(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Flo, Kirsten generally likes to play with older children. She's not mixing well yet cos she's still relatively new plus separation anxiety strikes again. Just give them some time bah, they will settle down to the routine sooner or later.

durianlover, congratulations! Janine is so sweet. Hang in there! Maybe you can try lying down to feed at night, like mongs suggested. From my experience with Kirsten, may be better to delay introducing the bottle for a while first, in case Janine gets nipple confusion. Let her get the hang of suckling from the breast first.

RE: Dentist

I remember someone ever recommended their dentist for young kids. Is it expensive? Can pm me the address/contact please? TIA! I may need to bring E to check his teeth cos he keeps complaining "teeth pain pain". And I noticed a black spot on his molar.

wenyl, oh dear, yah, better bring E to see dentist quick.

Aileen, went to your blog and saw a common friend, Lorraine's daddy, the L family. so qiao. He's my senior in NTU.

although I am still doing my confinement but I have been going out 2 times a day to send my clariss to childcare and to pick her up from her sch. today my sister came to pick her up as her son is going to the same childcare as clariss. she will be sending and picking her up for the next 2 weeks till end of my confinement. This is actually a good arrangement but clariss was crying just now when my sis picked her. felt a bit guilty towards clariss. she was "deposited" at my MIL a few days before my delivery and has not came home to sleep with us except for 1 day when Clarene was still in the hos. she goes straight to my MIL place after her half day childcare and seldom come over during weekdays. I felt so distant from her. My hubby also felt the same thing. we want to bring her back to sleep with us but we are afraid that Clarene will disturb her during the night. although I also want to make sure that clariss is not too distant from us but I also want to do a proper confinement and dont want to tire myself out. in such dilemma. the plan is to bring her back after my confinement.

Mong,
What about going over to spend some time with her ? Though they are young but I think they can tell like when I carry Charmaine, Aden will come pull my hands off and want to jump onto me.

Wenyl,
I bring Charmaine to GPA http://www.gpadental.com/home.htm
I went to the branch at United Square. Charmaine uses Dr Tay and I am under Dr Ong. Both are very gentle. My hb under Dr Eng, he says very painful ha ha.

Another option is NUH, there is this Betty Mok who is very good with kids. My fren's kids has phobia about going dentist but under Dr Mok, they are ok.

dear mummies,
Thanks for your words of encouragement and advice! So touched by you all

i think i will still direct latch Janine for the 1st month to establish milk supply and prevent nipple confusion. I'm hopeless with the lying-down-method to nurse baby. Can't seem to latch properly and end up getting sore nipples. SO i give up on the lying-down method. Last nite was much much much better though! So happy! We did some changes - put Janelle to bed in the maid's room, didn't switch on air con at nite - and Janine slept much better! Only woke up 2-hourly for her feeds. So i managed to have the most rested sleep ever since coming back from hospital last nite

RE: jealousy
Actually Janelle has been a very good jiejie so far. She simply adores her mei mei. But so much so that she's too distracted by her. If Janine cries at nite and wakes Janelle up, Janelle will want to pacify meimei, carry her, play with her, etc, at 1am in the nite! It was a harrowing experience for hb and i to put our 2 girls to bed at nite because Janelle is too distracted by meimei to sleep. So now, we have to resort to putting Janelle in the maid's room. But thankfully, so far Janelle is ok with sleeping with maid. It's a much better arrangement coz at least she doesn't get distracted or disturbed by baby at night.

mongs,
I know what you mean about wanting clariss to be not too distant from you. Even with Janelle still sleeping overnite with us, but with her shifting to the maid's room, i already feel the 'distancing' thingy. Actually, right from the time i delivered Janine i started to miss Janelle a lot. With the breastfeeding and all, i can't spend as much time with Janelle as i'd like to. But thank God Janelle has been very very good and nonchalant about it. In fact, she's now more sticky to daddy because daddy's the one who brings her out to play and spend time with her. But that's also good, so it frees me to spend time with Janine.

wenyl,
Ya better bring E to see dentist soon. It's a good thing he can communicate his pain verbally so at least u know!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the Feeding Bottles..
Over the weekend, I have change #1 bottles to pigeon glass bottles, tho the teats is a little different but she manage to drink well. Now is to be really careful when handle glass bottles
I have remain #2 bottles to be Bfree since it is so call the only brand that is BPA free..
But the integrity issue of Bfree company will be at the back of my mind..

and yes.. think the best we can do is to change bottles regularly.
I also thought about buying really BPA bottles from UK and be done with my worries.
But havent check if they deliver to Spore tho.. since it's UK cannot use VPOST also.

