(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Smiley
Ya, do like what Ivory says, it helps. I usually drink a few big mouthfuls of water.. who's your gynae? or u can ask your gynae whether they have tablet form. But, I doubt it. If you really can't take, then, eat more oily fish, like cod, salmon. All good for bb's brain.

i am going for my checkup tomorrow. doing blood test and the other necessary tests. so excited that some of you have already know the gender of the baby. hopefully i will know mine tomorrow.

so far, i am in my 15 wks and have gain 2kg. tummy is bulging slightly and currently have to wear maternity pants.

i tried the gender url but don;t know if i should add 1 yr or not for chinese age. some of my friends said no need to add. so i am confuse as there is a difference if adding it or not.

Oh and Ivory, thanks for updating my details

Sleepingdeer and Krissie
i never take any DHA. realised that different gynae recommend different things. is it the same if i just take more fish? i try to eat more fish but got a bit sick of eating so much fish..
When did u start taking the DHA? maybe i ask my doc this sat when i go for my appt. is it a must to take iron also? so far he only ask me to take folic acid and vitamin B. before that of cos got hormone pills etc but now no more.

SSF, i think it refers to chinese age right? tot must add one year? but seems like most pple tried and not very accurate. the one where u use position and time of conception more accurate i think. good luck to knowing your baby's gender.

ivory,
thanks for updating me next round!

hi all! i am new here...and would by a Jan 2006 MTB! I am just curious how come all of you know how many months and days you have conceived...my doctor only told me by the weeks...

need your advice...i have been told that pregnant ladies should keep away from certain cheese which may contain some kind of live organism that may cause miscarriage...so it is safe to eat yohurt? i used to eat meiji yohurt and have been keeping away from it...what about yakult...it also contain live bacteria...confused...

Krissie,

I tried for you liao, think the prediction is not accurate. Cos you should be 29 (lunar age) and the month of conception was March (lunar month), if followed the prediction it should be a girl.

Mashy and Krissie, give me 5! I have also gained 5 kgs so far! Looks like we have to watch out for our weight gain liao!

oinkoink

no problem, can eat yoghurt & drink yakult. My friend who have a pair of twins said she took a lot of yoghurt then. Good for digestion, counter constipation.

taka
kekeke. Yeh! Someone to join me. I've been better able to control my weight now that my MS is not so bad already.

Berlin

U bought a maternity swimwear from maternity mall right? S? May i know what's your height and weight before you were preg? I'm not sure whether I can wear the maternity swimwear from maternity mall. Scared too big.

Hi oinkoink.
Welcome! I'm also taking yoghurt & Yakult sometimes. As for cheese only eat them when they are in burgers. I think should be safe lah. My doc says no coffee, no alcohol, no raw food. Anything else is fine. But I think moderation is still the key here. Just ensure that you take more calcium and iron.

Juliann
ok Thanks

Confused
Dun be stress over your MIL and SIL...becos finally the one suffer is gng to be you and your baby.
Most impt is to gain your HB's side... last time u mentioned your your MIL and SIL very good in acting rite in front of your HB? SO u also act in front of your HB also... dun bad mouth abt your MIL and SIL cos noramlly guys dun like one... but try to gain his "pity" and let him on your side.
When you & bb suffer, fianlly happiest will be your MIL and SIL... so dun let them have their way.
Like the gals said ignore them and in fact avoid them when possible. When HB not around, you go back to parents house etc...
Hope you feel better soon...
and when u r sad or upset... just come here to release all out...Cry if you must cos thats a good way to relife stress too...

wow there are so many threads... I got to read during lunch time liao...
bye back to work

Hi Etelle,
yah, 3 kg liao, in my 7 - 9 week, i was eating every 2 hours, get hungry super fast, so in one week, i gained 1.2 kg! Thankfully, after 10 week, not so bad now. But I always crave for fattening food like chicken rice, and western food...

Pochacco,
yah, me too, now a little bump in front, hee hee. I could not wear my pants from 7th week onwards liao, now my waist also starting to thicken, haha, think all the fat accumulate in the wrong place...

My colleagues all don't know yet though, probably coz my office very cold, so I always wear a sweater...

Krissie,
I was taking the pills in the morning, then later switch to evening, but since I switch to evening, I realise i get constipated, do you get that problem? Going to experiement a little and switch to morning and see how...

