(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Aileen

hm, don't be deceived by pictures ... I didn't even know the website till rachel post it. CGM in my frank opinion is a very simple school. It takes in children from 4-yr old onwards. There's little running space and it's totally different from St Joseph; but I've not visited that place so I probably can't make that comparison. I feel comfortable with it based on a 5-yr old viewpoint.

.ky.

May,

If you do it yourself, it might costs $800 (think it's a fil). hubby's boss did it themselves ... i knew they went thru' quite a bit of work just to do themselves. if u want, i can find out for u.

.ky.

Ha ha all the kindy talk here is making me like unprepared for Aden. I am more prepared when it was during Charmaine's time.

KY
one of the mummy i know loves CGM. I chose CCK bible centre kindy for charmaine last time due to distance but I am impressed by the kids when I was there for the graduation ceremony. Most of them can talk very well. Heard my other friends whose kids are still there, they drill quite a bit on academic. I think i know why you might not want to go there. You said something about what the principal said.My husband also want to pull out during the orientation. But to me nothing is wrong.

You can check out Bukit Panjang leh. Quite good.

RP mummies
Any lunch for tomorrow ?

Hi CL, Bkt Panjang is full leh. They did offer me in mid Mar when there's a withdrawal, and it's the 2nd session. But the travel is 45 mins one-way. so spending 1.5 hrs on bus. hm, not ideal for me. for CCKBC, it's also full with 40+ on waitlist! the mother that I said pushes her kid up the bus ... went there. she can't tell me exactly why she choose that but I hear the standard have dropped. yes, I'm aware of the drilling part ... have asked and asked and asked already, he's ok, and I'm ok with that.

btw, u confirmed on the pri school for Charmaine? NYG?

.ky.

re: CGM
i called up earlier to check on registration. like what ky mentioned, they only accept kids from 4 yrs old. meaning can only register on Feb2009 for 2010 class. i was like "huh" when the lady told me this. hahaha

CL

U r from NYPS? Lucky u. My hb and I are from single sex schools so if i've a gal next time, i'll have a headache sending both to schools at different locations.

english speaking / catholic / christian indo maids
I'm getting my new indo maid from my neighbour(Mavis) maid agency. She's an experienced maid who can speak good english, cook chinese & western food and very experienced with handling children. I did a telephone interview with her on the phone and liked her so I chose her even though her pay is higher than new maids. I'll be paying $330/m + 1off day/m. Mavis has some other new filipino maids ($320/m + 1 off day), and experienced filipino maids and new+experienced indo maids too. However, her agent fee is average ($388 to $488), not low. If you're interested, PM me and I'll pass u her contacts.

ps: FYI I'm not earning any commission or money introducing u to her. Just sharing contacts cuz I felt she was good.

i know bukit timah got one new cs montessori in bukit timah plaza. What is the difference in montessori and church kindergarten. Wanted to change my girl from gracefield to cs montessori, but is montessori more on academic.

KY,
can help me find out? Thanks in advance.

Mamapanda,
I might need the contact, let me talk to the ex-maid of my cousin first.

Tabbiesus
Sorry, pass on lunch today too. need to run errand unless we have late lunch.

SY
The enrolment should be July/ Aug this year as she will be entering pri 1 next year. I know her first year should be quite easy still learn through play and more project based but am worried about pri 2. Ha ha they are just delaying the transition period woh.

Mamapanda,
I will likely need a maid from last quarter this year. Will call Mavis to keep me in the loop should there be any good candidate. Hope your choice of maid is super good. Ha ha if not if you are going Norway, I take over your maid ha ha

I just realised how terrible it is because I am monitoring aden every nite for his fever due to MMR ? or Throat infection ? which went as high as 40 degree. So Charmaine supposed to have a listening comprehension today in school and I did not revised with her. Could only did it in the car this morning. I guess I gotta to face the music that I am not able to cope especially my sir need his beauty sleep, and not very hands on when it comes to looking after kids and both kids only look for him during playtime and not other times. So getting a maid is to help me with housework thus I can have free time to coach Charmaine.

CL,
ya..it is very tedious to juggle 2 kids, housework and work. Really peifu mummies with 3 kids. That's why I intend to get a maid once I get a POSITIVE mark in the kit. That's why I am asking in advance.

May

hahaha, u same as me. I also intend to get a maid once i've no 2. But still no strike.
It's really not easy for me to get preggy. sigh.