Wendyl
Oh dear.. poor E.. hope he will be able to rid his painpain without much procedure.
Bring him to dent soon.

Durianlover,
Glad to hear from you! Your Janine is so cute... newborms have this look of innocence and vulnerability isn't it? So fragile. So take care and log in when you can, we are here to listen!

cookie,
Thanks for the info on the BPA.
What's the itegrity issue with Bfree?
I use Avent and Pigeon bottles and quite like them... sigh. Back when I was studying materials during my engineering days, I already know about the degradation of different plastics but it's kind of difficult to avoid using polycarbonate plastics. Not just milk bottles, canned food lining, toys, food containers may be made of polycarbonate (or partially) cos it is a strong and lightweight plastic. But I guess exposure to newborns are more detrimental. Perhaps you can go to the hospital to collect more of those sample glass bottles. I think I will do that for my no. 2.

anyone has a good plumber to recommend?
Called this plumber named Jack and the quotation that I got for clearning the basin chokage is $150. so expensive.

re bottles with polycarbonate,
I have been using tollyjoy bottles to store my ebm in the fridge. althou i use the honey coloured aprica dr brown bottles to feed tyler. does it mean the chemical will still be passed into the milk even thou i don't heat up the milk in the tollyjoy bottles?

Krissie

Abt touching the private parts, I try to educate it together with the fact that he can't touch other people, esp girls. Yes, it's quite difficult to convey the idea, and he does wonder, esp when didi is still drinking milk (and allowed to touch). I try to tell him that that's where u pass urine and it's dirty (ie germs) and he'll fall sick if he doesn't wash his hands properly, and it's impolite (like digging nose too). Oh, I'll say "shame shame" if he runs out half-naked which he still do sometimes. yes, like trying to teach a child to judge what's wrong vs right and why's something is wrong, it's not easy but he's slowly beginning to understand it.

.ky.

cookie
Correction to what you posted, Bfree is NOT the only BPA free brand around. There are a few more others. Like I mentioned earlier, Aprica bottles are also BPA free and you can get them easily from Robinsons's or Aprisin (cheaper cuz they're the distributor). HOwever, Aprisin sells only the 240ml bottle version. If u need the 120ml bottle, u'll need to get it from robinsons'. Aprisin sells the 240ml bottle (old model) for $15.90 and Robinson's sells the new model for $26.90.

personally, I don't trust the Taiwanese nor Chinese. I have more faith in Japanese products.

glass bottles
I have about 30+ of the fat, short hospital similac bottles (can store up to 110ml) to give away (without caps). If u need, you can come my place to pick them up. In total, I have a about 70+ glass bottles but someone else has already reserved the slim bottles so I'm left with the fat similac bottles. Try to collect as many glass bottles as u can if u intend to total BF. Trust me, this 70+ bottles & 2 freezers were not enough for me and I still had to throw at least 10 bottles of EBM every week to make space for new EBM.

hyperactivity in class
Today Ariene's teacher told me Ariene is hyperactive in class and doesn't want to sit still for lessons. She's always running about so teacher had to catch her and put her on her lap for lessons. Anyone also having such complains? I'm wondering if its normal or Ariene is hyperactive (which I've been suspecting for a long time).

mongs,
basin choke bcos of hair? Have u tried Kiwi Basin cleaner? My hb bought and just pour some powder into the basin and turn on tap for some water to flow it and it cleared the basin leh.

mamapanda ... such a waste to throw ebm away. would u consider donating? I believe people would take. btw, there are reports that plastic bottles are better than glass bottles... but it seems to differ for newborn and older babies.

K is also hyperactive, even at home.

