(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
Charmaine is involved in all gynae consult, gynae will show her the scan and say didi hi 5 to you etc.

Bought her a doll , which she takes care and treat her like her own baby.

Then we bring her to all shopping for baby things , she will tell us what she can do. Then when I bath her, we will go through with her how i will bath the baby. Then she says she will pass soap and towel to me.

Then diaper, we will show her baby very small so use smaller one diaper, she will say pass us changing mat, wet tissue and diaper.

We will get her to say what she wants to do and how she can behave because she is older than JH during that time

sy-my hb even 100% confirm gal also dun want no 3 liao. anyway its ok. its fine with me for sure coz it's me who is gg thru the labour & not him. we talk abt it and said most of the parents who have no 3 have very big gaps. maybe its because all their kids have grown older and they miss those baby days. so tats what pop another one which they often refer as 'accident'. haha..like my sis, she is 7 yrs my junior. hee...

sunny
for me, now i m trying to instill some big bro pride in jh now. seems to work cos he likes to feel useful and big boy. but of cos theory and practical are different. can only pray that he will be receptive. when i ask him whether he will help me, he will always tell me how he is going to help me like take towel, make milk, change pampers etc. and sometimes during play, he will actually acknowledge bb as part of the family which surprises me.

CL
i try to bring JH for the consultation but only can do it when i m on leave. is it weird for him to play with a doll? he will sometimes carry his soft toys like bb to do the rock a bye baby song.

JH does say what he will do for each situation. i think he can understand but just dunno whether he will do...

SSF
hee, actually i think i like the idea of #3 being much younger than the older 2 kids. but see how lah. if really have gal this time, i will convince hb to have #3...

hi SY,

I asked my helper before I do it, and I do buy 2 cans of the same coffee powder before. If she's smart, she'll know why. Some of them have already "downgraded" themselves like they are in a lower class, that's why they don't dare to eat before us, or don't dare to eat much, or walk quietly behind us. On the husband cheating on the maid, yes, it's common, just asked ard and u'll know. My maid is really naive. She already suspected before she comes but she HOPED that it wouldn't happened to her, and somehow she found out the hubby took the kid out from the expensive private school for a week to her mother's place n she wondered why and she made a call and somehow got her suspicion confirmed. She even know who the woman is.... I didn't asked for details, but apparently, as they are Catholic, they can't divorce. Their govt would not sign on the papers. I've told her not to send all her moneys back every month but she choose to, and despite what she tells me that she's here for her son, her son doesn't get anything so far, except for some toys n books that she send back... and I've kept asking her if she's forgotten her objective and she'll say she's very bad at planning and her hubby who gets half the money will definitely keep for her son. I think she's sort of shocked that whatever she hoped against has come thru ... I just feel quite mad coz despite everything I've warned her against, she's still stubbornly got herself into this. I just wonder if she goes to Norway, she's probably going to get more money, but how much would her son get?

.ky.

SY, on clothes passing. My MIL kept her kids clothes and she passed a big clothful of them to me when I had my number 1. So imagine the son wearing the daddy's clothes! She was so proud of them that she told me not to pass to other people. I've faithfully keep them till K outgrew them and passed them back to her. Between the SILs, we don't pass clothes around anymore. The youngest one prefers to buy new clothes for their son, and for us, our frens gave us more clothes than the boys could ever wear. Anyway, if your SIL is not against taking, tell her to keep them and if need be, you may need it back. And think of it positively, u need not trouble abt who u can give the clothes to, like me. I've kept a small box of clothes for souvenier and will pass on to the boys when they've grown up.

.ky.

Queen,
Haha…my boy likes Toy "R" Us too. But he can spend 3 hours in Giant as well. Haha…that day my hb just complained and say "Wah…Giant he can also walk for 3 hours ah!"

SY,
Oh no…thank goodness JH is ok. JW usually gets it from me when he goes near the fan.

