(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Coral,

I see...3D scan v ex leh. Actually I heard if normal ultrasound machine is good, bb cooperative, can c the face clearly also. Dont think I wld spend the $$...doesnt add value to the bb's health also. It's more to satisfy my curiosity as a MTB. hehe.

I'm also v surprised how my gynae no need to scan can know my bb is more on my left side just by touching my tummy. I think it comes with experience.

How come ur scan is at night? My gynae not opened at night. TMC's fetal scan centre also closes at night. If only they open at night also. It's really too crowded everyday!!!

Dili, I bought a basic tee fr Spring (Arcade outlet) for $12. It looks like this:
294239.jpg

Scan went well, as usual, gynae end the scan b4 I can see much. Trying to arrange for detail scan this Fri, hopefully, this time I'll get to see more of bb.
I'm putting on 1kg per wk, quite worrying. Must try to cut down on carbo. How's weight gain for you ladies?

<font color="aa00aa">Coral,</font>
That's a great idea... won't offend anyone hor!
You "graduated" very fast from bed to work! haha, Nat you underestimated her!
Must take good care when you go back to work!

<font color="aa00aa">Nat,</font>
Your suggestion say need to work from home is good... haha! But I tried saying "cot so big, difficult to move"... MIL said "buy one and put at my place lah!"

I'll make sure I insist on staying put on home! Will get HB to voice out... his voice "louder" than mine ;)

<font color="aa00aa">Bluelips,</font>
Chum lah, you're making me worried now! You had so much difficulty finding a CL now? I intend to start looking when HB comes back end July! I got no idea where to start looking on my own... chum liao!

<font color="aa00aa">Meixue,</font>
Good to hear from you again! I think you had the worst of it all among us during the 1st trimester... very glad that you sound much better! Heck work... baby's more impt! Do what is necessary!

Dilimummy, thanks.
You better start looking for CL now. This year many bbs, so CL vy diff to find. I hv friends who still cant find any n I had sm diff too. Either go to agencies, or thru recommendations fm frens. Better get thru word-of-mouth. Ask colleagues/frens who had bbs b4 for a start lor.
Good Luck!

Meixue, so you had a hard time during 1st tri? I thought I'm the only tone with problem here.

Hope all is well for you now. For me, my placenta is still too low, so just gotta be vy carefull, I walk with my hands carrying tummy all the time. Unless placenta starts to grow higher as time passes, I just hv to walk like old lady for now.

Take care and jia1 you2!

I'm also heading for my FA scan later this afternoon. We decided to try to get the test done this week and if results are inconclusive, we'll think about extending my stay.

Aprilpinky, your son is so sweet
wave at you! Mine did that at the gynae's too 2 weeks ago, and my parents were overjoyed. Its so cute to see the bone structure of the fingers hor?

Coral, do take care...yah, walk slower.

wow natalie...that's precisely wat i am afraid of..bb having problems..

not that i wan to complain but i find MIL place stuffy cos some windows are always closed one..

Coral..Congrats that u r getting back to work..but have to be careful hor..ask ur hubby to fetch u to and fro work..

I seem to observe that pple dun give up seats in MRT and bus to preggie ladies liao..

dili..hubby talk to his mummy is better den u talk cos it may cause conflicts one

furry..remember to tell us abt ur FA scan..

My detailed scan will be tomo afternoon

Furry,

Yes, and the wave is enuff to keep me going during work even though sometimes it's so tough and tiring!! Must press on for the little one. It's amazing to c how much the little has developed. Can c the spine so well also

Coral, congrats for being able to go back to work. Take care when taking the stairs and going down slope.

I gained 3 kg overall so far at 20 weeks. Gynae said too fast cuz ideal is 10-12 kg overall and 3rd trimester will gain the most. Actually I have been purposely eating more for my bb. Guess shd cut down and luckily hubby was around to hear that so he cant force me to eat more eat more..hahahaha..

Coral, glad tat u r better now. Do take care, ok? Hb feel tat to bf 2 bbs will be too tiring for me. I won't be able to rest if i have to bf all the time. But i told him i'll give FM too, cos i doubt i'll have enough BM for both bbs.

