(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Just had a super long meeting in the morning. V tired. Hehe. No problem abt sharing the tips. It's good that we all share what we know esp it's from a reliable source. My hubby also used to apply cream for me in a circular motion so he also got alarmed when he heard that.

Chin,

Cool right? My boy also reacted to the drumming.

Susan, I think ziplock bag cannot. I saw avent's storage bag from kiddy palace b4 but ex and not reusable and only necessary if u intend to deep freeze ur breast milk. If not, bottles will do for up to 24 hrs normally fridge storage.

hiyee.... mmm... have spent the whole day idling around.. refused to go into the office.. hehe...

*yawnz* suddenly have cravings for 'pork ribs king' translate urself.. hehe... so am waiting for my hubby to finish his meeting and come home to fetch me! mmm....

mummys... ask u all.. do u all have any cravings now? what do u usually crave for? so weird.. i have not taken anything today.. but am obviously not hungry yet.. hope wun do baby much harm.. :x

i can share my view on pump n storage (bottle/bags)

Pump: i own the Avent ISIS and Medela PIS. cant compare the 2 of them coz 1 is manual n 1 is electric. i can only give my view on both. Avent ISIS is small n easy to bring around, but it has lots of parts to assemble, n this make sterilising abit troublesome too. also hand can be tiring if pump for 20mins on each side..but it works well for a manual pump
for MedelaPIS, it comes in a bag pack incl the ice bag/pack to store expressed milk. n the parts r minimal, sterilising is easy. i sterilsed my PIS in ofc with the mini pigeon steriliser. tandem pumping can stimulate more milk flow, also PIS draw milk out well. I used it for abt 15mths , so worth the investment.

Storage. if u wan to freeze the EBM, u can either get from hosp glass milk bottle or get disposable avent storage bag for abt $7/40 bags. i started with the glass bottle, but realised the bottle is too small to contain the amt of milk i wan to freeze. Also the cap gets rusty n the bottle needs to b sterilised, quite troublesom. i change to milk bag n i think its really great to use.

i can share my view on pump n storage (bottle/bags)

Pump: i own the Avent ISIS and Medela PIS. cant compare the 2 of them coz 1 is manual n 1 is electric. i can only give my view on both. Avent ISIS is small n easy to bring around, but it has lots of parts to assemble, n this make sterilising abit troublesome too. also hand can be tiring if pump for 20mins on each side..but it works well for a manual pump
for MedelaPIS, it comes in a bag pack incl the ice bag/pack to store expressed milk. n the parts r minimal, sterilising is easy. i sterilsed my PIS in ofc with the mini pigeon steriliser. tandem pumping can stimulate more milk flow, also PIS draw milk out well. I used it for abt 15mths , so worth the investment.

Storage. if u wan to freeze the EBM, u can either get from hosp glass milk bottle or get disposable avent storage bag for abt $7/40 bags. i started with the glass bottle, but realised the bottle is too small to contain the amt of milk i wan to freeze. Also the cap gets rusty n the bottle needs to b sterilised, quite troublesom. i change to milk bag n i think its really great to use.

evening ladies..

juz got bak nt long frm shopping after my checkup today..

Aprilpinky, Dr Yeo let us listen to my boy's heartbeat today without us asking him.. hee.. n i've only gained 0.7kg since my last checkup a mth ago n he says its ok, he assured my hubby n mum dat in my size n bb's size, my weight is ok.. so tink everything is going on fine.. but he din give me the scan out pic today.. duno if he has forgotten or wat.. heh.. I went to Causeway Pt metro, but din c the Medela Pump as everything seems to b in a mess there.. My nxt checkup will b on 23 Aug..

Celtricia,

My next checkup is 13th Aug cuz Dr Yeo got meeting on the next Sat again. Anyway good to see him often. haha.

Hmmm..the pump is on the 2nd flr of Metro, where all the bb's stuff are. Just went last Thur. Cannot have disappeared so fast.

