(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sy
I know what you mean. For me, I try to be as fair as possible. For me, it's no. 2 tt fuss more.. she'll come to us whenever we carry kor kor.. so, i also try to gv my #1 1 to 1 time with me. But, luckily, for us, each kid sticks to 1, so, my boy will want my hb while my gal wants me.. else, really big headache.

mashy
yeah they look quite different right...one more like hb one more like me.

krissie
i cannot imagine when i go back to work and both fuss at the same time. dunno how my maid going to handle...worry worry worry...

i planning to buy stuff for my gal at gymboree and the children place. if anyone else interested PM me

Hi Sunny,

Can pm me which GP u r seeing, and is he good? My kids are seeing the one at Limbang and it seems that his biz is getting better and I'm getting lousy service from the clinic staff ... really feel like telling the GP abt it. The GP had at first scrutinized me a lot when I first bring my kids there coz I qn a lot of what med is how and reaction from my kids, that he asked me if I'm a nurse, but I think he slowly realize that I'm just a concerned mum.

Mamapanda,
thanks for sharing on alpha Thalassemia ... I'll go read on it more first. Keep looking at K's face yesterday and realize he quite "ba ba" ... got meat, but perhaps petite-sized like the daddy.

SY, I'll take time to explain to JH abt sibling love. He doesn't have mummy to himself now and so he has to learn how to share. When he's in school, u can spend more time with JX. When I had a maid, I outsourced K to her more too, but I told her to mirror what I do, and in a way, I've created another pair of hands, like for eg, when they paint, I'll guide the older one and she'll guide the younger one, and both kids would go and look at what the other one is doing, so betweeb the 4 of us, we can do some bonding together. Perhaps bcos I bf K since young, that could be done to appease him while I hug the older one or read to him in the meantime. I don't have that problem much now coz they realize fussing with me doesn't work. But I still got to remind the older one that he only has this brother which he must take care ..

.ky.

Just feeling itchy so post some photos

2455937.jpg

2455938.jpg

2455939.jpg

2455940.jpg

rena

wow, your #2 can beat #1 in terms of sumo size when he was baby. So chubby feel like pinching his cheeks. hahaha. Cannot see kor kor's face leh.

ky
try Dr Siaw at Healthmark Blk 601. Call make appointment when almost your turn they will call you then you go.

He is good. I like him. Me under parkway group member so always cannot cure go to him sure can.

Last round Aden saw him for second opinion, next day no more fever.

sy,
totally understand what you mean when both wants your attention. that's why other than love, i feel guilty all the time. which also explains why my #2 is closer to my hb and #1 is closer to me. always gotta sacrifice #2. it's a damn sickening feeling to feel guilty. a struggle i feel EVERYDAY!

mashybrainz,
i have a brestfriend pillow which i never used. if u want i can let go at $20.

sy - i am interested in burt bees and first teeth. pls let me know if you are organising. i know first teeth toothpaste has stopped stock for a while but now there are stocks available in KKH, pharmacy and watson. i guess the stocks are back for good? like u, i also scarifice J. most of the times when we sit in the car, C will refuse the maid. so no choice, J has to sit with the maid and at times, he will protest and push gor gor to the maid. but at times, i will also ended up with 2 on my laps. haha... oh btw, J is doing his op for his cyst tmr. i hope he can take it as well as JH. how is JH ? any scar?

wow ur girl chubby lei...

ky/mamchan - my maid is coming back after her 1 month of home leave. she will then sign for another 1 yr upon her return. meanwhile, it be good for us to see if we can survive a mth without a maid. haha...my hb for sure is looking fwd to gg back to his shirtless days. haha...

rena - E2 looks like E1 when he is young. so cute! E1 slims down alot hor?

Just want to highlight you all to a blog.

http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com/

This little girl Charmaine is undergoing Chemo for cancer. As I understand, her chance for survival for such type of cancer is only 20%. However there is a new clinical trial available in USA and may improve her chances for survival up to 50%........ However she will need at least US$350,000.

