(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

went to taka bb fair and finally bought my pigeon steam steriliser @87 bucks with 2 free bottles and washing liquid, so happy! hubby also bought door guards, nail clipper, powerpoint and table corner guards...

can i check with u ladies how much idsposable breast pads do we need? taka selling box of 36 pads for 8.90. is it considered cheap? how many do we need to use a day? only when we go out we put or wad?? and if we buy wet wipes now, will they dry up by dec??? pardon my ignorance...

anyone has the list of essentials before bb arrives?

Joyful
Seems that after my walk, Megan will only move 2hours thereafter, but for swimming, I can feel her almost 1/2 hour later, even if I am doing other stuff. I am not sure why, but seems that she likes it alot.
314165.gif

2005(first_mum)
Seiyu selling Pigeon 24's at $6.5, U.P. is $8.5 so what you saw at Taka should be on sales already. Decided to just buy 1 box each of Pigeon and Gerber. Cuz, don't know which brand is more suitable. If run out of stock during confinement, can ask husband to help buy more of the better one. Similarly for diapers, I'll try 2 brands.

straycats
I read that babies in womb like mummies to move about, seem like they enjoy being "rock". Could the walking have rock her to sleep liao? Hee...

My mum also stop me from change bed sheet once she knew i was pregnant and my sis ask me dun go and look at all when changing so i normally never go look when changing bedsheet.

2005 (first mum)

I buy the Pigeon 24' breast pad at $7.12 (Original price $8.9 but metro having 20% disc).

Moonbell
Maybe she prefers me to swim than walk, hee hee! Anyway, after the walk (2hours later), I will try to talk to her, she will move lor, but after the swim, she is more responsive
314277.gif

Good morning ladies

straycats,
Maybe Megan likes to move around, an active girl, just like you

2005(first_mum),
hee.. you also bought the pigeon steam steriliser ... Seems like a few of us in this thread bought the same brand

hmm... I think how many disposable breast pads used per day depends on the individual.. use it if milk is leaking, so as not to wet/stain your clothes. I've bought a pack first, if I really have so much milk that it leaks :p then will send hubby to buy more.

I'd be getting the wet wipes later. Guess if you don't open the plastic wrapping, it's won't dry up so fast?

Joyful
Is the packaging of the Kotex maternity pad thatyou had purchased, pink in color? I got mine from Cold Storage and the packaging is in pink and its the adhesive type.
314281.gif

taka,
Found the following info on the net abt difference between 3D & 4D u/s scans:

-----------
Whats the difference between 3D and 4D scans? Time.

3D scans provide a life-like picture of the baby because its built from images of the three planes of our vision that make up 3D (height, width, and depth). The reconstruction of these planes is faster and results in a clearer image of the baby.

4D scans add in the factor (or fourth dimension) of time. Its essentially a live, in-motion, 3D image of the baby within seconds of it happening.

straycats,
yes yes, that's the one. $5.90 right?

Did you realise that the loop ones cost only $1.50? What a world of difference! Oh, Cold Storage also sells the belt used to tie the loop pads. I still prefer the adhesive type.

Good morning, ladies.. It's Monday again.

Weoseek
I went to OG liao.. they have 2 cots, 1 is Babycraft and the other is Mama Love.
But, I still prefer the Daniel cot coz the wood matches the furniture in my room.
And they're almost same price.

Joyful
Yup, the price is right the one.

Loop ones cost only $1.50???? Goodness, the package is so big, double the size of the adhesive ones. Anyway, I sama sama like you, I prefer the adhesive ones.
314319.gif

Moonbell
My gf also recommended me the Pigeon and Gerber breasts pad. So, should be getting them too.

