(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wow wow wow
So many postings! My eyes nearly popped out when I saw the mention of primary school. haha

RE: Primary Sch
1) rena - elijah- St andrew
2) Aileen - Edgar - ACS (junior school)
3) Mashy - C - ACS (can't decide pri or junior, likely pri)
4) Mongs - Clariss - Henry Park Primary
5) Maywong - Jamie - Jurong West Pri (not confirm but it is only 5min walk) or Nan Hua Pri (my Pri Sch but need to take school bus)
6) MamChan - D - Fairfield Methodist Primary (though my mom is bugging me to send him to ACS via the Methodist co-op way which I'm like huh???)

mashy
Oh?! which friend do we have in common? I've not searched through facebook for a long time liaoz.

Yuki,
If I were you, I will consider putting Ashley in Nan Chiau as there is a higher chance to get in. As for transportation, School Bus can be arrange to send Ashley back to your mum's house. Your mum can still continue looking after the two girls. And after work, you just need to pick them up at one location. Megan can attend a CC near your mum's house too when it is time to come.

Hi Krissie n cookie,
I just pm with regards to the music lesson.

Hi cookie,
I got a few frens whose kids are in riverlife. All say veri good. So far no negative feedback. But of course nothing beats visiting a few schools and comparing them.

HI CL,
I guess I dun have an option whether to go back to work or stay at home esp with 3 kids now and no good helper.

Hi Yuki,
For st hilda unless you can get into phase 2A or church affiliation thru phase 2B.Even for phase 2 B have to ballot. Look at past history at MOE website to see whether need to ballot or not.For parent volunteer for 03 kids have to register now and heard from ppl in the committee that there are already a few hundred registeration.

Been so busy that i have not been in for weeks or is it months? Lost track liao & my eyes really pop out when i saw the discussion topic? Primary school...wah...haven't even tot of that yet. Do we have to decide so soon?

So scary....

Yuki,
The same for JW. I realised i hardly have time for him. sometime even working on weekends.

He will count 1, 3, 5, 4....faintz...no matter how hard i correct him, he still insist that after 1 is 3. Is there something wrong with him? or is he being stubborn?

Hi Jamon,
I am keen on the music class...though not sure if JW will be more a nusiance in class than trying to learn. He can't seems to sit down for long....

what do i need to do to assess on whether he is ready?

yuki

def nan chiau. Logistics can always arrange later but what if u can't get into st hilda's? Nan Chiau is a safer bet.

mamachan
He's your church friend. Attending his wedding this Sat.

hi jamom, u mean a few hundred registration for PV with St Hilda?

I think u mummies are too stressed up already ... relaxed. I'm looking at Pri school coz my older one is 2003, and already I think I'm more advanced than most mummies with kids that age. Situational changes both at home and school may affect your decision 4 years later .... 4 years leh. take your time. If u need, just do your homework. I think I only did mine at end of 3 yr old.

.ky.

SH
hihihi! long time no see! actually all this talk on pri school was triggered from nursery and kindy talk cos some places are already closed for registration.

CL
i just realised ur office near so many yummy food places.. so lucky... i am so sick of Kopi tiam food! Wish they would build a nice shopping mall next to my workplace. lunch was yummy today.. think next time i will definitely try the choc. cake...

RE: Funny Incident
Jamie has a very bad temper..if she not happy, she will throw anything she see on the floor..so hubby and me start discipline her. If she throw, we will ask her to stretch out the hand that she throw..then ask why and explain cannot throw.. then use cane to beat her palm. Make her say sorry and say next time cannot throw.

Then last night, she throw my hp on the bed..hb saw and take the cane. She immediately stretch out her hand, and tell hb "Pa Pa..qing qing (lightly in mandarin)..ok?"

Hb say "wa..no bargain..u bargain I cane more."

Then Jamie say.. "Pa pa..please..qing qing (lightly in mandarin)..please..Sorry"

Really can't stand the way she say that. I tried not to laugh as hb is discipling her.

SH
i think Jw is just being stubborn. for a period of time, JH purposely says fiveteen though he knows it's fifteen. now he will just say fifteen. but he will purposely miss out sixteen. i think his sch does numbers with him. he has been counting up to thirty recently. and after that very easy to teach cos we just go thirty one etc...

jamom
if got other slots for music class let me know. sat too hard for me to make it.