Her mum is appealing for help (see her message on her blog – I need Help). They have yet to decide if they want to go public (news paper) to ask for donations etc. But as mothers, I am sure we all understand that when comes to our children – we will do whatever we can for their survival.

I am not asking your all to donate now as their plans are not concrete yet. But I hope you all will keep track of this blog and her progress so that should they decided to go ahead to USA for treatment – we can help in the little ways we can………

You may ask whether it is a fraud to cheat money…….. I can only say I heard about this girl from my MIL who works in a hospital where she has her initial diagnosis.

SSF
if your maid intends to come back after one month, I would recommend you to go through your maid agency to help you settle the administrative paperwork... for her re-entry, etc etc I know for my case, the Phillipines Embassy is quite troublesome coz they need a legitimate re-contract from one of the maid agencies and there's a whole lot of other documents needed. Going through the agency to help you settle the renewal of work permit, insurance, paperwork would safe you a whole lot of hassle. I believe she's entitled to 15 days of paid home leave. So for the month she returns, you can pay her half month's salary 1st and release her "savings", the other half as a holding amount to be given to her when she return to you guys.

Rena
#2 really sumo in size!

SY
JX is so sweet and lovely!! So smiley too! She can walk already?? Time really flies! Elijah looks of a good size!

mamachan - actually i just went thru the MOM site and realise i can renew the work permit and stop levy payment via online. so only need to settle the insurance part with agency is it? gee..i am really at lost with these stuffs. i am just worried that if i head to the agency, they might tell me that have to go thru agency and in the end , i will end up paying additional when i can do it offline on my own. my sis in law told me her her hb went to the embassy to settle all stuffs. she said if go thru agency must pay extra. if go embassy, foc for the work permit extension. ok, well maybe i go agency this weekend to enquire.

in the beginning, i didnt know that i still have to pay my maid pay when she goes back on home leave. so i told her i give her 1 mth leave, but she will not get any pay for that mth and she agreed to it. well i guess i give her additional 15 days in return for her 15 days pay. fair right? as i still have to take leave for some days that she is away so as to relieve my mum.

SSF
with regards to leave matters, so long that's the arrangement and agreement between you both.
As for the renewal of work permit under MOM, I did it online BUT still must bring your maid to the Tanjong Pagar complex to personally pick up the renewed permit - takes nearly half a day. I did that on my own plus got the insurance part settled. But I still went to the maid agency to help me settle their home leave administrative paperwork, cost me $280 (or was it $180? I can't remember but bulk part was payable to the Phillipines agency). So if you are going through the maid agency, might as well get them to help you settle the pick up of the work permit for you and insurance matters.

Their going on home leave is added cost actually... somemore I allowed my maid to go home during peak period. I told her never again during December period... what I did was out of good will for her! Her air ticket for Dec period already set me back by $500.

mamachan -thks for the details. will check further tmr. my colleague just told me he did all on his own even down to buying insurance frm ntuc and writing his own contract. Hahaa... Wow the flight so ex! my maid flight to jarkata is only 90 bucks by tiger airways. 22kg of luggage somemore. She already did her packing and the clothes we gave her alone is already 10kg. Wonder how is she gg to lug it back.

SSF
Re-contract can be easily done on our own if they are not going home... I think maybe more paperwork is needed for Phillipines Embassy to ensure that their people are not short-changed or whatsoever. Yah lor, my helper's air ticket was so ex! And we didn't forsee having to pay this and that so that she can go on home leave!

ky
now i can spend time with jx when jh is in sch but when i go back to work? i really dread to think abt it. jh only loves her or sayang her when he makes me angry. always using her as a shield. he will suddenly want to play with her or be really nice to her...

SSF
JH has a scar but it will fade. i cried when he went in cos he cried when they put the drip on him. but his recovery is quick. the hard part is getting him to be less active!

aileen
sad hor. wonder how to feel less guilty....

SY/Aileen,
I also feel guilty. I tried to spend more time with J1 so that she won't feel left out. But sometime she is asking more. Eg when she want to sleep and J2 also going to sleep. She will go tell her daddy. "U go pat meimei, mummy will pat me." J2 is in my arm and giving me the innocent look. I have no choice but to pass her over to daddy and coax J1 first. By the time J1 is asleep, I came over to take a look at J2. She is already sleeping. So poor thing.

