(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

may
i agree with flo and mamachan.
i am also thinking of taking course to upgrade myself. but the time and energy needed make me think twice.

queen
is your hb those kind of spa person? if yes, just go ahead! :D

re: attending playgroup
my gal is getting more and more naughty. my mil kept saying it's because we let her go to playgroup and she learnt all the bad things from there... sigh... don't know how to explain to her. to me, it's just a phase and i still find that my gal is still very guai though at times she's trying to be 'funny', saying/doing all the opposite things that we want her to do.

mamachan
my gal will say M when we gv her W, say W when we show her M. don't know she purposely does that or she really couldn't get it. *shake head*

here's my #2's photo. thought he looks like jie jie. after comparing the photo, find that he doesn't really look so much like her.
1289336.jpg

Florence
For the Duck Tours, I was thinking of a Sunday morning/afternoon. Or Saturday also can. =) Which days are better for you? Coz I understand that to charter the Duck Tours to ourselves, we have to fill up 31 seats, presumably adults, so that would be about 15 families. I'll have to call them later in the day to confirm and check.

Now that our tykes are older and appreciating the sights much more, I thought it would be an experience for him. haha. hopefully he doesn't say he wants to jump in the water when we enter Singapore River.

mamachan
i have been thinking of going for ducktour for a long time! let me know when!

sunny
your boy is so cute...hmm, dun think they look very much alike.

think i got the sinus infection. can feel my tooth aching from the flu. hope it can clear up by itself...

flo
do they have a meet the parents session at the end of the semester? maybe can give some feedback to the teachers that you hope they dun say things like Mel is naughty in front of the class etc. just quote her the incident that her classmate said she is naughty. but i must share with u that even if adults dun tell them that, the kids still do it. once JH commented on someone being very naughty when i din even say that the boy was naughty. so such things need not come from adults.

Sunny
your baby boy so cute. What is his name ?

May
If you feel you want to do it, I feel should go ahead and do it. Still young, can pursue.

Sunny,

It is just a phase.. btw E use to say white when it is black and black when it is white. they know but jsut try to be funny only...

RE: school..

my son is starting it now .. crying and refuse to go to school. refuse to change to uniform.. insisted to change back to home clothes.. hahah i tot i was lucky.... hm.... it hink going to last for at least 2 weeks bah.. haiz....

RE: teachers..

Flo , i think the teachers did a very wrong thing buy comenting tat Mel is noti... elijah is also like tat but the teacher is very paitent and that is the reason why i choose this school.. though it is not a wow compare to others more expensive school but its history has been in our neighbour for 16 years.. the teacher in charge ofthe younger tots are actually the principle's wife and with 3 kids of her own.. i say she is really good... never make negative coments on kids.. but will always tell you to give them time . and very assuring..

Mamachan,

i dun think it is so expensive coz the last time i took. jsut need to let them know we are singaporean and the price is cheaper.

SY,
oh no!! Cure the sinus quick quick! I've phobia of it now. Esp since you are preggy too, immune system is weaker and recovery will take longer. Are you on antibiotics?

After that overdose of antibiotics, I am having abit of yeast infection as predicted by my gynae. Had to insert tablet for 3days and now using cream to apply for 2 weeks.

May,
I would go for the degree course. You are still young and there's time for #2 after your studies. My hubby was 34YO when we had Meg.

I always have this thinking that we women have to be independent and be prepared to be able to stand alone and support the kids and ourselves should the men desert us one day. So what if we are earning more? If we are capable, we deserve to enjoy the fruits of our labour. Just my personal opinion :p

SY
ya loh. i also think that.

CL
his name is Ying Zhe (穎哲)

rena
sometimes hor, really don't know wanna laugh or get angry by her leh.

tracy
i already finished one course of antibiotics.
it is not that bad now but just a bit of pain when i walk and when i sleep at night when i turn.

mamachan,
i'm interested in the ducktours too!keep me posted!

sunny,
yingzhe has very nice double eyelids! so handsome! :D

rena,
which school is E in? i'm contemplating putting edgar in school again. he's really getting a handful at home. he wants to go out all the time, too much energy lah!

may,
i also feel that you should follow your heart. understand that it's the tough decision... take your time to consider and discuss further with ur hb.

Rena
Thanks for the feedback. I was at Suntec on Sunday and decide to just ask the counter pple to ask about the price and if we want special arrangements etc etc. So they asked me to call the office to liase. They have a board stating the prices behind their counter so it's a rough gauge on the pricing bah. I didn't ask if locals got special boarding price or not. So from what I saw, it's $33 per adult and $2 per toddler, $17 for older child

Ducktours
Any mummies keen to come aboard this trip? Pls indicate which days will work best for you. Dates to be confirmed later

1)MamaChan + hb + tyke (Sat/Sun)
2)Florence + hb + tyke (?)
3)SY + hb + tyke (?)
4)Aileen + hb + tyke + bb (?) - bb is FOC
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)

may
Aiyo, u still very young la. I've already hit my early 30s and my hb's 2 years older and we're still thinking of postponing our #2. No hurry for u since you're only 28!

