(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Adding in another contribution from me for adults. By the way, how many pax are we preparing for. So the gift we stick to bringing for our kids right ?

Gift Exchange & Pot Luck - 22 Dec

Let me start the ball rolling on the food list lah
1) Chicken Little - Onigiri for the kids ( Rice ball with pigeon baby food) + Handroll for adults
2) krissie - chicken wings
3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
5) tabbiesus - drinks and baby porridge
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes

Mongs,
re: Crayola
Your Fingerpaint & Markers are still with me... how do you wanna collect? I'l going to the playgroup at Tabb's, got anyone to tumpang?

Rena, SSF,
Yours also still with me.

22nd Dec PLAYGROUP
Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs) ?kirssie
2. Craft: tabbiesus
3. Storytime : Mashy.. using ur book
4. gift giving :denmy

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax
Indicate if you want kiddy lunch/ adult lunch (potluck)
1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
6. ky - 5 coming (hubby, helper, and the boys)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

1) Chicken Little - Onigiri for the kids ( Rice ball with pigeon baby food) + Handroll for adults
3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes

quick BP for Spinach, Rainer Cherries and Korean Strawberries

The sweet, juicy and succulent Rainer Cherries are back. Saw them at Cold Storage last night. Also spotted the Korean Strawberries which are soooooo sweet... must get them too. Anyone interested too?

I wanna close this BP by Wed, so that we can get the fruits/veg on Fri. So mummies attending the playgroup at Tabbs, I can help deliver the fruits to you.

Collection Points:
1. Hitachi Tower (Fri 21st Dec; 12noon - 6pm)
2. Tabbs gathering (Sat 22 Dec)
3. Marine Terrace (from Fr1 21 Dec evening)

Estimated portions: Spinach - 350-600gms/ Cherries - +-500gms/ Strawberries - 12 nos. per tray
1. Denmy: Spinach x 2/ Cherries x 2/ Strawberries x 4

denmy
i m interested! but i need to confirm whether i can pick up from marine terrace on fri. what time will u be ard on fri?

22nd Dec PLAYGROUP
timing... 10am-12pm

1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes
8) Cookie-Shepherd's pie

Denmy,

can you pass to Flo?

Florence, sorry to bother you again. Can help me to get it from Denmy at Tabby's place? I will arrange to collect from you. Thanks.

22nd Dec PLAYGROUP
timing... 10am-12pm

1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes
8) Cookie-Shepherd's pie
9) Aileen - Ice-cream and chips

The sweet, juicy and succulent Rainer Cherries are back. Saw them at Cold Storage last night. Also spotted the Korean Strawberries which are soooooo sweet... must get them too. Anyone interested too?

I wanna close this BP by Wed, so that we can get the fruits/veg on Fri. So mummies attending the playgroup at Tabbs, I can help deliver the fruits to you.

Collection Points:

Estimated portions: Spinach - 350-600gms/ Cherries - +-500gms/ Strawberries - 12 nos. per tray
2. Cookie : Spinach X 1 / Cherries X 1 / Strawberries X 1

Collection Points:

3. Aileen: Cherries x 2/ Strawberries x 4 (Hitachi Tower)

Demny
thanks for informing..
I called Chiltern, they only offer classes on weekdays kinda difficult for me. I happen to speak to William! and he sound like a nice person
Hope Keenan has good time there! Do give me your feedback.
I might sign up another term in JG under teacher Pix.. still thinking about it. Timing is a problem. Or may sign up for Kidsloft.
So u not starting keenan in GB next yr?

I will probably pick up the fruits at your place or at Tabby's.
Whats the cost for the cherries and Strawberries(is Strawberries by per tray basis?) anyway?

SY
Is the Zoophonics trial still ON? or did I miss it?

Reg bringing the kid's christmas gifts to give them at the playgroup, we're already going to give him on christmas day itself, so think we'll skip that at the playgroup.

22nd Dec PLAYGROUP
timing... 10am-12pm

1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes
8) Cookie-Shepherd's pie
10) Mashy - Japanese mushroom rice or finger food.