SIng Yee,
I started on the fish oil, iron and calcium in week 13. Probably next visit you can ask your gynae, yah, I realise that different gynaes give different advise, until i also blur! If you don't take DHA pills, you can follow what Krissie suggested, and take fish rich in fish oil, like Cod fish, salmon etc.. they work too. I know what you mean! My MIL is a Cod fish lover, and though I love cod fish too, she has been cooking it until now, the moment i look at cod fish, i wanna puke!

Welcome oinkoink!
Yourgurt is good for us, the bacteria are friendly bacteria and aids in digestion, and also, it helps prevents urinary tract infections, something that MTBs are prone to get.

But stay away from soft cheeses, like blue cheese etc, they do contain some bacteria which is not good for bb. I love blue cheese dip with celery and buffalo wings, yum yum! But now can't touch that anymore...

Sing yee
I think shld be the same if you take more fish, but must be those fish rich in omega 3 (I think Salmon, cod, etc has high contents). Maybe can double check with your gynae. Anyway, if you really want, can buy teh DHA suppl yourself from the pharmacy. I know SGH pharmacy sells. I read from another thread that those NTUC pharmacies also sell.

I started taking DHA in my 2nd tri. I think it's impt for mummies to have sufficient folic, iron and calcium, not too sure if it's must. But, I read that these suppl are quite essential for proper devt of bb. When I went polyclinic, they also gave me the same supple, folic, calcium & iron. But, the DHA suppl is more optional. It's said to make the bb's brighter, so it's not a must, it's optional lah. My gynae doesn't give me a multi-vit, so that's why he gives me these suppl. My colleague only has a multi-vit + DHA suppl.

oinkoink
welcome & congrats. yogurt & yakult are safe.

Taka
Thanks. hee hee.. I conceived bb ard 20 Apr. Is that lunar 3rd mth? For my age, I'm supposed to be 28 this year, but my birthday is in Nov, so technically, now am still 27. So, maybe lunar age is 28?

Taka / Mashy
ok, let's watch our weight together.. now, am so careful, dun dare to eat fried stuff.

Sleeping deer
Which suppl gives you constipation? Can tell gynae and ask him to change the pills. I've changed my iron pills twice. One made me have constipation, the other gave me m/s. But, so far, fish oil is ok. Take more fruits and fibre. I take at least 3 servings of fruits everyday. A few of my gf had piles, so am very worried and I try to maintain healthy bowels.

I wanna share that I think I can feel bb's gentle kicks quite clearly.. It's happening more often these days. I can't confirm if it's bb's kicks, but when I describe to my 7mths preg colleague, she says shld be it.
Maybe you gals can start to look out for it.

Mashy
Thanks... Taka is right, suppose to be girl.. hee hee.. so not v accurate leh. Hmmm... my feeling of bb's kicks is like some minor twitching / movement in tummy.

I checked yesterday...OG People's Park is still selling FUNFIT maternity swimwear. Basic 1pc design. Price ard $53+.

Krissie,
When u felt ur bb kick, is it a sudden movement felt in ur lower abdominal? Sometimes I do have that 1 time feeling at night but dunno what's tat.

hi Krissie and sleepingdeer,
thanks for the advice. think i must write down so that i won't forget to ask gynae. realised that my memory getting not so good now. different gynaes really give very different advice. my fren's gynae said dun eat raw eggs but another one said must eat one everyday. really contradictory. but like what we say, eat in moderation.

krissie,
congrats on feeling bb's kicks! how do u know it's bb's kicks and not like gas? my fren also said she started feeling the kicks in her 3rd-4th month but the gynae told her not possible. think my baby quite active so i shd start seeing whether can feel anything.

oinkoink,
welcome. i also take yoghurt and yakult for digestion purpose. think it's ok. i read in books that yoghurt is actually a good alternative snack to biscuits etc.

Krissie - i conceived on 17 Apr'05 - so we veri near loh.

mashy - me yesterday just brought my gal the first set of clothing... which i promise her tat if she guai guai let me see the gender, i will start buying her clothing. As for other things, HB aunt have lots of things to pass down to us as her gal is around 1.5yrs old, from there i will see what other item to get on my own.

Pochacco

I went shopping yesterday at Suntec. Was so tempted to buy things for bb, but still dunno whether boy or girl. So stopped myself.

I've so many friends/relatives & my SIL with gals. I think if i've a boy, sure gotta buy my own bb clothes.

Bb cots are so expensive! They're even more expensive than our queen size beds!

mashy - ya, baby cots are expensive and bb use it for only a few month. luckily, the cot is also one of the items hb aunt going to pass to me... i think you can get from your relative cos use for a while only.

any one know if we can take pi pa gao??? my throat is not feeling well.

