(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Linda,
ya, don't worry. Meg also no fever after MMR and Chickenpox jabs taken together. I'm also sourcing for window grills and got a contact from Rachel. I'll PM you his number. He quoted me S$850 for my 5-rm flat.

denmy
congrats.. wahh.. such a quuick delivery. hope that my 2nd labour will be as smooth and easy as yours.

rachel
sorry to hear abt your aunt. you take care.

CL
thanks for making the arrangements. Am still disappointed that I can't join you guys tom. But, luckily, I withdrew, coz now my hb is also sick.

Jamom
Am so impressive with your list of pre-schools. very useful. Erh.. do you know of any good ones near Serangoon or in Town (near Outram)? I've been wanting to do research for pre-school but hv been too busy, plus also dunno where / how to even start.

Zoophonics
Erh.. what's that?? I feel so guilty.. I dun seem to be teaching Gerald enough esp coz I've been v tired lately as he has been waking up, plus.. will hv MS on most nights. I hv some GD flashcards and have not started using yet after the initial few days. I was telling CL that I didnt hv time to start sorting the cards into the various categories. So, I only show him picture flashcards now and doing ABCs. I'm so horrible hor?

linda/mamapanda - wah it seems the bb gals here are all so strong. I can confirm my precious son will surely wail his lungs out. haha...

krissie
I never even do ABC or 123 with Ariene. I gave up on the flash cards already cuz she'll only want to snatch them away and chew on them or fling them around the house.

7 reasons not to argue with children.

A little girl was talking to her teacher about whales. The teacher said it was physically impossible for a whale to swallow a human because even though it was a very large mammal its throat was very small.

The little girl stated that Jonah was swallowed by a whale. Irritated, the teacher reiterated that a whale could not swallow a human; it was physically impossible.

The little girl said, "When I get to heaven I will ask Jonah". The teacher asked, "What if Jonah went to hell?" The little girl replied, "Then you ask him".

A Kindergarten teacher was observing her classroom of children while they were drawing. She would occasionally walk around to see each child's work.

As she got to one little girl who was working diligently, she asked what the drawing was. The girl replied, "I'm drawing God."

The teacher paused and said, "But no one knows what God looks like." Without missing a beat, or looking up from her drawing, the girl replied, "They will in a minute."

A Sunday school teacher was discussing the Ten Commandments with her five and six year olds. After explaining the commandment to "honor" thy Father and thy Mother, she asked, "Is there a commandment that teaches us how to treat our brothers and sisters?"

Without missing a beat one little boy (the oldest of a family) answered, "Thou shall not kill."

One day a little girl was sitting and watching her mother do the dishes at the kitchen sink. She suddenly noticed that her mother had several
strands of white hair sticking out in contrast on her brunette head.

She looked at her mother and inquisitively asked, "Why are some of your hairs white, Mom?"
Her mother replied, "Well, every time that you do something wrong and make me cry or unhappy, one of my hairs turns white."

The little girl thought about this revelation for a while and then said, "Then why are ALL of grandma's hairs white?"

The children had all been photographed, and the teacher was trying to persuade them each to buy a copy of the group picture. "Just think how nice it will be to look at it when you are all grown up and say, 'There's Jennifer, she's a lawyer,' or 'That's Michael, He's a doctor.'

A small voice at the back of the room rang out, "And there's the teacher, she's dead."

A teacher was giving a lesson on the circulation of the blood. Trying to make the matter clearer, she said, "Now, class, if I stood on my head, the blood, as you know, would run into it, and I would turn red in the face."

"Yes," the class said. "Then why is it that while I am standing upright in the ordinary
position the blood doesn't run into my feet?"

A little fellow shouted,"Cause your feet ain't empty."

The children were lined up in the cafeteria of a Catholic elementary school for lunch. At the head of the table was a large pile of apples.
The nun made a note, and posted on the apple tray:"Take only ONE. God is watching."

