(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Durianlover,
After trying the weighing machine that I have bought in carrefour, i think it is working very well. Got auto off somemore. Maybe u can consider lor =)

RE: Feed
Jamie also dun like milk nowadays. I cannot increase the amount. She is still stucked at 100ml. Seems like she is drinking the least in this thread. She poo every day but it seems that this few days her poo is very smooth toothpaste like..yellowish green. Not sure if she is teething.. Denmy..u got more experience..can share with us?

durianlover,
which pump u using? the last time i had half my left breast clogged, i used the avent manual pump without the rubber petal. it provides a stronger suction at the nipple area so it could unclog the blocks. u might wanna try this method.

CassCL,

cookie,
my gal cried so loudly at my mum's place jus now it scared my mum. all she wanna do is sleep..haiz..

421580.jpg

Dun steal my potato chips...

421581.jpg

Hmm...what is this strange spaceship doing here??

May
i also wondering whether my boy is teething. he really drools a lot and is fussier during feed...

ha, the photo of jamie is the seat so cute.

sori jus need to grumble abit here again...

last evening had to go hb's grandma's pl for dinner and since i need to express milk at 10pm, i tot we could go at 6plus then leave at 9plus. BUT for dunno wat reason, my MIL said gotta reach at 9plus! she says the food oni ready at 9plus. so i said ok wat, i eat quick quick then leave lor..she still insist we reach thr at 9plus. she told me to express my milk there! i looked at her in horror n said no way, i can't do that! so many people there and no spare room!

i dun understand y muz reach there so late! my baby sleeps at 9plus and she knows dat wat! so in the end, i express milk at 8plus, we left our place @ 9pm and reached there 9.30pm (punggol to bt panjang). stayed there till 11plus, had to send an aunt back, then reached home at 12mn. attack of Z monster liao! so fed up!

then tomor going PD at 11am, after that hb wanna go MIL's place for lunch. i told him ok, but need to be home by 2pm so i can express milk. he said cannot promise! i blew my top..wat u mean can't promise, wat kind of delay will there be at her place? it's jus lunch and go. very most dun go her place for lunch lah, jus go PD then come home! told him i'm not going to adjust my pump schedule again! dun wanna get clogs again!

Argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May,
I will make 120ml, Lucas will always drink about 90ml and the rest of 30ml drink about half an hour later, sometimes not at all. How many feeds does Jamie take a day? Mine only 6 feeds now and sometimes doesn't finish all 120ml. I think the poo color is due to their digestion... eg. dark green is when iron and whey protein get passed out, so says my PD. You can try calling your PD to ask or the milk company. But I think pasty yellow-green like you mentioned is very normal.

Re: Drinking water
Do you feed your bbs water? How much?
When Lucas was NB he loves water but we limit it for fear that it will interfere with feed. Now he doesn't seem to like it as much, and we hardly feed him anymore. Wonder how to introduce it to him again when he starts on semi-solids...

tracy
can fully understand how u feel. sometimes hb just dun understand how hard we try to give bb the best and in doing so, we get clogs etc. it's not as if they dunno that the interval cannot be too long between pumps but they just not much help in keeping to the schedule. me and hb also have the same argument. MIL place no room to pump but we always have to go there late cos she reach home late and then cannot leave too early so by the time i reach home to pump, the interval can be more than 6 hours. i just unclog so very unwilling to let the interval stretch too long.

they just dun understand!

May,
Haha... Jamie looks really adorable staring at the spaceship.

sl,
It'll be tough to take care of bb on your own for so many days. When stressed, take a deep breathe and recharge!
Me no diff if hb is around or not. He doesn't even feed bb during the day, not to mention night feeds. As Lucas is fussy during feeds and makes lots of noises, he says I'm force-feeding him... I think my maid is much better in helping me ease the load.

Tracy,
Haha... I will have to screen his phone calls... maybe i will end up becoming a nasty MIL... keke

Did the slimming gel and oil work? I asked Dr Soong b4, but can only use it when I stop BFing.

