(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbie,

i have a potty 123 book but elijah is still not potty train. This mummy is typical lazy.

tab, lately elijah keeps blinking his eyes alot especially when he is sleepy. is there anything wrong with his eyes? i am worried.

wow a lot of posts to catch up on!

went for my visit yesterday and bb is doing well. was initially quite worried cos felt that i have been walking a lot and been too active with JH. bb is now 10 weeks and 3.26cm long.

gynae also told me not to carry JH anymore. so i guess i really have to cut down.

i went to ikea yesterday and bought this see saw for JH. quite fun and cute. he loves it so much i think i have trouble keeping it.

re potty training
actually i plan to start but not sure how to start. for poo, JH will say when he wants to poo. but not pee yet. actually i wanted to let him go diaperfree at home but the last time i tried, he actualy peed on the sofa and floor.

Hi Hi,
Me back in action. Thank you for all your wishes and I do believe my grandma are in good hands and met up with my grandpa and aunt liao.

Potty Training
Hmm I sure hope my nanny can help me complete it this month otherwise it is my job liao.

Tabbiesus,
I have 2 potty books show you on 22 Dec when we are at your place.

SL,
You doing a spree for Medela ? If yes, want to tompang to get a PIS for my fren as a gift. She likely going to C-section on 28 Dec. Let me know hor.

Xmas Party
Sorry blur sotong liao. So 22 Dec potluck hor. What are the food already confirmed then I wont do duplicate ?

CL,
Nope me not spreeing for medela. SY is considering doing one for medela parts. I saw the PIS online - the us version. REally much cheaper than what you get here. Btw, you can bargain with Mums N Babes - the official distributor for medela. I have tried and got 10% discount off the PIS. : )
Another good place to get is BMSG if you are a member.

Btw, the medela accessories that SY posted is really cheap.

Re: Xmas playgroup
Is there a potluck list?

Pin,
I have just pmed you my email addy. Just let me know if you need me to order for you.

Pin - i stayed at Prudential before,personally liked it a great deal... its just above the MTR station, super convenient... i always will go back and drop my shopping bags before continuing.. hee... of cos, tat was before the little one came along.. haha

SY - so fast gona b past first trimester liao! take care and try not to carry JH too much..

re: toilet training
same like valerie, while celeste can pee or poo in the potty, i will stil put on the diapers when we head out... cos it will be a bit tedious if accidents happern or i gota bring her to the toilet every 30mins lei, lazy mummie here heehee... and nw tat weather is turning cool, she has been pee-ing like every 20mins... so reali gota track the time and make her sit on it. and when she finished, she will norm praise herself: 'li hai ar'! ( clever ) hee, so we gota clap and repeat after her...

Re: toilet training
my boy will only pee into his potty standing up before he goes for his bath. Any other time all failed.

I've a elmo potty training vcd. But he doesn't have the attn span to finish watching it. sigh. he still doesn't tell me before he poos or pees. But after he poos, and i said need to change his diaper, he'll dash to his bed and lie down for diaper changing!

Hi Tabbiesus - so paisay to ask... is it still possible for u to help order the Gain IQ milk? i missed out the last round cos celeste was drinkin very slowly and refusing milk.. but now she is hooked again... if not, it ok.. just thot of trying my luck

RE : Worms in Ferrero Rocher chocolate. Sheng Siong takes chocs off shelves.

1120994.jpg

Sales executive Sandra wanted to give her customers a treat. She left on each desk two pieces of Ferrero Rocher chocolate she had bought from Sheng Siong Supermarket this morning (Dec 11).

"One girl saw a worm crawling out! We put the chocolate back into the box and shook it. More worms crawled out!" she said.

"I bought four boxes of the chocolate from Sheng Siong in Jurong West. As I was giving out the chocolate from one box, I saw powdery stuff in there and thought it was caused by poor handling," she said.

"Then one of the girls saw a worm crawling out!"