Joyful, Straycats
I also prefer adhesive type, but my gf suggested that I use the loop type, coz she says can stack one on top of the other, i.e. 2 pads. She says that the adhesive one can't do that, coz the bottom is plastic, so, can't stack over, whilst the loop type is totally cotton, so the discharge can seep through the top pc to the bottom one.. : ) Maybe I'll buy both types to see which one I like.. coz she told me the discharge will be super a lot and last for v long, so surely can finish using. Also thought of an idea, maybe I'll put 1 pc of loop pad on top of the adhesive one. BTW, she says she didn't buy the belt & the loop pad just stayed by itself.

Good morning,

Good news to MTBs staying at the West. Kiddy Palace at Jurong Point is having pre-renovation sale, storewide 30% discount on regular items. But don't know till when. Bought alot of bb stuff yesterday. Will be going tonite again.

krissie,
oic, now I know that the loop pads doesn't have a plastic bottom layer... thanks for the explanation.
But does it mean if our flow is too heavy for 2 loop pads, it will flow through & then stain our pants/pyjamas or bed?
Hmm... seems like the best is to change pads regularly.

Good morning all mummies!

Joyful,

Thanks for the 3D and 4D explanation, but i still don't know mine is which one.

About the pads, seem like there is very limited choice in the market. I somehow remember that i seem to see it in Isetan or TAKA maternity sections, but don't know whether is the same brand as what you all have mentioned or not.

straycats,

i also don't know why but she finds it very nice to see people breastfeed. at least that is what she told me. i find it very disgusting if u ask me. no privacy at all. anyway, my mil don't really understand meaning of privacy. ur gynea white lie won't do with her. she can be very nasty. call gyane and ask if its true then i will be in hot soup. i will see if can lock the room or ask my hubby to guard lor. i jus don't feel comfortable to be a public viewing gallery when i bf my baby.

DS,
yes, i also shock that my pil are like that. actually i knew my hubby for 6 years before we marry and all these time also ok. only when i shifted in and married him and i realise. shocking discovery. in fact, my hubby also didn't know his parents can be like that so i guess even more shocking for him. in any case, now i try to act blur lor. everything i say i let my hubby decide. if not sure to clash.

taka,
hope u are feeling better from flu now that hubby with u. must take care. i also taking ur advice. trying to save up to get new place but will be at least 2 years before we can have enough money and cpf so got to work hard.

joyful,
cannot even fold clothes? aiyo. i do that all the time. in any case, i try to help out lor. if not pple will say that u think pregnant big shot no need to do meh. sometimes no choice have to do means have to do. hope supernatural power understand and forgive us.

liewlian soh.
i don't have special drink. after mil know gender will be gal she stop all activities liao so i don't have anything extra. but hor one of my ex office lady she also got same kind of mil as u. no water after delivery, only red date and logan drink. so i think u have to start to like the drink cos have to drink 1 full month leh. wonder if its sweet? if yes, will make u thirsty?

weoseek,

true? if so, then i don't mind to ask her along for my detailed scan. let her wait and wait. cos she ask for it. sounds mean hor but if i don't let her come afterwards she will be angry with me. nearer to the date, i will call tmc to ask. if really true then i won't object. act blur when reach there then let nurse tell her. but i worry she plead with nurse then they let her in then i will be very disappointed leh. dangerous hor.

Joyful
I guess so, so, I'm thinking of using the loop one for the top and the adhesive one for the bottom.. just an idea.. dun know if can work or not. I think I'll buy both types to stand by. I hate it when it leaks. Also, I suggest buying a plastic mat (like those for bb, the cheap type) to put on the bed, so, won't stain mattress. I already have one which I used to use last time during my period. That's why my friend says that the KKH midwife says that it's not good to change bb on our bed, coz the bacteria from our discharge is bad for bb. So, I'm getting the Ikea baby changing table ($49 only). : ) Also, no need to bend down so low.

I bought the maternity pad from Kiddy Palace yesterday. Heard the salesgal said it's good lor... Forgot about the brand already. Anyway, they only sell one brand, blue colour packaging. 20pcs for only $7.75, offer price, so no more discount already. BTW, it's adhesive one.

Jan,

Feel so sad for you that you have to deal with such MIL. Glad that my MIL is not like that, if not, I sure black face at my hubby one. ha ha...