Sysac, Cookie, Krissie
re: Chor bi
Sysac, did you post a pic of the Chor Bi here b4? I saw it at NTUC Tampines today. My mum says si sen in the chor bi is very "han2", super "liang2" already. Shouldn't give to BB under 1 year old... but Cephas has been taking it, so I guess it's ok right?

re: constipation in BF bbs
Mum went to get gripe water and the person at the chinese medical hall said gripe water helps digestion and if bb is on BM, not neccesary to give gripe water. She suggested that mummy is too "heaty" liao, and it passes down to bb via BM. So mummies should drink more "liang2 cha2".

re: insurance plan
I bought AIA Pink for Life plan for everyone in the family. Renewable yearly. But I have yet to, and dunno how to use it...cos didn't admit to hospital. Anyone knows if it's of any good. Or is there a better plan out there?

Durianlover,
Thanks! Btw, dun think I'll get the BM from you liao. Thanks for offering anyway. I'll try to latch Keenan on more and see BM will increase. I have a few packs of frozen BM from last month but Keenan doesn't like it. He prefers freshly expressed ones... I even try to mix chilled and frozen BM together, he still rejects it. He will drink and make noise, like complaining, at the same time, and end up not finishing the feed.

Cass,
so excited for you.
re: maid
Can check with the maid agency or British High Com to see if you can bring maid over to London. Coincidentally, I was discussing this with a fren who is planning to go Australia and she said should be ok. For eg, when a student goes to UK to study, her mum can actually goes with her but have to prove to the authorities tt they have sufficient funds to sustain her education, as well as both mum and daughter's daily expenses there. And SY is correct: the NHS system there is not as good as Singapore, even though it's free. I had my 1st son there and didn't really know what was happening. Just went thru' my whole pregnancy and birthing, even bringing up bb, in a blurr... until i had my 2nd boy in S'pore. My whole experience here is much more informative, got better support and much happier. Maybe also becos this time round, it's my 2nd prenancy...

SY, Cindy, Cookie,
Keenan also cry very little, but when he does cry, it's also very fierce. I think they start showing us their true colours liao...

May,
No la... I also learning new things everyday from you gals.

Jamie look so blissful in her walker. Where did you get it from? She can sit upright for long already?

God child.

Baby refuse milk
I am facing the same problem as youcan only feed him when he is sleeping but not every time was successful.
I think that it is a challenge to me to finish feeding the mil.
How much milk is your bb drinking each time. My was 4oz only..still using the small bottle.
I find it harder to feed him in the day. Sometime I even use spoon to feed him or otherwise mixed the milk with cereal.
I envy those mother that bb was drink wellunlike my bb..

I think I had overstress myself coz my bb not drinking..i cant even have a proper sleepkeep thinking that my bb did not drink much today..
Make it a point to wake up in the middle of the nite to feed him coz it is easier to feed him when he is sleeping.
He is a light sleeper in the daz..a bit of noise, he will wake up.

Denmy,
actually I remember watching child of our Time and the show was saying that the character display by your child before 1 years old is not accurate. after 1 years old, they will show their true colours. so some mothers get a very cranky and fierce baby but after 1 year old, the behaviour may becomes milder.

Denmy,
how come can only use the slimming gel n oil after stopping BF?? i not sure whether it works, can't really tell if the tightening of my tummy is due to the gel or my binder.

when i return to work after 2mths, i could wear back some of my size '5' skirts tho still abit tight at butt area. now butt area slim down, waist still not ideal.

babylon,
dun overstress urself over ur baby's feeding to the extend of losing sleep! if he is putting on weight and pee and poo well, dun worry about it.

cindy,
i seldom give my gal water. she doesnt like to drink unless she has been crying then she will take about 20ml of water when we give her.

going PD later, looking forward to checking her weight n height but not sure if wanna take 2nd dose of rotavirus. got list of questions for PD:

why baby head not smooth at the back? why got sweaty palms n feet? can introduce juices now? how long a period can we let baby sit upright with support eg bumbo seater?

update u all on his answers later!

CassCL,

Your HB is excited? That's good!
My HB turns pale at the thought of having a 2nd one so soon.

Re. solids
So do we start off with brown rice first or cereals? Any mumies want to do a BP on brown rice?

May,
No worries now, Jamie looks really sweet. Doesn't look like a boy.

Re. baby refusing milk
My Isaac is the exact opposite. He wants to latch like every 1 plus to 2 hours! But he doesn't drink a lot each time... sigh. MY MIL says bottles feed can last about 2.5 to 3 hours. But when I latch him on during weekends, he wants to eat almost every 2 hourly.

