to worry anything about home.

My hb too is under the wonderful care of my mil that he is plain lazy

Putting in the orders as follows. Let me know I got anything wrong.

<table border=1><tr><td>Maywong</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> $8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Orange</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Blue</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Pink</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> $32.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Pink</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> $8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepingdeer</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Poroporo the little Penguin</TD><TD> $10.00 </TD><TD> $18.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bblon</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Poroporo the little Penguin</TD><TD> $10.00 </TD><TD> $18.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>Poroporo the little Penguin</TD><TD> $10.00 </TD><TD> $10.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Wondering when your kid has the pneumococcal jab, do you go GP pr PD? Does it matter? Cos I'm giving my boy but PD's queue is always so long, thinking of GP.

Chillies,

i brought damien to GP since the jab is the same.

SH,
my order is correct.

Super sian, damien is sick again....either montly or bimothly...

Hi Tab,

You know, when i was a stay at home mum, i feel i was neither here nor there too! I can't spend as much time as i want with baby as i have to cope with housework. It's worse cos with a young baby, i was more obsessed to keep the house clean! Yet on the other hand, i feel less accomplish as a housewife cos i can't even complete proper housework, cook etc. End up i was frustrated with myself too. Haha.

I don't know if SAHM has less respect but during my time, i imposed on myself to handle all household matter since hubby is bring the bread and butter home.... He did not demand but it is my own thots. Hence all the frustration.

So SY, just a note that if you become a SAHM, you have to manage your own expectations too. Especially so if you do without a maid....

For me personally if i want to be a SAHM, i want to make sure i can still afford a maid so that i can concentrate on the children.

Cutting expenses may means having to eat more home cook food (= healthy) but means more housework.... cooking, cleaning kitchen, washing own dishes etc.

SY, i feel that you must know in which aspect and why you wnat to be a SAHM.

for my case , i have no choice because at that time elijah has no one to take care of and with only one child i felt that it is not necessary to have a maid. I was a SAHM until elijah knows how to walk at 15 months. and I started having a maid when he jsut turn 1.

I am still planing if i should continue part time or just be a SAHM. even if i convert i will still need a maid as my main focus will be on my #2. doing housework is no joke especially when my hb expect me to cook as well if i am home.
3 dishes and 1 soup kind.

Even now i do not have a maid i am still doing house work dispite the fact that i am pregnant.

Man can never understand. but seriously , loosing respect is totally true. When i started working part time .. he respect me even more.

yuki, rena
of cos i wd like to have a maid if i stay at home. my parents wd wan me to have one too cos they dun wan me to tire myself out but right now, if maid is one thing that hb bring up as an expense to cut, i wd sacrifice this luxury in order to spend more time at home with the kids.

of cos he needs to understand that kids come first. if he can tell maid that must put the kids first and housework 2nd, i expect the same to be expected of me right? can't be so double standard mah....

Haven't logged in for so long... Was so,so,so busy with work, charmaine and studies. Was so happy to meet up with CL and Rena for lunch yesterday. Nowadays, my colleagues need to literally drag me out for lunch as I would rather spend my lunchtime studying so time's so tight.

Tabbiesus, SY, Cookie, Yuki, all other working mummies,
I so totally understand. Am in same kind of dilemma now especially with my studies. It really saddens me when charmaine says to me mummy don't go work. Stay with charmaine. One of my frens has actually shared that as a FTWM, she spends mroe quality time with her two kids cos she ahs a maid to do the other nitty-gritty but when her husband relocates to US. She brought her kids there to join him and she had no maids. Then she felt that her time with her kids was acutally lesser as she had to do all the housework herself plus cook and wash up. In fact, she has a blog. If you are keen, Pm me - will give you her blog url. It's really good.

SY,
For me, I know that I won't be a good SAHM cos I am not the type who can stay at home and do housework. My preference would really to work either part-time or freelance. Unfortunately, my work area not in great demand... ha ha ha....

