(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

MOrning ladies..

Dili_mummy.. u haven't choose a name for ur gal ah.. My boy's chinese name more or less confirm liao, he shall be called 'Li Ming(2) Jie(2)'.

Celtricia,
Hubby not around, have to discuss via internet/phone... we give up! Will confirm after he comes back.

Now thinking if we should go to a geomancer... ladies, are you all going to one?

Gd Morning Mummies~!!!

Venus, the address for Kidzloft is - 154 TAGORE LANE BLK 6 or you can visit their website at www.kidzloft.com

Dili, you can buy I'm TOYS furnitures there (if you are interested)... very nice wooden furnitures and good quality but exp! Also they sell stuff like comforter set and some baby stuff... but if ur looking for Pram/Stroller or car seat I recommend u go Baby Hyperstore got more range to choose from... =)

As for baby chinese name, most probably will ask SHI FU to calculate for us... as for English/Christian name... still deciding leh... Sigh!!!

Chin, you got the point cos 1 pc don't need to bend down or lift your leg while changing hoh!

YL, my friend said J&J Top to Toe is more suitable for newborn bb cos is very mild and suitable for whole body and newborn has got delicate skin and if you use those J&J / kodomo shampoo & bath separately kinda (those are meant for kids like 1.5 - 2 years & above).

Morraine, those satin / silk PJ will trap heat and won't absorb perspiration unless you always stay in aircon right? Braun Ear thermometer very exp hoh... I saw in watson around $100+. Where u gals bought it from and how much huh???

Celtricia, nice name for your boy... hee hee! U guys don't intend to calculate his chinese name using date & time...???

Hmm... I've not bot any nursing bra either... maybe later stage! I went mothercare the other time to see but all beri big cup/size one... mine still not so BIG leh =P
How many nursing bra should we get huh?

I also went Taka to search for PJ but didnt get to see any nice one... maybe I try Lucky Plaza if not neighbouring stores , hee hee!

Yvonne, thanks..

No we dun intend to calculate using d date & time, coz my dad chooses the name based on the number of strokes.. so he say the name is gd, den we ok wif it lor.. hee..

dili...
Most likely will get a shifu to choose my baby's chinese name.
Coz hubby and myself super duper terok in CHINESE.....
Got to wait for baby to be born....
get the shi chen ba zi....
Then can go ask for name.....

alternatively, you can choose your own chinese name....
with you baby's si chen ba zi....
ask the shifu....
the name short or which element.....
then, you can end up with a chinese name you like and
also with the right element....

Yvonne ~ ya maybe the satin type mite b abit better in the air con room.. hmmm.. but den tot its for hospital wear nia?

coz hor.. at home have to wear longer clothings rite?

my Braun thermometer was a gift from my fren

though yesh its more ex but den this kinda thing i think can invest lor.. coz i wanted to buy myself den my fren got it for me.. hee.. so save lor..

For me, my hubby and i are going to choose my baby girl's name without any shifu. We'll just pick a name which sounds nice and feminine. haha.

pardon me for ignorance, what is nursing bra for? Cuz at home breastfeed baby can just take off my shirt and I will express breastmilk and let baby drink from milk bottle if outside home.

Dili, i'm also going to a shifu to name my bbs too. Same as Ah Fat, we are very poor in chinese. Usually, they will give u a few names to choose from. So no worry abt 'not nice' names.

I already got my ear thermonmeter during the sars period. I bought it in Japan, Omrom, very cute n small. I even use it during my ttc period.

Heya ladies,

Those who r wrking.. Have ur bosses asked u to go on Maternity Leave a week b4 ur EDD? Coz mine is asking me to go on 4th Nov, since my EDD is 11th NOv, but i dun wish to waste my ML juz like dat as our EDD may nt b accurate.. haiz.. So my HR personnel actually asked me to get my gynae to write a letter stating my EDD date is on 16 Nov instead so dat i will only nid to go for my ML on the 8 or 9 of NOv..

nik ~ hee hee.. i oso have a Omrom one but den mine is the normal type not ear one.. mine is blue n transparent in colour one.. free from airline last time during the SARS period.. all crew got one mah.. ha ha.. but den tat one is for me n hb usage lor..

celtricia ~ how come like tat wan.. i tot up to urself if when u wanna work til? or ur boss worried u go into labour last min arh?? hee

Thanks ladies, will discuss with hubby see if we going to a shifu. Anyone got lobang already? Usually how much??

