(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re:Whiny tots and disciplinary
Since we use cane on her once when she was like 15 mths so far she is still within our limits tho she will whine and whine for very very slight things.. like she wants to eat adult titbits and I do not allow, she will bang and roll on the floor ( Thank God she dun do it outside the house), then look for my maid or MIL to "complaint" abt us.
My helper very smart.. when we say NO to kae, she will say the same to Kae without being asked. MIL will usually stay out of the act until later when kae is alright then she ask her what happen?

Re: HB helping
To some extent I have to agree with Mashy. I would expect my HB to help in some ways or another. I'm a "fair" person, I believe in both parties have to share responsibilities.
Thankfully since #2 is here, hb hasnt slacken in his "duties"..hee... has been actively helping tho sometimes need to be asked then do la. Sometimes Kae only wan me so I bo bian must do more cos hb cant help much also.
he also like to choose task, he doesnt like to bring kae to PG, always rather stay home take care of #2. I'm fine to bring Kae alone, just treat as a "just 2 of us" once a week outing.

May
I would think u have to let HB be ready to plan for #2. never force. I totally agree with sysac's point.
Having children should be a joyful decision for both parties not a burden one...
Tho my HB never has any objection about having #2..but beforehand I already told him must at least have 2 kids cos then kae will not be lonely when we are gone blah blah blah.. then I ask him if he think so. so more or less set his mind liao

Hb sometimes ask me if I want #3!!...it's me who say No No No...I havent enjoy Kyler yet!

Rena
Like the mummies say... no need to spend $$ buy clothes liao.
Wow E will have a buddy buddy to play with liao
COngrats!

May

I know how u feel abt wanting another baby. But i think don't rush it if your hubby not ready, i think men get lazy after a while cos the initial period is so tough.. maybe u can wait til jaime is older and also easier to take care of, and also can help u with no. 2, then u can consider asking hb again.. maybe then he will have amnesia abt how difficult the first few months are. Also, by then, i'm sure ur MIL will "fan" him abt no. 2 so much, u don't have much to do!

But i do warn u since u are FTWM that its not so easy to put J in ftchild care cos, for my tabby, i wanted to do that, and the teacher told me not to cos she's not ready and she warned me that for this age, they may get traumatised and get phobia of school.I know my tabby isn't ready cos she will cry if we are late to pick her up. Also,its very tiring when the age gap is too close... really, if ur hubby is not ready, unless u are prepared to do all the work, like me... i sometimes feel like i'm going mad!! But I rather feel "stressed" like this then let the maid take care and I rather "slack" a bit a work as in not give so much so that i can be a hands on mother. This is my choice, but its very hard work.. and i can tell u that sometimes my relationship with hb is a bit strained cos we really have no more couple time together and always me yelling for him to help, or he bin cho cho not wanting to help... luckily both of us are too busy to really fight and we both understand each other, every morning we are in good mood and are lovey dovey.. only at night we are both so tired.. we act sian sian to each other...

rena

congrats!!!!

So happy for yoU!! Take care for your pregnancy!

zhimin
RE: jaundice
my tabby had jaundice for 1 month.. breast feeding can make it more prolonged but the most important thing is to have certain blood tests to make sure that the jaundice is not due to some pathology in the liver. As long as that is settled, and its only Physiologic jaundice, usually its safe and alright to continue breastfeeding.

Jiao you! You may not be so successful with BF now cos declan has not been suckling so well, so remember to pump as much as you can. Once he can suckle well, let him latch more, i'm sure ur supply will go up.. don't give up cos this is the toughest time. Esp. when its no.2 cos have to still spend time with no.1.

Did u give birth at kkh? remember to look for the lactation consultant their.. either yen peng or cynthia for help.

Queen
me too.. after delivery, i always cry if its kiddy related stuff.. dunno why become so emotional... esp if i read child abuse, or sick children stories.. i get so sad....