.ky.

mamapanda

my boy is hyperactive whether in school or not. Just ask any of the gals here who've met my boy. Hehehe. My hb was hyperactive himself when he's a kid and the psychiatrist he saw then recommended to my MIL to keep him occupied with loads of activities. So that's what she did and my hb turned out fine today.

Maybe Ariene finds exploring the classroom more interesting than listening to the teacher?

May,
thanks. will consider buying that but my hubby sort of screw the cup too tightly the last time her cleared it and yesterday night while trying to unscrew the cup, loosen the whole pipe so there is a bit of leakage. better get a plumber. already called one to come later. $95 to change the pipe below the basin when the whole set is sold for $16 in DIY shop. guess it's the workmanship. one other plumber want to charge me $150 for the same work.

Krissie,
my 9 year old nephew likes to touch his penis while making poo. My MIL is quite concerned but she didn't tell him off, just informed my SIL to ask her to educate him. My SIL said it's normal for them to explore but the impt thing is not to do that in public.
My nephew used to just come out of the bath room with only his towel and he will change in his room with the door wide open. He also doesn'e lock the bathroom door while bathing. there was a slight funny episode which prompted us to tell my SIL and BIL to tell my nephew to at least wear his underwear out of the bathroom.
Sometimes when he is changing, Clariss will be in the room or happen to pass by his room and he will say, "don't see my KKB." My SIL have a cartoon book which she uses it to tell my nephew and niece about the body and man and woman. there are some cute drawings of naked man and woman and one day, we saw clariss with the book and she said KKB while pointing to the man's penis. my hubby and I were shocked but we don't know what is KKB so that day during dinner, we asked our nephew in front of his parents and he said it's "ku ku bird". we believe it's really a innocent gesture but we feedback to his parents that it's time to let him know that private parts is private and it's better to wear his underwear out of the bathroom.

Mamapanda,
Aiyo remember the 3 musketeers at JG class, aden aidan and melody, they are also like that. But they are listening hor. Now Aden will still walk a bit in class at CC and will also sit down to jump the class.

She is new to this arrangement need to explore mah.

Mong,
My office specialty dept will refer Wilson 91809722 to our client. You call and say you are from SOS. See if he can give you a better quotation

Durianlover
Janine sure is cute! you take plenty of rest, these tough moments will be over very soon. hang in there and you are doing a great job!

one of my girlfriend asking for help in finding a childcare centre where she is able to place her boy in for 2 days weekly?? anyone know of any good childcare centre that provide daily this childcare service? she lives in West coast.

this friend of mine need to place her boy with her MIL when she need to work for 2 days weekly. the thing is her MIL has been giving adult food since he hit 1YO and have not been bother to prepare any homecook food. there were many time when the boy dont even have a proper meal, e.g. her MIL will buy Zhu Chang Fen and Soon Kueh in the morning, feed Zhu Chang Fen to the boy as breakfast and Soon Kueh as his lunch... other than this she has no idea what her MIL has been feeding her boy.

my friend now is very guilty to her boy, yet do not want to cause any arguement with her MIL...

rachel,
is it possible for your friend to prepare food in advance for her boy? How old is her boy?
She can get those Tiger food jar and prepare porridge in the morning for lunch for her boy. breakfast, prepare nutritious bread / muffin / cereal (can be adults cereals if the boy is old enough).
If I'm not wrong, I think there are child care centres that may be suitable. Yo ucan ask your friend to search via http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp and call up the CCs near her place.

Tracy
Ha ha the United Square one ok lah. The Parkview Square one I think more posh. I went to this place which was recommended by Zoe Tay lah ha ha

Durianlover
You are lucky to have Janelle such a nice sister.

Rachel,
That one is call flexi care. Some places have one just have to call to ask. Even Charmaine's cc oso have.

Zhu Chang Fen if plain without the sauce ok lah but Soon Kueh how to digest for kid. Huh the mil so weird.

Good idea from Queen for the Tiger Food jar. Realli useful for me. Now every sat I have to send charmaine for classes, I prepare the food in the morning using the tiger food jar

queen/mashy
precisely! not nutritious at all. the thing is she has to work in singapore while her PIL stays in JB. her own parent stay even further in penang. so when she complete her 2 days work, she will then fetch her boy back to singapore and take care him for the rest of the week before putting him with her MIL again. her boy is 19mths old. recently he start to reject his porridge and only wants adult and junk food...