Hello gals

cookie - i know. now i trying not to think abt it. (sometimes its good not to know wat MIL saying bad things abt me)My hubby very straight forward sometimes he'll tell me wat MIL say n after hearing i become very sad liao lor. i know, MIL n SIL trying to make me stress, angry n dont know me n hubby to have gd life. ya! they are very clever in acting but i always lose to them. (MIL will cry after she know that she lose liao then hubby very soft hearted liao) till now i didnt even bad mouth them in front of hubby. (sometimes hubby n them quarrel i ask hubby dont quarrel liao n let the matter rest) but they say i m the mastermind that add chacoal n fire to make hubby more angry n scold them. i m a very straight forward peron so my acting very poor.

krissie - yo! so cute hor. (bb is kicking) btw, u feel uncomfortable when bb moving/kicking? i still dont have the feeling leh only once in a while when i sleep i feel uncomfortable. (bb doing something inside me)

babylon - congrats. u know your bb gender liao. yo! i getting more gan cheong liao.

Pochacco,
Just to be on the safe side, better check with the medical hall staff before u consume.
I normally will try take NuZeaBee Honey Lemon to soothe minor sore throat.

Confused

Don't think too much lah. It bad for yr health and baby loh. Why not move out since u got so much problems with them?

Wendyl
Thanks for updating us... is it very old-fashioned design since it's 1pc?
Ya, at first was at lower abdomen. Then, since yest, was left side.

Sing Yee
Wah, first time I hear gynae says that can eat raw eggs, everyday somemore. Dun worry, my memory is failing too.
Hmm... what do u mean by gas in tummy.. usually, I might have like gas maybe in my stomach, but that's on the left of the abdomen, where my gastric is. Hmmm... this feeling is something I've never felt before, like muscle twitching (but coming from within tummy), also, sometimes, it's like something moving in the tummy. Will monitor further.

Pochacco
Oh.. so coincidental.. hee hee.. see who pops first.
I dun know abt "pi pa gao", but I know that Strepsils is safe for us to take.

Babylon
Congrats on having boy.
How, u happy, u prefer boy or girl?

Confused
I think what you've done so far is right. No matter how wrong MIL is, our hb won't like to hear us talking bad abt his family. Only hb can complain abt his family, but when we do it, they become sensitive over it. Nvr mind, when they stress you, u can and complain to us... we'll be here to support you.

So far, the feeling is once in a while, not constantly, also it's very faint, not the v strong kick yet, so it's not uncomfortable so far.. In fact, I get excited each time bb kicks.. too bad, now hb cant feel it.. it's the bond between us and bb. I think later then hb can feel.

Krissie,
Very basic colours black, dark blue, etc. I tink got 2 types. 1 is the same as those 1 pc type but with some gathers at tummy area. The other is with a flip. Underneath the flip is a stretchy layer of airy material.

Sometimes when i press my fingers gently on my lower tummy, I could feel heartbeat but dunno if its bb's or mine. Hubby cldnt feel a ting.

etelle
I never combine shipment with babylon but I'm going to order soon thru Vpost.

Oink oink
You should stay from Soft Cheese but Cheddar cheese still can eat as long as they are pasturised. remember to stay away from those Blue Cheese etc...

Smiley
Must take DHA for bb sake. soft gel very easy to take one if you are really scare...you can pop 1 pill in your mouth and use your teeth to squeeze the soft gel to break then the oil will flow out and then u drink water to swollow. If u cannot swollow the soft gel then spilt it out and just take the oil lor.

Hi Gals...taking fish Oil..
My friend who has 3 kids told me... for the Fish Oil we MUST STOP taking during our last mth, after child birth we can continue again as during breast feeding the goodness of fish oil will also flow to baby.

But my friend cannot remember the reason, she was told by a nutritionist, think she attended some course but she forget the reason behind.
Just remember ok!

sleeping deer
heard calcium is "heaty", may constipate us.
As for Iron read from book will constipate us, if taking a separate iron tablet can consider spliting it up.
But Dr Ho never give me iron tablet, but I think he said iron is already in the multi vit.
try lotsa water, abt 2 litre a day to avoid constipation.

confused
me also very straight forward person...so sometimes I also can be very blunt :p
Oh like u said earlier, we cannot stop pple from gossiping behind or in front and God will have his way with them. Leave them to God to handle ;P
Good that your HB is siding you... so now just concentrate on bring up healthy and happy baby and happy family (exclude your MIL and SIL..) and just ignore them.
I'm surprise how come your MIL can be so harsh to her own grandchild... hopefully when bb is born, she will change her mind.