Meixue, i think i also considered as a stay at home wife. I'm not working at tis moment. I msn wif my very 'eng' friends almost everyday. Do some hsework. As for cooking, i think i only cook twice a week. Usually, i slept till 10am in the morning. Half a day already gone. Abit boring at hm, actually.

Thks everyone. No worries, hb fetch me to &amp; fm wk even b4 preggie, so now no exception. Both excited and scared to go back to wk cos been away fm wk since end Mar after I was hospitalised. Now 3mths of wk to catch up with...

Nik, envy you can sleep so late, I wake up at 715 everyday n cant nap. at night still insomia. So I usually hv a long long day to pass.

Aprilpinky, funny, I was complaining to nurse tat I'm only 19 wk already put on 4kg but she says no worry as I wont put on during 3 tri. So now hb jus keep asking me to eat aft he hear what she say. I don't care, I'll cut down on carbo but will eat more nutritious stuff.
Decide to delay scan to next Sat when I reach 20wk.
Good Luck Furry to your FA scan. N venus n morraine, hope you get to see more of bb. I was told by nurse the detail scan usually last abt 1hr. Looking forward to this hr long visit to bb.

Hey ladies,
checking in to destress. Hate it when i've to deal with last minute deadlines. Yucks.

Coral, I think your weight gain seems ok leh, in fact, very impressive. Don't worry so much
Wow...3 months of work to catch up, can't imagine your in-box, hope your boss and colleagues will leave you alone for 1-2 weeks to "Settle back in"

Aprilpinky, your doc says too fast ah? Opps. Mine never comments on weight one. So I always take the excuse and eat more. Junk food appeals a lot to me for some reason. Much more than "normal" food. Very bad hor?

Ok, back to work, leaving work after munch time

<font color="ff6000">coral</font>

congrats!! you really "graduate" fast lo!! How can you tahan..?? home since Mar?? it's worse than house arrest!!! Yah better start moving the butt else the 1 kg and carbo don't burn hor??

I put on 6kg so far.. in my 20week

<font color="ff6000">Furry</font>

high 5!! I also junk eater!! crave for most unhealthy things!! oyster omellette, chy tow kuay, chih kuay, char kuay teow..

latest is chezels!!! or twisties!!! and prawn crackers... :p

<font color="ff6000">venus</font>

yah BB's comfort is of importance.. if too uncomfortable they stop feeding or drink less and their tummies n bodies need the nourishment!! esp Bf.. from exp..CF already take all the heaty things.. then BB also hot due to weather..with rashes on their faces.. very tough to feed or latch on!! They need fluids... no fluids= possible jaundice..

worst is when too hot BB cry so much.. wind enters?? or refuse to drink..my son was like that and I managed to express for the 3 weeks and the resume latch on at home!!! luckily my boy didn't have nipple confusion!!

<font color="ff6000">dili</font>

hmmm..tell her that cot very ex... or bring her out to see those very "ex" cots!! playpen is not good idea.. what if C-sect?? I think the c-sect excuse is best!! the what if?? Your Mil... ermm had all kids natural birth??

<font color="ff6000">aprilpinky</font>
hmm my doc never said about weight gain ah!! My son I gained overall 16kg..BB weighed 3.33kg

Pardon my ignorance... but what does C-section got to do with whether MIL do confinement or not? I don't know whether she had C-section before leh! I asked HB before, apparently he's too man to know these things! duh!

<font color="aa00aa">Weight</font>
I only put on 1kg during my 16week visit. I haven't put on alot since. I'll report again when I visit next week. I've been eating normally just drinking more milk and having breakfast regularly, no cravings whatsoever... strange! Maybe cravings will come later?

<font color="aa00aa">Morraine,</font>
Your bb is really shy, let's see if we can tell the gender tmr!

afternoon ladies..