CL
one thing for sure is the MIL simply lazy la! cant even bother to cook a simple and decent homecook meal for her only grandson. just need 10 to 15mins of her time to prepare. my friend heartpain yet cant tell her MIL.

CL

Zhu chang fen without sauce? so boring. Ooops, i feed my boy zhu chang fen with sauce once a week leh. I've already been giving him adult food. Only cook for him if we're at home. When we're out, he eats what we eat.

rachel
actually it's only 2 days of part time job. Think if she sent him to childcare just for that 2 days very ex and not worth it. Probably it will eat up a huge portion of her pay. Might as well quit and take care of her son wholeheartedly.

Rachel,

Another option she may want to consider nanny. Previously when I work from home, the 2 days that I worked I leave aden with nanny then I lazy ha ha send him everyday. ha ha

I should be thankful to my mum. When she was looking after Charmaine, she is lousy cook which I takes after her but she still will try to cook for Charmaine

mashy
she is into her own business, not part time job. therefore she cater 2 days solely for her business and the rest of the week can work from home if needed to when caring for her boy. hee i also give dylan outside food the most once weekly, BUT will choose those soupy food and indicating no MSG, no salt, no oil pls! most of the time the hawker or waiter/waitress look at me with those weid expression haha

CL
Nanny, hmmm good suggestion leh. at least nanny can tell her off but MIL cannot =p

Rachel,
If she wants, my nephew ex nanny is available. She stays near clementi MRT. So at least this one is tested and ok. She confirm cooks nutricious food and particular about it too.

rachel,
the boy is quite pitiful in a way.

talking about adult food,
any mummies here giving your toddlers rice?
Recently Clariss has been asking for food after her meals esp dinner, she will ask for yoghurt after dinner and insists on finishing the whole bottle, then she will ask for biscuits and still have space to eat some fruits. she normally have porridge for dinner. wonder if rice will be more filling for her. I also realise that she put on weight these 2 weeks. She also kept asking for milk esp in the middle of the night. I don't want to make it a habit for her to keep waking up at 3am to ask for milk but don't know why my MIL seems reluctant to give her rice when I speak to her. I feel that starchy food is better than giving too much sweet stuff such as yoghurt and fatty stuff such as milk. She is about 12kg now.

mamapanda
Oh Really ?? Aprica is also BPA free. Thats good news so I dun need to use Glass bottle anymore.
May I know is there any indication or publication that say Aprica is BPA free? Or is it proclaim on the box itself?

Last week I happen to read Simply her/women weekly ( cannot rem) and they have an article on BPA. They ALSO indicate BFree is the only BPA free feeding bottles selling in Spore and only Phamaplus at Camden is selling.
I called up Phamaplus to check wthat kind of BPA free bottles they are selling... hopeing there are other brands, turn out still BFree.

Queen
In the link I provided earlier on Bfree... in the website there is a link on bfree. The write up is very brief tho. I cut and paste :
Monday, November 05, 2007
Z Report: BPA: BFree

About the Company: The full story of the short-lived British BPA-free bottle company Baby B Free, and its legal run-ins with the Handi-Craft Company (maker of Dr. Brown's Natural Flow bottles) are beyond the scope of this report, but last month a British judge found that Baby B Free had undertaken a "deliberately illegal and dishonest course of commercial conduct... intended to hijack the considerable goodwill which had by then been built up in England around the Dr Brown's bottles to launch what was to become the B FREE bottles." To make a long story short, Baby B Free has liquidated key assets to Florida-based Born Free, and no longer exists.

BFree bottles, the first line we know of in the world to be sold with an explicit reference to their lack of Bisphenol-A, are still being sold online in Germany, New Zealand, Singapore, Romania, and numerous other countries throughout the world, none of which appear to have been immediately impacted by this judgment. The future of this bottle line appears uncertain at best, however, and given the judgment of false advertising and unethical business practices engaged in by the company's principals, we recommend doing business elsewhere.