Moving further along the lunch line, at the other end of the table was a large pile of chocolate chip cookies.

A child had written a note, "Take all you want. God is watching the apples.

tiffany,
ok don't worry, i'll keep u in mind! :D edgar's class is 2.30pm.

mamachan,
ya will try to administer the med as much as possible. but it's really tough. hopefully my maid manage to do so.

tracy,
thanks for sharing the joke. very funnie!

mamapanda - i also gave up on flashcard and u know what i got? i went to popular and buy those ABC charts and paste it on the wall. and now caleb can point from A-E. like i say A for apple..and he pt to apple pic. You may want to get one chart and paste it so that bb cannot peel it off and they are also amaze by the pics. i make sure my B stands for ball his fav! haha..so he will always pt ball and go BOR!!

tracy - thks for the joke! make my day

Mamapanda,
MMR jab is on the thigh? Today, Ryan went for his MMR and the jab was on the arm. Fingers crossed he wont develop fever as I will be travelling again and so heart pain not to be around him when he is unwell.

RE: MY Gym Trial
Well, this is the very first time i'm signing Janelle up for a trial lesson, and looks like she's not fated to go for one! She's down with fever today (as feared) due to her MMR jab on Monday. Gotta give the trial a miss
Just when i was looking fwd to bringing her!
Btw, MMR jab is not painful because according to the doc, it is injected into the fat. The same for chickenpox vaccination - injected into the fat. BUT, the 18mths jab (can't remember the name) is the painful one because it's injected into the muscle. i don't really look fwd to that!!

Queen,
Don't worry, you're not the only one. I've also not brought Janelle for any classes so far. And also don't do any flashcards or anything like that. But i guess it's alright as long as they're developing well
Janelle loves to play with other kids her age or bigger though. She'll give them toys and pretend to feed them, etc.

Your PILs shouldn't teach Isaac to throw things out of window. GOsh! Do try to explain to them...hopefully it'll help!!

RE: Beating the floor
Do your parents or ILs teach your kids to beat the floor whenever they fall down and get hurt? My PILs do that and i really don't like it! THey'll sayang Janelle when she falls and teach her to beat the floor, as though scolding the floor for her pain. BUT, it's not the floor's fault! It's Janelle's fault for not being careful and falling down. I really disagree with this type of teaching but so difficult to correct old folks!

Babylon,
Just transferred $12.40 to your account (transaction ref: 175059466). Thanks for helping us get the cream!

ak
My PD gave it to her on the thigh. Was told by PD that if baby does develop any symptoms (fever or rashes), it'll be 5-7 days later as the virus will incubate for abt 1 week before it surfaces.

durianlover,
re beating the floor,
my mil did that once infront of me too when edgar fell. then i asked her blatantly, "ma, why did you scold and beat the floor?" then she was dumbfounded. didn't know how to answer me. she must have felt real stupid then! keke... eversince then, i don't see her doing that anymore! =D

Re: Teachers turnover at childcare

think it's important to ask this coz at the infant care that i sent my boy to, at yr end, the entire team of teachers left except for the supervisor and 1 teacher! End up with a China teacher with the infants! Ai yoh, i pay so much in the end it's a china teacher there full time taking care of my boy.

durianlover - yeah my ILs do that too. if caleb hit any object, they will beat the object or the flr when he fall and cry. haha...i guess its the same era that they are living in which definitely dun make any sense at all. for me, i just close one eye la.

HI CLeo,

Not too sure abt the area you mention. You can try getting the Preschool Guide by young parents. ALot of schools are listed there or you can try tis link
http://www.moe.gov.sg/preschooleducation/ This moe link states the different KINDERGARTEN registered in singapore. Can search according to location. NOt too sure Childcare or enrichment center in it or not. But I like the site coz it spells out what is desired outcome of the preschool education, the qualification of the teachers as well as teacher to child ratio set by MOE. So the childcare center cannot "bluff" you. Alot of centers' ratio are below the one set by MCYS.