Been so busy can't keep up with the posts...sigh...this job is really v busy for me. Worked till 10 plus yesterday in the office and then when i reached home, JW is drinking his milk...he got angry when he saw me and asked me to go away... :-(

ky
your maid very poor thing but seems like the advice fell on deaf ears. nothing much u can do.

i dun mind passing the clothes to my SIL but just din like the way my MIL put it. and u r right lor, some pple prefer to buy new clothes for their bb. my hb is one such person actually. esp if he has a gal.

SH
wow, so late. JH used to get angry with me too.

Was so busy for the last week. Life's really busy now - splitting my time between work, PT studies and family. Totally no social life.

Re: ON Spree
Have already sent emails to all the mummies. If you have not received an email from me, that means that I didn't get your orders, so pm me again. Will place order by Thur, 12 noon so as to enable mummies time to check and revert and minimise the OOS.

Cookie,
I can totally empathesize with you. My mil also felt that we treat the maid better than we treat her. She actually used the word "xiao shun". I just pretended that I didn't hear anything and didn't respond at all. I will, however, get my hubby to tell my mil not to treat the maid like that. Ultimately, you can't be with the baby all the time - you need to go toilet at least right? So the maid will definitely have "time alone" with the baby and I don't want her to "revenge" on the baby. There have been a few shouting matches between hubby and mil already on this issue. For us, changing maid is not the issue cos this is already the 5th maid. Sigh. We are just praying that charmaine will hit 12kg soon and go to CC.

CL,
Can I trouble you to collect the leggings from May for me pls?

May,
Can pm me your acct no? Thks.

Re: Amazon spree
Any mummies keen on that? Wanted to get some books from Amazon after my exams.

sl,
sure no problem about the leggings.

SH,
try to spend more time with JW. I had the same problem when I used to work with bank and in the end Charmaine says she can dun go home since I am not at home anyway

sunny/sl
thanks thanks.. haizz...
I'm not sure if changing a maid is a solution. This is the 2nd maid..and from what I see this maid is already quiet "nice" as in she dun show black face,talk back or being fierce. of course she is forgetful, sometimes not careful, broke things along the way etc but I suppose it happen in probably all other maid.

I will probably talk to MIl again when she not so angry and talk to her about my concern. Seriously I'm not sure she will even listen or bother to sit down to let me finish. It not I never tried talking to her before.. on many occassion, I always felt.. I shouldnt have waste my time trying to talk to her.

sl, thanks. I'll go check my email.

CL,
GEr was also v sweet yest. We were playing with Clare in his room before bedtime when they were both playing milk and he went up to her and said “mei mei”. Clare smiled, so daddy said that “see.. mei mei smile, mei mei love you..” and Gerald said loudly, “I love you also”. It was such a sweet moment.

Re : speech

Damien is picking up his speech faster than his elder brother.
Reached home yesterday and he was having his dinner at the dinning table.
I was in the room changing and i heard him saying : Ah mee, come take your dinner.

Then after the dinner, i was resting in the living room.
He come to me and pulled me to the window..and said : Ah mee..you see moon.
I dun remember teaching him moon coz we hardly can see moon from our window.

SL,
PMed u the acct no. I will pass to CL.

Rachel,
I think I am the last one that have yet gotten the bash photo from you. I will go Bukit Panjang on Thurs/Fri evening. Which day is more suitable for you?

re sibling love
wow all these sibling love is so sweet. hopefully JH will be so sweet also. he has been telling everyone he will make milk for bb.

yesterday JH was very funny. i was talking to my hb and he interrupted me by calling me very loudly. so i told him not to do that. instead tap me on the shoulder and wait while i finish talking to papa. so he nodded his head. after a while, he told me to tap him on the shoulder and he said he is talking to papa. then he said he finished talking already and i can talk to him. quite funny. me and hb so amused that he twisted the situation to apply to himself.

babylon
sometimes they learn things that we dun even know they have been learning. on sun when i was going to church, JH said church is at expo. i was quite surprised cos i never mentioned that to him often.

Krissie
That was so sweet of Ger. You muz be very proud of him.