SY,
JX looks like you!
How I wish my Isaac will stick to me... now that didi is here, I'm relegated to #2. Now he is super sticky to my HB and will get jealous if my HB carries didi.

Rena,
Didi is a splitting image of his gor gor!

RE. toothpaste
I want to do a spree from www.dentist.net .Want to buy electric toothbrush for Isaac. I think some of you are looking for natural toothpastes... they have it as well. PM me if you want me to order anything.
My spree posting:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2459011.html?1242325454

May,
How's your girls? Please don't ever doubt your BM. Actually the goodness and nutritional value of your BM does not depend much on your diet. Studies have shown only in cases whereby the mother is severely undernourished that the quality of the BM is affected. So the fact that Jazmyn is sick has nothing to do with your BM. But you can be assured that your BM contains a wealth of antibodies to help fight the virus! So don't give up expressing yah?

queen
will pm u my order

in this case i won't spree for toothpaste but i m still interested tio get burt bee. prob from drugstore. pm me if anyone interested

Just wanna share :

Learn Thru' Play having 50% sale. checkout their website... I got some wooden blocks, manipulatives and magnetic toys for my kids before ...

there's a popular closed-door sale tomorrow at the central branch (in BBC)... think it's worth going?

.ky.

SSF, if u wanna save money, can get insurance through Jack Focus at Hougang Green Shopping Mall (6385 3266). I do not remember exactly how much I paid but perhaps it's $60 plus ... cheaper than if u do it yourself or via NTUC.

As for homeleave admin work, here's what I found out more than a yr ago when I was doing my research

1. the official way via Phil Embassy
2. via the agency ... not needing to go via Phil Embassy, but slightly more expensive and no need to sign the contract with the salary given by the Phil govt.
3. ask the helper to go to an embassy office (I forgot the name) in Phil and ask them to do up some documentation by showing them the work permit ... costs $70.

what I understand is Fil govt needs to see the official contract and that's where the bulk of the cost is if u do in SGP, but a fren did option 3 in Fil and that's the cheapest. I didn't need to do this eventually as my ex-helper choose to leave Singapore directly to Norway and no go home first. I asked my agency to renew Work Permit for me which is admin-charge free ...

.ky.

May/SY/Aileen ...

I think most of us having 2 or more kids have that same guilt. The more one has, I think the more guilt one has in terms of feeling that 1 child is neglected. I used to feel that I neglect #2 more as I go out quite a bit with #1. When #1 goes for enrichment, I leave #2 at home. And with a helper around then, I tend to eat out with hubby and #1 more. Imagine #2 doesn't have much chance to go out till he's 2.5 yrs old. He was so used to staying at home that he'll wave goodbye to me at the gate happily. Then when the helper left, I have to bring #2 everywhere I go, and when #1 goes into enrichment classes, I'll hang around outside with #2 and I spent extremely a lot of 1-to-1 time with #2 that I feel guilty that I don't have a chance with #1 anymore. So, how to balance? like I'll read to #1 his books and ask #1 to read to #2 his books. When #2 is at home alone with me, I'll do activities with #2 and when both are at home, I tend to focus on #1 more. And as they grow up, u can get them to do things together ... I think as a working mum, it tends to be more difficult ... but there'll be time that's more appropriate for daddy to bring 1 out (even downstairs) n u spend time with the other one. So, it's all in the matter of arranging and make best use of time. I'm still learning ...

.ky.

SY - i just popped by KKH to visit J after his op. cried like siao...but he is ok. just worried abt the scar. i managed to post his before and after pics on my blog. go check out.....www.abtcaleb.blogspot.com

for his case i think a scar cannot be avoided. just pray that his scar will not be so obvious. seems long though..abt 2cm? haiz. thank GOD boy not girl. well..but still not so nice la.

ky - thks for recommending Jack Focus. Has noted that but does it applies for indo? my maid is indo not filippino.

ok, gg to do some "homework" on the maid thingy while i still can. hee...

mashy, its pretty obvious as its a bit purple and black in colour and also a lump about the size of 2 grains of rice? the thing is that it has been there since last year and it doesnt seem to go away. its bothering as we are worry it may grow bigger and it doesnt help that its on his face. anyway, a piece off my mind now that the surgery is completed. doc is taking the cyst to do more lab test for research.

