(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena, cookie
Oh ok. Haha me blur!

Well, it's a good thing you're not staying with ur MIL esp when she's such a difficult person. As for the maid issue, your hb have to talk to her. Who takes better care of your kids - your MIL or your maid? Otherwise, like u said earlier, it might be best to send them to CC and get a part-timer to do the housework if your MIL really cant get along with the maid.

My sis lives with her ILs and they are very difficult pple to live with. She has, to date, changed no less than 8 maids in a short 4 years because the ILs keep complaining about the maid or the maid asked for transfer cuz they cant get along with the ILs. IMO, its gotta do with their mentality. Some people just don't respect the maid as another family member or their equal living in the house. Older folks normally have this problem cuz in the past, maids are like "slaves" or "servants". If your MIL is having that problem, it could be alittle difficult to change her perception.

slinky
ya thanks for your advise.
Basically MIL is main care giver cos she dun trust maid to hanlde the kids. Our original intention is also to have maid to help with house work only. Not exactly care for kids but generally look after them or play with them when we are busy is inevitable. But bath and feeding and cooking is still very much done by us.
MIL has been doing ok with the kids, tho sometimes our way of doing things are different but I know she did it in best interest. This is sometimes I do not have to worry about and it is important.
If leaving the kids to the maid.. I think I will be very worrying all the time esp I very paranoid one :p

SO finally my Hb and I have to strike a balance...
This forum is really a good form for me to relieve my tension and stress...
Thanks you all mummies !!!

rena
yeah cookie already pointed that out. So silly of me. I think only my FIL would do something like this cuz he always say Dettol "Xiao Tok" and uses it to wash hands, wash leg.

Busy whole day and never log in! So reliefed that exams are finally over and I need not attend night classes until I decide to embark going ahead with B.Sc. Haha. So cham, after exams the same night on the way home, super tummy ache!

Rena
Oh dear. Hope Elijah gets better soon. Which part of australia you went? it's really cham when our toddlers get LS. We went through that painful phase with D once. He gets very scared when he LS and it affected his skin so badly too that for our 1st time that PD had to give us Desitin Creamy to apply. You take care too, since pregnant with #2

Mamachan
Good for you and hope you get a better career with the B.Sc. Now you can turn on your SB mode.

Rena,
Nice meeting you yesterday. You look good but juz tired probably with Elijah being sick. How is he today ?

Cookie,
Hope you find a right time to chit chat with mil and find a solution soon. Yes yes this forum is great. it is a SOP for me everyday. Ha ha now cannot say too much about my hb liao. Aiyo yday juz told me his colleague is in this same forum and he reveal my nick to him. sil oso in this same one so ha ha I have to watch my words

<font color="0000ff">RP Lunch - Today 22 Feb,12.15 , Shall we take ramen at North Canal Road opposite OCBC

Chicken little ok
Mamachan ok
Babylon ok
God's Child
SY TBA ??
Flo TBA ?? </font>

Cookie, MAmachan

I went to Mel and syd. Not very fun for me tho.

MAMApanda,

I think i am the suay one tat you would consider as well. Till date i have change 5 maid within 1 year. of which 2 are the better ones and got to leave 1 due to gov reason and the other personal reason. the rest gets worst one after another. My current and the prvious maid are simply too slow and hygiene level is 0. my current one bath for 1 and half hour, clean a small book shelves for 4 hours and she is a super gossiper.. she has cause problem with me and my mom. she steals, dishonest... haiz... and guess what her has been her for the 3rd time and she does not even know how to sweep and mop the floor. coz her ex employers are alwyas not home. so she dun even get any scolding at all. two days a go i jsut raise my voice at her and she cried like mad saying tat i always scold her...huh???

Finally she mention she wants to go home . so yesterday i when back to my old agent , the one tat i recomended val and her friend .. hm.. seems like they are lucky and i am not so .. i decided to try my luck again... I am taking a transfer maid.. really cross my finger....

If the old agent doesn't work out for u, u can also try my neighbour upstairs who is also an agent. If I'm still around in May, I'll get my new maid from them as well. Just playing time waiting for my job replies from Norway now. Hopefully everything works out swee swee. I just hate playing waiting games. So unpredictable. I'm really getting very fed up with writing the stupid algebra program for MOE cuz they keep changing their minds and they want this and that (not to mention the peanuty pay). The stupid algebra program is supposed to roll out to schools in March and till now, they still keep sending in new requests! Just 2 days before chinese new year, they sent in a list of 18 bugs/fixes when they had all the time from Nov till Jan to do it. So horrid!

mamapanda
your family migrating to norway?

check with u something. is it a must that i must give my indo maid a day off? any such rule like those for filipino maids?

