(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
let me get the details from my sis and i let u know. i m asking her to get samples also so i can taste them and see how nice it is. so far she says nice.

happy new year!!

re:2nd Birthday Bash!!

Date: 26 Jan 2008 (Sat)
Time: 1130am-230pm
Venue: TBC

1) Chicken Little - 2 adults + 2 child
2) Mashy - 2 adults + 1 child
3) SY - 3 adults + 1 child
4) sl
5) MamaChan - 2 adults + 1 child
6) Aileen - 3 adults + 2 child
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie - 3 adults + 2 child
12) bblon
13) Sysac - 2 adults + 1 child
14) God's child - 2adults + 1 child
15) SSF -3 adults + 2 child
16) Rach - 2 adults + 1 child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo - 2 adults + 1 child
20) Esther
21) Tracy - 2 adults + 1 child

Volunteers pls!
committee:-
1. Treasurer: esther, Rach.
2. Game/Activity Team: Tabb, MamaChan, Mashy
3. Decor Team: Rach,God's child
4. F & B Team: Cookie, SL, Flo.

We need more helping hands in the game/activity and display team.

mummies, pls indicate the number of adults and children attending the bash. need to do headcount. I had also narrow down the date to 26 Jan and the time to 1130am to 230pm. pls voice out your concern and the committee will discuss and work it out. TQ!

Thanks Linda

Happy Birthday to Gracie too!

We went to the zoo with my ILs today to celebrate his birthday. So tiring. But at least this year, he's awake thru'out and enjoyed looking at some of the animals. Last yr, he fell asleep after just a short while.

Or yeah, and Happy New Year to everyone!!!

4) sl
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
12) bblon
17) tabbiesus - 3 adults + 2 child
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!
4. F & B Team: Cookie, SL, Flo.

mummies, pls indicate the number of adults and children attending the bash. need to do headcount. I had also narrow down the date to 26 Jan and the time to 1130am to 230pm. pls voice out your concern and the committee will discuss and work it out. TQ!

Happy birthday to all those who turned 2 years already!

Happy new year everyone!

Sysac,

hope u enjoy ur new job and everything goes smoothly with your insurance claim..

I'm also a bit apprehensive about my job... I'm going back to full time tomorrow... and in a new field... both exciting and scary esp. becos my direct supervisor is well known to be a slave driver and not at all family oriented even tho she has 3 kids, she's the type that goes home at 11pm and works at home til 2-3am kind... hope i can keep up with her... cos i am very PRO family.

<font color="aa00aa">HAPPY BIRTHDAY to all Tots who turned 2 years old! and HAPPY New Year to all!!</font>

Tabbiesus
Jiayou in your new job! I know it's kinda worrying... my immediately boss and director are those married with no kids kinda couple so.. sometimes when it come to Children matters I'm not sure if they can "feel" for parents like me. I also very pro family always wanna avoid OT if possible but sometimes just so hard...haizz

Happy birthday Caeden and Gracie

Tabbs
Good luck in your new job. My boss has also hinted that I need to travel more this year. The fortunate thing for me is that while he's a driver @ work, he's quite a hands on father so doesn't believe in working late.

Mel will start school tomorrow, hopefully she'll take it well.

Valerie
Just being kaypo, are you going to celebrate Kristen's birthday in school on Wed?

4) sl
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther
22) SH - 2 adults + 1 child

Volunteers pls!
4. F &amp; B Team: Cookie, SL, Flo.

Been out of action for a number of weeks. Been working till 4 plus at home. Happy new year everyone!

Flo,
JW was supposed to start childcare tomorrow too. But shifted the date coz i was so busy that I originally couldn't take leave tomorrow.

Only managed to talk to my boss on new year eve. He was so nice &amp; told me to go ahead and he will help me finish up. Will check with CC if can still bring him in tomorrow.

Fingers crossed that he will be fine with CC too!

Happy New Year to all! Time flies real fast.....we've been chatting in here for more than 2 yrs.

Been trying to keep up with the postings. But eversince Ben arrived, I find it hard to have my own free time nowadays.