SSF,
Thank God for the smooth op on J! He is looking alert & happy. U got me all teary when u mentioned u cried big time when u visited J just now. Reminds me of the time when E had to be sedated to fix his cavities at NDC. Was inside with him to hold him down while the anethesist sedate him . Dun want to go thru tat experience again man!. Pray that all our kids will be healthy & fine!

wenyl - oops i didnt cry. i mean J cried. haha...actually for this boy, i don;t really shed tear cos i know he very garang one. the last time he admitted for UTI, i also didnt cry. haha...the only times i cried was for C when he fell down and need to extract his tooth and his first time taking the inhaler and have to be controlled. haha...unfair hor? but then first baby so very precious

SSF

J is a brave boy. haha. yah, 1st born always more precious. I always have to remind my boy that i only have 1 C whenever he does some crazy stunts.

Wenyl
C is really the bb in the class. Kept seeing his classmates come over to him and hold his hand, tell him where to go etc. haha. All very sayang him. well, 2 more weeks to go.

SSF,
Ok ok! So now I know why I cried then. Haha! Its just the thing about our first love, our first child etc, that makes them abit more special to us women hor!

Mashy,
Yes, I think after 5months of being in the same class, the kids are more used to each other. E still says C is the baby in his class. He was a bit sad when I told him C is going to another school soon. So, r u going to the parent-teacher session tomorrow? E is quite excited about it, even asking if didi & my helper can go see his class or not.

wenyl

have gynae appt tom, so going to meet on tues instead. haha, yah, ethan tried to hold c's hand a few times, but u know lah, c very bochap type, so will just ignore him and walk away. When we're leaving, E will also come up and say bye bye to us. Very polite boy.

SSF,
Glad to hear that J is fine. Speedy recovery to him. Cannot see that he is garung type that. I rem he was very small size and shy when I saw him that time. Ya, first baby is usually more precious. I cried or would say more emotional towards J1 than J2 too.

Mashy,
How many wks are you in already? Are u going for normal delivery or c-sect?

may

28 weeks. c-section of course. hehe. going to remove my scar, remember? My gynae asked me to do VBAC, but i'm vainpot lah. Really hated that huge scar. This might be my last chance.

Just visited Charmaine (the cancer girl) website......

Saw the sedated photo and all hair drop - even i feel heart pain, not to mention the mother of the girl!

And worse, there are just mean people out there who drop nasty message on the blog to piss people off.

Hai.........

Yuki,

yes i read the blog too. i received an email from my hb for appeal for donation with the doctor's letter attached. Its really sad to see a little girl suffer like this.

mashy,
The "touch-up" really works. My ugly scar was a history now. hehe. Now mei mei already. So happy. I even emphasize to my gynae when he push me into the operating theatre, rem to touch up my wound nicely. hehe. The nurse keep asking me to try VBAC also cos my water bag burst already. But I refused, vainpot also.

Yuki/Esther,
Did I missed out the link of the website? Can share? I would like to take a look at the gal's website. Poor thing.

Anyone have infant car seat that is in new and good condition that you intend to sell away? Just realised that my car seat is for 9mths onwards. J2 need one, I dun intend to get new one cos it is only for another 7-8mths usage.

yuki
i also went to the blog. really sad. also cried when i read thru it. feel so sad for the mother also. must be really hard on her.

Hi SY,

SHe is also a single mum like me so i can symoathise with her.....

Think her husband left her when she was preggy with Charmaine. But that's besides the point....

lil critters
The price has gone up by quite a bit. Used to pay only $18 for a pack of 4x60-count.

any of u girls got Wii? THinking of buying one. Any feedback?

mamapanda

I don't have Wii, but my hb bought it for my FIL a while back. So before we sent it over, we played with it a while. Quite fun. More family friendly than Xbox and PSP.