Ducktours
Any mummies keen to come aboard this trip? Pls indicate which days will work best for you. Dates to be confirmed later ##Updates## One DUCK can take up to 31 pax inclusive of toddlers, so each of them have their own seat according to LTA regulations##

3)SY + hb + tyke (?)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Mamachan

Wah, the ducktour is so expensive! I've always gone on it for free, so not used to paying this much for it. Hahaha. Think the ride is so so only esp on land. The thrill is only when the vehicle hits the water from the land.

My family really struck down by bouts after bouts of illnesses. Now it's my hb's turn. He had a fever and his antibiotics is causing him to poo water. sigh.

Mamachan

Ducktours
Any mummies keen to come aboard this trip? Pls indicate which days will work best for you. Dates to be confirmed later ##Updates## One DUCK can take up to 31 pax inclusive of toddlers, so each of them have their own seat according to LTA regulations##

3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Sunny - handsome boi u have!agree tat yingzhe has very nice double eye lids... envy... mine stil double on one eye and single on the other :S

May - i also tink u shld go ahead... when ur coy encourages u, i tink it is polite to take up the offer and also, its an added value unto u! i also took up my 2yr course when cel was oni 6mths old and am coming to my last semester now. it was tiring at times and time consuming, but i am sure at the end of it, it is an achievement

Re: Pacifier weaning
Celeste is now into her 4th day wfout her precious chut chut! yeah!!! well... it all started when i saw how my niece managed to quit when she acidentally threw it out the window and my inlaws told her tat the nottie bird took it away... so on fri nite, HB and i tricked celeste tat her daddie accidentally dropped it and the nottie doggie took it away hahaha HB pretended to scold the 'doggie' fr the window.. cel was convinced by us and whole nite thru, was scolding the doggie and saying: nottie doggie take meimei chutchut, put in nottie box, stand in nottie corner... it was such a funni sight! when it was bedtime, she rememberedher chut chut and stood up , scolded the imaginary dog and then finali went to sleep aft a few times of repeating the scolding... heehee

mashy
I'm waiting for the lady to give me a quote and the breakdown in price before I confirm the actual price we need to pay. Should work out cheaper per family if we charter the whole DUCK ourselves. We'll see how it goes and the response after confirming the price.

god's child
JH also off the pacifier already. he broke his new one within a day and i decided to just give him the spoilt one until it almost broke and i stopped giving him. he sleeps better at night...

Hi Mamachan, the whole duck charter cost abt $550, and there will be 31 seats, so even the baby would be consider 1 seat. I've asked before. There's a number to call to book (check their website). A group of frens did charter this for 4-5 yr olds. I didn't go, just hubby with ds#1. Some kids didn't like it, so it seems pretty boring for some of them.

Flo, didn't read abt your posting on the teacher's comment. There should be a comm book or a way for you to directly tell the school abt your views. btw, I keep calling the school for queries ... guess I'm one of those ma-fan mothers. Don't hesitate or wait. btw, ds#1 recently had a case of teacher termination. We felt bad but I think prolonging an incorrect behaviour is not right too

.ky.

Duck Tours
Hey mummies
The lady got back to me for the DUCK tours charge per pax, the following is taken from the email received:

Charter rates per craft, per hr

Weekdays = $450 + 7% GST

Weekends & Public holidays = $550 + 7% GST($38.50)

=$588.50

Price per person: $18.98

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

Based on my own calculations, If we go by a total of 10 families, it'll be $58.85 per family (2 adults + 1 toddler). Kindly let me know if you're still keen or not.

3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Thanks for the advices.
Still thinking leh..Tracy, I got the same thinking as you. We should be independent and who knows one day hubby might leave us or *touch wood* retrench.. at least we still can survive.

My boss is always hinting to me to study and I am not sure if there will be high chance for me to go for the degree or not cos I only join for 6mths.

Anyone knows if University of South Australia is good?

Hi ky
Thanks for your info too. Haha, just posted on the email I received. So just waiting to see who else is keen. For me, I thought of bringing D together with my hb, so when I enquire, I thought maybe some moms from here might be keen and should be cheaper chartering and thought if responses are good, we can organize a group to go together.