Aprilpinky.. ya lor.. so sad dun get to c u.. juz nice when i went to Dr Yeo's clinic he was there liao, so i first one went in c him... n he told us lots of things, so by the time i went down, u've gone for ur scan liao..

my scan was ok.. the MO took 1 hr to finish the whole scan n my back n leg was aching so much.. haiz.. coz at manage to take all the required pics, but coz the MO nt sure if the bb's heart taken by her was accurately done, so in d end ask me to wait while she go ask another MO to come take for me.. the whole process was nt enjoying, coz waited too long liao.. so hubby also nt very happy by the time he gets to c d bb.. hee.. but the 2nd MO dat came in says our bb very beautiful.. n bb is growing well.. that's the most assuring thing.. the gender was nt stated in the report as i've told the prev MO dat i dun mind if its a gal or boy, so when d 2nd MO came in, she told both me n my hubby dat its a boy.. so hubby's dream come true liao lor.. hahaha.. someone to play soccer wif him liao.. hahaha..

Aprilpinky, u asked Dr Yeo to let u hear bb's heartbeat ah.. so cool! tink i'm gg to ask him too during my nxt visit.. when's ur nxt checkup? mine is on 26 July, tis time no hubby to accompany me liao, only my mum..

Oh btw, Dili_Mummy, my due date change to 11 NOv liao. n gynae says i'm in my 20 weeks nw.. so pls update the changes for me hor.. thanks lots...

<font color="ff6000">dili ah dili</font>

C-sect needs more care la!! can't even carry BB too much..can't move too much.. can your mil cope with taking care of BB.. cook full time?? take care of BB and only bring BB to you to BF??

I heard the diet also different.. is she familiar with that too?? CF diet also at certain weeks must eat certain things etc etc.. it's a load of Mambo jumbo to me!! but... it's an excuse if needed.. lol

Not "duh" la.. I also at one time "duh" now "smarten" up already!! keke

Natalie/Coral,

Well, I kaypo asked my gynae whether my weight ok or not cuz I lose 1 kg during first trimester. He looked at my record and told me a little too fast cuz bb only 325g (estimated from scan)!! hahahhaa (10% of what I gained).

I got a friend gained 18kg, v jialart. She's complaining all the way during her 3rd trimester cuz too heavy for her to tahan anymore and still overdue somemore. Bb is 3.2 kg. So u can imagine how much she has to lose after delivery. What's more if gain too much, have risk of high blood pressure and c-section.I will just eat normally from now on (just had dumpling soup AND chicken hor fun for lunch :pP).

Celtricia, my next visit is back to Sat again (23 July) which coincides with first antenatal class so v happy. It's hubby's request to hear the heartbeat cuz we didnt buy the hearing device and the other time heard the heartbeat of another MTB's bb who was abt to deliver in the clinic resting bed so v curious. That time his clinic closing still got at least 2 more patients but he still obliged (FOC)

Yah the waiting time can really die. I didnt put the appt card at Dr Yeo's clinic then went up after the scan waited another 1.5 hrs there. Didnt know the queue is so bad on weekdays as well.

Wow..our EDD getting nearer leh. Mine still 14 Nov. Haha...scaly we will get to meet when we deliver in November. Can u feel the movement now? Dr Yeo said one month later must constantly monitor the bb movement and must c him immediately if sense that bb never move.

Aprilpinky,
I thot I read somewhere that 2nd trimester will gain the most weight &amp; 3rd trimester will slow down a bit...

So far I've only gained 1kg up to the 4th mth, so I'm eating more now, eg having supper as &amp; when I like

Aprilpinky..

i also din put the appt card in his clinic b4 d scan.. dat's y din manage to catch him at 1pm whh was after my scan n got to go bak again at 230..

ya.. EDD getting nearer, n my EDD date is actually my cousin's wedding day.. so most likely dun get to go liao... kekek.. get to mit when we deliver ah.. mayb i first go in or u lor.. heh.. but hw many beds ward r u gg to take? i only feel a bit of bb's movement at times, but nt always.. a bit of fluttering here n there lor.. ya, Dr Yeo also told me to take note in 1 mth time for bb movement.. hopefully all goes well..

Hi coral, glad that u are happy to go back to work. Hope it'll be alright for you. Do take care and take things easily yah? =)

As for me, my problem was just very bad morning sickness and spotting during first trimester. didnt want to strain myself too much, so i took unpaid leave. Now i'm 18 weeks, feeling better. but still having nausea and excessive salivation. Very tired too. so thought of taking unpaid leave for a few more months, cuz my job very very stressful. would prefer a happier pregnancy staying at home. :p

Nik, u're carrying twins, it's good for u to stay home and rest more. Enjoy while u can =)

Hi Dili-Mummy, can revise my EDD to 30 Nov? and my baby is a girl! Hehe... finally she opened her legs to let the doctor see her gender today.