HI aileen,
my mil tot my girl that too and I realised my girl starts hitting the floor or object when she falls down or get knocked by it. Senseless but can be quite entertaining to see her doing it. I personally dun endorse tis act but I tink it helps to distract them from the pain lo.

Hi Sysac,

'I love Les Mis too! I prefer it to Phantom. Maybe becus I liked the actor who was playing the role of Marius Haha...Phamtom's face is hidden lah so cannot "fall'in love' with him'

I can Hi-5 with you! I like Marius too and i even write in my diary the name of Marius and intend to name my son Marius. Ha Ha. I also like the name cosette.

Les Mes is my first show so it left an impression on me. Watch Phantom twice. And Ms. Saigon too. Chang and Eng too. Local artists are rather good too

Hi Queen,

Don't feel bad. I only send Ashely to playground at 27 months. No trials or any other class prior to that. This mummy is simple lazy lah.

As long as you read to him, talk to him, it should be alright.

Just want to share about Megan. I have a book where it read : Wh lives in the hive? The next page will contain 3 pictures and you need to lift up the page to reveal the correct answer.

Anyway we read so often to Megan that she knows the answer without looking at the book .

Who lives in the hive and Megan will say 'Bee'
Who lives in the cave and Megan will answer "Bear'
Who lives in the sea and Megan will say "phin (Dolphin)"

And she will clap for herself. Sometimes she just want people to clap for her so if her first answer is 'bee', she will answer bee to every question hoping to hear a clap. Ha Ha.

It is very satisfying to see how her face brighten up when we clap for her and she grins...........
That's the joy our children bring to us.......... simple but priceless gesture and smile.

Talking about gesture, Ashley is very sweet too. Once megan keeps sitting and bouncing on my stomach. Ashley finds it funny at first and was laughing at megan's actions. Then she realise it hurts so she keeps kissing me whenever megan bounce and instructed megan to stop doing it.

Yuki,
Ashley so sweet.

Mamapanda, i know the fever will surface 5-7 days later but i thot the rash shd be pretty soon. So maybe i oversensitive keep imagining everything on Ryan's face is rash.

Disciplining kids
Today I was at SBCC and I saw this gal, maybe 4 years old, so ill disciplined screaming, kicking, yelling. Her mum really looked very helpless.....but i sympathise with her too...when i try to discipline Ryan, the message doesn't seem to go thru. Like dinner today, he keep throwing food on the food so i beat his hands and told him NO. This went on for quite a while...until no more food and we both stop....sigh....

ak

when my boy throws food/spits food out, my hb and I usually give him 3 chances (in case there's really some stuff in the food that caused him to spit), after that, no more food for him. We'll take the food away.

Today my boy did something very funny. I called out his chinese name and he raised his right hand way up. Like when your teacher call your name, then you go 'dao'. haha. tried with his English name and he did it too.

Queen
One more thing...abt not feeding birds most importantly include pigeon. Pigeon's poopoo is very toxic and cause Nao Mo Yan... infection to the brain I think.
My MIL was victim of Nao Mo Yan.. supposingly due to pigeon shit many years back, almost died.
Thank God things are ok now.. so she is very worried when she see pigeon around.

durianlover
my mil also will hit the flr when my gal fell. she only did once so far. i also disagree with the idea. and my hb tends to do that, too! i told him to stop it and next time if his mum did that he should ask her to stop, too.
'cos i don't want my gal to learn how to blame others when she's the one at fault.

Durianlover, my nanny oso call me at 7 plus informing that Aden has vomitted. Running nose and cough so no gym for him tomorrow too.

Will call them up to update a final count then will send sms to all mummies with gentle reminder. Enjoy the class though I wont be there.