Alarmed, she quickly collected all the chocolate she had given out.

"We put the chocolate from that particular box back into the box and shook the box. All the worms started crawling out from the wrapper!" Sandra said.

These photos and video were sent by her customer Teddy, 26. In the video, the worm was seen crawling.

"Someone ate the chocolate without checking but he seems fine. The chocolate was manufactured in Jan 07 and expire Jan 08. The box of chocolate is still in the office. All the worms are still alive," he said.

STOMP contacted Sheng Siong Supermarket and a spokesman said: "We will remove all the chocolate from that batch that was produced in Jan 07 and expire in Jan 08 from all our outlets.

"We have apologised to the STOMPer and will send four boxes of the chocolate from the latest batch personally to her.

"Based on preliminary internal checks, the chocolate had not expired but we will remove them from the shelves. Customers who have problems can contact Sheng Siong.

"We have also notified the supplier," she said.

god's child
hi is there any restaurant or shopping near prudential which open till late at night, only would be abe to go shoppoing after my kid sleep.

CL
glad you are back in action!BTW my PIS is from the states and i got a special adaptor from first few years KKH that allows me to use it without a transformer.

I think my PIS is spoilt, either that or my supply is really dropping, but can't really be cos i can pump at work with the hosp. grade medela no problem. Sigh... don't really feel like investing another 500 bucks for a new pump when i only have 6months to go... but if u are keen to get, and aileen wants, maybe we can try and spree for 3 sets locally to see if we can get bigger discount!
RE: adaptor for PIS
Who was looking for an adaptor? KKH first few yrs can get but its ex.. my adaptor cost 100 but mine is a US to SIn converter built in. I think can get the Sin one too.

SL
RE: bf to 2 years
Can you still pump alot? How many times a day do you pump? I'm hoping to carry on for 1 year and maybe more this time.. i'm so happy today i reach my 6 months mark! I feel so bad for working late these few days, and having so little time for didi that i want to compensate by breastfeeding more.

I'm a little sad that didi isn't as close to me as tabby was but I know he's in very good hands cos my mom's really close to him, breastfeeding/ latching is my only way to bond with him.

Mongs
sorry i haven't had the chance to order the gain for you cos this week was really crazy for me. I kept forgetting. SO paiseh.

Gods child, mongs
will order tomorrow for you. will sms u tomorrow for details.

Aileen
Can try the jap restaurant at miramar hotel havelock road. Ikoi. it used to be really yummy ala carte buffet. I dunno if the standard is still as good but last time 1 year back was still very yummy.

chillies
you know its not the first time ferrara rocher got worms.. when i was in sec school my friends party had these chocs and we were all grossed out that we found these worms/ maggots inside the chocolate. Some of us not so observant ate it and rushed to vomit cos we felt so gross. Luckily none of us fell sick... i think my friend complained to the supermarket but I definitely stopped eating this brand for years. only recently overcame my fear of this brand but seeing those pics again... i think i definitely won't be eating them in the near future.. eeks!

Sysac, May, Chillies
forgive me on keep forgetting to inform you that you can come collect the memento from me. been a super busy week with my bro house reno and his wedding dinner this sunday. I stay @ Bukit panjang, Senja rd. Do contact me on when you will drop by. thanks.

chillies
I think i dont have your contact no. will pm you mine so we can arrange for meet up =)

rena
your memento together with sleepingdeer, wenyl, val are still with me. want to meet for lunch next week?? =)

Sysac
kae appetite has improved alittle. She is just fighting for her indenpendence very strongly. Now that we let her self-feed at least she eats more. She also want to sit with me everytime I have my dinner even tho she just finish hers less than 30mins ago and she will nibble from my dinner here and there.

