(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Hi gals, Happy New Year!

Ju, dili, AP,
My CNY is also very tiring but more on the visiting. I don't hv to bother so much on Jaime cos' there were lots of relatives & newphes & nieces looking aft her and she was busy mingling among the relatives and eating the goodies hee... as for her meal, I cooked porridge and bring out for the 2days of visiting.

JJ
When I was at my mom's, things were easy. My aunties and uncles will carry him around and play. But strangely, hubby's relatives more reserved. Think because Malc is closer to my uncles. He get to see them every week when we bring him to dad's shop.

Teething

Malc is teething. Saw 3 pearlies sprouting out. Accordingly to the health book, those are the first molars. Seems like the canine teeth will come later than the first molars. Now Malc's teeth look weird. Got one tooth gap between his lateral incisor and first molar, since his canine teeth are not out. Is it the same for your kiddo?

Hi.
Yeah. My son Tristan was so excited during CNY, must be wondering why daddy and mommy so free, can bring him out everyday. So he refused to nap in the afternoon ! Can 'dong' from 12.30 - 8 pm till i got so worried for him.

Anyway, today back to work super sian. Luckily he din make a fuss, else I will be so tempted to take leave liao..

We fed him porridge at pple's house oso. Aunties v curious and asked us what is that we are feeding him. Porridge lah, thought it is so obvious. Think have to buy a proper thermos flask , coz now using a v lao-pok plastic flask.
BTW, do u feed ur child in the car ? I was in such a hurry, had to feed him in the car seat once. My friend commented no good, coz the car in-motion, must be v uncomfortable for the kid ?

Guess I may have to feed him in the car when we go for MyGym in march coz now his routine is that his morning nap is 10.30 - 12.30. Gonna be a mad rush man... hope we'll make it in time !

happy new yr!

unlike all of u, cny for us is just like other normal days cos all our relatives are in indo..so, just visiting via phone

well, unless if we go back lor..but not this yr..not really in the mood to travel with a can't stop moving toddler and preggie at the same time..

anyhow, we did visit some close frens and vice versa - and some can not miss steamboat on the eve of course hehe...

ju, thks for adding me in the list
i must confess, i dunno how to add table when posting message keke...

mommies and kids which are still unwell, take care cos spore is heating up recently
dun think will get any better in the near future *sigh*

just something to share with u all to ease my heavy heart...

when abby was born, my mom oredi asked me when to get a 2nd one - that time was pretty stressed out that i said i needed to think twice of hving no.2, she said can't stop at 1, poor abby if no sibling

and then recently when she found out i was preggie, her first word was ' OH NO! JIALAT LAH'

i was so shocked that i said to her, everybody congratulate me but you...

FYI, my pregnancy is unplanned one, but we're delighted about it, cos actually we do want no.2 it's just not this fast but we're fine with wat happened

and then after that, she kept on mentioning to me that i should have be more careful, that we should be more kiasu in using protection...
she said cos having another child will be very tough and difficult

i really dont understand why she's like that
til now, i still feel angry but i just dont show to her lor...
cos i've tried to discuss this matter with her once but ended up we argued

haii..i just dunno how to make this going away from my mind..u know, like i'm going to give birth to an unwanted grandchild of her...so sad

Hi Yvonne
Nope, I never feed Malc in the car. Mostly becoz he is at the back seat while I am in front (not the driver though). LOL! Feeding can be messy and I dun wan to get screwed upside down by my ah lao. And I think your friend is right. Sicali Malc kenna motion sickness and puked in the car. Then sure kenna left, right upside down from ah lao. LOL!! If we are late for his meal time, Malc will just have to wait. Before leaving the house, I will feed him some crackers to fill him up first. Malc has no problem with that.

littleabby
I believe your mom meant well. Probably she doesn't want you and your hubby to get stressed out since you mentioned you felt pretty much so when Abby was born. Or maybe she thought you do not want no. 2 so soon, that is why she is worried for you??

