(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy/wenyl
the eye doctor did mention that those pregnant and breastfeeding cannot do Lasik as the
changes can cause refractory error

i think it's good that i do this procedure now before trying again for #2

One of the parents told me that P1student has to score at least 85% so that they will be able to catch up when come to P3. This is the time to build their foundation.

BP
your disappointment will affect your son. He does not need that now. Just ask if he has tried his best. If no, lets try harder next year.

one is answerable to himself not to his peers, class or anything. I oso told my gal result is for her own path not mine. If she does not care nobody can help her.

I told her I took leave to coach her because I am just doing my part as a mother to give her support.

Mashy/mamachan,
Yes, pregnant n early stage of bfeeding cannot do lasik.

Mashy,
Yup 1st 3mths. Sleepingdeer went for her lasik with Dr Theng few mths back and she now still bfeeding her #2 le.

I was debating with myself to go or not to go again because I scare later "lao hua" will be visiting me soon due to age.

Coincidentally my office organised a eye specialist to give us a talk. Ha ha I finally decided to wait when I have cataract. Ha ha so once the operation is done, i will choose the lense for both long and short sighted so I dun have to worry.

Plus cataract you can use medisave and heavily subsidised till 80%

On a lighter note abt careless mistakes. My cousin used to foget used full stops for her daily work in Pri 1. In order to remind her for her exams, her mum used a red pen & drew a small circle on her hand. So when she did her exams and looked at her hand, she rem her full stops!

BP - I think 87% is good;. U shd reward him despite the disppointment & encourage him to do well next year. Have a good & safe trip to Germany! Take care!

Finally get to log in after resting. I'm so happy to finally have clear vision without the aid of spectacles and contact lenses
After sleeping it off last night, the discomfort is all gone. Vision is still slightly hazy but I've been told that it gets better over the next week or so.

Cataract
I've not done much reading about this. Do everyone get it at some point in time in old age?

Mashy, Mamachan
as per the eye specialist. Everyone gets it. It is a matter of time. Usually our parents or grandparents wait till vision is totally blocked before doing it.

She says once detected can do it already. So she recommend us to do annual eye check from age 40.

Chic Lil
Oic...hmmm, my hb also contemplating to do LASIK... but he's got 4 years more before reaching 40 :p but he doesn't have astigmitism like me so his contact lenses and specs are cheaper. LOL.

Off-diapers fully
Are any of your pre-schoolers completely off diapers even at night? we're trying to "toilet-train" D for the night portion now...especially when we ask him if he wants to wear diapers to sleep or underwear, he opted for underwear. We've been diligently waking him twice a night to make him pee.

How bout you? What's your experience to share?

mamachan

my hb is too lazy to wake him up to pee at night. He said he rather get more sleep and continue to put him in diapers than to wake up. He said my boy will 'train' himself eventually. sigh. He's off diapers in the day though.

mashy
I see... my boy is also off diapers in the day too... and poo-trained. The night one is more challenging. I've read and understand from some of the mommies here that when they start waking up with dry diapers, means they are ready. My boy is a water tank! Most mornings he wakes up with a very heavy diaper. Only occasionally with dry diaper which is quite rare!

I'm thankful that I'm staying at my mom's place while we transition to our new place and she is pro waking him up to bring him to the toilet in his sleepy state to pee. Coz that's how she trained me when I was younger too. Just hope that effectively as time goes on, we need to only wake him up once at night on weekdays... maybe twice on Fri/Sat nights so that he can sleep in longer.

Hi Mamachan

Megan has been off diapers more than a year ago.

We didn't deliberately train her. We just noted that she woke up with dry diapers, we observed for a week and took our chances. So far only missed twice. Otherwise she will wake me up when she needs to go to the toilet in the middle of the night.

Guess maybe she is a light sleeper........Good and bad cos she wakes up easily!

diaper training
A has been off diaper since beginning of the year. What I did was firstly, to get her comfortable with her personnal potty and train her how to clear up after peeing. Every night, I would place the potty at the foot of her bed so that she can reach it easily at night in the dark (we don't switch on any night lights). I didn't wait for her to wake up with dry diapers as I knew that as long as she sleeps with diapers, she'll conveniently pee in the diaper, not that she cannot hold.