MY GYM Trial @ Great World City
GWC #03-09/10
$29.50

12.30 pm class
1 Charmaine
2 Cephas
3 Melody
4 Gracie
5 Tabitha
6 Ashley
7 Kaelyn
8 Elijah
9 Ying Xing

2:30pm Class
1 Caeden
2 Ethan Wenyl, I have informed them that you might join the 12.30 pm class liao. They are ok as max is 18 per class

May, Krissie, Sleepingdeer, Cheng, Durianlover
Ha ha we can organise the next trial together liao.

Cl,

i just read you posting.. is aden better? was looking forward to see all of you but the list became shorter and shorter

Hi Yuki - Haha, Marius was like a big crush throughout the run of Les Mis in Singapore. I even bought the book & CD to keep as a souvenir. I even have the scores of all the songs sung in the musical. Yes, I enjoyed Chang & Eng & in support, bought the CD as well. Didn't catch Ms Saigon but caught Chicago

CL - Hope Aden gets well soon. Take care!

Tracy - Enjoyed the jokes!

Sysac
Thanks for your well wishes

Rena
Aden getting worse. He had another round of vomitting in the night, aiyo i realli scare when he cough too hard and out comes everything. Well he was measured at 13.6 kg last night, see how much he will lose after this

Rachel
Sorry for your loss

CL
Poor aden.. hope he gets well soon... Thanks for taking sleepingdeer's place for organising.

re: beating floor
eh.. i was taught to teach the child that so that they won't be afraid of falling... so i did it once or twice but never really took it seriously... actually my habit is to say "oopsy" when she falls... and then i will ask her "who fell down?" Tabby fell down? Like humpty dumpty... cos she likes the nursery rhyme humpty dumpty.

Yuki,

Wow, Megan is really a clever gal! Renee still doesn't say anything that makes sense...though she knows all our instructions like keeping her books...touch the parts of her body and face etc.

I wonder if she's a little slow in her speech development now..hmmmm...

CL
Oh dear, hope aden gets well soon. NOt easy to see them getting sick and vomitting episodes too!

Beating the floor/or whatever else
OOps, haha, I think I did that a few times with Daren (think it's something I remembered from young), but that's only when his cry is very angry and inconsolable. Most times, when he fall down (in the initial stages of learning to walk), we would clap our hands for him in a way to let him know that it's ok, it's part of the learning process. Sometimes now when we go for strolls and he runs and at times trip over himself, he'll fall hard on the floor surfaces but yet didn't cry even though he was abit shocked and even had some scratches from the fall.

MMR jab and fever
So far so good, Daren has not fever from the jab, hopefully it stays that way and don't come at all! He had Hep A and MMR together.

I think I'm still one of the most bo-chup moms in terms of the "Academic" aspects of Daren. I know nothing about flashcards until the playgroup at CL's place! Daren doesn't like to sit still to be read too. He likes to watch those programs on Kids Central that does the alpha-phonics or rather, phonics, word association with the alphabets. For me, i'll just memorize some catchy rhymes from Dr Suess' books and recite them to Daren while playing with him. Daren's gross motor skills however, are quite developed, very into physical play, especially with his ball, he likes to play "soccer" and basketball and dancing to music.

RE: Sick babies & air purifier
CL,
Poor Aden! Hope he recovers soon! I just brought Janelle to doc and she said that there's a something-something virus going around (i can't rem the name), plus the haze from the Indonesia fires, so lots of young children are falling sick. She recommended closing house windows and switching on air purifier, which is why i wanna go buy one! Not to forget - my hubby is asthma-prone and has been suffering from the effects of the haze these few days. So might as well get a good purifier for both my girl and hb! Gonna buy one later but pretty clueless abt purifiers so if anyone has recommendations pls sms me at 93831991 yeah? Thanks!!

Am really in a headache. My grandfather passed away late last night and the funeral & wake services are in M'sia. We're expected to be there for the wake & funeral (on thurs), but Janelle is sick with wheeze & phlegm & cough & fever and the doc advises us not to bring her, for the fear that it may worsen to pneumonia. *headache*
Shall pray for the best way out! Hopefully she recovers soon enough so we can all go up!