Things that have changed after pregnancy
1. lost my memory...
2. lost my figure...
3. have become more teary easily..

any mothers the same? kekeke...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">HAPPY Chinese NEw YEar</font></font>

Wishing everyone a year of good health and happiness for your children and family.

happy chinese new year!!

tabbs
hee our situation sounds very similar. actually i dun mind too much abt hb not helping if he allows me to work PT or stop working. last time my ex boss always advise me that a couple shd have some form of mutual understanding. if one works hard, then the other one must care for the family more so he allowed his wife to go PT and the wife allowed him to stay longer at work. i have been trying to get my hb to undertsand that i m not super woman. cannot work 8 hours in office then go back and still do everything myself.

i think my memory not so good nowadays also. but also cos tired probably...?

cookie
wow your hb so son..want number 3....but that's good.then it means he will be more on right or else u won't feel motivated to have #3.

jh very weird. yesterday he scrapped his knees and when i told him it will be painful when i wash his knees, instead of crying he kept giggling when i wash..even when i put soap, he kept giggling....do kids have a weird threshold for pain???

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">GONG XI FA CAI!!!</font></font>
Happy Chinese New Year!

Mamachan,
My MIL can be quite sensitive about things that I said, though most of the time she's ok. After a big blowup when Isaac was a few months old, I didn't really dare to contradict her directly, except only for minor things. But my HB is a such a 'chin cai person', to him a lot of things are trivial even though I have tell him so many times to go talk to my MIL about things like that.

May,
Even we mothers have reservations about having #2, there are a lot of concerns. I'm sure your HB probably have similar concerns. If it is within your financial means, actually a lot of other things can eventually be sorted out. I believe 'chuan dao qiao tou zhi ran zi', sometimes no need to think so much cos there will always be endless concerns.

tabbiesus,
Yah... Tear so eaily now. Not just kiddy stuff, sometimes when I read newspapers stories on sad events, I also tear (like the dragonboat tragedy). When I watch sad dramas / movies, also tear. Aiyo... I was not like that before giving birth. I have never cried over sad dramas / movies before except for 1 super sad Jap drama which I watched years ago. Now most sad scenes will make me tear.
Yep, Memory definitely not as good (there's a recent article on an Australian study which proves that pregnancy affects memory) and figure has definitely turned flabby!

re. HB
I think my HB has been a great help. He is very hands on... he can take care of Isaac the whole day if I'm not around like play, bathe and cook for him. Sometimes, he even reads to Isaac, but I find that his storytelling skill is quite lousy. And he does his share of housework (mainly mopping and vacuuming) without complain most of the time, though he doesn't volunteer to do more unless I ask him to. He is ok having #2, though I'm the one who keeps pushing back cos have been switching jobs.

felt so bad. clariss's sch had a note to say to dress the children in cny clothes today. I bought her a da chang jin dress and she is so happy but I miss out the part about bringing 2 mandarin oranges to sch. I didn't even have oranges at home. I don't think she will be bothered about not having oranges but I feel so guilty. so occupied by the young one and have very limited time with clariss. it's really not easy to handle 2 kids without any help. hubby has been very helpful but still quite a bit of work. have to tahan for a few more years when they are both more sensible.

SY

Hehe, I'm one of those who's at home and still expects my hb to help. Doesn't mean I stay at home means easier time leh. It's harder work than in office. I lost 4kg since i stayed at home leh.

mashy
of cos staying at home is harder...i never tot it is easier. in fact when i stayed at home for one month, i also think it's really hard!

for me, a bit different. if i stay at home, i know my hb's expectations will be different. plus i have a maid and u dun mah. so of cos your hb still got to help u.

Hi mummies! Happy New Year!

I haven't been able to come in so often now with my course. Scanned through the posts.

Re: Maid abuse
Saw the video on news. It was terrible! gosh. My heart also stopped. The mother's really calm.