I can feel the baby's movements already, a jab here, a kick there. so cute.

Have u gals made a confirmed booking with your hospital or gone for any hospital tour yet? When's the time to book?

Joyful,

I'm also not sure who's right. Gynae told me 3rd trimester gain the most. A friend told me fr experience she gained the most from 5-7 months then slow down. hehe. Dunno, just want to watch what I eat and only eat healthy food as far as possible.

Celtricia,
I pan dang so not attending any wedding from now till delivery. I will go for single bed. Hubby said he's going to stay behind with me. Only single bed ward allows hubby to stay in the ward through the nite.

Meixue, glad u r better now. Many of my friends also changed their view abt job and family and priority after being pregnant. They realised that bb most impt. I want to stay at home also if I can afford. hehehe.

Wow, Meixue, your bb very active huh? 18 wks and can feel jab n kicks, no longer just flutter.

Do we hv to book with the hospital? Not just admit ourselves when we're due to deliver?

Read fm book that during 3rd tri we'll put on 1kg/mth and most weight gain in 2nd tri.

I now crave for sweet stuff every day, but stop myself as preggies are at higher risk of diabetes wat's more my grandpa was diabetic.

Would love to be housewife but hb not supportive cos he's retiring at 45yrs old so we'll feel more secure if I hold a job.

Congrats celtricia for having a bb boi and meixue for having a bb ger..

dili, i agree with nat cos some food have to avoid one for C-sec..somemore quite hard to BF bb if C-sec..cos of the wound..

Aprilpinky,
u pan dang ah.. oki.. hee.. actually hubby also wanted to go for d single bed one.. but both our mothers say its nt worth it since only 1 or 2 days stay only, stay in 4-bedded ward also ok mah.. so no choice lor.. most likely stay in 4 bedded ward, although very much wish dat hubby can stay thru d nite wif me.. hee..

seems like most of u still haf cravings ah.. for me, no cravings anymore, juz eat normally, like not even pregnant.. heh..

thanks venus..

Hehe, I think I'm a later bloomer, my craving start in 2nd tri unlike most of you who hv cravings in 1st tri. But my cravings only for sweet stuff not proper food leh. Unhealthy MTB.

i not sure what is flutter leh, but my baby's movements are like she's pushing my tummy from the inside.. sometimes give me a shock! haha.

I also wish to be housewife, but the income is a problem. The next few months of unpaid leave will be tougher for my family.

I'm like coral, also late bloomer. Cravings only start in 2nd trimester, been craving tomato-based pasta. Maybe first trimester vomitting too much, cannot crave anything.

I'll be going for double-bedded. Though i wish hubby to stay overnight too, but single room quite out of my budget.

Congrats meixue for hving a bb girl n celtricia a bb boy!

also meixue, glad to hear ur MS is much better now. this is something all m2b who suffer from MS most look fwd to! end of MS!!

celtricia i heard that for TMC 4 beded, very high chance of getting upgraded to 2 beded! a few of my friends got upgraded.

coral i was like u during my 1st preg! crave for sweet stuff n keep eating sweet deserts till i put on quite alot of weight! now i crave for sour stuff/drinks but i cant take them coz my stomache not very good, eat already may throw up. i wish i have food cravings, make my meal times easier!!i still dun enjoy my meal times at all.

we are almost 1/2 way there! cant wait for nov to arrive

Celtricia,

Hubby's co got subsidy for hospitalisation bill so can lighten our load
What's more precisely only one or two days so we can still afford to stay in single-bed room. hehe. First time give birth naturally would want the best if we can.

Oh, let me share with all of u the breakdown of an ideal weight gain of 10-13 kg (lifted from a book by Mrs Wong Boh Boi, Childbirth):

-Baby at term (3.5 kg)
-Placenta (0.6 kg)
-Circulating fluids (1.2 kg)
-Fat stores (2 - 4 kg)
-Uterus wall (1 kg)
-Extra Tissue (0.5 kg)

hahahhah...so you can c that any excess of baby's weight, placenta and fluids would be mostly be fat stores! SCARY!

icic... point taken!