Don't think too much. You are preggy now. So must think of happy things and be positive ok?

Just forget about the matter lor, it could be a pure misunderstanding,

mommies help! any good and effective diaper rash cream besides desitin? adam's button got red and bumpy rash!! ahhhhhhh!!!! just started work for less than 2 weeks and this type of thing happen... realllll pissed with xxx (u all know who lah)

littleabby,
i guess what the only thing now is to be happy.. =)

my mom i guess have a bit of the same character of ur mom.. & wat i do is one ear in one ear out.. it helps alot lar.. heez =)

as wat ju said, forget it.. u should have a happy no2 !!! ... afterall its ur family... =)

manuka,

i used DRAPOLENE cream (pink colour box) on Bryan nappy rash b4, when he was using huggies diapers.. it was quite bad, but the cream really effective.. u might wanna try.. =)

Hi everyone, happy new year and gong xi fa cai. Am back from ipoh this morn 5.30am. Wow lao, go ipoh traffic jam, come back also traffic jam. Spent nearly half a day in the car. Poor ah lao cos he's the one driving. Dun noe next year how, one javier already bu tahan, next year another kiddo pengz. Maybe take plane better hor but if take plane no car to drive another which can be very troublesome.

I only went to my mom hse to 'bai nian'and have dinner. Lucky dun need to go relative house, if not very tiring at this stage.

Lynn
You want Desitin? I have a spare tube. Can pass to you.

PS: I know who you are referring to. Geez, what happened? Never change diaper straightafter pooping?

Ju, I can't comment much on teething cos' Jaime just started to hv her 2 upper front teeth hee...
now she only got a total of 4 teeth; as for my boy hmm... cannot remember liao

littleabby, i understand how u feel. I had problem and quarrel with my mum when I was pregnant too. It was a different issue from yours but it was really very stressful. It even happen when I was nearly due (39wk) and my hb have no choice but to stop her from her nonsense and guess what, that very night my water bag burst. Like wat others said, just relax and don't bother. Don't know if you gals believe it, stress can really affect your pregnancy. Imagine, if i have not cross over 36wk and the water bag burst what will the consequeces be?

Lynn, so far I found Desitin is the best liao. When did Adam's rash starts? It will take a few days for the rashes to go away and it will be very painful on Adam. It always happen to my son when he was younger as he had sensitive skin. If u r really worried, bring him to a PD.

Yvonne, so far I only feed my gal milk in the car, I aws tried to avoid any mealtime travel. If suay suay cannot avoid, i'll either feed her earlier or later lor.

Manuku,u can try zaricort cream,brought at clinic,very good.Evertime Douglas got rashes or insect bite,I apply tat and after awhile the rashes ll be gone.

Ju,Douglas oso got a gap in between,at first tot is it something wrong with it,ha ha.

littleabby,
I think your mum is prob worried about how you are going to cope with two, that's why she isn't too thrilled about your 2nd pregnancy. Give her some time and I'm sure she'll come to accept the fact that her 2nd grandchild is on the way. There's nothing she can do anyway to reverse the situation.

What's more impt is that you keep a positive outlook. That's easy to say of course. I'm now in my 27th week and I must say I have been upset many times during this 2nd preg. It's really NOT easy having carry this extra weight in the belly and having to carry and manage a toddler at the same time. I'm so exhausted and a lot of the time I feel that I'm not getting much help at home and I'm still doing all the babycare and chores. I suppose that's how it is with the 2nd one, but we have to remain strong and try out best to stay happy and cope for the sake of our children.

Just vent/share on the forum...it'll make you feel a lot better :)

Thank you for all the well wishes.....