CL - i din bring hp out today so prob a bit hard to contact later... eh, im not so sure on where the ramen place is lei.. can i meet ur somewhere more prominent then we go there tog?

SL ... were u the one that wanted to org Amazon spree... I'm keen but what's the est postage like? I getting light books (those 4 for 3 deals) and so can't pay a lot on postage. I may have some lobang on VPost ($10 off for $40 or something like that) but it's from next mth.

Glue : can i know if your kids like to do art work with glue? mine prefers to cap and uncap them, and glue on other parts rather than the artwork, and he doesn't like to stick whatever he has to stick on. how do you encourage him in that direction?

.ky.

Just came back from the cruise. So tired. Didn't sleep well thru out coz of the engines and my cough has gone up another level. Sianz....

rena

u also changing maid? Ai yah, that day i asked u for SY's no to recommend a maid. Didn't know u want too. Well, the maid kenna 'snatched' up within the hr. She was my hb's grandma's maid. Too young for her liao lah and she kept complaining said very ma fan to bring her around. My hb's grandma stays alone and very independent type.

ky
sure or not, the $600 salary just on contract? Lately there's been news that the employers are being sued for not paying. A contract is a contract. If your maid not happy with u, she can anytime go to the embassy and show the contract then say u didn't pay her.

My boy doesn't like to do art work. He's just not arty type so i gave up long ago. Just gave him some crayons to scribble.

aiyah mashy,

you should let me know earlier mah...

but ok lar .. anyway i have found one already the problem is how to bread the news to the current one?

rena

oh good. My ILs sent the maid back to agency, then step back home only, the agent called to say she kenna taken already. so fast. Too bad for me too, coz my hb and I were telling ourselves that if the maid survives under the hands of his grandma till i've no 2, then maybe we'll take over her. haha.

Hi mashy

wat I've said is what a pro-maid agency advised me before. For goodwill, employers should share details of the $600 contract which Fil govt is emforcing which is unsuitable in singapore's climate. Helpers should be given a choice to leave if they are not willing to accept the adjusted pay that employers give upon renewal and go in search of a $600 pay package. This is the background that agencies should tell their potential candidates too before getting them to come over. Anyway, there's a lot of details for these, and for me, I did not have to do so.

thx. Trying to train him on fine motor skills and also, gluing is in a lot of play activities which I can do at home. I can't just give up coz he's not keen, guess I'll keep on trying to make the activities more interesting for him to try.

.ky.

ky, edgar also prefers to play with the cap.i see that it's pretty common amongst the kids. for edgar, he prefers to "drop" (something like sprinkle) the item onto the paper instead of pasting it. then use his finger to press it down. u may want to try this method.

Mommies on GAIN IQ
Price will increase after next month!!! Sian..
I'm thinking of stocking up for didi!
So if you want to order please email me your address and no. of tins as usual. Maybe should change to another brand liao.. its getting so EX!

i have to order by next week

KY, SL
if you order from amazon, can i tompang.. i want to get some stuff too!

KY
my girl loves to play with glue. She can use scissor fairly well (plastic type that can only cut paper) if i hold the paper she can cut along the line so she can do the paper activities that come in the chinese activity book i got for CL BP
She uses a glue pen.

My girl is LEFT handed!!!

Tabbiesus,
Tabbie is fixed left handed already? I still cannot 100% sure Jamie is. But she uses left hand 80%. When she eat and drink milk, she is always using left. For the rest, it is a mixture between both hands. I was left-handed but my mum told me that my grandma uses a ruler to hit my hand to make sure I use right. I changed to right when I am abt 6yrs old. My MIL kept asking me to hit Jamie's hand whenever she see Jamie using left hand to eat. But I am ok with left handed and leave it to natural.

may

i think she is confirmed cos she will draw and use scissors with left hand.. first choice.. more steady.. but can still use a bit of her right, but she prefer her left for work, and eating, she will use right. I'd like her to ambidexterous cos that would be good for her. My hb can use both hands for some things, my dad is left handed but forced to use right, i'm very strongly right handed so i dunno how i'm going to teach her next time... maybe i have to start training my self to be left handed! ha!