<font color="aa00aa">Meixue,</font>
I've updated you already, but I only put up the list on Mondays and Thursdays (otherwise I very luan!)

Congrats Meixue and Celtricia! Like you all, I have no preference for gender too... cos it's first child, no pressure! But good to know... can shop while GSS is still on!! :p

Thanks gals, for your well-wishes and concern. =)

Aprilpinky, so good, ur husband's company gives subsidy. It'll be great for you to stay in a single room with husband rooming over.

Natalie, u asked about my job right? it's in the education sector, :p very very stressful one (especially mental exhaustion) and can get me very depressed often. So i would prefer not subjecting myself and baby to such stress.

anyone opting for epidural? why or why not? My pain tolerance quite low, but would like to experience the 'magic' of non-epidural delivery. still undecided. any tips?

Hi MTBs

Haven't got time to post any updates. Was busy. Wow...so much to read after MIA for so long. Just got to know my baby's gender and it is a boy! Had my detailed scan yesterday but wasnt really paying attention to Dr's readings for the measurement. Hahaaa...was concentrating on the screen, looking at baby. Dili_Mummy, thanks for updating all the information.

I'm now in my 21 weeks and has put on 6kg! My gosh, is this acceptable??!From 52kg, I have shot up to 58kg, nearly fainted.

Congratulations to all MTBs who have know their baby's gender. Finally, we can start shopping around.
Have been pulling myself back from buying before knowing the gender.

Well, my MIL has confirmed to help me do confinement. Staying at our place. I think it is more convenient that way. Hehe

Meixue, I definitely opting for epidural. Dont think I can take the pain. Thinking of having epidural once contraction starts. Because this is my first child, I dont want to have any bad experience and then have phobia later on. ;)

Meixue,

Heard that epidural will cause mums to shiver uncontrollably after delivery although no pain.

I will just tahan for 2 -3 hours then opt for that. My friend tahan for 10 hrs then ask for that. She wanted to experience the real pain and pushing. She then spent another 4 hrs after that with epidural to get her bb out. *faint*

I'm just praying hard that my labour hours would be below 5 hrs...

epidural,

told my gynae that we will only decide when I am in labour ward. had strong contractions for an hour, than epidural, than my 1st boy was out in 4.5hrs. epidural made me shiver during labour but not after labour. the level of epidural can be adjusted so the nurse would increase the level until you are comfortable with the amount of pain.

I think my hb got another reason for me not to BF liao. Cos i think i'm going for C-section. Hb think i can't push two out at the same time. Moreover, i have 2 water sac, if one broke, the other didn't, gynae got to break it, heard tat it's gg to b very painful too.

I also heard TMC got higher chances of upgrade to 2-bedded. Cos they only got two 4-bedded ward. If, the two wards are taken up, u'll have chance to be upgraded.

nik,

my SIL gave birth to twins without epidural. C-section has a longer recovery time. natural delivery with epidural, can go jalan jalan day after delivery.

gynae breaking waterbag is painful so better to opt for epidural if you find pap smear painful.

Hi TTC2nd,

Really ah! High chances of changing to 2-bedded?! if really get the chance would b great for me.. heh.. will cross my fingers n pray hard.. kekekek..

Aprilpinky,

so gd, ur hubby company still will subsidise for pte hospitals ah? tot most companies only subsidise for govt hospitals.. it really helps to lighten the burden.. ya.. hubby also says the same, first time haf bb, dat's y wan d best for me n bb, but both mums so much comments, so mayb last minute will still change to 4-bedded lor.. haiz..

Hi dili_mummy, thanks.. though i noe d gender liao, but most likely won't b gg for any shopping until nearer to date.. heh.. since its a boy most coloured clothes he also can wear except for those girly colours lor.. hee.. n for bb boi can't dress up much lah..

moving out of country so selling below 2nd hand good condition items. sorry no time to take and post pictures of items.

1) baby pram - can be used from newborn - $10
2) infant carrier - plastic with padding - $10
3) baby rocker - plastic with padding - $10

if you can collect by monday, willing to let go for $8 each plus free new bibs and new diaper bag.