Aileen
I came across a very good review Jap resturant from one of those food magazine. Think it's ala carte buffet for lunch only-$26. Dinner is set dinner at $30.
Tsubaki Japanese Restaurant
165 Thomson Road Goldhill Centre
Tel : 62510123
I have not tried before tho but The review is so good till I nag my HB everyday when can we try out :p

Tabbiesus
I used to eat at Ikoi, quiet frequent there at least 3-4yrs ago until I felt his standard drop then I stopped going there. Dunno hows standard now...

Chillies/tabbiesus
Goodness! make me so worry... recently I bought some hershey's choc for my colleague.. and I hope they dun have the same fate.

I realise choc cannot leave in the open for too long, my colleague ever left 1 choc-(someother brand) on the desk and after a while when we open up the choc can see worm crawling already.

My worst expereince is eating Beef noodle and found a big fat maggot in it! and to make it worst my colleague say Maggot dun usually appear on it own.. they come in pack.. arrrgghhhh... dunno if I ate any.

Valerie
Purple Train principal finally called me today. She said there's 1 vacancy left for the 12.30pm class. May bring her for an assessment next Fri, so if Mel likes the pl will prob register her

My fren was saying they still feel uncomfortable when diaper is wet. The more impt thing is not to let them get used to the feeling. I do think so cos Mel will tear off her diaper when it's wet these days, just that we have been busy (or lazy) to toilet train her.

Mashy
I've the elmo potty training vcd. Frankly I think the disc is quite boring....cos it diverted to talk about toilet???

Tabbs
I got "Potty Power" dvd. I think is more interesting than the Emlo one. It uses psychology on kids...like what bbs do and what big kids do and one thing that big kid do is go potty on their own. I can bring on 22 Dec and all the kids can watch together....heehee

Aileen
U can check out Kushin-bo at Suntec...they have a wide variety - sashimi, seafood, sushi, tempura, teppanyaki, yakitori, mini paper steamboat to soba and ramen. The price is quite resonable too

Re. Playgroup Dec 22

Tabbs,
So sorry to keep you waiting. I don't think my hb is agreeable to be Santa. He keeps saying he's not fat!! Hahaha...

As for the gift-giving, what do you need me to do? So we are gonna bring a pressie for exchange? What's the budget? Just like Julia Gabriel's party where we will get a $15 gift and if your kid is a boy, you'll buy one that's meant for a boy. And then we'll label them B or G so that boys will get boys presents and girls will get girls' ones.

How about potluck? Who's bringing what? I'll try to bring some sandwiches if I can get my stuff or hb to go into the shop to make some that day.. we don't open on Sats you see...

Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs) ?kirssie
2. Craft: tabbiesus
3. Storytime : Mashy.. using ur book
4. gift giving :denmy

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax
Indicate if you want kiddy lunch/ adult lunch (potluck)
1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
6. ky - 5 coming (hubby, helper, and the boys)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

=====================================

re: maid
It's been such a long and hectic 16 days when my helper went home and finally came back today. The whole family is elated adn overjoyed that she's back... especially me. i can only start to 'breathe' now. Haven't been coming in for the past weeks liao...

And we nearly lost her when she tried to come back on tuesday and the immigration officer in Manila refuse her exit becos she 'has no contract', which in fact, it could all be solved with a little coffee money!!! How corrupted... and she had to rebook her flight for 2 days later while waiting for us to tt money over. Poor maid was in limbo and stranded in Manila for 3 days. I got hold of my agent here to ask for her contract and initially they tried to pull a fast one by saying its too late liao and if she could go and find the original recruiter in Manila, Nation could help get her over but as a fresh maid with a new contract, meaning she has to pay for another $2000+ bond again. Otherwise, they can be kind enough to help me bring her over under my name with $1500- $1600. In the end my hb maid a big fuss and got hold of her contract, which they claimed to be old and tried to convince him to have a new one made (trying to make $ here again). We checked with the Philippines Embassy to confirm that the old contract is still valid adn faxed it over to her and then got her to ask how much to pay the officer there. All she did was ask "how much" after these manic ooh-hahs and then was told 1000 peso. OMG! And that's only abt S$40+!!! I just cannot believe how corrupted Phillipines is!