BPA-free: Bottles: All. Sippys: All.
Not BPA-free: Bottles: None. Sippys: None.

mongs
think quite a few mummies here started their kid on rice already. i give dylan rice think at least 2 to 3 times weekly. he likes it alot. your MIL might be reluctant maybe she worry rice is not as easy to digest as porridge, which is true. it is better when our kids chew properly, if not the tummy will do extra work trying to digest the food. indigestive might lead to constipation. my mum too is happy with giving porridge to dylan, although i told her she can give. erm, i guess Clariss is out of habit to snack, not hungry and asking for food bah.

CL
TQ!

mongs

i've been giving rice to my boy for a while already. Usually i will add soup to it. But sometimes it's just rice alone. I've given him chicken rice, beef pepper rice, hor fun etc from food courts.

Think Clarriss prob need more food now, that's why asking for more. Give her more if she wants lah. My boy has also been eating a lot more now and he had put on quite a far bit over the last 2 weeks.
So happy that he's finally putting on weight.

Just read from Aprisin website...on Aprica bottles :

Feature
Our very soft silicone teats are are designed with the most delicate mouth in mind because Dr Brown can guarantee that the teats will never collapse. Available in 4 different speeds to suit babies from 0 -18 months.The patented air vent completely stops vacuum build-up and the formulation of bubbles in the milk. This elminates well known causes of colic such as excessive wind and posseting. It is also MEDICALLY ACKNOWLEDGED to reduce the risk of middle ear infections such as glue ear.
NEW honey coloured BFree® bottle B-Free® plastic is totally free of chemical Bisphenol A Bisphenol A is a hormone disrupting chemical considered B-Free® plastic is totally free of chemical Bisphenol A to be potentially harmful to human health and environment Old fashioned clear plastic bottles (made from polycarbonate) contain the chemical Bishpenol
A. Recently published research has shown that this chemical is gradually released into the feed as these clear plastic bottles become scratched or discoloured from regular use. Using our B.Free® plastic bottle gives you the peace of mind that your baby will never be exposed to the potential hazards of Bisohenol A during feeding.
This precautionary approach is consistent with the WWF's (formerly the World Wildlife Fund) recommendation that Bisphenol A should be banned due to concerns regarding its potential adverse effects. NEW heat sensitive vent helps you to make sure the feed is heated to the correct tempertaure A new level of comfort. The Dr Brown Natural Flow combines a sense of unique features to benefit all aspects of bottle feeding your baby You will see the difference No Vacuum, bubbles, teat collapse and contact with Bisphenol A and your baby will feel it.

Seems like they also using Bfree Bottles, so looks like no point for me to buy Aprica brand if I have doubt on Bfree bottles afterall

not forgetting..
Durainlover
your princess look so cheerful even when she is sleeping.. so cute!!

Rachel
I think Queen's idea is very good.. prepare porridge in advance using Tiger Jar or similar and ask MIL to serve the boy.

Mongs ... mine takes rice everyday. Just the other day, we tried giving him porridge and he doesn't want. btw, my house is all "fan tong", even #1 didn't want porridge at this age. And mine will drink milk immediately after a full dinner too.

Rachel, I too used a nanny when I was working part time in the past. But as it's PT, she also takes care of another younger baby. Flexi CC not easy to find ... I tried. Mostly will tell u to pay full-time fees but come in on the days u need.

.ky.

CL,
Thanks for the info! Is NUH cheaper? How to go abt to make an appt? My hb remembers there is a dentist clinic tat was featured on TV tat specialise in kids dentist. The room is nicely decorated to make the kids comfy. But we dun remember the name of the clinic.

RE: Nanny
My fren due in Apr is looking for a nanny near her house. Anyone got good nanny to recommend??? She stays in woodlands. TIA!

Wenyl,
If the one feature in TV should be GPA. They let the kids wear sunglasses and watch Hi 5. Dentist will wear the kids robe instead of the usual white. They will use the cow hand puppet to teach the kids how to brush their teeth.