Nonetheless, if response is not as enthusiastic, it's ok with me. Hb and myself will still bring D along. =)

ok booked my flight to HK. hb manage to redeem flight tickets for 3 adults and Caleb. So only paid for taxes and Jadon's ticket. total is a cool $667 for 5 ppl via SQ! Disneyland is $482 for 2N. now left to source for city stay. any suggestions for family room in Timshatsui area?

mamachan - i sat the ducks tour in seattle and it was very fun! dun know abt sgp one though but i have friends who said it was not too bad. i guess its more for our children...having travel on both sea and land. guess they will love it!

may - never too old to take a degree. if you have the passion, go ahead! u have all our blessings...

mamachan, btw, preggie mummies can't ride on the duck tour. The first time I was pregnant and walked past counter and wanted to take, they say nope to me. btw, I think it's a good experience. Mine loves it but he loves everything lah

SSF, were u trying to source for 4pax in a room in HK? keep me in the loop can? U going in Mar? Think the weather's good now and it's good to go hiking ... ya, unthinkable in HK but the air in the islands is very fresh.

.ky.

MamaChan,
I am interested. Can I check, if I will to bring my mum there, how much additional should I pay?
================================================

Duck Tours
Hey mummies
The lady got back to me for the DUCK tours charge per pax, the following is taken from the email received:

Weekdays = $450 + 7% GST

=$588.50

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

Based on my own calculations, If we go by a total of 10 families, it'll be $58.85 per family (2 adults + 1 toddler). Kindly let me know if you're still keen or not.

3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)May + hb + tyke (Sat/Sun)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

ky
oohhh, ok, thanks for highlighting! Let me check with the lady once more on this matter and I'll post here again.

May
May, if you'll be bringing your mom to fill up nicely 31 pax for the entire craft, then we should go by $18.98 per pax (adult or toddler). So for your case, will work out to $75.92 (3 adults + 1 tyke) while the rest of us will pay $56.94 (2 adults + 1 tyke)

Have to let me know in advance. Coz I took it that we'll split the charter among 10 families, based on 2 adults + 1 tyke per family.

SY
Let me check for you if they allow pregnant mums on board.

Sunny
Your son has very nice double eye lid!! handsome boy

Mashy
Hope your hb recover soon.

Flo
So upset to read abt mel, hope the teacher din really set her as noti exmaple to the rest of the class. I will be very stress and worry too if the teacher keeps complaining.
Hope Mel is not too affected.

SSF,
Wah...good deal!

ky,
thx for highlighting. I was also thinking whether preggy can board the Duck tour, cos it may be kinda bumpy.

These few days kae has been really challenging for us in the sense that she tend to cry and cry for no apparent reason.
She will cry and whine and whine and even have large drop of tears rolling down.
It's so tough plus she cannot speak well, so we do not know whats wrong. For sure it's not due to pain cos she can express pain pretty well.
We are also not carrying didi or anything that could trigger jealousy (didi usually is sleeping).
We cannot discipline her like using a cane or what becos she is already crying so bad.
Use the soft approach cannot help.. she cry even louder.
SO end up I have to be the angry mom who uses hard approach and scold her for crying for no reason. She will quietened down somehow.
But I really dun wan to scold her you know? I mean if I can comfort her to calm down using soft words is best... my silly gal only quietened down when I scold her... oh dear.

Mamachan,
But got to fix a date. Cos if it is Sat, it will be Me, Jamie and my mum. If it is sunday, it will be Me, Jamie, hb and my mum. Cos my hb work on Sat and will not be able to join.

Any idea which date will be fixed?

thanks mummies for the compliments.

cookie
last time my gal will also cry and scream. we told her to tell us or show us what she wants and told her that she cried and scream like that, we won't be able to know what she wants. most of the time, it works.
if it doesn't work, we would just keep quiet and stay beside her and wait till she stops. kind of frustrating and helpless.... but can't do much when she did that 'cos we really don't know what she wants.

mamachan
thanks for helping me check. hope i can go for the ducktour. been wanting to go for so long.

cookie
i know what u mean but sometimes when all else fails, we can only use the hard apph. there was one day when the whole day JH was just being scolded by me or being spanked. at night before we slept, i told him how i really dun wan to keep scolding or spanking him. it was like those quiet moments before we sleep and i will just talk to him. he seemed to understand and he said he will be a good boy. so even if we may have to scold them, after that just explain our behavior. they will understand.

me planning to take leave on fri cos it's one week school hol for JH. any mummies free to bring our kids out together? haven plan where to go.

mamachan
i just confirm with a fren. her sis was preggie when she went on ducktour. shd be ok. another fren also brought her son before she delivered.

SY/Tracy/May
Yes, the person called me and confirmed that it's safe for young children, elderly as well as for pregnant women. If you're concern with bumpy rides, can always sit in the centre portion of the craft rather than the sides. Shall we target for Sunday morning? say 10am? Or it's that too early? I thought early would be good, won't be too overly warm and by the time it ends, it'll be 11am-ish...good for early lunch.