Will put my name down for the Bday bash. Yet to check with hb thou.

4) sl
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther
23) Wenyl - 3 adults + 2 child

Volunteers pls!

Happy New Year and happy birthday to the todds turning 2.

tabb, cookie
I'm also starting work at a new post today.. also excited and apprehensive. Hopefully my new boss is pro-family, plus i still need to pump 2x at work.

4) sl
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie - 3 adults + 1 child + 1 bb
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

so sad.. my gal suddenly doesnt want to latch anymore.. she'll cry like i'm torturing her with my breast when i gv her my breast. Else when she's slpy, she'll also forget how to suckle.
I feel so sad tt i cant latch her anymore. I miss the feeling so much.

4) sl
7) sunny - 2 adults + 1 child
8) cheng
9) Maywong
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

<font color="ff0000">Happy Birthday to Jan toddlers!</font>

re: 1st day of school
today is my gal's 1st day of daily playgroup. HB will be with her for these 2 days 'cos he's still on holiday, and 3rd day would be my turn. Hope she can cope well.... kinda worry...

Looks like this new year has a lot of changes for many of us here.

My boy also started 3hrs daily playgroup today. He waved goodbye to my hb. Then when it's my turn to leave, so funny, he waved to the teachers thinking that he's there just for a visit. Well, after that, managed to say goodbye and the last i saw, he was still ok. didn't cry at all.
So proud of him.

mashy
wow... your boy adapt to the new environment so fast. how long did you stay with your boy during the class?
just now, my hb sms me that there's a 'terrorist' in my gal's class. beating other parents and teacher, and even beat my hb. my hb was so upset and wanna smack him liao. 'cos of this boy, my hb decided not to leave the class early ....
i wonder how we should teach my gal to protect herself from bullies leh.

<font size="+1">HAPPY 2008 to you &amp; family!</font>
<font size="+1">HAPPY BIRTHDAY to all Jan Tots!</font>

Mashy,
Wow... your boy is really independent. My Isaac is like glue, still has separation anxiety. He will definitely have to go playgroup by June/July cos I think he need to pick up social skills.

Re. 2007 &amp; 2008
2007 is not a good year for me and HB...
me keep changing jobs / out of jobs, investments not doing well due to subprime crisis, small events that make us 'po cai', Isaac was hospitalised twice, and to top it off, on New Year's eve, our car was vandalised. Someone threw black paint onto our car from behind. Talk about suay suay suay! My HB had to spend several hours to remove the paint with thinner. At least the paint can be removed, else will have to spend hundreds to do a paint job on the car. Thank god for small favours or what! Sigh... So, I'm glad to greet 2007 goodbye.

Hopefully 2008 will be better... I hope:
1. My new IP job in NUS will be one that I can stay for long (real sick of changing jobs liao)
2. Isaac will be toilet trained (not making any progress in this) and can sleep by himself in his own room (I anticipate lots of difficulties)
3. Lose some weight
4. Get pregnant by Sep
5. And all the usual better money luck, better health for me and family etc.

All the best to you all for 2008!

4) sl
8) cheng
9) Maywong - 2 adults + 1 child
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

RE: 1st day in school
After 1wk break of PG for Jamie, her crying is back again. Cos she is the only one left in her class as most had graduated or changed school. As she is not used to her new frens, she cried and hang on tight to her form teacher. Hope the crying will goes off soon.

RE: 2008 wishes
Queen,
My new year resolutions is about the same as you.

1) Hope my current job goes well. (will get confirm early Jan 08)
2) Lose some weight
3) Get pregnant (target EDD Jan 09)
4) More $ and good health for my family and friends

Re: F&amp;B Team
SL /Flo : I think very soon we will need to plan abit on our areas.. i.e. when the budget is release..hee
Cos during off hr I cannot check forum much, not much back home either :p in case u ladies would like to conference MSN, pls sms me ok. so I will arrange my timing. Oh MSN can only at nite tho. MSN is ban in my office.