Initially, I would wake her up before I sleep (abt 12mn) to get her to go to the potty cuz on those 2 nights she refused to wake up, she wet her bed. After about 2 weeks, she woke up on her own to pee in the potty without me having to wake her up. The first few times she woke up on her own, she literally ran to the potty and wetted her pants alittle but, just keep being encouraging and don't put them down. After a few times, it'll be better.

All in all, she only wetted the bed twice during the whole process, which I considered myself very lucky that everything was so smooth and fast.

As for sleeping with water bottle, A sleeps with her water bottle as well as she's capable of going to the potty on her own so I had no issues with letting her drink water when she's thirsty at night while sleeping.

Mamapanda and Yuki
Thanks for sharing. My boy is a very deep sleeper! Initially we had a hard time convincing him to go to the toilet at 2am but now he's more receptive but since we carried him to the toilet, his eyes are still closed and he could sleep standing and peeing. LOL.

We have to wake him up at least twice (1 or 2am and 5 plus am) if not by 7am, he would definitely wet the bed!

So far we've had 2 misses since we started 1.5 weeks ago. Sometimes he's so wet he's still oblivious that he's wet! This shows what a sound sleeper he can be.

And he says 'No' to wearing diapers altogether now... which leaves me with a newly opened pack of XXL MamyPoko diapers!

Sorry to interrupt...

Helping a fren out...

Do log-in to see see look look ...

you can find custom design on glasses @ urbanwerkz.blogspot.com

Any design also can... Jus buzz him...

hi mummies...last week was horrible! hb is in reservist(even as i wrote) and C was admitted to KKH for chest infection. discharged last thurs(phew! as i had problem sleeping) and we were back in kkh on sat for A&E as J got the virus from C. now J is still nursing a high fever. it was so tiring...fortunately my mum and sis are able to help me out. hopefully this nightmare will go away soon as C has a graduation concert this wed and he is starring as an elephant in the lion king while he proudly sing to the tune "circle of life". haha...looking so fwd to wed. mama here is gg to be so proud of my boy! *sniff sniff*

on a lighter note, i got an interview tmr noon
and the co is located in tampines. haha...pray that i get the job! pls pray for me...

mamchan - c has been off diaper since early this yr i think. we just test water and of cos first few days, accidents did happen. now C even go toilet and pee himself without bothering us. we will then do the flushing later. only thing is poo poo, he is still on diaper. who did for your lasik in nuh? tell ur hb to go ahead. my hb did it before me. hee...and we never once regret it. it helps alot when you are travelling esp and also when ya staying in hospital. haiz!

SSF
It was Dr Lennard Thean who did the procedure for me. Nice man. Very matter-of-factly and confident sounding. So far so good. My vision is pretty clear now and even at night! Not blurry or anything like that. Except for the glare from the street lights and traffic at night. So far I've avoided driving for the time being but seems like I would be driving soon.

Now my eyes feels a little dry as though I've been wearing my contact lenses for long hours!

All the best for your job interview! I sincerely hope you do get it so as to shorten your travel time! Time is precious to be spent with our family!

Hope C and J will recover soon! Must be quite scary that they had to be hospitalized.

I just attended D's school concert just last Sunday. Am so proud of him! He did well in his small part for the Chinese item as well as the rest of the English items. Impressive that his whole class recited a memory verse from Colossians on obeying your parents in all things. LOL.

mamachan- high 5! Dr Thean did for me and hb too! continue to put eye drops. after a couple of mths..it shld be fine. ya praying that J gets well soon.

ssf
all the best for your interview. and hope your kids get well soon.

mamachan
my gal was fully toilet trained early this year. before that, her diaper was so heavy that we didn't even dare to try. at first, we would wake her up when we were going to bed at around 11pm. then middle of the night we won't wake her up 'cos she would be very cranky if she's waken up middle of the night and partly also due to our laziness. hehe..
she's super duper deep sleeper, imagine my boy sleeping beside her, crying loudly for more than 10 minutes, she still can sleep soundly...
initially there were 'accidents', she wets her bed like 2 times in a week. but we just put the water proof sheet. Now she is able to wake up herself to go to her potty to pee. we put her potty near her bed. and sometimes she can even drink a big glass of milk before bed, and won't wake up in the middle of the night le.
all the best.

sunny
oooh I see. Would the water proof sheet be too warm for them to sleep on? That's my concern too as my boy tends to sweat easily and gets warm and itchy all over. I did think to invest in a couple of water proof sheets too so that the mattress don't get too much urine seeped into it.