Haha, I'm trying to see if can get any more special discounts, I just mentioned that I'm organizing for moms from SMH, and that if it's a good rate, easily other groups from the rest of the threads can organize their own too. hehehe, see what they say.

Duck Tours
Hey mummies

Weekdays = $450 + 7% GST

=$588.50

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Sunday, 10am, 30th March 2008 - Duration 60min
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)May + hb + tyke (Sat/Sun)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Re: Ducktours

Those who are prone to being sea sick, remember to take your pills before u board. It can be quite bumpy in the water.

The duck whistle is quite cute, i love it. It's shaped like a duck beak and gives off a duck call. Hmm, wonder where i dumped it.

Re: Snapfish
Anyone has any idea if we can print smaller than 4R sizes? I know has the wallet set of 4 option but that's too small. Can't find any other options to print smaller.

Actually I'm ordering photos for scrapbook so some need to be printed smaller than 4R to fit some layouts.

Or any experienced scrappers (hint hint) can help advise?

KY - ya sourcing for in fact 3 adults and 2 kids in a room. hee..sure will update u.i be gg in may 8th-12th.

cookie-i query from the www.singaporeair.com. ya the price is pretty good..inclusive of all taxes. not sure if its after natas fair.

u reminded me of caleb last night who is also very very cranky and it really get on my nerves. last night at ard 11pm, he kept asking me to go outside to the living hall. but i was so tired as i woke up at 5am for work and i refused to. and he kept wailing and wailing by my bed side for about half an hr. i was so mad that i told him "if i get off the bed, i am gg to get the shoe horn" and that triggered him to cry even louder. i was so mad, drag him outside the living hall and took out the shoe horn and hit the sofa. i really didn;t know what to do and my hb just sat there and do his stuffs. it's really driving me nuts. how much different will u do? in the end, i pacify him and let him watch his cartoon. but by then he was very sleepy after sobbing. slept on my shoulder and slept. then at 3.30am, same thing happened again. keep wanting to go outside. i brought him outside the living hall and on the tv. went back to the room and sleep. Caleb was crying and crying and hb carried him and made him sleep. by then, Jadon was already wide awake. sigh! sometimes i really wonder if i am spoiling him but at times, i feel like i am a bad mother for not giving him enough attention.

This weekend, my brother and his wife are going malacca and my parents are going to KL, so they will leave his son with me over the weekend.
Not sure if i can still handle for the night feeding...etc...Can't imagine if i have 3 sons....hee.

Tracy
Eh, I've never used Snapfish before wor. There's one size smaller than 4R which is the old fashioned 3R. Alternatively, you can ask if can put two photos on ONE 4R photopaper and print out? Think the size then should be ok?

Mamachan,
30th Mar I cannot make it. My in-law they all need us to go for Qing Ming Festival. Any other days? Or can I get the tickets and go at other days?

mamachan
can we do it on another day? my dad leaving on 31st Mar for China and probably will wan to spend some time with him on that day. he is going for 3 years.

Tracy
hmm, if smaller than 4R maybe no promo leh...

SSF
sometimes JH does that at night and it was pretty irritating... really just let him cry till he tired lor...if i scold him, he cry even louder. usually i will give him milk so that at least during drinking milk he will be quiet.

SSF,
Meg also went thru this phase of waking up several times at night to pester daddy to bring her to living room for dunno wat reason. And she will wail and scream until daddy gives in. It happened for a few nights and few weeks. Then it was back to normal.

Mamachan,
hmm...snapfish only has standard options where you click your selection. can't request for special layouts. I guess I ve no choice except to print in 4R...

tracy - hopefully Caleb will get over this soon. really dun understand why he wants to go outside. sometimes i wonder if he is afraid of darkness.

SY - Caleb will refuse milk when he is cranky. these days, he dun seem keen on milk. can be quite some time before we can get him to drink. guess i really have to be patient at times.

May/SY/Interested Mums for DUCKtour
What about 2nd Sunday of April? Would that be a good day? I'm just proposing a tentative date. 13th April?

May, the special price that we're paying is likely for the chartered DUCK tour on the day itself. If it's the usual price, then it'll be an "open" ticket sort of thing.

Mamachan
i get back to u again on the timing. will check with my parents schedule cos my dad coming back for a few days meeting. so sorry to be so troublesome. i can't remember the dates very well though my mum told me

SSF
hee, u know why JH likes his milk now? cos i told him drinking milk is like eating pacifier! he has no pacifier now so he gladly accepts the substitute.

Sy- haha and he believes it? haha...mine cannot lei. refused milk and still on pacifier. ok, me heading home to give him

Mamachan,
I am ok with 13th Apr.
Thanks..here's the revised list.
====================================

Weekdays = $450 + 7% GST

=$588.50

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Sunday, 10am, 30th March 2008 - Duration 60min
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)May + hb + Mum + tyke (OK with 13 Apr) $75.92
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)