Have a good weekend and holiday for all of you!

may
abt 8 babies including JH will be at my place this sun. i dunno how many daddies are coming but i can play VCDs for them to watch.. haha

jamom
ok will check out the zoophonics with u when u r free. realised u r out most of the weekends. i m not too sure how to teach phonics but i tot it's good for me to learn. JH doesn't seem strong in speech but he is quite good in his comprehension

haha our postings move very fast right! always a challenge to catch up.

re attachment parenting
think i practice a bit of it? JH co-sleeps with us at times. actually i used to be quite particular abt indulging him but now i feel that it is ok to let him co-sleep etc after hearing from quite a few parents. in fact i htink he's better behaved after that

re beating the floor
actually i also dun approve of it but hb insist on doing it. so once whne hb knock into JH, JH beat him...funny right?

re sick babies
oh dear, hope aden and janelle will get well soon!

CL, will u still be coming on sun then?

durianlover
when must u go up to malaysia? if janelle doesn't recover, think best not to bring her.

yuki
wow megan is so clever. JH doesn't talk much still. still in his ooh and ah stage. the only words he keeps babbling non stop is papa nad mama.

SY
Sorry cant join tomorrow. But has passed the stuff for the playgroup to sysac to be passed to cookie liao. Enjoy yourselves.

Durianlover,
My condolences to your family. Try not to bring Janelle to M'sia, anyone in Sin to help look after her a few days.

Yuki
Very impressed with Megan indeed. I always thought Aden will have no problem with speech since he has got a talkative sister. But apparently he just sit and enjoy the way Charmaine is talking without joining.

Durianlover,Tabbi and Mamachan
Thanks. Aden is just cranky and this time more difficult to feed him medication. But I managed better without my hb's help. Aiyo with him last night it too 20 mins, I did twice myself today it only takes 5 mins. Well this boy is still drinking well and eating well too. I diluted his milk so he is now taking 2.5 hourly for milk. I think he will be drinking more than usual. Dun think he will lose any weight for this episode.

Nice meeting all of you (as well as kids & daddies) just now
We were one big group!

I enjoyed myself & guess Cephas did too. We are both exhausted! Haha, he fell asleep the minute we got into the car after a quick meal. He's snoring as he sleeps now

Sysac,
How was mygym? good? Ryan's last positive babies lesson is next week and am thinking what else to sign up for him.

Food
I asked the PD abt Ryan's loss in appetite. He told me that babies at this age dun like mushy food and asked me to pan fry his food. Can I just check which mummies here still giving "soft" food like porridge for all dinners and what other foods you give for meals?

oh, another thing....i think Ryan must be the shortest here...only 75 cm, 10.4 kg...gosh, i think he is only 20th percentile....

AK - Yes, My Gym was enjoyable! However, some of the exercises were a bit too advanced for them at this stage.There was a bit of music with action time as well.

Don't worry too much about his weight/height. He's still within the range.

Food - I usually steam/pan fry Cephas' food. He didn't enjoy mushy food aft he turned 1. Some of the dishes I've cooked:

1. Steam fish w pumpkin/carrots & dried scallop.
2. Pasta.
3. Potato/carrot/chicken meat soup.
4. Baked chicken with potatoes.
5. Beef stew.

Yah, I agree that my gym is too advanced for them at this stage. Imagine them swinging on a trapeze and climbing bars. My boy looked really bored during the whole thing so think will sign him up for JWT Kids.

ak
not so bad lah. my boy only 9.6kg leh.... and he's about 35-50% already. It's not 20% for sure.

CL
take care!

durianlover
my condolences to u and your family. yah, see if u can leave janelle in singapore for a while.

sunny

YX is such a sweet gal.
so young already know about sharing and she has been very nice to Caeden. Think you won't have probs when you have a 2nd one. YX will surely help you take care.