We are still waking him up 2 times a night to go the toilet. Hoping that we could reduce it to once a night.

Isaac has gone totally diaperless for about 2 months already. Didn't really have to train much.... he can now go to the toilet to pee, flush and wash his hands on his own. Only for poo, we have to put on the child seat on the toilet bowl for him. When we found that his night diapers were dry in the morning, we got him to pee immediately after he wakes up and did this for about 1 week. Then we let him go diaperless. Now he will auto go to the toilet himself (or sometimes announce that he wants to pee) whenever he wakes up.
No accidents so far.

Re. waterproof sheets
I bought single-size waterproof mattress protector from the BP thread instead. Not bad, thin and good protection for the mattress.

Queen/Mashy
Thanks for sharing. I will go look for the waterproof mattress protector for the bed. Looks like I might have to "suffer" a few more accidents.

Lots of changes for our pre-schoolers this year! I know I've converted D to drink milk from a cup (those coffee "thermos" cup) from the milk bottle from beginning of the year, to having him off-diapers in the day time and then now toilet training him for the night time. He now stopped sleeping with the guard rail at the side of the bed too!

Time really flies! And most of you here have #2 too

Mamachan,
I tried to get Isaac to drink from the cup too! But he refused. He can drink everything else from a cup, except milk. Isaac has been sleepign on his own on his single size bed for about 2 months. I was also concerned about him falling off the bed, but so far, no such accident. So no side rails for him.
Yah, time really flies right! My #2 is now 7+ months and it seems like just yesterday when #1 was borned!

mamachan

my boy still prefers to drink with straw though he has not touched a milk bottle since he was 2.5yrs old. That day he tried to drink from his mei mei milk bottle when she couldn't finish her milk but he has forgotten how to use it already. Asked him if he wants pacifier, he refused and said it's for babies.
Coz he's still so small, that day went to get chocolate pediasure (prepacked bottle) for him to try. Heck with allergy liao. He likes it very much.

Something funny:
Last night my hb called out to him 'Baby, come here'. He said, 'I'm not Baby. I'm Caeden.' Hahaha.

mashy
oohhh, that's good to know that C is on Pediasure. Any symptoms of allergy as yet? He normally breaks out in rashes?

Drinking from cup
The cup I gave him is more like those nice coffee "thermos" cup with a small hole for you to sip the drink from... I told him it's the Einstein cup and the Little Einsteins drink from the special cup (He's very into little Einstein). In the beginning stages he was still quite reluctant and we had to play "games" like how much more to go, etc etc and I would unscrew the cap of the cup for him to see and put it back on for him to finish up the milk.

Now, he finishes his milk in less than 5-7 min!!!

Queen/Mashy
So fast your little bubs have grown! Amazing! I think we're gonna wait till we move into our new place before TTC. Ultimately and effectively, I'm the one "moving" house... to unpack and pack and arrange for the move, etc etc. LOL.

mamachan

i haven't checked. haha. this mummy don't wanna know too much. :p Even if have, at least not the hives type. Ya, he usually gets rashes with milk. Will see how it goes. Need to fatten him up before we see the doctor for review in Feb.

mashy
It's a good sign that he loves his Pediasure. Hope he gets fatten up too
But if he's mainly asymptomatic then it's good bah. Maybe "outgrow" his allergies le?

Jamie had gone diaperless for quite sometime. Night time so far only got 2 accidents. Consider not bad for her already. But cannot wake her up at night, she will tell u no urine. If carry her to the toilet, she will pass urine. So I usually will wake up once to bring her to toilet.