SY,
Wow JH realli smart. Ha ha got his genes from a scholar mummy.

CL
my hb will say that it is his genes and not from the stupid mummy who always gets tricked by JH.... i always tell him that the kid inherits most of the stuff from the mummy (vaguely remember that from my bio class) haha....

RP Lunch this Friday
Sounds good. I would love to join you ladies. Exams will be finally over by then too!

Tonight is my heavy module. Now pia-ing like mad. Taking a short break now to check forum and check my emails.

SY
JH is sooo articulate! Impressive! =) It must be a joy to hear him speak in simple sentences. D is at a stage of mimicking and picking up what we say. He's more into repeating after me when I say certain words slowly and clearly for him to learn and pick up. But not quite there in forming sentences =)

Another improvemnt in school
My hb had been faithfully bringing D to school in the mornings this week. D surprised us by totally not crying and is totally happy to walk all the way from the bus-stop to the school and best of all, he's more than happy to sit down on the chair outside the classroom to remove his shoes and give my hb a flying kiss goodbye and take his own bag and walk in to his class himself!! His teachers are still waiting and hoping to hear him speak more to them, they noticed that D opens his golden mouth and start to "talk" whenever we pick him up but he's relatively quiet in school still. Hahaha, told the teachers that he's still on his observation-mode, but I'm pretty sure it'll come the day where he'll be asked to stop being so talkative!!! hahahaha, just like me when I was his age.

CL
not sure whehter can join RP lunch this fri. cos may need to go attend a conference. trying to RSVP for it though. if not going i will join.

Mamachan
jia you and hang in there!!

JH does a lot of mimicking also. and i think that's how he learnt to speak. he also started to use some past tense in the appropriate context which really surprised me. sometimes when my hb uses the wrong tense, i will tell him that even his son knows better than him..haha.

think it takes time for them to talk more in sch. JH is also like that. he is very quiet outside and i think he is pretty quiet in sch too. but at home, his mouth moves non stop.

good to hear that D is happy going to sch now! always feel so proud of them when they reach another milestone.

hi mummies, i would like to send my maid to some courses for upgrading so that when she returns to her country, there is some thing she can fall back and do as a living. when i went to jarkata early this month, i saw that some woman are doing foot reflex, hair cutting, manicure services as a living. i asked my maid before and she said she is interested in foot reflex.

i remembered there is somewhere that offer reasonable priced courses for those domestic helpers. anyone has any idea? i tried calling indonesia embassy but no one answers. nothing much on the website either.

<font color="ff0000">Annual Gathering!!! </font>
Date: Proposed POSTPONED to 1st MARCH(SAT)
Time: 1130am-230pm
Venue: The Wine Tapestry, club csc @ bukit batok 91 bukit batok west ave 2 blk b #03-01
Cost: $20.00 per person

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Adult</TD><TD>Child</TD><TD>Amount</TD><TD>Status</TD><TD>Postpone to 1st March </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Chickenlittle</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Mamachan</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$60.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$60.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>02</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Maywong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>bblon</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$20.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>God's child</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Rach</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Tabbiesus</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$60.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD></TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Flo</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$20.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>SH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Queen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$20.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Sysac</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Demny</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$60.00</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OK </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

pls tt to <font color="0000ff">POSB Saving 151-12224-8 </font>
- ib, pls indicate your nick
- ATM, pls inform me so i can link you up

May
what time you be reaching bukit panjang tomo?? Friday i will not be home till very late. we arrange through sms okie? =)

babylon
can sms me linda's contact? or can you inform her to tt me the $ for our gathering? thanks!

CL
RP lunch i confirm again. i m going for seminar at 2. so maybe will join if we meet earlier? cos my seminar is at grand plaza park royal so quite near city hall.

Hi Sy,

Which church are you attending? FCBC or CHC?

I am attending CHC.

Re: talking

My elder gal can speak earlier as compared to Megan. However Megan is picking up and now learns a lot from the elder sister and some of which the not so pleasant things........