Collection Points:

3. Mashy: Cherries x 1/ Strawberries x 1 - collection at tabbs gathering

Collection Points:

4. Cheng: Cherries x2 / Strawberries x 1

Change my item back Shepherd's pie... the baker open shop early just to bake for our party.. hope it's good

22nd Dec PLAYGROUP
timing... 10am-12pm

1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes
8) Cookie- Shepherd's pie

CL /Cheng - haha... nice pics! Charmaine is reali good poser ar! The pic of Aidan and Aden so heart warming... post more pics la, the thread been full of words lately... would be good to see more pics of our little toddlers now...

Mummies - any latest pic of ur tod to share share
can see hw much each baby has grown...

i share another 2 pics of HK

1157363.jpg

1157364.jpg

tis was taken at the Peak, very cold tat nite.. celeste kept saying: cold cold bu yao... haha.. so i had her tucked into my jacket... hiak

Mashy,
Your Japan trip looks great. Next time I will be planning for Japan trip out of the norm too. Hee Hee I think I shall aim for Hokkaido.

God's child, yup yup nice to see more pics. Post more leh. Celeste so pretty.

Quick BP for Spinach, Rainer Cherries and Korean Strawberries

Collection Points:

5. Chicken Little: Cherries x 3

Hee Hee a bit dunno how many to buy. Will be having a family gathering at my place on 23 Dec

Denmy,

Your BP came just in time! I would be making strawberry and kiwi jams as christmas presents! Thanks! Would it be possible to get kiwis as well? : )

Collection Points:

6. sl: cerries x2/ strawberries x 15

mashy,
sigh...your photos make me miss Japan sooo much. Darn it, I can't join the staff trip this coming Feb!!! Argh!! 60% of our staff going on a 7D tour to Osaka / Tokyo and i'm one of the 40% left behind..*sob sob* long story why I am left behind lah
BTW, its a subsidized trip, not fully paid. Staff pay S$800.

CL
i can't really take fruits nowadays. will get bloatedness. so been skipping my fruits everyday. but really feel like eating cherries.

tracy
so wasted that u cant go! so cheap some more....

Tracy

wah, wat a pity that u can't join. So good your company has staff trips. Most companies don't.

Re: Wii

Yesterday my hb was playing with Wii and my boy decided to join in the fun to watch him play. My boy cheered and clapped when my hb scored in the bowling and when my hb didn't, he went 'argh'. like some sports fans. So funny.

SY,

I should be in whole day on Fri. Otherwise my helper is in too.

Cookie, SY,
No I'm not signing Keenan up at GB yet. Probably in the following term after next in April.

mongs,
ok, I'll pass your crayola stuff to Flo.

sl,
which kiwi you want? the green oo yellow ones?

Collection Points:

Estimated portions: Spinach - 350-600gms/ Cherries - +-500gms/ <font color="ff0000">Strawberries - aprox. 19 nos. per tray</font>

sorry, thought the strawberries was 12 nos. per tray cos silly me only looked from the top... still got 7 nos. hiding on the 2nd layer when i open up the tray to eat just now...heehee

denmy
hee, then i wan to order. will try to swing by on fri at your place. PM me or sms me your address ok?

Collection Points:

7. sy: cherries x2

i m starting JH at GB in Jan. let u know how it goes.

Long time no come in liaoz. Managed to steal time and computer to check emails and check the thread too.

Feel out of touch liaoz. hahahaha.

CL/Cheng/god's child
The HK pics very nice and heartwarming!!! god's child, celeste is getting prettier and prettier and starting to look more like you liaoz. hehehe

Pregnancy Test Kit
My period has not been here for 2 cycle (base on 28-days). Was feeling paranoid so went to the pharmacy and get a test kit and went straight to the toilet. and it was *NEGATIVE*.... felt better knowing if I'm preggers or not. I think should be the change in job-scope and eating habits since beginning of November. If not, think I should consult my gynae?

Mamachan,

Could it be due to stress since your job is so hectic now ? My sis gone 6 months without when she was stressed. Maybe you should seek gynae consultation just to confirm. I do hope gynae can detect good news for you.

Mamachan,
U missed for how long already? I missed for about 2 weeks when I just changed job. Maybe can test 2nd time after 1 week?