Also nowadays, he's sucking his fingers a lot and always want to put things into his mouth. Is it a sign of teething?

wah, took me half an hour to finish reading all the posts!

Re:crying
seems like most of the mummies are facing this problem, me too... baby was screaming the whole of yesterday when we tried to put her down to sleep, super super cranky, hmmm, reminds me of my MIL... haha!

Anyway, we surmissed that it is because she just had not enough sleep coz we have been bringing her out everyday over the long weekend, and by Sunday, the poor thing is just too tired to sleep... so sometimes, I think it's true that bbs will cry very loudly coz all they wanna do is sleep, and they can't...

May,
Jamie look so cut hanging on to her potato chips...

Denmy,
Jia You on BF! Dun worry so much about your MS, am sure that as long as you latch Keenan on, it will help to increase the MS...

Tracy,
the men just dun understand how important it is for us to express milk on time... shoudl tell your hubby if he cannot promise, you will leave on time with or without him, haha.

Durianlover and Connz,
just saw your emails, will try to contact the bumbo lady today and let her know... will update you ladies as soon as I get answer from her...

anyone started on cereal for bb? or let them drink juices? i bought the heinz apple juice and also the first bite cereal that is suitable for bb 4-6 months.. can i let bb tk huh cos my boy just pass his 4 months last Friday? izzit too early for bb to tk lei... any advise?

Cindy,
She is having 6 feeds also but additional 1 more in her dreams...

Denmy,
It is a 2-in-1 walker, a gift from a relative. Think they bought from Baby Hyperstore. $49.90. Now she cannot reach the floor yet. So she is sitting as a rocker (with wheels up). She cannot sit too straight yet..must have support. so we stuffed small pillow in front.

Tracy,
I am on leave today..bringing Jamie for her jab too. But going to the GP.

may,
i think i'll try to get the weighing machine from carrefour but recently no time to go down to shop. Weekend i was down with fever for 2 days...ended up sleeping most of my time away!

tracy,
i use Avent manual pump. Never tried it without the rubber petal before. But pumps don't work on me. i have to pump while feeding baby if not i can't get any letdown. Terrible huh!

denmy,
glad for you that you're trying to persevere on in bfding! i think it's better also not to get extra BM supplies, so it'll motivate u to produce more milk on ur own

dear mummies,
really strange. After i posted about how to make baby sleep thru the nite, my gal amazingly slept thru the nite last nite! from 9:30pm to 7am! This is the 2nd time she managed to do so (1st time was some weeks back). Well perhaps it's a coincidence. But i also end up with clogged ducts and engorgement.

Good Morning mummies...

HAPPY (BELATED) MOTHERS DAY TOO!! Did anyone here have any special celebration to commemorate our FIRST Mother's DAY?? I was secretly hoping my HB would do something special for me... no need buy expensive gifts la maybe just a simple Card or Loving foot massage , etc... but I remained HOPING for the whole day... when i finally cannot stand it any longer I asked him what day is it today (yesterday)?? HE said Sunday... I asked "AND??" He said Mother's Day... then I asked why never even say HAPPY MOTHER"S DAY to me... He said "oh that's supposed to be BABY say one mah..." FAINT!!! MEN!!!

Re Mothers Day...
Oh i had to add this... I even had to request for HB to take a photo of me & baby for momento... he still can say aiya later lah... I told him NOW... coz if later BB cranky dun wan to take photo I'll blame him!! Just like on my birthday... She started cranky before i could take any pictures so end up no photo for my FIRST birthday with Baby.. = (

Re Baby Crying B4 sleep
Ashley was also literally screaming her lungs off last night before sleep... lasted almost 1 hr, refused milk, refused latch on, refused her choot choot... I was just SOOOOO THANKFUL my MIL was not at home otherwise I'll have her hovering over me while I try to calm BB down... Seems like some of you are experiendcing this as well oh?? So Ashley's normal then... but still my heart aches so much when i see her screaming n crying like that... so scared her eyes will be swollen or hurt her lungs, etc etc = (

seems like babies all go thru a phase. so many crying babies recently!

denmy,
u had your first kid in UK? my fren told me it's really terrible. they only do one scan and if u dun see the gender of the baby, u will have to wait till the birth itself. and he said they dun deliver u until u r 4 cm dilated so his poor wife was at home in pain for a week and she was bleeding too. sounds so scary.

clare,
no special celebration. just dinner on fri. yesterday was my first year annivesary (traditional wedding) not much of celebration too...

brown rice

We should start on rice cereal first then brown rice coz rice cereal is easier to digest and not so heaty..