Tabbiesus
Thanks for helping us order all the time. Hee Hee my milk monster sure needs lots of milk but ha ha i no place to stock up 2 carton.

Noted about the books, will email or show her later when I meet her. I probably be collecting your books today so see if we can arrange to meet next week.

tabbs

well, maybe that's why tabby is so artistic and loves art.
Now still early lah, don't think will be fixed at this age.

But truly, this world is designed for right handers, so it's better to be a right handed. I remember reading a report long time ago that right handed have a longer life span probably coz everything is made exclusively for the right handed.

tabb ... I'm left handed, and actually I didn't feel dis-advantaged with that. I think the 1 thing is writing. I was forced by my mum to change to right hand when I was around 5-7. Now, I only write with right hand. Better in the sense that you don't get ink smudged over your hand, and I think it's easier to teach writing (esp the strokes) with right-handed kids.

she's pretty advanced for her age, and scissors is top for not being left-hand friendly. Get her a simple scissors and see if she can learn to hold n cut herself. plastic blade gets blunt quite easily (well, that's for me)

.ky.

Re:HFMD
Hi mummies who has experience in this before, need advise from you...
Kaelyn has been complaining about pain on the outer of her mouth - the joint between upper and lower lips. I couldnt see anything ytd, only saw a bite stain on the inside of her mouth like we have accidentally bite ourselve when we eat. Today both side of the joint-part of the upper and lower lips( i hope u know where I'm talking abt) is red and by evening.. there is blister/ulcer looking on both side.
Kae has complain it's painful and abit manja initially...
I couldnt find any other blister or ulcer on hands, foot, bottom or inside mouth. SO far no fever too. She is also still active and playful.

Jst wanna know... usually HFMD blister/ulcer will happen on the outside of the mouth?

I'm bringing her to PD tomorrow...
I'm also worried for #2 if case is confirmed...I really prayed hard it's not.
SO stress now.

cookie
is the similac follow-on the one for bbs abv 6mths? if so, i wanna share with you for Clare.

oh dear.. hope tt kae does hv HFMD. Is she gg to sch already? otherwise, how will she get it?

It's been a rough night.

C has been admitted to hospital for chest infection. He had fever to 2 days and yesterday went Mt A, Dr advised to admit him even though i don't really see the need. After all, he's just given meds and being nebu which we can easily do at home. My poor boy was traumatised by yesterday night's experience. Cried and cried. Feel so heart pain for him. Ok, going off now. Had to call his school to tell them he won't be in the next few days.

ky
i did try to do glueing stuff with JH but he wasn't too interested too. i end up doing the pasting to show him. he will just stick a few pieces and then lose interest. but u r right, cannot give up just becos he's not interested!

cookie
HFMD wd have the blisters on the soles and palms usually. even if u see PD, think not really easy for them to diagnose.that time when i went to see PD, JH hadn't develop the blisters on the palms and soles but i was told to look out for it.

mashy
poor thing. how did C get the chest infections?? hope he gets well soon

mashy,
hope C is ok..

cookie,
HFMD can be mild outbreak where you dun see rash on palms and feet. My younger nephew had the full blown one while his older bro only had some ulcers in mouth. gotta monitor, but of course do bring to PD first. Hope Kae is not having HFMD.

Oh my god.. mashy.. it must have been tough on you. do take care.. how did the chest infection come along? any signs before it came along?

Mashy
Do take care, must rest well as he will need you more after he discharge. Hope C will be fine soon. Have you recovered yourself ?

Ky,SY
Aden will paste then when he gets bored, he will start playing with the glue like he is playing with the paint.

Cookie
Hope Kaelyn is those when we are heaty we will get that same symptom. In the meantime, better to observe personal hygiene first

Nowadays, I will send all to wash legs and hands with soap once we all step into the house.

How are you?? has been busy for work..going to burn out soon

RE: Birthday Bash
I'm apologize that I can't make it on 1st March as Hb can't make it and need to attend for relative full month party....

RE: Potty training,..
How many of your mummies has been successfull in toilet train for toddler?? Need your advise...