He also suddenly let me hear heartbeat. Oh then he went off without tearing the pic. Hubby asked for it then nurse went to tear it out....

I think u r v small sized. He also said my bb not big not small (by experience).

TTC, thks for sharing. I think I will stick with Avent pump and bottles.

haha...

hi mummys... am back from dinner.. mmm..

went to see the maid's packages.. didn't know that its so troublesome to have a maid.. :x

aprilpinky and celtricia: my gynae also didn't give me the scan pics after the detail scan.. he didn't even tell me my baby's weight..

hi celtricia

the offer for metro is over yesterday liao.. i only saw medela manual pump and mini electric pump (2 pumps) ..

<font color="0000ff">as @ 25-Jul-05</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender/Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>Morraine</TD><TD>18/10/05</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clee</TD><TD>01/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chin</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manuka</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SusanY</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Chia GyAnn</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Naughty</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Brent Chng</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Venus</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veil</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>07/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emm</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD>11/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Orlando Lee</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>HappyMum</TD><TD>12/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nmum</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluelips</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Woofy</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilpinky</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coral</TD><TD>15/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Kaden Ngong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>FurryFurry</TD><TD>17/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>(overseas)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ju</TD><TD>20/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Malcolm Wong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblove</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Girl</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeddie</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>TTC2nd</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dili Mum</TD><TD>24/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie&amp;Jillie</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Fat</TD><TD>29/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hiroshi Yoon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nik</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meixue</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD>04/12/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>(overseas)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sexxy</TD><TD>12/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JeslynLuvRenee</TD><TD>07/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris</TD><TD>10/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonbell</TD><TD>11/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>14/12/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Absolut</TD><TD>24/12/05</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Weoseek</TD><TD>27/12/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

legend
<font color="0000ff">ESH - Eastshore Hospital, MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, RH - Raffles Hospital, SGH - Singapore General Hospital, TMC - Thomson Medical Centre</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect, not up-to-date or left you gals out!</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

Venus 77, Yes - I am going for the TMC classes. How about you?

Gosh - I am early today!

I bought the Medela mini electric pump (single) during the GSS. Friends recommended it highly. According to them, however, the downside seems to be the fact that it makes a loud noise - like that of milking a cow!!
Haha...

Chin,
You ARE early!
I think we will be feeling like cows with or without the noise! except we've got bigger tits than them!

Naughty,
There are loads of people who come in and are shy to join in or don't want to reveal too much of themselves... Are we that intimidating
kao_confused.gif
C'mon and join us... share your joy with us!

TTC2nd, where can i get such milk storage bag?

If the milk is being stored in the freezer, it'll get frozen, right and if it does, how to thaw it in the fastest way? What is the longest time for the frozen milk be kept in the freezer?

Naughty, u're intending to hire a maid?

morning ladies!
kao_kiss.gif

wah seh.. good weather to sleep in leh.. had a hard time waking up to work.. sianz*
kao_sleep.gif

Susan ~ to de-thaw the milk.. u can place it in warm water the best.. den milk can b placed in the freezer for up to 3 mths if i bo sa lar..

*correct me if im wrong gers coz i read this info someware den dunno if i rem all correct bo?*

hi mummies..

am confused already.. so wat is the recommended breast pump to buy? manual or auto? single or ..???

the ante-natal class i went to yesterday say we need to feed the baby every 3 hours for the first 4 months. And don't believe anyone who tells you that baby can sleep through the night. According to the nurse, mummies must be diligent and try to feed or pump often so tat the milk flow doesn't stop. After 4 months, can introduce some semi-solid food.

she also talked about the diff pain relieve available during birth. seems like epidural has a lot of side-effects..nausea, dizzy, shivering.. and if too much, then whole lower body will be numb. And can have difficulty in passing water, since u cannot feel whether your bladder is full. So, the nurse will need to insert a catheter in and hook to a bag. i listen already also scared...

morraine..u r right. if we keep in freezer, can keep up to 3 mths..just need to thaw the milk when needed. But cannot boil or put in microwave, cos it will kill all the good cells.

if put in the fridge can onli keep up to 1-2 days.

naughty, i am also thinking of getting a maid. first time hiring, also dunno what to look for. been hearing too many horror stories also.

are you getting an indo or filipino maid? have you found an agency?