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY to ALL Jan Babies...</font></font>
(hee I still like to call them babies... is Kae the only 1 in feb?)

Krissie
tho I'm not experience with BF.. but could it be your flow is too fast or too slow? thats why C fuss? .. too slow sure they complain.. I also remember sleeping deer ever share that her flow was too fast for S.. and S complain too and she use some method to make flow slower and things are fine liao

Hope C will latch again

Oh just wanna share...for the past 2 long long weekends tho tiring to take care of the 2 kids but I felt so so happy too.
I felt like a real mum again!! thats becos I was very very busy since I return work from ML and many late nites. Felt so left out in my children's world. I have about 10 full days with them and felt so happy!
Starting working tomorrow... will be busy again.

Just came back after fetching my boy from school. Comments from the teacher is that he's very independent. Hehe. Didn't cry at all. And when all the kids were at the door waiting to go home, my boy was at the back, wanting to climb on a chair to explore some stuff behind!

Feeling so poor lately due to all the shopping and no increase in income. Think will have to start to do some side jobs once my boy settles into the school schedule.

queen
wah, 2007 sounds bad. This year will be a good year. Don't worry. Life will get better.

sunny

i just stayed for 15mins. maybe it's coz he was in infant care before, so he knows that school can be fun?

Hmm.. New year resolutions. My wishes are:

1) Get preg in 2008
2) My hb can get a better paying job with good prospects and good boss
3) I can find some hobby or job to do at home
4) Better health, better hearing, more $$$ for myself, family and friends
5) My boy will develop well phy, mentally, emotionally

<font color="0000ff">A HAPPY &amp; FRUITFUL 2008 to EVERYONE!!!</font>

Krissie
I had the same encounter as you, dylan rejected my breast completely one fine day and from that day on i just have to express out to feed him... it could be a phase for you, try to latch her on after sometime and see how she react.

Esther/mamachan/Tabbie/Mashy/God's child/Cookie/SL/Flo
shall we have a MSN conference soon? since we all are back from new year celebration.

either tomo late night (after our todd went to bed) OR Fridday afternoon OR Friday late night??

sysac- all the best to ur new role. hopefully the car can arrive by CNY.
durianlover- congratulations and get well soon! do post a pic of ur princess soon.

mashybrain - so good of Caeden to be OK on his first day at school. u must be a proud mummy.

queen - hopefully 08 will be a better year for u and ur family.

may - i like your resolution 1 and 2..to get pregnant and to lose weight. hehehe..

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Blessed 2008 To All Mummies!!!</font></font>

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Happy 2nd Birthday to all the Jan toddlers and Feb toddlers</font></font>

sysac
All the best to your new portfolio/role. And hope that the insurance claim will go thru smoothly and you'll get a new car soon.

durianlover
Many congrats to the arrival of your princess

mashy
Wow, C is really independent!! You must be really proud of him =)

queen
oohh, you starting work in NUS? All the best!

rachel/cookie
Msn conference: I can only log in on at night. Friday late night would work best for me. =)

mashy
oh, C was in infant care b4. i didn't know that... probably 'cos of that, he's able to socialise better and more independent.

re: 1st day of school
hb told me he left after staying 1 hr there. my gal even waved bye-bye to him and didn't cry. I was very surprised when i heard that. I wonder if she would behave as such if I am the one who leave.... *cross finger* He said the teachers could handle the situation and the notti kids quite well.

re: birthday bash budget
may i know how much per head are we looking at?

something funny to share
Yesterday was out with D and he was trying to "read" where we were seated in the foodcourt - the big signboards above each store, by making out the sounds of the alphabets. I had the China Apple soft drink and i showed him the empty can, and asked him how to say each letter of A-P-P-L-E, he was able to pronounce it correctly. When he realized that it's "apple", he happily went, "Ba-ple!" which was his usual way of calling apple. Told my hb about it and he laughed and went, "he's so cute!!!"

mamachan
i know friday night works best for u too. heehee

mashy
it is fine if anyone of the committee not able to join in. we need to have the majority to have the discussion and confirm on the important issue e.g. venue and budget asap.

sunny
we will announce the details including budget after the discussion amoung the committee.

re:<font color="ff0000">2nd Birthday Bash!! </font>

4) sl
8) cheng -02 adults + 1 child
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther

<font color="0000ff">Volunteers pls! </font>

4) sl
8) cheng -02 adults + 1 child
12) bblon
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!
3. Decor Team: Rach,God's child, sunny (will get hb to help)

Anyone got any idea where to get the Avent manual pump let down cushion? Searching high and low in departmental stores but can't find it.