Celtricia,
I don't think your boss can dictate when you should go on ML. But the HR personnel's suggestion is good if your boss doesn't relent. They sure believe doctor's letters!

morraine, ya lor.. so spoilsport hor.. heehee.. i also tot so as its written in the MOM regulations, but it also state employer haf the rights to bo bian lor.. haiz... coz they say muz cater time to handover tings to colleagues mah.. so if last min go into labour den no time to handover den jialat for them.. haiz..

Dili_mummy, dun tink i haf the choice leh, coz in the MOM website they say we muz give our employers at least one week notice b4 we go on maternity leave.. and they din state abt the pre-confinement leave if it is a muz to haf or nt, but they only state a FAQ like dat:

Can a female employee take a shorter period of pre-confinement leave (ie less than four weeks) so that she can have a longer period of post-confinement leave?

Yes, if there is mutual agreement between the female employee and the employer. The total period of maternity leave is still subject to a maximum of 12 weeks.

Celtricia,
icic... that sucks then. Perhaps best to get your doctor to "doctor" a fake letter lor!

Anyone knows if we can take annual leave as "pre-confinement"... then ML starts on date of delivery??? Meaning you still have 12 weeks ML after delivery date.

Hmm... i believe we can take our own annual leave before or after ML right? But is best to check with your HR for proper calculation and seek boss's approval.

hi all..

mm.. toking about maternity leave le ah.. mm.. am already on leave le
trust me.. if ya stay at home.. u will be bored to death.. so its still better to go to work. haha..

Dili, the shifu, i got my own lobang liao. He chose the date of my customary. The usual one most ppl go is 'You Long Zi'. He charges $100. My SIL went 'Chen Jun Long'. He charges $288.

Hee hee... u can rest, watch tv then eat & sleep or pack baby stuff at home mah! I most probably will take 1 week in advanced unless baby wanna come out earlier than that la **

The maternity leave can start from as early as 4 weeks before EDD. Some employees actually prefer to go on maternity leave earlier, so that they can rest at home. For me, I prefer to work till I give birth. If ask me to stay at home, to wait for birth, tink I'll be bored.... and quite dangerous to stay at home alone. If you are in the office, at least colleagues are around.

Good afternoon ladies,

Yup. Take leave only near EDD if possible. For my side, it's up to me how soon I want to take my ML since it's going to be 12 weeks in any case.

hi ladies..good afternoon!

It is a hot day today, huh? agree w naughty..staying at home without anything to do is no fun at all..must try to keep busy..and also make sure someone is aware of your whereabouts..just in case.

Just a point for those buying nursing bras now and delivering in TMC...I recall Mrs Wong mentioning during the ante classes that it is best to purchase it after delivery..cos when the milk comes, the size also changes! She mentioned that TMC also sells nursing bras..and the nurses (or somebody) can measure for you to make sure that you get the right size. I do not know how true this is - she claimed that TMC's prices will not be more than outside - do not know what brand. Having said this, I already bought a couple of the nursing bras earlier..just in case.

Anyone started weekly gynae check ups already?

Chin Lee,

Yup. I went Parentcraft centre on 4th flr of TMC and learnt that they r selling so many things from breast pump, bath soln to nursing bras. Regret man. One of the nursing bras that I bought cant be worn liao.

My weekly checkup wld be 2 weeks later when I reached 36 weeks.

Dili_mummy, ya lor, i will asked my Dr during my nxt checkup, whh is on 6 OCt...

Yvonne, staying hm can b very bored leh.. esp when there's no one at home.. haiz.. i also prefer to go to wrk.. but nw kena restricted... haiz..

Aprilpinky, ur wrk so gd ah, they allow u to decide whether to go early or nt ah..

celtricia ~ haiz.. so unfair hor.. or maybe u can tel them in a way as in u dun mind staying ard so u can hand over to the new ger?

anyway ladies me already started my weekly check up n i have like 3 more weeks to go or so.. hee.. coz from the start i actually 'sneaked' into this thread one though i belonged to the Oct thread.. hee.. paiseh..

morraine..why paiseh? the more the merrier what!

did u manage to get anything from NTUC last weekend?..i am still waiting to hear whether anyone spotted u at JP!

hi hi...
me resting home today,gosh, its nice to take a day off work and just chill. Actually strongly encouraged to stay home by DH as I was having rather regular contractions yesterday...didn't ring the doc as I decided to monitor the developments. Good thing everything is much better today.

Trying to take more fruits and cranberry juice as well...anyone intend to take raspberry tea leaf? I'm wondering when to start too...