Bluelips, Morraine and Naughty,
Also thinking of getting a maid after bb is born... just to help mum with housework while she takes care of bb. When should I start my search?
Any websites to get more info about charges??

Yup. The frozen milk can keep for up to 3 mths. Tempted to pump all the way diligently in my 3rd mth so that my boy can enjoy breast milk for a mth more or so after I go back to work..

Susan, the milk bag I saw was avent's brand. Some kiddy palace have. I think Medela pump is good but if only pump for a little while like 3 mths then cheaper options can be considered.

Bb dont necessary will ask for milk every 3 hrs. My mum said nephew nite time woke up 3 times for feeding! *faint* But he's v chubby and has a huge appetite lah so I think it depends on individual bbs.

haha.. me also bery new in employing maid.. for new employers, u gotta attend a one day course at singapore poly or thru e-learning..

mummys, am thinking of employing a filipino maid coz it seemed to me that filipino maids are older and probably a bit more mature. think their pay is about 330-350 monthly.

am getting in a maid probably by end sept.. not too early coz still want er ren shi jie. think about two weeks to a month can le ba. hehe..

bluelips: when ya looking for a maid.. be sure to look out for foc replacement.. coz some stupid agency may charge u for a replacement. some agency charges like 188 for agency fees and some charged as high as 888... *so headache*
my hubby wants an old filipino maid.. plus ugly so that she wun try to be funny during her off days and give us trouble..s.. there are so many criterias... sigh...

*two cents worth of advice
when it comes to choosing maid, they have biodatas.. when it comes down to their preferences in doing work.. don't choose those who put (1) favourite is to take care of kids one.. those are usually very lazy and they will nap with the baby!!!! (obviously, i do not have any intention of engaging a maid to nap with my baby, right?) hehe

Dili_Mum,
PIS is nearly $700, but with sale from Kiddy Palace or Robs, it can be as low as $559. HTHs.

Aprilpinky, read that breastmilk is very easily digested, so unless giving formula milks, most moms tell me to be prepared for 1-2 hour milking shifts.

hehe.... then we'll all be cows....... moo...moo..

i was so frustrated the other day when my sis was expressing her milk.. with the medela pump.. its really noisy wor.. regret buying... but think its quite good wor..

Naughty, a friend told me not to get a maid tat's too old also. Cos she might not have the 'energy' to take care of bb n 'run' after small kid. I'm, juz like u, dun wan the maid to come too early. But, hb said must 'train' her before bbs' arrival. He tot as though i'm very good in doing hsework. So, i dun noe whether 2 weeks is enough???

AIKS! The PIS is so expensive!?! I'll stick to my $43 Pigeon one and see if it works well for me... thanks furry!

Maid,
I'll be hiring for my Mum's place... do I need to inform the agency??

Aprilpinky..

I din notice dat he din gave us the scan pic until we left for lunch.. Shucks! Nvm, i will try to remember the next time round.. heh.. As for the pump, i actually juz wan to haf a look, but couldn't find it anywhere on the shelves when i was there.. haiz.. nvm.. tink i will settle for something cheaper bah.. but u gonna use Avent bottles ah, my mum was telling me dat Avent bottles not gd to use as the teats can use the normal kind, only the Avent teats can fit the bottle. My aunt experience it, but coz the bottles was given by frens so she got no choice but to use it lor..