Collection Points:

Estimated portions and prices: Spinach - 350-600gms/ Cherries - +-500gms @$22 per kg/ Strawberries - aprox. 19 nos. per tray (300g)@$9/ Kiwi @$0.30 each
1. Denmy: Spinach x 2/ Cherries x 2/ Strawberries x 4 / kiwi x 10

sl, yes got kiwis... green ones @$0.30 each. You want?

Mamachan - thanks for the comments.. actuali 2 cycles i tink by good chance of being preggers bah? prob shld head to gynae for a check, hope to hear good news ar!

CL/May/god's child
I think unlikely I'm preggers lah. haha, hb and myself are careful with protection, not to mention that he was away for awhile for SEA games. I don't get the usual symptoms for pregnancy i.e. full breasts, bloatedness, I remember feeling nauseaus by 4 weeks when we planned for D. So like what CL say, likely to be work related. I don't feel that stress, maybe the body is lah, coz I'll go whole day without food when busy doing the clinic sessions and running around to process samples too. I bought ClearBlue to test, so I would think it is rather accurate for the price I paid for it!!

May
I missed for 2 x 28-day cycles already, so that's about 2 months? That's assuming my period after giving birth is 28-day cycle. Actually, my period cycle is not well regulated like before when I had D which was accurately 28-days. Now, it could be 28 days or 35 days.

did any of you stay in royal plaza hong kong have booked to go hong kong Jan but still cannot decide royal or prudential please help me, scratching my head .

god's child

you recommend me prudential but scare room too small, in disneyland how many day did you stayed, which hotel. My girl want stay 3 day there, but i think 2 day should be nice enough. I going for 8 day 7 night.

Denmy,

Yes pls for kiwis - can get about 15? Thanks! *muack*

Mamachan,
My period is very irregular now, most prob cos I am still bfing.

mamachan
2mths seems long... heehee actually 2 weeks after the BD session can test for preg. I think clearblue shld be qt reliable. If you guys didnt BD in the last 2 weeks, then result is accurate, else you cld be preggy but unable to detect the hormone hange yet, then test 1 week later.

Collection Points:

Estimated portions and prices: Spinach - 350-600gms/ Cherries - +-500gms @$22 per kg/ Strawberries - aprox. 19 nos. per tray (300g)@$9/ Kiwi @$0.30 each
6. sl: cerries x2/ strawberries x 15 / kiwi x 15
8. krissie: Cherries x 1/ Strawberries x 2 - collection at tabbs gathering

(added SL's kiwis)

Just had a simply birthday celebration for Mel on birthday. Will post some pic when Im back.

Re: Potty Training
Mel has been taking off her diaper recently and pee pee on the potty. But this funny girl will take the potty pan out and stand on it to pee and when I ask her to sit on it, she just simply refuse to..argh!

SY,
Maybe u want to check if there are a lot of very young children on the bus trip? Cos if too many young kids, the auntie may not be able to cope.

Gods child, Cheng, CL
Your HK pic are great, tempt me to take Mel to Disneyland! Celeste is so pretty. Cheng, I like the pic of Adian hugging Aden, so sweet =)

Mashy
Your Japan pics are so nice, in comparison my France pics look horribleboth me and hb are terrible photographers

Tracy,
Your co is so good, can let all staffs go for so long hol

Mongs
No problem, Ill collect the bday bash memento from CL too.

Mamachan
I guess is prob due to work stress but in any case do share with us if there's good news

Collection Points:

6. sl: cerries x2/ strawberries x 15 / kiwi x 15
8. krissie: Cherries x 1/ Strawberries x 2 - collection at tabbs gathering
9. Flo: Spinach x 1/Strawberries x 2/Cherries x 3 (collect at Tabbs gathering)

Queen
I went to Learning Vision open house on Sat. Is more like a child care rather than enrichment centre. Apparently they have recently merged with Pat schoolhouse, hence make them the largest private childcare centre in Sin. Not cheap tho, $600/mth for 1/2 day and $850/mth for full day (before subsidy). The place looks big but it runs classes for all levels from Tot to K2 and looks like each group of the kids will be confine to their little room most of the time. Most likely will "strike off" LV cos I'm more interested to enrol Mel in a playgroup rather than child care.

