(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Baby2005, Same la...Cubbie enjoyings biting, fiddling or just going to and fro "transporting" books from the shelves when I ATTEMPT to read to her.

Its pretty natural for them to be at for their age. We should just continue to read to them...someone told me you try to read to the plant or the dog, then they will see how come mommy so interested in reading to the dog/plant, and come forward to check US out.

LOL

furryfurry, yap i heard those stuff about watching tv too. but what to do, sometimes really need to rest a bit. and if they watch a bit of tv, can rest hahaha

downtimes...hmm...so far no much of personal time. but i treasure times spent with hubby only. so what we did, take secret 'leave' from work and go out and enjoy! hehe

dili, alyssa is really sweet. i can still remember her smile! her daddy must've missed her a lot!!

josh also like those mediacorp and mobtv that comes out at the end of the show. he will smile onto the tv, like expecting a tv commercial to come next. faint!

baby2005, not easy reading to josh. can only use those books that have activity, e.g with sounds when he press, with pop up. so he will get busy with touching the book, playing with sounds and pop out while i read to him (dunno if he listens or not. but bo chap lah!)

cel, josh also like the beginning and ending of the show. i try to restrict commercials, but sometimes too tired to keep up with his energy. so when he watches tv, at least he can keep still. anyway i try to be more selective and let him watch educational shows lor....(boring for me though..haha)

momoko.. for orlando.. he doesn't really watch tv shows.. so i dun really stop him if he watches the tv commercials.. coz i'm not the kind dat watches tv shows.. so he dun get to watch much unless at my mum's or MIL's place..

as for reading.. orlando will listen at times.. but most of the time he would snatch it away n flipped by himself.. den pass bak to me to read only a particular page.. after tat he will take it bak again..

momo... next one will be girl! *baby girl dust from Ally!*

Reading: she has a few favourite books... depending on her mood, she'll sit still for 2 minutes MAX... her books are all mutilated liao... chewed on, torn (and mended!), dog earred! Same as Jaime lah, baby2005!

baby2005

Javier love to 'read' book especially flip the pages. He love to flip it fast fast and carry the book here and there.

Dili_mummy

Ya, i bot the ST at United sq on the same day we had our gathering. I always on the tv for javier but he only watch it when he felt like it cos I like sound at home if not too quiet le.

baby2005

My boy also has a lot of 'mended' books :/

I read Goodnight Moon to him every night before he goes to sleep. Have been doing this since he was a month old, and he's been slowly 'absorbing'. Now he is starting to identify the objects in the book. For eg: When I read "Goodnight stars" he can point to the star, when I read "a red balloon", he can point to the red balloon. But on nights when he is not in the mood or too tired, he will just pull the book away and flip the pages, then throw it aside.

As for throwing books/things: one of his favourite activities is to go to the DVD shelf, pull DVDs out and fling them all over the place! Or he will take a DVD, open the case, take the disc out, and slide on the floor all over the house.

youpi,douglas oso enjoy taking out disc from drawers n throw,if not he ll hide the disc under the tv or behind the bed,so always got missing disc de.
momoko,douglas also very addict to tv commerical too,esp those got pretty girl de,like SK2,he ll smile at it.He watch his disc n tv for hours everyday,cos my whole family is mediacorp's fan,ha ha.

Morning everyone.

Anyone here selling stuff at the flea market at SAFRA this Sunday? I'll be having a stall there for infant and toddler clothes for boys and girls. Both BN and Pre-loved. Hope to see some sellers there....or buyers
Come say hi leh. Doing this for the "Experience" of it...

A lot of mosquitoes nowadays, biting my cub a lot..poor kid...so many speckled dots on her face and hands

Hi Momoko,
Thanks for organising this gathering..

Hi Elaine & June,
Thanks for 'identifying' me...

Looking forward to the next gathering...hope more mummies will join in....

Dili,
me & hb really impressed by Alyssa. She is very smart hor...the next day we tried to teach Dawn the 'chicken little' expression & nod her head....she jus stare at us blur blur....hahaha.....