Naughty, the detail scan pics u dun haf meh? coz it was the medical officer who scanned for us dat gave us d pic, not our gynae as the scan is in another level..

u intending to get a maid ah? hmmm.. i wouldn't consider as there's too many stories abt maid abusing children n all.. too scary liao.. heh..

venus, u also went to Metro ah.. when did u go there? coz when i was there yesterday, it was a mess there.. heh.. so i guess dat's d reason y i can't find the pump.. hee..

my opinion on a young maid..

two years back,employ an 19 yr old indon maid to take care of my grandfather..

well,initially appear hardworking..den become lazy as the year passes.. now expert liao in giving info to my auntie,a gossiper. tell others that we din let my grandfather eat good stuff..

well my grandfather is overweight and had difficult walking liao.. he wants to eat fatty pork meat.. and we r trying to control his diet and let him exercise.. my dad and mum buy massage machine chair for him lei..

den she start to request for hoilday but it is not her entitlement.. heng my mum knoe how to handle her..

finally she start using hp and changes hp a few times liao.. getting brand concious

celtricia,

i went on last sun,last day of great s'pore sale..
it's at 3rd floor and the pump is quite near the playpen one

Celtricia,

actually that time Avent pump on sale. I bought mine at $59 only then the avent bottles on sale also so I happily buy also. haha. The teats look good leh. Non-colic. But mum prefers NUK. haha. NUK teats also v special one. I think good teats are all v special one. But bb will know when u change to a different teat loh.

I dont intend to get maid. Mum wants but told her without maid she can sleep when bb sleeps but with maid hor, bb sleeps she also has to stay awake to make sure the maid is not up to anything ! haha. In the end, she sees my pt and also save $ lah. hehe. Will employ hrly maid to help out mum if necessary but so far housework hubby can handle every week so I think shd be fine.

Like Aprilpinky, I also dont intend to get a maid. Not too comfortable with the idea of having a stranger in my house.

Breastfeeding seems so difficult and painful, I dont think I can breastfeed for long. Seems like some formula milk powders are trying to mimic breast milk as much as possible, e.g. S26 Gold, so most prob can use these types of formula milk powder after stopping breastfeeding?

venus, i was at dat area leh.. but dun haf.. hehe.. anyway, mayb at the moment i'll juz shop ard first lor.. c hw.. haiz.. also duno whh to buy yet.. hee..

Aprilpinky, ya.. i saw dat Avent pump quite cheap.. but din buy it as mum says no gd, so decided to wait till later n gather more feedback first b4 buying.. hee.. no choice lah, since u bought liao.. mayb different person feel differently lor.. hee..

Meixue,

Formula can never be as good as breast milk. So I will breastfeed as long as I can and supplement with formula only if not enuff to feed bb.

I also havent decide which formula milk to use. So many brands!

Naughty, hehe...so young and old maids all got their potential problems huh...

One of my friends also just sacked her maid cuz the maid stole the snack that was meant for her hubby many times and refused to admit and also became real lazy. Her bb is now taken care of by the parents. There's just too many horror stories around. Good maids are hard to find. My sis got one who followed her for 3 years already but she refused to let go cuz the maid is well-trained already.

Celtricia,

I see..how ur mum knows no good? hehehe. In the forum, got ppl said it's fine/good as well. I dont care so much lah. I know medela is the best but ex and I dont even know whether I will use more than a mth or not so I just buy a manual pump. U better buy soon and dont everyth also wait and wait then buy cuz 3rd trimester I'm just going to rest at home for the wkends liao. hehe

My shoes are getting tighter nowadays..really reluctant to buy a new pair just for 3 more mths so I guess they will get swollen v soon and nowadays walk slightly long distance also v tedious liao.

Aprilpinky,

coz my mum helps my aunt to look after the kids mah.. she says will leak n spill.. or some sort lah.. difficult to explain it in simple terms here... hee.. ya.. i will start buying things soon, when my hubby pass out frm tekong.. hee.. so dat he can help carry things.. thanks for ur concern.. =)

ur shoes getting tighter meh? mine nt leh.. still d same..heh, mayb later part of d stage for me lah..