RE:bb

my bb so different.. he loves to go out .. especially when notice that his daddy is not working , he will want to go out.. if not will start to be cranky..

RE : Feeding
Hai....my baby not feeding well too. He was okay couple of days ago, waking very 4hrs for milk and cld finish all. Although tiring for me, but at least he's drinking. However, yesterday, he's completely noyt interested, drank at 9.30pm and slept till 6am and only take in 110ml out of the 150ml. Waiting to do the MCU and hopefully no problem.

RE : Accident
Accidentally scalded my boy's foot while pouring hot water for bath. He cried like mad!!! I panick and kept apologising to him. Yelled for my hub and he took his own sweet time to come and rescue me. All he did was stand there and talk to him while I'm away getting the clothes. Din even help me to dry him and let him cry naked in his towel. Felt so bad. All red but luckily no blister.

RE : Weight
Do a quick check. How heavy are your babies at 4months? Mine 6.4kg.

oh dear Y, thankfully no blisters man..
sometimes i oso very scared such things will happen, so usually i will prepare the water in advance then carry bb in.

weight
i guess my son is about 10kg.

Sept03Bride,
Are you serious?? Your baby's 10kg?? Must be a big load for u to carry!

Y,
wow thank God your baby's ok. Poor baby. Whenever i accidently make my baby angry or unhappy i also always apologise to her. haha.
My baby is 6.36kg at nearly 4months (7 days short of 4months).

My gal is on a poo strike yet again!!! She hasn't poo-ed for 3 days already. Arrggghhh...been giving her gripe water everyday but doesn't work. Looks like she's gonna do her super major messy poo again soon. *dread* not looking forward to it!

RE : Weight
10kg!!! That's a real workout when carrying him. Must be really chubby...

Durianlover,
I think there's some massage to help bb poo. Tried before? My sis tried on her 5yr old boy, works.

krissie
Ariene also regurgitate on the bumbo if I put her in it after a feed. Otherwise, she loves the bumbo, except, nowadays, she always try to lean forward and lick the bumbo.. she licks and sucks everythng she can lay her fingers on. Clothes, hands, my hand, toys, teddy bear, blanket, pillow,, everything..

Growth spurt and weight
I think Ariene was going thru a growth spurt last week. LAst night, she slept thru from 9pm to 6.30am cuz I woke her up to feed her before I go to work. Weighed her yesterday and found that she has suddenly put on 300g to 6.3kg, 63cm in just 4 days!

Denmy
The number I got is different leh.. 63941406. This was the number she used to call me and she answered my call from this number also. But, as long as it gets to Yen Ping, doesn't matter wad number u call la. I gave birth at Gleneagles and I was charged $50+GST.

weighing machine
I bought a German brand (Scheidler or something, cant remem how to spell it) digital weighing machine with up to 0.1kg accuracy from HOmefix for $50+. Its the same brand as the one I saw at my PD and its very easy to use and reliable. Saw a cheaper $19.90 one from guardian but I didnt buy dat one as it seems quite flimsy and my hubby dun trust taiwanese products.

Cass,

Mashy,
Jiayou on the lact-aid. Don't give up ok?

re: crying bb
mine been at it these few days, not sure whether is it due to this long weekend me n hb keep playing w him. so ended up he got over sitmulated?? always heard those older folk said dont play too much or else they will keep crying in the night....