Yup betty mok is relatively cheaper. 1 trip to GPA is easily over $100 but I feel first trip very important to avoid future phobia.If you want betty mok contact, I will get my fren to get the contact for you

durianlover
janine is so cute. How did you prepare Janelle for the arrival of janine? I hope my gal can be a good sister like janelle leh. envy!

mongs
we start giving my gal rice recently. she seems to prefer rice now. mayb she sees that we are eating rice, so she wanna follow.

re: playgroup
today is the 4th day. mil told me that half of the class is still crying when their caretakers left. this affect my gal and she refused to go into the class. end up the teachers got to allow the caretakers to stay.
just now, my gal kept saying 'don't want, don't want' in her sleep....

mongs
We've started D on rice about 3-4 months back le. He's able to join us at the dinner table and is very happy eating with us all. He's able to eat at about 7pm and have his milk at 9pm before he sleeps. So far, his poo pattern is still alright, not hard, as he still drinks alot of water and he gets a good serving of vegetables and fruits everyday. He eats nasi lemak and chicken rice once in a long while as a treat and that doesn't make him reject any other food. He loves noodles too, especially udon with home-made meatballs.

I would give him a serving of yoghurt everyday. At this age, it's ok for them to still have full-cream milk as it's essential for their growth and function unlike us adults where we would need to take the hi-lo milk to avoid the fat content. Healthy fats are essential for them at this age for the absorption of certain nutrients.

Today is my boy's 1st day for 1/2 day playgroup. He was quite alright to enter, all excited and exploring around the place. We stayed with him for awhile until after their assembly time when they break up into their respective groups. The K2 teacher introduced him to the older children in K1 and K2 and told them that should he get lost (from exploring), to bring him back to his respective teacher.

We left the place shortly after they went to their classes and went back to pick him up when it was 12.30pm. We peered into the classroom and the playgroup was prepared for their naptime and D was walking on top the mattresses aimlessly, he looked like he was crying before. He saw me at the window and got frantic and as I dissapeared from his vision to get through to the door, he was crying as though we deserted him. He was happy to see me but with all the crying and clinged unto me without letting go. Hope he'll be ok being there.

His playgroup teacher told me that for his 1st day there, it's considered not bad already. He cried for a short while during activities time but managed to settle down when there's a play segment. Overall, he's going quite alright. *cross fingers*

Hi Rachel,
most childcare have flexible arrangement which is either two to 4 days flex, there's many childcare in west coast, I went to view a few..
MMI is at West Coast, and I find it not bad...

Mongs,
S also started on rice about 2 months back, now she hardly eats porridge, mostly its rice, or macaroni, or guo tiao. If we eat out, I don't bring food out anymore, and she eats whatever we eat, like hor fun, rice with tofu and sauce, fish balls, etc... sometimes I will just bring a hard boiled egg along as she's crazy over them right now... I also let her eat yougurt and cheese...

today at workshop so only managed to log in now.

re rice
JH eats rice everyday for dinner. he will have either porridge or noodles for lunch and rice for dinner everday. think this has been going on for about a few months alraedy. need to check my diary to see when he started.

his poo is also ok so i think there's no problem in giving rice. in fact he's like adult. only takes 3 meals a day. the rest of the time he doesn't really drink milk or eat...just occasional snack.

re bottles
hmm, i haven change JH's bottles for a long time. think i better change soon. his bottles already looks yucky but we keep forgetting. and i can't find the 260ml avent bottles anymore...

got a major complaint to make. caused me to be so upset. today is JH's 4th day in sch and he was doing so fine but i got to stop him for a while cos of the stupid bus uncle. he suddenly wanted to change route and he shifted JH's pickup time to 7.20am..that's way too early! hb refused to accept and insist that we pull JH out until we find a better arrangement. felt quite upset cos JH was doing so well in sch. felt that it's such a stupid problem to be pulling him out. he has not cried so far and today when i checked with teacher, she said he was doing well and when he wants something he will go and call them and let them know.

durianlover
janine is very cute! do hang in there and try to get more rest. i was also thinking abt how to put 2 kids to bed next time. think it's not going to be easy but things will get better.

wenyl
i went to this dentist at tanglin shopping centre. the name is called bites inc. 67366736

SY
oh what time class starts? hmm... so frustrating hor...
Did you check with school if there are alternative? or you guys can drop JH off before you go work? Just take return trip back will do.