Harlow mummies...
hw hv u been?
primary school is such a long way to go... :p

5) Maywong - Jamie - Jurong West Pri (not confirm but it is only 5min walk) or Nan Hua Pri (my Pri Sch but need to take school bus)
6) MamChan - D - Fairfield Methodist Primary (though my mom is bugging me to send him to ACS via the Methodist co-op way which I'm like huh???)
7) Esh_mummy - Eshley- Methodist Girls' Sch

sleepingdeer
i will give you a ring once i confirm whether able to join you on thurs morning or not. thanks. if joining you, i will need to bring dylan along. got to decide on which Pre-N by thurs cos St Jospeh registration on this friday!! *stress*

re: Primary School
let me settle my boy's Pre-N 1st, anyway 4 years more to go. like what ky said, relax la =p

May
dylan also the same! when did something notti and i give him the stare or getting the cane, he will start saying "bu gan le, bu gan le" ... and will keep waving his hand meaning no no.

SH
who is taking care of JW while you are @ work? about the teaching part, what i did is to place some books @ my mum's place when i need to deposite him there to run some errand. in this way information wont go wrong when my mum is teaching him from the books and my mum enjoys it too. she even bug on me to get more of those educational books.

it sure takes time to correct our kids, guide him and show him, slowly he will understand. =)

re: primary school
wah, lots of you have decided which school to send your kids to. how come need to plan so early? making me very stressed leh...

re: pre-school
saw that most of you decide to send your kid to church based nursery/kindergarten, any reason? what's the difference if compared to those half day child care centres which provided nursery/kindergarten classes?

Morning mommies,

Hi Rachel,
no prob, just give me a tinkle.

Aileen,
oh, thats a good first impression of Arise, but you are registering Edgar for St Joseph right? What made you decide St Joseph over Arise leh?

SH,
S went through that stage too, for her it was 1, 2, 4, 5, she absolutely refused to say 3! Took her about 4 weeks, and then I think she got bored, then she started counting 1 to 10 very fast, so dun worry, haha!

Think its easier if we decided to just let them go to our old school. My mind was made up very fast since my hb school was a all boys school!

8) Sleepingdeer - S - Henry Park Primary

Mongs,
Are you a old girl? I am too, haha! Maybe Clariss and S will be classmates huh? I seem to recall that you dun live near to Henry Park, how are you gonna get her to school?

May,
I was also thinking of Nan Hua as well since its just 10min walk from my mum's house, but it means have to be under phrase 3, so chances of getting is 50 50.

Hi Sunny,
S is in half day cc now, and I am still deciding whether to move her to school based Kindergarten like those church based schools either nest year or the following year.

I think at the CC, your child may be able to pick up more as the student teacher ratio is smaller most of the time like for S, her class only have 6 students now, so I find she picks up things pretty fast given the attention. Reason for wanting to place her in a school rather than a CC would be the need to adjust her to a bigger crowd and a more school like environment as they get closer to Primary school. BUt with 1 to 10 student teacher student ratio, my worry is that she may get left behind at times, as she is by nature quite quiet. But all kids are different, so it really depends what kind of environment your child strives in the most.

sunny
for me it is cost reason to switch JH. i may plan to stop work for a while so need to switch him to something cheaper. not too keen actually cos he is doing well where he is now and like what sleepingdeer said, the student teacher ratio not as good. but i guess the trade off wd be that i get more time to teach him myself.

Sunny,

it all depends on what is needed. for Elijah i choose a almost full day school beacuse a child is not able to absorb all 3 subjects in one morning. and letting them nap in school also train them discipline. even on weekends he will nap at 12 plus to about 2plus which is a daily routine in school.

RE: putting things in ears and mouth

Elijah is very prone to putting things his his nose and ears and mouth.. how??

Hi May and Mashy,

Am just thinking very far off.... as in if ashley have to stay back for CCA, that means she cannot take school bus home, someone has to fetch her?

Anyone aware when will the child need to be involve in CCA? Pri one?..........

Sleepingdeer, May
Nan Hua is very difficult to get in, within 1 km sure ballot.

Sleepingdeer,
At this stage, she probably is getting used to group activity in school. Set the foundation now and monitor, if she is picking up fast and good, she will be ready for a bigger group next year. I only dump Charmaine in playgroup 3 months before she goes nursery 2. From a class 8 to class 30, she did manage quite well and quite vocal in class. So you have to see how she reacts to bigger group. Anyway in long run she will still need to be expose to bigger group.If she is ready, just let her try.