Y, know how you felt. i oso keep saying sorry sorry when i once cut his flesh when trimming his nails.. nearly cry w him

re: accident
mine nearly got it! that silly daddy of his place him on the sofa with 2 pillow stack behide him! my boy learn forward and nearly fall of the sofa... lucky hb catch him in time...phew... if not... think he will head first to touch the floor....faint

hi durianlover and Y,
10kg is not very accurate. This weight was derived when my hubbie weigh himself with the baby and without the baby. The difference is abt 10kg, so we suspect bb is abt 10kg.
Yah, quite strenous to carry him. But luckily I'm very big sized, so still manageable

jus back from PD. baby n hubby both sleeping. my gal decided to poo on my hubby jus when we were abt to enter the doc's room
so had to miss her turn to clean her up first.

she's now 6.5kg (only gain 400g since last chk a mth ago) and 68cm. okie, here's wat my PD said:

re:sweaty palms & feet
kids below 1yr tend to ve this, as majority of the sweat glands are found there n on the head. so its their way of losing the heat from their body, which is good. so no worries!

re: juices
not as nutritious as milk, better to stick to milk. if u wanna give fruits, give smashed up ones beta than jus the juice.

re: uneven back of head
PD felt my gal's head which had a bludge at the back. he said its the bone structure. the bones are still soft, so it is still moulding itself.

re: rice cereal
my PD recommends me to start on rice cereal for my gal as her weight gain is slowing down and her mouth movements show she is keen to start on semi-solids. he said to stick to rice-based cereal n dun intro other stuff first to avoid allergies. he said can also try spoon feed her cereal in the afternoon in addition to mixing cereal in milk.

re: rotavirus 2nd dose
i took the 2nd dose with his assurance. she kept spitting the med out while PD feed her. he kept laughing while i kept telling her dun spit out, its ex!

Accident

accident happen every now and then therefore we really have to be careful.

Y, my god.. you hb just stand there? if I were there I would have scream off his head..

Sept03,

WOW your bb is bigger that sumo.. sumo was 8.7 kg when we brought him for jab at four months

Y,
that was scary..thank god he's ok.

Sept03,
10kg?? ur baby doesnt look so heavy in ur pic. maybe heavy bones?

rachel,
u've got mail!

durianlover,
my gal has irregular poo schedule too, dunno y. sometimes can hold up to 4days, sometimes everyday. so strange

Y,
lucky your boy not hurt badly. so heart pain right..sometimes really feel like screaming at hb when they just stand and do nothing to help.

think my boy is 7+kg already at 4 months. at 12 weeks, he was 6.8kg. really chubby now. i m quite small sized and carry until pain.

Durianlover,
mine also no poo everyday. but he looks so cute hwen he poos. just that it really stinks!

tracy
how does your PD gauge that your gal is ready for semi solids?

my boy keeps rejecting BM....sob sob.

e:avent pump
for those who experiencing poor suction of the pump due to the loose rubber petal, i called avent, the gal said 3mths is about the time to change the petal. can order from them at $20, it includes the petal, 2 valves and 1 handle. they dun sell the petal alone. i feel should give the other rubber part instead of handle.

jus send a cheque made to "cannon avent (S) Pte Ltd" n indicate ur name, add, tel n ur order of the 'let down massage cushion' pack.

Y

Better be more careful with hot water. I remember when I was a child, a neighbour was playing near a stove with boiling kettle. He knocked into it, got scalded. I still remembered seeing him walk to the ambulance, crying in pain. Well, that's the last I saw of him. I heard he didn't recover from the burns.

Thank God your bb is alright. Like what Sept03 Bride, I also prepare the water and make sure water temperature is alright first before i bring him near the tub. Think you should also do that.

Sept03 Bride
Wow, 10kg! I think my PD told me that my boy is supposed to put on till 8.8kg for the whole of his first year.

SY,
he recommended to intro semi solids based on the following factors:
1) her weight gain has slowed down - she only gained 400g in a mth.
2) her mouth movements - she keeps making those chewing movements

i asked abt allergies, he said yes, introducing semi solids increases risk of allergies, but stick to rice-based cereal only and nothing else is ok. intro cereal mixed with EBM during her normal milk feeds, then afternoon spoon feed her some cereal too.

re: advent pump,
I am not using the petal. I was using medela pump during office hrs and the advent pump at home but I find the petal very troublesome and since medela pump also dun have the petal, quite used to not using the petal. the petal is good when have engorgement.

re: baby weight
my baby is 6.15kg at 4 months and 4 days. luckily she doubled her weight in 4 months. now the next target is to triple her weight by 1 year old, 8.55kg should be quite achievable.

tracy,
thanks for the info on avent pump. Yes agree with you - it's actually quite silly to pack the petal with the handle since the handle hardly spoils!