RE: play group

I'm very very sorry to have to tell you all that I think I have to cancel this weekends playgroup.

Tabby's sick! She started having runny nose on friday so i thought I'd bring her to see the PD then to see if she's get better but today, my mom says she's not getting better and plus i think didi's having symptoms too. And, now I am starting to have a sore throat... so I don't think we'll be well by weekend. And I definitely DON"T want to pass to you all esp now the weather is so bad.. hot and cold.

So I thought I'd better let you all know early so you can plan your weekend. SO SO SORRY!

I was really looking forward to it.. i even got all the craft stuff ready.

Paiseh to do this to all of you.

Rena

I was reading up the past posts, and i realised I missed your post on E's eyes... so sorry...

Its quite common for children to blink/ or rub eyes when tired, so not so worrying.

Causes of frequent blinking
3 things to worry about, usually worry about glaucoma, squints, or eye irritation from allergy or from lower eye lid inturning called epiblepharon

for glaucoma, usually there are other symptoms like tearing, sensitive to light symptoms, u may notice the black of one eye's being bigger than the other. Not common but most sight treatening. Vision of the is affected so if you cover the opposite eye, the child will be very upset cos can't see and relying on the good eye. But to rule this out, you need to use a special pen like device that touches the surface of the eye to check the pressure. Plus, since our children are so big now, we may need to give some sleeping syrup in order to check the pressure. Cos the child will get scared and cry and struggle and make the eye pressure finding inaccurate becos of eye squeezing.

For squints, you may notice that one eye is turned inward or outwards (more common in singapore) then with a blink, the child's eye is straight again.

For eye irritation, if you look closely, you will see that the lower lid is very thick (usu. quite common in our children with chubby cheeks, even tabby has) and the lower eye lid can sometimes be touching the eyeball. So sometimes can give mild irritation. It can also be associated with tearing.

If you are very worried, you should bring E for an eye screening cos blinking is non specific, but if a mom had the same complaint came to me, I'd check for the above, whilst making sure that the vision is the same in both eyes cos at this age we want to pick up things like lazy eye too. At this age, can check vision roughly already esp. if E is verbal and can do simple picture match. If not, there are some basic eye tests to check the vision.

I don't know if u check the forum frequently so will pm u my reply also. Paiseh i missed your post.

Hi Tabbs
No worries, hope Tabby get well soon and didi's not too serious. U take care too, drink more water and manuka honey I find it helps.

Hey,Tabbiesus

Dun worry. Since my hb is away, out of which 3 mummies are staying at CCK, I can open up my house too. But pai seh no Xmas tree

22nd Dec PLAYGROUP
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: CCK

1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
4. Flo - Me + Mel
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - 2+bb
11. denmy - 3+2bb+1kid

flo

it's my hb's work lah. He likes to take photos. I can't be bothered. hehe.

tabbs
no worries. U take care! We can use the craft stuff for the next playgroup?

CL
Since tabbs is down, the craft how? Anyone else?

mamachan,
think best to see gynae if miss for 2 months. can rule out whether due to hormone etc? i know some of my frens have very irregular cycles and the gynae will put them on hormone pills.

if not, hope to hear good news!

Flo
the bus ride doesn't have a lot of kids and JH is prob the youngest.

so angry with hb this morning. was mentioning to him abt JH starting sch in Jan and hb jumped at me abt it! we had already went thru and discussed and agreed on the arrangments etc and now he said i din tell him...arrggh so angry with him. got scolded for nothing. he completely forgot abt everything i told him before. and still dare to say i never tell him

SY

Sometimes men are like that. You think they're listening to u, but they're not. They just 'yah, yah' but nothing goes into their puny little brains. haha. me so mean. I realised u have to let him repeat the words, then it'll get in.

Oh yah, I attended a few sessions on disciplining kids. One of the important elements they teach is that you have to get your kids to repeat what u said in agreement. Eg, "C, you will not climb the chair." then make C say "Yes mummy. I will not climb the chair". It somehow gets into their system better.