Think i hv to restrict my gal in spending too much time watching Hi 5/tv program. we hv to on the Hi5 dvd when we want to clean her before changing to her pyjamas if not she will make noise/scream & crawl away....trying to stop us....noti girl....sometime halfway thru her meal...we will ned to on the Hi5 too...
But she seem like getting abit sian of Hi5, we will on the 'blue'...forget abt the name...is a program with a blue dog..

Hi mommies, seems like most of our bbs r quite the same when it come to reading. Hee... i tot only jaime, cos' when my boy was younger, he will sit still and let me read to him.

Hey, youpi, i also hv the Goodnight Moon book, got it for my son long long time ago. hee... hmm... maybe i shd read this book to jaime.

dili, i didn't really get much book for jaime, all hand down from her gor gor. Most of the book are very well-maintained but guess the book won't survivor long in the hand of Monster Jaime bwahahahahah.....

IF, is it Blue's Clue? Jaime like this dog too. Everytime she pass me the vcd/dvd to on for her, she'll watch for a few mins than disapper elsewhere liao faintz...

"GRAB" ( An International Fleamart )
@ Safra Mount Faber
No 2 Telok Blangah Way
Sunday 28th Jan - 10:00a.m. - 6:00p.m.
About 40-50 stalls

baby2005,
ya, is blue clue. my gal will stare at the tv with a blur blur look....may b as wat furryfurry said..watching tv is a "mind numbing activity".....
kao_confused.gif

hi mommies, my baby opposite leh..she recently lost interest in her other toys and just like us to read books to her. She will take a book and come wave it in front of you to read to her..and she can go over and over again without being sian..! her favourite so far is the hey, diddle, diddle rhyme.

IF, my boy also like that, watch TV until the sky drop down also don't know, pengz... Blue's Clue is actually a pre-schooler show and i'm actually quite surprise that Jaime like it. I've quite a few Blue's Clue stuff including a large soft toy where the 'dog' will make noise like kissing by pressing her nose, ears, paw and tummy, check it out http://lazymonsters.blogspot.com/2007/01/favourite-characters.html and Jaime aws ask for the soft toy. Actually hor, I quite like this show and I hv to get the DVD / Video Tape from states cos' it was not available in Spore until recently.

bluelips, u are so lucky. think u shd take this opportunity and gear up your gal's interest in reading.

bluelips

Tat a good thing, at least ur darling is willing to sit beside you. Wonder when can javier do tat? Still hoping hehehe.

I sign up SCV playhouse disney channel and some of the program I find it not bad especially when it come to 'Fun Song Factory', my boi would sway his body to the music.

mummies, i'm organising another playgroup trial! hehehe

actually i check with My Gym at woodlands civic centre. they are willing to start a class if we have a min of 6 children (from 10 to 18 mths).

details:
day: every sunday
time: 2pm - 2.50pm
venue: my Gym, woodlands civic centre
cost: $300 for 8 sessions (that means 8 weeks)

they are ok if we just start with a trial this sunday and then decide afterwards. the trial is $30.

how how how?? any one keen?? let me know soon then i could block off the time with them. i will ask my own frens too....

great shuyan, i'm thinking of having the trial on this sunday (28 jan) or next sunday (4 mar) depending on the response. also hoping to arrange it to around 1.30 or 1.45pm so that it wont be so near to our kids' afternoon nap times....

details:

trial: $30 on 28 jan or 4 feb

interested: momoko, shuyan

the rest let me know ok?? we try to keep the group to about 6 if possible...so that both parents can join in...if the trial is good, then we can continue every sunday, so it will be our own class. they are quite flexible in terms of adding content to the 50min program.

they have abt 5-10min free play, 20 min adventure time, followed by gymnastics, swing times, toys and also story telling....etc

great aprilpinky!

ok so now got momoko, shuyan, aprilpinky

trying to call My Gym to ask about their availability on 4 Feb. cos yesterday i only ask abt this sunday. will let you guys know.

any other mummies interested?

aiyo baby2005!!! why so busy!!!!!

Momo
Woodlands is too far for me if I were to travel with Malc on my own. I'll pass that trial. PS: Your sms came when I am still typing the post. LOL!!