I would like to seek your support in helping less fortunate children who are suffering from malnutrition. every 6 seconds, a child dies of malnutrition......

I am participating in an initiative program, called Nourish the Children. We join force with a selected group of reputable relief agencies, including Feed the Children, where we buy Vitalmeal (a lentil rice) to give to malnourish children in 3rd world countries.

Each bag costs S$37. Let's do our part for children who are less fortunate! As an ambassador, I would like to ask how many bags would you like to help? It can be one time or monthly basis.

A bag of vitalmeal can give 30 meals to a child.

www.nourishthechildren.com
Pls take a few moments to watch the video on "A NEW APPROACH" to saving children

While our children are pamper with great variety and abundant food, each day more than 15,000 children around the world are dying from malnutrition...

Thank you for making a difference.

1) Rach- 4 bags
2) bblon - 2 bags
3) Chicken Little - 2 bags
4) SL - 2 bags
5) SY - 2 bags
6) Flo - 2 bags
7) Esther - 2 bags

bblon/CL/SL/SY/Flo/Esther
had send emial to you. thanks

sysac
thanks for helping the children =)

sunny
thanks for volunteering. you able to MSN in the night?

this morning went to ky's place to join in her regular playgroup. i was so amazed by the phonic (did i spell correctly? =p) seesion, so was dylan. the mummy sang the song so well with all the actions. heehee must pick up from ky and practice alot before i dare to do it infront of others. how do the rest of the mummies find phonic??

Hi Queen,

Read the "einstein never uses flashcard book" sometime back. If I can rem correctly, I tink the book is not talking abt flashcard only but basically children dun have to be taught and they quoted some studies to say that children do not really need to be in a "enriching" environment to really learn and that includes all the baby einstein shows, classes......

I do agree with the book to certain extent but i felt that this book's viewpoint is kinda skewed(actually if i am not wrong this book is adapted from another book called " the hurried child".) One can easily pick up another study to debunked whatever that is claimed in this book. Another strong study that has been done on early childhood learning is call the Abecedarian (not sure I spelt it correctly) project where tis group of underpreviledge children from the same socioeconomic background (i cant rem the sample size but definately bigger than those conducted in many studies) were followed for 25 yrs. The test group were given stimulating activites (not FLASHCARD) at young age and the placebo were not. and the results were veri obvious. The test group scored so much better in many aspect in IQ, achieve higher academic score in school and higher achiever in later part of their life. There was another study that shows that early childhood stimulation is imporatnt. A 12 yr old girl was being locked up by their parents in a dark room and chained to the toilet bowl for 12yrs. She was not able to speak and walk. After intensive help, she improved tremendously. But she was never able to pick up certain language skills. So the conclusion was that certain aspect of learning does have a"window of opportunity'. I hate saying that coz that makes me veri stress up but I tink it is true for certain skills.

As for flashcard flashing method by GD, din work for both my kids. HaHa...but I know of many kids who can read at 2 becoz of flashcard. I use flashcard but not in the GD way. ANyways, I watched a documetary before on GD method....hahaha....the show is obviously veri against GD method. It says that so far this method has NEVER produced any genius. BUt I guess those that respond really well esp towards literacy are really visual learner and both mine are not lo. I have got a fren whoes duaghter is 5yrs now and she got a reading ability of 9 and she never uses flashcard. So really depends on individual.