My husband is supportive of me not working - actually he encourages me to leave but then, I really enjoyed the financial freedom and not having to watch every cent you spend....

I guess, for me, now, I am really praying for God's direction. Sometimes when we rely on our own knowledge, strength to make a wise decision, it might not really be the best decision.

Hope that you will come to a decision that's satisfactory to most parties too.

Belinda,
Hope that Damien gets well soon. It's the weather. I have a sick family at home now.

sl
JH tells me every morning not to go to work. i wish! or he will say he follow me to office.

actually i do agree with u to a certain extent that when we are working the time spent is quality time as we try to optimise the time spent with them. but i guess being at home also gives me more control on how i wan them to be disciplined etc.

yeah i have been praying to God abt it. if God wants me to stay at home, i believe i will have my hb's support.

yesterday i felt so guilty. i think sometimes i scold JH too much. yesterday lost my patience with him and cd see he has this look of fear on his face when he detected the change in tone...must keep reminding myself to be patient!

Hi SH ... regarding the chopsticks, I wanted to order but another mum told me there's a spree in this forum and the chopstick is at $6.50/pc and $6 for 2 and more ... so I'm asking her to get for u. u may wanna check it out.

Hi SL ... can u pm me the blog?

Hi SY
Did u get my PM abt the homebased work?
Just do a maths on the amt that u need to set aside if u wanna have a maid, supposing salary + levy = $330 + $170 = $500, plus $50 for extras (like increase in bill/food), multiply that by 24 mths, that's $13,200 (getting a cheaper maid at $280/mth is $12k). Then plan to save a good amt of $$ each month &amp; see how long that'll take. I did something like that when I planned to convert.

I do find that SAHM with maid spends much more in other ways that SAHM without maid. You tend to go out more, eat out more (coz less work to feed the kids outside) or take cabs more (that I see from my SIL). But some still choose to have maid ... they tend to want to teach the children more at home (and in some cases, homeschooling). I've read a few sahm blogs and u are quite amazed at how much they can do (then u realize they've got a helper in the background). SAHM need a venue for release too, and that's why some spend time on blogs and for others, u realize they've got a very closely-knitted extended family that they could depend on

That's my observation.

.ky.

ky
yes
i got it. thanks a lot. been busy so haven replied.

i think i shall do something like what u suggest. then show my hb that my savings can cover. but he doesn't like the idea of dipping into savings.....so need to find some source of income.

Chopsticks
Dear all, I have placed the order but also found the link for the cheaper chopstick.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1444221.html?1211964101

Have told my colleague, she says she is fine with us pulling out. So pls let me know if you all still keen to go ahead coz the price there is really cheaper. I will still be buying from my friend coz dun wanna wait for the 4 to 6 weeks delivery but it is fine if you all wanna pull out. Do let me know by end of tomorrow (Thurs) so that I can let her know who is pulling out.

So pai sei ah…tot got you all a good bargain but turn out otherwise….

Re: toilet training

Today finally decided to start the regime. Let my boy went bare bottom and placed his potty in the living room. It went thru like a breeze. So easy. When he wanna pee, he just went over to the potty to pee. So I thought, wow it's so easy. Then came the hard fact. I tried letting him wear just his shorts and as predicted, he peed in his shorts and started swimming in his pee.

How ah? Like that how to train? He somehow still associates shorts with his training pants and thinks that so long as he wears shorts, he doesn't need to go to his potty. I think this bare bottom thing can't work for him.

SH
i thought i posted that BP on the chopsticks for u gals to see earlier? Which was why i pulled out? guess u gals must have missed it.

which dentist was it that you brought your kids to? My boy has been clenching his left jaw in pain. Hopefully it's nothing serious.

Damien was having a very bad cough last nite..he seem to be coughing every 5 mins.
He was so tired but could not sleep even after the medicine.
Just within 2 days, he lost so much of weight...heartache.

SH,

sorry, cancelled my order