Tabbiesus,
Hi-5! My memory's gone too - it's really bad now. I attributed it to having to take care of 2 kids at home plus work, study, and do lots of other stuff. Tear easily too....figure's gone too... sigh... BUT what I think we have gained in return:
1) cute, lovely child(ren) even though sometimes they will drive us nuts! For me, I will experience now first-hand the type of love that God must have felt for us. Even more perhaps. It is simply amazing how we love our children unconditionally.
2) a cohesive family unit - it's no longer 1+1=2. Now we can say that it's 1+1=3! For some other mummies, the return on investment is even better, it's 1+1=4!
3) prioritising our lives - with limited time and more demands, we really learnt how to reprioritise.
4) appreciate our parents (and perhaps inlaws?) more - for me, even though I do whine about how my mil pampers charmaine and drives me nuts about the things she do and say but I have to say, it's only with their help that we can concentrate and afford to work without worries and study without reservation (remember the maid abuse?)
5) quality time with hubby - now that couple time's precious, we really spend more quality time together. I won't say that we don't argue, in fact, we actually argued more cos there are more things to argue abt but in a way, it made us appreciate each other more.

Re: HB
I am really glad that my hb does make an effort to help out even though I can't say that he's a great help.

re:hb

i would say that i m very fortune to that hb is very hand on. He took leave and take care 2 of them while my mum was away for holiday will i just started work and unable to take leave. He even brought them out the natural walk some where at kanji...

Rena

congrats! Now can save money on clothes.

Tabbs

Sama sama. I also find myself more forgetful. Sometimes even language. Can forget words, how to spell. Think of one word, write/say another. Slower reflex.

And definitely losing my figure. Now looking so lopsided.

And also, i find that healing is slower. Last time, a small paper cut takes just a day. Now it takes forever to heal. I've got more bruises and they take very long to recover too. Pimples also never seems to heal. And wrinkles are appearing already. sigh.

Thanks Mummies,
Financially we are ok.. just that the sharing of housework and looking after kids. Hmm...my aim is to finish giving birth by 30 so at least I have the energy to run around with them. Will wait and see when to discuss with him again bah.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">HAPPY NEW YEAR in ADVANCE to ALL of YOU !!!</font>
Wishing all "babies" a healthy and cheerful Year of Rat ahead.
Daddies and Mummies a healthy and prosperous Year. More money..Promotions to come in!!
Those who are trying for #2 or #3, JIAYOU and bring us GOOD NEWS soon!!
Preggie Mummies, Enjoy ur CNY with #1 as next yr there will be one more to join in the fun !!</font>

Happy CNY to all mummies!!

Haha, this year my hb and I keep forgetting to bring oranges with us! Thankfully we always have 2 oranges in the car on display so we will use that.

Haha..Tracy,
I am opposite of u.. I bring oranges around but forget to bring home. Left it at the last place we visit. Luckily we visit 2 place per day only and used 2 display oranges in the car too.

happy new year! the hol really feel too short. this year, our CNY very full of 'accidents'. JH stepped on a bee on the 2nd day of CNY and got stung! poor boy. he hasn't even recovered from his cough and now got to deal with the itchy bee sting. cannot sleep at night cos of that. i realise he hasn't had a good night sleep for almost 2 weeks. duno when things can improve. then yesterday, our flower pot which was outside on a shelf, got blown off cos of the strong wind and broke. and JH broke my shot glass at night..sigh, hb feels that all these means we have unlucky year but i said just accidents lah. can happen anytime one...

BO Chap Parents
Last sat i was having dinner at AMK central with my friends.
After we finished our dinner, on the way to the car park, my friends saw a kid slightly younger than damien roaming around by herself.
so my friend tot that she might lost her parent. since there are performance in the central, so they decided to bring the kid to the organiser to check if anyone had report lost their kid and at the same time they can also announce a kid was found.

They were very suprised to hear from the organiser that...this is not the first time ppl bring the child to them...See the kid's parent was sitting there..(watching the performance.)

My friend found the kid was abt at least 1km away from the performance around....i wonder why so parents can be so bo chap.