As for the longan drink, my MIL also said that must drink this during confinement period and cannot drink plain water cos if not will get water retention. She also made for me when I told her I sometimes feel giddy. She said the drink can increase blood lor... But very heaty lah... So didn't drink it too often now... So far, she only made twice. But I like to drink leh cos it's sweet. I got sweet tooth... hee hee... "sigh" think need to cut down already cos already gained 9.5kg at wk 25!!!! Still got so many weeks to go... My target is 12kg leh... Sure over hit one....

krissie,
Ya, today monday very sian hor. I was throwing temper on the bed, and tell my hubby I don't want to come to work today.

For maternity pads, I think I prefer cotton pads. Will be getting the loops one.

Ante-natal class,
Didn't really enjoy my class yesterday. Mrs Uma wasn't presenting her talk very well leh. She seems out of breathe and trying to study what is going on next. And the early couples each occupy 1 mattress instead of sharing one each with their hubby since they already knew the class is huge from last week. They are making themselves so comfortable against the wall and we the late ones had to squeeze in the middle sharing mattress... Hmmm... Have to go early next week liao.

Oh, forgot to tell you all one the disposable breast pads. I bought Tollyjoy one, cost only $7.90 for 48pcs. Bought at JL yesterday cos they got 15%+5%. Kiddy Palace also have but theirs is nett price already, no more discount, so didn't buy from them. hee hee... Me very calculative nowadays...

Bought wet wipes also. Bought already then asked myself if I bought too early liao, scared it will dry up by the time I use.... Lucky I didn't buy alot, only 2 packs.... hee....

Hi Berlin,

You went TMC ante-natal class?? Mine is Sat class... Also very crowded but most of us got 1 mattress each leh... Try to go there early lor... I also reach there quite early so that I can chop the good seat. hee...

Mine is conducted by Mrs Wong. During the last lesson, didn't really understand half of her lesson cos she used alot of jargons... Probably becos I didn't read up alot. I pass all the reading job to my hubby... :p

Today still okay for me cos boss on leave, so can come in and surf net. ha ha.... Later go IMM for lunch... yeh!!! Actually, yesterday didn't have a good night sleep, was thinking of taking a day off but thought that since boss not around, take leave quite wasted, so I "tong".... hee....

taka,
I guess if what you see is just a pix, then it's 3D. Else if you see a movie clip, then 4D.

Jan,
I also fold clothes umpteen times already! Don't care liao. Ya lor, some household chores just have to be done.

krissie,
Heard that we can also get the incontinence sheet for adults, lay it underneath when we sleep, so won't stain the bed. I have yet to hunt for it.
The baby changing table is a gd idea!

Violetgem,
I saw Kiddy Palace selling only the Madame (by Pureen) maternity pads. Also 20pcs for only $7+, but I thot it was white packaging...

Anyone has recommendations for a gd baby carrier?

Joyful,

Or then maybe it's white and blue packaging.

I also fold clothes many many times liao... Read from this forum that cannot fold clothes on bed, if not, bb will get folded ears. Told that to my hubby and he told me not to be silly... So I just continued to sit on the bed while folding clothes cos standing too long is quite tiring...

As for changing bedsheets, my SIL also told me not to change myself cos the mattress is too heavy... Anyway, I never change it alone even before preggie cos it's really heavy, can't lift it myself but I'll always help my hubby lah... even vacuuming the floor also...

Aiya, ladies don't have to be so supertitious lar, i got three sisters, all of them didn't follow these "rules" and their children (5 of them) are born normal.

Berlin
Your MIL very funny! Bb made in bed then can't touch bed but you sleep on it every nite leh.

Regarding birthmarks and sesame seeds... that's really funny! Then eat mooncake how ... got melon seeds leh.

Liewlian
Me only taking bird's nest occasionally and black chicken soup. Got quite a lot of stock of essence of chicken etc from delivery of no. 1. My mom said can take it now also otherwise afterwards may get more after delivering no.2.