Ladies, I've got a friend who never bought formula milk for her bb nor she bought any breast pump. She bf her bb for 2 years. She mentioned tat her supply also very little at 1st. But from some books she read, bb only need 2-3tablespoons of milk at each feed. So, she thinks she got enough to supply her bb. Till the later part, she got more milk already. So, she never bought any formula milk powder. She also said she saved lots of money from buying powdered milk.

aprilpinky: no choice.. even i know that potentially there'll be problems i still have to get a maid. imagine two adults, one kid plus 2 dogs in the house? haha.. the maid will be doing housework and taking care of the dogs only.. as for baby.. i'll take care of him myself.. thats a promise to my hubby in exchange for a maid. hehe.. i dun want to do housework.. and takes care of baby.. and my whole life just evolves around baby/housework and hubby. i'll soon become 'huang lian po'.

got maid also got advantage lah.. we can just leave the baby in maid's care for about 2-3 hours while we sneak out for dinners or movies ma.. just me and hubby.. no need to keep bringing baby out.. not healthy for married couples actually. first few months ok lah.. but daddys... will mind sooner or later ba.. thats how i feel. doesn't apply to all daddys.(juz in case they are reading) hehe...

bottomline is... must have some private time with hubby.. also.. cannot neglect him.. even though he's participating in the taking care of baby activities as well.

Venus 77,I think we are in the same class! 24 August. Hope to see u there.

Maids - it is true that there are many horror stories..but sometimes, no choice rite? So just be very careful. By the way, the ages that they write on the passpors are sometimes fake. My mum (in Malaysia) once hired a maid whose passport stated that she is 21. But actually, she told us she is only 15. Barely a child herself, what work can she do??

............ not for filipinos ba.. as they usually look much older plus good point is that most of them are roman catholics.. lor.. not tat i am a roman catholic... but just that when they have a belief, its better ba.. mother in law has got one.. so far so good lor.. does work diligently..

naughty, seems like my hubby also has same criteria as yours. he doesn't want the maid to be too young and inexperience. But i think all boils down to luck one.

Actually, i also prefer not to have maid (due to all the stories)..but don't think got choice, cos there is only the 2 of us here. Both me and hubby working, and no one to take care of baby. My MIL can only come down help for a few months.

Nik, like that really save money..your friend not working? Else, how to bf constantly? Or she pump at work then bring home?

Aprilpinky, try propping feet up at end of day when sleeping. Heard from my frens that this will help reduce swelling.

Naughty - the maid i was talking about is Indonesian. Think quite easy for them to get fake documents. Filipinos - I am not sure. My friend who hired one highlighted out a good point. Filipinos can read / write English - so just be more careful of sensitive documents lying around your house.

Just wondering - how long does it take to get a maid?

chinlee..i will be looking out for u cos u r alone ,rite??

naughty..filipinos i think they need to go church on sunday rite??

anyone's belly button already pop out??

Wah me very excited!!! Finally got my own public blog set up. That's what I've been busy with the past 2 days..... Intend to set up one for my kids when the little one comes out. Hopefully I'll still have the time to maintain it then though.

Aprilpinky,
Heard that the NUK teats are special in that you need to tilt them at an angle when feeding, else the flow won't be smooth. Also heard that anti-colic teats doesn't guarantee no colic at all. Saw another type of teats- peristalic (spelling?). Forgot to find out what it is.

Wonder if breast pump is necessary? Heard that the boobs may get engorged &amp; sore if milk is not expressed out when full. Can expressed by hand, but since 1st time moms are less experienced, maybe breast pump helps? Some electric pumps even claim it can imitate the sucking of baby &amp; hence the flow of milk is smooth.

ya, can save alot by breastfeeding. Too bad it's not exactly convenient for working moms.