SY

Oh poor JH. Take care! Things will get better.

Haha, for me, felt that it's going to be a yr of labour. Have been doing so much housework since the new year.

babylon
wah, these parents really so 'fang xin'. I'll be very worried. Altho it's in Singapore, there's still been cases of child abduction. They sell them off as child prostitutes or if they try to run away, will break their legs to be beggars, or if they're somewhat 'lucky', sold off to childless couples. I heard it's esp rampant in M'sia from my stepmom who's a malaysian leh.

Morning Mummies

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Gong Hei Fatt Choy! Happy Chinese New Year of the Rat!</font></font>

1st Day of CNY was quite alright for me, but by 2nd day of CNY, I was feeling rather faint and pale and too tired to step out of the house, ended up I didn't visit my MIL's side of the family, but got my hb to bring D to visit anyway. MIL came by with my BIL to pick them up to her younger sis's place and they came up to my place to wait for the little emperor to get ready to leave house and also see how I was doing. I spent most of my CNY sleeping and resting at home. Think too tired out from work and my body really needed recharging. Didn't help that my "da-yi-ma" decided to be heavy during these past few days.

The highlight for us this CNY was the way D pronounced shu-shu (my hb's younger bro) so accurately in mandarin (in perfect chinese accent) and kept calling his uncle.

SY
Oh dear, JH got stung by a bee? Must have been "nightmarish" for you these past week. Take care yah? sayang JH for me.

Tracy/May
Haha, I didn't have to worry about not having oranges around as D knows and will make point to to his "orange bag" to bring it along when we tell him we're going out to Gong xi Gong Xi. He's really cute, the way he carry his orange bag like carrying handbag!! He'll automatically give the oranges to the host when we bring him to greet the owner of the house and do the "Gong Xi Gong Xi" hand action.

babylon
wow i wd be really worried if i can't find my kid! sometimes in the house when he is out of sight, i already wondering what mischief he's up to and scared he go and play with water or something like that

Mashy, mamachan
the bee more poor thing actually. got killed by JH. he was quite funny. he kept saying it's not painful and that the bee is painful. he seemed quite proud that he killed the bee. funny guy. but he can't sleep well cos of the itch and the second night, he actually cried till he vomitted cos of the itch. threw a huge tantrum and we had to read books in the middle of the night again. lucky he asked for milk after a while and we sang songs and he slept.

mamachan
hope u r feeling better. think the hot weather on the first day of CNY din help either. terrible terrible weather. i had a gathering at my place last night and almost all couldn't turn up last min cos either the parents fell sick of the kids fell sick.

mashy
year of labor never mind, as long as the labor bear fruits...

mamachan

take care! seems that quite of lot of u are getting sick over this CNY period.

Haha, forgot all about the coupon. Will mail it out to u since the bash kenna postponed.

SY
Still dunno will bear fruits or not. Hopefully...

I'm back to work liao...guarding the office with 3 other colleagues while the rest are enjoying themselves in Osaka now.
We screwed up the alarm system this morning and had to call my GM in Osaka for his help. Hahaha...

I've been having BH contractions since 6am this morning and still going on every 5 minutes. Not painful but can feel stomach tightening for few seconds. Wonder is this ok???

Tracy
Are you due anytime soon or in March?? Pai Seh, can't seem to keep up and remember. Think BH will be quite common if you are not due soon? I vaguely remember that I experience the tightening sensation around the tummy couple times before.

Mamachan,
Noooo...not due soon. Due only in May. I wouldn't worry if it only lasts awhile, but has been going on from 6am till now still on...:S

Tracy
better check with your gynae.
Also, are you having enough rest? drinking enough water? i notice that if i don't have enough rest and drink enough water, i tend to have BH more often.

babylon
wow.... the parents really bo chap. mayb the kid is really too hard to be controlled... so, the parents just have to leave her alone to explore around?
me sometimes did that, too when my gal insisted to explore around and wanna stay at one spot till we got to 'threaten' her that we are leaving by leaving her alone at that spot. but, i still dare not do it in the shopping centre. so far, only at the corridor outside my house or at my block.