Was told by my mom that can only drink longan and red date during confinement but me water buffalo esp since bf so she made a big pot of longan and red date also not enough for me so I drink water. So far so good leh.

Me also heard of drinking the drink during confinement leh. Now no need lah.

Jan
Really pity you leh. Your MIL super unreasonable. Try to lock yourself in the room when bf. can tell her u can't get let down with her looking. If not, maybe you should get some nursing tops so you dun have to expose too much to her.

Weoseek
Your hubby so sweet. Boil drink for you. My hubby the other way round... want to share my tonics with me. haha!

Which brand of breastpads are you referring to? Looking at the price, it may be pigeon premium? Usu buy that also. It depends on how much you leak. Once your milk flow kicks in, may need to change breastpads after a few feeds coz your other breast usu leaks when you're feeding on one side. So you'll need it even if you're home. If you wanna save $$, can buy the washable pads so can reuse them.

Wet wipes shouldn't dry up so fast coz they are usu sealed up. Should be ok to buy now.

Krissie
Wah... your friend's flow so much? Me bought madame maternity pads by pureen from Carrefour. It's adhesive and my flow wasn't so scary leh. In fact, didn't even finish one pack. think I changed to my usu night pads after a few days of delivery coz flow was very little already. Maybe each person's body reacts differently. Can't imagine having to wear 2 pads. Maybe should just change pads more often lor. Think I'll still go with adhesive... at least less chance of staining since there's a plastic at the bottom.

Joyful
What carrier are you referring to? To carry bb around? some pple swear by the bb sling but I never mastered the technique. My bb sling is for slightly older bbs ... like having a haversack in front.

Re: Maternity Pad
The maternity pad I bought also pink color
packaging from Kotex. But i think it doesnt come with wing right? Only thicker. Have seen some where else say Laurier/Whisper that has wing might be better? You all have any ideas?

How many packets in total we need to hv? Heard that our period will come for 3-4 weeks right?

Re: Wet wipes
I have lots of wet wipes..if it dries up..I'm gonna cry liao! Cos that time OG had 20+10% discount..make me crazy and buy lots of bb stuff.

Re: Breast pad
I heard Pigeon one is better but more ex. The one I've got is Tollyjoy since its given by relative.

Berlin,
My class last week with S/N Chong also boring..She kept repeating Stage1/2 of delivery...eg. what is Show etc...Hubby felt quite good, cos it help him remembers wuh.

absolut,
Hubby have to boil soup, birdnest etc..becos my own mother doesnt believe in bu3. She think I too fat to accept all these..hehehe..but hubby worries his baby become ah tut..if no drink, so he had to do himself loh..hehe.

Joyful,
I saw a lot of mummy using MIM carrior which look like sarong one. Think can buy from United Square..cost $40+.

Good afternoon ladies,

I also often sit on my bed to fold clothes...

Maternity pads:
Carrefour is selling the madame brand at $7.00 only.. 20pcs.

Weoseek,
I saw the changing colour bath matt at mothercare at centerpoint, they are selling at about $47++ if i remember correctly.. you still buying huh?

I also heard from my mum saying we can only drink the red dates with longan drink during confinement... can drink milo lor if don't like the red dates drink.. water cannot drink also. i think i charm, i also like to drink a lot of water...

regards to the shower gel n shampoo for bb. Have u decided which brand to use? I'm thinking of either Pigeon or Kodomo. But don't know which one is good.

Violetgem,
Ya, I'm attending TMC one. My class is very packed so last week S/N Chong requested the husband to share, at least most MTBs can sit against the wall and 1 hubby who sit in the middle can even lie on the floor while watching the slides. I ask my hubby to go early next week lor. Yesterday was teaching more on breathing exercise to relieve pain during contraction, but was too fast, I didn't catch when to do which breathing. And also teach us to do virginal, pelvic and anus mucsle exercise.

absolut,
Cos MIL is quite concern,everytime will remind us so I just follow lor.. I even worried about chili seeds, guess it's all in my imagination.