Megan can say "Gong Xi Fa Cai, Xin Nian Kwai Le" after hearing the sister saying.

The bad things she pick up is "Don't friend you, don't like you."......... She says this whenever she don't get her way......... hai......

Hihi Mummies, how's everyone doing? Big congrats to those whose #2s have arrived!!

re: Maid
Mine eats and drinks what we eat/drink, sometimes even more than us. Like we can finish 1 big bottle of Ribena every 2 weeks or so: she drinks like 90% of it. Coffee in 3 weeks. And it's pretty much like her personal coffee cos I only take decaf which is another brand. Other items include peanut butter, strawberry jam, etc. where she consumes 80% and the rest of the family 20%. I pay for all her toiletries too. She doesn't have to buy anything, except for calling cards b4 I got her a handphone. She pays her own phone bill. She'll send all her money back too at the post office/ lucky plaza.

She's with us for more than 1 year already. So far she has been very helpful with the kids, even though the cleaning is not perfect. And thats just becos she has to run around 3 kids, clean and cook. So I don't really expect too much.

On breaking thing, OMG... mine also like a bull. Dunno break how many countless things liao. I always tell myself not to buy expensive things cos at the end of the day, it will be Sherly who's using them and there will be a chance(or many, rather) that she breaks it. Plates, bowls, cups, all chipped. Accidentally throws away spoons, forks etc. I made noise in the beginning and I know she tries very hard not to be so rough, but still.. that's y till now, she's only wash the family car once. Becos my hb is afraid that she'll scratch up the car with brut force!!

Btw, she has already brought up her contract renewal (which will be dued this Nov) to me. She wants to continue another 2 years. I understand that the new wage for Filipinos is $600. Is this correct? Also do I have to engage an agent to deal with the contract &amp; whatever that comes w/ the work permit OR can I do it myself? Is it quite straight forward?

SSF,

http://www.bayanihancentre.org/
http://www.migrants.org.sg/trainingcentre.htm

My maid went for a course in the first one ... must sign up early coz it's full very fast

Denmy, has your maid put on weight?? she eat a lot leh! good life.

For contract renewal, the $600 is for show only. U can up the salary by what u think she's worth. Just tell her frankly that she's not going to get the $600. To do the contract, it depends if she wants to go for home leave or not. I just did insurance renewal which is cheaper via an agency rather than online; online is more than $100 and I did mind for apprx $50-$60

.ky.

CL/SY/SSF
thanks.. sorry din read your post ytd.. I was just glancing thru.
My 1st maid was choosen by MIL, just 2 weeks MIl wanna send her back cos that one very rebellious.
2nd one, I decided to take things in my hand and go with my feeling and advice from friend.
If things really bad... maybe changing the maid is alternative or... just send kae to FT child care and go with no maid. Then like that MIL happy lor.. she will have no one to complain.
When MIL not so angry, I will try to talk to her again and tell her what a stress out maid might do...

cookie, CL
ya.. was v touched. Yest, he just told me tt he want to share his fav toy with mei mei.

cookie
tt's a good idea.. tell her abt the recent news when the bb was abused by the maid..

yuki
i m attending FCBC. what time do u attend service? i attend the 9am one.

denmy
wow your maid can really eat. i know some filipino maids will try to ask for big raise in pay. that's what happen to my fren's sil's maid but she din give in. so dun think u need to give up to $600. for my maid's contract renewal, i got an agent to do it including the insurance as well.

ky
which agent did u use? really cheap leh.

cookie
is there any reason why your MIL seems so agst maid? shdn't she be happy got someone to help her out?

sometimes feel that my MIL is really a selfish person. recently she has been calling my mum up almost every week. mostly to complain that my hb doesn't give her enough money (or some other money related stuff). sometime back, i ever did hint that i may want to stop working for a whie after #2 to take care of my kids. she actually told my mum that i can't stop working cos of money. i feel she is so hypocrite. everytime she will tell us how much she loves her grandkids and how she feels not safe to leave to maid. naturally i wd be the best choice to take care of the kids right? but she cannot let me stop working cos she scared my hb will cut her allowance. i feel she is so selfish. she ever chided me before when i wanted to send JH to sch at 2 years old that i very heartless and she made herself sound so noble that she took care of her kids till there were abt 5 cos she stopped work. but if i dun send JH to sch, he will be with maid and not me.

now i understand why my hb complains that his mum only knows how to talk abt money. it's never my welfare or the kids welfare first. she expects that i can wake up every night to take care of the kids myself and then go work the next day. really feel that she is really selfish.