Hiroshi has finally recovered.... since 2nd day of CNY.... BUT, his temprement changes with it too!! He is now a terror!! Very bad temprement.... If we dun give in to him... he will kick up a BIG tantrum FITS!! I am getting very upset and tired about it!!

hmm... lets see.... remarks from relatives.....
when they see my big big tummy... they say.....
"wah piang oui!! No. 2 so fast arr....."

i was like DUHZ!!

I'll try to post a pix of hiroshi when i get the chance.....

Ah Fat, glad to hear tat Hiro has recovered!

Littleabby, take care. All grandmas will love their grandchildren one. I think sometimes old ppl will just tend to get a little naggy. Once the little one is out she will forget what she has said and hence u shd not let this affect ur pregnancy.

Dolly, take care. Wow..so fast u 27th week already. *envy* 3 mths later can c ur 2nd child liao.

Good Morning Everyone !

"Happy New Year to all mommies !" - From Tristan.

Attached is my kiddo, taken at studio loft recently. The pple there are really good, esp Candida - help him relax and make him laugh by doing star jump...

Kiddo started to walk at 14.5 months. Was so worried for him initially, when he still haven't walked by 13 months. Now, we have to chase after him coz he really loves to walk by himself ! No hands-holding ...

Mommies, have u brought ur child to take studio pics ? I really want to bring Tristan to take studio pics because I find that he is so active now, most of my pics are a bit blurrrr... But I scared hubby think it is so wasteful. Actually quite exp coz always order on top of package (like wedding photo like that lor). So do u bring your child to take studui pics at milestone (eg 1 year, 2 year or after they learn to sit, stand etc?). How many times do u think is over-doing ?

699802.jpg

yeah..i guess she does mean well...
at first i guess she's worried i cant cope alone with 2kids, cos it does very tiring to take care of a toddler, take care of the house and being preggie at the same time
then around 3weeks ago i hired a maid to help around, now i'm more to relax mode
then her worries changed to whether we can cope financially or not
so, yeah, i just look at the brighter side and think that she cares for me

wat i'm doing now is just trying to get that out of my mind and be happy, cos like wat baby2005 said, i oso heard abt it, stressed preggie mommies can affect the babies - i dont want my baby feels stressed oso inside
it's just that whenever she repeats her same comment then it's like everything back to square one lor...

just hoping that she'll finally accept the fact that i am preggie now and her remarks are useless cos she cant reverse whatever have happened and finally stop saying anything

i ever told her that a baby is God's gift, we can plan but if He has another plan for us, we have to be grateful and thankful

meantime, any unpleasant comment from her coming, i'll use sarahbb's method, ear in ear out keke...

thks for all comments, sharing with u all makes me feel better

baby2005, same thing happened to my fren, she had a quarrel with her mil and on that night her water bag burst and she had a very difficult labour til she fell into comatose condition halfway and had to go thru c-sect
thk God she and the bb are fine
doc said her blood pressure vy high
i guess partly cos of the quarrel

hiroshima, good to know hiroshi is recovered oredi

manuka, abby vy seldom gets rashes, but whenever she gets it, i always apply SUDOCREM, can get from mothercare, i find it's vy good, can heal vy fast

Yvonne, hellooo..u r the one joing us for the MyGym hor? Ur boy is cute

Brought boy for the studio pics at foto-u when he's one. Price quite ok leh. We just got a CD from them and printed whatever we want ourselves at normal photoshop. Didnt ask them to do anytg else. Quite happy with the photos too

Kids wld be tired for photoshoot as well. For me, I think I will do it once a yr (the most).

Wow! ju, u got all sort of cream arh?? hee...

littleabby, OMG, thank god your friend and the bb is fine. Sometimes I really don't understand, our mum/MIL has been thru the pregnancy stage before and why they can't understand. Hope I don't repeat the same mistake to jaime. U r right, our kids are the gift from god, we shd treasure them.