Mommies
Anyone sending their bb to attend playschool when they reach 18 mo? I am comtemplating leh. There is one very nearby, conducting in the RC, called Kiddyabc. One hour per session, five days per week. Thought of signing Malc up in June when he turns 19 mo (easier to pay the material fee which charges half yearly). Then next year will let him attend Nursery 1 (N1). Year end bb a bit lose out, coz N1 is for 3 yo kids and by Jan 08, our bbs only 26 mo. But hor, I oso yr end kid leh, Dec one somemore. LOL!!

Then again, I dunno shd I send Malc to attend the playschool or not. Coz next yr, he is going to start the actual school liao, and from then, it will be no end till Uni?? LOL!! But one the other hand, I feel that he is somewhat wasting time at home. Thought he can attend the playschool and interact with the kids there. Furthermore now, he doesn't display any separation anxiety and is comfy with strangers, so I thought it is good to expose him to the classroom environment. And hopefully he won't cry when he start his N1 like the rest of the kids.

ju, for now i'm just looking at enrichment programs, not really looking at preschool (those daily ones) yet.... since got MIL to take care of him and he gets to play with his cousins quite often.

Good Morning ladies...

How is everyone doing?

Ju - I am also thinking of sending Darion to some play school of sorts when he turns 18mths. Problem is that I do not like the idea of letting my helper bring my son out alone (to the better playgroups like Julia Gabriel etc)- and since I am a FTWM, I am not able to do it myself. Now contemplating a child care/ playgroup just outside my house. At least they can take a 2 min walk there...

Oh yes, before u decide which playgroup/ childcare, be sure to go down and speak to the caregivers / teachers and check out the hygiene standard. Last week, I went to one (not the one I am planning to send Darion to) near my house also - and the teachers there speak broken Eng/ Chinese. And the place was not exactly clean - I was also informed that cleaning only happens once a week!! Toys and books were all over the place..and the teacher was steping over them. Urgh..

momoko

I'm on for the trial but only can make it on 4 Feb.

Ju

I am also thinking of signing up Jav's for playgroup 'dou dou ban' near my hse but tey only take in 22 mths and above so bo bian got to wait till then and in the meantime still scouting around for another playgroup for 18th month onward.

If all else fail, maybe I sign Jav's up for GUG weekdays classes and next term start end Feb 06. Hope by then I will not feel so tired traveling as 2nd trimester shall feel better rite. Haiz now going out of the house has become a chore for me. Anyone planning to sign up for GUG weekdays classes for next term? Wanna join me?

Chin

Luckily u mention about the hygiene standard. Ya must check out the place first before signing up for any classes. Oh mine, they only do the cleaning once a week, tot shall be cleaning everyday mah.

Chin, thanks for highlighting it. Am sure to go and see see look look.

Elaine, Where is the GUG you intend to bring Javier to? How much leh?

am still trying to call them (they are having a class now) to confirm the date and time of trial.

details:

trial: $30 on 4 feb (since majority prefers 4 feb)

interested: momoko, shuyan, aprilpinky, karen, elaine

hey one or two more mummies to join us for trial???

yah chin, its true, i have visited several preschool as at one point i was thinking of putting josh in those child centres playgroup for a few hours a day. but then the quality of the teachers really vary, and also the environment is important (some are quite clean but some looks like they have not cleaned the place or changed the toys for YEARS)

its right, furryfurry,
josh enjoys the trial i brought him at JG, but too bad they only have weekday class for his age now. 18mths then got weekends....

elaine, i brought josh that time to the forum outlet. remember you couldnt go?? but like i told you, not easy to get trial leh...

Momo, busy with CNY shopping and making cookies at my MIL's pl lor. 1 mth seems so short.

Ya, by next yr this time, our bb will be N1 liao. I'm still thinking whether to send jaime to my boy's childcare or just a pre-school instead. Advantages of my boy's childcare is: it is just below my mum's flat and she will be joining in Dec and my boy will be there at least 1 mth to look after the mei mei. I was thinking of pre-school too because, spending whole day at childcare make the kids vulnerable to falling sick but there's no pre-school near my mum's place and don't know if it is ok for a 26mth old to take a school bus. I'm in a dilemma, any advice?

Ju/chin, if you gals are thinking of childcare, maybe u can check if the childcare allow you to try out for a day or two. My boy's childcare allow that and they even allow parent to stay with the kid throughout the day for a the first 2 days of school to see what they learn/do.