Been thinking of names now...both english and chinese...funny thing is that we can't seem to agree on names~
how did u all come about yours?

chin, hee hee.. thank u thank u..

bo lar.. talking abt this makes my blood boil.. i was waiting so long at my gynae tare on sat den by the time i ended already 4+ den had to go to PILs house for makan.. haiz.. so cant go at all.. sob.....

Oic... not coconut drink??? Hmm...

Furry, as for us... I will pre-select those names I like then print out show to my hb (I'm like his secretary / PA)... hee hee! Then from there we will decide but till now still cannot decide leh!!!

morraine: *forum's police patrolling... the nov thread... mmm... *found one intruder* nick: morraine Identity unclear.. *calling out to morraine.. GET OUT OF NOV THREAD!
u think this will happen? wagagaa... sneak into nov thread.. what a word to use..

hahah...

Hi Mommies

I have a Pump In Style Traveller for sale. Bought in June 2005. Used for less than one month since beginning September 05. Warranty unfilled.

All pump parts in contact with milk/breast can be sterilised.

Asking for $450. Interested, please email [email protected]

Very sad and reluctant to sell the pump but my milk supply is very low so no point keeping it as I am giving up breastfeeding. I tried papaya/fish soup, fenugreek, pump every 3 hourly, visit to lactation consultant and still no milk after almost a month.

Yvonne,

From www.momsinmind.com.sg

Red raspberry leaf tea has been used for thousands of years and has earned the reputation of being the "supreme" herb for pregnant women. It can relieve almost any discomfort of pregnancy from morning sickness to leg cramps. It has also been shown to strengthen & tone the uterine wall and help to make delivery easier and speedier by helping the uterus contract more efficiently and helps expel the placenta after.

Raspberry leaf has a rich concentration of vitamin C, E, A & the B complexes. It also contains calcium & iron in one of its most absorbable forms. These are all nutrients which are very important during pregnancy.

Historically women have taken raspberry leaf tea throughout their pregnancies up to and including childbirth. You may choose to drink our Mothers' Nutritious Tea 4 Two during your pregnancy but add more red raspberry leaves to your Tea 4 Two Herb Blend in your final month of pregnancy. This would be great for drinking during labour & right after.

To make a tea, pour 1 cup boiling water over 1 to 2 teaspoons of herb and steep for ten minutes. Strain.

During the first trimesters, drink 1 cup per day. During second trimester, drink 2 to 3 cups per day. In the final trimester, drink 4 to 5 cups per day. Using a teaball would be useful. You can also drink it HOT or chilled.

haha.. furryfurry: am sure u drink lotsa raspberry tea.. or ya the ambassodor of the raspberry tea company? keke.. somehow or rather.. am still pretty sceptical about drinking tea.. leh..

Wow furry, thanks for your detailed explanation on red raspberry tea leaf! U sure read and know alot about it. Where can i get it from?

naughty, no lah...me just kpo nia...read read online instead of ehem..working LOL me havn't started to drink yet...waiting for next week

yvonne, momsinmind sells it, www.momsinmind.com.sg or I got some from this natural herbs shop @ centerpoint as well...can't remmeber which floor, think either 2nd or 3rd, at the side alley...hee not very helpful hor :p maybe the others can point out where else to get...

Manuka, i got tis from the 'chinese name for bb' thread. Juz need to give them a call when u got ur bb's birthday, no need to travel down.

Yiu Rong Zie geomancy
#01-43 Lorong 30
Feng Lai Mansion, Geylang Road
Tel 67435738/67490654

Morraine, from the list, we all u are an oct MTB liao. Many ladies start to pop in the oct thread hor.

Oh, ya, anyone started on coconut juice liao??

Sexxy, how's ur checkup today? Hope tat no more false alarm liao.

coconut: haha.. before i reach into week 30+.. i drank a lot of coconut juice.. now when its actually time to.. drink.. i actually didn't drink.. hehe..

Apprently rasberry tea is good....
Drink after 7th month of pregnancy.....
Easier labour I think.... can't remember....

Can get it at centerpoint, Plant Planet.....
erm can't remember the level...
But, it is the same level with Osim....

The staff there will better explain the usage of rasberry tea.

ah fat ah fat: ask u ah.. u work in town.. got anywhere that sells decent two pieces pyjamas or not? went to tangs just now.. ooo.. obscene sleepwear. haha

Good morning ladies,

Which type of coconut juice huh?? The green husk type sold in food centre same as the small type sold in supermarket??

Morning ladies..

I tink should be those green husk type.. coz dat's wat my mum ask me to drink, but hor.. she also got asked my hb to buy those small type sold in supermarket leh.. tink both also can bah.. heh..