Queen,
Ya.. fast hor. Jazmyn turns 8mths liao. Recently abit cranky cos teething. Got 4 teeth still growing (visible), think number 5 coming out soon cos she keep biting the side of the gums.

mamachan
dylan oso is a deep sleeper and if we ever disturb him from his sleep in the night, he'll whine and complain =p there were once i woke him up, he walked with his eye close from his bed, to toilet and back to his bed. lol

dylan was diaperless initially, but as the weather turns cold, he at some nights couldnt hold his pee till he wake up in the morning. so now, most nights his diaper is dry. daytime is totally off.

re: #2
very fast hor, mine turning ONE in less than 2 months time.

mamachan
same as queen, i bought the waterproof sheet from BP. thin and quite comfy. my gal who's like your boy, easily perspire type, didn't complain about it.

<font color="FF3399">hello mummies
No time no see and no read...hehehe.. I MIA for so long.
SOmehow tonight I'm awake cos most night by now I would have knock out with the kids :p
it's nice to see this thread so lively as ever and seeing all the familiar nick

How is everybody? I'm very busy with the kids (as expected) plus work is getting more hectic and need to travel every month since sept till now and moving fwd so a bit sian but on the whole.. it's fine and My #3 already turn 1!!! time really flies.

I was speed reading the previous post...so...

mamachan
congrats on your new found vision hehehe...
I did mine with Dr Theng too and so far so good.

chickenlittle
I also want to ask.. what if cataract thing set in 60s.. then do together?heehee..

Re: Child academic stress
Wow I read a little up there.. seems already have academic stress? while I'm not so much of beefing kae up for academic but when I read about other kiasu parents I get the anxiety too...

Re: Toilet training
kae is perfectly good when she is awake, pee and poo trained, Thank God So far no accident.
But the night!! I not so ready to try.. she is also super duper deep sleeper and her diaper also super heavy...I think ONLY 1 nite it was dry dunno what happen that nite, no pee...
maybe I should just try her off diaper??

I also bought the waterproof mattress protector from BP...thought buying another 1 as spare cos Kae sometimes will vomit when she was unwell *faintz**

On brighter note.. K2 is also more or less toilet train. COnsidering K1 and K2, K2 seems easier to "train", there are occassion his diaper are dry...
but there are also days he seems to forget about toilet training..haizz...

May Queen and Rachel... and.. Mashy?.. who else?
Maybe we can bring our younger bb out to play for a while ya...since they seems close in age.

SSF
How did C contacted with chest infection? Sound serious to me. Thank God he is fine now. Poor J... scary part is they tend to pass to each other so will heartache and tired 2 times.. </font>

does the protector sheet comes with plastic material?? cos i bought those 100% cloth material protector sheet but it don't block out the pee when dylan ever wet his bed.

i bought 1 from ikea before which has plastic material. it good, thin and really block out pee. now i cant find them anymore.

cookie
you might wan to wait till kae has more dry diapers then start her without one in the night =)its an indication she is ready.

sure thing to meet up. just name the date!

rachel
I just placed orders and made payment for the waterproof mattress protectors.
Really need to find a good alternative and fast! My boy now simple refuses to wear his diapers anymore, only underwear to bed at night. So bo bian...have to be diligent in waking him up now.

SSF
Glad J is fine now. So how was your interview ?

Mumto3ks
ha ha seriously i never think so much. Anyway I am not bothered by my specs. Maybe if I slim down further , face sharper and not so big, I might consider going for lasik again.

Aden is only diaperless in the day but in the car daddy has no confidence and insist that he is on diaper. teachers in school has more confidence in him than us.

He still wakes up with full diaper so I doubt I can go without diapers in the nite.

But keen to get the mattress protector though. So which one to choose from now that there are 2

CL
i checked between the 2 BPs, end up i might get from both BPs wor. cos the 1st one has the baby cot size i looking for, the 2nd one is $1 cheaper for all size rang but only has terry towel material (no cotton quilt).

Another question, should buy 2 ? Because if one night accident then need to wash and not in time to be dry for the day ?

arrrggh
ha ha why I have more question with second child ? Charmaine just over night no need diaper without training.

CL
what i mean the cotton quilt is that the protector is of cotton quilt design, sew into pockets so look like quilt. but function the same as terry towel.

personally i find getting terry towel is good enough bcoz our matterss itself has the pockets quilt-like design le. so jus need the terry towel protector to block out pee from getting to the mattress.

haha you can get 2 set la. hv back-up is good =)