CL
wow, time really flies. charmaine going to Pri 1 liao....

yeah the maid is really to free up your time so u have more time for the kids.

is aden better? 40 degrees is pretty high...

Hi morning mommies,

KY,
how do you feel about Arise? Any comments about it? I got a appointment to see the principal at Arise Kindergarten on Thurs morning, just spoke to the principal and it sounds not bad so far, but have to look at the place first, my feel is its a little cramped as the classrooms are at the basement, but so far its only 1 class per session per level so the whole cohort is not too big.

Aileen,
you can skip the gantry if you turn into Hillview Ave and out again at Jurong Kecil, that's what alot of drivers are doing now, but in the end, Hillview becomes jammed up.. haha!

SY
thanks. He was ok till 2 am went up again to 38 plus. He not sleeping well and can hear him dream talk so funny though. This morning before I left for work he seems ok but it is always different when it comes to evening time.

CL,
wow, you sound very hectic running around leh, is Aden better? Makes me wonder how I am gonna cope if I have a 2nd one, coz maid is out of the question for us...

Mashy
Thanks pd oso shocked because aden never have record such high fever before. Sigh. Today 4th day hope everything will be fine be it infection or because of the MMR

Sleepingdeer
I always thot I can manage but I feel I should have some ME time and also some time with just hb and myself as he will be the person who will probably spend more time with me next time. Ha ha better dun pin too much hope on the kids.

Weekend I could sneak in some time for scrapbooking because I am monitoring aden every hour in the wee wee hours. Then I feel I cannot read to Aden and coach Charmaine at the same time and daddy is not good at doing that too. So no choice better get help before you see me visiting dr for depression. hee hee.

I feel it does not help for me to be SAHM too because ha ha I need a break from the kids too. Not good at facing them for 24 hours, I think will turn into monster.

spree updates

Amazon vitamin & calcium gummy bears
- ordered 3 April
- shipped 8 April
- expected to arrive at Oregon on 17 April

Nutrition Geeks Children's DHA 8oz
- ordered 3 April
- shipped 4 April
- expected to arrive at Oregon on 10 April

Luckyvitamin #1
- ordered 4 April, pending shipping

Luckyvitamin #2
- cancelled

Baby Spinach BP
Per portion: +-500gm
Collection date: beginning of April 08
Collection points:
a. Hitachi Towers
b. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy - 2 portions - Marine Terrace
2. Slinky - 2 portions - TBC
3. Rena - 1 portion - Hitachi Tower

CL,
yup, agree with you.... but I think even as a SAHM also super tough, how to care for two kids and do household chores? I really peifu the mums who can do it, personally I think I will go crazy and will start shouting at the kids 24 7, haha!

hi may ... will ask for u.

sleepingdeer, actually i've not been to see arise. the principal sort of tells me that the travelling is more than 1 hr 1-way, going thru' CCK & bkt pjg b4 going down. i also hear that the K1 kids have classroom in the basement, without windows. U mean all the classrooms? That sort of put a mum off when she went to see. hear there's a gym and music room, and the principal was rather friendly over the phone, sharing info on the reading prog. I knew another mum that's registered for N2 next yr. hm, I think for this school, they don't use any commercial phonics programme, just based on readers. St Joseph, I think, uses Letterland ... that's what I vaguely understand from the lady whom I spoke to over the phone.

CL, nyps is good ... but u don't wish to have both of them go to same school? then u've to hunt all over again when it's aden's turn.

.ky.

KY
NYPS both boys and gal can, only secondary school NYGS only gals lah. so aden will get a chance to go into NYPS plus already should have schoolmate like Ariene and JH because daddy or mummy oso old boy/ gal

Sleepingdeer
That is why I apprause for mummy like denmy and jamom.

Cityhall lunch 12.45 ?
Anyone ?
1. Mamachan ?
2. Tabbiesus ?
3. SY ?

Cityhall Lunch - Miss Clarity Liang Seah Street
Confirmed going
Mamachan & Chicken Little

TBA
SY if meeting ends early

Anyone else

Poll: primary school for our little ones...

Lets see who will be the classmates of our little precious?

1) rena - elijah- St andrew

Hi KY,
yup, from the website, my impression is that the classrooms seems to be in the basement, I will know more when I go down on thurs. Yup, the principal sounded very friendly over the phone, she told me the classes will go through 8 readers in a term, and they do have a gym but have to see it to see how the feel is. They are still open for registration.

www.arisekgn.org

RP lunch
yummy, love Miss Clarity food, expecially the warm choc cake in a cup... heehee, too bad cant join...

any comment on Bukit Panjang Methodist Church Kindergarten?