Denmy
Your maid was back in Phi for home visit or did she originally decided to go back? Anyway, Phi is always known to be corrupted

Tabbs
Yes kept forgeting to ask, so there's pot luck and gift exchange? I think Denmy's idea of using JG gift exchange concept is good except that the big charmaine will buy for the big ethan vice versa?

re: potty training
I remembered Ethan was potty trained at 18 mths liao cos his speech was quite advance and he could tell me when he wanted to poopoo/ peepee. Keenan on the other hand is not trained yet even though he can speak well enough for us to understand him. Whenever I ask him if he needs to sit on a potty and if he's doing a poopoo or weewee, he say "finish, no more" and find excuses to sit on the potty. He can be so comfortable sittin in his own poo and still play or walk around in it and doesn't even show any sign of discomfort until we smell something. Even then, he'll try to run away and refuse to let us change his nappy... hmmmm.. dunno why leh?

Flo,
She took emergency leave to go back cos her mum was in hospital and she had to settle some family problem. After she left, hb and I thought that was it liao, dunno if she would come back or not. She's been with us for 1 year only... we loan her the money to fly back and tt her S$300 while she was stucked at Manila airport. All in all, she spent $1300 for this trip. After all these commotions, we now know that she is an honest and trustworthy person. Will definitely appreciate her even more now.. good maids are hard to come by.

Greetings from Norway
Have finally reached norway after a looooong flight. KLM seats are by far the most uncomfortable and narrowest I've ever sat it and the first leg of the flight was 13hours! Luckily, Ariene was very well behaved and didnt cry during the whole flight. She was too big to fit into the bassinet so the crew gave us some extra blankets and she slept through a good 6hours on the floor! Weather in Norway was great at 4deg. Scenary is great too. Very beautiful place.

Mamapanda,
Lucky Ariene is such a good baby. Enjoy your holiday in Norway.

Denmy,
Ya Philippines quite horrible. Lucky you have your maid back and hope she repays your kindness and work well for you

Potty Training
Alamak Aden is another one very comfortable in pee and poo. Changing for him is like torturing him. Dunno is it because when he poo he already felt very painful so when we clean him he will feel pain too.

Gift Exchange & Pot Luck - 22 Dec
Let me start the ball rolling on the food list lah
1) Chicken Little - Onigiri for the kids ( Rice ball with pigeon baby food)

Tabbiesus
I already bid for a BN PIS for my fren from ebay at USD 251.10. Now checking on the shipping.

Chillies
Thanks for that. I think I will avoid rocher now.

Aileen
Check out the Japanese restaurant at Fairway Country club. Sobasei Japanese Restaurant but they offer buffet on first and last weekend. I think the price is reasonable and good

tabb
congrats on reaching the 6mth mark. I'm hoping to also bf for 6mths.. reaching my 3mth mark soon.

2) krissie - chicken wings

Ok, so, we confirm doing a gift exchange? budget is $15, like JG?? can we also confirm the no. of pax, so tt we can prep food.

chillies
my goodness. such an established brand and having worms?? hmm, must really be careful when we eat.

denmy
wow u survived without a maid for so long! ha, doubt i can survive that long esp with 3 kids!

tabb
at least u have your mum who is close to didi. i guess when they are older, it will be much easier if they can play together.

anyone planning to go to the bookfest at suntec? saw that there's some pretty interesting books.

can get some feedback? do u think 30-40 min of bus ride is too long for JH's age?

Hi SY, I'll be going to the bookfest, but ya, not sure if I want K to tag along ... I'm not concern abt the travelling time, but more of how much he can tahan us browsing thru' without disturbing us.

- I'll be sitting out on both. hubby would frown at having so many people eating in 1 place ... he has strict rules on meals :-[ ... and for gift exchange, got tons of toys yet to be explored, so trying not to get involved with Gift exchange so much this yr.