Hiroshi-ma, so happy that hiro is ok now

JJ
Hahahaha... yah lor. During Malc's hospitalisation when he was less than 1 mo, his birth PD put him on antibiotics. But the medication caused him to LS. Then one of the mommy there saw liao, bot a tube of desitin for him. So nice hor?? Then at the same time, the PD also prescribed desitin. So ended up I got 2 tubes. The first tube not yet finished. Coz I only used on Malc when he has diaper rash.

The Sudocrem, because that time his face got rashes. I think JJ, you are the one who told me about the cream. I went to get from Mothercare. But din really worked for Malc. Went to see Dr Allyson Tan from Kids Clinic and was prescribed something else which was meant for eczema. But hor, I dun think Malc has eczema leh. Oh well, as long as the rashes dun re-appear, I dun care. LOL!

Ju, ya, 1 tube of desitin can last very long one. I used very little cos' it is very thick. hmm.... don't think i'm the 1 tt recommended sudocrem, hee... cos' i nvr heard of this cream before. my boy got sensitive skin, last time PD usually prescribe Zaricot (spell??) for the rashes on his face.

littleabby,
it's you ah?? hehehe... solly, my brain cells mostly dead liao. hehehe..

JJ
I dunno about Zaricot. Mom passed me this cream called "Fucicort" when Malc has a bout of diaper rash which refused to go away. Quite ok, but I used very little coz it contains steriod. Have to be careful with cream containing steriod. Coz it will thin out the skin.

Ju, ya, Zaricot also contain steriod, think both r the same (in nature). This kind of cream must use sparingly and cannot use too often cos' it will thin the skin.

thanks mommies for the advice on cream...
today i will try to air his backside see if it will get better...

by the way, any mommies got contact of good maid agencies near hougang sengkang area? anyone here used Nation?

hi manuka,

i just got a maid recently
i went to hougang greeen mall, alot of maid agencies there
i checked out a few there, including nation
nation charges the highest fee, but no interest for the maid loan, even tho we pay monthly, not upfront
i think all in all the fee is 650
but the good thing is they have alot of branches and maids available, so in case u need a replacement, it wont take a long time to get another one

the rest is around the same fee, all in all 500, but they charge interest for maid loan if u dont pay upfront, the interest is $200

paying the maid loan upfront is around 2k plus
if not upfront it'll be monthly for around 1yr with postdated cheques

i finally got mine from sing island maid agency at peoples park centre
the fee is 500 for fresh new maid
but if u get transfer maid, it's 400

i took transfer maid

i guess i chose this agency cos i find their service is better than the rest

alot of agency - they wash their hands aft u get a maid, so lets say u encounter problems with the maid, suddenly its vy dificult to contact them - according to some of my frens' experiences

sing island, they'll call u from time to time to check how the maid is

oya, they dont charge interest for maid loan eventho u dont pay upfront
one of the reason y i chose them

i find paying $200 for interest from a loan which is not even yours is really ridiculous and alot of ppl have bad experiences - they paid upfront, end up have problems with the maid before 1yr, stop using the maid and couldnt get the balance of the money back

btw, the fee i mentioned is all inclusive of insurance oredi

HTH

littleabby,
So which nationality did you get? I'm planning to start looking as well as I don't think I can cope with 2 kids.
How's your maid so far?

indonesian - cos i'm indonesian hehe

so far she's good, 3weeks now
she's experienced so she dont really encounter any problem

she can speak english oso pretty well

if u wanna get those quite capable in speaking english, i think get a trasfer maid will be better, they've experienced with english speaking employers
those indo fresh just came from the village, most of them have dificulty in communicating, cos their knowledge is only from the training they get

but i think english is not an issue for philipinos but their salary higher i think

Manuka,
I got mine from Nation at Hougang Green. Yes, like what Abby said, alot of maid agencies there. Hubby and I couldn't be bothered to check out prices... just went for the most reputable one there.

I heard the staff at Nation say that they get to choose the better ones (more pleasant looking, higher education and higher scores during training) because they're bigger. Don't know how true it is lah.