Weoseek,
Compared with Mrs Uma, I think S/N chong is more interesting.

Joyful
ya, the Ikea one is the cheapest. And they have this sponge mat for us to put the bb one. I think is $10.

Absolut
Thanks.. I'll check out the Pureen pads.. didn't know what's the diff earlier. Is the Madame pads cully cotton at the top, like Kotex type? coz I told my friend that I wanna use my normal Whisper night pads, but she says that it's rougher and might hurt the wound, so recommended the cotton one. I'll also go buy my Whisper night with wings to stand by, in case my flow is lesser, like yours. I still like Whisper + I need the wings..

Re: pads, can clarify that there's Madame (pink wrapper) & Kotex (blue wrapper) for the adhesive one?

YL
For bb's toiletries, there's also Pureen and J & J. Hee hee.. I've not decided which one to buy yet.
My friend says that they're qt comparable, Kodomo, Pureen, JJ. Pigeon shld be ok also, coz JAp brand.

absolut,
yup, I'm refering to the baby carrier as an alternative to sarong sling. My hubby prefers the baby carrier, maybe the sarong sling too lady-like for men.

yl,
As for baby shower gel & shampoo, I think the Johnson&Johnson Top-to-Toe wash is gd enough.

Berlin,
My anatenatal class isntructor is also S/N Chong. She's the auntie type, but can be quite funny at times.

krissie,
Can the baby changing table fit into the boot of the car, or did you ask Ikea to deliver to your home?
I think Kotex has both pink & blue packaging for the adhesive pads. But dunno what's the difference...

Weoseek
Your MIL also dun boil for you? Must sayang your hubby leh. He's doing a great job looking after you then.

Regarding maternity pads, only bought one pack of 20 pads and prob used abt 15 only. Then used one of the night wing pads coz feel safer with wings and flow wasn't that heavy to require maternity pads which are quite long and thick. Think the madame pads only 1 colour. Dunno abt Kotex though.

ylyl
dun stock up on too much bb soap and shampoo just in case bb's skin is sensitive. Bought J&J peach bath for Ally but her skin was too dry so had to change several soaps and in the end, used Cetaphil coz it's the gentlest.

Joyful
ha ha.. haven bought it yet, but Ikea's stuff are mostly self-assemble.
It's quite small, surely can fit into the car.

Absolut
Thanks. So, we only need to buy one body wash & shampoo for bb, right? That's what I plan to do, coz my friend's bb also had sensitive skin. For toiletries and pampers, I think it's best to try first.

During my antenatal course, the nurse said we could use the j&j lotion for both body and shampoo. Basically didn't use a separate shampoo til Ally was abt 3 months.

Absolut,
Is the madame maternity pad make of cotton on the top part? Thanks.

Joyful,
Thanks for the update.
So where did you get your J&J top to toe wash, i wanted to buy that for my bb, haven found it yet. Thanks.

Is the maternity pad use during water bag burst or period after give birth? If caesarian, will also hv period after birth?

DS
J&J Top to toe wash can be get from watsons.

Weoseek,
Izit, ok noted with thanks.

Think once you stop breast feeding mense will comeliao, but also depends.
Got to wait for experienced mummies to answer your question leh.

Absolut,
MIL stays in Msia. So cannot cook. So she teach hubby how to make it. My hubby only did all these for the sake of the bb, not for me. I asked him to help remind/put stretch mark cream, he hack care leh. But everything for bb, he is willing.

Think nowadays most mens are like that horcannot ask for much liao.

DS
Think madame has cotton top layer. Remember it being quite soft.

I didn't use it for the bursting of waterbag coz mine was burst by gynae in labour ward but think it's possible to use it for that purpose.

Suspect that C-section will also have period after birth? Think so leh. Anyone here with C-section experience to answer?

