(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Violetgem

Fine. Actually not confirm whether is you anot but shane told me is you. Now i bz source thing for my bb cos hubby alway travel must grab things when he in SG. But hor also duno wat to buy now scare too early but if buy too late scare too tired to walk or he not in SG so just walk around see those can store than i buy.

DS
The branch at Parkway Parade

DS,
you're welcomed...

Jan,
Can lah, can lah, can be forgiven! kekeke
Don't dwell too much on those myths or taboos lor. No scientific basis one. If we strictly follow all of them, only put more stress on ourselves.

straycats,
Do you remember where you bought your Baby Bjorn carrier? Want to show my hubby... He almost wanted to buy the Combi one from Kiddy Palace yesterday, until I stopped him. Seems like he's one on shopping spree lately. kekeke
Btw your animated cat icon is so cute!

weoseek,
Your hubby still do for bb's sake, my hubby only willing to do it before I blow my top but it lasts for few days only. Must keep reminding.

Violetgem,
I also think of buying CNY clothes for bb and also MYSELF. But hor don't know will I go back to normal size or not leh. So no choice got to rush to buy immediately after confinement.

Joyful
I got it when I was in the US leh. But I know Mothercare has them. I went to Robinson's recently, but I am not sure if they carry Bjorn. If you need a picture of the carrier to show your hb let me know
314601.gif

has anyone bought bath towels for bb? I don't know what size I shld be getting. can I get those without hood ones?

morning ...

straycats,
my hubby just wanna have a feel of the carrier, ie lay his hands on it, see how easy it is to put on etc. Since Mothercare has it, may go down to check it out one of these days. Thanks dear

Violetgem,
i also don't know how she lost the 25kg but some women just can do it. my sil went back to her normal clothes which is size xs and s in mango size chart after giving birth. in fact, during the baby's first month, she was already wearing her pre-pregnant days skirt. and i tell u hor. she ate alot alot alot during her pregnancy. breakfast can be a big packet of nasi lemak with a glass of milk and a banana. dinner hor she can eat 2 bowls of rice, with soup and then still eat fruits after that.

straycats,
u bet! my mil likes to make comparisons too. always compare babies, compare me and my sil etc etc etc. until i can be quite sick of it. honestly, its like if they don't say anything, they will die. we are all individuals of cos not the same. even twins also not the same what more we come from different family and different background. so dumb to compare. just on sunday, at dinner, my mil announce that she is very sure my sil's second child will be a boy. WHY? because their first child, a girl is sucking her toes. a sign that the second is going to be a boy! i told my hubby, if such an act from a baby can determine whether ur brother contribute an X or Y chromosome sperm the next time hor, all scientists will be extinct liao! so silly.

joyful,
of cos can be forgiven lor. if not, house becomes full of cobwebs, spider house leh. kekeke. don't think its wrong to be clean. hahaha!

talking abt towels. you all may want to buy towels without any embriodery or patterns. my ex office lady told me she learn the hard way. embriodery on towel scratch baby cos it was a hard patch. she say better to buy towel without anything, just plain. thought quite a good suggestion. i wanted to buy aussino but saw most have patterns so save the money lor.

Joyful
No probs at all. I saw the carrier at the Mothercare branch at Parkway Parade.
314831.gif

Jan
Wah, your MIL very "good" hor. Just by seeing the BB sucking her toes can predict the gender, she's better than a gynae leh. My MIL upon hearing that I will be carrying a girl, told me immediately to try for the next one and that will surely be a boy!!! Sometimes, I wonder....what is going on in their minds????? Cannot tahan!
314832.gif

Berlin,

I never thought of buying CNY clothes for myself cos everytime I pass by those boutiques got very nice clothes, see already also cannot buy, so sian.... No choice lor, have to wait after our confinement, then can go and buy. Hopefully, by that time, our figures go back to pre-preggie time.

Yesterday, went to Kiddy Palace and managed to buy 1 set for my bb but think it might be too big (0 - 6 mths) for him.

Sunnyling,

Ya, Shane also told me it's you. But I seldom see you come here initially, so never confirm with you also.

Ya, try to get those things you need if possible during this trimester, if not, think 3rd trimester will be too tired for us.

Jan,

Wow, your SIL really ay sai leh... Go back to her original figure within 1 mth. So envy... Hope I can like her...

BTW, the way you say about your MIL very funny leh... hee hee...