SY,
seems like your baby is putting on good weight! i remember him being quite small initially and he's now 7kg+? heavier than my gal who was so much bigger than ur baby at birth! my gal's only 6.36kg.
Regarding baby rejecting BM, would it help if u feed him BM before feeding FM?

Actually it's really strange. From the weight of all your babies, my gal doesn't seem that big after all. But EVERYONE who sees her says she's very big for her age! Usually they guess that she's 6months old. Someone even said she looks like a 1-year old!! So i'm quite puzzled. Perhaps she has big head so she looks big i suppose?!

RE : Accident
Well, i will get water ready before bringing him. But sometimes he takes very long to poo(I'll try to poo him before bath, take off diaper and make the "poo" sound). As the water gets too cold, i tried to add some hot water. Urgh!!! Too freak over him catching cold.

RE : Hubby
Indeed. Screamed at him for not dressing him up! Man simply needs to be instructed at everything!!! Told him I hurt my wrist while carrying bb and getting hot water to heat milk. He also never offer help when seeing me change the bedsheets and hanging the laundry. Definitely not going to hv a second one.

RE : Semi-solid
I'm thinking too. I find my boy a little too small at 6.4kg. Will check wif my PD.

Hi Tracy, SY,
Wow you gals are experiencing the same thing as me. The past few weeks were a big challenge for me. Aaron had a major jump in milestones this month after he turned 4 months old. After his 4 months vaccination jab, he started to sit up by himself and refuse to drink milk! He used to drink 150ml happily, now he can only drink 80ml. It is so frustrating! He would rather chew his hand than drink milk. He drools alot too. He is very distracted just before his milk feed and I would play "moving the teat in his mouth" game. Then when he finally drinks his milk, he will only finish half of what I prepared for him. If I attempt to coax him to drink somemore, he will shake the teat away and squirm in my lap, using his feet to lift his body away from me.

Every weekday morning, we would bring him to my MIL place. This morning after the "half feed", Aaron was playing happily on his cot, chatting with the colourful mobile animals. As I lifted Aaron from his cot and placed him on my lap, he gave me the "not again!" look. I think he has phobia of me!

Tonight I'll be bringing him to see the PD, check if he's teething or if ready to start on semi-solids.

Hi Tracy,
You mentioned your PD say intro cereals in EBM during normal milk feeds. But how does the cereal pass thru the teat?

I'm really ignorant about all these semi-solids thingee. My fren told me can use frisocrem.

re: crying babies

my gal can sleep quite well thru the night. It's just that she has to cry before sleeping. If she's not screaming her head off, she must at least eh eh a quite sounds before sleeping.

rachel,

i also cut my gal's finger before while cutting her nails. She didn't cry but I panicked when i see the blood coming out.... so scary

re: dylan & megan's first date
my gal was more interested in rachel. kept talking to her! my gal likes pretty girls with long hair.

jus now at PD's, one aunty talk to her and she smiled. then the aunty said,'wat a good-natured boy!' faintz...and my gal was wearing pink!

here's me n my gal. check out her hip-hop hat

421914.jpg

weight:
not confirmed if bb is really 10kg, can only confirm after our appt with PD this Sat. Like what tracy said, maybe his bones is heavy.

Mashy,
ur PD say bb supposed to put on to 8.8kg? do u know hw the PD derive this? My bb was 7kg at 3 months, i'm afraid that BB will be obese next time

java,
good question. i didnt tink of dat. any mummies who started on cereal in milk can advise? do we use the variable flow teat? i have the avent variable flow.

i'm also considering frisocrem. going to supermart tomor to read the label first b4 buying.

re: water
my gal don't drink water on a daily basis. her PD says not necessary since BM also contain water. but water will be quite impt once they start on solids. I plan to make her drink some water daily to cultivate the habit of drinking water. any babies drink water frequently? or like drinking water?

durianlover,

no lah, my hubby doesn't help with night feeds cos I can just latch her on. Actually, there isn't much to do at night since my gal can sleep quite well at night. It's just that psychologically, I feel better cos if i need help, got one more person ard mah. But last night was quite okay.

cindy,