Sunny
For me i look at curriculum, around your mil place and my place , it is either cc, pap or that church kindergarten. I compare the curriculum, environment and observe the students plus giving charmaine a choice, i chose church kindergarten.

For me I just want easy way out not because NYPS isa prestigious school. Just because I am old gal plus the few neighbourhood pri school near my house has to ballot. In any case if Charmaine does not cope well, I will transfer her out. Which I feel transfering out to neighbourhood school is much easier.Plus hb's Hua Yi Pri School closed down liao. NYPS is not too far from my mum place plus it is single session so in the morning we will drop her off in school

9) Chicken little - Nanyang Primary School

SY
Yes DUcktour is this sunday. Will put up the reminder list later.

sunny/rachel
No need stress la. I guess I know which pri school D is going coz by default he will attend there as I'm an old girl, so it's convenient that I don't have to do much to look for school. Talk about being lazy. haha.

May
Actually if you and hb don't mind, can send Jaime to FMPS also since you're an old girl. hahaha just need to pay $150 to join the alumni =P My mom says don't even need to join alumni also can...then I asked my mom if don't join alumni must show past report book to show that we're old girls?

HI SH,

I just pm you on the class. I can organise a trial with the teacher and you can see whether your boy likes the class. I just need to confirm with a few parents then can start already. Onli 4 per class.

Hi Sy,
she onli has a slot. If can try to make it will be good coz she just emailed me infor on the class. It is not a music and movement class. It targets to finish grade 1 of piano at end of 3.5yrs program. The program starts with keyboard first.

Hi KY,
yup that was wat I was told. I tink sudden surge of application due to the top PSLE student last yr. I was also told school headache now coz not much work for PV.

Jamom
Does your contact have slot for east ? Ha ha I want to have a music lesson for both my kids too.

Check out my Aden who still so relax though having high fever. And his new hair style and see how he has slim down

1346128.jpg
1346129.jpg

Now the first thing he hop up the car he will go " I watch" "on" " on" his favourite now is leapfrog alpa. But I want to check why is "L" pronouced as "o"

rena
did E pick up that habit in sch?

jamom
the slot is sat right? not sure my hb will be keen to let jh go for it. he sure say waste money...hee unless it's weekday and i dun work, i can just go for it wihtout letting him know..haha

sleepingdeer,
st joseph is non aircon and it has bigger compound. that's y i chose st joseph.

mashybrainz,
oh i didn't know it's going to be moved. anyways, can decide later.

re pri school,
ya no need to stress. think the poll is just for curiosity sake. for us hb is an old boy so it's the easiest way out. just like what CL said.

hi Jamom ... a few hundred is a lot, so basically there's going to be balloting for them? The school I'm eyeing has more PV work than the supply, but less than 50PVs, but probably more would get into action later half of this year. If I don't PV in this school, my chance is probably nil coz I'm just outside 1 km.

Yuki, you are correct to think of how your girl is travelling home after CCA. In cases where your kid needs to come home on her own or someone to fetch (eg sick, extra events, CCA), schoolbus wouldn't fetch and it's back to your own. For that reason, I'm not choosing Pei Hwa which is 40 mins bus-ride away nor hubby's old school in Bukit Batok. I choose to remain within CCK as it makes fetching easier. Have u consider another option - move house?

Sunny, I'll choose based on teacher and curriculum programme regardless if the name says childcare or not. Usually childcare has the fundamental in the morning and enrichments in the afternoon (at least around our area), so going for halfday, u r not losing out a lot. Just see how many are on fullday. I tend to think twice if most kids are on fullday as that means teachers may choose to tailor the prog to suit the majority instead. btw, I've send my#1 to a cc as those ard our areas take in kids that are 4 yr old onwards, and #1 is going to school since he's just less than 2 yr old. btw, yes, I did wanted to protect him against a big class size when he was younger.

.ky.

just to keep u all updated. This is a letter I wrote to Luckyvitamin :

I've just received notice that half my orders were canceled due to unavailability without my prior knowledge.

If the orders were canceled due to out of stock, I would like an explanation of why my orders were accepted during ordering. If this was truly the case, I would not have ordered from your site and would have ordered from other companies who have available stock to avoid wasting time. After some unpleasant experiences with Luckyvitamin last year, I had decided to give you another chance, only to be disappointed.