I guess at the end of the day, if the child enjoys the activity with the parent. It does not matter wat method the parent employs. Even for flashcard, 15mins of flashing the card a day does not hurt the child....onli time and effort wasted for the parent if they dun like it. My bil who is a psychiatrist told me once. "You will never damage ur child by wat u do if u do it out of love".

Hi Tabbieus,
All the best on ur first day!Tough working under workholic bosses! I worked with this unmarried lady boss before and aiyo....life was really bad. She cannot seem to understand that we have a social life and work is not everything.

Hi krissie,
Your girl is 3mths now? Is she drinking from the bottle? Do u tink that she might be too use to the milk bottle flow if she is on it? coz at 3mths ur milk supply more or less stabilize and so for most ppl the flow will not be that fast. mayb u might wanna try to feed her before she cries.Like wat most mommies mention here, it could just be a phase. Even if she refuse to latch for some reason, u can still express and feed. I know of many "pumping" moms who successful feed their kids on bm beyond 1 yr.

Can I check for those who bought stuff from the drugstore.com. Do u ship direct to singapore or thru vpost?

hi Rachel and Ky,
I personally feel that phonics is really important in reading. But from my experience with my son, he was not able to read till he was ard 3 even though he was able to recognise phonics letters at 18mths old. Coz phonics reading requires a skills call blending which comes with maturity. Reading also requires alot more than phonics. Mayb KY, can share her experience on this. So for my girl even though she is competent with all her letter sounds and she can pick up beginning letters sounds of words, I am not too optimistic that she can read early...perhaps onli sight words that she has seen often enough. So I am contented that she likes books and she has already acquired some pre-literacy skills.

KY, Are u using zoophonics for the class?

jamom

gosh, what kind of parents are those to chain up their daughter to a toilet bowl! I hope they get hanged for this.

I also agree that children needs to be stimulated, not just left alone to their own devices. Previously, the kids used to have cousins with them as they grow up, so they pick up skills along the way. But nowadays, the children don't play alot together anymore, so we need to put them in a planned playgroup setting. The planned playgroup settings will also help them develop their leadership skills, social skills and empathy for others.

Actually some things can be damaging even if it's done out of love. Like overindulgence or making the kid the centre of the family life etc. It may be love, but parents need to recognise that love doesn't mean all the good &amp; nice things only. Discipline is also love.

jamom / Flo,
Heehee. I was stressed about the whole going to enrichment classes at 18 months, flashing cards everyday thingy that today parents are doing. And some of my friends keep asking me why I have no plans to send Isaac to classes or that they are blogging about using Shicida/GD/Kumon methods etc when their babies are barely 2 yrs old. Both HB and I had no intention of sending Isaac to additional classes other than playgroup (so that he can socialise) and perhaps begin formal music training at 4 yrs old. Waht's more important to us is that he acquires a love for reading. So in a way, the book was reassuring. The book is quite consistent that babies/toddlers are by nature inclined to learn and that the stimulating activities should not be in the form of flash cards or videos (which is more of visual conditioning rather than conceptual learning). I don't think that the book is discouraging early learning, just that it doesn't advocate the use of flash cards and the likes. But I also agree that there is no one-size fits all method... different child probably respond to different stimulus. It's a matter of striking a balance I guess.
Oh yah, about language skills, the book did mention that babies/toddlers are amazing language learners (as compared to adults) and that they can be master of multiple languages if put in an daily environment (not classes) with consistent exposure to those languages. So I guess what everyone says about 1 parent speaks English, the other speaks Chinese is true. Biligualism has to start young!

Jamom,
Cheaper to through CGW or VPOST for drugstore.

jamom
yes yes, ky used zoophonics this morning. dylan knows and recognise quite a fair bit of the alphabets but not really able to link them with words yet. sometime he will sit on the bumper mat and start pointing and saying out the alphabets on it. will break up words he see anywhere, point and say the individual alphabets. stimulation is important, but never to pressure the child to achieve something that is set by the parent's standard.

sooner or later they will read and be moving together with the peers. i think it is the "kampong life" that our generation and our children's generation are lacking. too comfy and pamper! haha