Tracy
Hahahahaha, your bb like to eat snake? kekekeke, maybe he feels mommy is working too hard le, must rest more and rest well. You going to gynae now? Better go now bah. take care and update us yeah?

Happy Properous New Yr, Mummies!! Wah the abusive maid topic was on everyone's lips during CNY. i didnt watch the video...but from the stories tat was shared, it was enough to keep me on high alert.

linda - congratulations on getting your citizenship and increment. wat a good yr to start off with 2 big news

rena - eh sama sama! welcome to the family of 2 boys. haha..

mamachan - eh ur yi ma had a date with mine. haha...mine also came during CNY...sianz!

SY- hope JH is ok now..bee stung...no joke mann! better see a doc if the itch persists.

SSF
we did see a doc for the bee sting. the thing to worry abt is allergies and so far he din show signs of that. so i guess it's just waiting for the itch to go away. i put tea tree oil on it and it went away very fast. much better than those medicine than the doc gave.

SY - tats good to hear. JH will be fine soon. dun worry.

hi mummies, we are planning of gg to HK Disneyland in May. Did anyone stayed in Disneyland hotels? i heard that there are 2 hotels there? is there a family room that can accomodate 3 adults and 2 bb? or do we have to book 2 rooms? is 1 day sufficient to go round disneyland with 2 kids in tow? TIA!

SSF
If HK disneyland is exactly the same layout as the other disneylands, it should be sufficient if you're not going for the popular adult rides. Heard the queue in HK DNL is quite terrible and pple complained that they waste alot of time queueing up. Maybe May might be better since its not the school hols period.

maid
My maid just told me she want to go home in May so I'll need to find a new maid myself pretty soon if we're gonna stay in Singapore. We are so comfortable with her taking care of Ariene, I don't know how we are going to trust the new maid with Ariene, esp when she's not an easy child to take care of cuz she's so hyperactive.

Today her teacher said although she don't pull the rubber strip between the walls or jump on the tables and chairs or rallying classmates to scream at the back of the class anymore, she started shaking the white board. *faint* Another 1 more to the list of "No" I need to remind her every morning.

mashy - i have checked that china holiday is 01-03 may. i think it shld be ok if i go ard mid week.

mamapanda - i heard hk version is smaller than the us version. a frd of mine just came back 2 days ago and said teh queue is not as bad as he expected. in fact he said better than US one. he takes 2 days to go round the park with his 2 yo daughter.

cookie
why not do a email fwding of all ur yahoo mails to another email account? If not, yahoo has pop3 access I tink.. cant remem if it allows u to pop out ur yahoo mails or it allows u to read pop'ed mail from elsewhere. U gotta check e settings and features to see.

SSF
i also planning to go HK but hb not keen to go hol...wan to save money.

mamapanda
oh dear, how come she wants to go back in May? that's the headache with a new maid, dunno whether can trust or not.

wow ariene is hyperactive....

Initially, she said she's going back to re-marry in May but she wants to come back in June and continue working till end of contract in 2009 but now, she say her mum don't want to help to take care of her daughter anymore so she has to move to Brunei with her daughter and husband after the wedding.

Thanks MamaPanda
But mail forwarding.. I scare will end up fwd all the junk in my other email account.
But I will check it out.

Sunny, SY, Mamachan,
Back from gynae's. CTG scan shows mild contractions every 5mins n gynae said its too early to have such contractions...so put me on ventolin. Now having abit of the side effect of the hand shivering.

Hope this baby stays inside till due date!

SY,
Hope JH recovers from the sting soon!

Mamapanda,
oh...headache having to adapt to new maid.

SSF,
I covered the HKG Disneyland with Meg in one day from opening to closing hours. I didn't take many rides though. I went in July and queues were quite long.