You have chosen not to reveal to your customers that you were out of stock and accepted their orders. By accepting a customer's orders, you are, in principle, promising deliverance of their orders. By canceling my orders, you have breached my trust in you. In fact, this is not the first time Luckyvitamin is out of stock after I have placed my orders. In the past, orders were backordered instead of being canceled. However, some of the backorders took 3 months to be fulfilled and I was never compensated or apolpogised to for the time wasted in waiting and the loss of use of the things that I have ordered.

I am most certainly upset with my orders being canceled without my knowledge. I look forward to your explanation in the matter to restore my faith in Luckyvitamin. If you are unable to answer my questions to my satisfaction, please forward this to the higher management for appropriate action.

SleepingDeer/CL,
I choose Nan Hua bcos is a good school and I am old girl there. So hope got higher chances.

Mamachan,
FMPS too far leh. I am staying in Jurong. I am only old girl in FMSS, can qualify for FMPS meh?

Rena,
Think it is a phase to put things into eyes,ears and mouth bah. I rem my mum once told me that I was admitted to hospital twice when I am 3 and 4 yrs cos I stuffed toy gun bullets into my nose and peanuts. I can only remember the bullets as I was thinking then, if I can put bullets into the hole of the toy gun, I can also do that to my nose. So I am very careful when Jamie is handling small things as I find she will be as mischevious as mummy.

Re: Primary School

10) Cindy - maris stella pri (within 1km)

wah..you all thinking abt pri school so soon!! I've also given it some tot lah and my problem is:
1) CHIJ Our lady of nativity - My old school but far from MIL and all girls. #2 is boy how?
2) Ai Tong - Near MIL but hard to get in, muz ballot. Maybe will jus try see if lucky.
3) Mee Toh - Jus in front of my house. Sure can go in. But far from MIL.

Then again, like wat ky mention, it's another many years to go. Who knows wat will happen then. We may shift house, my parents may move in with us etc...

Baby Cot
Currently Kenneth (8 mths now) has been sleeping in his playpen for the last 3 mths as he has outgrown his tiny-sized baby cot. The playpen has it's advantage of netting on the sides so it's not painful when he knocks but seriously it could be bad for his back and posture as the base is not hard and flat enough.
I am thinking of getting another big sized baby cot for him but wondering if there is true mileage to gain from it. How long does your baby use the cot for? Lucas was never a cot baby as he sleeps with me and he is not the active type that tumbles and crawls so I never really invested in one but took hand-me-downs from friends.

I am 30 weeks now and going to thailand this friday.. do you think the Sia will allow me to board the plane? i do have the doc's letter..

Rena
Can lah. 32 weeks I was on flight to Tokyo. No worries. Just call and make sure they are aware , get that name which confirm your request. At the same time can try to ask for more leg room.

Tracy
Are you from Hokkein Clan? or old boy or gal ? If not Mee Toh is not a confirm place even you are right in front hor. It is super ballot school leh. Both my friends could not get their kids in.

Cindy
Aden sleep in play pen all the way till 2 years old. I think no need for cot lah. Later on just transfer to toddler bed when he is ready lor

Rena,

Can! I travelled to Thailand and HK around 30 weeks too. But the legs very uncomfortable...

Chicken_Little,
Hmmm... that was my initial thinking... but sometimes I feel so guilty towards him - no.2 always get less attention and I am less willing to buy new things for him cos always thinking nobody to pass down to anymore. He also sleeps with maids while Lucas still sleeps with me. Now that Kenneth is 8 mths old, he whines and stretched out hand wheenever he sees me and Lucas go bedroom and closing the door, very 'ke lian' look. *sigh... I think should be making some re-arrangements soon... in fact Lucas was at one time treating Kenneth like second-class citizen (ranked lower than maids). Initially I thought it was jealously then it dawned on me that my own behavoir might have perpetuated it too.

May
Yup! so long you've studied in FMPS or FMSS, considered old girl. I mean after all our efforts in sec school days to do fundraising and we didn't get to enjoy the facilities, so must let our children enjoy our labour lor. hahahaha. Just kidding. Of course ultimately must choose according to your convenience.

CL
Oh my! Aden has seems to lose weight again. The last time I saw him he had recovered from the previous episode and became abit more bah too. Hmmm, has he grown taller though?