BTW, ladies, how many bb clothes you think is enough ?? I don't have any hands-me-down bb clothes from anyone (though my BIL have 1+ yr son, he never offered to give to us), so have to buy from scratch but don't know how much is enough. Scared buy too many, bb will outgrow them very fast, so hubby suggested to buy cheap ones. I always feel that my bb so poor thing, so little clothes to wear.

As for the towels, think big one (like adult one) should be better right ?? Can cover bb fully mah, in case, bb catch a cold.

Violet
If I'm not wrong, bath towels can be the normal plain type, which Jane mentioned. Can buy from neighbourhood shops type. But, receiving blanket can buy those nicer ones from JL, etc. Coz I think they're meant to wrapp bb when we carry them out.
Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

straycats,
yes yes, i also think so. when my mil knew i going to have a girl, they say next one will be boy too and must have second one because they are still alive. so dumb. its like i must have another child just becos they are alive. what sort of logic is that! i was quite upset. but i find that i also don't know what they are thinking. i think they must be under the false impression that if they keep saying more often, it will come true. hahaha. this is alos called self delusion leh.

Violetgem.
no choice leh. if i don't try to be funny and make myself happy hor, i think i go nuts leh. at home i quite stress out. my sil is very thin by normal standards. she wear xs leh. normal days i already wear L and mango or zara clothes i cannot wear because i cannot fit at all except maybe their winter jackets. hahahaha!
i think she high metalbolic rate? i don't know but she can really eat alot lor. even my hubby also say she eat alot. its no joke leh. 2 servings of dinner, plus soup plus fruits. not just one fruit leh. but alot of fruits like banana, apple, orange and then top it off with a glass of water. in my current state of bloatedness hor, i think if i see her eat i will burst.

u are like me, i also don't have any hands me down but i don't intend to buy too many. for baby maybe abt 10 sets should be enough. that is if u wash regularly. then can just recycle them. i also not sure. hope the rest of the ladies can help. but u r right. cannot buy too many. they grow very very fast.

yl - I am getting towels also but haven't done any research. Do let me know if you come across any good buys. Thanks.

krissie - You are right. Heard from my sis about the same theory also. I am getting a welcome blanket for my baby's first day. Afterwhich, I heard, it could be used as normal bathing towel. Will go to JL since there's so much good comments.

Wah.. so of you so fast get baby clothes already? come to think of it, right also, where got time to buy before chinese new year? thanks for the reminder, will go something soon. Guess all mil are the same. Mine also somewhat similar. Every house got one difficult to read scriptures leh... hehehe.

Wendy
JL dun have that wide a range for towels. Tangs seems to have qt a good range. But, my friend told me that the receiving blanket is smooth material, whilst the bathing ones are those which are a bit furry (u know what I mean?
) So, I don't think the reciving blanket can absorb much water to be double up as a bath towel. Unless the receiving blanket is the furry type?? Hee hee...

I just got my hubby to get contractor to do up storage racks in our storeroom. My MIL say by right cannot do anything to the house now. The storeroom was so packed with all her junks and stuff (old clothes from few years back also keep and say she will use it and throw pc by pc). I really hate this. Can't wait to dump everything out. I'm trying to get more space for my bb stuff and there they keep putting their stupid stuff. **mad**

Berlin
Dun be angry.. no good for bb.
Staying tog is like that.. have to compromise loh.. bo bian.. she is his mum mah.. so we also cant say much.

My first baby was through c-section, the mense after that was normal flow but lasted for more than a month. Not sure whether that is normal.

Very busy with work and have not started getting anything yet or maybe this is the second one so more relax.

moonbell,
NTUC sells pigeon breast pads 24s $8.90 whereas taka 36+6 for the same price. i must go back and grab them! the avent one looks v high tech, anyone tried those?

sunnyling,
where is the selection for maternity/ bb pdts at OG? no chance to go to their sale yet...

joyful,
yup after reading all the reviews and feedback, still tink that pigeon steriliser is the best! btw kiddy palace also $87 without sale and comes with free bottles and washing liquid, no need go all the way to taka.

violetgem,
i tink wet wipes mite dry up after prolonged storage. tink best to buy a mth before. but ask u ah, besides bb use it, mummies use wet wipes for wad huh?

absolut,
where can i get washable breast pads and how much do they cost?

wads the "standard size" for cots. my SIL gave me her cot but like v small ley. the mattress size is 105 x 58 cm. where can i buy?? checked with kiddy palace parkway they say dont have so small wan, but my SIL got the cot fron there.