Thanks for your condolences. Yes I also think not advisable to bring Janelle up. BUT, i definitely have to be present for my grandfather's wake + funeral. I would want to be there, plus everyone would expect us (ie. grandchildren) to be present. Maybe i'll make day trips to and fro since it's abt 2 hrs drive from here.
Really wouldn't want to leave Janelle in the care of my MIL now because Janelle's sick and very sticky to me. She's also been very difficult, moody, and eats practically NOTHING!! Not even milk! Now i understand how heartpain you mummies feel when your darlings fall sick and refuse food. Also, the funeral is on Thursday and my MIL is working on Wed & Thurs and can't fully look after Janelle (if i were to leave Janelle in her care)...so that is also a problem.

Oh well, everything's still uncertain and I shall see how it goes. Praying hard that Janelle recovers soon!

thanks mummies for your condolences. thank you.

CL
good to know aden is drinking and eating well. hope he can recover very soon!

durianlover
hope Janelle has a speedy recovery. if possible do put she in singapore rather than bringing her to malaysia. i always find malaysia is hotter than singapore and she might not be in top form even if she recover by thursday.

my condolences to you and your family.

May
wish Jamie recover very very soon!

Hi mummies...

Been away busy preparing for my exams... 2 down and one last to go on wed... i will be a free woman again then!!! breifly scanned thru the posts and oh my, so active

Durianlover - Hope Janelle gets well soon...

CL - sorrie! i haven tsf u the $$$. will do so tmr k,been rather 'tofu' minded lately... so much to study and memory space running out... if oni i hav a 80GB memory space.. sigh. oh,hope Aden is better today, so poor thing to see them vomit... i reali hate tat! but then again,i always comfort myself, good lor.. at least the phelgm comes out :p

Denmy - Congrats! wow, smooth labour wor.. waiting to see your little prcious' pic soon... take care!

ak - im stil giving celeste rather mushy food too,cos she tends to show sign of 'vomit' if its not blended.. i notice its the little 'cubes' in the porrige tat causes it cos when i give her macaroni,she is perfectly wf it. i also give her mee sua. am gona start attempting teochew porrige style next weekend when i can throw my stupid books and notes behind me *anticipating*

durianlover
So sorry to hear about your grandpa. Just saw the postings. No wonder u were asking all of a sudden abt air purifiers. My advise is get a really good, reliable brand. Of course, with reliability comes costs. Don't go for the cheap brands. Personally, I'd rather pay more cuz u cant really tell if the air is really "clean" cuz u cant see air. If ur husband is prone to asthma, get a good, hospital/medical grade one like honeywell. I've been sleeping with my sharp plasmacluster since the day Ariene was born and it solved my husband's sensitive nose issue. B4 the purifier, he sneezes every morning quite badly. As for honeywell, I see alot of clinics use that, including Dr Ng.

Hope Jan is feeling better already. Ariene also didn't touch her food for 5 days when she was down with viral fever few months back. She'll eat only 5 teaspoons then reject everything else. Good thing is she still eats alittle fruits so I gave her lots of chilled assorted fruits like papaya, honeydew, watermelon and lots of EBM. When she recovers, she'll eat her heart out so be prepared to cook more for Jan when she recovers fully and her appetite resumes.

I know its hard to explain your absense for your grandpa's funeral. Since Jan is so sticky to you, it'll be even harder to leave her with ur MIL and go for the wake. So, you may have to being her along. If u do, be sure to pack extra medication and take more short breaks along the way so that Jan don't get stressed out. However, you also must be prepared in case Jan's illness get worse. She'll also be extra cranky along the way so you really have to prepare yourselves.

ak
I'm still feeding Ariene thick porridge but not for all meals. Sometimes, I feed her mashed potatoes with meat, sometimes mashed butternut squash, sometimes, organice alphabet pasta. If I were to feed her porridge consecutively for few meals, she'll start complaining.

Rachel,
So sorry to hear abt your loss too. Do take care.

Sick babies
With so many babies getting sick again, I wish all babies a speedy recovery. Mummies, pls take care of yourselves too