Weoseek
Hubby not bad already. Must appreciate ... some won't even bother even if it is for bb leh. Wah... just realised that there are 4 of us with the same delivery date. Think you can meet those mommies in TMC since many are delivering there... maybe during parentcare sessions.

Violetgem,
i think my mil is only one of the kind. must be worst mil out there. so i try to accomodate lor. just that watch me bf is over my limit so that one i die die also don't agree. don't worry abt your weight. wat is important is baby heathly. i hit 15kg when already and i only 4mths plus so i got alot more to lose than u after birth. don't worry. my gynea told me last time she had a mummy who gained 25kg in total but after birth, lost all. so i don't feel so bad. baby come first now for me.

joyful, i also agree. i don't do the housework, i will be living in filth leh. my sil don't do anything one and don't expect my mil to do right. so i guess we can be forgiven lah hor.

absolut,
i definitely getting nursing tops. if not i will express milk in toilet then feed baby cos no way lah. i cannot allow her to see me bf. most likely i can't do it too. so intrusive. its like i got no privacy and on public display. problem is my sil allow her to view so...... sigh. when she gets to compare, i am very difficult.

Weoseek,
ur hubby very nice already. my hubby cannot boil anything except maybe water. cos all along mum boil one leh so ur hubby is a big improvement from alot of other hubbies already. man are like this one lah. last time my office got ladies tell me. before u marry him, its super sweet honeymoon, then u marry and go on honey moon then things kind of get stagnant cos nothing new then when u r pregnant hor, man become super attentive and u get honeymoon feeling again but hor when baby is out, u have to adjust ur expectation downwards cos they not so attentive anymore. so i guess, quite typical of man.

Hi Sunnyling,

How are you & your bb ?? ya, long time never meet up liao... It's so coincidental that we have the same EDD mth.

Me just change job so got not much chance to come in here cos my PC got no internet. Now, I'm using the common PC but can't come in often also cos firstly it's shared by many colleagues and secondly, if come too frequently, they will know I'm too "eng"... Unlike my previous job, can come in anytime I like.

Went to Kids Mall at IMM just now, find that the price there are more ex than Kiddy Palace. So in the end, didn't buy anything. Thought of buying CNY clothes for bb. Or maybe I shouldn't buy too many bb clothes in case bb first mth, received alot of bb clothing.

My colleague who had c-section told me that she still had menses, but the flow was normal, i.e. not as heavy as natural birth. She said coz gynae cleared some during the op.

Jan,

Wow, gain 25kg ah??? My goodness... But how she manage to lose all ?? Must be very tough lah... I saw my colleague (just back from maternity leave for about 2 mths liao) sometimes have to skip lunch, exercise, etc to slim down.... like quite "tong ku".... I told my hubby if I can't get back to my pre-preggie figure, he will have to fork out money to let me go beauty salon... ha ha....

BTW, what you said about men is quite true leh....

Krissie,

You mean the gynae will clear for us one ah ?? That means we don't have to buy maternity pads lah... normal pads can do liao lah ??? Like that good leh... don't have to worry about leaking...

Joyful
I got a Baby Bjorn carrier. But I bought it donkey years ago, it was meant as a gift for a friend, ended up she left before I could give it her, so now I will use it for Megan, hee hee! I also got a baby sling from my trip to the US.

Jan
Your MIL is super duper mean. Actually, I dunno why most MIL are like that. Mine is super nagging and I hardly see her, only once a week and she can nag from the time I go to her place to the time I go home (total 5 hours!!!) and she likes to make comparisons....sianz..
314580.gif

RE: Housework
I still do most of the housework leh. I change my bedsheets, vaccum & mop the floor, fold the clothes..almost everything. If preggies cannot do, then who do??? Then, my place will look like a spider house after 9mths cos' of all the cobwebs, hee hee!
314581.gif

Ladies, Isetan also got alot of open front pyjamas (if you don't mind them abit frumpy looking), cost around $11, can go and look see, look see. Otherwise, we can use our hb's old long sleeve shirts to wear while bfing. Can save $$$$