CL,
oh..hehe, how to join hokkien clan? hahaha, both my hubby and i are hokkien. Ai Tong also under hokkien clan right? Everybody keep telling me Mee Toh is good, v wasted if i dun put my kids thr since it's right in front.

Cindy,
If not for my #2, I would ve converted my cot to toddler bed for Meg now and she'll sleep in it till she outgrows it probably at almost 7YO. Does your playpen hv a mattress inside? With mattress shld be quite firm.

Cindy,

i have one more cot at my In laws place. but it is not moveable kind.. it is the ikea type if you want i can check if my sil needs it if not i pass to you?

sleepingdeer
my gal also quiet kind. i think i should drop by those school based kindergarten to take a look. so far, i only do research on CC.

SY
same here, cost is a concern to me esp with #2 now... costly to hv kids in s'pore. haha..

CL
the church near my mil and your place got kindergarten? any idea if it's good?
aden lost so much weight!

mamachan
i am also a lazy one. but i didn't study in s'pore, so, no old school for me. for my hb, he study in nan hua prim school, it's quite far from our place, not sure if we should put my gal there...

ky
ya.... i don't feel comfy letting my gal to attend a big class 'cos of her quiet characteristic. after seeing her attending the playgroup for few months, she's more active, but still rather be left alone if she's placed in the crowd.

sunny,
I pm you and let you know the factor why my husband was quite uncomfy with. That one Charmaine was there for nursery till I have to change her to childcare because my mum not taking care of her.

Ha ha you will be like me. Everyone says wasted if never go to Nan Hua. I battled a while then finally to go for Nan Yang for without fuss.

Tracy
Ya ya Ai Tong oso hokkein clan. You still hav time to sign up because I think you need 2-3 years membership before the registration. Dunno what is th procedure leh

Mamachan, Sunny
Ya I also very sim tia to see aden lost weight. Hug him oso no bah already. Ya he did grew taller

CL,
Aden seems to lost more weight since I last saw him. He looks restless in carseat, can see he is not feeling good at one glance.

Mamachan,
OIC, I tot old girl from FMSS cannot have priority for enrolment of kids in FMPS. But really too out of the way. One reason of me choosing FMSS is bcos of uniform..hahaha..so perhaps next time Jamie can choose FMSS. *wa..think too far..sec sch already*

Sunny,
Quiet is good.. Jamie is too kaypo already. If she see crowd, she will go over and see what's happening. Then if she like, she will try to interrupt and join in. If she dun like, she will just walk away.

CL
can see tat aden slim down. poor thing.

cindy
why not get a mattress and put in your room for kenneth?

that is what i plan to do for #2. my cot not heavily utilised. only used for naps. JH sleeps on mattress in my room at night.

i plan to let #2 do the same. i told my hb must let #2 sleep with us also...

Rena,

That's so sweet of you! I'll wait for your update. I am ok to buy 2nd hand. Is it big? Kenneth tumbles a lot I think I need a bi one. The tiny one I have now is so small that after putting the cot bumpers there is only less than 40cm width! That's why I put him in the playpen and he happily licks that net all the time :p

On the same note, I do have this tiny cot to giveaway. Anyone interested?

SY,

Lucas already in a super single mattress next to my king sized bed. My bedroom is too cramp to put another mattress. O..... I need to warn you though, it's not easy to keep 2 babies in one room - they sometimes wake each other up.

Also, Kenneth is the kind that crawls and conquor all uncharted territories. Even with heavy pillows he can crawl over them...

rena,
They may disallow u to board. U better call SIA to confirm. Its risky for both them and you.

Re: Primary School

10) Cindy - maris stella pri (within 1km)
11) Mamapanda - Nanyang Primary School / Marymount Convent

cindy
i intend to get those smaller mattress for #2. not the full size kind.
in fact last time when jh was less than 6 months, i folded the mattress to make it smaller to fit into the space beside my bed. then only after he older then we open up the mattress and shift him to the foot of my bed.

last night jh very poor thing. fell from the bed and knock his head. all hb's fault..ask him to shift jh to the mattress after falling asleep on our bed and never shift....

Hi tracy,

To join Hokkien Huay Kuan, you can go to their website to download the form.

However you need 2 existing member to sign off for you.

The membership fee is $500 to join and subsequent $24/year.