Denmy ... I need to ask u when I see u. My helper's going for home leave soon ... the home leave application costs almost $300 in Sgp but I hear u can pay at an office (POEA) for 1/3 of the price to get the documentation done. u know anything abt that?

.ky.

SY,
You considering the bus ride for JH's trip to school ? where are you considering ?
I feel if the bus ride is well supervised by someone and they realli fastened the seat belt I am ok. You should hop up and observed. For charmaine's school, I know they will ensure and there are 2 adults in the bus with the kids so I feel quite safe.

mamapanda
Hv just tt to u. ref is 1481862144. Enjoy your trip.. it sounds so scenic and romatic with the cold weather.

ky
when u going down? i will be going next week. if u go earlier than me, let me know what are the good bargains

CL
yup, will let JH take sch bus back. the sch is at siglap. the bus ride won't have a lot of kids. abt 6-7. they have seat belts and bus auntie also. i will prob take the first 2 rides with him and see how it goes. my only concern is that he may behave differently when i m not ard.

SY
where's the sch? how come the busride is so long? Hmmm.. i find 30-40 min a bit too long for their age. But, if they BUCKLE the seatbelt and JH sits down well, then shld be ok. Ger's busride is 5mins.

Tabbiesus,
The amount that I can express out now is quite miserable after my food poisoning episode last week. It ranges from 100ml - 200ml now each day with only one session. But I latch her on at night and in the morning so I suppose the amount is enough for her. However, my mil feedback that in the day she would ask for milk twice and the amt is therefore not enough for her during the day and yet when they give her FM, she just refuse to drink. Sigh.

Before the food poisoning, I used to get ard 240 - 300ml each session. I have dropped to one session only after she turned one.

I think the most apparent benefit of bf for me is the bonding even though I don't spend a lot of time with her. The health benefits are not quite apparent to me. But of cos, it could also be that charmaine could be asthmatic like me....

Re: PIS
Tabbiesus, you can send your PIS for svcing. I think they can svc it but at a higher cost since it's from US and you didn't get it from mums n babes. Or check the valves, tubing, membranes. If any of these is loose, it affects the amt too. Silly me didn't know that the tubing got a big hole the previous round and all the pressure is escaping from that hole therefore I can't pump the usual amt. It also hurts cos it happened during the early pumping stage and I ended up having a lump which has to be massaged out painfully.

Re: Gift Exchange and Potluck
I like the way the gift exchange is done in JG too. Would you like me check with my hubby if he would like to "volunteer" to be santa. He can be quite sporting and might agree. We can just stuff a ball into him to give him the tummy.

3) sl - fruits

Hi, SY. which is the school you gg to send JH to?

I am thinking of sending zachary to punggol end, but the to and fro trip will take 30mins each time.

Any toddlers on this type on long bus trip too?

hi mommies
re: playgroup

i was thinking more along the lines of bringing a present that you already have for your child. This way you can get something that your kid already likes and just in case you can't make it you don't waste it. KY, that way you can also join in. Just wrap up something u already have at home. I am thinking this might be easier cos there is a different mix of boys and girls.

3) tabbiesus - drinks and baby porridge

3) SL - fruits
4) tabbiesus - drinks and baby porridge

Gift exchange: I'm ok to bring a gift :>

3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly

Gift exchange: I'm ok to bring a gift :>

3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
5) tabbiesus - drinks and baby porridge

thanks for the recommendations for the rest. will discuss with my bro. coz it's his birthday celebration

denmy,
really salute u! can manage without a maid! i only have 2 kids and i already can't cope even thou we have 3 adults at home now. will be getting another maid to help out. coz my dad and maid definitely can't cope with 2 kids.

re: Potty Training
After complaining that Kirsten refused to poo poo in the potty 2 days ago, she finally did it yesterday and today! But got to let her watch her favourite videos of herself on the camera to make her sit down. Was so happy I even took a photo of the 'cake' to keep as momento but now looking at it, I feel so disgusted.