Congrats to all gals on your bb boy abd bb gal...

I hope my Hb change his mind during next visit to want to know BB gender :p
otherwise got to live in suspense...

I think from now on there are alot of things both Hb and wife need to agreee on and have common understanding becos bringing children cannot be 2 different view bo BB will be confuses on core values etc...
So even for knowing of bb gender... the decision should be made based on common understanding, so I decide already... if I cannot convince my Hb then I got to join him and agree with him decision...

Krissie,
so good, can feel bb moving already! Hope I can feel soon! Dr. Ho gave me these dark colour iron capsules. Actually, I started out fine, no conspitation, only lately, maybe cos i change the timing? Hee hee, my tummy is very funny, always acting up.

Mashy,
you are so right! We went window shopping for cots and strollers last week, my god, i nearly faint when I saw the prices, some more we getting 2 cots, one for mum's home, and one for my home. Strollers are also veri ex, one can go up to $900, I told my hubby that bb will have a lexus to sit in, while we can only afford a small car for ourselves hee hee.

Sing Yee,
my memory is also failing, sometimes do stupid things, like when washing dishes, can throw the washing sponge into the dustbin, aiyah... this is also the first time I hear can eat raw eggs leh, better check it out before you eat any...

Thanks Wenyl,
will try to pop by this weekend to check it out

Confused,
don't take it too hard, ILs are sometimes like that, and it is always a little tough to get along, as we have different family habits from them. Important thing is that as long as hubby supports you, then just turn a deaf ear towards them.

Babylon,
congrats! I also hoping for a boy, though my hubby keeps scolding me for bothering...

Last night I had a dream that we did the scan and it shows a girl, haha, must be thinking too much about it. Important thing is must be healthy hoh?

berlin

Do let us know how's the fit ok?

Cookie
I went swimsuit shopping yesterday, and i give up. Think i'll see whether berlin can fit into hers. If she can, then i'll order mine online lor.

Sleepingdeer
Wow! 2 cots going to cost u a bomb. Maybe u can buy 2nd hand. Or a playpen instead at your mum's place.

Mashy,
yep, was actually thinking of buying a play pen instead. Saw this nice one at Taka, looks like it can do for a cot as well, anyone know whether it is advisable? The mattress height is same as cot, elevated off the floor, and it comes with a changing station...

sleepingdeer

I think playpen's good only for the day. Can't be used for too long coz your bb will learn to crawl and it'll be too dangerous then. But if put at your mom's place if bb's just staying in the day, then not so bad and sleep in the playpen. Also help bb differentiate when it's time to play and when it's time to sleep.

Cot can last a longer time. Bb can sleep in it till toddler.

krissie, cookie n sleepingdeer - yalor! i learnt a lesson liao. juz that sometimes i feel angry cos i didnt poke them y they poke me. (Maybe MIL n SIL jealous lor)

cookie - ya! i m not surprise cos they dont treat my hubby as a son/brother liao how can they treat my bb well.

Gals - thanks for the support n listerning to my problem.

babylon,
congrats on knowing your baby's gender. so exciting. hope i can know mine soon so can buy things for bb.

confused,
try your very very best not to think too much abt them. must really learn to shut off from them. sometimes when i think too much abt problems, i will just shut off becos i dun wan to affect baby. or just find something to distract yourself. i will read magazines on baby..find something u enjoy doing.

wenyl,
thanks for checking it out. i think i will go and buy a swimsuit from funfit. not too ex also

sleepingdeer,
did u try john little? i heard from pple that john little cheaper. maybe can wait till when they have promo. cots and strollers really not cheap esp if u want to get a good one that can last.

yesterday i went john little and was so tempted to buy clothes for the bb. my colleague told me john little got a lot of nice cotton stuff. 3 for $8. quite good material also

agree with mashy brainz that playpen not so suitable for sleeping. my fren's sis got one and she has two kids. now my fren expecting, she told my fren dun get playpen. the mattress for playpen also very thin. she had to change the mattress separately.

Wendyl
Thanks. I think I saw that design before. hee hee.. wld prefer a 2 pc suit as I'm quite vain.

Cookie
Thanks for the advice on DHA suppl. Will try to rem, but maybe u can remind us again during our last tri.... hee hee... in case I forget.
Did Dr Ho give you a multi-vit? I dun have leh. Mine are folic, calcium, iron & Neurogain. So, 4 types of suppl daily.

sleeping deer
What's the brand of your iron? is it Sangobion? I'm taking that too..but, so far still manageable. maybe ask him to change it during your next visit.