Hi 2005
I also bought Gerber 2 x 30's for SP $13.20. The $8.90 Pigeon offer you saw at taka also available at Isetan, Seiyu.

Discovered that Pampers Premium (NB) at Carrefour seems to be the cheapest at $15.09. Has anyone seen it cheaper at elsewhere? I've yet to check out Sheng Siong. My gf says that she gets hers from there as it is cheaper.

The usual size for cot is 28x52" or 27x52". The Aussimo crib sheet is ard 132 x 71cm. So, this is considered the more common size. Can call Kids Mall to ask them if they have the size which u want. This shop has the widest range of mattress I've seen. I've not been to Kiddy Palace yet.

Ladies, I heard that during confinement we are not supposed to drink water cos' it can lead to water retention. Any facts to back it up? Is it really a must not to drink water at all?
315153.gif

straycats,
Not sure what is the reason that we can't drink water. But when i my SIL was doing her confinement, think she can only drink the longan red dates drink and milo. Water cannot drink for the entire confinement month.

DS
But isn't the logan drink & milo water based as well? Sounds funnie leh, like this will we get dehydration anot?
315166.gif

I heard if you do not drink enuff water, our MS will decline leh and if we don't drink water & we bf at the same time, doesn't dehydration occur for the mummies?

BTW, ladies, any ideas where we can get waterproof sheets to be place on the BB's mattress to prevent staining?

Berlin,
u same state as me. our storeroom is so packed cannot even walk in. i don't have space for baby stuff too. everything in my room so i think room will be very messy. i don't like mess so thinking of how too. cannot fit anymore. in fact i see my sil also like that. that's why her room very very messy. steriliser etc all on the floor. i also thinking of ways. have to clear my own wardrobe to make space for baby clothes. so dumb. bring clothes back to my mum's house to keep. sigh. but krissie is right lor. we angry also no use. they like to keep stuff cos wasted to throw and too precious to donate. and its their house so no choice, give in lor. don't be angry.

straycats,
i see my sil she drink alot of water during confinement. the confinement lady didn't make any red dates soup leh. but she no water retention. now back to her XS mango tops already. shoes also the same size. i jeolous leh.

Krissie,
I haven't buy any bottles, teats, breast pads, wipes etc. That's y I'm anxious and mad about no space to put my stuff. Can't keep on stacking in my room, I can't stand being messy with my newborn. Must let her have a clean and spacious environment. They can stand being messy but I can't.

Jan,
The house now officially belongs to me and hubby. But I think I only owned 1/4 of the space.
Some ppl are born with it, they can slim down without much dieting or exercise. My antenatal instructor say Breast feeding can burn more calories. So I must really try hard to BF my gal as long as I can.

straycats,
Erm.. pai sey, what does MS stands for har? :p

Erm, think the red dates drink is for us to get rid of the "heatiness" in our body.. think so leh... yah, red dates and milo is water based but then maybe is not plainly water.. that's why... maybe the rest can explain better ah. hee

I bought the so called "water proof sheet" (pigeon brand) from taka fair. (Today last day wor) Quite cheap, selling at $9+, whereas OG selling at $12+ and other places selling at higher price too.

I bought it last sat. Wonder they still have stock a not, cos the one i bought is the one of the 3 sheets left. Think is make of water water bubbles or what, at least bb lay on it won't feel hot.

Think other shopping centers like KP and giant do sell this too, but ex lor.

Berlin,
Me also haven buy any bottles, teats, breast pads, wipes etc. Only bought the "waterproof sheet" .. cos my house study room already like a store room, keeping those hands-me-down clothes for my bb and maternity clothes.. Quite messy liao.. don't think even have a place to put cot, so we don't intend to buy a cot at the moment, can let bb sleep on mattress same room with us.

I intend to get a stroller, but not sure which brand of stroller to buy. Any recommendation of which brand of stroller? Which one is better, light weight or heavy weight stroller? Seems like lightweight stroller cannot put heavy stuff and the basket (at the bottom of the stroller) is quite small too. Any advises?

Yuen Yuen,

Huh, your flow lasted for a month ah ?? Did you check with your doc if it's normal ??

Jan,

Must have at least 10 sets ah ?? Now I only bought 4 sets for my bb and I've reserved 1 set for his first mth and 1 set for 1st day CNY... Like that must get somemore liao... Maybe buy those normal one for daily wear at home...