She's also very difficult to change diapers nowadays, that's why decided to potty train her and it's been improving day by day. I think it's a matter of Just Do It. She's also another one very comfortable with pee and poo in diaper but after wearing training pants, she feels uncomfortable when it gets wet. A few days later, she will tell me after she has leaked a bit. And a few more days after that, she can tell me before there is any leak.

Tabbs, I read a book called 'Diaper Free Before 3'. There're a lot of practical advice from the writer who is a PD and all her 3 kids are potty trained before 18 months. I'm the one looking for an adaptor, just the SIN one. $100 sounds quite ex, but I'll check it out anyway. Thanks a lot!

krissie
the sch is at siglap. got 3 other students stay nearer the sch so they will be dropped of first. actual ride shouldn't be that long but bus uncle says sometimes parents or maid dun come and wait for the kid immediately so he got to buffer

sl
oh dear, food poisoning is bad. u better now?

celine
the sch is called great beginnings. it's at burnfoot terrace behind siglap centre.

Tabbiesus - Thanks for helping wf the milk order!!! muacks
finali waited for my tissue box to finish, am now gona embark on the little aquarium that u did wf tabby

Pin - eh, i tink its a very near walk to the nite markets if not wrong.. as for restaurants,there is one timsum restaurant neat the building..but not sure if its still existent or not cos the last i stayed in Prudential was years ago...

Mamapanda, glad to hear you have a smooth journey there! Enjoy your trip! Norway is somewhere I have always dreamed of going.

Denmy, wah, you're amazing! Yah, I agree good maids hard to come by. I think she will be very grateful to you after this and be a better employee.

SY, 30min ride is a long time. But if JH is the type who enjoys taking a bus and doesn't have a thorny butt, shouldn't be a problem.

here's a pic of the see saw that i bought

1122543.jpg

val
i think it is quite a long ride but u r quite right. JH likes to take bus and train...

I will reply as much as I could as I am very busy this week. My buddy was on leave for 1 week and I have to cover her duties.

Rachel,
I will pop by probably next week as I have something to collect from CL as well.

CL,
I will collect the scrapbook calendar from you next week also.

Mamapanda,
Enjoy ur trip. MERRY X'MAS to you too !

RE: Toilet Train
Previously was saying Jamie toilet train herself but it stopped eventually. And only this week, she started to tell us "Mummy, she she.." I rushed to toilet to get potty and she remove her diaper herself and do it. Was surprised that it had happened for a few days already. For Poo, she will also tell us. But noticed that it happened only at night when we bring her home. My mum told me during the day, sometimes Jamie is accurate in signalling but sometimes false alarm. I think my mum had reprimand her for giving false alarm, that's why she refused to do it during the day.

Whenever Jamie give false alarm to me, I will say "Oh oh.. never pee ah. Next time must tell mummy ok? Show mummy u can do it." My mum will goes "Aiyo, bluff me again. Want to pee must say ah or I beat ur backside." Sigh.. dunno how to tell my mum not to say this leh.

But when Jamie had pee/poo correctly, she will say "no more" and both hb and me will clap hands.

Think we got to be more patient with them bah.

Shall pop by again in the afternoon.. got to carry on now. Bye...

SY,

Hey...interesting see saw! Where did u get it?

RE : School
Seems that a few mummies have sent your kids to school. I've yet...so lazy to find one. I'm more afraid he will get sick from school. I know some kids take a while to get use. Somemore he gets cough easily. Now down wif it. Juz 2 weeks lost weight liao. Any good recommendation in the East?

Re : Terrible 2
Wah...my boy is driving me nuts nowadays. So notti! Once at public he refused to hold my hand and dashing ard. I had to pull him and was like dragging him. He laughed and felt so fun to be sliding on the floor. Vommit Blood. Nv let me eat in peace, screamed at times dun wanna be carried....urgh!!! Nightmare!