I am very pampered. stayed in one-bedded with hubby staying over for my first boy and also going to stay in one-bedded for my 2nd boy. hubby say pregnancy and labour already so painful and tiring so better to take one-bedded so that he can stay over and help. the nurses are nice but go toilet at night prefer to ask hubby than ask nurse. also hubby's family took up all the space in my one-bedded room when they came and visit.

Rochelle,

I see. So it's during the delivery but dont know whether shivering effect will continue after the delivery.

Your bb rocker is a bouncer? Got wheels? Where to collect?

Celtricia,

Yes, the co welfare quite good. Dont care which hospital. Will give fixed amt to knock off total hospitalisation bill.

Yah go toilet is a problem. I like to go toilet so often nowadays. Would definitely want to have a toilet for myself. haha. with hubby's help of cuz..

Rochelle..

u mentioned abt going to toilet.. whh makes me realise its quite true to rather haf our hubby bring us there den the nurse.. heh.. so i can use tis to counter-attack our mums.. hahaha..

Aprilpinky..

den ur hubby mus b quite lucky to haf a job like tis.. staff welfare so good.. unlike mine.. haiz.. no welfare at all.. haiz..

Hi Hi...

The thread moves very fast hor..
Congrats to MTBs who know the gender of their bb!!
Must be really exciting when first know =)

Aprilpinky..

Heard from my fren who took epidural that you will only shiver is the dosage is too high, and your body cannot take it. So ask nurse to adjust to a level till you are comfortable with it.

MTBs..

Wan to ask ler..when the doc give u EDD, does it mean you are due during that time (40 weeks), or due at 38 weeks? Cos I know a lot of ppl give birth b4 38 weeks...tat means I need to be prepared for earlier?
kao_confused.gif

hi meixue,

i took epidural for my first preg too..i got shivering and nausea during the time when epi was in use. after delivery when they turn off epi, no more shivering liao. this time round i m definitely going to opt for epi again.

hi emm,

congrats =) on having a boy!

abt confinement, my first preg, i was living w inlaws, but my mum did confinement for me. she came everyday to cook lunch n dinner for me and helped me with my gal. then hsework, my mil maid helped out. at night my hb helped to look after our gal. this arrange was ok. but now i moved out n have my own home, prob will ask my mum to come my hse and stay over. but i dun expect her to do any hse work...will get hb to do instead

Aprilpinky, tats' lucky. My hb only get 60% subsidy if we go to govt hosp., but due to my complications I just gotta stay with glene so no subsidy. During my hospitalisation this few mths was staying in the suite at first, then paiseh as mothers parents said so ex. so downgraded to single, guess will still stick to single cos I'm a vy light sleeper n we need all the rest aft birth staying with someone can be bad if they happen to make lots of noise at night...(That might be our lst chance to hv full night sleep aft bb born.)So we decide to spend the money and sacrifice other things in life.Prob bf can help to recoup sm of the $$...
I plan to go w/o epi if my condition improve and no need c-sect. But friend told me she endure 11hrs then can tahan still go for epi in the end she say not worth it as you endure pain then you still hv to pay full for epi so she say if knw cant tahan better surrender earlier. I'll play by ears, sm pple short labour sm long, we never knw what's ours like. Mum say epi might cause backaches so I'll try to tahan...

i read that many of you will adopt the 'wait and see how' to epidural but colleagues were telling me that after certain hrs cannot inject epidural, then got to bear with the pain throughout. so if want to have epidural, got to tell the doc first. any advice?

i've also got a stressful job n boss not very supportive...sigh...contemplating going on unpaid leave too but worried hubby might b stress over $$ matters...

anyone had start to shop around for bb's car seat? can we get a bigger one so bb wld not outgrow it so fast? or must buy those for newborns (look like basket type)?

Celtricia,

Luckily my hubby got this job. My side also no welfare. No time off even. Actually I also dont want to ask my boss for time off for checkup. Dont think she will approve. So far have been taking annual leave.

Bluelips &amp; TTC,

Thanks for sharing. Will probably go for epidural if labor drags > 3 hrs. No point suffering for nothing.