I don't know if mummies are using the wet wipes as well. But I've used wet tissues before lah (from watsons though).

DS,

Thought the longan and red date drink supposed to be heaty ??? My MIL told me cannot drink plain water during confinement cos will have water retention lor... And I once read from article that drink the longan and red date will help increase blood, so it's very good for confinement mummies....

My mom then funny leh... Yesterday told me to minimise washing my hands using tap water during confinement cos if not later old already, the fingers will feel numb. She said she will boil water for me to wash my hands....

Berlin,

Ya, Mrs Wong told us that too... Hopefully, I got enough breast milk and don't face too much problems during breastfeeding...

Straycats
Are you looking for the disposable or rubber type waterproof sheets? Anyway, saw both types in most shppg centres. Personally think it's quite costly if disposable for daily use. Rubber type one afraid of heat rash if long hours. I intend to use cotton nappies to line mattress, since it's soft, absorbent and more airy. But then, a lot of washing lah. I got the rubber type (large size) for use after bb bath,changing,and bb tummy time.

Violetgem,
Aiyo, regarding the red date drink, not sure heaty a not leh, but then think good for mothers doing confinement lor. Alos don't know why leh. :p

Yes, even my coll also told me we got to minimise touching the tap water, if not next time when we are old we will know all the old people problem. She even mentioned to me that after going to the toilet, got to use hot/warm water to wash our bottom part, cannot use the tap water.

I think for the 1st month, our bb also got to use boiled water to bath, in case they sensitive leh.

red dates n logan drink gives us iron n vit c so is very good for us during confinement. guess the nutrients will also pass to bb when we breastfeed. cold water is nt advisable cos it's reduce our flow of breastmilk. warm water will help to have more breastmilk as well.

Berlin,
officially no use one. if they stay there first then u buy over then to them its still their house. this fact i learnt from my exboss. she told me there is a big difference between u staying with your in-laws and your in-laws staying with u! i also didn't understand until i moved in and i have to say. what she say is so true.

Violetgem,
4 sets definitely not enough. my mother say, baby perspire very easily. u have to change them if they are wet or perspire or else rash. if one day i say 3 sets one week should be about 21 sets? but cos we wash everyday mah so i thot 10 sets should be enough lor. have to see how also. see it the rest of the mummies got any advice????

ladies. tell you all something. if u boil water for baby to bathe, must always pour the cold water first then add hot water. my grandmother last time forgot to pour cold water. she pour hot water first then put baby in, my uncle got burnt leh.. pour thing. that was what my mummy told me. an important lesson.

Straycats
I bought a rubber mat from Pigeon. My colleague suggested that I lay over a sarong cloth over the mat and it'll be very cooling for bb. Not the plastic mat type.. that type is hot and uncomfortable.. hee hee.. I know coz I use it during menses. Have seen the rubber mats at Robinsons, Taka, etc. But usually it is this other brand (not Pigeon) with a plastic wrapper, $12.90 for the bigger size. Mine is Pigeon brand, with a box. Bought for $14.90 + 20% disc, so abt $11+.

DS
I bought the same one as you.. I feel that it's like v cooling..
not as hot as the plastic one. But, I think my size is bigger, so more exp?

Jan, Berlin
I need to spring clean my spare room this weekend. Coz my ex-boss passed me some bb's clothes, mobiles, etc.. And I'm getting a cot + playpen from my gf. So, no more space liao..
I take this opportunity to throw away things loh. I read one article before, they say that as a rule of thumb, if u never use the item for 1 yr, can throw liao. I'll throw everything that I've not used since I moved into my place.. hope can clear qt a bit.
Berlin, I also haven buy my stuff yet.. My hb is qt like your MIL, so, I have to start throwing his old stuff too.
Do you have a balcony? My colleague put those stuff like stroller, walker, toys, etc in the balcony. Then, bb's clothes + cot in the room. The feeding related items can put in the kitchen lah.. Got space there?

Violet, yuen yuen,
I think the flow is at least for a few weeks. My friend's one also sounded quite long.

Violet
As for bb's clothes, my gf says need to standby like 2-3sets a day, coz sometimes bb vomit or dirty themselves, then need to change them.

I think the purpose of the red date drink is to replenish our blood & improve blood circulation, accrd to my mum. I'm not sure how it helps for the water retention, but I know it's on the heaty side. Coz I'm taking it sometimes now.