Ky
the Bukit panjang you mentioned is full, whicj one are you refering to?

sleepingdeer
what time will you be visiting Arise Kindy? from the photo it seem to be in basement with no window, confirm to be fully air-con.

ChickenLittle: RP Lunch
U ladies organinsing any this friday? Need help wif collection of spinach from Denmy's shop if u meeting up.

NYPS
Hee, it'll be wonderful if they're classmates ya? Since both of our hb's are NYPS old boys, we should be registering together so chances of being classmates is there.

rena

hahah, ya lor. kindergarten not even confirmed yet leh. think for those who have already confirmed pri sch it's becoz of being an alumni.

mamapanda
ya ya lets registered together. Ha ha my fren teaching there so I can get info from her on how to teach our kids and get ready. ha ha

sleepingdeer,
i have been to Arise and I think it's quite good. the children are all very well behave. when i went they were having their lessons and all of them are seated quietly. even the N1 kids are very mild. not those rowdy kind. only cons is that the place is fully airconditioned. space-wise, i think it's reasonably comfortable.

i brought edgar to the hdb void deck childcare centre. and boy am i disappointed. the teachers can't control the kids and they are pretty much running around. N1 go to N2 class and vice-versa. but because of this unstructured-ness, edgar loves it, coz he was happily playing with the toys. so now i'm really in a dilemna. he likes the play but i don't like coz he gets to learn nothing, other than perhaps social skills.

wow, all the talk on kindy and now primary school?? I'm really behind. Not thought about nursery yet, but inclined to put him in one near my mum's place in the East. East mummies, any feedback to share, especially near Parkway Parade area?

2) Aileen - Edgar - ACS (junior school)

3) Mashy - C - ACS (can't decide pri or junior, likely pri)

aileen

why did u choose junior school ah? i can't decide between the 2. the reason why i thought pri might be better is coz it's single session.

CL
i hope JH can go to NYPS. cos the main thing is that i stay very far now. if i want to stop working for a while, we may not be able to shift house in time. then hb will not want to put him in NYPS. what a waste right? really praying that things can work out when time is nearer...

my meeting ended at 1.30!! so starving man...

tell u someting funny. JH saw my scrapebook stuff and i told him it's for my dad (gong gong). so one morning when he woke up, he suddenly said he wants to help me with the scrapebook stuff for my dad cos my dad going overseas. quite touched by that... but thankfully he din make a mess. he kept trying to do the glue tape thing but of cos not successful. so in the end i relegate him to choosing photos but he told me all the photos nice.....

anyone sending your child to henry park
4) Mongs - Clariss - Henry Park Primary

RE: Primary Sch
4) Mongs - Clariss - Henry Park Primary
5) Maywong - Jamie - Jurong West Pri (not confirm but it is only 5min walk) or Nan Hua Pri (my Pri Sch but need to take school bus)

Talking about Primary school - Ashley will be in Primary school in two years time but i am still cracking my head over the schools..... Please advise what will you do if you were me.....
The school near my place in SK is Nan Chiau and the school near my mum's place is St Hilda

Nan Chiau -
Pros
i) Near my place. 5 mins walk.
ii) Higher chance of getting into the school cos clan member + within 1km

Cons
i) No one to look after her after school. may have to enrol in after school care.
ii) If Megan continue to be under my mum's care, means after work i have to rush to two places to pick them up.
Alt 1) If i choose to pick megan up from my place then Ashley, it makes more sense but that means i have a time limit to fetch ashley.
Alt 2) If i pick ashley first then megan, then back to home which is near ashley's school....Don't quite make sense
Alt 3) To place megan in a childcare near ashley school for easy logistic arrangement. But that means Megan cannot attend ECCH as plan.....

St Hilda -
Pros
i) Near mum's place so that my mum can continue to look after both gals after school etc.
ii) Megan can attend ECCH like ashley until she reaches pri school age

Cons
i) SInce not near my house, means ashley have to wake up very early if she is in the morning session.
ii) No relation to the school, home not near the school - will be in last phase. May not get into the school even!

To stay over at my mum's place during weekday is not an option be it together as a family or to leave ashley there.....

Any suggestions?