SY,

take it easy.. my MIL is the same.

I came back on Thurdays night from Australia. Poor son was sick there again. but recovered well.. however On Monday he liao sai till now and still having it.. very stress for me as i had to take leave for 2 days. and his rash is so bad tat i am unable to even take of his pants to clean him.. so we decided to let him go diaper less and got to clean up each time he poo.. had work man coz got to dettol each time as well....

stress ...

rena
yeah i have slowly learnt to ignore what MIL says most of the time. But can't stand the way she does things. in front of me, she will sound like staying at home is a good idea. behind my back, she will keep telling my mum i cannot stop working or she got no money.

oh dear hope elijah is better. how come the rash so bad...got any medicine that u can use?

SY
If ur MIL thinks she's making a very "Big Sacrifice" by stopping work to take care of your kids, tell her that you will "sacrifice" instead to take care of the kids yourself and she can go back to work. See how she reply to that.

cookie
Is there anyway u can live on your own instead of with ur IL? It sounds to me the best solution is to move out.

Mamapanda
That suggestion very extreme. Later mil lugi more unhappy.

RP Lunch - I am ok for earlier timing. So is 12.15 good ?

Chicken little ok
Mamachan ok
Babylon ok
God's Child
SY TBA ??
Flo TBA ??

Rena,
Hope Elijah gets well soon. I feel should air it more and probably have to get some cream from pd liao.

SY
The best is to ignore and avoid all conflicts. Hb can always voice out when it is unreasonable. Decision to be SAHM is between you and hb. If hb says yes, then he should deal with mil.

SY
really.. Jia Jia You Ben nan Nian de Jin...
Dunno what to say about your MIL...but at least your HB acknowledge that what his mum is like.

I dunno why MIL so irritate by my maid. Maybe my maid talk back before when she was being Yuan Wang.
Bascially from the day I was introduce to my ILs duirng pak tor days.. I know my MIL is a difficult person. I'm not surprise at all she will pick on the maid and all. In fact I do not think changing a maid will help much becos she will just complaint again. It's my MIL that need changing :p

CL
I dunno about how you all feel but IMO, its best a couple live on their own rather than with their ILs or parents. Avoids all conflicts, more privacy and also, more private space. I lived with my ILs for 1 year before we moved out. It just doesn't work out. Somehow, parents will have to learn to let go. They cant expect their children to live with them forever. Its not right.

CL
u can read my mind..i was going to ask whether RP can be earlier timing.

Most probably can join but i need time to walk over so let me know where u guys going.

Mamapanda
i think my mil say so much cos she hoping her son will ask her to stop working to take care of our kids. but my hb has no intention of doing that.

CL,
my hb is not very supportive of me being SAHM. cos he always feels that last time when they were so poor, my MIL still stay at home instead of work so he wd prefer i work and earn money instead. he doesn't know his mum said all these things. i dun think my MIL will say in front of him cos may get scolding from him.

SY
In any case, the decision to become a SAHM is yours and your hubby's decision alone, esp your hb since he's the one bringing the big dough home.

mamapanda
We are staying in our house. MIL came by on weekdays to help us with the kids when we go to work. In this aspect I'm grateful and glad she is helping. It's just the maid issue that still need fine tuning..
Moving out is not an option

I think Rena meant.. dettol the dirty area on the floor la.. not on the bum bum.

Rena
Hope E gets well soon.. LS really cham one plus the rash.. oh dear.
In fact I'm having a little now myself..

Which part of Aust you went?