Mine's from Indonesia... she's been with me since Nov'05 (before my delivery). Fresh, first time in Sg, only speaks Bahasa. (no choice I pick up bahasa lor).

I had to pick Indonesian cos Mum can't speak English. At least Mum can pick up bahasa/melayu more easily.

oh... congratulate me, ladies! haha, no lah, not preg lah! I've finally managed to stop expressing milk at work! She's now drinking soy formula and my leftover ebm during the day. Only latch on morning and night! so happy! and true enough, I got my period back straight after I cut down on my supply!

Hello all..Happy Golden Piggy year to all mummies and babies. I am back at work - missing my boy terribly after spending so much time with him..and he calls me "ma ma" all the time when i am not around..so sad.

Dili - congrats...yippee..your ger is finally willing to give you some "freedom"..

Just to share something frustrating that happened - I got a call from PUB water dept yest - and they highlighted to me that my water bill in the month of Jan is unreasonably high - normally it's abt 10 to 13 cubic metres, but in Jan, it was abt 350cubic metres (about 30times of normal). They suspect leakage either underground or in the house. Asked me to check - so I checked..found nothing, and I asked my maid..any leakge in her toilet - she said..got a bit in her toilet, but she did not tell me cos she has fixed it. So I went to her toilet - and guess what - she stuffed some sponge into the leaking hole..still leaking..and wet. I was so angry..since it is her toilet, I do not go to her toilet to check all the time..and this has been going on for 1 month - and she has not said a thing..even insisted that she has repaired it.

Anyway, PUB came down this morning, and checked and concluded that there is no underground leakage. PUB told me that they would discount 75% of the water bill..but after the discount..prob still more than 1k. And thru this all, my maid did not even say sorry..just maintained that she has repaired it.

Actually, I am really angry - but at the same time, what can I do ? It is not like she has disobeyed me..and she really thot that she repaired it..sigh. Very frustrating - as some of you would know, she is taking good care of my son.

Chin...
I totally understand. My maid takes good care of ally too, that's why I close one eye when it comes to things like that (sometimes, you can never make them understand certain concepts!!!) goodness me, >$1k after 75% discount! geez.

Hi Dili,

Thanks.. I am going to change his Nestle formula to Isomil Advance 2. The Nestle formula is causing too much phlegm. Will try that on him.

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR!!
Sorry for my late greeting...i was having high fever since last thur till mon...was sleeping in the living rm alone for few nite as was worry my girl will kana the virus fm me...BUT my girl still got it...haiz...she was running a high fever from mon evening...the fever was as high as 39.9....tis is the 1st time her temp go so high...even after med..the temp still maintain aro.38.8...keep sponge her the whole nite..it was holiday & the pd clinic was closed...tue morning called Dr Allyson clinic emergency number & arranged for an apointment with Dr Allyson at Mount A. After giving her the suppository,med...her fever has subsided....but she started to hv cough & running nose now...& her temp maintained aro.37.6
Really pity her...'slim' down alot...& i hv to 'force' her to take med.

Irene,
Glad tat Hiroshi has finally recovered....
Hope my dawn dawn will recover soon...she also became very 'demanding'...want tis want tat..if we dun give in..she will 'fa da xiao jie pi qi'....think is due to we 'pampered' her too much tis few days...

IF,
Aiyoh fever so high! could have brought her to KKH A&E.? Hope dawn dawn princess gets well soon.

Manuka,
The Budget that was just revealed by the govt... new levy on maid is $170 instead of $200. Abby, I didn't know that PR levy is so much higher! quite unfair leh.

Rooster,
Why do you need to use soy formula? issit cos baby's also's allergic to cm? confirmed by doctor? Ally's so far so good on Isomil, except she starts passing motion on alternate days now (used to be everyday)

Hi IF,
OMG, like what dili say, u shd bring her to KKH A&E. Hope your little gal recover soon. U just recover so need to take care too.