I'm also thinking abt the playpen and cot issue.. so headache.. coz I dun want to spend so much on the cot as I need 2 also, one for my mum's place.

kriss
Ok.. if I remember by then... will remind all gals again

Dr Ho gave me multi-vit(Sangobion) inside contain Iron, Folic & other vit etc, calcium pills & Neurogain. I'm taking 3 types of supplement now.

Oh just read you taking sangobin...that's not only iron ley, read the box contain, it has 7 vit altogether.

For those taking Iron tablets, remember to take lots of water. It's not so much abt being constipated but the stool is really dry and it's quite trying in the toilet. Remember not to push too hard, will cause haemorroids (piles). That's painful!

I notice the change in stool quality once I started on Iron. As a result, I really take lots of water for fear of constipation. Been quite lucky so far.

I did my fair share of window shopping for cots/play pens and strollers before buying. So enjoy the window shopping. Can be quite fun

Hi Cookie/Krissie,
yah, I'm also taking Sangobin, so that's a multivitamin ah? My stools since taking the pills have been actually ok, just that change to greenish brown, something which I read is pretty normal. Just dun know why these few days am constipated.

Cookie, you think is the Calcium? Anyway, will drink more water and see how...

Mashy and SY,
thanks for the advise. like that chiam liao, imagine 2 playpens and 2 cots, haha, next time ready to have twins liao... I need a cot at my mum's place, coz I'm doing my confinement there, and after that, some nights bb will be staying over as well. And I do want to get a good one, definitely one which can convert to junior bed next time. Will check at John Little, thanks!

Krissie,
me and you having same problem
I saw cheap cots at Ikea, like $199, but I worry that they may not be well made, and may not last... hee hee, i also pretty vain, like the 2 piece swimsuit, the pink one pictured is very nice!

Sysa,
the problem is that my tummy is really sensitive. One day will be constipated, the next day will have diarrhoea. Even leaving the house for work, got to check my tummy's 'mood', my hubby used to it liao, hee hee. I am very fearful of constipation, I'd rather kana diarrhoea then constipation any day man...

Sleepingdeer
I also notice since I start the supplement, dunno which causes it... my stool become greenish, sometimes it's greenish dark brown and scare me ( oppss...am I too gross...sorry)
hmm.. but I drink alot of water during the day. I try to drink 2L per day and eat a few serving of fruits ...so far poo poo is ok infact more to watery...
I'm really scare of constipation...

Oh are you staying thru out at your mum's place during confinement?? if so... buy 1 playpen and cot first lor... when moving back to your own house then shift the playpen and cot over... like that will save $$$.
Buy 2 set very very expensive ley...
I went shopping abit for fun a few weeks back, All the price tag scare me!!
Anyway I'm hoping someone will pass me their playpen and cot!!...hahaha I have friends who has very young children, so hopefully they have stuff to pass me.

Cookie
So funny, he didn't give me Sangobion leh.. He gave me this horrible white iron tablet which tastes yucky. So, I changed to Sangobion which my polyclinic doc gave me. Ya, I saw that Sangobion has a few other vits, but the rest are not that critical. Maybe you can check with him if you need extra suppl. The Sangobion pill is only 1mg of folic, which seems a bit too little for preg mums. I take another 5mg folic suppl everyday.

Sleeping deer
Hmm.. did u change the calcium pills lately? I taking 2 pink round tablets everyday. So far, it's ok.

sysa
Maybe u try taking more fruits... Most of the days my stools are ok, only hard on weekends when I take lesser fruits, coz my colleagues take lots of fruits, so I usually eat at least 3 servings a day. I find that it helps a lot.
Of course, water also a must lah. How much is the cheapest cot which you've seen?

sleepingdeer, SY,
No prob! I work in Chinatown so it's convenient. But they have limited styles thou.

Krissie,
Me too. Prefer 2 pc like the ones in maternity mall but decide to wait till tummy bigger than consider ordering. In the meantime, i will still look ard if any shops in sg sells those 2pc.

Morning gals!

Cookie,
no worries, it is normal for the stools to be greenish dark brown, mine too.. Pity, all my friends who have kids are still using the baby items... so no hand me downs. Actually when we think about it, there's alot of stuff to get..! Bb will stay at my mum's place after confinement, but will come home with us near the weekends, so I can't seem to get out of getting two cots. Maybe get a ok one for mum's place, like the Ikea one, then get a good one for home...? See how it goes...

Krissie,
nope, have been using the same pink calciom pills since day 1. Talking about my sensitive tummy, today diarrhoea, coz yesterday ate spicy food..