DS, Straycats and Berlin
Regarding drinking water during confinement, lactation consultants will encourage you to drink more fluids in order to have enough water for bf. If you dun have enough fluid in your system, how to have enough for bb. I drank water on top of red date water during confinement etc. Didn't have much water retention. Think it may be also depending on individual bodies but personally dun believe that water will cause retention coz I also think all the rest of the drinks have water content and are basically sweetened.

Regarding bb clothes, think there were days that I changed Ally's tops abt 3 - 5 times a day coz newborns have a tendency to puke a bit of milk when they burp. As I was using nappies in the day, sometimes their top also will kanna if you dun change their soiled nappies fast enough.

on normal days, usu about 3 sets, one after morning bath, one spare for puked milk, and another PJ for nite sleep.

Dun need so many bottoms coz basically dun wear bottoms in the day at home. (change diapers v often so no point wearing shorts. They also dun wear bottoms for your bb in the hospital) Only wear when bb is brought to doc and at nite.

Krissie,
Hey, i also using the pigeon matt when i am having my menses, i also find it very cooling, cos cannot share with my boy, so bought him a new one. This water proof mattress quite long liao, think 18 years ago already got this item. Cos my mum babysit a bb, his mum bought the same thing like what we bought for our bb.

I think just lay the clothe nappy on top of the mattress then bb can lay on top liao.

Erm, i thought there is only 1 size? The second one that i bought from Taka bb fair is also in the same pigeon box that i bought from giant last year leh.. shld be same size leh. Taka fair cheaper....

Krissie,
Maybe yours is got printed pattern?

The one that i bought is red dark red/pink and blue on each side.

Absolut,
What you say about the red dates drink also quite true.. i think i also cannot tahan, if i didn't drink any water during my confinement, cannot possible keep drinking sweet drinks.. end up got tooth decay how? :p Will check again..

waterproof sheets...
Was told by a salesgirl that we can use the air-filled, rubber diaper changing mat to lay the bed for bb to sleep on, bcos the air-filled ones are not warm. I also bought the Pigeon brand for $9+ after discount. I bought the one without cartoon picture, so a little cheaper.

In addition, I also bought a portable one for changing diapers when going outside. It's smaller in size, foldable, plastic one.

There's also another type - like a thin mattress, where the top layer is water-proof, underneath is cloth, to place on top of cot mattress. Cost $39.90. Didn't buy that.

DS,
My mum also bought the bubbled kind of rubber mat at those neighbourhood store. Cost $9. My nephew and nieces all used that.
I have a cot at my auntie's house, didn't want to bring it back yet cos I have no space to put. My MIL say put aside first lah, but the problem is PUT WHERE??? You know when you want to do vaccum or mopping, everything is like on the floor and need to carry away one by one. 1 hour job turns out to be 2 hours job.

violetgem,
Ya, 4 sets is really not enough for newborn. Last time, my sis bought from a store at bugis (near the Kuan Yin temple) that sells bb clothes in a pack of dozen. They also sells towels in bulk.

Jan,
I know what you mean. When my MIL go to her son-inlaw house, she didn't try to comment or mess around his house.

krissie,
That's also my theory, if things can be used within 1 years or plus, can keep. But if keep more than that, then I will throw. Don't know how many donkey years they want to keep. I have a small balcony, but also packed with my MIL stuff. The kitchen is not big, and I already have 2 fridges, so also no space.

Re: Waterproof Mat
Thanks mummies, will know which brand and where to get it.
315292.gif

Absolut
I support your theory on drinking more water besides the longan drink etc. I personally, do not believe that water retention is caused by consumption of water, otherwise so many of us will be having water retention by now.
315293.gif

Berlin
I agree that bfing can help the moms lose weight & calories but if we do not control what we eat, we will end up with the excess weight than before. My gf bf then thot, since she is losing the calories via bf can eat more, so she eat more, ended up with excess weight until now. Her son is 3 years old oredi, and she is still stucked with her excess weight!
315294.gif

Btw, ladies are your BBs kicking higher? I can feel Megan's kick at my ribs. Pain man! I wonder what she is doing????
315295.gif

straycats,
Nowadays my bb kick both high & low?! She used to kick real low, way below my belly button in the past. And there're times where I can see certain parts of my tummy going up & down. So fascinating! Almost wanted to video-taped it with my digicam
and show her when she's older how powerful her kicks are. kekeke

My hubby says bb is trying to turn her body, that's why she moved so much.
Hmm... I must remember to ask gynae during next visit what position is bb now, whether she has turned head down anot.