Rachel
Thank you for your called

hi mummies..
Came back from PD this noon waited for 3 hours as walk in phew...
The good news is PD dun think it's HFMD!! Yeah..
She suggested could be either kae never drink enough water so the 2 joint "crack" or could be triggered by eating some acidic fruit like not too ripe strawberry or kiwi.
it could be the kiwi! cos I was feeding her some kiwi on friday nite, tho I only fed her the more ripe and sweeter kiwi and I eat the sour one myself but I use the same spoon, perhaps really some sour jucie was on the spoon and cause.
At least I can see some cause which is reall related.
Meanwhile I will still montior her, I'm really so happy and relief now.

Thanks all mummies.. and yes this incident also remind myself to be more vigilant.

<font color="ff0000">HELP</font>
Mummies, Anyone having bank account POSB SAVING 055-21998-2 ? I need help in checking two transactions.

Mashy,

Hope your boy is feeling better already. I can imagine your heartache.

Cookie,

That's really a relief. I really feel that this forum is great. All these experiences shared by all of you actually helps alot.

Linda,

Renee is toilet trained already. She started with potty and now we bring her to the toilet..easier for us. Dont need to clean up the potty. She can also nap without diapers. But there's also a problem now as we try to wear diapers for her at night, she will get very angry and sometimes it gets difficult.

linda
we just started ger on toilet training last sat..he seems to be qt ok. noticed tt he prefers the toilet seat to the potty. get the mothercare one. my friend recommended to me and he seems to like it.. also must prep underpants. my hb didnt warn me tt we were starting and suddenly stop letting ger wear diapers. so we had to rush to buy the underpants as i only had 1 pack. also can prep stickers as rewards. We will gv ger a sticker when he successfully pee or poo in the toilet bowl. I find tt it helps to motivate him.
all the best.

re: gain
Can i confirm these are the ppl who want to order?
1. Cheng(EL)
2. mongs
3. krissie
4. cookie

anyone else?
I will order tomorrow.

mashy
hope C recover soon.

linda
my gal is toilet trained during day time. she needs diaper when she's taking nap and night time. i don't know how to train her to go diaperless during nap and night leh...

my boy's still in hospital. My hb's going to start work tomorrow. Dunno how I'm going to cope then altho my MIL agreed to come in the late afternoon to help.

So heartpain, see my boy's hand got 'planked' up for the drip. He kept trying to pull it out and use that hand, but cannot. sigh.

It's acute bronchitis. I also dunno how he got that. Maybe from the cruise?

Quite fed up with the 24hr clinic dr. I asked him if i don't ward him, what treatment will he recommend. He said only fever reducing meds. Siao! Like that i can just get it from pharmacy. And that's after the x-ray and blood tests that showed that he had infection! That night, he warded many kids. Even one gal with just 39 temp. Think he's incompetent and dunno how to treat children.

Yesterday, an indian boy got admitted. Talking abt disadvantage of being a left hander! The nurses didn't ask if he's left handed and proceeded to 'plank' up his left hand, assuming that he's right-handed. (I dunno what u call that, it's for the drips, but they plaster this board to this so that the hand can't move) Poor thing. His family wasn't with him and he couldn't do anything. The nurse still had the cheek to tell him that he should have told them he's left handed. In the first place, he didn't even know that he's going to be 'planked' up. It's his first time in hospital, nearly died coz of sudden respiratory problems. He's really lucky to be alive. But now he's so chatty. Hahah, kept talking non-stop.

Mashy

can understand how you feel now coz the other time damien was also planked up for the drip..they tried to poked him on his left hand and cannot find the vein and end up on the right hand. I was outside the treatment room and kept crying..heartache..and it was around 2am in the morning. We admitted him to NUH as we had very bad expereince in KKH.

Remember clearly when he was out from the treatment room, the first thing he shown me was his hand and kept pointing the nurses and trying to tell me what they had done to him.

The nurses there were pretty nice and they pasted some cute stickers on it and trying to make him feel better.
Maybe you can give it a try to distract him to pull it out.

re toilet training
JH is only toilet trained for poo. think going to start soon for his pee. since we started training to poo, he never used his potty. somehow he likes the toilet seat better. now when we are outside, he will refuse to poo in his diapers and will hold till we get to the toilet.

mashy
oh dear, sounds like it was a sudden case. he was sick before the cruise right? maybe never fully recovered.

how many days must he be warded?